Hyundai Veloster arriving in Malaysia Q1 next year

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors says it will be launching the Veloster three-door coupe sometime in the first quarter of 2012.

“We have been receiving enquiries about the new Veloster from Malaysian car enthusiasts and I’m delighted to announce that this revolutionary three-door coupe, the first of its kind in Malaysia, will be arriving on Malaysian shores in the first quarter of next year,” said HSDM’s MD Dennis Ho.

The car will arrive here in its 132 hp 1.6 litre Gamma II engine form. Stick shifter fans will be pleased to know that the Veloster 1.6L will be available in both automatic and manual transmission versions.

Complete specifications of the model will only be announced at the launch in Q1 next year, though HSDM adds that it’s currently studying the possibility of bringing in the GDi (Gasoline Direction injection) and Turbo GDI models in the near future, with a consideration of the fuel quality here – a decision will be made upon the completion of this study.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kereta lembu on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Saw this car in Korea a few weeks ago and it looks good in flesh. Particularly like the one in yellow.

• Cheap! prefer VW Scirocco .

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:47 pm

scirocco is ugly. plain hatchback with no special styling features. the only thing it has going for it is the engine. to some, it is enough, to many others, leaves a lot more to be desired.

• Bryan Ng on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:59 am

I agree that the scirocco looks too plain for a coupe. Just so hard to distinguish it from the rest.

• But this one is too weird…i don’t like the logo and the country make! Scirocco is better!

• kuching on Nov 10, 2011 at 3:54 pm

1st generation of hyundai coupe look more attractive

• rayleigh on Apr 07, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Korean actor Lee Min Ho in “City Hunter”drama. He using this hyundai veloster car!! cool!!

• “with consideration of the fuel quality here”…is it that bad, our petrol quality against other countries despite we get the high quality crude oil just from our own shores?

• callenish on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Malaysia Diesel is Euro II compliance. nothing to do with our sweet crude oil. it is about the process of distillation.

• MoFaz on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:57 pm

u didn’t know? we sell our high grade petroleum and buy diff grade of petrol from arab for local consumptions.

• i think it is implying the quality and performance of RON95 in the new car engine. Not many users will feed their car with RON97 which is RM2.80/l.

• JeremyNg on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:59 am

Our beloved goverment said that Ron97 price will flow according to the market !!! But now de petrol price dropped d but our Ron97 price still no yet drop =.=”””””

• langit hitam on Nov 10, 2011 at 7:37 am

Its been nearly 6month since last updat U think es for RON97. I think we’ve brrn conned by our own Gov

• yup, they did.. only the market price increasing!
          they just be ignorant when the market price decreasing!

• odi862 on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Selling the good stuff we produce to others and buying the inferior stuff from the other producer for our own consumption or something like that.

• oligor on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:15 pm

i think the mention about the fuel quality refers to diesel, not about the petrol. the RON is standard worldwide, IMO.

• Anti turbo on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:39 pm

how much??? thinking of waiting for Hyundai Avante. I think this is more of a sports car which mean more expensive than Avante….but its damn sexy

• MycarMylife on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:47 pm

USD 39,000 to USD 43,000 Hanoi, you calculate bro’ with our NAPs crap.
      Enjoy salivating.

• What an exciting news! Finally we have a better schedule on its arrival.

Any news on the pricing? :)

• pelams on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:45 pm

caldina look-alike

• Jonnie on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:46 pm

buy this over crz anytime babe…

• khusyairi on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:49 pm

If the price is below RM120K, surely it will give good fight with Honda CRZ.
    If the price above RM120K, it surely for niche market.

• policeman on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:08 pm

What if the price is RM120K? Will it give a good fight with Honda CRZ or surely for niche market. or both?

• deftones on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:51 pm

the market is getting spicy now..
    veloster, cr-z, 208, new swift, and some say neo cps..

btw, neo cps has some good horses in the bonnet.. try it..i’ve tried..not bad with the power with good stabilty

• Nizam on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:58 pm

its look nice ..maybe gonna beat Peugeot 308?

