CKD Volkswagen Passat 1.8 launching tomorrow?

Bernama has reported that the locally assembled CKD version of the Volkswagen Passat 1.8 will be launched tomorrow. The national news agency got the news from Group Managing Director of DRB-Hicom, Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil, after the opening of International College of Automotive (ICAM) yesterday.

The DRB boss told reporters that about 70 units of the Passat 1.8 model will be marketed initially. No price was given though, as they are still awaiting government’s approval.

This comes as a bit of a surprise, since Volkswagen Group Malaysia only recently launched the fully imported Passat in mid October, alongside fellow CBU models Jetta and CrossTouran. In CBU form, the D-segment Passat is powered by a 1.8-litre TSI engine with 160 PS and 250 Nm, paired to a 7-speed DSG ‘box.

Kit includes 17-inch alloys, bi-Xenon headlamps with integrated LED daytime running lights, RCD 510 touch-screen, 6-disc CD changer / eight=speaker audio system and leather seats. Other items include cruise control, electric parking brake with auto-hold function and hill-hold control, PDC for the front and rear and a tyre pressure monitoring system. It is priced at RM184,888.

We’ll keep tabs, in the meantime you can read our review of the CBU Passat here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Waja Owner on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:06 am

So fast with CKD production after into CBU….

Job well done…but might as well not introduce the CBU in the first place

• PakAbu on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:57 am

Maybe because there’s a demand for a new “kereta rasmi”

:mrgreen:

• jamal on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:58 pm

yes we need VW here in msia. gov should give the vw the price they want to sell here in msia. so that many will buy and vw will invest here.

• ITS BETTER TO GET A FORD MONDEO 2.0 ECO BOOST CBU FROM BELGIUM !!

• This car looks nice! with bodykit and black sunroof will be more awesome !

• Steve Wong on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:15 am

Why so expensive?

It’s because Volkswagen…das auto

• Lol thanx to taxation, buddy!

But I do hope they can bring down the price to Jap cars level (wishful thinking of mine).. this should screw the toyota salesman hard.. hahahhahaha

• Simon Ng on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:20 am

Correct me if I am wrong. VW is really giving Malaysians a run for their money. German cars with decent size and engine priced below 200K, but priced slightly above Japanese, at the sametime still compliant with the government tax structure. This is indeed good news to many.

For other car companies, I begin to wonder the amount of truth when they say “We have to price like this because of the government tax structure.”

I am all for abolishing APs. However, if car companies has the will, I am sure they can bring down the car prices further without sacrificing too much quality. VW is a good example.

• i am guessin vw has better economies of scale than other car makers. since they own skoda audi lambo and bugatti

• PakAbu on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Skoda may have economies of scale…. and maybe also Audi…. but Lambo and Bugatti? If I may pull some … er… “reports” from the net itself:

“Lamborghini’s own performance report for 2010: 1,302 cars, 271 million euros in revenues and no profit”

“It costs Bugatti’s parent company Volkswagen AG nearly $5 million to make one, but the company sells a Veyron for around $2.7 million. That’s a $2.3 million loss on each car, which doesn’t even consider the millions the company spent in car development.”

I think for local pricing, VW is trying to break into the market. So they are selling at “attractive” prices.

• Kentaros on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:21 am

If the price range is around 140k-150k, I might look it up..

• theanswer on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:36 am

exterior not outsanding like passat cc. but inside feel solid.

• heckler on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:38 am

I’m afraid not likely bro, if it’s under 150k, it will kill Jetta which in the 1st place kinda overpriced

Just my 2 cents

• BeemerFreak on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:47 am

Even the Japanese are not at 140k and 150k, how do you expect a german product which is a class above to be priced that range? 140k and 150 is Hyundai Kia range of pricing.

Even at 184k it is very well worth it considering that is what the Mondeo and Alfa 156 is priced. Those 2 are the only worthy contenders to the VW.

Sometimes I thought we Malaysians had grown with time and be more matured and sensible thinking, guess i am proven wrong here.

• I’d say that there is one continental contender to VW Passat : Peugeot 508.
        Better yet cheaper.

ref: http://www.turbo.fr/actualite-automobile/409772-essai-comparatif-citroen-c5-1-6-hdi-112-ch-vs-peugeot-508-1-6-hdi-112-ch-vs-volkswagen-passat-1-6-td/p7-tarifs.html

• BeemerFreak,

VW is not same range as Beemer & Merz or Audi, they are consider CHEAP car in Europe .

