Volkswagen Passat CC facelift – debut at LA Auto Show

Volkswagen has given its popular Volkswagen Passat CC four door coupe a mid-life facelift that revises the car’s appearance as well as adds a few new features.

We’re used to getting only one or two specs of vehicles here in Malaysia but in Europe, cars start out with very basic specs and you have to tick checkboxes to upgrade the options which increase the price of the car.

For the Passat CC, they’ve made a few options standard with the facelift, sich as bi-xenon headlamps, static cornering lights, LED tail lamps, fatigue detection. RCD 310 audio, stainless steel door sill plates, and safety head restraints with additional longitudinal adjustment for the front seats.

The facelifted Passat CC also gets new assistance systems like Side Assist Plus with integrated Lane Assist, which warns the driver of vehicles in blind spots and assists the driver in avoiding accidents by steering intervention. There’s also Dynamic Light Assist, which is automatic high beam control, and a camera-based traffic sign detection system. There’s also a new “climate seat” that has integrated massage function.

Various engines are available – we’re already familiar with the 2.0 litre TSI engine of course. In Europe, the facelifted Passat CC will come with various petrol engines ranging from a 160 PS tune up to a powerful 300 PS engine as well as a 140 PS TDI diesel engine, while in the US a different selection is available – a 200 PS TSI and a 280 PS FSI.

The new facelifted Passat CC will make its world debut at the LA Auto Show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bravo ! Very nice car.

• Hail yeah on Nov 03, 2011 at 4:09 pm

If only it’s CKD like the passat too! :)

• Just keep the old model head and change the rear lights that’s enough for the nice facelift ! this one is just ugly and horrible ! pls VW i believe you can do better just bring back the Peter to design ur cars!

• yh Inc. on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:11 pm

VW did the unnecessary facelift! Keep the existing P.CC will do!

Better put the effort in other model as lots of the other model looks like the same!

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:06 am

This facelift looks okay, from photo.

• Tiguan on Nov 03, 2011 at 3:37 pm

This is ugly, I prefer the current model!

• GrrrG on Nov 03, 2011 at 3:39 pm

NICE! Very handsome.

• Its kinda boring la….i prefer the look of the pre facelift model…..

• ridger on Nov 03, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Existing front fascia is better.
    But the face-lifted rear is nicer than before.

• Alanore on Nov 03, 2011 at 3:59 pm

This facelift have more changes as compared to the new Civic over its predecessor…

• The rear certainly looks more elegant but I think the front looks rather conservative – not enough differentiation from the standard Passat. The folly of having a standard family look to all their cars! Too sama sama!!

• it has completely lost its unique identify…the front looks more sedate , like a norm Camry..!

meh…

• Anwar on Nov 03, 2011 at 4:36 pm

I prefer the current Passat CC front and the new CC facelift rear. The current Passat CC rear lights look like ah beng lights.

• That BENGKOK DRL is damn cheapo look.

• sick&tired on Nov 03, 2011 at 4:56 pm

front=old model better
    back=new model better

• that grill doesn’t work with the headlamps. it looks cheap.

• I agree with most people here: gotta love the new rear light design, but not the front

• Darren on Nov 03, 2011 at 6:43 pm

New front kinda kills off the saloon coupe look

• BeemerFreak on Nov 03, 2011 at 6:54 pm

The grill uses the old design language. The new has just one single line running between the vw emblem. Why couldn’t they not touch the front

• Lim kopi on Nov 03, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Damn, I just got my PCC for less than 3 months…

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 03, 2011 at 7:00 pm

i like the interior, but the exterior is no……

• Interior wise? come on, 508 is much better interior wise! and the price is different by almost 60-70K!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:06 pm

i really do prefer the 508 more than these cars. in fact most french interiors are great these days. but let’s be honest. the interior in the vw is still better than one in a honda accord.

• nice, just like the current rear lights better.

• squawk on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Bloody Europeans always spoil market. Their facelifts are like Japanese full model change.

• nigel on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:33 pm

now this is a proper car

• stanbank on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:16 am

I prefer to current design. Both front and rear just look classic. The facelift look moden but it has no soul.

• yes, this is exactly what i’m trying to say… New facelift spoil the unique look, and the old rear lights give us some vroommm factor… the new rear lights, just looks like another sedan… come on, this is a CC!

• Jing Yi on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:55 am

Suddenly the front reminds me of the current Accord. Don’t know why.

• In my opinion better for Passat sedan to sport new Pcc front look while latest Pcc rear light cluster has better look and simply keep current Pcc front design.

• nonce on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:28 am

the overall design of the car doesn’t match well to the angular facelift. especially vw tiguan with its angular facelift. ugleee.

• Mentari-o-korea on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Now the rear light doesnt look like sonata, thats the only improvement i can see!

• Humaidi on Nov 10, 2011 at 2:52 pm

A better improvement from the old one. Nice, I like it. Will definitely consider this.

• Front grille look very ugly la…omg