MediaCorp Subaru Impreza WRX Challenge 2011: Half of 10 Malaysians are out, five palms are still on the cars

We’re in Singapore for the MediaCorp Subaru Impreza WRX Challenge 2011, more commonly known as the ‘Subaru Palm Challenge’. This is the grand finals of the annual event, where the longest lasting palm on the car drives home a Subaru. As usual, the event is being held at Ngee Ann City or Takashimaya along Orchard Road.

Last month, Motor Image had a Malaysian leg of the palm challenge at Pavilion KL, where 57 contestants vied for 10 places in the Singapore finals. They’re here now, competing with 310 Singaporeans and 80 others from Cambodia, China, Macau, Indonesia, Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.

Our contingent of Richard Law, Mohd Fadhlly, Yoon Kok Leong, Tan Chuan Kok, Amier Amzar, Jonathan David William, Chan Hon Ki, Hubert Koh, Saw Sen Chiew, and Tan Hong Sheng started the challenge 1pm yesterday, but unfortunately, five have dropped out after nearly one and a half days in the sun and rain.

As of now, there are 124 contestants still in the running. Of the regional contingents, the Thais are showing true grit – 9 are still in the game. The Philippines are close behind with 8 and Vietnam has 7 still standing. Besides the car, on offer are cash prizes for a “Country Winner” and an “Asian Winner” – the latter for the longest lasting non Singaporean. Will the Malaysians defy the odds to outlast the rest?

Unlike the heats in KL, there are no challenges here, one simply needs to outlast the others to win. It’s not just physical strength, but mental power counts a lot too, if not more. The weather hasn’t been too kind as well, I was told by the crew that it alternated between heat and rain yesterday.

Contestants are entitled to a 5-minute break once every six hours, at 1pm, 7pm, 1am and 7am each day. They will need to do all their business in these short breaks – pee in your pants and you’re out, for instance. Only in the 7pm break that one family member is allowed to enter the arena to offer some moral support. Otherwise, it’s a long, smelly and lonely journey out there.

Last year, 45-year-old Singaporean Aloysius Lim lasted 75 hours and 17 minutes, but the ultimate record belongs to George Lee from 2008. He palmed the car for an astonishing 81 hours and 32 minutes to win the duel. How far will this year’s ‘palmers’ go? Stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• man….that is just demeaning – and all that for a car

• in the end, some of them got lung failure and varicose vein due to prolong immobilization standing.

• NISSAN on Oct 31, 2011 at 12:05 am

the winner definitely deserve it!

• Things people do to get cars, but its not a ferrari or mercedes, its only subaru

• Nizam80 on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:29 am

Agreed.

But a normal Impreza is much better than what you can get for RM60K here in Malaysia.

• Steve Wong on Oct 31, 2011 at 10:05 am

i cant stand for 3 days and bare for those smelly odour, stare at those people i not familiar and not talking, getting sunburned and what if the people beside fart!

Damn it..that’s why im still driving a kelisa.

• I could not even last an hour..

• clutch basah on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:00 am

Goodness.. things people does for free stuff. I could see “El-Cheapo” signs all over their faces.

• man..look at those figures..10 Malaysians, 310 Singaporeans and 80 others from Cambodia, China, Macau, Indonesia, Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam…? they want kiasu people (singaporeans) to win do they? haha

• maserati on Oct 31, 2011 at 9:07 am

All the kiasu ppl thr.. i might do it if its a lambo or ferrari but definately not for this cheap subaru

• Well, a new subaru WRX costs around 300 grand in bolehland.That is like 8-10 yr salary for the average joe on the streets.

So suffering for 3-4 days to get the WRX is worthwhile compared to slogging for 10 long years. Its more time efficient.

• Simon Ng on Oct 31, 2011 at 12:38 pm

It also says alot about how desperate people are getting. Major corporates are creating “circus monkey” out of desperate people who wants a better life for themselves in the name of marketing and branding.

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:30 am

alternatively, u can sell off the car immediately for hard cash if u wish to. pls note, d car comes with COE as well.

is a good monies in total.

• junaidi on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:50 am

amazing, you only see negative comments as its being held in Singapore.
    You’ll read different views if its held in KL.

• msbr91 on Oct 31, 2011 at 12:47 pm

stupid.. just wasting time..

• for the ppl who are calling the participants kiasu/stupid etc…how long does it take you to earn 200k? 2 years? 3 years? then arnt you the dumb one if the winner wins the WRX for 80 hours work?

• yang islamnya, bila pulak waktu anda bersolat?