Here some proof

USA Car Price (Starting Price)
        Passat – $ 19,995
        Optima – $ 19,500
        Sonata – $ 19,695
        Altima – $ 20,410
        Accord – $ 21,380
        Camry – $ 21,995

This mean Passat price range are similar to Korean made.

A little google will enchance your knowledge & don’t simply “Bantai”

• Another idiot comparing Malaysia’s inflated prices to the US.

• lithium on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:25 pm

how rude!

i think it is a valid comparison. it will tell you roughly which segment the model is at.

vw is way over rated, we clamor for a continental car until we do not realise vw is JUST A GERMAN TOYOTA so i think it is only fair they price ckd vw max-max like similar spec ckd jap and not sell it like a premium

• rush hour on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:38 am

volks wagen (folks wagon) = people’s car = proton

golf 1.6 was actually sold at same price as waja 1.6 (or impian) in UK.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:08 pm

I did not say it is BMW Audi or Mercedes…. If not i would have compared it with the 3 series A4 and C class. Furthermore VW grp has already Audi to take care of benz and bimmer.

Passat 1.8 TSi £22,845
          Accord £21,705
          Hyundai I40

• BeemerFreak

R U making self imaginating price.

Here the UK price from their official website

VW Passat 1.8 TSi = 20,375 GBP
            Honda Euro Accord = 22,800 GBP

www.volkswagen.co.uk
            http://www.honda.co.uk/cars/

U all can check out the website & determine BeemerFreak repo.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 22, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Thats what I mean when i said immature…. really really funny, worse is rash and immature. See what the others just said like 999 and ts, go spec the car up to the same level then bring the argument back. Please it is you that needs the google and not me.

Oh yeah BTW

http://www.volkswagen.co.uk/#/new/passat-vii/configure/950/summary/you-have-chosen/

http://www.honda.co.uk/cars/accordsaloon/#fullspecification

The local specced Passat 1.8tsi is £26,685.00
            Compared with a full spec Accord at £22,800.00

At the the Passat that we are getting here is the same one as the UK. The accord and hyundai i40 is the European versions which have better engines and safety equipment.

• BeemerFreak U R such a sore loser.

The Passat that cost GBP 26,395 is 2.0TDI (Diesel) Sport.
            (Have u went to check ur eyesight recently ?)

Here something to help u incase u have blured vision.

VW Passat 1.8 TSi S = 21,700 GBP
            VW Passat 1.8 TSi SE = 22,700 GBP
            VW Passat 1.8 TSi Sport = 24,170 GBP

I don’t think our Passat are Sport Edition as the UK Sport Edition c/w lowered Sport Suspension.

Honda Euro Accord 2.0 i-Vtec = 22,800 GBP
            (Note : There is no 2.4 Petrol version for Euro Accord in UK)

• rally_fan on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:32 pm

whilst true that VW is widely known as a ‘cheap’ or peoples car in europe.. but the way things have gone in recent times, has position the VW brand at a higher premium, and no longer as a “cheap” car. Even the real cheap car in the VW family, skoda, has gone up the market ladder nowadays..

As for pricing in Malaysia… well, the korean makes are considered “national cars” under Naza, and the Japanese cars get tax breaks coz of production in Thailand..etc.

i still think the VW cars have the best value for what you pay..

you get plenty of the latest technology, which is far superior to what the japanese makes have.. true.. you can buy a pug, and get similar if not higher specs.. but end of the day, im still not convinced of their reliability, aftersales, and resale value.

technology wise, just look at the jetta..you get 7speed DSG, twin charge engine, all the electronic safety gizmos, 6 airbags.. blah blah blah..

Sit in, and drive a current VW, and I challenge you to use the word “cheap” with everything you find in there.

• ya right, provided u know that buying car in oversea is based on the spec that offered. the price given for camry or accord could be fully loaded where the passat’s price was empty spec and waiting for you to add the options.

• rally_fan on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:56 pm

even a fully specced up camry doesnt drive like a passat. japanese just have not been able to build a car that drives like a conti.. not even lexus has got that right, although they try hard.

• Madatyou on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:33 pm

The article is written CBU Passat is prices RM184,888. So I also will just made a rough assumption it gonna reduce to RM150-RM160k in CKD form.

