J.D. Power Asia Pacific report finds that overall new vehicle quality in Malaysia is up notably from 2010

According to the J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2011 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS), overall new-vehicle initial quality in Malaysia has improved from 2010. The study – fielded between March and July this year – is based on responses from 2,858 new-vehicle owners who purchased their vehicle between September 2010 and May 2011. It includes 67 passenger car, pickup and utility vehicle models from 14 brands.

The study, which is in its ninth year, examines new-vehicle quality during the first two to six months of ownership, and measures more than 200 problem symptoms covering eight vehicle components, these being vehicle exterior, driving experience, features/controls/displays, audio/entertainment/navigation, seats, HVAC, vehicle interior and engine/transmission.

All problems are summarised as the number of problems reported per 100 vehicles (PP100). Lower PP100 scores of course indicate a lower rate of problem incidence and higher performance.

Overall initial quality in Malaysia averaged 124 PP100 in 2011, a 23 PP100 decrease from 2010. Initial quality has improved from 2010 in six of the eight problem categories: vehicle exterior, driving experience, features/controls/displays, audio/entertainment/navigation, vehicle interior and engine/transmission. The report says that the greatest improvements have occurred in the vehicle exterior category.

Despite overall improvement, the five problems reported most frequently by owners continue to be excessive wind noise, noisy brakes, excessive fuel consumption, air-conditioning which doesn’t get cold fast enough and the engine losing power when air-conditioning is on.

The study found that 44% of new-vehicle owners indicated having a problem-free experience with their vehicle. Among these owners, 51% say they “definitely woull” recommend the model they own to friends or relatives. In contrast, among the 56% of new-vehicle owners who experienced at least one problem with their vehicle in their initial six months of ownership, only 27% said they would recommend the model they own.

In terms of specific models, the Honda City ranks highest in the entry mid-size segment for a third consecutive year, with a score of 62 PP100, an improvement of 36 PP100 from 2010. Following in the segment rankings is the Toyota Vios. In the mid-size car segment, the Nissan Sylphy finished top of the heap with 39 PP100, followed by the Toyota Corolla Altis at 43 PP100 and the Honda Civic, with 55 PP100.

In the MPV/Van segment, the Toyota Avanza was class-leading for a second consecutive year, with a score of 64 PP100, with the Toyota Innova (73 PP100) and Nissan Grand Livina (107 PP100) in second and third respectively. As for the pickup category, the Toyota Hilux led the pack with 32 PP100, followed by the Isuzu D-Max at 47 PP100 and the Mitsubishi Triton at 64 PP100.

The IQS is one of three consumer-based studies that J.D. Power Asia Pacific conducts in Malaysia. This year’s Malaysia Customer Service Index (CSI) Study, which measures new-vehicle owner satisfaction with after-sales dealership service, was released in July, while the Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) Study for 2011, which examines new-vehicle buyer satisfaction with the sales and delivery experience, was released in September.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• FatBear on Nov 08, 2011 at 9:46 pm

hmmmm, wat happened to Saga, Viva n Myvi, top sellers rite

• Totally biased report how could City be the highest that don’t have 7 airbags, cheap interior, under powered and worst on handling. Plus Avanza made from Indonesia factory could worsen the quality. I rather put Proton Inspira more quality than City. For MPV my friend’s Avanza complaint the car shaking even for the slightest uneven road and got aircond problem, Grand Livina should be better than Avanza.

• mangata on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:23 pm

is thre any reason 4 them 2 b biased .FYI , it is abt quality not features please read properly before comment.

• Car Driver on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:25 pm

Friend , 7 airbags does not mean your car is reliable. U can have 7 airbags and a very overpowerful engine but have to go for service once every month , then what is the point . This is based on overall results, not based on 1 or 2 exceptional cases like your friend’s car. Proton Inspira ,City, Avanza is of different class category, my friend, dont mix them together.

• Then u make ur own Jd p0wer la l0l

• It’s the old generation avanza u are referring to? the 2nd generation is totally different. even the 1.3’s Manual suspension has upgraded + lotsa sound proofing making the car quite decent.

• Honda Power on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:05 am

Please read carefully before you post your immature comment. This study is about quality; not about safety of cars. What does 7 airbags have to do with the quality of the car? I don’t understand your biased comment about Honda City. JD Powers surveys are very reliable and JD Powers is well known internationally .Honda City has been No 1 in the entry mid size sedan segment for 4 consecutive years including this year. I drive Honda City i-VTEC and I must say that the quality is good.

