Subaru Palm Challenge 2011: Singaporean Chong Kiat Chi wins the Impreza WRX, lasts 75 hours and 36 minutes!

We just got home from Singapore, where the MediaCorp Subaru Impreza WRX Challenge 2011 came to a close last evening. As the contest entered day four, three men were determined to be the last man standing, but it was Chong Kiat Chi who outlasted the rest to drive away a Subaru Impreza WRX MT Hatchback worth S$92800 (without COE).

Chong, a 42-year old sales manager, had his palm on the car for 75 hours and 36 minutes. Chong is an old hand at the game, having previously contested six times in this annual event.

Six-time repeat contestant Chong Kiat Chi finally strikes gold (wheels)

He beat 27-year old commercial executive Tilani Haresh Lachmandas in the final battle. Tilani, with his huge popping eyes, looked very determined, and appeared the fitter of the two. He also had a huge group of friends cheering him on, but at the 75 hour 35 minute mark, stewards disqualified him for lifting his hand off the designated palm placement.

He wasn’t pleased with the call, as anyone who had a 50:50 shot at a car would be. But with the stakes so high, mistakes can be costly. Tilani had to settle for a S$5,000 cheque.

Determined and with plenty of support, but Tilani Haresh had to settle for S$5,000

Earlier, hotly tipped 52-year old chauffeur Abdul Hamid Jonid, last year’s runner up, was eliminated at 75 hours, 8 minutes after his hand slipped off. It must be heartbreaking for “Kachang” having been so close yet so far for two years running.

Conditions weren’t easy after the final ever 5-minute break at 1pm yesterday. The weather continued to toy with them, oscillating between scorching heat and heavy downpour. Winner Chong perhaps had a slightly easier time as his position was shielded from direct sun by the Ngee Ann City shadow.

Another heartbreaking nearly there moment for last year’s runner up Kachang

“I’m incredibly happy to have won. I dropped out last year due to exhaustion, but this year, with the support of my family and friends, I was able to last for as long as I did. Without them I don’t think I would have been able to do it, so I am really grateful for everything they have done,” Chong said.

Away from the trio, the best regional contestant went to Neblasca Alex Jr from the Philippines. He went home with S$5,000. As the best regional collective effort (combined hours) the Thailand team won S$10,000. The last man standing from each country took home S$1,000 each, and Malaysia’s best effort came from 30-year old sales personnel Saw Sen Chiew.

Saw lasted over 63 hours before his palm slipped off, a commendable effort. Besides the smooth surface, Saw said that the “concentration was not there” when he was eliminated.

Saw Sen Chiew was Malaysia’s longest lasting. He took home S$1,000 as country winner

Being there live at the palm challenge left me amazed at the willpower and determination shown by the participants, who endured sun and rain every single day. But I tip my cap to Adam Kamis, the one handed contestant. Good natured and ever smiling, the 32-year old joined not to boost his bank balance, but to raise funds for a semi paralysed friend to go to Germany for treatment.

However, Kamis, who lost his arm in a bike accident in 2003, was “strongly advised” by medics to retire getting severe blisters on his hand.

Adam Kamis put his only palm down to help a friend. Blisters got in the way

“My skin was stuck on the car, I peeled it off and blood just gushed out,” he told this wincing writer. “I intend to safe this arm for next year’s contest,” the man who runs at least 30 km a day added with a smile. An eye opening few days indeed.

Think you can do better? Join next year!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bot_tech on Nov 02, 2011 at 4:15 am

Salut to that One-hand guy!!…congrats to the winners

• They should change the game for people coz it’s quite dangerous and show the company is like ‘ i pay u so u must do whatever i want you to do ‘ anyway they can try about the knowledge games,answer the questions about the Subaru tech and history…that show the company is more upper class and standard !

• Congratulation.. Surely something that to be proud of!!

• kimi_ on Nov 02, 2011 at 4:45 am

It is easy to condemned people and make fun of them…..But it is their hardwork and determination that inspired us, Take a look at second picture where the winner putting his palm in rain….