“This comes as a bit of a surprise, since Volkswagen Group Malaysia only recently launched the fully imported Passat in mid October, alongside fellow CBU models Jetta and CrossTouran. In CBU form, the D-segment Passat is powered by a 1.8-litre TSI engine with 160 PS and 250 Nm, paired to a 7-speed DSG ‘box.

Kit includes 17-inch alloys, bi-Xenon headlamps with integrated LED daytime running lights, RCD 510 touch-screen, 6-disc CD changer / eight=speaker audio system and leather seats. Other items include cruise control, electric parking brake with auto-hold function and hill-hold control, PDC for the front and rear and a tyre pressure monitoring system. It is priced at RM184,888.”

and from this link:-
        http://paultan.org/2011/10/19/volkswagen-jetta-passat-and-cross-touran-launched-rm150k-rm185k-and-rm167k-respectively-all-cbu/

“As for the Passat, the 1.8 TSI-equipped D segment offering is priced at RM184,888, and has 160 PS at 5,000 to 6,200 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,500 to 4,200 rpm for output numbers, with a seven-speed DSG box in attendance.”

So don’t simply bash someone with your mature and sensible thinking… just sayin’

• carlove on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:48 am

price range of 140-150k is for Jetta model I think…

• You think it’s possible to price at the range or are you dreaming ? Have you check out the Passat personally or just simply talk no sense here ? Think first before you say something here.

• Wonder how much is it going to be ? RM 168K ?

• azrel on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:36 am

Yeah, quite a surprise since the CBU version was launched very recently and now they are launching the CKD version.

By the way, I was told by my brother who worked in DRB Pekan that Passat CKD will be the official car for high rank government officer. Not sure if that is confirmed. Anyone knows?

• Yes, the Govt SHOULD use the VW Passat as official car, since the Perdana is obsolete. Plus they should NOT buy those Mercedes lah….Either Passat or Inspira, period.

• tiadaid on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Who knows, VWs are going to be assembled in Najib’s hometown what…

• Aya…. sayang so expensive le.. if the price is around 50k then ok lah hehehehehe… in my dreams..

• hahaha..lets wish it will be price below RM160k.
      Then followed by cheaper Jetta

• vincent on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:42 am

Please give us a good price, kill Camry and Accord, once and for all! We are sick with their dual airbags and 4 speed gearbox. We want to see more than 2 airbags, traction control, 5 stars safety!

• They are 5 star compliant, just not in Malaysia.. Getting 5 stars are so easy for the big manufacturers of nowadays.. they probably should have a 6 star rating..

• 4speed accord? is it the 6th gen one?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:51 am

I am still wondering about the refusal of VGM to give the RNS 510 navigation system on our local cars. In SG even the Golf tsi has the navigation as the entire RNS 510 was OEM by a company in singapore. Since we are assembling the car here, how difficult is it to OEM a radio player with navigation?

Furthermore this could even be the deciding factor, since many others are already offering it as standard.

• Cost maa cost..

• VW should be more dynamic in catering customer’s need.
      blue tooth connectivity and navigation is a must for D segment car.
      just see what Mazda6 did-very quickly they instal new set of player which include navigation(even at 2.0 model)after they found out without it is very difficult to compete.
      I mean what is the big deal to have it instal for customer,the most it cost just additional 2-3k to top up,compare to the car price of 184k!
      Don’t ever follow the T and H way of mentality-nothing in 2.4 spec of 170+k car.
      Check the thailand T website-RM70+K Altis come with paddle shift,full navigation and keyless smart push start button.
      We malaysian really get bullied by them.we deserve better

• so fast launch ckd? Hope the ckd prices wont upset those who bought cbu…clz last time suzuki ckd prices cause cbu owners really upset.

• water on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:58 am

price will be the same. but the speccs will be dropped. thats what i got from VW distributor.

the CBU units are bang for buck. the locally assembled ones will have lesser specs.

sorry guys.

• That is just plain nonsense!

• water says:

what are you talking here ? water in your brains ?

same price with lower specs ? then who in their right mind is going to but the CKD ? might as well buy CBU with more specs at same price like you claim ?

• water on Nov 22, 2011 at 4:02 pm

ah. thats when you are dumb*ss.

CBU are limited. so please. dont insult before doing your research, also, i am just stating facts nothing to do with what i think.

• salgoodguy on Nov 22, 2011 at 5:46 pm

so wiseman, what CKD stand for? use your brain plz…

• Downsys on Nov 22, 2011 at 7:40 pm

First of all, don’t call someone else a dumb@ss then tell them not to insult you.

