Great Wall Motor forms JVs with Bosch and BorgWarner

Great Wall Motor, the latest automotive brand from China to enter Malaysia, announced that it has formed joint ventures with America’s BorgWarner and Robert Bosch GmbH of Germany to engineer key components. Both companies already supply parts to GWM.

The partnership with Bosch will develop engine management systems and brakes. In 2006, Bosch started supplying common rail fuel systems for diesel engines used in Great Wall’s Haval SUV and Wingle pickup, both of which are available in Malaysia.

The JV with BorgWarner is to design timing chains for transmissions and torque management systems. By the end of this year, Great Wall’s Haval H6 will be equipped with BorgWarner’s torque management system. BorgWarner has produced parts for Great Wall since 2005, supplying the privately owned carmaker with turbochargers and transfer cases.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• we are turning Malaysia into a battle field for outside cars….

too bad the P1 cannot turn outside into a battle field but batteling inside…*sigh*..

• Masked Ryder on Nov 15, 2011 at 6:57 pm

The Chinese Car Mfg is getting closer & closer to the main stream, many good model such as Baojun 630, Brilliance H530 & Great Wall Voleex C30, should be targeting oversea market.

The Korean will be shivering in less than a decade, just look at brand like Lennovo & Huawei once consider jokes, are now in the central stage.

• fahmiyafeii on Nov 15, 2011 at 7:31 pm

mazda CX-7 copycat..

• Watch this space !!!

The Chinese cars may become what the Korean cars are to the Jap cars.

• policeman on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:04 pm

China Boleh!

• Sippai Samy on Nov 16, 2011 at 12:45 am

Semestinya lah Cina boleh. Mereka sangat rajin berusaha. Malaysia pun Boleh mau tak mau saja.

• M'sian Salvatore on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:29 am

Sebab itu lah Malaysian chinese betul2 boleh dan berjaya sebab rajin berusaha & bekerja keras dan serious. oleh itu, semua mat rempit, mat basikal, penagih, bohsia, pondan, curi buang anak haram semuanya kerja bangsa melayu kita yang boleh buat.

• went to china for a visit. i could not believe i’ll be saying this… but their car looks pretty good.. cherry are no where to be found but great wall its like all over the place and looks pretty good too.. asked around what do they think bout it..they say one of the cheapest and acceptionally reliable.. as long as they have the size and cheap.. why not..

in my case.. if the QC is strict or outsources.. it’d be better..

• OOOO,…my it looks like Mazda Cx7. Mazda sue this Great Wall copy cat. I hate chinese made cars. Chinese ppl from china will cheat you. All of my friends who went to china got cheated including My chinese friend (malaysian) got cheated……..everything is fake…..if all Malaysian dont buy chinese made cars they will close shop and go bust…..

• Maserati on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:57 am

This gwm will be better than hyundai or kia or any other korean brand out thr.

• Yeah..yeah…yeah, and if the Chinese stop buying our palm oil….ehh, we will ask them to buy our frozen durian instead. Be realistic and objective, we rely on Chinese Market more than they do….WAKE UP!!!

• TerBaboo on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:54 pm

i sudeh belek this car, it uses toyota’s steering wheel..only change the logo..cool~ =_=’

• alfie60 on Nov 16, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Its interesting to see the late Tan Sri Naza son from the the other wife involve in the auto industry.