COMING SOON! Proton Saga FLX SE 1.6L with CVT leaked

Click to enlarge image

The ultimate Proton Saga is coming soon! Thanks to reader Ali, we have scans of a Proton brochure featuring “The new Saga FLX SE 1.6L with CVT”. Proton has thrown everything at the name, and it’s a mouthful, but all we need to know is that this upcoming variant is the range topper, the SE of the current Saga FLX range, equipped with the Campro 1.6L engine and CVT gearbox.

Currently, the Saga FLX with continuous variable transmission (CVT) is only available with a 1.3L Campro (launched in July, read our test drive report here). Proton has a 1.6-litre powered Saga – the Executive 1.6L – but that one was launched before the FLX with CVT, so it comes with a four-speed torque converter automatic ‘box.

Click to enlarge image

So with this new FLX SE variant, Proton is marrying what’s good from both cars (1.6L + CVT) and sweetens it further with the usual sporty SE add ons.

Upon closer inspection, the FLX SE’s 1.6L Campro puts out 108 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The current Executive 1.6L with 4AT makes 110 hp at 6,500 rpm and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Nothing significant, except that peak power is made 750 rpm lower in the CVT equipped FLX SE. The variance seen here is probably due to the engine being retuned to match the CVT.

Click to enlarge image

The FLX SE is available in Fire Red (as seen here) or Solid White, and it wears a full bodykit that is painted grey to contrast with the red. This hue is repeated on the strip above the grille and the side skirts; although likely, we can’t confirm if the lower rear bumper is in the same colour. At the back, the lamp cluster is now in clear lense/silver style for maximum bling effect.

The SE comes with 15-inch eight-spoke alloy rims, the first time a Saga is leaving the factory wearing rims bigger than 14 ins. Along with that comes wider tyres – 195/50 compared to the current 185/60.

Click to enlarge image

Equipment wise, the Saga FLX SE gets leather seats, leather wrapped wheel, stereo with MP3/USB/AUX, dual airbags, ABS + EBD, steering audio buttons and driver’s seat height adjuster, among other kit. The meter panel now has a white backlight, no longer orange, and the centre console, door handles and air-con vents are trimmed in Satin Black.

Currently, the Saga Elegance 1.6L is priced at RM46,549. How much do you think this FLX SE 1.6L with CVT will cost? As a marker, automatic variants of Perodua’s Myvi SE 1.5 start from RM53,900, going all the way to RM61,700.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kington on Nov 24, 2011 at 7:39 pm

Very good update for what has been a bread and butter model for Proton. Offers a good alternative to Perodua’s Viva and even Myvi, given that its price and size sits comfortably between the 2 Peroduas.

My personal choice though, is still with the MyVi, followed by the Saga and then the Viva.

If they could put a lil more effort in offering better finishing, quiter ride and interior plastics EVEN at a higher price, the Vios and the City will be in trouble.

• peter_pj on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:48 pm

I personally think that the plastic’s and the build is on par with the (far more expensive) Myvi and the ride is incomparably ahead of all its competitors in that price bracket – do you think you’re being a little too fussy?

On the pricing, I am quite sure it would be below the RM49,999 Persona B-Line Automatic. So my guess is RM48,888 ;-)

• _xXx_ on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:07 am

L M F A O !!!

• roket saya lagi laju on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:45 am

Correct

• GT-R fanboy on Nov 26, 2011 at 12:19 am

Tongkang pecah

http://www.perodua.com.my/ourcars/myvi-extreme/overview/intro

http://www.google.com.my/search?q=myvi+1.5&hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&prmd=imvns&source=lnms&tbm=isch&ei=s77PTqf6PMHZrQecuqXYDA&sa=X&oi=mode_link&ct=mode&cd=2&sqi=2&ved=0CCAQ_AUoAQ&biw=1024&bih=487

• GT-R fanboy on Nov 26, 2011 at 4:29 am

i dont mean the saga i mean the myvi
        myvi 1.5=tongkang pecah

• Chris on Nov 27, 2011 at 1:06 am

a 1.6 engine with top speed of 165km/h? Gosh…they got to do better than this.

• wan sph on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:26 pm

1.6 iafm persona can get almost 190km/h.. if 1.3 i believe the top speed is 165km/h
        i drove persona..

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 29, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Kah kah kah !!!!
      Pressure your peers ???!!!! with what ??? idiots , faulty power window, rusty tailpipe, foggy headlamp ???

P1 BODOH !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • anwar on Nov 24, 2011 at 7:44 pm

bumper mcm xsiap je.lpe nk cat ke.haha

• take this bro, also red and it cheap also if are that country citizen.
      http://www.worldcarfans.com/111112338466/2012-bmw-3-series-pricing-announced-us

• priced from $35,795 in the United States. so it will be RM114,042.. pergi la jadi US citizen..

• Murphy on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:31 am

Ayo2….. r u stupid? if ur living in US paying USD 35000, y do u have to convert to RInggit if you gona earn in US Dollar…. go to school pls…

• kawan.. kita di Malaysia.. bukan di US.. so faham2 jer la.. jangan ada angan2 la..
            Saga Elegance 1.6L is priced at RM46,549 so tukar USD=$14,555..
            ingat kita di malaysia.. patut kena doa banyak2 supaya lahir di US bukan di Malaysia la kwan.. nasib baik la lahir kat Malaysia, kalau kat indon tah la..