• Honda Power on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:09 am

Who says City has cheap interior and underpower, you moron? City has the most spacious interior and the most powerful engine (120 hp) for 1.5L cars. It’s 506 liter boot is even bigger than Accord and Camry’s boot. City’s 1.5L i-VTEC engine is more powerful than many 1.6L cars namely Sentra, Latio, Livina, Suzuki SX4, Waja and many others.

• Yea, and you forgot to add City is a Sports Car right? Same class as GTR. Right right?

*sarcasm tone needed..

Oh yea. FYI, VW 1.4TSI is even more powerful than your VTEC 1.5. I guess this makes them god of all engines.. :P

• Kaparo on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:48 pm

1.4 TSI is turbo engine..1.5 i-VTEC is NA(naturally aspirated) engine.. pls compare apple 2 apple, bro…

• yh Inc. on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:33 pm

C’mon, your City is the best la! Even Saga also power powerful to your lovely City in acceleration. C’mon 1600CC with lighter body compared to this heavy big butt with 1500CC small engine only. Pity you.

• Honda Power on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:12 am

City worst in handling? You must have a cow dung brain, you moron. City’s handling is better than Lotus! It’s tested and proven at Sepang F1 circuit in 2009. Do u known who tested the City? Karamjit Singh drove it! BTW, are you a Potong or Beruktua salesman? LOL.

• All these is bullshit, bias and not transparent. All Japanese cars at top rank.. How about conti cars? Don’t say Mers, BMW, VW quality is sucks…..

• Consumer Reports in the US released their findings on reliability recently. The top 9 brands are Japanese.Jaguar,Porsche and Audi were last.This is not to say these are not good cars.The contis are nicer to drive,have a premium feel and cost more but if you want a reliable vehicle to take you from A to B without the driving pleasure of a conti then the surveys seem to suggest that Japs should be your choice.My regular outstation “private taxi” driver has a 6 year old Camry with a mileage of 800,000km which is still quiet and smooth on the highway,has not been overhauled.Can beat the KLIA E-class limos any day

• droll on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:22 am

finally. someone who makes sense. i cannot understand this inferiority complex mindset of malaysians. anything from mat salleh country is automagically assumed to be better.

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:09 am

it is called colonial syndrome…
          In UK the land of all conti cars.. If jap cars are so crap why
          JD power survey result consistently put Jap car on top. Even the mat salleh….recognize the strength of Jap cars
          7 out of 10 spot taken by Jap…

So before condemning jap cars ppl go and do some research.

• Honda Power on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:16 am

Yep, I support you 120%. Those people who bash Japanese cars are people who don’t know much about cars. According to surveys done worldwide, Japanese cars are the most reliable in the world. In UK, Japanese cars dominate the reliability car survey and many British people drive Japanese cars especially Honda and Toyota.

• so now u try to say UK ppl r the smartest ppl in the world like u?hahaha…u know wht?in UK ppl thnk about after sale value just like msia..dats y they opt for toyota honda..coz lots of ppl with no option in life..only A n theres no B,C for them..pity..limit ur choice bcoz of others~~buy a car for after sale value..hahaha..drove car for ht?5,610 yrs for aftersale value?damn…no satisfaction at all..well,car like peugeot,alfa or hyundai may not be as bullet proof as camry like mr p.ho said above..but as long u kept in well maintained..surely works well..even my dad civic fd 2007 got power steering problem,wheel bearing problem plus pop out dashboard panel..huh~~not even 5years dude

• yh Inc. on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:37 pm

European choose Japanese car not 100% on its reliability, it’s much more cheaper compared to conti cars! No doubts, conti cars always at the top of the quality. Korean cars……… need more hardwork rather than selling it cheap.

• LIKEHONDANOTSOMUCH on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:38 am

i second you brother.

• Avanza totally sucks all the time. How come be no1 mpv/van segment…. MENGARUT and MENCARUT from J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2011 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS).

Made in CBU Indon and Thailand cars are better than made in CBU Germany or EU cars? Biar Betul!!!

• Common sensor on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:28 pm

Study what IQS is all about before making stupid comment la bro ..

• Common sensor on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Obviously you know nuts about IQS ..

