Range Rover Evoque launched – RM353k to RM393k

Land Rover Malaysia has officially launched the Range Rover Evoque – the car arrives in three variant forms, these being a 2.0 litre petrol three-door Coupe as well as two five-door examples, a 2.0 litre petrol version and a 2.2 litre diesel.

The 2.0L Petrol Coupe – specified with a Dynamic Plus package – and the 2.0L Petrol 5-Door Prestige are powered by the 240 PS and 340 Nm Si4 turbocharged engine, with twin variable valve timing. As for the 2.2L Diesel 5-Door, which is also configured in Prestige trim, it wears the 190 PS and 420 Nm version of the SD4 turbodiesel, the same mill as found in the Land Rover Freelander 2.

Both the petrol and diesel engines are matched to the latest generation AW F-21 six-speed automatic transmission with a Rotary Auto Shifter. Performance figures are a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 7.6 seconds for the petrol versions and 8.5 seconds for the diesel, while maximum speed is 217 km/h for the petrol duo and 195 km/h for the diesel job.

Features available across the range include adaptive Xenon headlamps, push-button start, an 8-inch touchscreen with HDD and corresponding 380-watt 11-speaker Meridian audio system, 5-inch driver information full colour display, powered tailgate, rear climate control vents, paddle shifters, cruise control and electronic parking brake, among others.

A full suite of three-letter acronym traction and stability systems are also to be found, and these include Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), Roll Stability Control (RSC), Traction Control System (TCS), Trailer Stability Assist (TSA), Hill Start Assist, Hill Descent Control (HDC), Enhanced Understeer Control (EUC), Gradient Release Control (GRC) and Engine Drag torque Control (EDC).

The Coupe has some stuff that’s not to be found on the five-door versions – these are Adaptive Dynamics, a fixed panoramic roof with solar attenuating glass, textured aluminium trim in the interior as well as metal-finish foot pedals.

All three versions come wearing 20-inch alloys, though the Coupe gets what is called Style 7 and the two five-door variants, Style 6 – essentially, they are both the same V-spoke designs, but in different finishes, silver sparkle for the former and shadow chrome for the latter.

The Coupe comes in three exterior shades – Fuji White, Firenze Red and Sumatra Black, with an Agility theme in the White example and a Velocity theme to be found for the latter two colours. The five-door expands the exterior colour palette by two – Orkney Grey and Indus Silver join the trio above. Each is partnered to a matching interior theme, these being called Sprint, Vibe and Element.

Pricing-wise, the CBU Evoque rolls in at RM393,888 for the 2.0L Petrol Coupe Dynamic Plus, while the 2.0L Petrol 5-Door Prestige goes for RM363,888 and the 2.2L Diesel 5-Door Prestige is priced at RM353,888, all on-the-road excluding insurance. It’s apparently going great guns for the SUV – more than 250 bookings were secured for it even before the launch, so if you want one now, be prepared to wait.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rangy on Nov 02, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Tats what i called a car for real men

nice car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Tankado on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:33 pm

or Posh Beckham

• guess some didn’t know this RR represent Victoria Beckham…
        Mana boleh panggil hansome and and car for real man…. LOL

• aaron on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:41 am

i test drove the petrol version yesterday – it feels like driving a golf gti! it’s top class – the pedals are so responsive and the power is immediate. when you switch to sports mode – it’s a screamer ( a quieter scream than gti but still a scream). i heard it’s most for people who have to upgrade from a luxury sedan car or hot hatches because they have more people to carry later in life. but i don’t agree with your comment – real men would drive the full size range rover – the 5.0 supercharged one (real asian men would drive the landcruiser – not the prado but the original landcruiser) . the evoque has great 4×4 ability and fancy electronics to control it – just watch the vids. but personally i think the evoque is for fancy people who lives in damansara and pretends they go offroad on their weekends. it’s direct competitors is the Q5 and X3 – and I would choose the Evoque any day.

• Shiang on Dec 23, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Which showroom to head to for the petrol version test drive?

