Honda CR-V – fourth-gen SUV makes its debut in LA

The fourth-generation Honda CR-V has made its debut – the SUV was unveiled at the Los Angeles Auto Show, and will begin selling in the US on December 15.

The CR-V remains a five-seater, but Honda says the debutant introduces an upscale styling direction, improved interior comfort, a smoother and quieter ride, greater fuel efficiency and added features and functionality over the outgoing model.

Leading the changes are a more efficient engine design with improved horsepower and torque, along with an all-new Real Time All-Wheel-Drive (AWD) with Intelligent Control System. All the North American CR-V variants are powered by a 2.4 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder engine offering 185 hp and 221 Nm of torque, paired with a five-speed automatic transmission.

A new feature called Eco Assist indicates to the driver when the vehicle is being operated in an efficient style via “green” visual cues surrounding the speedometer, and a selectable ECON Mode alters operating characteristics of the vehicle to support an efficient driving style.

Inside, the interior features a roomy new centre console and an overall lower cargo floor height for easy loading and unloading, among others. New to the vehicle is an Easy Fold-Down 60/40 Split Rear Seat, which offers easier access to utilising the cargo area – each side of the rear seat can fold nearly flat into the front of the cargo area using one of the release levers located near the tailgate, or a pull-strap positioned on the seat side.

Tech features include a Bluetooth HandsFreeLink phone interface, a full-colour intelligent Multi-Information Display (i-MID) and a multi-angle rearview camera with guidelines. As a first for Honda, the fourth-gen CR-V includes an SMS text messaging function, which can read received texts from compatible cell phones aloud over the audio system. Another first is the introduction of a Pandora Internet Radio interface3, which works with the vehicle’s audio controls and i-MID.

Safety equipment includes VSA, ABS as well as front-side airbags with a passenger-side Occupant Position Detection System (OPDS) and side-curtain airbags.

For North America, depending on the model (there’s the LX, EX and top-of-the-line EX-L), available kit ranges from a 160 watt, four-speaker audio system to power moonroof and 17-inch alloy wheels to a leather-trimmed interior, automatic dual-zone climate control and a 328 watt seven-speaker audio system.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Front portion very nice !

Only if Honda rework the real lamp & more curve on the top part.

Hopefully Honda do something to the real part before launching their Asian Version, this one too “American Taste”.

• vince on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm

why still 5 speed gear box?

• policeman on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Because you can’t afford it if it was 6 speed

• Engineer on Nov 18, 2011 at 7:37 am

Agreed with policeman.

• ALpaccini on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:45 am

Or maybe Honda themself cant afford to develop the 6 speed with so much price per unit as they were flooding themself at Thai

• Eric Gauthier on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm

the rear lamp looks like a volvo xc60

• Leon Loke on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:02 pm

At least now the CRV looks like the New Sportage …..

• Donkey Kong on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Front end copied from Sportage, rear-end copied from XC60, but sadly engine + gearbox combo is behind the times. Looks like Honda isn’t interested in catching up with the Koreans and others, probably because they know that their legion of die-hard fans will buy the CR-V even if it came with previous-generation technology.

• Keluangman on Nov 18, 2011 at 6:55 am

Latest and cutting edge technology is good for new product, but sometimes all you need is the good old reliable technology. Like they say if it aint broke, dont fix it.

In CRV case since majority are bought by ladies and soccer mums(who buys an underpowered 2.4 CRV in US when even ford escape smallest engine is a 3.0?) who couldnt care less about latest tech and just want a reliable school and work runabout, honda deemed maintaining the previous engine and gearbox config will not hurt sales (while maintaining its selling price)

• Masked Ryder on Nov 18, 2011 at 11:58 am

Keluangman consider change ur nick to Kelengtonggman.

At least u google US ford website b4 u write lah, the all new 2012 Ford Escape have 3 engine (ie 2.4L Duratec, 1.6 Ecobosst & 2.0 EcoBoost)

Even the old Escape have 2.4L Duratec, 3.0V6 & 2.5L Hybrid.

Who say escape only have 3.0 above.

source : www.ford.com

• Not the Koreans again!

• Carl Wong on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:45 pm

So all new Honda models will have the Eco assist function? Honda will be the best :).

• Misai on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Hope they will bring in 2.4cc at below 165k & 2.0 below 150k

• Proton Espire on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:08 pm

The front bumper looks like someone got punched at the chin.

• Keluangman on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Poor Fit EV, no one even bat an eyelid and everyone rushed to check out the new CRV. goes to show that many are still not environmentally conscious.

