GALLERY: Mazda CX-5 gets Kodo looks and Skyactiv tech

I just realised that we haven’t had a proper all round look at the new Mazda CX-5, which was unveiled in production form at Frankfurt in September, so here you go. This gallery shows Mazda’s smallest SUV inside and out, allowing us to view the new Kodo (Soul of Motion) design from all angles, as well as the sedate business-like cabin that hints at BMW.

The CX-5 has a relatively lengthy wheelbase of 2,700 mm, which is 30 mm longer than the Mitsubishi ASX’s. Mazda says that it has class-leading rear seat legroom of 997 mm, while there’s 500 litres of useable luggage space (including a sub trunk) maximised by removing protrusions. The “Karakuri” rear seats split fold 40:20:40 (which is very unique) and there’s a remote fold-down function.

We also see a 5.8-inch colour touch screen monitor on the dashboard, which contains Mazda’s new new HMI system and a navigation system based on the latest from TomTom. A Bose stereo is on the options list.

The CX-5 will come with Mazda’s revolutionary SkyActiv engines. The SkyActiv-G 2.0 petrol boasts the world highest compression ratio of 14.0:1, with its 4-2-1 exhaust system preventing knocking and providing good torque from low engine speeds. In the FWD model, the 2.0 makes 165 PS and 210 Nm, and in the AWD there’s 160 PS and 208 Nm. Mazda says that a 2.0 FWD model with 6-speed manual and i-stop will only drink 6.0 litres of fuel per 100 km combined.

There’s also a SkyActiv 2.2 diesel with the world’s lowest compression ratio for oil burners at 14.0:1 and a two-stage turbocharger. Mazda says that this high tech engine can clear Euro 6 emission standards without the need of any NOx after-treatment systems. Two variants are available, a High Power 175 PS/420 Nm version and the standard 150 PS/380 Nm unit. With a 6/MT with i-stop, this engine needs just 4.5 litres per 100 km combined.

Transmission wise, Mazda promises double-clutch performance for the auto and a “light and crisp shift feel known from the MX-5” for the manual. Both are six speeders, which is enough, really.

The CX-5 looks good and sounds impressive, especially the SkyActiv bits. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• droll on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:15 pm

hmmmm……..looks more matured. but the engine surely is the star of the vehicle. how would it perform on RON95?

• kington on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Yeah, they’ve de-tuned it slightly. Else the MPS and the CX-7 wouldn’t make it here.

Looks Korean but the KODO design looks amazing in the flesh.

Kudos to Mazda, styled to impress and with decent specs and drivability.

Probably the ONLY Jap car company giving the flair-filled Italians a run for their money.

• Simple and nice !

• berombon on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Any indication from Bermaz yet on how much for this CX5?

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm

should be somewhere in the 200K – 300K region. I presume

• berombon on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:21 pm

oh, heard that if Bermaz wants to bring the CX5 in, it’ll be something like RM135/140 for the lower spec which is on the 17″ rims…heh,heh…good or not??

• Feast on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:23 pm

You got to be kidding. Their 2.3 Turbo CX7 was selling at 260K. This CX5 is slotted right at CRV class. 150K should be the price if they want to stay competitive.

• Black Dog on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:45 pm

It should be ASX, Tucson, CRV range…around 150K

• john die on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:13 pm

dude..u have to remember that cx-5 is sitting below his brother,cx-7..so i suppose its gonna be around 160k range…

• rindu syahid on Jan 23, 2012 at 4:30 pm

i have asked the mazda alesman in KB..and he said for cx5 it’s gonna be around RM160k with 2.+% interest…

• For sure will not cheaper than the current model price….will more expensive than T & H .

• Masked Ryder on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:38 pm

My favorite SUV !!

Bermaz please bring it in !

• soon…there’ll be comment dat this car looks like this car,that car…copy this car..copy that car~

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2011 at 7:46 pm

I wont be surprised dude. I already got a bag-full of thumbs down for just stating a presumptuous comment regarding the price itself. And I really wonder whether these people actually know the real function of a thumbs down. hahaha. Damn funny

• BeemerFreak on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:15 pm

This is excellent compared to the hideous new CRV. Man the CX-5 even makes the CRV looks ugly and old.

• abukazuto on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm

skyactive engine….wau…hope they will put this engine into mazda 5 and i will definetly be the 1st person to buy it

• Wallstreet on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Really like the overall design. The meters look classy. Their SkyActive engine really impressed me a lot. 14.0:1 is almost unthinkable. Even Mitsubishi 2.0 engine only runs at 10:1. Easily beats new CRV by miles! Well done Mazda.

• pumpkin on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:39 pm

i think, i’m falling in love with u, CX-5 !

• Joseph Yeoh on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:46 pm

X1 + Tucson ?

• teelim on Nov 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm

looks a little like the Mitsubishi ASX… but just nicer… lolx

• I am not Maserati on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:02 pm

FXXK!!! Mazda is awesome. The only Japanese car maker I respect.

• yup…fully agreed. the only jap car maker that is genuinely making real progress. not just talking kok and saying they are moving forward.

