Chevrolet Colorado Test Drive Report from Chiang Rai

There’s a new pick-up truck coming to town, and it’s the Chevrolet Colorado. The new Colorado was first previewed at the Bangkok Motor Show earlier this year in “Show Truck” guise, and had its world debut in September, appearing largely unchanged from the show car.

This will be General Motors’ first jab at the Malaysian pick-up truck market, but the previous gen Colorado has been selling for some time in Thailand now, where it’s made at the US company’s Rayong plant for local consumption and export.

We told you earlier that the Colorado will be launched by local distributor Naza Quest in December, but that’s been delayed due to the major floods that hit Thailand. The car hub of Rayong is dry, as are GM’s plant and adjacent new diesel engine facility, but various vendors haven’t been so lucky. No parts, no trucks!

Colorado Show Truck at the 2011 Bangkok Motor Show. Looks have been largely maintained

So it should be coming here next year, although no one knows exactly when in 2012. GM ASEAN boss Martin Apfel gives us examples of vendors with their entire factories submerged – some have send divers to retrieve GM moulds while others have had tools flown out by balloon! It’s clearly too early to tell when production be back running.

And bear in mind that this is for a company that’s relatively lightly hit by the disaster – when we were there late October to be the first international media group to test the Colorado in Chiang Rai, GM was one of only two companies still churning out cars in Thailand (the other is Mercedes) according to Apfel.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

But one thing’s for certain – the new Colorado WILL make it here, so let’s see what we can look forward to. This is an all new Colorado, unrelated to the previous model that was a sister to the Isuzu D-Max. As to questions whether this Colorado is “a clone” of the new D-Max, also recently released, GM says that they do share “basic underpinnings” but GM went its own direction very early in the day, and this is very much a GM product.

GM execs say that they have at disposal a very strong truck heritage and unique styling, and one shouldn’t mistake the Colorado for anything other than a Chevrolet truck. In any case, Isuzu is a truck expert as well, so there’s nothing substandard here.

I chanced on this photo of the new and old Colorados side by side, and it’s obvious that the new truck has grown in size by quite a bit.

This is not so much of a luxury but a necessity, since newer rivals such as the Mitsubishi Triton and the market leading Toyota Hilux have introduced us to larger rear quarters, making old timers like the current Ford Ranger and old D-Max/Colorado feel cramped at the back and with poor rear door access for double cabs.

Thailand will have the largest number of configurations that allows for various engine (new 2.5 and 2.8 Duramax diesels), transmission (5MT/6AT), driven wheels (2WD/4WD), stance (high/low) and body style (single, extended, crew) combos, but only the extended cab (some call it king cab, only Nissan sells it in Malaysia) were available in the media test drive.

This is because the extended cab is the first body style lined up for production, to be followed by the double cab. Then came the flood…

However, GM had a prototype crew cab (double cab) unit driven by the staff, and I sneaked into that car for a stint as rear passenger, since only the double cab will be coming to Malaysia. Space and comfort were impressive and far better than the old Colorado. Legroom is generous while headroom is adequate and the seat back is not too uncomfortably upright.

I also noticed that the seat height is not set too low, which can be the case when trying to maximise headroom. Ride comfort was also impressive, gone is the boat-like floaty ride of the old Colorado and D-Max. If all these were previously below par, the new Colorado is now up there with the best in the segment.

The 400 km route chosen by GM was very challenging and it was by far my most extensive and interesting drive in Thailand so far. We started at Chiang Rai airport, where I hopped into a 2.8L 2WD Manual high stance Colorado. Biggest engine, rear wheels only and stick shift proved to be highly entertaining in the snaky mountain roads that border Burma.

From the airport, we headed north on the main road in the direction of Mae Sai, turning left and up the mountains to have a lunch break at Doi Chang Moob. Up here, the Thai and Myanmar soldiers manning the posts play sepak takraw daily, overlooking what seemed like endless rolling hills on the Burmese side.