Secondly, you are not stating ‘facts’ but what you heard from someone else. These are either rumours or speculation.

Thirdly, if you’ve already done your research, you will find out that what you’ve said doesn’t make sense at all. Look at the Mazda 3, BMW 5 series, etc. $CKD<$CBU

• water on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:54 am

haha. you guys are sensitive.

yes, CKD will always be cheaper than CBU.

but all i am saying is please keep the CBU brochure and remember the specs.

once, the CKD comes out, and the specs are lower. then you will get what i mean.

keep the brochure! and compare! i was told by some “atas” volkswagen person. so i postulated it to be fact.

if the specs are the same, please buy one. its will be worth your money.

• japsfan on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Tell your VW distributor to xxxx off or yourself?
      Total lier.

• Downsys on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Aiyaaa, so obvious that the salesman wants u to put an order straight away rather than waiting for the CKD. Makes no sense to price higher for a locally assembled car and lower the specs at the same time.

• Water.. Talk cock la you wie

• ermm.. how can price be the same and specs dropped? should it not be cheaper if less specs? it should be cheaper even with same spec cbu, as ckd is taxed less..

• After paying my house monthly mortgage,i cannot afford any car worth more than rm60k,. My late grandfather is so lucky, he drove VW although he is ordinary worker

• bro, totally feel for u…hence, myvi is the car to buy. :)

• Unforgiven on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:51 pm

60k can get a Proton as well. Make sure you are able to upgrade to Korean made or Japs soon, act now and do something for the future. VW may be reachable too.

• K Tan on Nov 22, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Whoever is planning to buy VW CBUs – quick, cancel your order now…

• sookk on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Some people may prefer the CBU over the CKD model even though the CBU is more expensive. It all comes down to your personal choice.

I actually ordered one recently … but I believe the CBU quality control should be slightly better (even in terms of parts and fittings) compared to CKD. I can be wrong …. but that’s my perception …

As for CKD being lower spec-ed … maybe true .. maybe not .. have to wait and see … price wise will definitely be lower .. otherwise what’s the point of CKD-ing

• Funky on Nov 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm

I will choose Kia Optima than Passat :

1) Passat only 1.8
    2) Korean
    3) Passat overpriced
    4) Kia design more futuristic
    5) More gadgets

• ABTguy on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:38 pm

There is something wrong with your brain, pleeeease have it thoroughly checked by a specialist.

Ha ha ha

• salgoodguy on Nov 22, 2011 at 5:51 pm

ya lar..make sure the specialist is KIA’s panel..ha ha ha

• But when you wanna sale, no value.. no one wanna buy your car unless you top up your money. Story based on my experience driving korean cars.. trust me bro!

• vincent on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Dude, don’t be so funny by looking at engine capacity, a 1.8L turbo charged engine is as powerful as a 2.4L these days. The car is coming from Germany, not Thailand, though I hope Passat can lower their price but I won’t say it is overprice. Camry is something that what you called ‘Overprice’. I don’t think it is comparable to Optima as Passat has higher drivability and technology compare to a Optima. Without a doubt, I see Optima is a good car too, just that I hope we can get a fully loaded Optima with a more competitive price.

• Menticore X5 on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Have a test drive; no matter how good the Korean/asian car is; yet they still cant fight the pure setup of German/Conti suspension and ride..
      I know becoz I’ve use to ownedthe 2004 Hyundai Sonata and the 2008 Hyundai Coupe..
      Now I am back to Conti…

• kereta lembu on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:57 pm

OK good for you, go get your KIA then. If you can choose a Korean over a German car and feel happy, then I think you need to go for a check up real soon :P

• rally_fan on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:36 pm

sorry to say this funky, but your point 1) is terribly old-fashioned thinking.

the size of your engine, isn’t like how in the old days meant you have more “class” or money.

im not saying your choice over a korean make is wrong, thats your choice and you have the right to it.

but if you have any sense at all, you will test drive both before you actually make a decision.

once you’ve driven a conti-car, you will never want to drive anything else. unless of course you cannot feel any difference. then i rest my case.

• I’ve repaired a conti-car X5, now I am back to Sonata. Thanks !

• Tankado on Nov 22, 2011 at 8:04 pm

compare apple to apple please. And how old is the X5, and how new is the Sonata.

