Honda CR-Z launched – RM115k OTR with insurance

Honda Malaysia earlier this evening launched the CR-Z, making Malaysia the first country in Southeast Asia to offer the three-door hybrid hatch to car enthusiasts. The third Honda hybrid to be introduced in the country is priced at RM115,000 on the dot, on-the-road with insurance (or if you will, RM111,878, without insurance).

The “hot-hatch hybrid,” as the company has tagged it, is powered by a 114 PS and 145 Nm 1.5 litre LEA SOHC i-VTEC engine and a 10 kW (or 14 PS) and 78 Nm MF6 brushless DC electric motor and a sophisticated Intelligent Power Unit (IPU) – together, the powertrain combination delivers 124 PS at 6,000 rpm and 174 Nm of torque at 1,000 to 1,500 rpm.

The IMA Hybrid System is mated to a six-speed manual gearbox, which is the standard transmission for the car, with a Hill-Start Assist function present. The vehicle also features a 3-Mode Drive System, which enables the driver to choose and switch between Sport, Normal and Economy modes with the switch of an individual button.

The three modes alter the response of the throttle, steering, idle stop timing, climate control and the level of assistance provided by the IMA Hybrid System, and the individual modes are also indicated on the Illuminated Advance Sports Meter as glowing coloured rings of light. In Sport mode, you get – as expected – improved acceleration response, and steering feedback is tighter; in this mode, the light on the meter goes red.

Normal mode of course provides the optimum balance between driving performance and fuel economy, with an EPS response that’s balanced, smooth and agile. Switching to Econ mode, as it’s called, reduces throttle response, optimises motor assist, controls the air conditioning economically and lengthens idle stops to maximise fuel efficiency.

In Normal and Econ mode, the glowing coloured rings of light in the meter display changes from blue to blue-green to green depending on the driver’s style of driving; green, of course signifies the most fuel efficient driving.

Equipment on the 1,160 kg vehicle includes halogen headlamps with LED positioning lights, front fog lamps, a three-spoke leather steering wheel, cruise control, a six-speaker audio system with USB and an auxiliary input, rear foldable seats (which really are jump seats at best – there’s enough space to get in for an adult, but you can’t sit up straight!) and a glovebox cooler, among others. Folding down the rear seat back translates into 410 litres of boot space, which allows space for two golf bags.

On the safety front, the car comes equipped with dual front airbags, side airbags with Occupant Position Detection System and side curtain airbags. There’s ABS, BA and EBD as well as Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) in the mix too.

The CR-Z rides on 16-inch five twin-spoke alloys, wrapped with 195/55 series rubbers. At point of launch, there’s only a single external colour for the car, which is Premium White Pearl, but expect other shades to join the palette list soon – we hear that red, black and silver will come about as it goes along. And yes, you can also expect an auto CVT-equipped version to arrive on the scene sometime next year, but no word yet exactly when.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nebula87 on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:41 pm

under power for a hot hatch back like this…so pity…=.=

• steam_man on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:11 pm

first honda in malaysia with 6 airbags? :D

kudos

cos its a cbu!!

• kimi_ on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:26 pm

From the picture 2, the rear screen wiper almost at the roof top. How the hell is driver going to view the rear mirror?????

the black part at rear of the boot which is between honda logo and brake light is window or just sticker???

Anyone can clarified this?

• soundsfishy on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:28 am

the rear wiper on the roof will surely help those boys at car wash to quickly wipe off water

• Johndeep on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:49 am

kimi, for sure you’ve never seen the old CRX

• potsicle on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:21 pm

cant u see theres another window pane just on top of the honda logo?

• Masked ryder on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:13 pm

http://paultan.org/2011/11/03/honda-cr-z-launched-rm115k-otr-with-insurance/dsc_5201/

Does this photo answer your question ?

• Honda Accord 2.4 equipped with dual front and side airbags.

• steam_man on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:45 am

dual front and side = 4

can you count?

accord 2.4 dont have curtain right?

oh tunasandwich

• cbu at that price is really worth buying

• OMG…manual and 2 doors are the disadvantage for this CR-Z.

• its a hybrid dumbass..its supposed to provide fuel economy, of coz its “under power”. if u wan power go buy a tesla

• looking-good on Nov 04, 2011 at 4:45 am

the electric part only produce 14PS, its only about 10% of the total PS of the car..

what is the point here? just for the sick of being green, being hybrid??

• well…you forgot the main part…being tax exempted!!!

• an651 on Nov 06, 2011 at 6:21 pm

macha, help urself with top gear USA. They did review this car & even though its not very powerful, it is satisfying. Remarks: If your car speedometer is 260km/h. it does not mean u are able to drive at that speed.

• Gabba Gabba Gabba on Nov 11, 2011 at 10:50 am

Hey dude, U mean TOP GEAR USA or TOP GEAR UK???

• hazeman on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Because im a calculative person, lets find some numbers that can compare this cars with our local cars. Firstly let us check the specs of the car and compare it with others. Take note that all these cars are the manual version except saga FLX which is CVT.

Honda Crz:124hp,174nm, 1160kg; meaning 9.35kg/hp and 6.55kg/nm
      Proton Persona CPS: 125hp ,150nm, 1225kg; meaning 9.8kg/hp and 8.17kg/nm
      Proton Satria Neo CPS: 125hp, 150nm, 1212kg; meaning 9.7kg/hp and 8.08kg/nm

and for kicks the ‘normal’ point A to B cars

Proton Saga FLX: 90hp, 120nm, 1030kg; meaning 11.44kg/hp and 8.5kg/nm
      Perodua MYVI SE 1.5: 102hp, 136nm, 970kg; meaning 9.5kg/hp and 7.13kg/nm

Well we can see clearly here that this ‘hot hatch’ is more or less equal in performance to all these everyday car. maybe its a little wee bit better in the torque dept because of its electric motor.

There is just one thing that i dont agree naming this a ‘sport’ car. With the spec it have now it is just as equivalent to all the normal point A to B cars here in malaysia, and there is nothing sporty about the cars listed here. if it have around 150hp and maybe 200nm then just MAYBE we can class it as a ‘sport’ car. If only it has more power than it has now…just my 2 cents. im ready for all the thumb downs.

• Honda on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:05 am

does any one mention this is a sport car ??

• gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:47 am

Sport car? OMG, viva easily can smoked this car

• Ha, ha, viva smoking this CRZ, wake up your ignorant nub. A good car is not just about powertrain, but the overall aspects such as drag coefficient (design, aerodynamics), handling and balance (shock, suspension, center of gravity), and not to mention weight distribution. This car is full of them nub. What can a viva do about it? I’ve seen a viva turned turtle at a roundabout on some 40km/h, surely not this car. Talk sense la.

• Honda on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:17 pm

wake up dude ! 1.5 +IMA is same power as 1.8 litter… go add on turbo and trash talk

• u must a viva owner.. lol

• classic =).. maybe he defined it as a sport car from the ‘hot hatch’ term and its design.. but who cares.. it still a hybrid..

• Calvin on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:06 pm

CRZ is not a sports car, it is a sporty car. BIG difference!

• jendol on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:10 am

dude, it’s a hybrid… don’t start comparing apples with oranges, use some sense la

• desertkids on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:36 am

persona got cps?not iafm+?

• Redrules on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:49 am

A hybrid, if driven really fast consumes more fuel than normal car. Please refer http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=badoMjA_rW0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Wallstreet on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Nice video. I have all along say that Hybrid if driven at high speed will consume more fuel due to low engine hp coupled with additional weight from the battery.

• Wisdom on Nov 14, 2011 at 12:56 am

Honda Insight (also a hybrid) driven @ 140km/h consistent run returns 17km/l consume more than normal car say u? Been wondering which normal cars can return such figure at the given speed.

