Hyundai sells 2.95 million units worldwide through third quarter 2011 – sales up by 10% over same period in 2010

Hyundai Motor Company has reported that it has sold 2,949,914 units worldwide in the first nine months of the year, up 10.5% from the same period a year earlier. Of the total, 510,228 units were sold domestically, while 2,439,686 vehicles were shifted in other global markets. The Korean automaker’s overseas sales rose 11.2% from the same period last year, while its domestic sales increased 7.3%.

The growth has been led by the launch of new models and strengthened product competitiveness throughout its lineup, the company said. New models such as Accent (badged as the Verna in some markets), Grandeur (Azera), Veloster and i40 drove up sales in all regions.

Net profit increased 34.1% to 6.1 trillion won as of the end of September from a year earlier, while operating profit rose 27.1% to 5.95 trillion won. Improved product mix and sales growth boosted sales revenue by 18.2% to 57.28 trillion won.

For the remainder of the year, however, the company said that global demand is expected to be lower than the industry’s original forecast earlier this year, due to unfavourable external factors such as the European financial crisis and slower growth in emerging markets. It added it would strengthen its focus on qualitative growth and implementing innovative marketing strategies to overcome these hurdles.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rapidshifter on Oct 31, 2011 at 2:21 pm

hyundai have some cool models under their name…

• Ha Gnih on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:11 pm

I am just wondering if we are ever gonna get the Azera here in Malaysia. Hmmmm…..anybody out there who has actually tried the new Azera ? Your feedback would be most helpful. Thanks

• what car is that in the pic? looks better than the sonata

• Improved the car quality, power train, design, launch all new innovative cars..
    all of these are great effort to gain their sale..

it may still not the be the best in class, but willing to change and improve is the correct direction..

• 123GO on Oct 31, 2011 at 3:33 pm

I dont why everything looks like a camry to me T.T omg ……

• PROTON only 5% of that total figure….STILL a long way to go…

• mentari-o-korea on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:02 pm

..yep, it just a matter of time !! Kia the brother also catching up, no more ultra brothers please!

• Hyundai best seller Sonata was down for second month since August compare to that base on same month in 2010.
    August 2011 down 3% followed by September hefty 18%, however base due to better performace in early part of the year, year to date figure are still positive, but declining it was July 27% drop to August 22% and further slips to 17% as at september.
    Hyundai Sonata didn’t manage to grap more from market leader Toyota Camry who still stragle from part shortage caused by march tsuami, instead it was Nissan Altima who is climbing fast into second spots with only marginal difference between them & Camry, but bear in new Camry sales figure would be pouring in next month, which may make a different ball game.

Well well well, first report some “Bad” news on Honda in Thailand, follow by “Good” news on Hyundai, Ehmmh…

Marketing boy & girl over UMW, DRB & TCM need me to hint where to “Cut” on your advertising budget ? I bet u know where u need not spend isn’t it ?

• i guess most of us know toyota or japanese will sell better than hyundai,korean..as lots of ppl wit J in their forehead like u in our country especially…so whts ur problm?wit this kind of comment..trying so hard to annoyed ppl?hehee…gues u just jealous with hyundai?the main point in this news probably dat hyundai r getting better..n ppl like u (Japcars Fag)certainly cannot accept~hahahaa

• Ha Gnih on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Most probably he’s just a proton or P2 owner. Empty milo tin makes the loudest noise.

• tec96248 on Nov 01, 2011 at 3:46 pm

haha, my neighbors’ Lamborghinis’ very noisy where as i don’t hear much from P2, except the proton 2.0 diesel. by the way, is nothing wrong with p1 or p2 owners, but the mentality of an individual owner. he/she can be a jerk even owning a Ferrari.

• vincent on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Sonata sales dipped because they don’t have enough cars for deliver, waiting list is 6 mths..

• TurboMan on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:10 pm

U guys still wanna reply to jolo ah?

Im getting tired and begin to ignore his reply. Heck, i didnt even finish reading his post.

Anyhow my wife’s kia koup finally arriving after 7 months, extended from 3 months earlier. Hopefully no more delays.

Waiting time for korean cars is getting longer and longer.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:53 pm

That’s because drivers are smarter and are going for drive comfort and styling instead of the most talked-about issue, RESALE VALUE !!!

• research on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:35 pm

haizzzz no flood still got delayed ah? hyundai sucks!

• Ha Gnih on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Delayed because demand has increased. People will always have things to complain. If it’s not production delays, it’s resale value. Auto makers will never be able to satisfy uber fussy drivers.