• droll on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:21 am

why is it surprising than thailand lor indon made cars better than german / eu cars?? i don’t understand what the location of a factory has to do with quality. bro, if bmw set up factory in china or thailand, does it mean their cars automatically are of lower quality?

as long as a manufacturer puts in the qc required, the cars they produce will be fine. no manufacturer is so stupid to compromise on quality and destroy their brand name especially when these are well known players in the industry – not some ikan bilis manufacturer. they would have done extensive research before setting up a factory.

it is better for us if thai or indon car has better quality because we get to enjoy better cars at cheaper prices vs cbu units from germany / eu.

having said that, the iqs survey is not the be all and end all of quality. u need to understand what and how they survey before you interpret their results.

honestly, bmw and vw quality ain’t stellar. they have their issues too. a simpler kancil with less parts and electronics could possibly be less problematic vs a bmw or a vw. also, wind noise and excessive fuel consumption – aren’t those issues open to owner interpretations??? for someone coming from a kancil and upgrading to a avanza – wow, no wind noise! but someone from say a bmw downgrade to a livina – wow, super noisy lah!

• Honda Power on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:18 am

Yeh, u know nuts abt IQS. LOL.

• Mlang on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:32 pm

only those who drive those cars response to the survey thats why la only those cars yg get high mark…

• Ha?? Avanza top the MPV category?? The quality is so lousy la!! Livina should top all, followed by innova…

• likehondanotsomuch on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Ouchhhh Navara havent come to top three even loses to D max n Tritton,,,,yikes! perhaps you cant beat the law of physics when it comes to engine,,,,,,for reference after 18 mths driving Navara,1 battery change,front 4 wheel drive cap change,,,free though coz under warranty,battery change is due to my 3 amp audio upgrade,injector cleaned and this Navara really smokey when cranked hard.Would i recommend this.?DAMN YA! For those who want fun iknow afew Navara owners will have that grin on their face.But for those who want realiability and economy go for Hilux or Dmax,sorry for the long bragging just sharing,Have a wonderful day.

• I think you’re misreading the results – the higher the number the more the problems experienced by owners- ie lower quality. This means the honda city is ranked the lowest in the class but has improved from the previous year.

• paultanpower on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:58 pm

how about making a poll from Paultan’s critics! name it the Paultan Power Asia Pacific! =)) sure kow-kow kena…

• All these are rubbish car, SUCKS!!

• Honda Power on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:21 am

Maybe you drive a rubbish car, you nuthead! The only rubbish cars r Potong n Beruktua!

• tec96248 on Nov 14, 2011 at 3:31 pm

it has nothing to do with p1 or p2 cars. a rubbish car can be any car if it can bring rubbish, be it a truck or motor.

• kututu on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:52 pm

It’s not about your money.. Y u care to those rubbish. Go n make your own car.

• Unforgiven on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:14 am

where are the korean made?

• LIKEHONDANOTSOMUCH on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:35 am

that one is really hard to digest bro,,,hahhahaa.am i laughing?

• yeah….obviously the avanza sucks big time!!! very poorly built….worst than proton. that is why those poor souls recommend their friends to buy it…coz they want to get rid of it as soon as possible!!!

geddit??

• alfie60 on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:45 am

If this survey was done by Frost & Sullivan we know which shitty car manufacturer will come up top in all the category in all the class. After all they are now nominated for the NOBEL prize for winning the Brighton Sunday drive event. ;-)

• i await the korean fan boys here

• andy lee on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:38 am

why no proton?? i mean proton quality is one of the best in malaysia.. i drives a proton… more or less like toyota honda.. i driving perdana once, very nice like bmw and mercedes. not to mention very good fuel economic AND fast also.. i once drive my proton waja can overtake a BMW!!! 3 series sum more at highway!!!

• bro.. are u high?… don’t over dose ya.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:07 am

Wow so nice Waja can overtake BMW 3 series…… at 70 km/h? Like that Bicycle also can overtake 3 series la.

• Honda Power on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:23 am

Yeah, r u still dreaming? LOL. Proton quality as good as T, H and BMW? Ha ha ha ha! I cannot help laughing!

• yippi33 on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:42 am

he is being sarcastic..i think..

• klguy on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:06 am

i wont b surprised u say that a saga overtook a mclaren along north south highway. with stock engine and those ahbeng exhaust, Proton can even beat Bugatti.

• Muahahaha…..andy lee: you’re the MAN la..!!