• very beautiful…

• black series on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:27 pm

ouch my back hurt

• Babeh Liew on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:35 pm

WHAT SORCERY IS THIS???!!!!!

• very subjective design…..either u like it or hate it

• sick&tired on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:47 pm

steering wheel looks hideous!

• yeah! 5 seat! holly good. =)

• Should hv an option of 7 seater!

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 19, 2011 at 7:24 am

want 7seats? Go buy a honda pilot then.

• iluvcomfort on Jan 28, 2012 at 6:18 am

want 7seats? Go buy a honda pilot then.

How about a Toyota Wish instead ….. CRV convinience at station wagon price ;)

• Rosmah on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:05 pm

It looks spacious enough to transport cows to and fro my condo.

• Jimmy on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Sorry, no high-spec version for all of you to choose, poor Malaysian, THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOU SUPPORT TO MY crv.

• ugly look so bulky

• Honda Power on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Nicer than present Honda CR-V.

• mangata on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:09 am

te interior is big no no 4 me n somehow te exterior looks quite similar 2 te current gen especially te bumper

• sean111 on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:54 am

why no Diesel?? …we want the Diesels high torque and fantastic milleage!

• the euro version comes with the 2.2 i-dtec diesel, but as usual…..we only get the petrol hondas in msia

• Ekspresi Ruang on Nov 18, 2011 at 1:03 am

Not so beautiful. Just a mix of Sportage at front and Volvo XC60 at the rear. Nothings fresh actually.

• NOW HONDA BECOME THE COPY CAT….KOREAN CAR MANUFACTURERS IMPROVE A LOT…BUT “T” & “H” STILL DREAMING….
    THIS NEW CRV SUITABLE FOR UNCLES AND GRANDFATHERS JUST LIKE TOYOTA ALTIS..NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNG MEN LIKE ME….HAHA!
    HONDA MANAGING DIRECTOR DID MENTION BEWARE OF HYUNDAI….THIS NEW CRV JUST LIKE OLD VERSION FACELIFT…NOT CREATIVE AT ALL…LOOK AT THE DASHBOARD…SO BORING AND “NYAMUK PUN TIDUR”….

• Can you not using all capital letter for your message, really eye sore to look at like the korean junk.

• NOW HONDA BECOME THE COPY CAT….KOREAN CAR MANUFACTURERS IMPROVE A LOT…BUT “T” & “H” STILL DREAMING….
        THIS NEW CRV SUITABLE FOR UNCLES AND GRANDFATHERS JUST LIKE TOYOTA ALTIS..NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNG MEN LIKE ME….HAHA!
        HONDA MANAGING DIRECTOR DID MENTION BEWARE OF HYUNDAI….THIS NEW CRV JUST LIKE OLD VERSION FACELIFT…NOT CREATIVE AT ALL…LOOK AT THE DASHBOARD…SO BORING AND “NYAMUK PUN TIDUR”….

heheheh….

• Coming from an owner of 2 generation CRV this model looks better than the old one. Any Modulo kit?? But I am dissapointed with the engine and Gear offering why only 5 speed no Dual Clutch or CVT only RAV 4 comes with 7 speed….. I believe there must be a logical reason as to why Honda Engineer plunk in 5 speeder in the CRV.

Toyota fan should ask why Camry 2.0 comes with 4 speed ???

• Acura has just got a new 6 speed auto gearbox earlier this year. Hopefully the next gen Accord will be equipped with the 6 speed gearbox. Actually CVT is nothing new as the previous City was equipped with one but Vios still sells more. I am more worried if this new CR-V is offerred only with the R20 engine in M’sia & whether it have enough muscle to pull this even bigger sized new CR-V!

I think HM must offer its customers a choice of a 2.0L version & a 2.4L model with full spec. (inclusive of curtain airbags, bluetooth, sunroof etc.) & fitted with the improved K24 !!!

• ALpaccino on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:58 am

Or maybe Honda themself cant afford to develop the 6 speed gear as they’d flooding in Thai

• u guys complain too much on design..can u come up with a nicer original design yourself?

there are a limited number of shapes that u can use to design the front, rear lights, steering wheel etc. so this means that they are bound to be similar to other makes/models.

having said that, the CRV is a successful model and i think it will still sell quite well globally. I for one would consider its roomy interior.

• PakAbu on Nov 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

Everybody wants to be Jeremy Clarkson… kutuk rapat… macam bagus sangat…

But JC’s pieces are entertaining… well, most of the time… :mrgreen:

• You have to try very hard to get an uglier lookling rear. The C windows and the rear panels seem to come from different cars….