Yeah we have to believe those monkey in Topgear. They are funny.

• muskada on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:24 am

hazeman, you should inverse the calculation.
        1) Power to weight ratio not weight to power ratio, then it would be easier to understand and meaningfull
        2) The performance does not depend only on power to weight ratio. Other significant factor is on drag coefficient, Cd of which i believe the lowest you can get from hybrid car design, far better than the benchmark car that you mentio
        3) The other ratio you should compare is the fuel efficiency, km/l or the best in terms of g/kwhr
        Putting all those together, than you can get a better picture of how CRZ way better than the rest (in terms of performance)

• Honda 2 tayar.. on Nov 04, 2011 at 4:11 pm

yang bnyk duit sampai terlebih pakai boleh laa beli…yang duit ckp2 pakai kita pakat2 beli la HONDA 2 tayar (Repsol SE)….janji ada HONDA….he he he he…selamat membeli kepada yang berduit…..

• kwing on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:39 am

but the driving position and it closer to the ground made it feel faster than it shoudl just like the mx5 and mr2…. but still hope they don’t scrap the turbo version….

• JeremyNg on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Bro 9.35kg/hp means that 1 hp inside that car need to “carry” 9.35kg which means it’s better den every other car u mention above

• hammerclaw69 on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Since wen Persona comes with CPS?

• excessive on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:15 am

@hazeman
        More numbers:
        Honda CR-Z: 0-100 9.7sec
        Proton Persona CPS 0-100 13.9sec
        Proton Satria Neo CPS: 0-100 12.5sec

When you focus on power-to-weight ratio only to distort the truth and discount all other numbers, then you are being misleading. Go and wash your Persona at home instead.

• soundsfishy on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:29 am

coz it is just a sportier Insight

• Wow nice! 115k is worth!

• HirumaKecil on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Yeah true.. Never expected this car will be sold below than 130k..

• I tried to smoke a hybrid before with a myvi..im not even closed, so having one could be nice n practical, especially those type-z version..So, my future car is a hybrid beachesss..

• Rosmah on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:38 am

No power in this dream.

Honda made better Kapcai than Cars.

• Jacksonkua on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:46 pm

It should priced at 100k and below..

• yh Inc. on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Not 100k below. It’s totally not worth to get at all.

• bcause u dun have 100K and above meh!!
        just buy PROTon lor..

• Arrian on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:11 pm

you no need to have 100K, just have 5K for downpayment and the car is yours. dont drag proton name lah, proton got nothing to do here

• typical.. always try to pronounce that personal earned profit is totally proportional towards personal wants… can’t afford doesn’t mean it is not worth it.. for me it is ‘afford less’, not ‘worthless’.. please choose clothes that fit our own body lah…

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:02 pm

this is a car that costs 2500000 yen in japan. which is 100k our money. add on the specs and stuff and i don’t think you should be complaining.

• we shouldnt but we malaysian, complain is part of our blood. one day without complaining can die wor.

• kwing on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:42 am

yeap quite worth it really in malaysia…

• it is US$19500 in USA, calculate that!

• littlefire on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:01 am

If not mistaken Japan also have tax especially cars more then 660cc ( Kei cars), that why they have some kind of tax rebate for better emission cars…

The cars in Malaysia for sure will expensive thanks to AP (dud this is imported!), you will need to add on at least RM10k for it thanks to MITI…

• Nice! Value for money!

• droll on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:50 pm

sigh……this really is a weird car. great equipment level but only if it were in a 4 door hybrid car with an automatic.

i guess honda knows this is not for the mass market. apparently the CRZ is doing well in japan. in bolehland? i predict will fail lah.

• yeah rite! on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:43 pm

u really have a weird brain, u want 4 door hybird with an automatic..
      there is something called the insight if u come out from your cave..

• droll on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:54 pm

bro, you read carefully what i mean. i was saying “great equipment level but only if it were in a 4 door hybrid car with an automatic”.

the honda insight doesn’t get such equipment levels.

• Nuffsaid on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:47 am

Not everyone needs a 4-door and not everyone likes auto!
          We already have plenty of that starting from RM40k P2 Viva all the way to RM3.5m Bentley Mulsanne, pick yours accordingly!

• droll on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:00 am

agreed. i drive a 5 speed manual and i’m happy with it. but it’s getting more difficult to find manual cars in the market.

• try inspira 1.8MT, smoke this car anytime, anywhere.

• ThePolygon on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Even harder harder to find is a Manual 4WD SUV. No option at all… does the old Kembara qualify?

• jay8393 on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Beautiful… just beautiful!

• kimi_ on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Positive:
      -futuristic looks
      -Interior dashboard looks awesome

Negative:
      -High price
      -two doors
      -manual only!! Should be AMT at least
      -cost of Battery change after 10 years is more expensive than the petrol you saved in 10 years

• khusyairi on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:49 am

So sell it b4 it’s 10 years old.

• insperut on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:25 am

shud sell at RM(market price) minus rm15K (for battery replacement cost)… :D

• go learn drive a manual

• Steve on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:59 pm

how can it be HIGH price? CBU, 6 airbags, full spec, manual (for driving fun), 2 door..where can you find a coupe that is as cheaper and yet as balanced as this car? I know it’s low powered but its not designed to go fast..its built for hybrid and provide fun driving to people who bought it..

• Danny on Nov 10, 2011 at 9:09 pm

The battery comes with 5 years warranty, in the market now cost at RM7K.

• Haziq on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:58 pm

I agree, finally someone without complains! I love the looks of this car and finally its available.. 114hp mehh… oh look buttons you can play with woohoo

• This is really awesome! The only setback will be.. there’s enough space to get in for an adult, but you can’t sit up straight!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Think of it as a two-seater, with the ability to take four at a pinch to the mamak nearby. Had to lean forward to get any comfortable purchase. Then again, I’m not exactly tiny!

• yh Inc. on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:05 pm

C’mon my friend. Trishaw in Melaka even can sit for three people. For me, that trishaw will attract me more than this crap if both of them pass me by. (Trishaw with flowers and loud music)

• Malaysian on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:16 pm

I suppose you will find a trishaw more attractive than a Lamborghini or a Ferrari since it can also seat more than them …

Aiyo, friend, dun like dun have to taruh la, no one pointing gun to your kepala la. Or do you sell Prius for a living?

• Downsys on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Aiyaaa, kawan. Trishaw with flowers and loud music will attract people even if a lambo passes by.

• Johndeep on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:31 pm

That is why we call it “THREE”shaw but this is not “CRZ3”

• Masked Ryder on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Perfect Pricing !
    Space ship dashboard !
    Hot Cake for sure !

• cabutibulutut on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:56 pm

i loikee soooo mucchhh!!!!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:57 pm

a manual transmission. honda malaysia you are doing it right! ignore those people who say that your car is too expensive.

• yh Inc. on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Again, Honda introduced a crap hybrid car here. Better make your so called “hybrid” engine to be a real hybrid engine then only bring it to Malaysia. Your strategy is very clear and everyone knows. Introducing a lower end of hybrid engine with lower price which suit to the growing Asean market. Lower price stimulate the sales and some of the people here just blindly follow.

Hybrid technology wise, please learn more from Prius. It’s a reliability proven and a finer-tuned hybrid engine with the history longer than this. Honda get everything smaller than Prius in terms of engine and cabin size and thus lower down the price.
    Wake up Malaysian, don’t ever said that Honda hybrid is cheaper than Prius. It’s comparing Vios with Camry.

