Chevrolet TrailBlazer show SUV breaks cover in Dubai

Chevrolet has debuted its all-new TrailBlazer – in show car form – at the Dubai International Motor Show. The global offering is essentially the SUV version of the recently introduced Colorado pick-up, with which it shares its architecture and underpinnings.

The TrailBlazer’s styling and bold design presence were crafted in GM’s South American Design Centre, located in Sao Caetano do Sul, Brazil. The company says that the production form of the vehicle will bear a pretty close resemblance to the show vehicle. Given that the Colorado retained much of the looks previewed on the show truck version earlier in the year, it stands to reason the TrailBlazer should do the same.

The TrailBlazer offers seating for seven, with genuine third-row seating. Power comes courtesy of the 2.8 litre Duramax mill as seen on the Colorado – it features a variable-geometry turbocharger and balance shaft, and has 180 hp and 470 Nm of torque for numbers.

Design cues on the show car include a bonnet power dome, raised cowl and higher-mounted dual projector headlamps, while polished aluminium exterior highlights and tri-coat pearlescent white paint add to the vehicle’s luxury exterior finish.

Inside, the TrailBlazer has an intuitive and flexible seating configuration, premium interior appointments such as digital climate control system and USB and Bluetooth connectivity. In Australia, it will be badged as the Holden Colorado 7, and is set to make its market debut there in the first quarter of 2013, so Asean market countries can expect about a similar date of introduction.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• So… this would be the Captiva replacement?

• Mohamad on Nov 10, 2011 at 8:15 pm

better wait for Proton SUV CPS Turbo

• peter32 on Nov 10, 2011 at 8:39 pm

Beautiful SUV to beat Santa Fe, fortuner, Pajero sports and its own Captiva.

• lonelyobserve on Nov 10, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Another pickup truck based SUV. Chevrolet really wants to compete with Toyota, Ford, Nissan and Mitsubishi.

• Proton suck, Malaysian paid higher for it national car. Government subsidy, lousy R&D with poor management planning causing it outbid with other automotive maker. Just look at Hyundai, n some other china automotive maker they all found younger then proton but yet their product & technology is more refine n hitech then proton. Proton please close shop n save government budget n remove import tax protection due proton. So everyone can enjoying higher quality car with minimum cost spending like US.

• clutch basah on Nov 11, 2011 at 1:25 pm

I support you Will, as long as you could provide jobs to hundreds thousands of people who would lose their jobs when Proton close it shops.
      It should only be about us right? only me, me and me.. others and their families can go to hell!!

• Think again clutch, if not proton protection policy, toyota, honda & others had already setup in malaysia instead Thailand few years ago these news spread over the newspaper. IF these giant company came in, they surely will provide 10x more jobs opportunity then proton could offer, beside gov also benefit gaining lot tax from them due massive export to the world by their product. But now, Rafxxx, Mahatxx, Nazx family monopoly and the policy only make them richer and richer, what left is the negative economic impact to malaysian to suffer. And keep digging inside instead outside. With continue this proton protection policy in another 10 more years, who going suffer? Is us…

• clutch basah on Nov 12, 2011 at 7:54 am

How can you be so sure these “giants” would come and profit Will? Malaysia is just a tiny market compare to Thailand and Indonesia that the initial fact they went there to invest. Stop politicizing when things went out of hand, we Malaysians are very good at that.

Since you mentioned Hyundai, they have one biggest advantage that Proton would never have. It is called patriotism and that came from the people of Korea as a whole. Ever read an article about Koreans who bought a Korean cars in the States and imported them back to Korea? If you think Proton cars are bad why don’t you Google previous Hyundai cars.

If you think Proton is protected think again Will, Japanese and Korean did the same thing. I will not elaborate further please Google.

Cheers

• clutch basah on Nov 12, 2011 at 8:50 am

How sure are you that these giants would come and profit Will? In comparison to Thailand (70mil) and Indonesia (230mil!) Malaysia is just a miniscule market, that’s the real reason they went there to invest. Stop politicizing when things went out of hand, Malaysian are very good at that aren’t we. Blaming other people is always fun and easy as long as we never got the blame. Weren’t we who voted the these people from the beginning? So who to blame??

Since you’ve mentioned Hyundai in comparison to Proton. Hyundai have the biggest advantage that Proton could only dream of, it is called patriotism of Korean people. Yeah Koreans are very patriotic dude, I live and work in Korea thus I saw it firsthand. To these people anything has Korea on it is the best thing ever made. Ever read an article where Koreans bought Hyundai cars in the states and shipped them back to Korea? Are you that patriotic Will?

If you say Hyundai cars are good and Proton is bad why don’t you Google Hyundai’s previous cars. Or have you seen the old Sephias and ever heard how bad the Spectra was.

Next thing you should say is Proton’s protections by the NAP and prices for imported cars ballooned due that fact. Tell me something dude aren’t the Koreans and Japanese does the same thing?

Buang masa jer cakap banyak dude, ko google ajer la.. cheers

• Just let you know most of the Honda & toyota running on Malaysian road is made by Thailand. With this, please count earning Malaysia gov can made if all Thailand toyota/Honda is imported from Malaysia?? And Thailand not only export to Malaysia but regional Asia. Together with Toyota/Honda supplier all in Malaysia, Tyre/electronic device, lamp, batteries & etc. Can you count the job opportunity where Malaysian can have????? Btw, spectra indeed not a good car before but it change within few years see what hyundai have today on road, latest hyundai/tuscan/elantra all comparable with toyota. See how long proton been here, 1985??? Almost 30 yrs? And how they grow so far? Tiara/Savvy/satria with pickup comb/juara all rubbish creation. Go ahead with your lovely proton choice….wasting time.

• kakibusuk on Nov 10, 2011 at 10:16 pm

ugly.. looks like kembara with a little touch up here and there

• albag on Nov 11, 2011 at 8:01 am

looks like your ass being touched up by this and that… it’s a freaking awesome ride, are you freaking blind???

• DewaSemut on Nov 11, 2011 at 9:31 am

Oh man… not just your feet stinks… your taste stinks too! heheh :P

• shawal on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:24 pm

makes all captiva owners looks like a complete jacka$$

• lampu belakang mcm kia sportage yg baru.

• tea o beng on Nov 11, 2011 at 12:17 am

Errrr….mr rush big brother?

• mat_rempit on Nov 11, 2011 at 5:51 am

looks tough,but engine power cannot beat s fe,197 hp just using 2.2 vgt diesel engine,440Nm,and rm99 roadtax a year…

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Nov 11, 2011 at 11:24 am

current captiva can be remap’d to 400Nm / 180bhp in 2.0 engine size.
      cheaper road tax than santa fe

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Nov 11, 2011 at 9:26 am

make my current Captiva so dated….

• pelams on Nov 11, 2011 at 3:35 pm

better looking than captiva

• That rear-end shot looks as if someone said “the back is too flat”, so they reversed it into the workbench..