• kumar on Nov 18, 2011 at 11:33 am

Wow!! All kimchi car salesman is pants wetting right now.

• Black Dog on Nov 18, 2011 at 1:07 pm

It’s a huge improvement from the previous model. It looks more manly but a bit bulkier. If HM brings in the 2.4L, they’ll have more customers.

• Nodame-chan on Nov 18, 2011 at 3:25 pm

So much for next gen CRV but I “can’t see” the must have DRL… where is it though?

• indonesia caprut on Nov 18, 2011 at 3:43 pm

2.4 engine..
    sure the price gonna be >RM170K and beyond

• E Honda on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Finally, something decent from Honda. Just hope this is the same specs for M’sia. But I guess the price would be more than RM180K.

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 18, 2011 at 5:36 pm

I believe the reason for the 5 speed auto 2.4 is to lower down the fuel consumption n continue on what was best in the 3rd gen crv. I am the owner of a facelifted 3rd gen and believe me, as an owner, it is enough for my daily routine driving to and from campus and k.l. Behaves well in corners and fuel is okey.

The cr-v is for comfortable driving at legal speeds and cruising on the highway, not a car you can race at Sepang, thus there’s no need for such enhancement. Unlike Kia and Toyota where they mention how sporty their SUVs are, they have to include the latter to avoid misinforming customers.

I’m eagerly waiting for its arrival in k.l. And hopes there’s a 2.0l variant for the road tax conscious consumer like me. I do want to trade in my current cr-v if the trading price is still high in 2012. I’d go for the looks and reliability of a brand and service. The 4th gen has that.

• Summicron on Nov 19, 2011 at 11:44 am

Thank you for a decent sensible comment. Somewhat lacking these days.

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 18, 2011 at 6:10 pm

So many kimchi lovers these days…

• No money to makan steak, makan kimchi lo. No money to buy Japs, buy korean junk lo.

• no one on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Honestly… I think Alex here have no idea wat is he talking about… k5, with its specs, is comparable with camry and accord etc.. and even better than them…

I seriously hope Anthony, Paul etc.. can do a review and comparison between optima, accord 2.0, and camry 2.0…

• skiborne on Nov 18, 2011 at 6:12 pm

biasa je, still same 2.0L 5 speed box. great rip off

• Mater on Nov 19, 2011 at 1:52 am

Evoque design better!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 19, 2011 at 1:51 pm

I will have the new Ford Escape anytime. 2.0 ecoboost has 238bhp, smoke this Honda into last century.

Honda used to be very good at sporty and elegant design, now it seems like the only Japanese company that makes sense is Mazda.

• I hope we get the same safety features, especially full airbag system

• I personally is the crv fan, currently own one. If the new crv 2.4 cost more than $180k or 2.0 more than160k. I might choose pajero vgt at 170k….what u guys think?

• the_fighter on Nov 19, 2011 at 11:59 pm

im drving 2nd gen crv, cbu from jap with extra features like sun-roof, leather seats n 4 airbags, i have friend of mine drive 2nd gen crv US spec which come with 2.4L and 5 speeds, the fuel consumption of 2.4L is better than 2.0L ..crv is heavy, 2.0L is not enough ..the acceleration and fuel consumption are poor than nissan x-trail , but the built quality (the interior) is superb, lot of space ..the leg room are wider than x-trail ..now i install Thule roof rack to carry my mountain bike elsewhere ..nice car for lifestyle ..

• Korean fanboy is an idoit on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:00 pm

The front end of this new CRZ is similar to Honda Freed.

No way it look like that cheap Sportage.

Too much Kimchi damage Korean Fanboy eyesight.

Since Freed launch earlier than Sportage, so the copycat is JunKIA.

SHAMLESS KOREAN PIRATE copy anything from Handbag to Handphone.

• Carl Wong on Nov 20, 2011 at 8:19 pm

And I believe the Forte is almost a rip off from Honda Civic.

• Hyundai Fan. on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:14 pm

The tail lights are really copying from of Volvo since last generation model. More like facelift model, not much changes. Not really impressive.

• my Personal opinion on latest cr-v

front view = like it
      side view = still nice
      rear view = ok new approach

but i still love toyota venza (mark x ZIO )

• kahar on Oct 17, 2013 at 2:37 pm

what the fuel effiency 2.0L and 2.4 L

• kahar on Oct 17, 2013 at 2:38 pm

what the fuel effiency 2.0L and 2.4 L?