• what crap your talking bro.the IMA system is the same in the whole planet

what u mean by “Introducing a lower end of hybrid engine with lower price which suit to the growing Asean market. Lower price stimulate the sales and some of the people here just blindly follow.”

the car is CBU from japan la.and Msia is the 1st in all asean country to launch it

• wow…1st asean country launch in msia?..civic fd2r & now honda cr-z…not bad honda malaysia… tak mcm toyota…org nak wish tapi bg avanja..yg penting honda crz manual beb!!! weeee~

• kwing on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:37 am

no is not the first asean country launch, sg launch it last year….

• Wish boleh dapat dari AP king jer bro… itupun recon or the harsh words are “beutified used car”. huhuh kesian kita kan? kan? itupon mau bangga dgn T. hoh??

Gua tunggu Oddessy baru masuk..lawa woo..

• desmond on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:30 pm

the thing is CR-Z isn’t Honda City. If CR-Z is for growing ASEAN markets they should’ve introduced this model long ago other than Japan market, then US market..blablabla then finally ASEAN. Yes yes yes…Toyota Hybrid technology is indeed better. But you know what? When the battery dies..Honda IMA still can start the engine normally. Toyota? Dream on dude.

And whats with real and fake hybrids? As long as there is two power source which works together or separately from one powerplant in 1 car, producing better efficiency, It IS a Hybrid.

• Kitolo on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:16 am

has your prius battery died on you before? find me one example of a toyota battery failing.

• buskerhatesTnH on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:33 pm

all the cars you have mentioned, are actually craps.

• yeah rite! on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:46 pm

……………. yawn……….
      just shut up, and learn from ABC, xyzZZ…

• Malaysian on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Its confirmed then. You sell Prius for a living. :)

• bob ma on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:01 pm

probably a toyota salesman….

• Redrules on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:00 am

Talk about history, Prius was introduced into Japanese market in 1997 followed by Honda Insight in 1999, just two years longer. Hybrid concept was conceptualised way back in 1901 by Ferdinand Porsche, that’s waaay longer.

• littlefire on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:05 am

Bro, i support you as the facts really proved that Ferdinand Porsche (VW beetle / mercedez SS/SSK) did have created the first hybrid!!!

Those bloody “katak di bawah tempurung” bashers didnt even do research before commenting or put disagreement…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferdinand_Porsche

• Hadi75 on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:02 am

Duuhhh….do you know what hybrid meant dude??

• steam_man on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:12 pm

a lot of ah beng sure buy, 9 years loan ma, ok ma

• don’t care how ppl comment.i just love this car

• mangata on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:18 pm

poor guys wil buy civic but tis car is clearly rich man myvi
    tis car will sure affect sales of honda jazz n vw polo(not te gti model)

• steam_man on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:58 pm

2 door sports car will affect jazz and polo sales?

you crazy?

• laala on Nov 13, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Polo sale wont affect but for jazz definitely is !! cause they price is nearly same and jazz spec is not as good as this car.

• Muddy on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:19 pm

How they make the manual transmission to coordinate with the three different modes? Normally on auto box is fine.

• buskerhatesTnH on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:13 pm

simply make it sloppy at 2 options, and go go go power rangers on the sport mode..

the most interesting part about this car… it has a mild engine growling sound that is unique and never happen before to any hybrid… claimed some dude in utube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vn_8uJ60GvY

• donadoni on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:20 pm

finally!

• i like on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:22 pm

very attractive interior! i prefer 4-door though if available. I also wonder, with banjir in KL/Msia quite often, will the battery survive robustly… as in not short-circuit?

• F.O.C on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:25 pm

I heard rumour that the 6-speed gearbox in CR-Z is taken from type-R short shift, is it true? Of course there is some adjustment since the power is different between the 2 cars.

• RedBeanBun on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:26 pm

again, we are disappointed with the price…but not quite surprise, since its my guessing RM120K price. (which i hope under RM100k). damn Honda Msia.

• Kelvin on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:38 pm

They actually brought in the GT line (highest spec if compared to what is on offer in Germany for 25k Euros incl. taxes before dealer discounts)

I wonder why not the lower spec too? Are we too rich?

Lowest spec in Germany is for 21k Euros.

• Look at the rims and skirting, diffuser.. Its not the higher spec. Germany, UK has VATax for all goods and services 17.5 percent. Try minus the VAT and see. Its obvious that Honda Malaysia taking higher margin because of the tax breaks, and not pass all the savings to the consumer. I guess its a business decision, Insight price can be lower, but they wont price it close to the City to compete with its own model. Same with the CRZ price, Honda have to find a price not to compete with its own taxed models. We are not getting the savings thats intended by the govt for users of hybrid vehicles…

• VW Polo / Polo GTI would be a better option.

Cons:
    1. Better built
    2. More powerful
    3. More space
    4. Cheaper (Polo without GTI)
    5. 5 years warranty
    6. Four doors
    7. Brand prestige
    8. Same or better FC

• pwhyze on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Brand prestige? Lol, it’s a VW i.e the people’s car, not a goddamn Merc

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:59 pm

have you ever owned a polo before? or in fact a volkswagen?

Here’s my nightmare with my friend’s GTI.

1. The black interior is really just the same plastics you see in Camry’s, but in black.
      2. Rear speakers went kaput after a month.
      3. Cigarette lighter didn’t work.
      4. Servicing can be costly and frustrating.
      5. Brand prestige (sorry having studied in Europe for many years a Volkswagen is like a hyundai in terms of status to me).
      6. DSG is smooth, still it’s not a manual.
      7. Fuel consumption is just so-so. Nobody drives a GTI on the slow lane mind you.
      8. The fact that there’s a much nicer car out there called a Renaultsport Megane 250, Honda Civic Type-R, Mazda 3 MPS etc…

• Gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:27 am

Yep, but e90 is more worse than polo ……opssssss….soli maaaa

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:33 am

sorry i don’t drive e90. new bmw’s are crap.

• gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:34 am

I never said u drive e90 lor, just compared my friend e90 with ur friend Gti….lalalalalala

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:04 pm

u might as well compared the satria gti to your friend’s gti cause they just about have much in common as a e90 and golf gti

• you say that becoz you no money to buy new bmw la!

• thebosssedangbercakap on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:12 am

lagi sorang noob, not your own car also want to talk bad about a car like its your own.

4. what cheap servicing buy conti car for what? joker la u bro.
        5. i also studied in europe, its a joke that you said brand prestige for vw is equal to hyundai, its not, its considered a premium brand. like old town white coffee and starbucks, still got difference.
        6. thats why its called dsg..
        7. its a turbocharged car, where got cheap fuel.
        8. dont compare those cars with gti, its out of its league.

• bodoh on Nov 04, 2011 at 5:20 pm

ko lagi noob

renault megane 250 out of its league? i think it’s the other way around dood

• dude…

8. those cars he mentioned are in golf Gti league…especially the civic type r and megane 250…

• ooppsss…misread…if polo gti..yess..out of the league refer to those he mentioned..if golf gti yess…in that cars league..sorry

• Downsys on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Don’t u mean ‘Pros’?

• beatnik on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:24 am

Wah this Polo got so much ‘Cons’ lol..

LONG LIVE MANUAL STICKSHIFTER!

• VW Polo / Polo GTI would be a better option.

Cons:
    1. Better built
    2. More powerful
    3. More space
    4. Cheaper (Polo without GTI)
    5. 5 years warranty
    6. Four doors
    7. Brand prestige
    8. Same or better FC
    9. DSG beats manual anytime

• altec on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:20 pm

“DSG beats manual”. Speed wise yes, economy wise yes.

But driving experience wise? I’m sorry.

People should realize honda offers this in manual to target the audience who isn’t a Pak Cik, Mak Cik, Grandma & grandpa who can appreciate a car with good handling characteristics. If you want something more practical, comfort and easy… go get the insight. This isnt the car for you.