• Jonathan Lim on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Japanese X3

• limaunipis on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Bravo Mazda for this good offering!

• zoom-zoom! :D

• Yappun on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Hyundai Tucson facelift?

• Feast on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:29 pm

What smell arr? OowwI start to smell some kimchi here already…..soon we will be swarmed with comment like…copy Korean la, why jap got no other idea la, look like this and that la…etc.

• Yappun on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:55 am

Wah laaau….so many japs fan boys give thumb down. ??????… Well, accept the fact lorr…Though shushi still holds the market share but kimchi is the trend nowadays. In order to sustain market leadership, shushi have to have kimchi toppings, kimchi flavored wasabi and so on…Why kimchi so popular?..Like it or hate it coz they have a German chef.

• You have to accept the fact lor..as you said jap still hold the market share. Kimchi is the trend because it’s a CHEAP product. Let’s face it la…as we all know sushi is always more expensive than a kimchi. Would you still buy a Korean car with exactly same spec with the Jap at the SAME price? And I wouldn’t want to eat kimchi prepared by German chef or a German sausage topped with kimchi…..

• vince on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm

190k will be nice

• the only japanese besides nissan dat desgn car with passion..others?hhmm…only play safe~

• teelim on Nov 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Nissan? Really? IMO, only their high end cars look good.

Anything that is below RM150k looks ‘Meh’

• john die on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:16 pm

i think another nissan,which we wont call it high end-with a nice design is the facelift dualis…really2 nice

• weeda on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Skyactiv engine is old technology not revolutionary!

Mazda Skyactiv-G 2.0 petrol makes 165 PS and 210 Nm on highest compression ratio of 14.0:1

Alfa Romeo discontinued JTS 2.0 petrol makes 165 PS and 206 Nm on lower compression ratio of 11.3:1

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 22, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Today, manufacturers have to deal with very strict emission standards in Europe, and they also have to focus on fuel consumption, since these engines power mass market cars.

The lovely Alfa four pots and Honda’s big VTECs, for instance, didn’t need to juggle so many factors.

• Feast on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:36 pm

The story doesn’t end there. Beside power and torque, fuel efficient is vital epecially today and European emission standard. Mazda managed to achieve that with higher power and yet lower fuel consumption. Alfa only known for power but suck big time in fuel consumption. What’s the point of having high power in a half baked product?

• winterkorn on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:03 pm

The 15% improvement in fuel efficiency and torque was calculated by comparing SKYACTIV-G to Mazda’s current gasoline engine.
        (source: http://www.mazda.com/mazdaspirit/skyactiv/engine/skyactiv-g.html)

SKYACTIV-G 2.0
        urban 28mpg; extra-urban 40mpg; combined 47.1mpg
        CO2 emissions: 139g/km (euro5)

JTS 2.0
        urban 23.2mpg; extra-urban 42.2mpg; combined 32.5mpg
        CO2 emissions: 207g/km (euro4)

These two engine still loose out compares to VW or Fiat small displacement force-induction engine in terms of power:torque, fuel efficient, CO2 emission and durability.

• should be around RM140k to RM160k…

• Wishing Mazda to bring it in.

At a reasonable price, please.

Please dont follow T&H…

• I m just wondering y the FWD get a little more power/torque than the AWD? Isn’t it the other way round?

• arcana on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:06 pm

great car and no more smiley face.
    i wonder will i-stop be compulsory in the upcoming mazda cars….since it seems only japan is getting a taste of it.

and does anyone know how this system works? how does the air con work when the engine shuts during stationery periods?

• Kelvin on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Nice piece of art… I’m waiting for the skyactiv 6!!!

• When is the skyactiv Mazda 3 reaches our shore?
    waiting for it to come to malaysia first..
    this new cx-5 is only launching end of next year.. long way more before it comes to malaysia..

• mangata on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:16 am

well if mazda smallest suv rocks in terms of look….now i am just waiting for their core model mazda 6 in full form…..cant wait no more!!!!!!

• wheeler on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:56 pm

I’m one of mazda fans; love the design and appreciate the technology. I love the Kodo exterior but interior seems plain, Nagare is more of my choice. Anyway mazda is making huge progress here which is good. Mazda should make known of their presence more here through ads and shows..

• Bobby on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Watch this guys.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSIV7NpkIEE

• black series on Nov 23, 2011 at 6:58 pm

wow, way more torque than tucson theta II engine 197 nm vs 210 nm. but lower on power but only 1ps. but still more economy 8 litre vs 6 litre for tucson

• Black Edition on Nov 27, 2011 at 8:03 am

Nice car but SUXXX after sales service by BERMAZ. Just look around at other forum. Too many complained by customer. Workshop not settle the matters fast. No spare parts, must wait. If got, bloody expensive. Dun believed, just ring their service centre and ask for spare parts pricing. BERMAZ only wanna make profit and dun care about after sales. After making so much money, later on sell off the company out. Thats how Berjaya Group play in business. The worse so far, very bad 2nd hand value compare other Jap brand.