• Yhprum on Nov 26, 2011 at 9:52 pm

of course if we live in US , we will earn in US Dollar..
            the average income for US citizens is about USD35k per year

but it all depends on the jobs

• malaysian on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:05 am

ayo2… even if i become US citizen.. i will be paying in USD.. so no need to convert.. but anyway even if convert.. its still cheap for a brand new BMW ( in malaysia price)
          and if you want to compare cars.. then no need to talk la.

i myself drive a proton… i drive it not because i love it, but because sadly it is the only new car i can afford now. end of story. and its my second proton. i dont want to bash proton but after 20+ years of R&D and support from the malaysia public, proton is still just proton… very very sad. and the worse thing is proton is preventing the normal people like you and me from having a good reliable,safe but fun car to drive. proton is good only because its affordable.. and it sucks the hell out of my ego too when people say i buy proton because its cheap… but the truth hurts.

i know my next car WILL NOT be a proton…so for the ones who die die support proton.. please read up abit ( its the internet anyway,so google it) and compare the new car/used car prices and the quality of cars other countries are having.

i’m not a T or H or N fan….. i’m a father to be with a family and it sucks that i can’t have an affordable family car thats safe and fun to drive for less than 50K much less… 100K.

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:16 pm

I’m proud though to drive a Proton though because of its ride and handling and for the fact that these days the quality is improving, only after a period of 20 years+. And it sucks to know that while people in other countries support their own products despite the drawbacks, Malaysians are still way behind in that respect.

• GoodDriver on Nov 27, 2011 at 7:46 pm

What nonsense are you talking about ride and handling bro? You comparing your Proton to wad? A Kambing Gurun??

I used to drive a Perdana V6 and it was the worst car i’ve driven in my life. Sold it in 1.5years with a loss of rm40k. but it dint matter. i hated that car.

I can safely say after driving the Persona, Waja, Wira, Perdana V6, Proton thinks that they are producing super cars. But infact, their cars are slow and their emphasis on making their car faster is making it LETHAL too!!

Their steering is too stiff but it cant go that fast around a corner anyway.

Why do u have a stiff steering? Take BMW steering setting for an example. for greater control at high speed. stupid Protons cars give greater control at low speed which in fact just makes the driver TIRED. They ideology behind a city car is a safe, practical, easy travel. Easy driving at low speed and controlled driving at high. At high speed the steering becomes wobbly.

IF YOU WANT A FAST CAR GET A SAFE ONE. If u cant afford that shut the hell up and remain with your proton! Dont go speeding with you Proton. You die nvm, dont create a traffic jam.

And have some pity for he object (tree/guard rail) you knock, It will be stained with Proton oil for life

WORST PART IS THEY ACTUALLY ARE PROUD OF IT? Lotus Ride and Handling. Tell the STUPID engineer at proton to 1st differentiate a super car from a domestic everyday car. Real knuckle heads.

Must be one of those JPA scholars with no brains working there. Just like the junior housemen I get in my ward. STUPID fools. WHERE DID THE SMART ONES GO TO? AND HOW THE HELL DID THESE IDIOTS get the scholarship?

Im sorry Im Malaysian and I see this country going into shambles.

THEY CANT EVEN MAKE CARS AND THEY WANT TO PRODUCE MORE DOCTORS. my god.

• your second car is a proton? you need to work harder bro…

• bro, good for you, if you want to change to another brand. its your money. However, let say you will buy T or H brand, i’m sure after a month of ownership, u night say this: “gosh, my old proton handle well then this”. Your new ride might very fast then ur old proton, but it will not handle well as it. (stock to stock). and its happen to me now, and i realize, i miss my old gen2 handling rather than this overpriced honda i’ve paid.

• Wah stop comparing to Honda lah! P1 handle well but cheap as hell and ugly as hell ! EWW~

• Paparazi on Nov 26, 2011 at 2:19 am

What’s the reason we want to buy Jap car?
            Frankly say I can’t effort to buy European car and just go for Jap.
            It’s all about money issue, please don’t mention you are P1 or P2 die hard fans here, if you have money definitely won’t buy P cars.

• lol….honda over priced?
            with the things n no safety rating u get in a proton….which 1 is over priced dude?

• Nicholas,C on Nov 26, 2011 at 1:57 pm

I dunno about you, but my experience has been the opposite. I gave up a brand new Gen.2 to drive a 7 year old Honda City. I can tell you:

– Pick up is better despite engine being 100cc smaller
            – The transmission works! The gen.2 loves to down shift at the slightest incline, causing the revs to jump.
            – Sharper, more nimble in corners,
            – Turning radius is way smaller, allowing me to make turns that took a 3 point turn in the Gen.2
            – The parts don;t break! (In the 3 years I had the Gen.2, i replaced 2 door handles, 1 seat handle, passenger side door rubber seal, and the god damn clock spring that cause my horn to randomly go off)
            – Lower Maintenance (i had to replace the timing belt and the entire assembly TWICE in the gen.2, City has a timing chain that lasts for life)
            – Oh and both full tanks cost about rm80, but the City will go about 600km, the Gen2 about 350km.

• hi mr nicholas, i have to say that i agree with some of ur points since u own both cars.
            Since u mention u already change timing belt of gen2 twice, the minimum clock of ur gen2 must be 160,000km coz minimum time to change the belt is at 80k km.
            And bout the door handles on gen2 also has been a nightmare to the owners.
            N u already own 7 years old city, i assume it is whether idsi@vtec that come with cvt trans. So, what is ur city clocked/mileage right now?
            Bout the trans, of course cvt will not kick down when incline like conv auto. I hope u know what u r buying.
            N something fishy bout ur fc coz u manage to fill rm 80 in ur city even it only has 42liter fuel tank. So, i assume u fill both ur gen2 n city with ron 97. N hardly heard gen2 owners fill in full tank to rm80 since the low fuel indicator blink early,normally at rm 60@rm 70 max. Meaning that u r always fill in late after the blinking. But that is not a problem.
            I own brand new waja campro 07 that has the same trans n engine as ur gen2. Just finish fill in my tank rm 82 ron 95 petronas n mileage is 507km. Always fill in full n that is my habit n reset the mileage everytime when fill in.
            With rm 80, i can get around 450km to 500km in fully toen driving in ktn, when go for cuti2 malaysia, normally get average 550km. My record is 615km@rm90, but that is old trunk road with speed around 90kmh n not more than 100kmh.

