RAC Future Car Challenge Brighton to London: Proton targets three category wins, Persona REEV tipped to star

We’re in Brighton, England, to witness the RAC Future Car Challenge from this charming seaside town to London. The race starts early tomorrow morning here, and we’ve just got back from the Hilton Metropole, the base for all participating teams. Team Proton is now charging up its three entries in the hotel carpark – the Saga EV, Exora REEV and Persona REEV.

As a recap, this is the second year of the FCC, which runs the opposite direction of RAC’s famous Veteran Car Run, and one day before it. Last year, Proton made everyone stand up and notice when they won the “Best Range Extender EV” award with the Exora REEV. The Saga EV also participated, and was close to winning its EV category. This year, both cars that were co-developed with Fraser Nash return to the challenge, accompanied by the just completed Persona REEV.

Proton is particularly proud of new boy Persona REEV. This is because a team of eight Malaysians modified and finished this car at Proton UK in Bristol. Shahril Nizam Abd Aziz, Group Project Leader of Proton’s Green Tech Department, tells us that the car started life as a CBU from Malaysia Proton Persona Elegance.

They dismantled it and removed the Campro engine, gearbox and fuel tank, among other things, before fitting the electric motor and Wankel range extender from the Exora REEV. Some mods were needed to fit in the new heart, and they had to make new brackets, mountings and modified the exhaust system from the Exora. The brackets are for the battery pack and new fuel tank. It took five days to do all the above, and three more days were needed for testing. The process ended just two weeks ago.

With a lighter and more aerodynamic body, surely the Persona REEV will do even better than last year’s winning Exora? Yes, according to Muhd Zulfadzli, Lead Engineer and Head of REEV. He said that while the Exora had its rotary generator running for 34 minutes in last year’s race, the Persona REEV didn’t need to use the range extender at all during a simulation of the 92 km race. In other words, it didn’t use a drop of fuel and ran solely in EV mode.

So they’re expecting the best tomorrow, naturally. Zulfadzli himself will pilot the Persona REEV. All the best, girls (there are two ladies in the team) and boys! Stay tuned for updates.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• love proton this day

• Masok bakul shiok sendiri.

• MoFaz on Nov 06, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Exora win again:
      1. Best Overall Extender Range/Plug-in Hybrid Vehicle
      2. The Most Energy Efficient Multi-Purpose Car-Prototype

A total of 70 cars took part in 17 categories this year.

• looking-good on Nov 06, 2011 at 6:12 pm

it is still a proton.

• all the best team proton. show the world what you are made of

• uik..nizam yob ke tu??

• LOLED HARD on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:38 am

While this challenge is participate by local-backyard-workshop-garage participant to show their invention, PROTON is the only automotive manufacture who participate it.

Then jaguh kampung will be so proud and put it on our national news at 8pm. Like a national achievement.

• kemal on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:47 am

i saw a lot other car manufacturer entry for the challange from the website.. where did u get your info?

• civiclise on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:52 am

make a research 1st dude..vw, toyota, peugeot,bmw..also participate under M (manufacturer) category..so silly r u..

• Pleae be fair to that guy. How does he know when he is not in auto industry. Not like you all working in Proton as troopers.

• jendol on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Guess this guy prefer to talk using his ass than his brain… all he participant came from various car manufacturers, here’s the 2010 entree list http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/entries/2010.html?Page=2

• perodua salesman spotted

• Loneranger on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:51 pm

If u r lazy to read….refer to this youtube clips bout last year’s challenge

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmZ45oX0AFU

• local backyard workshop could create an ev?
      wow…speechless…

of your level of ignorance.

• Amustapha on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Just like lori sampah..come one time..unload your sampah and dissapear!

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Typical stupid basher, just read this blog and look photo, can give 1000% conclusion…..

• feeling not so smart now rite?
      okay we all admit it, proton got off on the wrong foot but they have been trying to turn things around. applaud them for their effort instead of bashing.

• LOLED HARD on Nov 06, 2011 at 10:42 am

LOL yup there are other manufacture vehicle involve but they DID NOT reflect that car maker.