• rally_fan on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:32 pm

i cannot understand the level of some comments here. Ck..im sorry to say this.. but what the heck does repairing and x5 have anything to do with this?!!!? dude, lots of people have repaired their x5, 3 series.. mercedes, vw, toyota, kia, mazda…

• i have driven a conti, but now back to korean, so who says that once driven conti will never want to drive anything else ?

is Lexus not on par or sometimes better ?

of course conti is much better, but this comes with a heavy-heavy price.

have you driven RWD-conti cars in snow ?

• Johndeep on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Funky la lu…

• lemon on Nov 22, 2011 at 7:06 pm

tats bad arguement..don get me wrong..im 1 year owner of the current batch of kia car..to say kia car is better than vw is just laughable especially when ur talking bout engine and gearbox..ur comparing tsi engine which is car of the year with theta 2 engine.im not saying that theta 2 engine is bad but twin charged tsi is just too good..and please, no more comparison on cc nowaday..1.4 tsi could produce 160hp or even 180hp in polo gti which is comparable to 2.0 theta.have u test drive a vw with 7 speed dsg?u will b blown away..the feeling of dsg + tsi is just amazing..u can see ur rpm n kmph shooting up but ur drive is silky smooth without losing any power in transmission. I agree optima has the ‘oomph’ in its overall design while vw is just plain and simple..other specs wise don really sepearte them apart. Cheers

• Korean cars only good on outside! VW beat the Korean brands Kia and Hyundai any where anytime!

• Masked Ryder on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Check it Out

(Something i copy from VW website on 1.8T Passat)

*** Due to the knock control system Regular unleaded fuel (min. 95 RON) can be used instead of Premium unleaded resulting in a slight decrease in performance.

This mean you need Ron 97 & pay RM 2.80/ltr.

GOOD LUCK on their sales figure.

• PakAbu on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:53 pm

I don’t think it means what you think it means.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 22, 2011 at 4:40 pm

That why our country need PPSMI (Some people can’t even understand a simple phase in english)

The VW 1.8TSi engine need Ron 98 fuel for optimise performance, using Ron 95 will cause slight decrease in performance.

• tiadaid on Nov 22, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Problem is :-

1) What does a slight decrease in performance have anything to do with sales figures? Don’t see the relation there.
          2) What makes you think Japanese cars doesn’t do the same thing? Just beacause they didn’s say it doesn’t mean it’s true. At least VW says it upfront.

I hope Malaysians can wise up to the fact that they have been taken for a ride by Japanese carmakers. Stop buying them and let them know our market isn’t dumb that we’ll settle for any car they dumped into the market.

• MoFaz on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:23 pm

i think you’re the one who don’t understand…
          RON95 can still be used for this car, just slight drop in performance. which sentence says it must use RON97 only?

• Masked Ryder on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Oh Great 3 Blind Mice, do u see the word “Only” in my comments ?

Obviuosly the VW 1.8 TSi engine is design base on Premium Unleaded (Ron 98) Fuel to produce optimise performance, as some country may not offer Ron 98 fuel, a knock control regulator been fixed so that it can compromise on lower octane fuel such as Ron 95, but there would be slight derease in performance (althought the mfg never specific “how slight is slight”)

I wonder would there be carbon built up in long run since it always run on compromise fuel grade.

• Downsys on Nov 23, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Some cars don’t come with the knock control regulator, so on top of lower performance, u get engine knocking as well when u use lower grade fuel. I can feel this when driving the 308 turbo. What VW is saying is that when Ron95 is used, performance will decrease a bit but there won’t be much engine knocking, if any. Itu je. No need to gaduh about it.

• Amett on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:41 pm

even honda ex5 will experience slightly less performance using Ron95 compare to Ron97..hehe

• jflee169 on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

i was told that there will be a reduction around 7% from the CBU price, but not sure about specs.

• I think Passat will be priced around RM150k – RM160k and Jetta will be around RM120k-RM130k.

Lets cross our fingers ^_^

• OK computer on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:12 pm

I’m very agree with you, just hope you’re right on this. I hope CKD Jetta still using TSI engine not others.

• Danny, can you tell me why the government needs to “approve” the selling price? I thought they did away with that some years ago?

• PakAbu on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:55 pm

To make sure it’s “harga patut”?

• paparadzi on Nov 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Because this is Malaysia. here we have monopoly, sole distributor, approved price, subsidy, market rationalization etc etc. Some are good, most are not. But a real free market we are not.