• TIMOTHY DALTON on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Korean cars look beautiful on web but in reality sucks….Japanese stands better anytime. CR-Z not bad at all!

• Masked Ryder on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:00 pm

1.6 NA Petrol Engine ? :-(

Why the side & real look so weirdo ? :-P

• David D on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Blame it on our pathetic fuel quality. Euro 2 is a joke in today’s world, when everyone else is on Euro 4.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Hei David Dude again !

The issue is not with Euro 2 or Euro 4 as we are talking about Petrol not Diesel here, actually Hyundai producing 2 type of 1.6 NA engine 128 hp & 138 hp GDI for Veloster.

128 hp version are cater for certain Arab country which require car to run on Ron 91 fuel, 138hp GDI need to run with Ron 98 fuel for optimise performance, that why SDHM is reluctant to bring in the full power version, imagine paying RM 2.80/ltr of ron 97 fuel for a 100K (est) Korean car ! how many taker ?

I wonder how Anthony get 132hp version ? perhaps is a “newly” tuned Veloster special for Malaysia market. ;-)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 10, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Well, that’s the output figure quoted for the Gamma II in the press release … guess we’ll have to wait and see exactly how many ponies there are when the time comes!

• David D on Nov 10, 2011 at 2:27 pm

As much as i remember in general, most markets use the GDi version of the 1.6 four-pot. Maybe it’s better if we wait for the actual engine that’s coming in, shall we? =D.

Man, next year is going to be a good fight between two equally good sport coupes.

• Stop about this execuse by car maker not want to bring in GDI engine because of our fuel n blame the goverment. Tell me why Audi A4, Golf, new mondeo are GDI engine running without problem. This all being played up by T&H salesmen as they don’t have GDI engine. So don’t be fooled.

• ben yap on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:04 pm

1.6 making 132hp is pretty impressive! the figures almost matches a NA 1.8 engine. nice…..

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:29 pm

come on. u say impressive
      my foot

1.4 now getting to nearly 150. if this so called super hot whatever 1.6 giving mere 130 and u say impressive?

• lonelyobserve on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Please check current engine tuning trend before commenting.

1.6L engine can have various horsepower figures. For natural aspiration (NA) engine, horsepower can be from merely 100hp up to 180hp but in general the figure is around 110hp to 125hp.

As for forced induction 1.6L engine, i.e. has turbo or supercharger, the horsepower can be any figure. Generally car manufacturers set around 160hp to 180hp.

• Proud hyundai owner on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm

yep…
        and hyundai manage to squeeze every last ounce of hp without resorting to turbo

• wolfsburg on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:06 pm

1st quarter for Veloster? Until now still got no news for the new Elantra…

• thebosssedangbercakap on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:06 pm

still a KIA. if you know what I mean.

• Halem on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Gamma 1.6L = same engine as Forte ?

Must cost similar to Forte 88K max or else boycott them.

In US it cost $17 – 18 K = RM 55 – 58K

• Stupid XP on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Another piece of korean junk car

• Jimmy Lim on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Heavily promoted during SBS City Hunter. It maybe look underpowered but the car exterior and interior shines greatly. Hopefully the price around rm 100k whereby it can compete with Honda CR-Z.

• gtmaniac on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:24 pm

So beautiful… my wife must be very delighted to hear this – she’s been so obsessed with this car since she saw it in a Korean movie.

But she also must be frustrated at the same time coz it must be priced beyond our reach…

• psycho on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:30 pm

new avante please…

• klguy on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:42 pm

its been taking them 1yr and still counting to bring in the elantra. how sure they can bring in this 1 on time??

• Winters on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:45 pm

I noticed in the Hyundai website there is a 5 door version. I wonder if Hyundai Malaysia will bring the 5 door version as well. Will be nice for family man like me :D

• carlove on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:53 pm

fantastic car….bring also Hunydai Avante…look very nice when I saw at KLIMS KL

• Johnny on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Cant understand why there are lots of fuss in bringing Hyundai and KIA GDI cars to malaysia. Peugeot, VW, ford etc already hv GDI cars here. So pls bring those cars ASAP

• don^don on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:00 pm

WHERE IS THE ELANTRA???????