It just some modification done maybe by some researcher, university student or inventor over their vehicle to prove most efficient EV vehicle.

A real car maker would not disclose their new technology to public until the car is available into the market. However for Proton is totally different story.

Only jaguh kampung above thought the different way. LOL

• Am so proud of our local technical team. All the best, Proton.

• amustapha on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:53 am

Go Go Proton! We are proud of you guys! Good luck..

• buskerhatesTnH on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:53 am

chix with laptop tuning cars, always give me a massive boner…

whose got her number… ithink i’m ready to get marry now…. my mother always wanted a doter in law

• I think there is a ring on her right ring finger?

• sorry bro..she contacted me already last nite..said she missed me..hahahaha

• all proton people talking among themself creating hype. syok sendiri

• RedBeanBun on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:56 am

Did anyone read that Proton is expecting GRANT for all this EV and REEV projects? which means all tax payers money will go down the drain for these people’s fun of experimenting without production return.

When non-EV car also cannot generate return world wide, the EV to challenge others?

Its so good to work in a company which can keep spending and noneed generate return for the company, since ultimate all rakyat pay for it (and the local consumer also)

• Loneranger on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:42 pm

did u read in the internet publications that other car manufacturer also request for grants from their own govt? i bet u never read….

so before commenting on things that u r not sure of or have no knowledge, please read a lot ya fren…..*my bad….Malaysians only read 1 page per year…..thats the problem…

• Belancan Midin on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Even Bentley also receive grant from the government u dumbass red bean bun….

http://paultan.org/2011/11/01/bentley-gets-a-3-million-conditional-grant-allocation-to-support-development-of-new-powertrain-applications/

Please don’t read wif ur dick…. Get ur facts right…..
        Guess ur brain is small as the bun….

• he only read headines… thats whyv he is clueless…

• RedBeanBun on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:07 pm

FYI, Protong took GRANT from day1 and after 25 years what does it achieve?
        of course i know other countries manufacturer took grant. Its the result that is matters.

• Belacan Midin on Nov 06, 2011 at 2:53 am

like you, take grant from ur parent since day 1 aite…. arsehole bugger.

• aiya bro…proton also gain profit lah…dont think so negatively..
      naik menyampah pulak

• civicEK on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:00 am

Good Luck Guys~ :D

• hsgsjsh on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:21 am

Come on GTD! Tunjuk sket fnr kita pon boleh buat sendiri kalau nak

• sean ZX10 on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:28 pm

yes…belasah fnr tu…bodoh nak mampos!! PROTON lagi terer la dei!!

• mizzuddin on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:34 am

took only 5 days for the conversion…?

the actual product surely way better perform later

• the proton saga colour looks good, they should put that colour for malaysian market

• Why is this article just about proton’s parcipitation? I expected to read more entries on other entrants in the RAC future car challenge, not just about one entrant. Give us some info about the other teams lah Danny, don’t just camp with proton….

• nebula87 on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:26 pm

they dont have the result yet, so dont praise so early…if they lost, u those bashers sure critic them gao gao….=.=

• Prismo on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:16 pm

win or lose was a second thing. The most important thing was Proton is dare to take a challenge with the other manufacturer. If they dont want to compete then the brainless bashers will said proton has no balls to take a part in the competition. Last year Exora REEV win the title and i wonder where are u when we are praising proton. Basher will always be a basher. The hater always gonna hate.

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Isn’t this Frazier Nash the same company that produces electric buggy (Elektrosuria?) awhile back with TNB? I heard stories about them not sharing the technology with TNB and now there’s no more production of the electric buggy. If same deal with Proton, I am not sure how much Proton actually gain in terms of the electric motor technology. Where did Proton source the Wankel rotary engine? Why not use the Lotus Omnivore 2 stroke direct injection? Where did they source the battery from? Is it from Korea? I thought we have a local company producing Lithium Polymer battery somewhere in Kulim.

• sean ZX10 on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Yes absolutely bro…u r correct!