We also passed the Doi Tung Royal Villa and stopped for coffee and pretty little cakes at Sweet Mae Salong, situated in an ethnic Chinese town on the mountain range. After that it was down, up, down and up the hills again before the day ended at Phu Chaisai Resort. Great roads and great sights.

It was a very steep climb up the first leg, Genting style, but some hairpins were so steep that first gear was needed. It was hot and dry, but I was told that the Thai media had a harder time getting up there earlier – apparently it was fogging heavily and the Bridgestone Dueler H/Ts didn’t have enough purchase on the wet slopes.

Anyway, the new Duramax diesel engine pushes out 180 hp and 470 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm for the auto and 440 Nm for the manual. That’s a lot of twist to play with, enough to make it the strongest truck in Malaysia when it arrives.

I know it sounds anti social and hooliganish, but it couldn’t resist kicking out wheelspin in gears one and two, which was incredibly easy to do. The wheels also chirped and screeched around in the bends even though we weren’t pushing it to the max. Good entertainment. Might give some the secret pleasure of “taming a beast” too! :)

Now, I already can imagine some of our more sensible readers shaking their heads in disapproval, but the Colorado is not a truck that threatens to kill you and family in every corner, far from it. The Colorado 2.8 will be coming to Malaysia in top 4WD automatic LTZ spec, which means that Electronic Stability Program (ESP) is standard, the first truck in Malaysia to have the safety net.

The ESP here doesn’t sterilise the experience too much, it’ll only intervene when you’re looking for trouble, i.e. full throttle in mid corner. Good to have a safety net in case one gets too carried away with all that torque on foot. There’s also ABS, Traction Control and Panic Brake Assist.

The Colorado soaks up bumps pretty well, and feels much firmer than before, which is a good thing for both comfort and dynamics. The steering is also improved – more direct and better weighted, but could do with more feel.

The new Duramax engine is not the loudest around and it’s best to just enjoy the low down torque and short shift before 3,000 rpm. It feels quite pointless after that mark, and not very enjoyable too. This doesn’t detract from the overall performance though, it’s a diesel truck engine, not a BMW oil burner. There’s some expected initial lag before the truck powers forward with ahem, plenty of wheelspin if you wish.

Surprisingly, I found the manual only 2.5L Duramax, which puts out 30 hp and 90 Nm less at 150 hp/350 Nm no less enjoyable. Perhaps the initial surge isn’t so forceful, but there’s still more than enough go. It’s also harder to tell apart from the 2.8 as you’d expect, given the big on-paper difference. Plus, it’s smoother revving when extended and feels more balanced somewhat.

So it’s a pity that the 2.5 is exclusively paired to the five-speed manual, limiting the number of people that can enjoy it in Malaysia. The stick shift itself is decent to use although not best in class for feel – the gates are well defined but the throw is quite long and I found fifth to be quite tricky to find.

The six-speed automatic is very smooth and seamless in operation, although not the quickest in response, much like the ‘box in the Cruze. For this particular truck, my pick is the manual.

As for the cabin, there were some hits and misses, for me at least. No issues ergonomically, and the seats are quite comfy. But the “Camaro style” instruments are so highly stylised that I found the speedo to be quite hard to read at a glance – a combo of thick needle, number placement and small distance between markers see to that.

I also preferred the straight forward three-dial air con controls over the high spec car’s donut ring, which leaves plenty of empty space. It’s unique though, and some might find it cool. Noteworthy is the inclusion of a multi-info display between the dials, although browsing via the right stalk will take your hand off the wheel – not the most thoughtful of designs. Shouldn’t complain really, since it’s a rather exclusive feature in a truck.

The Chevrolet Colorado is a good truck, one that has distinctive style, plenty of kit in Malaysian bound LTZ spec, good comfort and space. We are also told that prices will undercut the market leader (that’s the Hilux, of course) despite the long kit list.