• blue-traveler on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:50 am

Wou!, You have to be kidding me, Andy. Perdana = very good fuel economic.!!???! Are you high on something or from LaLa land? ANY car can get up to “speed” if you lead foot it!! And give it time..oh….3 to 4 mins, and beat the other driver, whose is driving according to the spec of his/her car (meaning not speeding to the point that the speedo-meter needle needs to crawl-o-so-slowly upwards while the whole dashboard beating out a milkshake. Also the other driver could be thinking how much he/she love her life, then waste racing with you.

• Medic on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:56 pm

I’m your doc,why haven’t u come in for your monthly jab?Your symptoms are starting again.Go play far far,so you won’t hurt anybody here.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:30 pm

“i once drive my proton waja can overtake a BMW!!! 3 series sum more at highway!!!”

– So, as last time TM claimed – Waja is “BMW of Asia” ………..

• Funny results from JD..

• ah ben on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:26 am

unfortunately some problem only realized by owner after a year..for example i just know i have to add extra bolt n nut cost rm90+ when i want make alignment to my saga.. if not they (tyre service shop) cant align it..
    ‘proton design salah itu macam’, they said.

• autojohndoe on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:32 am

if you look into the JD P questionnaire… most are too general…

• Expatriate VN on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:37 pm

You autojohndog …… pea brain!

Let me explain from academic perspective, Questionaires in any field survey normally developed to get certain “sampling” from the intended area of survey. This method is qualitative analysis, normally “cover wide area of study but swallow in depth of study.

For interview method, it is “medium or average” in term of area cover and depth of study. If needed very depth of study with specific area of study, normally the method employed is qualitative study @ case study. I rest my case ………

• MeGane on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:40 am

To put it simply , Jap cars have less electronics/gizmos so generally more reliable . Their weather is closer to Asia weather so they suit better in our climate …so less problematic . Are Japs cars better to drive …definitely no ! Otherwise why are most people are clamouring to drive Conti cars if they have the financial means ?

• michael on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:51 am

In terms of specific models, the Honda City ranks highest in the entry mid-size segment for a third consecutive year, with a score of 62 PP100, an improvement of 36 PP100 from 2010.
    —————————————-

is there a typo there? should it be 26 PP 100 instead of 62 PP100???

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:01 pm

That’s what the report says, 62 PP100. No mention of what the second-placed Vios scored.

• i think it means honda city in 2010 get 98 pp100. 2011 is 62 pp100.

• AIya,brother.Take this survey stuff with tonne of slat laaa….Just like in any survey.Take it as a general reference.From the survey one can tell,they are right,less gadget less problem.This also translate to that the higher the car is rated in the survey,no offence to those owner,your car must be boring looking,everyone drives one,its bare bone basic,never fail to bring you from point A to be B without hassle and fuss all the time,makes you drool,oggle and day dream when you can drive the problematic merc,beem,audi or vw at a traffic light junction and makes you think steering wheel reach and rake adjustment is a luxury feature..Seriously,the best quality car in the survey,has it pass through a proper crash test and is the car sold here similar to the one being crash tested.
    I just ate lots of salt.

• road_chaser on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:04 am

i’m not sure wether we can rely on this reports to classified which brand has top quality or which are not..from my readings I can see that this survey was made to the new buyers and for sure most of the cars were in top quality in their first three/four years..but how bout their quality when it comes to 5 years old and more?? Looking at the trend of the car’s buyer in Malaysia, most of them dare to make loans untill 9 years in order to own their dream cars and will affected if this trend continue…try to chat with car workshop worker than you know which car cost you more when it’s aging..conti or japs?

• The five problems reported most frequently by owners doesn’t include problem on power windows!

Can we rest the case now :-)?

• toroto on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:25 am

JD Power is from Japan ma…, what do u all expect??

• cenge on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:11 pm

JD Power is a marketing research company from California, USA la. Why la u too lazy and confuse people?

• Maserati on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:26 am

Haha, all the korean fanboys jealous all the top spots go sapu by jap cars. Just admit it lah, jap cars might hv probs but not as many as korean or conti cars. And yes honda city ranked highest because its score was lowest. Get it? Alot of ppl here dont understand the results.