Anyways, Evoque’s best compared to Q5 and X3.

• rookie on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:39 am

a car without a real shifter for a real man?ppfftt!! even a car without a clutch pedal is not for a real man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Cool car with good price…this will kill the VW and Volvo SUVS :O

• GrrrG on Nov 02, 2011 at 6:42 pm

RangeRover Evoque: I am sexy and I know it~~~!

• I only can look at these pictures. So sad. So sad. So sad I couldn’t afford this handsome, gorgeous, nice car!

Life’s a bitch.

• amirzaheen on Nov 02, 2011 at 7:00 pm

i love this~!!!!!

• wheelsAREmyFRIEND on Nov 02, 2011 at 7:03 pm

kind a weird design at the back side…it seem the tailgate lamp not very suit to the macho appearance….

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 02, 2011 at 7:07 pm

I like… Rear needs getting use to.

• msbr91 on Nov 02, 2011 at 7:22 pm

wow.. really happy with this news! Gonna visit the showroom and book one..

• Downsys on Nov 02, 2011 at 7:43 pm

Honestly did not expect such prices from Range Rover. I expected at least twice the price. This will sell really well.

• tkling on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:26 pm

this is competitor to sort like BMW X1, what do u think the price? u want it priced like X5 or Cayanne? do some homework pls…

• Surprised on Nov 02, 2011 at 7:45 pm

I think the price is not that bad.

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:51 pm

‘not that bad’ — hmmm………. it is still bad, is that what you mean?

• steam_man on Nov 02, 2011 at 8:14 pm

now, isnt that economical?

• does either model come with that optional magnetic dampers which is available as an option in other regions?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 03, 2011 at 2:25 am

The Coupe features Adaptive Dynamics, and the package, I believe, incorporates the BWI MagneRide dampers. Since the 5-Doors don’t have AD, I guess the answer is no for them.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:20 am

pity it doesn’t come with it. should be an option heard it really helps improve the driving dynamics. also disappointed that the 5-door doesn’t come with the panaromic glass roof.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 02, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Nice but too expensive.

• policeman on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Ugly like my dick.

• kuriang on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:11 pm

you suck!

• Tankado on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:33 pm

haters gonna hate

• Pity u hate ur dick. Should try Viagra to lift that saggy skin…

• blue-traveler on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:16 am

This is one of the best looking Rang Rover yet, even tea time ah pek also like it. Thou I believe purist will hate it. Just like when posh 1st came out a SUV, all posh fan cry foul. And the price is nicely done. We will see a lot more of R.Rove on the road, soon.

• Alpha on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Awesome.The price is nicely placed.But it kinda looks small compared to other SUV in the price range like the RX350,Murano and the latest Infiniti.

Although the displacement is very small,but the power (240ps) it gives can really rivals that of RX350 (3.5V6.275bhp) and Murano (3.5V6 265bhp).But the Infiniti comes with a 3.7V6 unit producing 320bhp.But then,it’s 1700cc more than the Evoque.

Safe on roadtax,while still providing nice figures.I think this might be one hell of a contender for the others.

• Ayecaramba! on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:56 pm

But the exclusivity, I bet Range Rovers turn more heads than X5s. All the more it being the Evoque. The body so flashy (not fleshy). I’d take the Evoque in a heartbeat.

On another note, Mommy!!! why do I only get the Hot Wheels version? ;)

• hang lekiu on Nov 11, 2011 at 6:35 am

Oi, lu sudah gila ka apa compare ini kereta dengan Murano???

This thing is the size of an X1.

If you are a family with children, not the car for you. If you love your children’s life and use children car seats, then sorry if you are trying to ferry more than 2 kids.

Boot is tiny, will not fit a stroller.

Gorgeous car for the young single and available.

• Commenter on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:06 pm

okay my next car will be this.