When i travel to kl from ktn during holidays, just went to sogo, care4 wangsa maju n go back to ktn, only one full tank enough in my waja plus my wife can drive the car for 3days to workplace that is 10km from my house then the fuel light start blinking.
            It doesnt have the lowest fc of course especially compare with city idsi which is superb in fc,but for me its not that bad either.
            By the way, if u always trafel far, city idsi is the right choice, but just careful with its trans coz my friend already broke one,luckily still under warranty n heard that it is an issue for city that come with cvt.
            Enjoy ur ride mate

• proton always on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:49 am

when people start comparing P1 with honda…it seems P1 has improved and now beated Honda in some parts !!! bravo P1 keep up…nothing to shout abt Honda..except Accord class…its a truly a car made by Honda…other models are junks

• GreenFuel on Nov 28, 2011 at 6:48 pm

I am driving a Proton, and I feel proud with it. But the Saga FLX, forget about it because the high price tag. Saga 1.3 FLX with manual transmission is more than RM40k, where is the old variant which is priced about RM38k? Beside the new transmission, there is nothing special with it. Top up a bit I can get a Persona B-line manual with a much better ride and handling, bigger cabin, bigger luggage compartment, much elegant looking car. Why I need to waste money for a small car which is seriously over priced. Thanks to the higher price tag now I don’t have to compare the Saga with Viva, but I can compare with the Persona. Bravo Proton

• Katak di bawah tempurung this one. THIS, ladies and gentlemen, is the result of years of SRK and then SMK and then Uni Kebangsaan education.

Using the same reasoning then, a Proton Saga would cost 132 Million RUPIAH in Indonesia!!!

Astronomical. I am sure Indonesians are looking at us with envy cos we can afford a Saga……no wonder every Indonesian wants to be a Malaysian citizen these days.

Get some perspective la, Kampung Dweller. Go out more often.

• kau mesti anwar ibrahim kan

• Nampak sangat kita kena cincang dengan rege kereta kat malaysia.. itupon ramai malaun2 yang tak paham2.. haaa ko sokonglaa puas2 smpai satu masa nanti rege kereta sekecik mcm viva melambung smpai 90k satu hari nanti… sokong, jgn tak sokong dowh.. beratkan timbangan dacing tu..

• Hidup Dacing!!! on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:59 pm

apa bodoh ke apa kau nie…subsidi nak..apa pun nak…RM100 nak pun nak…takkan beli kereta setiap tahun kot…kalau nak budget pakai laa motor…aku ingat kau kena duduk kat indon baru kau rasa macam mana…cukai yng ada pun utk siapa?? utk kemudahan kite juga…bodoh tak boleh diajar memang macam nie..masa sekolah laa kau bnyak mentedarah duit dacing..bila dah besor tak ingat dunia…

• babibu on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:53 pm

mampuih dacing kepanasan bakal makan rasuah duit rakyat

• malaun? heh kalo dah taik politik tu semua benda dipolitikkan. meh sini aku tanya,kalo tukar kerajaan ada ke harga kereta turun? u trying to make funny or u just ignorant? pembangkang TAK PERNAH janji nak turunkan harga kete. so takyah main politik sini k? Orang indo, singapore, n satu asia dok jeles ngan negara kita sebab ada kereta nasional ko tak tau… pegi ah lepak blog2 luar sekali sekala baru tak jadi katak bawah tempurung

• Gosh.. ini yg best bila komen provok ni, sure ada yg nk balas..hihihihihi… AKu x benci sama p1, aku suka p1. tapi yes aku anti dacing. Cukai utk masa depan? Ok. Aku da byr cukai pintu, cukai tanah, cukai kereta, cukai pndapatan, cukai perkhidmatan xpayah ckp, dkt jusco, kfc, mcd, pizza, restoren mamak, kedai buku, kedai tayar, internet, astro sume benda kena cukai perkhidmatan. mcm2 cukai ada, sume gua da setel dah. apa yg aku dpt? masa depan apa ni? jalan kt simpang dpn taman aku tu, da berlopak smpai 4 tahun. lampu jalan ada, itupon rosak. utk tampung kesusahan rakyat? makin naik nmpaknye brg2.. damn. bandar2 besar mmgla rasa mcm2, pekan2 kecik, merasa ke? tiang lampu pon senget benget.. damn.

• pelaxs on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Pencacai pembangkang meroyan kt sini pulak? weii ko ni hidup zaman mewah ni atas pemerintahan sape? dah kenyang perut mau gigit balik? ko pegilah negara2 yg ko rase xpayah bayar tax.. negara mana?

kalau dh sengkek sgt..xpyhleh makan kt McD, KFC, beli brg kt Mall.. duk umah je bancuh kopi sendiri.. beli brg kt kedai runcit Ahbeng jer.. ko kena kapak dgn Ahbeng lah baru ko suke!!

dkt US yg konon dikatakan bagus..harga makanan melambung berkali ganda, klu xde insurans jgn harap ko blh tido kt katil hospital, ko demam sikitpn xde RM200 jgn ingt lepaslah nk bayar cost!

bodoh bebal bertingkat2..klu xde cukai cmne nk run negara ni? ni semua minda bodoh pembangkang..tp diorang ape pun xbuat…kebas duit lagi adelah!