• protonsalesman on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:01 pm

who care u love vw or x….this thread is bout new cr-z…this car indeed are new generation hot hatch..hybrid and electric car are the future(u will drive one,if u survive in the future)…come out from your cave,how long we gonna fully enjoy turbo powered petrol car?stop criticize hybrid la,stupid people….

• kalau dh die hard honda nak wat camne kan…

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:34 am

DSG beats manual? haha. go back to the kitchen woman.

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:02 am

pssst…. hey. was that how your father talks to your mother?

• KL fella on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:37 am

Drift King Keiichi Tsuchiya tested out the DSG.

his famous super fast gear change on a 6speed manual lost to a DSG

pls do more research before you comment!

check this youtube link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4HpD5K6Qws&noredirect=1

• gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Hahah ah ha, japanese drifter also respect this DSG…..what to do, here Msian like spaceship dashboard…too much watching ultraman i guessed

• Waja Owner on Nov 04, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Y is that? because u like VW boring dashboard? Because VW makes bring dashboard?

Just admit u jealous of teh CRZ dashboard gomok

• khusyairi on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:05 am

For same class/car category; Hyundai Veloster much better option:
      1. More powerful engine
      2. Better fuel consumption (up to 40MPG)
      3. Less battery maintenance (non hybrid)
      4. Slightly larger interior
      5. Suppose to be same or less price tag.
      6. More doors.
      The only question is: When Hyundai will officially launch it?
      Avante/Elantra, Veloster, Accent are due for launching in anytime soon.

• a hyundai is better than a honda?

oh my…..

technology? never.

• khusyairi on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:52 am

Not saying that Hyundai better than Honda in general. Most Honda are better.
          However, in the case Veloster vs CRZ, it is better.
          Why U want buy a hybrid which consume much more fuel than normal engine car while normal car can give much more power too?
          Technology wise, CRZ not that good as a hybrid. New ford focus also give better FC.

In term of design, I think it’s equal. Veloster also have futuristic design too.

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:36 pm

can’t get a veloster for RM115,000.00

• buying a car purely because of the design is so so sad. all kimchi fanboys are like that. design is all that matters. the fact of the matter is that driving is about the feel and the handling. sorry…korean cars a miles behind in handling. The Germans or Japanese may not be as “futuristic” in their design for now but when it comes to driving, they are still my choice.

• Feast on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:33 am

Not sure about Hyundai but I agree with u that some non hybrid cars today actually have better fuel consumption than a hybrid. Like the new Mazda Skyactive. Unless you are driving in a traffic jam condition 90% of the time, a hybrid actually consume more fuel if driven at high speed which most of us will when we hit the expressway or floor the pedal a bit more. So to make full use of hybrid, you will need to be gentle on the pedal and a car like CRZ is not meant to be driven that way.

• i’ll buy this.. for sure!!

• kimball on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:42 pm

i just love the design of the car and the 6 speed manual tranny. not such a fan of the hybrid though, if the fitted it with 2.0 engine it will be perfect. but then again its a hybrid, who can argue with that?? with design like that and the price tag being reasonable, free parking to offer for hybrid cars, im sure this one will made it!!

• bReaL on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:43 pm

good looking car..but manual transmission for a hybrid which is suppose to be hightech is just ironic

• this guy is T salesman…

• GrrrG on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Love the meter design!

• msbr91 on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:50 pm

does this car comes in automatic transmission??

• macha on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Ada baca story ke?

• Crazyvtec on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Yes . Auto next year. Waiting list for manual now hav to wait till feb 2012 oledy. For vw polo gti heard tat 1 and half year to wait, crazy… Grab it now for who is fall in love with tis before u stuck in the long queue. Ignore the other who talking shit#@%@#$!@$

• wolfsburg on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Crz only have cvt.

• Nice car it could compete with Forte Koup that I think CRZ will win with healthy margin

• wolfsburg on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:59 pm

You talkin about the resale value? Koup is larger, more powerful, better equipped and more value for money. Crz maybe more fun and more ecomomical but may not make sense for most buyer.

• armandd on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:08 pm

For those who complain about not enough room at the back, you can get the Civic or the overpriced Jazz. This car is only for enthusiast. Only know to complain, dunno how to appreciate.

• Julian Lee on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:17 pm

BMW Hybrid better

• nigel on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:20 pm

yuck, ugly, small, disgusting, and uninteresting, such a commoner car. sure to be a common car among mod crazy heads, sure to be seen on the road with the lala stuffs. when you have one and you see another with lala stuffs, facepalm. instant regret buying such a poorly designed and underpowered car.
    no idea why honda and toyota keep bringing crappy cheap cars.

• 123GO on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:30 am

bring this condemn, bring that condemn wah lao eh what you want now ??? cheap car too cheap ! expensive then too expensive …. toyota bringing FT86 coupe next year on 3/4 of the year. is not cheap car since with full carbon fiber cabin + 6 airbags include LSD and etc !! selling rm250 ++ !! FR layout 200HP … go buy it ! drift-able.

so stop screwing those organisation !! they think about the masses not individual man … since our tax so kaw ! understand abit la ..

this is not cheap crappy car ! every car has it own value and story … without a wira/saga can buy BMW, audi meh ?? this is the car for people to work daily use so one day it could upgrade !!

sorry if I hurt you guys by chances but i really think is good to have this and many types of car on the road … got money buy better got enough buy what you want lur …

• autojohndoe on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:25 pm

with this provocative looking car… will the hybrid ever use?

ppl will think towards performance i supposed…

• I hardly praise Honda but you did a great job this time. This is the spirit and characteristics of Honda car where it should be. This is so called THE POWER OF DREAM, selling at reasonable price, GOOD JOB BABE

• Gomok on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Haiyaaaa, very very ugly maaaaa, interior like cartoon, not pratical at all……hahahahah

• Have u seen a 7 seater nissan gtr???….come on bro. What do you expect out of a 2 door car? Or are you trying to say you don’t remember how to drive manual cars…ehemmmm.

• wolfsburg on Nov 03, 2011 at 10:55 pm

This car is a failure in us. In october they shifted less than 300 units whereas the veloster had more than 3500 units delivered.

• Gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:32 am

Hahahhah, here diff story bro, they just like spaceship, dont care about performance, handling, comfort…..

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:43 pm

where the hell is veloster? cr-z is here, veloster is not.

• buskerhatesTnH on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:08 pm

ok people

hit thumb up if u had money and want to buy it

hit thumb down if u think this is a useless car

• i like this car alot, but pricing it at 115k is on the high side although we are getting the full spec version. honda should at least offered the normal spec model at 100k.

• Dato Seri on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Nice….definitely will get this car for my daily ride.
    Oh my all of my cars are 2 doors :)

• nabill on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:23 pm

most ppl will buy based on looks n badge instead of anyting else….bt suprised with the low price though!

• CK200H on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:23 pm

I like this design. Futuristic and not overdone.

But 2 seated is not my cup of coffee. But since kids, I love CRZ design. But I am expecting Honda Malaysia to maybe put a super small seat at the back. No place at all?

Congratz Honda for bringing in this babe to Malaysia, making our road lively and young again from the Vios and City age.

For those who love earth and have a young heart, you should go for this. Don’t waste your youth driving something boring. Go on

• marco_polo on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:24 am

Since a kid CRZ??? U meant to say CRX issit…..

• ultrajo on Nov 04, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Here is my explanation : he was 8 years old when Honda first previewed CRZ concept vehicle back in October 2007 @ Tokyo Motorshow. Now he is 13 years old (sudah baligh maaaa) can consider semi adult n have to wait 4 years more to get his driving license hehehe!