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:18 am

Frazier Nash is a company with good local connection in Malaysia. They have the know how, but it’s the know who that brought them here. I wish Proton the best and I hope they are not for a ride by this company as what had happened to TNB with Elektrosuria. TNB could not touch a single thing on the motor technology as per agreement. In my opinion, if it is the same deal, Proton will be on the losing side. All other OEM developed their own motor technologies; GM, Honda & Toyota just to name a few. The new players on the marker such as Tesla rely on their partner which is one of the best in business, AC Propulsion (200 HP motor, 12,000 rpm, over 95% efficiency).

• I heard from the mouth of the management itself that Proton just want to be quick and strong follower because they don’t have enough resources to develop their own technologies. But they can still afford to fund Lotus expansion? And their suppliers (cronies) still earn handsome profit, which is paid by us directly (buying Proton cars) or indirectly (don’t buy Proton cars, but tax go to government and government give money to these suppliers and Proton in the name of grants).

• Jebon on Nov 06, 2011 at 3:08 pm

One of my colleague work on the Elektrosuria golf buggy project. I think the JV company used to be called POEM. From what I can gather, this is more like a system integration project and Proton’s main involvement is mainly on energy management system. For a fraction of the money Proton spent on making this hybrid with blue eyed, blond haired Mat Sallehs, they could’ve work with local Malaysian companies and help build local EV industries. But we all know there are hidden hands behind the screen…

• Loneranger on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:38 pm

let the bashing begin…

• Wee Feng on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:08 pm

For the few years Proton shows the significant improvement in developing cars. Hope Proton could become more successful in future.

• wooww, unbelievable! proton beat tesla n prius last year

• FatBear on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:59 pm

…in sales volume?

• Loneranger on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:18 am

this article is not about sales volume dude..its all bout technology and reliability….

• bongek on Nov 06, 2011 at 6:31 pm

proton not perfect…. same as we as human….
        they don’t have high sale volume…but now everybody know that proton have the technology and it proven reliable in the competition…..don’t argue on this…we haev fact.. this article is the prove.. 2 years in a row…

• tutty on Nov 05, 2011 at 2:17 pm

yes..yes.. cant wait till tomorrow…to bashh. yumm yumm.

• bikers on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:32 pm

after going through the final car list that participate based on their website.. it will be no shock to me if proton bag the same award this year

http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/downloads/2011-downloads/Entries%20-%202011%5C2011%20FCC%20-%20Official%20Entry%20List,%2002%20Nov%20%28FINAL%29.pdf

• FatBear on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:58 pm

ha ha ha ha we are an oil producing nation……..lets work on cars that have more efficient engines…..transmission…all these so called future vehicles……do u think it will make it to mass production? it is more like an ego trip winning some award but export sales not exactly sterling?….used to be better at the beginning rite?

Need to do some serious soul searching.

I am a supported of Proton becos of budget, have a saga ’06 n FL a few mths old.

Tested the FLX, has a whining sound….ride a bit hard on slow drives…….

• chaku on Nov 06, 2011 at 1:21 pm

i really think all these EV or REEV or even hybrid is the future. the use of electric will some how eliminate(or at least decrease) fuel consumption. we need to decrease the our dependent on fuel.

fuel is the reason of current wars around the globe
      fuel is the reason of natural disasters(indirectly)
      fuel is the reason of health problems.

it’s never about ego, it’s never about self boasting. it’s about sacrifices of our generation for the sake of future generation. Our ancestors already sacrificed their life for our freedom. it’s now our turn to do the same for future generation.

:) my 2 cents

• toyota fans on Nov 05, 2011 at 8:12 pm

stupid engineer..your open pod air filter, sucking hot air..hot air = less denser = less oxygen = not efficient….

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Toyota more stupid, altis 130k but using torsion beam….stupid+greedy=Slow mental

• taboogen on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:13 am

BODO LAH KAMU… the engine did not power the car…. just generate electric to charge the battery… more air with correct ecu tuning.. engine is more efficient… BODOH BETUL….
      thats why they are the engineers not you BODOH

• i hope umw bring the ft-86..if not umw suck!

• kivatt0024 on Nov 06, 2011 at 10:19 pm

umw is suck…sucking malaysian citizen money by selling expensive tin milo like m**i…a**a…v**a….including the dugong and family…

• All these are very nice and smooth on paper! wait for the real life event!