• Ko tu yg tak baca. Lupa nak blaja mengeja ker…

dah terang2 Danny tulis ” it wears a full bodykit that is painted grey to contrast with the red

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 24, 2011 at 7:44 pm

nothing to feel excited about. cvt. meh. im gonna be bashed.

• kington on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:56 pm

I too am not a fan of CVT boxes. However, for those who don’t mind the seamless drive and “pully” effect, it’s pretty efficient and saves fuel.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm

heard of a manual gearbox? it’s smoother and saves you more fuel,

• keven on Dec 25, 2011 at 4:25 pm

Yeah if only there was manual! I would have shut up and bought it! cause nothing drives like a manual! ;)

• Ali Hanapiah Md Ali on Nov 27, 2011 at 6:24 pm

bash by Proton.com.my cybertroopers. Paid by Malaysian tax payer, but takes orders only from DUMNO, that’s why proton cars are crappy. Melingkup la kau Proton, in 10 years, sold or bankrupt. Proton is only still alive because Tun M is still alive, the day the old man dies, even DUMNO will sell off Proton.

• jay8393 on Nov 24, 2011 at 7:46 pm

Nice, but not a fan of the clear lens rear lights.

• Bongcs on Nov 24, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Oh no !!!! Dont Tail Gate me please !!!!

• 48k? i will trade my wife’s viva for this.

• is this a Mitsubishi engine?

• Matchy on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Campro

• nope

• x pegi sekolah ke? cuba baca : C-A-M-P-R-O : MITSUBISHI.. EHHH, silap kot..

• macam pro on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:13 am

those engine design engineers macam pro
        =))

• kenny on Nov 27, 2011 at 7:56 pm

MUST BE HARD TO DESIGN THE ENGINE COVER KAN?? I MEAN KENA LUKIS, KENA BUAT PHOTOSHOP, KENA PRINTING, KENA ORDER, KENA BUAT BANYAK2 LAGI KAN. SUSAHNYA.

I THINK MY 1 YEAR OLD SISTER MAY BE ABLE TO DO IT LA.

STUPID PROTON ENGINEERS. STUID PROTON STAFF.

*AM A EX PROTON STAFF BTW. HR. and my god they have efficiency as good as their engines la. Like SHIT!! NEED TO PRESSSSS TO WORK.

When the government tumbang which it will soon because all the Kronis and ALL the kaki makan duit will be exposed, THEN U see la wat happpen to Proton. Brother, Motor Yamaha lagi baik dari Proton la.

• scania3600 on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:15 pm

oohh like that ar??? who ask u to buy PROTON? ask your father la to make- sell car.. then see it…or just buy yamaha motor la..

this shit-based mentality seeded by apposition shit-minded leaders just think how to demolish-destructing other people job that they dont like-political personal conflict!
            this kind of shit-person actively making SLANDERS-FITNAH at anywhere.. mindless talking..just talk like ‘chicken ass’..but gain nothing!! they dont do anything..no TRACK RECORD!! just cakap..BOOHOONG!!

this shit-based people hardly want to ‘tumbangkan’ gov. then what kind of country they will set-up after? or they plan to ROMPAK BESAR-BESARAN this country treasury, then say they are better than the current gov.? shit-lahh this kind of ppls..

people now can see la can thing who just CAKAP BOOHONG ang is DOING WORK!!

shit-based mentality!!

• Hahahahaha on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Hahahahahaha Lembu feedlot punya orang. Hei 250 juta mana pigi ha??? Kamu tak rompak??? Kalau tak rompak ape ke nama tu??? Proton sapa punya??? Rakyat punya ke kroni punya??? Big shit… Tak usah cakap la… Proton ni banyak sueii la??? Lagi tak humbang kroni tu ke laut cina selatan… tak majula proton…

• Hakim on Nov 28, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Very true. Due to corruption our country is losing it hope. I am a doctor too. And I have to say the amount of useless housemen who are JPA is getting out of hands.

And even worst they are mostly Malays. Sometimes I too cannot understand what has happen to our martabat. we were once so smart. Many of my counter parts from kampung are successful smart people. But the Malays nowadays are making me sad.

Exact same like proton. I’m sure tun mahathir isn’t stupid. And I’m sure the proton CEO isn’t stupid as well. But how much can these two ppl do when the entire organization is stupid down there?

Haih Malaysia. How are we going to be saved.

• gozillaPeniz on Nov 24, 2011 at 7:55 pm

with 108 hp the maximum speed only up to 165kmhr? izzit some kind of joker engine in it?

• warlord on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:09 pm

my saga FL 1.3 can hit 170 top speed wat do u think of that?

• LatukBandar on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:28 pm

What’s the point of hitting 170 when the car vibrates like a dildo and float like a hovercraft?

• tigerMalaya on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:08 am

i’ve driven my bimmers up to 200km/h(can go faster), but what the point you speeding like orang gila and put others life at risk? even i’m drive the bimmers, but i still follow the rules..

like a malays say, TAK LARI GUNUNG DIKEJAR.. u speeding like hell, u only faster few minutes or few hours only… is it worth if you speed up then you die in accident? how if other people also die?

• Punisher on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:34 am

my Saga BLM 2008 can hit 185km/h…

• and in how many hours will it take to reach 185? 3 hours?