• lan87 on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:51 pm

only 1 colour available? white is pretty difficult to maintain… my current car is white and i have to send to polish every 3 months… our weather in malaysia (hujan-panas-hujan-panas) + the dust from construction/sand lorries makes it difficult to maintain a white car….

please have other colours to Honda Malaysia….

• droll on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:56 pm

it looks like there are a lot of honda fans reading this judging from the rating of comments. then i guess honda m’sia did the right thing by bringing this car in. let’s hope it succeeds against all expectations.

• civicEK on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:07 am

OMG its here!! but d price is a no no.. :(

• tweftfom on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:16 am

bear in mind our HM is giving to us a limited edition aplha black level….thanks HM…

• sick&tired on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:30 am

perfect for posers who don’t give a rats ass about performance and wannabe douchebag tree huggers!

• Carl Wong on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:47 am

Absolutely beautiful inside out, I wonder what other colors are available :].

• Stop fighting guys and imagine a cute girl driving this. That’ll do… =P

• l3ryan on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:06 am

i have a question:

doesn’t 145nm(engine)+78nm(motor)=223nm?
    how come it states there the car is only 174nm altogether?

• TengahPagar on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:12 am

it may not smoke other 1.6,1.8,2.0 ++ cars… but surely will smoke many girls…..

• Stealth on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:57 pm

This type of car also can smoke many girls arr?? What kind of girls you are talking about…..? Most gorgeous girls will probably ask you to move your CRZ one side so that you won’t accidentally scratch her Mini Cooper or M3.

• looks cool…

but im more curious with the target market of this car, 2 door??…who will buy it?..family guy?..definitely not….ladies??..95% not ,cos ladies drivers who drive manual is almost extinct…who who???…yea i know it ————–> AH BENG

but but ah beng need plenty of power, this car cant provide,,,,hmmmmmmmm

• blackbox on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:35 am

Ah Beng will buy and drop in a Type R engine.

• ah beng can buy inspira 1.8MT, now with R3 rims and BK too…

^^

way way cheaper than this thing, save all the money for petrol!! :)

• oomph on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:35 pm

ah beng now got money. dont want lancer imitation. nowadays even ah bengs gonfor originals maa..

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:34 am

I doubt what is its 0-100km/h performance on this so call hybrid HOT HATCH

• Carl Wong on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:02 am

Just 8 seconds, and the 174Nm of torque comes with only 1000-1500rpm, AMAZING low end torque which should save tons of fuel.

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Impressive for this hybrid with <10 sec car. U sure 8 sec?

• Masked ryder on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:20 pm

http://www.edmunds.com/honda/cr-z/2011/road-test.

The total combined output from the 1.5-liter engine and electric motor is 122 horsepower and 128 pound-feet of torque. For our test car, which came equipped with the quick-shifting six-speed manual transmission, this was good for a 0-60-mph sprint of 8.8 seconds. Warp-speed acceleration it’s not, but the CR-Z’s pace is more than half-a-second quicker than a Fit’s and about equal to that of a Mini Cooper.

Proof Enough ?

• Feast on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:14 am

0-60mph in 8.8 second is 0-96km/h in 8.8 second . 0-100km/h will be around 9 second. That’s far from what Carl Wong’s claimed….

• Carl Wong on Nov 06, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Motor Trend did it in 8.3 seconds, it’s all about the skill of the driver. Is quick launch allowed for testing acceleration? Meaning rev up to around 4000rpm then release the hand brake when the time counting starts, it should be more than a second faster compared to starting with 0 rpm.

• peeps on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:36 am

looks good!.. hybrid just not my cup of tea. if is polo gti engine with this design would be perfect.

• Ronzo on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:39 am

I wish honda wouldn;t have brought such a nice car here because anyone can afford it and once there are too many on the road it will lose its appeal. I wish CRZ wouldn’t be like those VIOS and CITY. Just looking at them makes me wanna puke. Somehow I appreciate those negative comments cause I know they wont be buying.

• steam_man on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:25 am

why dont you make more money and drive something special instead of saying crazy stuff like this?

go buy china car, its cheap and its rare, suits your wallet.

• Anti turbo on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:43 am

excuse me..not every one is as “rich” as you… RM115K is not a small amount… if you want a unique car…go buy Ferxxx or Lamxxxxx… then you will be truely unique. If u gonna puke dont look at it… common sense…no need to bash.

• Carl Wong on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:07 am

CVT version (the more fuel efficient version) will only come next year? Why not just come here together? Slightly higher cost?

• are you sure the CVT is the more fuel efficient version?

• Carl Wong on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:29 am

Obviously, no gear changes and less power loss. Smooth and easier to drive (just like Insight but even more powerful) for those who don’t have enough skills to handle the 6 speed manual.

• Technically, MT will give less power loss over the CVT or torque converter.
          So if you have good manual skills and do not have a heavy right foot, MT will give you better savings over CVT. CVT for sure has more mechanical loss than MT.
          Can’t argue with the smooth and easier to drive part though. Just go pick up some manual driving skills then.

• Honda Power on Nov 04, 2011 at 5:56 am

This is really a nice 2 door car. People who bash the Honda CR-Z really have no taste for nice and sporty cars. I own 2 Honda cars and I must say they are fuel efficient, well built and reliable. Those bashers who posted silly and illogical comments about this superb hot hatch are most likely Toyota and Korean car lovers who always bash Honda. For me, Honda is the best. I don’t care what other people say about Honda. Honda The Power Of Dreams.

• MeGane on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:57 am

Front 2/3 rd is nice but the back is super hideous ….esp seen directly behind . Why make the back like H-Insight or Prius ? Better aerodynamic because it’s a hybrid ? For God’s sake CRZ is a thoroughbred affordable sport car icon for ages ….why wanna save a tiny amt of fuel through a design that disturbs the whole design harmony ? Silly level to the roof i’d say .
    The price is nice though .

• Hatikerring on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:12 am

The only i hate about honda malaysia is the 5k service interval.. The rest are just marvelous..

• Carl Wong on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:34 am

Actually it’s still up to you when you want to service your car. I think 6000-8000km service intervals would still be fine without problems. Their cars are very reliable. If you drive less the minumum amount of service is 2 times per year (I asked a Honda service advisor) because the engine oil cannot last too long, that’s around once in 5 months time :]. Save money while still in the safe zone?

• they ty to make 5000km service interval to get more money from you. service center is not operated by honda, most are private entity.

why proton,perodua,toyota nissan all 10000km service interval? cos honda SC are private, thats all.

• If you use fully synthetic oil, you can service every 10k; the 5k figure is for mineral oil. Don’t blindly believe other claims of their continental cars able to service every 20k or more because those figures are for fully synthetic oil under ideal,l cool climate ,no traffic congestion, no idling when waiting, driving condition that are not applicable here.

• a nice car and interesting move with the manual but i wouldnt go as far as calling this a “hot hatch” unless its been parked in the sun for several hours…..i wonder what that makes the conti hatches….”dragsters” ?

• soundsfishy on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:24 am

with 2 AC blower straight to the passenger chest, he or she will die freezing cold man.

• Punisher on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:30 am

Manual? Good….
    I love manual, plus with the six speed gear makes this car a worth buy for a hybrid; though many may want the AMT instead.

• there is no AMT.

there is CVT Though.

i think this 6speed manual will have a hard time with Inspira 1.8MT on the road ^^

• Carl Wong on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:46 am

In our country it’s the 2nd Honda model with a 6 speed manual option right (after Civic Type R)? And first hybrid with the option. Welcome once again :).

• Carl Wong on Nov 06, 2011 at 3:53 pm

And CRZ is the first hybrid in the world to have the 6 speed manual option (from Honda Malaysia website).

• sammo on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:01 am

nice price.