• Peugeot & VW fighting with Honda & Toyota. But government shall decide the car price. Aiyooo…why government interfere with car prices. Let them do business and don’t interfere laaa…may be they would bring down the price…(I wish!)

• carlover87 on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:49 pm

its a 1.8 drive, but look at the engine specs in terms of the bhp and stuff, dont just comment based on your ‘the bigger, the better’ mentality. Added with all the extra goodies they are throwing in, i think the CBU price is reasonable, taking into account the mindset of our people who will not barge from the idea, CBU is superior to CKD.Well, it all comes down to personal taste, as in favorite brands and stuff. Money is yours, hence u gotta make your own judgement.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:52 pm

i hope the decrease in price would be sufficient enough to justify the ckd’ing

• civic on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Better get the cbu…anything born as ckd is a disaster…look at naza and honda…parts are good but our fellow malaysians at the assembly floor with thier tidak apa attitude…even a ckd ferrari will turn out to be crap….even worst if the cat u got was assembled in night shift!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 22, 2011 at 5:17 pm

If Bernama is to be believed, VW & DRB better get their act together, one launches a CBU, then the other announces a CKD weeks later? This is confusing customers, would the CBU still be sold next to CKD? When will the CKD Jetta and Touran be launched? Should customers cancel their bookings now if the CKD prices are lower?

• Gebang on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Cross touran will be not CKD atm…FYI, mazda also selling their car CKD with CBU for certain model

• So be around H & T 2.4 area of rm 160-170 OTR. But i think it can go for RM 150k but i dont think the gov will not approve it, but who know if they would like to protect DRB Hicom. Since Pug and VW wants to be putting $$ to assemble car here, so they must make sure that these car can sell first. RM 159k would be a real bargain, but if its RM 168k for the current spec, then its still a good buy also.
    VW are suppose to be the PEOPLE’S car…. just like the Japs…. but should the GOV say that they must sell at a higher price (means VW more profit), perhaps they can offer higher TRADE IN value the person like me waiting to trade in… :)

• gracke on Nov 22, 2011 at 5:43 pm

due to launch CKD version so hurry, I wonder those Jetta(CBU) are also CKD??? because the interior quality of Jetta not looks like from Mexico when I first saw it at showroom. Really upset…
    But, Passat is different, quality gorgeous!!!

• rm178K, no need fight.

• prefer new volvo s60 t4 compared to passat. Dont mind add around rm35. Its worth it

• a new jetta owner on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:51 pm

shit … i will collect my jetta this weekend . anyone tell me what to do … cancel ??

• Bro, if you can afford a Passat, go for the bigger sedan instead of C-segment Jetta. Performance-wise Jetta win over Passat. Overall, I’ll take Passat anytime since the Jetta somewhat overprice and build quality not up to Germany’s Passat sedan. Jetta from Mexico and just close the door and listen carefully how the smaller sedan vs bigger sedan’s tone.

Especially if the CKD-ed come with cheaper price tag, Jetta is a bit inappropriate pick. Don’t expect the Passat will behave like Passat CC but overall it’s worth the premium than Jetta.

Cancel, and buy Passat.

• Tankado on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:00 pm

you have my condolences

• VW Passat 1.8 CKD price should be around RM172k for the most since Passat from Germany and to settle for lesser non German assembly must be substantial saving. Better if we can get special Passat. Using new facelift (Passat) CC front design + CC rear light cluster and slap RM150-170k depend on spec.

Too pricey, l afraid VW did not qualify for Perdana replacement fleet (what happen to Nissan Fuga?).

Maybe one thing we overlook, VW come with 5 years warranty – unlimited. That’s massive saving that both T or H never on par with the new Teutonic.

• rush hour on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:56 am

fyi, the 5 years warranty covers mainly the powertrain and the drivetrain (engine & transmission, where it matters most).

other parts like alternator, or power window motor, or radiator fan motor, or headlamps, or absorbers are not covered. and there are no fine prints stating this for the benefit of owners.

i was a close acquaintance to several VGM personnel (parts, technical & warranty). there’s not much to shout about the 5 years warranty. no one has ever experienced about it yet. its not any better than the 3 yrs/100K warranty given by T, H, M & N. the standard factory warranty for VW is 2 years only.

• VGM staff on Nov 23, 2011 at 11:32 am

Dear rush hour,

May I please correct you,VGM’s 5 years warranty (2 year factory warranty + 3 year extended warranty) covers back-to-back everything that is covered by the factory warranty.