• fraz006 on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:12 am

no lah, saga mad damn short ratio.. not that long, believe it. nobody speeds in blm coz it feels floaty, acceleration? hate the damn short gearing

• TurboMan on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:58 am

I think you are childish and shouldnt be allowed to drive at all.

How about that?

• soundsfishy on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:58 am

jgn lupa ikat engine ketat ketat… muahhaahaaa

• LeBronJames on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:48 am

Relax bang,

For your safety and FC sake, why you want so fast? ECU belum buka lagi, opps, sorry give you an idea to improve performance. Dame you are 1 step closer to my car. :0

• FatBear on Nov 27, 2011 at 12:44 pm

….CVT generates more heat than the 4 speeder.

The larger the range of speed, the CVT needs to adjust safely to the whole range.

It can probably go faster but with side effects to the gearbox.

160km/hr, quite good already.

• kamilsucka on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:02 pm

this is kasturi

• us top graduates oso are leaving for other countries even like india for greener pasture. Cheap price but dont have jobs also cannot buy one. Even if given free cannot maintain if economy like shit

• Mister Potato on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:06 pm

VW Jetta is USD$16.5k (about RM53k), and it comes with a 2.0 engine. If Proton keeps pricing this 20th-century souped-up lawnmower more than RM35k, we will never be able to buy a new Jetta at RM53k, and they will never be able to compete in a level playing field.

• then go stay at USA

• Leseid Obrut on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:09 pm

nice one…hahaha… *like*

• Gavin on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:25 am

people like you who only think Malaysia stupid policy is the greatness on earth is making Malaysia backward.

you should just born and life in Somalia, Congo or Zimbabwe and die before reach 40 years old.

• ah ben on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:49 pm

jgn tunjuk bodoh sombong disini..
          stupid policy? kalau melindungi kepentingan peniaga sendiri ni dikira stupid policy, US gov pun practice polisi bodoh utk protect peladang dan petani diorg..
          negara mana yg x amalkan lgsg ‘stupid policy’?

• Loneranger on Nov 26, 2011 at 1:47 pm

it seems that u never learn bout basic of economy. better open ur macro and micro economy books again dude….

• wendy on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:50 am

nice!!!

• USA dollars and live compared to M’sia?walau what u people r really thinking?Jetta is nice but 53k for Jetta is too cheap in M’sia but for Potong is overprice over!

• oligopoli on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:22 pm

why don’t we, for the sake of discussion, leave all politics, policies and all craps and nonsense out and keep the technical discussion in. It doesn’t seem to take us anywhere in this forum, does it?

• guys come on, that dude came from mexico. tengok nick dia. with all due respect, jetta cost around rm150k including tax here in malaysia. ponchos ponchos!

• Prismo on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:02 am

How about living cost, medicals, educations, houses, fuel price etc in USA? americans is prefer a low fuel consumption small car.

• lost78 on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:08 pm

i look at saga’s picture…and look next to it on the right side, about similar with red colour body and sporty look-Das Auto volkswagon polo

• azrul on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:29 am

you must be blind to compare a cheap crap against a VW. try to catch up with the koreans first before you even dream of competing with the conti’s

• lost78 on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:04 pm

bro… I just said I looked on paultan’s page, the story about 1.6+cvt was next to VW ad…it visually similar eg. colour, size…thats all. What are u trying to say? that ur smarter than others? then just go on…

• thanes on Nov 26, 2011 at 1:24 am

some people think that they’re waaay smarter than anyone. open up your eye balls and read it one by one since you’re too smart. amat terharu terhadap kepandaian anda en azrul.

• deftones on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:12 pm

saga is a good transporter..dont bother people bashing..i drove one and not giving any problems so far, not even once i claim any faulty parts..42k+ km done and feel trustworthy..wish could this cvt came earlier..but nevermind, its a 40k car..dont expect to be 100k car

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Lucky for you, but not with my 1.6 BLM, just read my old comment (18 Jan 2008). You can fix the car’s problem but the Proton Engineers attitude????? Some of them dosen’t deserved to be in Proton.

• VoidDance on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:24 am

I don’t think Saga BLM 1.6 existed on 18 Jan 2008 as you stated there. Unless you make a mistake on the date.

• u mean eon or proton edar rite? the person who repair ur car definitely not engineer or u just generalize that mechanic oso a engineer…

• nazri on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:40 pm

where got 1.6 blm jan 2008 ini orang tipu la..

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:50 am

Thats not the date of the car… Thats Paul Tan’s posting date…. Read comments from July 2010 onwards

• Baru Bangun on Nov 28, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Ade la. Stok2 teksi tak abih jual. Korang syok dibuai mimpi2 indah!

• You are just lucky(like wining lottery) mine absorb-er knocking left front which is Very common for BLM if you look at the forum..sometimes very hard to start.. mileage just 22K++

• nebula87 on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:14 pm

evry car deserve a special edition..saga deserve it!…do i mention myvi? I’m sorry, no!
    xD

• K Tan on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Rm49,888 – my guess.

• At this price better buy Persona!!!

• draftboy on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:04 am

Persona kosong you means@lower spec? YES!!! if you don’t care about your life…that car not equipped with safety features like dual airbag, ABS, EBD… plus this saga equipped with more acc… If you want compare please compared with car same spec, safety features, acc & etc such as persona elegance H-line or new myvi SE… Haish…. pity this guy with lowered mind…

• amel8488 on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:18 pm

good job proton… very interesting… can fight with myvi extreme or not?