• Bongcs on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:03 am

Wah, very nice..ok lah, see for fun enough.

• Hi Paul and reader, how was the rear seat? Any pictures of it?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:11 am

Sorry, only took one photo of the area, and it’s not all that clear. Seat bench folded down too. Let’s just say it’s uhm, serviceable. :)

• so in registration card

passenger = 2 ppl? / 4 ppl? / 5 ppl?

• Anthony,

Please verify this crz rear seat, is it the same with the crz here in Malaysia?

http://www.thetorquereport.com/2011_honda_cr-z_euro_21.jpg

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 07, 2011 at 11:46 am

Pretty much so, but I can’t remember if the seat has the same deep indent (or recess). Should it not be identical?

• wat a joke!!! Honda…. build a sport car look without sport power? R u out of ur mind??? u already got alot of hybrid car like insight, civic hybrid etc…. juz build a power sport car to suit d exhautist driver laaaaa……

• Don’t you think “Sport Power” shall defeat the purpose of producing ‘green cars’?

Nothing can beat pure power from combustion engine.

• beep2x on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:06 am

Equipment on the 1,160 kg vehicle includes halogen headlamps with LED positioning lights, front fog lamps, a three-spoke leather steering wheel, cruise control,,

A bit dumbfounded..how come you have cruise control and the car is 6-shifters?

• Paul Tan on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:01 am

Why not? My old Satria 1.6 manual also had cruise control.

• beep2x on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:31 pm

All this while i,ve seen only auto tranny with/without cruise control.

So does it work like this in the case of satria- shift to gear 4/5, cruise control engaged and accelerate/decelerate via press of buttons?

sorry to sound like noob..but all my previous cars didn’t have that.

cheers.

• littlefire on Nov 04, 2011 at 5:21 pm

If not mistaken the cruise control for manual cars are mostly controlling the RPM that you set while cruising. So when you drive at 110km at around 2500rpm, u set it and the rpm will stay at the pace you set. More modern cars, you can also accelerate or de-accelerate the rpm figures. If got emergency just press the brakes and auto cruise will be off..

So it wont be much advance compare to Auto cars, as they can still control the gears to match the speed you set like at 110km, no matter how the road conditions the auto gearbox will try to match it by selecting the gears.

So mostly i can conclude that most Auto cars cruise control is more advance by controlling the speed, while manual cars is control by rpm figure… This is my past experience laa.. dont know now is still the same or not..

• i think the discussion that the cr-z is a sports car is way off tangent

its a hot hatch just like polo but not as classy as polo, just a bit high tech (altho VW’s tech trumps this one anytime)
    i waited for this car since july before i got my navara
    honda malaysia was and still very slow in bringing this one in

with that price, soon it’ll be like the honda civics here…overcrowding the streets
    hahaha…it should have been priced lower than the insight

• Nissan on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:55 pm

price in Japan 1.5L insight Exclusive = 1.5 CR-Z alpha black. why do you think it should be priced lower than insight?

• hondua on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:20 am

IF BELOW 90K, I SURE BUY…..115K FEELS EXPENSIVE.
    HONDA MALAYSIA! DON’T BE SO GREEDY LAH!!

• most oversea review only gave ths crz an average rating and mentioned a vw polo or golf bluemotion is more frugal and powerful(fun to drive).

• vincent on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:50 am

My only concern is: Is the car safe with 1160kg?

• C~two on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:01 am

No usb for my ipod? well, not that i own an ipod.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:50 am

Actually, the aux jack is iPod compatible. Omitted the mention of this!

• kp yew on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:10 am

nice car, but not in good price

• CWKen on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:24 am

16 people are angry and 15 people are sad cos this car didn’t come with an auto box.

• Waja Owner on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:29 am

Congrats Honda on a great new hybrid car!! Love the design and interior..

However it is a bit underpowered, less power than the CITY and manual gearbox? Why not an AUTO gearbox or AMT? This car will be used for city driving and based on the looks, it is futuristic and modern is the concept. Doesn’t a manual gearbox run away from that concept?

If Honda emphasize manual because of hot hatch and sporty driving. Then y the lack of power?

• aaron on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:12 am

I think Honda will do well in our market at this price and they know that. That’s why I think they introduce the less desirable manual version first to secure sales from the early adopters – and bring in the auto 6 – 9 months later to boost sales again. Like any other company, they make their decision not only from a sales and marketing standpoint. Maybe there is some production issues or the autos are selling much better than expected over the manual – and they may have some agreements with parts manufacturers to fulfill. Just my opinion – no one will really know unless you work at the Honda plant producing this.

• this is a niche market car.cannot be used as a family car or first car.probably single people may buy it or it may be used as a second or third car. for those who already have an MPV/SUV for family occasions,saloon for formal functions and this car for short trips when you want something small and yet looks quite decent.unfortunately the manual tranny may be a put off for those living in the city.

• ben yap on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:16 pm

CRZ is a very sexy car, indeed.

i’m very interested in the Honda Insight 1.5 instead as i’ve a family that needs 4-doors. Hopefully can see Honda M’sia bring it in.

• Prosinka on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Buy inspira R3,sure smoke aslo can’t see.

All hail proton!!!!!!!

• If FT86 is at this price !! I will rob a bank to buy one…

btw, how come the price is still so high even without the duties ?

• JeremyNg on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Hey Paul or Anthony ,

Did Honda Malaysia mention about the FC ?? and warranty ??

• Masked ryder on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:10 pm

The CR-Z comes with a three year/100,000km warranty with a six months/10,000km free service.

Meanwhile, the hybrid battery gets a five-year/140,000km warranty.

• LE_buruk on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:42 pm

does it come with mugen body kit ? answer me paul… I’ve been waiting for this car since it was first launched.

• Masked ryder on Nov 04, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Honda is indeed smart to create a “Blue Ocean Stratergy” marketing on CR-Z

Why battle half dead with “Red Sea Stratergy” on who have more house power & more speed, when they can have a 2 door sporty “Hybrid” which no other manufacturer have.

Face it ! owning a Hybrid car is never about fuel saving, is all about it make u look great & feel great by imaginating you contribute toward enviroment while other don’t, but end of the day it’s the sales figure that count.

Expect CR-Z to sales well.

I would expect Koup & upcomming Veloster to flop, because there a too many better choice in the market, car brand is crucial for sporty car, in this case one do not feel proud to be in a KIA or Hyundai as these car represent “Cheap”, would you want to be seen inside a “Cheap” car ? i don’t think so ;-)

• bobdbilder on Nov 04, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Different people have different view of ‘Performance’ I guess. That’s ok. As long as you guys keep sending me slow expensive cars for my car to swallow, I’m happy.

• Janice Hee on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Does it have an automatic gearbox in near future?

• The Enthusiast on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Still prefer a Prius or if have cash to spare, a CT200h. I will not call this a hot hatch because judging by the reviews in Europe, the handling is quite bad. No point having a lot of bhp if you can’t apply it well on the corners. As for the looks, I guess it’s an acquired taste. I personally don’t like the look, and I know many of you will not agree with me, but hey, that’s just my two cents.

• argorn on Nov 04, 2011 at 1:52 pm

i’d rather wait for the mazda 2 skyactiv than purchase this for 115k

• Bongcs on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:25 pm

MUGEN PLEASE

• i love all the TILTS..hehe

• tom_the_man on Nov 04, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Honda Malaysia should bring in auto transmission. The sales for manual transmission in be very low especially within Klang Valley. Who will pay a under powered 6 speed transmission in a jam packed city. in this case, i’ll be waiting for Hyundai Veloster instead.

• The outlook does not match the performance. It’s like putting an expensive dress on a fat girl who can’t run very fast.