• I dun think they give a fucuk about Msia..

We are at their mercy of exporting cheaper cars here to make T & H monopolize the market. Without them, a Honda city will cost at least 100k. Be thankful that they are here and stop fanboism your “god”, Toyoda. May brains be with you…

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:47 am

Jolo jolo jolo.

Why are you even bothering to comment here?

Care to check why Hyundai is not getting thier numbers here. Ever bothered to check the waiting lists of new korean cars? Hyundai is not sending enough cars over. They would be selling twice as many if the waiting list is not that long.

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Message to Proton in cantonese. ‘Lei mou hui sei??’

Translation = You don’t go die??

hahahha

• wolfsburg on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:32 pm

The Grandeur is gorgeous!

• apamau on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:42 pm

the problem with their success is, in Malaysia, you can’t get the car fast enough, even though japanese car are facing problem, but for both kia / hyundai new car, it just taking too long to deliver, that’s also why u hardly see many of them on the road.

• Sunny on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Hope hyundai could make new model like forte…sick and tired looking honda city and vios dugong…

• cucibawang on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:54 pm

honda city is a sportcar under different segment in malaysia…very hard to catch up by hyundai la…

• Sunny on Oct 31, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Sport car? I saw alot of aunties drives Honda City

• TurboMan on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:06 pm

honda city = sports car?

hmmm.

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Avante should be coming soon… let’s see if it could catch honda city.

• HELLO. Since when Honda City is a sports car? -_- City sits in the same segment with Vios la bro. Just that City looks better than Vios therefore it sells better. Like the last generation Vios.

• hahaha… can u tell us what ur defination of sport car ???

• sick&tired on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:42 pm

yea, city is a sports car. even better than Ferrari & Lamborghini. Fcking awesome car! no need petrol, can run on piss!

• Ha Gnih on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:15 pm

We just need to wait for the Avante to launch locally and see if it’s another trend setter just like the Forte. City a sports car ? Hmmm….I wonder how would that turn out to be. Hmmmm…..Oh wait!!! It comes with paddle shifters right ? Oh YEAH ! ‘SPORTS CAR’ indeed…….My yellow-boot-wearing-foot !

• kim kim on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:24 pm

I am not surprise the korean doing great at the moment, their products selling very well indeed…if they can keep it up matter of time they will beat the japs.

• that why proton must follow hyundai….put high price car and substandard car like what hyundai do in its country….n sold high cheaper and high quality for export…..im not talk empty..i have many article from korea bout that

• Ahmed on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Kawan , don’t compare Korean with potong. Hands down la kawan . Attitude of Korean is much better than the potong guys. Don’t agree ? Try visit potong factory …… From top to bottom also tidak ape attitude. Haha…. Many more unbelievable attitudes which can’t fit this forum ……… Tidal ape la bang….. 1 potong ma…… Lol

• P1 and P2 should follow up the Korean and improve the quality,safety and make the good looking cars for M’sian :)

• After 25 years, potong still can’t compete with others. Its time to bungkus or let go the company with cheap price or fight like a man in open market with Toyota, hyundai and honda. Taken over by foreign company pon not bad, preferably by japanese, so every workers in tg malim know what is KPI is all about, no more takpe attitude. Kesian la kat rakyat woii, asyik kena pakai junk car. At one time, thundercat have 4bill cash money generated from sales, what more do you want..malaysians support potong for 25 years. It time for potong to berdikari. 25 years is old enough for u to stand on your own feet.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Sometime i wonder our G is sincere to run P1 & P2 into a profitable & success car mfg.
    1st thing they should remove national car status tax rebate to door installer like Naza & Inokom, the earlier agreement was that they r not allow to rebadge car model which is direct competitor to P1 & P2, but just look at those model like Forte, i10, Rondo, Citra, Getz are all up against P1 & P2.
    Our market r not big enough for 4 national car, even the Korean had sole off 3 n left with 2, to ensured the success of National car project let Naza & Inokom pay tax like the rest of other CKD & CBU car mfg, the Govt would collect more tax & duties to inject into P1 & P2 to further develope new model.
    Without national tax rebate Forte would be price arround 95K – 115K, & i10 at 60K this will move them out of P1 & P2 price catagory.
    This will also proof whether people would still buy Korean car if it only marginal cheaper than Japanese.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:42 am

Lack of competition is what made proton vegitate in the late 1990s. How long does malaysian have to bear the brunt of subsidizing a national project that is so deeply seeded in cronyism and neponism.