Kindly email me the name of the VGM staff that has miscommunicated this to you and I will duly clarify this with them.

Best regards.

• VGM staff sent a wrong message communicate and understand by VW and buyers.

• rush hour on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:57 pm

dear VGM staff – a 4 yrs old VW Beetle suffered from melting taillamp housing (bulb holder socket) and sagging rooflining. both claims rejected by VGM.

i was the service manager for that VW outlet, KL area. I have photos, car number and the date. but since owner didnt make much noise so i will not reveal anything here.

i truly believe this 5 years warranty has been exaggerated and misleading. if really VW cars come with 5 years warranty, it should not be stated as 2+3 or mentioned as 5 years extended warranty. the extension was covered by Alliance insurance, not by VGM or VAG.

instead, just say – 5 years warranty. simple.

fyi, i did join the VW trip to east coast in 2010 for the test drive of the new scirocco 1.4, golf and polo.

peace!

• Maserati on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:11 pm

OMG cannot believe someone comparing a lousy KIA OPTIMA with a fantastic GERMAN car.PLS LAH! Your lousy Korean car cannot even beat a CHINAMADE car,let alone a JAP car,let alone a GERMAN car.

Dont even compare ur lousy piece of JUNK to German cars.THey are an insult to German engineers & Jap engineers.No point comparing as German are prolly 5 years ahead of Japs and Japs are prolly 20 years ahead of Koreans.

So pls dont compare KOREAN cars and GERMAN cars at all cause they are not match at all.If you give a baby any two of those cars,even the baby will take German cause Korean cars at the moment are all blardy rubbish.Just that because they look good,all the MEN are attracted to them just like how all MEN are attracted to ladies who look fabolous on the outside but have terrible attitude on the inside.

Sorry but was just pissed with someone comparing Korean crap with German brilliance.Sorry to say but Japanese and Germans and Italians will forever rule the automotive industry.

Ohyeah,one more thing,I bet that Korean buttlicker cannot name me one,JUST ONE Korean sports car that he worships.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:02 pm

Err correction, The Germans and Italians rule cars. The Japanese just simply copy them. No Asian country is anywhere near technogically as the Europeans in Automotive.

• lithium on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:09 am

erm no …..what’s so great about euro cars? they make plenty of crap too. even the “premium” brand have qc issues after 4yrs otr. don’t look down on asian!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 23, 2011 at 11:29 am

erm qc problem is for every brand. Sometimes we have to embrace facts. It is obvious that asians are much better compared to european counter parts in making electronic gadget like samsung, LG, Asus and more.

However complements must be where complements are, and the european are just better at making cars than us. Put for example chasis refinement and ride superiority and sophistication.

Asians are good, just not near that standard yet, just like how their electronic items arent near ours.

• Bryan on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:17 pm

You are one sad sad individual. You need to remove whatever is up your arse that is making you take things so seriously… Wake up and get some sunshine in your life. Its just cars we are talking about.

Can’t you just chill and enjoy discussions about these machines instead of taking sides like an annoying idiotic politician an slamming everyone else who just happens to disagree with you.

• campor on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:17 pm

”Sorry to say but Japanese and Germans and Italians will forever rule the automotive industry.”
      hw about american… GM took back the no 1 spot right now. VW no. 2 and your GOD’s car Toyolta went back to no. 3. Any comments?

• lemon on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Im 1 of the fella that doesnt agree wif funky comment. having say that, im sorry to say that ur biasedness towards the korean made is much worst than funky comment..

• David D on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:56 am

Dude, seriously, your comments hold little water thanks to your keyboard warrior attitude. All i see in you is nothing but praises for the Japs as if they’re some sort of bloody car gods, where as you always call the Koreans rubbish. In here, it’s all about giving credit where it’s due, and not keep your rantings high.

Grow up dude! It’s really an embarassment for a older man like you to act like a bloody 10-year old here.

• italian forever rule? forever rule in terms of sales? italian makes are not for the masses, their mass cars all the while weren’t successful. i’ll not surprised italy as a nation will be bankrupt in a year…if more than one brand, it’s not ruling anymore. probably fighting for market share, and koreans are currently biting one big piece of cake already.

• RedBeanBun on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:31 pm

the sales said around RM160K….that I think will be very competitive to T&H.