• Hugo Andore on Nov 04, 2011 at 4:01 pm

I’m so getting this car regardless Ah Beng or Ah Beng.

Those who whine probably cant afford this sleek machine.

• bystander on Nov 04, 2011 at 4:07 pm

where can v c this car? i mean real car in display.

• Carl Wong on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:40 am

Visit a Honda showroom?

• Carl Wong on Nov 18, 2011 at 3:27 am

Not in showrooms yet sorry, try to go to their mobile road shows for now, there’s one in 1 Utama, end of the month :].

• Masked ryder on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:20 pm

0-100km at 8.8 sec the CR-Z will smoked both Kia Koup which can only managed 10.5 sec & Hyundai Veloster 9.7 sec in trafiic light sprint.

Honda CR-Z is the true nimble pocket rocker.

• NISSANPOWER on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:33 pm

sweet.. can wait to see this on the road, so my SR20DET can tear this tiny hybrid a new one

• Moogen on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:43 pm

A typical “Buli Kecik” mentality. This guy will feel damn proud even if his SR20DET outruns a Kancil. If you really have the guts, go and play with the big boys. Don’t come here and boast how great it is outrunning a CRZ a few months later and become a laughing stock.

• NISSANPOWER on Nov 06, 2011 at 7:16 pm

errr actually.. ONLY Honda drivers annoys me, Civic EK/EG ricers who will always “cucuk” me, asking for a fight, thinking their VTEC crap is the echelon of engine tuning lol.. so now with this sad excuse of a sport’s car now on the road.. we gonna see more delusional honda driver’s, going home crying after being tapau again and again.. LOLVTEC..

here’s one story…
        I friend of mine drives an Altezza, with bodykits, loud exhaust, no emblems/logo.. so one day, while hanging out at a parking lot, a honda driver (yup u guess it, EK9) came to us and ask, “bang nih honda ape nih?”.. we said “nih TOYOTA Altezza bro” he just laugh at us.. thinking we’re joking “Toyota mane ade keter sport bang, kalo keter (Altezza) mantap macam nih , honda jer yg buat” .. we just smile and try to convince him a bit more.. but finally, we agreed with him “yer bang, nih Honda Altezza..” :-)

btw, i only “cucuk” turbo/supercharged cars, SRs, RBs, 2JZs , 4Gs etc.. outrunning a Honda is like hitting a girl, its easy, but it only makes you a lesser man

• bro, i think this cr-z ‘sport’ version will never be as sport as other ‘vtec’ and your ’20DET’. Even the predecessor cr-x is meant to be an economy car with a touch of sport line curve. So this car.

CR-Z will never be the annoying-Honda-driver that you always want to ‘cucuk’.

• Honda Power on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Yeah, typical Nissan fan boy. Wanna race yr Nissan with my Honda? Ha ha ha ha! U wanna try the power of my i-VTEC? Ha ha ha ha!

• Carl Wong on Nov 08, 2011 at 12:13 pm

No illegal racing on public roads. You want to race do it on the race track or racing video game and nobody dies.

• bReaL on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:59 pm

despite its extremely good looks….i think this car suffer identity crisis

• Ehemm 8.8sec to ambitious for 122bhp. CRZ does around 10sec officially

• Mike u wont ask a thin girl wear expensive dress and ask her to run fast. Of course u want she walk gently n elegantly to see the beauty

• Hmm so in other words you WANT your car to look fast but actually have less power? Doesn’t make sense bro.

No offense to anyone who likes this car. I like the way it looks too. But performance figures are just unacceptable for a car that’s supposed to be a “hot hatch”.

As for the environmental perks, many people who buy this car will use the Sports Mode most of the time so they can feel like racers. And when you push a hybrid like that, the fuel consumption often becomes no better than a normal petrol engine.

Polo TSI is a smarter choice. It wins in almost all departments except for looks of course.

• i just wanna look fast, if i wanna look like a polo, i’ll get 2 myvis.

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:01 pm

if satria neo comes with the same specs as this car, would it touch RM100k? I think local manufacturers should explore hot hatch market powered by twinchargers, electric boosters, kers… I loved cr-x and its power. I love cr-z coz its a babe magnet, hehe..

• zaff1984 on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:04 pm

1) Is there any automatic transmission in our market…?
    2) Is there any rear seat..(4 people possible) ? I don’t see any rear seat picture.

• this car has a very stressful cockpit

• zaff1984 on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:37 am

Haha… I wish my next car will have many buttons because my current car so damn basic. Anyway, if 10% d/p what is the monthly installment for 9years..?

• Mater on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:03 am

Scirocco is better

• The Enthusiast on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:59 am

Ahem! The CT 200h churns out 207 Nm of torque (34 more) and 10 extra horses than the CR-Z. Also included, a spaceship-like meter cluster, less confusing-looking dashboard (with a fancy touch mouse pad for media control, even more “spaceship” like), eco-friendly material build (kinda the whole point of being green, aye?), better audio system, generous leather coverage, ample space at the back, and just like the CR-Z, also have normal, eco, and sports mode.

I know the Lexus is much more expensive because of the brand premiership though it is not necessary a bad thing. I’m just saying there are other sporty hybrids out there that are probably worth looking into beside this shark-looking CR-Z (I suspect the shark-looking is the reason why some people prefer this car),

• JeremyNg on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:32 am

Bro, CRZ is lighter ………… both of them r different type of hybrid !!! One is use battery as main source , engine backup (CT & Prius) ; Honda hybrid is using engine as main source, battery as backup………

We cant compare luxury hybrid with sport hybrid wat

• From Japan on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:41 am

Fuel Consumption:

10.15 Mode: 22.5 km/liter
    JC08 Mode: 20.6 km/liter

• Masked Ryder on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:08 pm

COBB, if u think pick up power are determine by high house power, mean U don’t know much about car?
    Higher hp only contribute to top speed.
    0-100km depend more on torque & drag factor, 8.8 sec is not paper figure, it is the result tested by renounced edmund.com, CR-Z torque come at low rpm, coupled with low wind resistant, light weight body & close ratio 6 speed manual gearbox, the 8.8 sec come no supprise.

• Mentari-o-korea on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:00 am

Nobody reply u, but i care about u becoz u comment all sound so stupid! Take good care of hr health bro!

• areoulz on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:38 pm

proton: bashed. produa: bashed. now honda got bashed too. what Malaysian want anyway?

• Malaysians just want good quality car, at reasonable prices. In USA CR-Z sells for US$19K. that is about 65K. that is profit included. gov say no duty so honda malaysia is making extra 60k! Now who is cheating malaysians? the government or honda?

• Jeremyng90 on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:45 pm

If not mistaken when you buy a foreign car-maker car, Goverment will tax you more than 1 tax ….. correct me if i m wrong !!!

• Wisdom on Nov 14, 2011 at 1:09 am

Usually those bashed make n model recorded higher sales volume.
      U know what i mean….

• argorn on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:38 am

mazda 2 skyactiv fuel consumption 1.3l direct injection: 4L/100km
    cr-z 1.5 fuel consumption4.0 litres per 100 kilometres

Both fuel consumption figure achieved through use of CVT

so wats so great about this car?mazda can achieve the same consumption w/o a hybrid tech.

• From Japan on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:57 am

Comparison from Japan Specs.

CR-Z (1.5L with CVT, Hibrid):

10.15 Mode: 25.0 km/liter
      JC08 Mode: 22.8 km/liter
      Max Power: 113 PS / 6000 rpm
      Max Torque: 144 N.m / 4800 rpm

Mazda DEMIO Skyactiv (1.3L with CVT, Non-Hibrid):

10.15 Mode: 30.0 km/liter
      JC08 Mode: 25.0 km/liter
      Max Power: 84 PS / 5400 rpm
      Max Torque: 112 N.m / 4000 rpm

• sup-demom on Nov 06, 2011 at 8:59 am

Great shape!
    Good price for a 2-doors sport hatch!
    (Dis) – Guising in a wolf skin but at heart just a sheep!
    Gone with all the Mugen parts with the fast boys!