The Chevy will come with plenty of showroom appeal, and will make some rivals look very stingy indeed. However, the higher road tax of the 2.8L variant could be a potential issue, and since the 2.5L doesn’t come with an auto ‘box, Naza Quest can’t make it their star variant. It’s also a new segment for the brand in Malaysia, up against established players, so it won’t be a walk in the park.

Selamat datang Colorado! We’re also due to welcome the new Ford Ranger next year, so the pick-up truck segment is bound to get interesting in 2012!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• almostthere on Nov 12, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Thanks for the review. Can you guys kindly list down what models would be getting? Tempted to get the 2.5l if there’s an auto option which I think NAZA should seriously consider when the market portion is more to automatic based pickup’s

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 12, 2011 at 7:34 pm

We will be getting a 2.5 Manual, 2.8 Manual and 2.8 Auto. GM doesn’t make a 2.5 Auto

• almostthere on Nov 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Thanks Danny…too bad about that. Hope the 2.8l auto isn’t steep.

BTW, what are the trim differences between the LT and LTZ?

Thanks

• steam_man on Nov 13, 2011 at 10:25 pm

who cares about this car?

• civic on Nov 14, 2011 at 12:58 pm

There are many rich business man who care….my malaysian MD who is fron texas is free to lease any car but he prefers a truck…maybe not a myvi driving ahbeng like your self la.

• Anti-Japanese on Nov 14, 2011 at 11:08 am

Will Singaporeans get this truck?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 14, 2011 at 12:50 pm

I have no idea, I didn’t see any Singaporean at this regional event

• senna101 on Nov 15, 2011 at 12:55 pm

I believe trucks like this are sold in SIN as commercial vehicles only. Hence, it will unfortunately not be available in SIN as a privately-owned vehicle. Still, better to check with your local Chevrolet distributor :)

• I like the sound of that ESP, when you gonna learn toyota?

• eman94 on Nov 12, 2011 at 7:41 pm

are this car will be launch in malaysia

• Oh damn!! This truck is sexy!! suits my image… cant wait for the pricing..

• amustapha on Nov 12, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Look like some unfinish vehicle…like kena potong..

• jepon on Nov 12, 2011 at 9:23 pm

hilux is better… let alone a new gen hilux in the future. like comparing hummer and proton. hidup toyota!!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 13, 2011 at 12:12 am

HIlux is better…… at kena stolen. Damn many kena stolen ever since launch.

• org.ulu on May 02, 2012 at 11:56 am

Laku kena stolen at Sarawak… Hilux driver and fan?? what say you?

• Anti-Japanese on Nov 14, 2011 at 11:06 am

Toyota Hilux is dead, because it’s not offered in Japan. The Hilux was quietly dropped from Japanese lineup back to 2004.

• Hadi75 on Nov 14, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Better in term of what????

• delio on Nov 12, 2011 at 9:52 pm

i will choose hilux over this baby……

• Anti-Japanese on Nov 14, 2011 at 11:05 am

I prefer Holden Ute or Chevy Colorado over Hilux. I think GM trucks (such as Holden Ute and Chevy Colorado/Silverado) are better than Toyota’s.

• g4eights on Nov 12, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Like the colorado a lot. Driven the old model before from Kanchanaburi to Chedi Sam Ong (Burmese border), but it doesn’t seem to have much power as I drove the Toyotal Hilux back to Kanchanaburi which was much better the route was quite hilly. But anyway the look, I still prefer the Colorado!

• Simon on Nov 12, 2011 at 10:20 pm

just cant wait to book the 2.8 Colorado

• Love the front ! Chevrolet is making good looking cars now :)

• Seriously? The facelifted Captiva is fugly.

• Anti-Japanese on Nov 14, 2011 at 11:16 am

Chevy Volt hatch and Cruze sedan are also great looking Chevys. Or I would also taking Silverado truck. Holden (Chevrolet’s Australian counterpart) is also making good cars, such as Commodore and Ute/Maloo (Commodore truck). I think GM is better than Toyota.