• chuakz on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:12 pm

i think its priced ok…with audi Q5 in mind…and i think it will sell pretty well…finally land rover has a car to appeal to malaysians in mass

• skiborne on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:15 pm

drove the diesel Freelander 2 before. wickedly fast. this is no exception since it shares same engine

• Have 4x4 will travel on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:37 pm

This SUV is fast overtaking the Q5 as the most desirable baby luxury SUV seeing how the waiting list worldwide is piling up…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Nice to see some AD that has the heart to launch quality cars in our country unlike some who consistantly give us things that we do not really want.

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Not-so-rich people will buy Lexus, hoping to drive it for 10 years and then get a good resale value. Really rich people buy vehicles that they love, like this cantiq Evoque.

• stupid proton on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:47 pm

worth the value

• Such a great car to see on the road of Malaysia.

• Nice. I like.

Korean fanboys, any comments?

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:47 pm

For ‘poor man’ SUV below RM200K, Sportage probably is still the best looking (the upcoming CRV may not be better, judging from photo).
      For rich man SUV, there are many good looking ones. We really have difficulty in pursuading the really rich men to buy Lexus SUVs in Malaysia.
      Sorry, I am not Korean fanperson.

• sonyman on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:05 pm

wow, this is wonderful, the pricing is just right. bye bye murano, bye bye RX Harriers and CX5,, haha., especially murano.

• F.O.C on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Wow! They seriously launch this car in Malaysia. Unbelievable, but I am wondering if CKD lagi murah, even more buyers!

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:59 pm

The person who wait for CKD Evoque: this Evoque is not for you. You have not reach that stage yet. Save RM50k for a CKD, are you serious?

• F.O.C on Nov 03, 2011 at 3:06 am

I am serious, why u think i am kidding. Let look at BMW 3series, Mercedes C-class EVEN their S-class is CKD!!!!, if it were not for CKD do you think the car price will be cheaper.

If is not for me then how about Mercedes Benz S500 CKD, so u mean those so called “semi-Rich” is not for them?

I mean if there are enough demand why not CKD it? why pay unnecessary tax. Jimmy i seriously doubt your reply, anyone mind “correcting me if I am wrong.

• justin on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:10 pm

wow,too expensive for poor people like me,but there is 250 rich people already booked.

• TopGear on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:32 pm

with so many booking, and limited number of Service Centre…. good luck

• looking-good on Nov 03, 2011 at 1:11 am

the 250 rich people are too busy to taking care their business , so don’t have time reading blog everyday~~

• Chyan on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Sexy and voluptuousness. ;)

• Another overpriced car for Malaysian Public :(

• The Enthusiast on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:24 pm

It’s finally here! And boy, it looks oh-so-sexy!

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Cantiq, outstanding, just like an X6.
    Price is reasonable.
    At least 6 airbags, true?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 03, 2011 at 2:49 am

The local spec list reads “driver and passenger front and rear.” It should well be front dual, side curtains front and rear, and driver’s knee bag, methinks.

• RM350k?

i expect more than 500k for range rover

• TopGear on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:14 pm

the Freelander 2 is a nice car… but the pricing is too high… at RM271K.. if selling RM230K…will be a hit

• It has Kia Forte’s front lights!

• This car is 100% reskin Volvo XC60. Compare closely it has the same profile as well. Same engine as well. It is a volvo/ford engine.

• OMFG!!! Kereta Anak Jantan…..translate to “A Real Man’s Car”…..

• Nuffsaid on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Goodness…. the car is so much more sexier than the two fugly models standing next to it.
    Wait, is that purposefully done to make the car looks more outstanding?

• That the look of classy ladies.. For classy cars..
      If they are selling cheap cars they will use skimpy girls..

• mmouse on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:59 pm

Is this an all wheel drive or front wheel?

• Topgear on Nov 03, 2011 at 7:11 am

250 booking ? They only have a few service centres.. Can cope ? D issues r long term maintainance, servicing, spare parts, resale value… But nowadays looks like those issues not main criteria for malaysian car buyers anymore .. Just look at d number of audi, bentley, jaguar, lexus, etc…

• cardreamer on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:39 am

If you don’t mind about being ‘upper class’, at very much less the price you can get a ‘similar’ good looking and ‘quite generous’ spec of KIA Sportage…but this Rover is definitely a top notch!