Let say i give you 1million dollar and want you to stand outside for 3 days without sleep, do you think you can make it?????? It is not about the worth of prize money, but the attitude and perseverance.

• clutch basah on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:25 am

Dude, there is a huge difference between that car and a million dollar.
      Congrats to the winners anyway.

• So glad that Tilani din won.. that photo of him is so…

• damn! I’m glad the bug eyed weirdo lost! thumbs up if you agree!

• clemenza on Nov 02, 2011 at 7:58 am

pelik gak..dieorg bole ke tahan tak pergi tandas!

• Alpha on Nov 02, 2011 at 8:36 am

Ohmygosh!!Is that Mr.Bean??

• xavier lert on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:53 am

congrats….not my type of “sport”..i would rather buy it if i want to..

• _xXx_ on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:00 am

he needs to fork out SGD70+k for the COE in order to register the car….

• _xXx_ on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:06 am

can’t believe Glenn Tan still looks so happy despite only 8 & 9 cars sold in the month of Aug and Sep respectively in SG….

• Feng Shui Master on Nov 02, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Glenn has nothing to worry, judging from his “fook siong” he dun sell a car a month also no worries laa..

• _xXx_ on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:58 am

haha, u mean all fatties got no worries? How bout that sui yong mr bean? Don’t b suprised he got 3 lambos park in his garage hehe…

• Downsys on Nov 02, 2011 at 12:48 pm

The 5 minute breaks include makan or not?

• lim yee pee on Nov 02, 2011 at 12:51 pm

hey, just wanna make some correction, my husband name spelled : Saw Sen Chiew, not Sen Ching. Thanks for your article! ^^

• lim yee pee on Nov 02, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Thanks for the article. ^^
    btw, my husband name spelled : Saw Sen Chiew, not Saw Sen Ching.

• George Lim on Nov 02, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Was just going to help you point that out until I saw your comment here. Nice one mate! Congrats for being the country’s best!

• kimi_ on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Who the hell your husband is??? Who really care……

• TallPan on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Little known fact… Chong is actually 22 years old. The 6 years of contesting has caused him to look like a 42 year old man.

Hahah not really. jk

• mirror mirror on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Simply amazing, kudos to all participants.

• Musalmah Endut on Nov 02, 2011 at 2:19 pm

retarded mr. Bean is so annoying!

• Jerry on Nov 02, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Why are Singaporeans winning almost every year?

Theoretically, participants from countries where cars are prohibitively expensive to buy, will tend to have greater motivation than their counterparts from countries wherein cars are relatively affordable. (How much does a Proton Saga FL costs in Singapore? That’d be RM200,000 please.)

Logical?

• RedBeanBun on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:46 pm

you cant beat the kia su countryman :)

• “My skin was stuck on the car, I peeled it off and blood just gushed out”, u kiddin me? man that’s painful..

• FatBear on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:50 pm

……..hot metal……can cook bro……blame the new weather trend

• Adam 1ArmRunner on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:05 pm

Hi all,

First and foremost, I just would like to thank the website and especially the writer of the article for highlighting me and my cause, I’m truly grateful and appreciative.

Secondly, I just would like to thank all of you for your support and kind words, I’m truly flattered and humbled.

Though I did not manage to meet my primary target of 48hours as I was forced to walk-out from the event at the 42hrs plus mark after my left palm had stick to the car surface due to badly infected blisters with blood and pus oozing out, and I was strongly advised by the paramedics and head marshalls to do so, I’m glad that I achieved my goals which are:

1. To raise public-awareness about disability sports.
    2. To prove to society that Disabled does not mean Unabled, it’s THISabled.
    3. Thisabled have fighting spirit and fortitude, and we deserve equal opportunity instead of being disqualified because of our disability.
    4. To raise awareness and funds for Mr. Mohd Noor Azri and his family who are appealing for help. (http://victorianazri.blogspot.com)

I look forward to next year’s event and I hope to be able to last beyond the 60hrs marks if I’m given another opportunity to participate.

By now, I also hope by my participation in the event, it will have given much encouragement and confidence to other THISabled individuals to take part in such events.

Thanks once again.

• Sam Chung on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:36 am

every year only singaporian win….