Id say let proton fend for itself and remove taxes for all cars ckd in malaysia.

Proton still exist to save face to old man mahathir.

• From what you are saying P1/P2 can only sell in Malaysia and no where else. Look at reality Malaysia market alone is not sustainable. All it takes is a recession and they will be in deep trouble. Better to sell off P1. Our G will make more money by stopping the bleed.

• Car Lover Too on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:38 am

Actually Korea has got 5 car makers. They are:-
      1) Hyundai
      2) KIA
      3) Ssangyong
      4) Daewoo (majority owned by GM)
      5) Samsung (very few in Korea, even fewer outside Korea)

85% of cars in Korea are these 5 brands.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Well ! Car lover too,
        Let this Korean car disliker correct ur statement.

South Korea have 5 brand.
        1.) Hyundai
        2.) KIA – 1/3 own by Hyundai
        3.) Daewoo – own by GM
        4.) Ssanyong – own by Mahindra & Mahindra.
        5.) Samsung – own by Nissan Renault.
        So in reality Korea on have 2 car mfg.

• SsanYong has been sold to Mahindra India and Samsung’s car division has been taken over by Renault.

• Rhys Millen on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:16 pm

You r wrong, Hyundai has 50% Kia had 30% and th rest make up about 9 percent only…

• Masked Ryder on Nov 03, 2011 at 7:12 pm

U are also worng Generaly Hyundai own 49.2% of KIA, but due to the complexity of Hyundai Mobis & Hyundai Commercial of cross share ownership by by Employee Fund & Bankers the actual share owned are less.

During tough economic times, pretty-good quality coupled with lower-than-Japan and Detroit prices translates into sales for South Korea’s #2 carmaker (behind Hyundai Motor). Kia Motors produces some 1.5 million vehicles a year at nearly a dozen manufacturing and assembly plant in eight countries. Kia’s US models include the Rio subcompact, the Sportage SUV, the Optima mid-size sedan, and the Sorento crossover. Kia also makes a number of commercial vehicles. Its high-capacity plants outside Korea are in the US, Slovakia, and China. After Korea, Kia’s second-largest market is the US. Part of the Hyundia Kia Automotive Group, Kia operates as an affiliate of Hyundai Motor, which owns about a 35% stake in Kia.

Officers:
          Chairman and CEO: Chung Mong-Koo
          CEO, President, and Director: Seo Young-Jong
          President and Director: Chung Euisun

Read more: http://www.answers.com/topic/kia-motors#ixzz1cdjqNkvq

• korean metals are still depreciation disasters.

• Go buy house la..

• Ha Gnih on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:09 pm

who cares if their metal is a depreciation disaster ? Go ask them to create a model that runs on concrete platform. See if they die laughing or not.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 01, 2011 at 8:49 am

Honda city is a leaking and gearbox nightmare. Most friends who WERE driving the City are switching to Koreans, There you go. An Yong Ho Sae Yo !!!

• Ha Gnih on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Company bought 3 Cities late last year and earlier this year and yes, both the black and silver one suffered serious rear wind shield leakage problem during heavy rain and the polished metal metallic suffered gear box problem after clocking just a mere 15K on the trip. Boss decided to confront Honda but salesmen were all reluctant to look into the matter and tried to blame on drivers instead. How can drivers cause wind shield leakage and AUTO gearbox problems ? SO stupid. In the end we ended up fixing the car at some mechanic and amazingly he fixed that problem and we hurriedly sold all 3 and now, replaced by Fortes and yes, no complaints so far.

• Honda Power on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:41 am

That’s just tough luck. I have been driving my Honda City i-VTEC for 2 years 5 months and it doesn’t give me any problems. It’s a good car. Even my other 6 years 3 months old Honda City i-DSI doesn’t have any problems. Please check your facts before posting. Maybe you are a Hyundai/Kia sales advisor out to tarnish Honda’s good name. Ha ha!

• Ha Gnih on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:41 am

Tough luck is good enough to tarnish a name. And honestly, why would a Hyundai/Kia advisor be out to tarnish other makes and models ? Its just plain unprofessional. Furthermore, brands of the rising sun is so difficult to tarnish anyways, thanks to the stronghold such as yourself. But I must honestly say, I’m a Toyota/BMW & Honda(ex) fan/owner/enthusiast. But recent mishaps have changed me quite a bit and yes, Koreans get me interested quite a bit too these days. So, you check your facts too before trying to point in a wrong direction. Ha! Ha! HA!