• RedBeanBun on Nov 06, 2011 at 9:54 am

When launched, so tempted to get this CRZ (since owned a CRX before)..the price totally put me off (we know buying car a more towards emotional decision)

Watched the Veloster video…wow!! now if that makes it under RM100K, that will be an interesting consideration..

• well u wrong Masked Ryder. im not just relating torque only for 0-100. i related both power and torque as well as other factor.u see top gear magazine malaysia use james may to explain torque. for acceleration (0-100) he said u need both power n torque. Ok still doesnt satisfied? well let compare 135i n m3. both 400nm n both 6 speed manual. then why m3 still faster than 135i although 135i has lower weight n torque easily reachable. doest power play part too

• oh forgot 8.8sec for crz test by edmund.oh come on laa Masked Ryder, dont easily fool by that or u just starting know about car? I still remember a magazine(dont remember the name) testing lancer gts (uk spec) stating 0-100 in7.9sec. u believe that ? same 153hp n 199nm, how come?anoter one, Autocar uk test evo x 0-100 5.7sec. how on earth it so slow? top gear compete m3 n prius for fuel economy–then show m3 drink less fuel than prius. Fifth gear, Tiff told corvette z06 0-100 around 5.6sec something?some test sometimes unrealistic n may has typing error n etc. Dude pliss dont to much bombastic with this car.

• mike that personnel taste. i dont mind a car look fast but didnt. same like lancer gt n fiesta.Btw speeding more than110 will be caught by police. some people want fast look for style. of course i like fast car too. but sporty never been mean to be fast always.just for nicer look. otherwise u dont want a car look bland right?

• Honda, go balik jepun la. First ppl complain gov duty high. Now for hybrid car is zero duty. and still RM120K! These japanese want to untung us banyak banyak!

In USA Honda CRZ is about RM80K or so at the shop, that includes dealers profit!

• This is what Honda Dealer here wants to price the CR-z, not Honda Japan. If you think US price is much more lower, you should check CR-z price in Japan. Honda Malaysia is always put high price to their car to make Honda car ‘branded’ better than other Japanese car. It is marketing strategy.

• if that is the case only bodoh ppl buy it! more expensive doesnt mean better!

• Honda Power on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:19 pm

The one who is bodoh is you. Do you drive a Honda? The real bodoh people r the ones who drive Potong and Beruktua. If you say bodoh people buy Honda, then what shall I call people who buy Potong n Beruktua? I call them Super Morons. Please don’t give silly n immature comments here. I know u dun like Honda but there’s no reason 4 u to post this stupid n baseless comment. Perggh!

• http://eightgc2.forumup.com/forum-17-eightgc2.html, you always cover up meh?

• dey honda power..my dads car only 4yo..already got worn out whel bearing,power steering problm..wadehel?honda better?my 13yo satria power steering still ok meh..bullshit la u..always coverup for honda..n guess wht?mechanic in honda sc sri rampai,near sri utama skool said “base la ni..” when askng bout the power steering problem..pheww~~so good la honda~~

• This is how much it cost in USA:

http://automobiles.honda.com/cr-z/

• then 320d got 414hp? wow something new to me

• idaho on Nov 07, 2011 at 8:09 am

Ok then, back to sleep and hope for better dream….

• The Hyundai Coupe of Honda

• From Japan on Nov 07, 2011 at 6:46 pm

These are price lists for Japan Specs.

CR-Z Alpha Black (CVT or 6MT): 2,510,000 Yen
    CR-Z Alpha (CVT or 6MT): 2,490,000 Yen
    CR-Z Beta (CVT or 6MT): 2,268,000 Yen

Beta version come with Projector Type Halogen Headlight.
    The other 2 versions are Projector Type HID Headlight.

The Alpha Black version has special Front Seat & Interior, Meter visor, premium pedal, shift boots, Aluminium Shift knob with genuine leather, and Pewter Gray Metallic Alluminium Wheel.

• Eddy SW20 on Nov 08, 2011 at 9:15 am

I love the torque curve!! Can’t imagine the torque graph/chart!

The specs do not look awesome, but the 174Nm at 1000rpm gives a whole new meaning to a torquey graph. Not even my MR2 Turbo can beat this torque chart, 174Nm is just too high for only a 1000rpms….

For comparison, many 2L VTECs make 200Nms at many many RPMs, just too many…. and many turbos have too little torque at low RPMs, little above idle, due to the low compression ratio….

So, with this torque graph, the CRZ should be fun up genting, gohtong, and curvey tracks….. where low RPMs rule and overtake my low compression engine (turbo of course) ….. :(

not to mention, small body and low profile….. (should be lightened a little though)….

Cheers CRZ owners!!

• whostolemycheese on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:42 am

its a sporty car which is not a sport car.

• Come on, honda, you made a Honda CR-X in 1990 with 130 to 160hp. What is this now?
    Sell us a 2011 year old model CRX VTEC with 160hp for 60K, I am sure it will be sold out!

• totenke[f on Nov 11, 2011 at 12:04 am

6-speed manual gearbox?! penat lah nak tukar2 gear

• Good looking car with sweet manual transmission is such a rarity in Malaysia. There is definitely a market for it and I am in that market.

• MAHEND on Nov 13, 2011 at 11:23 pm

for those wannabe CR-Z owner, can call me to place your booking now….016 – 215 1327 or email at [email protected]….

• MAHEND on Nov 13, 2011 at 11:38 pm

affordable sports car…

• Wisdom on Nov 14, 2011 at 1:19 am

300 over comments even before test drive. Lots of conclusion. Lots of prediction. Malaysian sure can put up stories out of thin air…..

I’ve tested it. I recommend u guys, especially those being negative with this car, please test it once its available. then do your own judgement.

• Carl Wong on Nov 18, 2011 at 3:29 am

Where do you get to drive one? I don’t even see the show car or test drive car yet in the showroom.

• cayangbaby on Dec 02, 2011 at 6:13 am

I’m a girl and i love manual car :)

• sityrich on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:29 pm

price is reasonable, remember this is make & dilect import from JAPAN.
    quality wise it should be no complaints. I trust Honda car

• y i drive 1 unit of crz…just 1 week the battery level always never show charge full….only 7 bar…max is 8 bar?????????????????

• Cikopek on Apr 21, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Bro, you need to drive long long roads.. like NSE to fully charge the batt or you can plug into your wall socket at home to charge. It’s in the owners manual la.

PS: I am not an owner, not a H salesman .. LOL

• nazis on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:45 pm

this car can accelerate fast. its light and got 174nm from 1000+rpm+manual transmission. just try to catch up with my preve S mode…my preve eat dust man!

• Simon Ng on May 19, 2013 at 3:52 pm

I jz bought Honda CR-Z(A) (@RM120K) this yr 2013 May.After reading ur ppl comments,I am put off and I may be wanting to sell my car soon.Btw,does anyone know how long is the IMA battery last?5yrs,10yrs…
      pls reply if u know the answers.Thanks…..

• Radzlee on May 30, 2013 at 10:51 am

Boss… Clearly u did not study first about the car and did not test drive before u buy. Yours is the face lift version which is more powerful than this 2011 model. U should care to study first especially about the mantainenc n the battery life.
        Im getting my red manual crz next month. Yeay

• Radzlee on May 30, 2013 at 10:57 am

Sorry i cant comment about the motor or battery life though… My warranty is 5yrs. So i should not worry much about the battery n the motor within that period