• Myvi Extreme Auto takdak bontot = RM58~RM60k
      This Saga SE SEDAN below 51k….hurmmm

• carazy on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Neo CPS is a reasonable comparison, to the yellow myvii bro..can we probably see yellow myvii racing at Sepang soon??

• Oh my gosh i just love that tail light!! And that red is sexy!!! hope the price is below 50k..

• jerry tan on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Proton cars… buy 1.3 is enough… 1.6 not much different in terms of power due to the car weight which is heavier than others in it’s class…. just compared 0-100 KM/H with any 1.6 cars in the market, u will always found that Proton cars are the slowest among all… so don’t waste extra money

• jerry tan on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:24 pm

so many Proton fanboy here…. if u guys don’t believe me, go buy yourself a car magazines… u can check out “Torque” under buy advice column or “Top Gear Malaysia” under Top Gear Car Guide…. choose any 1.6 liter car compared with Proton….

• oligopoli on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:31 pm

so many 1.6, but how many of them are in this saga segment, and which model are in this saga price bracket? of course la cannot compare with altis, forte, not even city. and where are u leading with your comment, really?

• jerry tan on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:52 pm

comparing the 1.6l engine performance. i didn’t mention any price here. yes, Altis & Forte has the same 1.6l but even bigger size….still they perform better. H. City & T. Vios smaller engine, size almost same….performed better. Hmmm…..u means that a cheaper car performance always lower than abit higher priced car? to be fair priced, minus 25% from import tax, The new Saga is not that much cheap

• Proton also kena tax la bro.. talk like a pro BUT………………………………………………..

• nazis on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:21 pm

of coz la, but tax not crazy like import cars. Of coz P1 kalah from that perspective. but gen2,persona,exora,P3-21, design ok what,everything improve already, proton trying to come closer to gobal car standard. IAFM n CPS engine ok what for 1.6, and next CFE engine(campro turbo for fuel enfficiency). gentwo vs persona already u can feel the build quality inside persona far better. But if comparing with P2, Myvee or Vavi, P1 the winner in all aspects, esspecially handling, price, power.. IMHO P2 only win with exterior design n higher price. An for Saga, front and rear ok, but side profile just not fit with front look in my opinion.

• Jerry Tan on Nov 25, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Yes…. i agree with u. Proton & all cars in Malaysia also kena Tax…. to be precise is call Excise tax… but local car “tak” kena import tax 25%…. i am not acting like a Pro…just wanna share

• sepucps on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:03 pm

How can Altis 1.6 L perform better?..0 – 100 kmh is 13 seconds..google more dude..

• Jerry Tan on Nov 25, 2011 at 6:49 pm

u are right….maybe due to Altis bigger body weights heavier…. How bout Persona 1.6 auto… ? still i think Altis is a bit bigger than Persona

• bro,ppl buy car not for 0-100 spec la…grow up and stop playing need for speed

• jerry tan on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:56 pm

wow…..just giving an opinion fren. Grow up & stop playing need for speed ehh….. i see u have a MOMO steering.

• arcana on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:05 pm

well thats the cheapest “faster” car money can buy….
          i would reckon the 1.6 to be good performer, not 0-100 but at least daily use.
          the 1.3 would be quite lethargic when the car is full load or moving uphill.
          and prices would be around +/- RM5K from 1.3 CVT, i’d pick this for sure….

• jerry tan on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:25 pm

ops…..my fault….. i didn’t read the spec sheet before giving a comment. After read the spec sheet, is actually slower than most of the 1.5 liter car with conventional 4 speed or 5 speed autobox….. this time sure got lots of thumbs down

• stupid jerry tan on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:08 am

groww uppp pleasee !!!

• because u worth nothing then only a thumbs down bro… wake up la..

• Prismo on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:14 am

alamak… Perodua salesman sudah mai… itu lagi best lagi mahal la…

• fraz006 on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:23 am

selalu proton tak bagi figure betul, style drg underquote, ko try youtube campro 1.3, 11 sec tuh easily can get. nih kan plak 1.6 body sama ringan, boleh sgt sub 10 sec nih. tapi tgk dulu la, gearbox cvt nih manja.

ko compare bebetul ngan keter 1.5 laen dalam utube. ada tak dpt camtu? nak sgt 0-100, campro is not that poor. 0-100 use the whole rpm range. campro torque and power comes in late, like 3K above. but, when it comes, feels like ‘cumming’ also.

i think u should refer to low end torque for daily driving suitability, which till now, campro still cant manage to solve.

if u go compare 0-100 in the manufacturer ads only, nah…

• sorry bro for the harsh comment, theres truth in what u say,but comparing the engines is not relevan as comparing the class.if u compare to altis or civic hell if u compares to city and vios is like apple n grapes, u should compared to car that have the same price bracket,proton can put campro cps or campro cfe but the price will go up and some ppl later cannot afford to buy. the reality is we are living in Malaysia where honda n toyota are expensive n proton is cheap.dun go into imaginary world where honda city is the same price as persona and honda brio same as saga fl se.peace out

• Unimpressed on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:23 am

you’re one of those people who love to race on public roads using your 1.6l car, aren’t you?

• tokmoh on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:41 am

U mau laju2, pakai lagi power lagi best. Fly to the moon also can.

:P

• jerry tan on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:04 am

dudes….i am just point out that Proton 1.6l engine in performance in 0-100KM/H is not as fast as others. just buy 1.3 is enough . i didnt say is expensive, no quality, bad fuel consumption bla bla bla…. i dunno why some of u Proton owners are so sensitive by giving sarcastic comment…. need for speed, race on public roads & fly to the moon etc… i am just pointing out the fact. If u think i am wrong, u always can refer any magazines or compare Proton brochures with others. You as A PROUD PROTON owners shd point out of Proton advantages….. e.g fast cooling aircon, easy find spare parts & every workshop know how to repair a Proton….etc.