• mentari-o-korea on Nov 03, 2011 at 2:34 pm

..yeah the smart handsome side window look almost similar to Sportage

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:38 am

A really expensive mini countryman

• kenot on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:10 am

Nice but too expensive..cannot make it RM300K?

• It is definitely over price in this segment. The price shall be more attractive than Q5. This car has no 2nd hand value and the service is so so expensive….

What a let down by our local distributor….

• lalok_stylo on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:08 am

not bad, smaller engine compare to the others(murano, harrier &etc.) but the performance figure is nice….
    2.0l for 240ps and 340nm…..
    save on roadtax…..

• mangata on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:39 pm

u dont buy a 350k car just 2 save on roadtax dumb

• lalok_stylo on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:25 am

xkesh la, lg bgus klu dpt kurgkn kos kn…..
        x kire la kete harga 500k ke 1m ke…..

• Shiok on Nov 03, 2011 at 2:27 pm

This is a sexy car ! The best out of Range Rover by far … when is the new Ford Escape launching similar design with this car might be lower price.

• crazerlapd on Nov 03, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Does all the Land rover showroom got this car to display?

• sick&tired on Nov 03, 2011 at 4:57 pm

how to change gears? paddle shift? rotate knob?

• blue-traveler on Nov 03, 2011 at 5:55 pm

knob is for switch between park, R, drive, etc. Gear changes by paddle shift. Can check out the video on Driven Car Reviews, thou he test drove the coupe only.

• dastan on Nov 03, 2011 at 6:34 pm

only stupid people will be thumb down my comment and noob person will be not thumb up, and only awesome people will be like this comment. tq

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 03, 2011 at 7:02 pm

mahalnya

• Probably need some getting used to the rear blindspots, other than that this thing looks awesome!

• Soul Fly on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Worth of money to buy this car then buyin msia PRO-TIN cArSSs….
    Doest matter you rich or poor.. everyone have the dream to own a nice luxury car.
    If everyone car fly like air asia .. why not same goes to luxury car.. only thing is need to save money to get it.. :)… so start save sumting $$$$ …

• Mater on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:54 am

Can the 5 doors seat 7?

• i check at the website…price start from US $43,995..malaysia sell start from RM353k….too expensive lor….better buy house

http://www.landrover.com/us/en/rr/range-rover-evoque/

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:00 am

just saw this car. loveeeeeeeeeeee it

• pluto80 on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:42 pm

book mine yesterday.Indeed very happy with range rover evoque. Sadly need to wait about 6 month tho…counting down days…

• maiden on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:09 am

saw one last week….really a nice suv…..sporty looking, nampak garang……

• Peter on Dec 17, 2011 at 9:48 pm

So sad they didn’t even throw in the reverse camera for that kind of price.

• kevin tan on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:36 pm

i bought the coupe 1 very nice,but only 1 same problem-the gearbox is a trouble to this car the gear sometimes would not change

• she’s hot… but RM390k++.. this car too slow compare to X6, Kah Yen & Q7….

• reaz619 on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Do the 5 cameras included for the local version?

• me me me on Dec 09, 2012 at 11:59 pm

love this car so much..gonna get it soon! weeehoooo….very sexy and chantik!

• p308T on Dec 16, 2012 at 5:52 pm

find it weird those grey importer are selling evoque:

1) more expensive that authorized dealer
    2) one year old car (mostly year 2011)
    3) “secretly known” to have tempered mileage

greedy or just pressing luck?

• Myrtle on Dec 30, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Never go and test drive and i book dy!!! OMG!!! LOL

• Lobo Foo on Jan 24, 2013 at 5:50 pm

I love this car it looks beautiful and sexy

• Disappointed on May 22, 2013 at 12:33 am

From RM 393,888.00 to 409,888.00 for dynamic plus… Good job

• This car are sooooooo gorgeous! This is my dream car. I am a girl but i really love this car. I will study hard and become a rich ppl then i will buy this car