• Unforgiven on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:36 pm

If you think this car is expensive, you should know who to thanks to. Pls do something to remove the protectionism.

• 507SAM on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:12 am

Better buy GOLF lah…PASSAT for old man….
    Errrr….Am I right?

• keluangman on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:52 am

passat is for matured golf owners who need the cabin n boot space. Like me.

• Nah i saw 1 black new Passat with the LED on the road today and it looks awesome and younger than u think! first i thought this car is plan and simple but when i saw this car on the road and it’s eye catching!

• 4agze on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:15 am

NO

• Big Dee on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:25 am

Are DRB competing with VW Malaysia???

• springwood on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:00 am

any news on the CKD price? where can we check it ?

• kenso on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:45 pm

Heard it’s just a rumor and VGM is disavowing any news related to this

• walkerhill on Nov 23, 2011 at 6:24 pm

That’s what I have heard too but anyway I am not taking any chance. I am holding my purchase and wait for CKD model. I think they will most likely to roll out by end of the year. That is what I read from Chip Yap’s forum.

• ok so now the day has nearly ended and nothing on the news about CKD passat..so confirm it was just BS afterall

• Carl Wong on Nov 24, 2011 at 1:15 am

I wonder why many European car drivers like to keep their headlights on even during day time (force others give way?)? Waste of electricity don’t you think? And I think the life of the 12V lead acid batteries would be shortened? More sulfation would occur because the state of charge is not maintained as high as possible. If you do maintain the optimum state of charge for those wet cell batteries they should last very long, maybe even 5 years or more. One of my car have no standard battery replacement at all since purchase and it’ll be 5 years old next year.

• kenso on Nov 24, 2011 at 6:46 am

It’s DRL = Day Running Lights ….. NOT headlights.

• Carl Wong on Nov 26, 2011 at 8:28 am

Thanks but you’re missing the point, I did actually mean those who really turn their headlights on during day time, and not just for European cars. I just saw one again this morning, A white Audi had both DRL + headlights on, it was white and bright. For safety purposes yes others can see you however it will decrease the fuel efficiency when either or both are used when not needed because the power of the battery ultimately comes from the engine. And some don’t turn their headlights on during night time (when it’s needed), I just don’t know what some Malaysians are thinking…………..

By the way it’s theoretically illegal to flash your headlights while driving, and of course speeding. I just got flashed again also this morning by a speeding Honda Civic driver while I was already moving to the left while showing signals. Some people drive like as if their legs would break if they step on the brakes and with zero patience, hence breaking laws just to be a few seconds faster. No patience?? Don’t drive, simple as that.

• Terence on Nov 24, 2011 at 7:30 am

It is a new safety regulation in Europe, all new cars must include daytime running light function. That’s why you can see newly launched Civic Euro also has daytime running light LED.

• Carl Wong on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Alright thanks, LED lights front and back? Can the driver choose to switch it off? But still I don’t think we need them in our country even though they need it in Europe. The cost could be lower if they exclude it don’t you think?

• Coz u’r not European and u’r from 3rd world country so u don’t know about 1st world people thinking :)

• klguy on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:51 am

so launch alredi ah? or some1 has been talking kok

• Halem on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:46 am

DRB-HICOM PASSAT ISSUE CLARIFICATION

KUALA LUMPUR: The first Completely Knock Down (CKD) Volkswagen Passat model began production roll-out at the DRB-Hicom Automotive Complex in Pekan on Wednesday.

“Volkswagen Group Malaysia has submitted the recommended retail price of CKD Passat to the government and was awaiting approval before retailing could commence,” said DRB-Hicom group managing director Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil in a statement to clarify an earlier Bernama report which said the model would hit the market on Wednesday.

To date, DRB-Hicom has assembled about 70 units of the CKD Passat 1.8 model.

“Volkswagen Group Malaysia will make the necessary announcements pertaining to availability of the CKD Volkswagen Passat and its recommended retail price in due course,” said Mohd Khamil.

In August 2010, Volkswagen AG signed a memorandum of understanding with DRB-Hicom to produce Volkswagen cars at DRB-Hicom’s automotive complex.
    -Bernama

• Jeffrey yap on Feb 15, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Hi, recently I own a passat 1.8 CBU, I knew that d performance is fantastic. But, I have a question here. It’s d suspension system same CBU & CKD? And d tyre size for CBU is 235/40/18. Can I change my tyre size to 235/45 or50/18R in future ? Thank You!