• Halem on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Scheduled next week but so far no news, maybe delaying again.

• Elantra delay because there are planning for CKD, most probably 1st quater 2012. They insider people try to max thier profit by fitting additional accessories localy. Trust me .

• Halem on Nov 10, 2011 at 1:01 pm

That mean they try to use the same tactics as Oriental Hyundai installing craps accessories & sell at premium price, remember Hyundai Accent famous Goal Post GT Wing & Air scoop that have no function :-p

I think they are trying to bring the price closer to Kia, rather than launch with price close to Civic & Altis, remember how i30 flop because of the price & Avante end up with huge price slash ?

Who know maybe a Inokom Elantra ?

• Gavin on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Old engine, heavy body, poor after sales service.

Funny how Sime darby for BMW and Ford have no issue to bring in diesels, but for hyundai sounds like end of the world if they do.

Sime darby also claims B5 is good for BMW, but guess who is franchise holder for BMW?

I don’t like these companies who like playing for big time fools, but cannot help that we like being played like that also

• some brands probably detune their cars, remove the diesel particulate filters and shorten service intervals plus also increase parts replacements to bring in the euro 4 and 5 diesel cars. some manufacturers prefer not to tamper with the cars just to enter an euro 2 market.

• Rhys Millen on Nov 11, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Not smart…. Find a diesel elantra for us in other countries….. This model is not available in Diesel,,,

• More eager waiting Honda CRZ or CKD Kia Koup

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:31 pm

is this the one with weird one side got back door the other does not?

puke

how on earth they manage to think something absurd like that?
    are they running out of brain or neuron or anything?

they want to be different, i think
    well let me tell u how to be different

just design a vehicle shape an ass
    that being different i tell u

• Bongcs on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Tie a yellow ribbon around the old oak tree..

• erikson on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Change the distributorship from HSDM la..habis cerita.Sucking money je they can think off.No business spirit la.Cuba bagi Tan Chong / Naza tengok…At least they are improving. Shame on you la HSDM…jaga kebun kelapa sawit je laahhhh!!!!

• Musalmah Endut on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Waiting for KIA to bring in K7.

• blacky on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:43 pm

which one will you chose……renault megane…hyundai veloster….peugeot 208

• blue-traveler on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Question regarding this line- “…I’m delighted to announce that this revolutionary three-door coupe, the first of its kind in Malaysia,…”
    I thought that title should go to the Mazda RX-8? And I wish Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors people reading this would also consider bringing all the Hyundai hybrid ver. to here too, The 2L and below, ones.

• Halem on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Hallo blue-traveler, Hyundai Kia have only one Hybrid engine which is 2.4 ltr, currently use for Sonata & Optima Hybrid, the so call Elantra Hybrid are running on NGV.

So no chance for Korean Hybrid.

• eddie on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:43 pm

The Mazda RX8 has two rear door whereby the hinges are at the rear whereas the Veloster has one rear door with a forward hinge. In the Mazda’s case , the front door has to be open before the rear door can be open. The only car that i can think of that has similar layout would be the new Mini Clubman but it has the rear door on the wrong side of the car.

• blue-traveler on Nov 10, 2011 at 10:07 am

Thanks for the info guys.

• Downsys on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:08 pm

What makes it ‘first of its kind in Malaysia’?

• the strange arrangement of doors for a passenger car. 2 on one side, 1 on the other. idea has been used in old vans for eons already though – c22, serena, toyota lite ace etc.

• eddie on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:58 pm

It means in Malaysia this is the only coupe car with an additional rear door on one side. C22 , Serena , Lite Ace are all vans not coupe…and so is the new Mini Clubman which is a hatchback/wagon like.

• Adham on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:16 pm

City Hunter car…

• SimonH on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Studying the possibility of bringing in Turbo GDI ….

Yes! Please bring in the Sonata 2.0T as well Hyundai Malaysia!