• policeman on Nov 12, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Curious about it’s crash test results. Current Dmax and Ranger have terrible results.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Nov 13, 2011 at 12:50 am

The upcoming Ranger did well in EuroNCAP test, and currently the only 5-star rated pickup/trucks(as far as I concern).

• as usual lah on Nov 12, 2011 at 11:37 pm

new ford ranger 2012 is better…

• org.ulu on Jun 21, 2012 at 1:58 pm

but… have to wait for next year to get one as said by the salesman in Kuching…lol…

• likehondanotsomuch on Nov 13, 2011 at 12:34 am

Hahahahah,,,,,,i will stick with my manual Navara.

• If compare with Hilux, this lost a lot… in performance and outlook. Hilux look more better.

• blabla on Nov 13, 2011 at 2:24 pm

tak tau pasal pick up senyap je la bro. kasi malu sama lu la. kui3

• Hadi75 on Nov 14, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Ur hilux produce around 200++ Nm of torque from a 2.5litre diesel engine….the 3.0litre diesel vgt is around 300++Nm….if not mistaken….
      Navara = 403Nm from 2.5litre ( latest spec 450Nm from 2.5litre)
      Colorado = 350Nm from 2.5litre, 470Nm from 2.8litre
      Even hyundai 2.2litre diesel produce more hp n Nm from hilux 2.5

• org.ulu on Jun 21, 2012 at 2:52 pm

iye???… selalu facelift je aku tengok Hilux…dalaman macam biasa je.. adapun tambah sikit sana sini…

• looks like people think 100hp hilux is more powerful than the chevy lol

• How come the autobox pushes out 470nm of torque while the manual only 440nm? I thought usually the manual will be able to cope with higher torque?

• senna101 on Nov 15, 2011 at 1:10 pm

I think Chevrolet engineers tuned the engine to 470Nm for the auto version, to compensate for the slight power loss in an auto tranny – since auto tranny uses oil to transfer power from engine to driving wheels (resulting in a bit of loss), as opposed to the direct link in a manual tranny.

According to some sources, Chevrolet engineers are not in the power-race game with the Colorado. 440Nm, mated to a manual tranny, which doesn’t have any loss of drive, is really adequate.

• twerw on Nov 13, 2011 at 11:49 am

Love all those hard core Hilux supporter, salute to you all guys man, kena suck darah still so loyal to Toyota, big clap to you all.

• payne on Nov 14, 2011 at 9:06 am

Just like the umno/bn political supporter. they dont care even their “darah” habis kena hisap. sokong membuta tuli. I myself owned hilux sr 2.5 turbo and my utmost regret is that the car only got 102ps.

• ah ben on Nov 14, 2011 at 2:48 pm

thats what we call democracy dude.. but how come you buy a vehicle w/o check its specs first?
        u oso blind..

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 13, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Can’t help but feel this Colorado looks very much like the new Isuzu D-Max. Is this just a rebadge exercise? Even the headlights look very similiar and from the back you pretty much can’t tell the difference

• I pity those who blindly support Toyota. Hilux 2.5 is very much under power & u people have been cheated by Toyota. Old tech & old engine. Vigo is not stable if cornering @ 120kmh I have seen a lot of Toyota turn turtle because of this. Most of Toyota Vigo owners add Uni chip to boost power & add stabilizer bar to increase stability…….most Double cab 4WD is not stable because of the empty back bucket.

• hilux laku di sabah & sarawak…

• Belancan Midin on Nov 14, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Laku pun still we need much more choices for truck market in this region…
        Hilux is so overrated dat its the “only” truck….
        Tp Hilux is Hilux……. Tiada apa yg mampu Hilux lakukan…
        Nowadays, D-Max is currently the trend as its fuel economy yet cheap….

• betul tuu bro..i dont know why i get thumb down..heheh..
          aku cuma bagitau hilux laku di borneo je sbb aritu aku tgk kat motortrader jualan hilux still standing,proton pun di tangga ke3,perodua no1 & toyota no2 east malaysia marketz..cheers :D

• org.ulu on May 02, 2012 at 11:51 am

Hilux “laku” to be stolen..that true.. even hotel in Bintulu town reminded the Hilux owner to take precaution for their Hilux.. got stolen and forever gone.. want take a risk??

