B8 Audi A4 range receive their mid-cycle facelift

Audi has given the B8 Audi A4 a little facelift, which is timely as it updates the A4 to the latest revision of Audi’s signature grille that’s being used on all their other latest models. Other than the new grille and bumper, the headlamps have also changed, with a new added slight wave at the bottom edges, and a rearranged lens design.

The interior has also been updated. The MMI navigation plus system now features four instead of eight buttons, with a shift function integrated in the volume control dial. The seat heating and air-conditioning are now directly operated at the respective buttons. The upholstery range has also been revised, with Fine Nappa leather replacing Valcona leather.

The A4 also receives Audi’s new 1.8 litre TFSI engine, now producing 170 PS and 320 Nm of torque while offering a fuel economy figure of 50.4 mpg and 134 g/km of CO2 emissions. The new 1.8 litre engine features improvements in the control of its valves, and a new thermal management system. There’s also a detuned entry level version of this engine making 120 PS. The 2.0 TFSI makes 211 PS and the top of the line 3.0 TFSI in the S4 makes 333 PS.

Another new feature is an electromechanical power steering, which allows reduction in CO2 emissions of up to 7 g/km because it does not need to be powered for straight-ahead motion, thus reducing fuel consumption.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• boyke on Oct 28, 2011 at 5:02 pm

they just made the front end even worse…

• looking-good on Oct 29, 2011 at 5:42 pm

now all the A4, A5, Q3 have the same face~~~

i still prefer the previous A5, the best LED headlamp with the car proportion

• Audi never been ugly ! Audi and Mercedes keep making good looking and high quality cars for richer people :)

• LP570-4 on Oct 28, 2011 at 6:11 pm

I think i need time to accept this new facelift.

• Nice car drive the maid around

• lover on Oct 28, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Oh no!! From ubi kentang ke ubi kayu. Yuck Pthui.

• gomok on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Banyak komen, kata depan x lawa lah, x cantik lah….tgk kat luar baru bagi komen, design simple simple ni x bleh justify dlm gambar je….keta korea dlm gambar mcm lawa tp kat luar nak termuntah….

• Gomok, your comment is spot on. For all you know, those who commented that the facelift is not ugly, etc., have not even driven much less afford an audi. For me, the facelift is nice.

• TurboMan on Oct 29, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Your reasoning shows how immature you are.

Based on your reasoning, people who can afford it will think the facelift looks great while those who think otherwise are those who cant afford it.

If thats your reasoning, then there shouldnt be any other luxury cars on the road as everyone who can afford it thinks its great looking.

Again, i blame the education system….

• PokokCerryMechanic on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:31 pm

i miss those led diamond like headlamp….

• Rosmah on Oct 28, 2011 at 8:38 pm

i just want my F30 sport line for xmas.

• Unforgiven on Oct 28, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Very nice, cheaper than F30?

• looking-good on Oct 29, 2011 at 4:22 pm

alrite. Been waiting for this B8 facelift announced, now i can confirm d.

within all the latest German C segment: C-class facelift, B8 facelift, and the new F30.

my final choice will be F30! See u next year F30 M sport! :)

• looking-good on Oct 29, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Is it me or the fact?

i feel like currently all the audi’s front head design, is more or less copy n paste….

this make me would not put more than 1 audi in my garage…bcos all might look almost the same~~

• Bob_B78 on Oct 29, 2011 at 9:36 pm

All look the same…..
      If I got more than 2 Audi sedans in my garage…….
      I cant tell my friends which model is the latest A4, A5 and so on…

• if i put 2 bimmers in my garage…i cant tell my friends which model is the latest 7er, 5 er and so on..

if i put 2 protons in my garage..i cant tell my friends which model is the latest pesona,gen2 and so on

bob…

i think ur statement is not right…of course your friend will know how to diffrentiate those cars…but i dont know if ur friends are really stupid and dont know how to diffrentiate those cars.

and maybe ure stupid because u dont know how to explain those cars that u own.all cars maybe looks almost the same but IF we own them..we know the different and we should know how to xplain to the others the diff.

• f30 lagi teruk..exactly the same as 5 series the back..wat say u???

• F30 all the way, this A4 looking boring.

• ganasbudo on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:03 am

f30 is for those who cant afford f10 as butt of f30 is exactly the same as f10

• Shift from LED bulbs to LED lining..less aggressive than the previous model, i think young buyers will have problem getting use to that mature facelift..just my 2cents.

• honda on Oct 31, 2011 at 10:53 am

wow..this is cool man..class and elegant..