• blue-traveler on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:24 am

This is going to be another hot topic, being that our national car is not on the ten list, ton of paultanist will be boo-ing it, or thumb down on any post.
    But i must side with JD power on H.City. It is a good little car, the current one. Friends and co-workers have it, sat in it and drove it, like it, good fuel mileage, thumbs up.
    Also I would like to input my point of view, I have, German, Jap, Kimchee and a Local car. A info before comment; Duitsland is for “face”/ entertaining and long distance travel, Nippon; is general daily use/ distance travel too. Kimchee bigfoot, offroad, plantation and Ikea visits, P is for wet market and hawker, 7/11 runs, and loan to young relative yearly visit use. All are good cars, when good care are given. That said, some things are just that, problem that comes along with or without our care. German cars now-a-days have too many chip parts. My D-land car have 4 electronic parts failure, since i got it; 2 with in 6 month of getting it. Kimchee, being a oil burner, have a problems long come with Diesel cars. SonyLand one have not given me any problem in 2 years., yet, i must add. The last one, the usual, bumper drop off on me, (Really!!), rear view window heater doesn’t work when first got the car, one wiper arm have to be change after nine months, (FOC) at the same ask the service center guys check the sound system, he change a new one for me without telling me why, but foc too. But no power window fail yet :)
    So imho, jap cars with the least problems should get the award. P/S mine big german car give a better mileage then the 2.4L jap car. Japs should start looking for a better engine.

• I just feel skeptic bout the report only. I tried to find the background of this J.D. Power Asia but all I got is all Japanese stuff. Which makes me feel unconvinced.

BTW, it’s not about P1 or P2 not in the list, coz they are really not qualified.. lol

• thats right, J.D power asia pacific’s president and CEO is japanese Namio Hasumi.

that sums up much about the biase-ness of this report.

10 years ago i would have believed….but definitely not the current line of cost cutting jap econoboxes nowadays.

• gomok on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Yep, never believe this result by JD Power……

• cenge on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:21 pm

get yr facts right la. JD Power Asia pacific is a subsidiary of JD Powers Associates USA and the President of JD Powers Asia Pacific is still a mat saleh. Only VP and the EO (not CEO) are Japanese.Its obvious u are the one who is biased.

• Well, their website says the CEO is the jap guy. Your eyes must be crooked

• Redrules on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Can UMW do away with the cheapo side stickers on the Avanzas, it’s so outdated and probably can safe a couple of hundred ringgit from buyers.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Those who think German cars have fewer problems should try and speak to actual German car owners before making any blanket statements. Japanese products are recognised for their reliability, whether made in Japan or otherwise, can be a TV, Walkman or a car. This is a fact proven over time and recognized globally.

• well,in 2003 hyundai elantra got top score on JD power…beating civic,corolla,even mighty “das auto”..no nobody giv a damn rite?hehe…typical msian..only shout when japs cars win it..but pity proton get all the boos when either win or lose~

• Expatriate VN on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:44 pm

If JD Power Asia Pacific carried out Questionnaire survey on quality of car for certain categories of car, then T and H will dominate the list from FRONT 1, 2, 3, 4, ……..

Some argue P1 never able to be in front of the list…….

If JD Power Asia Pacific survey also included P1 shitty cars, then if ask JD to reveal where P1 stand, likely P1 (maybe including P2) shitty cars will dominate the list from BACK, also 1, 2, 3 ……

• m3 csl on Nov 10, 2011 at 1:07 am

If they report the sylphy, camry or civic i might believe. Everyone knows about the low rent build and problematic avanza comes with excessive wind noise and brake noise problems. Not to mention the 3rd world bumpy ride cheapo suspension.

• The simple mechanism of Avanza may not offer good comfort but reliability is proven BETTER than some other pricier models, which may offer better comfort or performance but not reliability.
      Newer technology may not be equal to better reliability.

• The statistic shows one prove : Price of the car do not necessary contribute to the reliability of the car. Eg Avanza vs other more pricier models .
    Less time in the garrage is better than the better outlook/ performance/comfort.

• Leonardo on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:36 pm

A few things I can sum up fron this JD IQS results:
    1. The best IQS results does not mean you get higher/highest sales. (Eg Honda City)
    2. The highest selling cars does not mean it has the highest IQS results. (Eg MyVi)
    3. What was not mentioned by Paul Tan in the JDP report is the ‘Industry average’ in the particular country and for a particular year. Normally scores better than the ‘Industy average’ is considered ‘acceptable’ or ‘good’.