• Anti-Japanese on Nov 14, 2011 at 11:07 am

I prefer GM trucks (such as Holden Ute and Chevy Silverado) over Japanese trucks.

• moto-moto on Nov 14, 2011 at 12:45 am

i can say 90% truck in hulu baram sarawak are hilux.ppl trust dis brand. and it is proven in hulu baram timber road. the place whr i live. i hope dis colorado can beat hilux because im bored oso hilux owes win.hahaha. to me dis colorado interior looks tempting than hilux but duno how the spare part,reliability and resale value for chevrolet.

• org.ulu on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:08 pm

agree with u…now i have a choice to buy..Colorado come to my mind, but how reliability? spare part? resale value?

• lol lol on Nov 14, 2011 at 4:07 am

spotted many sour grape toyota salesman and dubur-hurted toyota owners leaving blind comments here. enjoy urself with 102hp engine and 4-speed gearbox, cheers! :D

• Guys, read this article below. You need to understand why Hilux is the choice of 4×4 transportation all over the World.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2010/10/14/why-rebel-groups-love-the-toyota-hilux.html

• azrai on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:46 am

So this Colorado is actually Isuzu D-Max in Chevy’s badge isn’t it?

• senna101 on Nov 15, 2011 at 12:49 pm

@ azrai: As Danny mentioned in this article, the Colorado share underpinnings with the D-Max. In automotive terms, that’s very, very basic parts. Maybe limited components in the chassis, for example. From that point on, Chevrolet and Isuzu went separate ways. I do not have additional info on the new D-MAX, but for the Colorado, there’s the new Duramax turbo-diesel engine – this is the four-cylinder version of the Duramax in the US – which is a very popular engine. Google it if you can. Back to the Colorado – new engine and more powerful engine, new drivetrain, and new design – this Colorado is a full-on Chevrolet. For the record, I’m NOT saying the D-MAX is no good. This is just an direct and objective comparison.

• MrDDR on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:58 am

Still no Exora Turbo news yet???

• Masked Ryder on Nov 14, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Shocking news ! Chevy Volt caught fire due to battery problem ! Read it in thestar motoring section.
    Why no news on paultan blog when ever something bad happen to brand under Naza & SD ? But hooha when any Toyota, Honda even those model never make it malaysia shore.

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Nov 14, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Chevy Volt is not available in bolehland – tat is d reason of no posting

lambo on fire was posted on local daily newspaper not too long ago.

• Pak Abu on Nov 14, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Byk tul komplen. Klu tak mampu, ckp je. Pakailah hilux bodoh korang tu. Korang kan risau 2nd value, kot2 tak lepas nak byr installment, boleh tolak.

• mirror mirror on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Hm…those seats sure don’t look as thickly padded as those in Nissan Navara, I hope they are comfortable. Actually off road performance depends greatly on the type of tyres you use. My friend fitted a set of Maxxis off road tyres on his Navara and they are really fantastic. The ride became very supple and the grip on muddy road is excellent.

• The 2.8 engine makes me wanted to divorce my Navara LE…gosh…. come on Nissan!!! Come up with something new!!!

• Jerald on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Whats the maximum speed allowed in 4wd / awd mode ? Ford is 120 kmh / Triton vgt is 100 kmh . How about this Chevy ?

• dodel on Feb 14, 2013 at 4:04 pm

i owned hilux vigo for 7 years and i paid almost 90K plus interest. i know and aware that other brand are good, powerful etc..etc, but why i choosed hilux?
    1) durability
    2) Spare part
    3) Driving and handling, please dont talk for speed more than 120kmh.
    4) resale value. we lived in country where the price of a car is very high and one major problem you will face is when you want to trade in the car…no need for me to elaborate more.

but your choice to buy any car you like and please dont bash others just because you dont agree with their opinion.