• nighttrain on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Is there anything from asian manufacturers that can produce the same performance and safety specs as polo gti and sell it at below RM100k? 1.3 twincharged neo, maybe?

• RedBeanBun on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:13 pm

get it to RM80K to challenge the VIOS and City :)

• take a look at this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tarTenRPt6c&feature=related
    try to think what will happen in malaysia with the left rear door. same incident as first car?

• Bro, depending on the production volume and the design, the 3rd door may remain on the right side, just like the MINI Clubman – whether its LHD or RHD, the 3rd dr remains on the same side.

However, unlike the Mini Clubman where the fuel filler could not be moved, Hyundai
      has confirmed that for RHD markets, the door will shift to the other side so that passengers won’t have to get out of the car and into traffic, i.e. 3rd door on the passenger side.

Anyway, bro, if it is a RHD, the video you show will not apply because when driving RHD cars, we do not stop on the right side of the road, and traffic is not from the left side of the car. The video you show is for LHD markets.

• I hope the SD Management will NOT remove certain features from the car when its launched here. FYI, the new Sonata comes with 6 airbags globally, yet, its 2 when arrived here, and because of that, the autolock feature has to be disabled because of the electronics config which requires side airbag to be present. Now SD is launching a new variant of the Sonata 2.4, with 6 airbags etc, price is 10k more. If only this new variant was launched back then. As usual, management mentality of making more profits at the expense of the rakyat’s safety, simply because the country does not have laws to govern airbags etc.

• Bronx on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:28 pm

I had driven the 1.8 Dual clutch version with paddle shifters. Love it! Please bring this model! and not the 1.6 , no ump! Love the volester design.

• Erk... on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:27 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fNWocImpN5E
    what… NO spare tyre?

• Bryan Ng on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:56 am

Honestly, I’d love to rather see the Hyundai Genesis Coupe in Malaysia ;)

• hah just for fun ler kent

• NeoBest! on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Beli Proton Neo lagi best ! Rally champion..sia ! Proton Neo !

• Notakosong.com on Nov 14, 2011 at 12:37 am

korean basher keep on coming with your bullets!

dont care of your comments,
    who would really know if the car good or not if no one had even drive it or even look at it? how can you comment the quality if not owning or even test drive one?

10 years back korea is really shit, but hey, the shit is gold now, with the pricing that never gonna choke you like certain T and H, and great value for money in terms of the technology they are giving for the price.

ima buy one, well, after i test drive one of course,

• nadie on Jan 03, 2012 at 12:18 am

hey notakosong, u meant u’ve owned the volester olready? :-O

btw, agreed with u:)

• devinz on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:24 pm

so now almost 1/2 of Q1 2012.

so Mr CEO of HSDM..where is the veloster?

• anakayam on Apr 22, 2012 at 5:41 pm

where’s the car? goddamit been waiting for ages

• devinz on Apr 23, 2012 at 12:09 pm

yea man, kinda sick of waiting..

i wonder is it HSDM problem or is it Sime Darby?

Alfa Romeo Giulietta which supposed to come in since late last year are yet to be seen.

And it is also under Sime Darby!

Seems like Sime Darby is only interested in selling BMWs and new Evoque…. damm it
      !

• bryan on May 28, 2012 at 2:54 am

im gonna work hard enough to buy this car. eventhough i saw this car from the korean drama “city hunter”. i still like it a lot because its stylish and different from other cars these days. it just stands out on its own. so cool and style. definitely getting this. btw,im only 21 this year. dont call me a dreaming boy. i will surely get it. :)

• TaroPearl on Sep 02, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Title’s still valid but make it 2013 Q1 from the looks of it

What a long time

• shariff ramlee on Sep 02, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Dah tengok kat Assan City, Korea Selatan . Kilang Pemasangan kereta Hyundai dan Model berkenaan
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=263851523628330&set=a.263850890295060.82583.100000104525905&type=3&theater

• black on Oct 12, 2012 at 7:58 am

already drive this car at korea..not bad..if less than 80k can consider…better than priusC and jazz