• So.. when will the public get a production version? Or will this be white elephants…

• Loneranger on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:21 am

haven’t u read? they are now doing testing by giving few cars to Govt agencies…and they will launch it in mass market by 2013….*sigh

• Proton 1st BAtch Pesona Driver on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:47 am

Maybe these exported cars are very well build and QC properly, but I’m not the lucky person.

proton give shitty quality check car. I got pesona 1st batch, after warranty over problem comes, first the door handle broken (yes like ‘patah’ when open the door), months later then open window, the auto window broken, window fall straight down, now the fuel door broken also. Should have taken picture and submit to blog, let everyone see how bad is proton’s QC. Why bad QC in the first place? Bad management. Look around , how many of you encounter badly trained employee, partly blame employee because they are lazy , but bad management is as bad.

Now proton is clever after >10 years, they get fully build proton inspira, at least they are doing some good to buyer.

• hahaha balbalbalabal…
      1st.. kenaper post this comment on this page? tak der tempat lain ker..
      2nd ayat tu padat and teratur.. tp tak macam org yg habiskan duit tuk bayar loand kereta bulan2.. anda tidak rasa geram ker?? erm ada udang di sebalik mee
      – aper2 pun just blame the Bad management and not they employee or QC.. panjang kalau mau cerita.. end-
      thanks kongsi cerita yg memang selalu kita org dengar..
      unlucky 1st BAtch Pesona Driver..
      2nd BAtch Pesona ok jer kan??
      hahaha

plz thumb me down.. nak buat record thumb down paling banyak.. :) thanks

• Your car need to be sent to museum already.

• Nissan on Nov 06, 2011 at 3:34 pm

1st batch persona need to be sent to museum? this show how bad is the quality of a Proton car. it’s even more hilarious to see a big QC passed sticker on a proton window.

• g4eights on Nov 06, 2011 at 1:53 am

They should try sending these EV into BKK and test the car reliabilty, check out this video http://alturl.com/v8zxc (toward the end)

• Kentot sebiji riuh sekampong.

• catdog on Nov 06, 2011 at 6:56 am

Semoga berjaya.

• In terms of Ride and Handling, Proton is ahead of it’s peers.
    In terms of engine and transmission, Proton is at par with other manufacturers in it’s class.
    Now all they need to do is improve the finishing and they will smoke their peers.

• News like this always make me smile..cos Perodua always brag about their sales volume lg power lg best all those bullshit, but in the end..its obvious Proton are way better than them… :)

• Better than them but people still prefer them coz their parent company is Toyota bravo!!! this brand win but boleh tahan lama ka?

• alfie60 on Nov 06, 2011 at 9:22 am

How many of us has come across any article in ANY licensed media that highlights or complaint about Proton problems or imperfection? I can say NIL or ZERO. This kind of things only happen in a communist or socialist country and I can fairly say our shitty quality Proton cars are of that era.

I am sure a few a hundred millions if not billions have been spent on their electric cars project which to me is just a simple conversion exercise of an internal combustion body chasis to accommidate 4 electric motors on each wheels and some batteries with some on board computer.I

Their 10 year warranty on the powerwindow is also a CON as to make it difficult for us to claim. I hope they have printed SERVICE BOOK for 10 years record keeping and also centralise their shitty overprice SERVICE CENTRE records just in case if we misplaced our copy otherwise we cant make any claimed. In reality during the 10 years of owning the shitty car if we have any breakdown after office hours in some isolated place or kampong we CANT repair the shitty car on the spot but to tow the aging shitty car to their nearest servive center the following day only when they are open for business.

• MoFaz on Nov 06, 2011 at 3:25 pm

shitty-brained boy with his usual shitty comments. if he try to do ‘simple conversion’ from ICE to EV, I’m sure he’ll be electrocuted before he even finish installing the first motor. he think he can just put any computer without any programming needed.
      kid, just go play your video game in the corner quietly laa..

• mizzuddin on Nov 06, 2011 at 4:25 pm

i think u should participate too since it is just simple conversion exercise…

there are many private participants…
      ask government body for fund if u got no money

• looking-good on Nov 06, 2011 at 6:11 pm

those who thumb down your post, surely are stuck in driving proton everyday..
      pity them..