• VoidDance on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:34 am

Yeah, right. 0 – 100 is the least people would care when buying a Saga. The 1.6 is there as a choice. You have more money and still want a Saga that you can brag to have more power, then buy 1.6 one. If not, like you say, take 1.3.

When given choices, just let the people choose. If not, Perodua also don’t bother to make 1001 versions of their MyVi…

• dude.. SHUT the F up!!

• Jerry Tan on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:07 pm

i have wake up, i think u should too. it is just a simple comment, it doesn’t bite a piece of flesh from your body. no need to be upset or get angry easily. Dont show your weakness. control your feelings…. don’t get emotional. have a nice day

• tokmoh on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:36 am

Relax bro, welcome to internet. Y so srs?

Proton cars are heavy, but it does feel safer with high tensile steel body such as on Satria Neo, Exora, Savvy and Saga BLM. Feels tough, try to press it with hand on a blm compared to say, myvi. Myvi feels like tin milo, very easy to press compared to blm. I dunno why, but it gives me uncomfortable feeling that Perodua cut material to save cost. Result will be light, so myvi can be faster (myvi 1.5 m/t can do 0-100km/h under 10s, and of course that lame radio ads claiming it can fly to the moon), perhaps save more fuel as well, but safety? Anytime I feel more confident with saga blm. Just maybe la, when Proton more rich, they should use aluminium body, lighter and stronger, but more expensive maybe.

Besides, Campro’s characteristic is its power is at top end. At highway, I dare not play with Campro cars at all, but at traffic light, maybe a bit lol.

More important than 0-100km/h time is f/c and safety. blm is proton’s entry model, feels so much safer than Perodua’s entry, viva. YUUUCK!! The viva really feel like metal coffin. Although f/c much better, I’d pick blm any day cuz I value safety of blm.

• Jerry Tan on Nov 25, 2011 at 6:44 pm

i think you got your point there. yup …this kind of comment is what i want

• Eyesore on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:31 am

If only i can show you the actual comparison of crash test myvi n BLM… but its a confidential video… hehehe… but i can confirm… when an accident happen if u r in a Myvi… u would wish that u in a BLM…

• local lover on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:32 pm

btw perodua is following philosophy set by its parents company daihatsu/toyota which is only reinforced body parts that crucial during crash, have you seen daihatsu sirion/myvi, daihatsu mira/viva perform in their crash test? they r doing it well.. while proton design a car based on old car which is heavier but dosent meat it reflect dia safety.. btw im still supporting proton coz im owned persona n myvi..

• soundsfishy on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:07 am

tis means proton parts can b simply replaced with cheap & fake ah beng spare parts. So now you know how proton quality is…

• koochai on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:39 pm

rolling out production floor i believe quality is there (debatable?!). but heck man! to save few pennies, some owners replace wear & tear items with “cheap & fake ah beng spare parts”. any failure afterwards will be blamed on p1. justice for all!

• Jerry Tan on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:00 pm

ok….
      my comment may hurts some of u out there. sorry for that.

one more thing is there is no need to get upset or angry…. cool down. hold down your horses…. no need to be so emotional….. just a comment. no big deal…. have a good day!

• hahaha no need to sorry2 here bro ..u must be new to paultan….most of the commenter here are stupid fan boys or kiasu salesmen or mat rempit who now can afford 2 buy a 4 wheels transportation……..they are mentally challenge, rigid and short fuse……they are only a few rare jewels who give good opinion with proper argument and fact and sometime exciting insider information which is the main reason i’m into paultan………find this chosen one and ignore the others….not worth it…..

• ah ben on Nov 26, 2011 at 10:53 am

yeah.. so many cyber warriors in here..
          dun have to emo or take it seriously..
          as their comment wont effect us, so peace.

• kete_hitam on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:27 pm

RM52,800.00 may be…

• Seriously paultan? You copyright those pictures FROM Proton by adding your address? SERIOUSLY? They are not even your photos. Where’s your professionalism?

• seriusSAM on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm

everyone wanna be the 1st
      even paultan wanna make sure they are 1st to publish the photos

LOL

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Mr. Lee, did you even read the post?
      It is clearly mentioned in the first line that this is Proton’s brochure.
      Looking at the images, I believe no one would think otherwise.

Watermarking images is common practice on the Internet.
      It’s to avoid other sources from reproducing them without credit.

• you must be new here

• neutral on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:14 pm

bro, dont talk rubbish here. u open up your own automobile blog then only shout.

• oligopoli on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:36 pm

your point is understandable, but i think danny has clearly stated and never claims copyright, so it should be resolved by itself, no?

• You are now being charged for making false acusation. Please wait for court’s letter.

• lee, from that comment of yours, I’m guessing you are 17yo or below.

• jerry tan on Nov 27, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Mr. Lee, you disgraced yourself.

• ah lee bin ah tan on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:37 pm

RM48 OK?

• At 48K….I would buy a Persona.

• VoidDance on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:39 am

No you don’t because they’re going to come out with new Persona probably early next year and I believe it will be much more expensive.

• draftboy on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:27 am

Persona kosong@ lower spec you means? Don’t have safety features like airbag, ABS, EBD? For me I more prefer for this SAGA SE than persona kosong… Safety first, money is nothing if you die in accident without secure from safety features…

• Masked Ryder on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Why still no option for Pearl/Metalic paint ?
    Look like Persona will retire soon with Gen2, replaced by “Tuah”, currently to many overlapping of 1.6 engine model.
    Look like chances of new Accent & Rio coming in is getting slimer, as they need to priced it so low that make it no longer viable to sell it in Malaysia.