• proton service centre overpriced?

• kita tahu.. dan boleh jer nak tulis sesuatu yg betul belaku di luar sana.. tetapi page ni tidak menceritakan kualiti proton yg teruk tu or isu powerwindow. page ini tuk cerita EV car yg dikeluakan Proton
      mau comment pasal kualiti proton yg suck tu? ni page yg betul..
      http://paultan.org/2011/10/17/proton-introduces-power-window-lifetime-warranty/

plzz.. ingat page yg ni bukan isu kualiti..

• Starstreak on Nov 06, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Lol, if we are living in a world with your kind of Logic, we would have been living in Mars by now.

Building Electric Cars IS NOT about plugging in some industrial motor you can find on alibaba.com into a car. It requires alot of Engineering Work. U need to DESIGN a suitable motor for Vehicle application, design its powertrain, temperature regulator for powertrain, setup its Control System figure out its Energy pack and requirement and dynamics of the vehicle while having an electric powertrain.

Motor wise you cant just use a standard industrial motor, because industrial application in most cases are constant operation in a controlled environment where else electric vehicle, you have variable operation requirement combine with Weather/Temp difference which will affect battery efficiency thus the overall vehicle efficiency. thats why IT IS NOT JUST ABOUT PLUG & PLAY, need to carefully DESIGN it literally from scratch.

It is hell alot of Designing, Programmings, simulation, Mathematical Calculations and Manufacturing process involve. Judging from you comment, i I bet you dont even know that Batteries don’t work well in cold weather.

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 07, 2011 at 2:31 am

All the things you mentioned is true… but it is also true that alot of people (not only OEMs) have done EV conversion all over the world. It’s not plug and play but it’s also not rocket science. College kids been doing this long time ago in FutureCar and FutureTruck competition in the USA. So, it’s not something that can’t be done in the garage or basement as long as you have the knowledge, $$$ and time.

Nobody use standard industrial motor for EVs. But, you can find highly efficient brushless permanent magnet motor on the market, you can buy lithium battery pack or make your own by connecting the cells (you still have to build the BMS). Proton did not design a suitable motor, it use Frazier Nash’s motor for the REEV and Unique Mobility motor for the Saga EV. Proton did not design the Wankel rotary engine-generator. It select the unit to meet the average and peak power requirements. Proton did not design the battery management system and the thermal management system for the battery pack. A Korean company did that work for them. Bottom line, you don’t have to design it from “scratch” and you don’t have to pay these consultants exorbitant amount of money for system integration project such as this.

Vehicle simulation is not that hard to do if you have all the test data of the components. Components sizing is not that hard to calculate if you know the expected vehicle road loads (drive cycles) and your target specs. Setting up the control system is the part that will take alot of time, but it’s not rocket science: Operating modes, state flow diagrams, power follower/charge sustaining strategy, etc). It is not that hard…

• release as soon as possible please. i’m gonna get a this green car 1st hand.

• albag on Nov 06, 2011 at 5:07 pm

wafak? Quran on the screen menu??? this is too much!

• dari utsan malaysia..Tahniah proton

LONDON 6 Nov. – Kereta elektrik jarak tambahan nasional (REEV), Proton Exora REEV berjaya memenangi anugerah pada Cabaran Kereta Masa Depan Brighton ke London RAC (FCCBTL-RAC) buat kali kedua berturut-turut semalam.

Lebih menarik, Exora REEV bukan hanya memenangi anugerah Kereta Pelbagai Guna Cekap Tenaga terbaik, ia juga turut berkongsi anugerah Kenderaan Elektrik Jarak Tambahan (E-REV) terbaik dengan jenama gergasi pembuat kereta, Toyota. – Utusan

• Amustapha on Nov 06, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Congratz Proton!

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/199920

• Honda Power on Nov 07, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Congratulations and celebrations to Proton. Clap clap clap! Jaguh kampung has done a good job. Yay! Come one, everyone. Say hip hip hooray to our beloved Proton. Hip hip hooray!