• Wow, never thought that basher still can say blind things about Korean car in a Proton post. Nice job man, can you please give me your handphone number? thinking to get a camry or an accord leh… Wanna let you earn comission because you worked so hard to beat Korean cars and gain sales.

Thumb up for you, wish that you’ll be promoted as soon as possible, good luck ya! :D

• If still under 50K, tomolo i trade in my 2005 myvi n get this one..o wait a minute,tomolo not yet launch leh

• hope proton is not following myvi’s footstep – FL, FLX, FLX SE, soon limited edition. Pls focus on improving the quality & safety of the car to make it the rakyat’s car! and dont confuse consumers – if only 10yrs or 250000km warranty, state so, not Lifetime warranty! Wonder why no advertising standards board/watchdog look into this!

• stupid proton on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:02 pm

good , remember see the whole picture ,they just add on the (Ex-stock bodykit) and (Ex-stock sportrim) to sell clear stock , understand proton state ,the ah beng bodykit might raise to OEM price, why not? they making money and clear un-wanted stock in market. one stone two bird, guess we consumer are the BIRD :p

• Amende on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:28 am

Even im not a big fan of proton but please la do some reading before u jump into the same bashing bandwagon n pour out all the same hatred that we have heard and seen so many times before.
        In the case of Inspira, its a logic thing to pimp up the model with some minor add ons to clear stocks but did proton raise up the price?
        And this Saga FLX 1.6 with CVT, if the price does not exceed 50k, then I would say it’s a good deal. Putting inside a new bigger engine isnt just as simply as plug n play, they have re-tuning works done on the car.

• hector_smacker on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:01 am

geez… are we the angry birds?

• steam_man on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:48 pm

this will eat city, vios for breakfast and lunch, some say dinner too.

• 4545er on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:20 pm

hahahhh..swim faster dugong !!

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Already eat Civic 1.8 maaa… But thats with std 1.6 IAFM only. Never reached top speed yet but 190 easily done…

• Unimpressed on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:27 am

eat? kalau aku drive civic takde mase ler nak layan race dengan saga. hadoi… sudah2 ler berlumba.

• azrul on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:37 am

civic give you face. civic no face to race with dildo car hahaha.

• azrul on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:45 am

i own a civic and i got no time to take on a inferior car like a saga. malulah….no standard. civic vs dildo car. just drive to work and market enuff. wanna race….get a better car. if cannot afford……play need for speed enough coz you can’t afford the repairs and samans!

• Jangan takbur kawan. Just driving a Civic and you’re looking down at all the cheaper cars. You think your Civic is SOOOOOOO perfect???? Cukup-cukup la tu.

• LeBronJames on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:44 am

Hi there,

It does not really matter what car you drive weather it’s a Civic, Bentley or F1, if you are driving slow on the fast way pls give way. Respect other people, there is no shame to give way! It doesn’t matter who’s car is bigger CC or powerful, just beat it…

• Prismo on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:56 pm

kalo org cerita ttg civic, terus ko ada civic.. kalo org compare saga dgn hummer.. hummer pun ko ada… meh upload gambar civic ko…

• gattaca on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm

jgn riak sangat… nanti terkena batang hidung sendiri…

• bro u must have the older civic then upgrade2 kat kedai AH BENG kan..
          tak payah nak bajet… konon ekzos vrom2 padahal kereta lama…
          puih!

• err give me your car plate number, bagi kau saman, baru kau tau. 190.

Speed limit only 110, and 100 during festive period. Drive carefully or else i launch Ops Sikap everyday.

• tokmoh on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Tu dia, penguin da mai blog ni… polis kata jangan…

ps: go youtube “polis kata jangan” for lolz :P

• No complain on the price. This would make a good ‘P’ car for your kid who is just about to enter college. New, safe and above all doesn’t make him a ‘spoilt kid’ among his friends.

If you have a daughter the Myvi maybe is more to their liking.

• Steve w on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:49 pm

I will put all my eggs in one basket and that will be perodua Myvi. For so many years proton design is still behind time, the new saga reminds me of datsun 120y. Very conservative and after sales and service is bad. I use to bring my car to service at 7am and waited bloody long until 3pm just to get engine oil change. It’s not rocket science just unscrew the oil pan bolt to drain oil out and fill back with new oil. I will make sure my future generation of family will not get a proton. NEVER

• kamal on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Probably you do your service without make an appointment just go by walkin…me ok jer, infact now they will bear the cost of repair if the service completed more than one hour (for normal service)

• kamaliah on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:48 am

but i always walk in at Perodua Balakong SC.come at 7.30am and finished the service on 9.30pm.no need to make an appointment.

• obiwan kenobi on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:41 pm

As you said proton still behind time in designing, but dont you know that perodua dont even know to design on it’s own….. the saga is 100% proton design, Myvi ????? 100% ciplak design ….. lagi best become lagi worst and dare to call malaysia car …..

• Kavin on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:29 am

Perodua did do facelift to their rebadge Daihatsu, but Proton so lazy and run out of idea until fully stick the original rebadge Mitsubishi.

• as usual lah! on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:06 am

i want inspira 1.8mt!!!

• dont buy inspira…..but, waiting for proton tuah for next year..becoz this year a prototype have been otr for testing…next year, i`m guess it will be release a proton tuah…just wait for it… :p

• Use your brain on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:39 am

Facelift is not really designing a car, no??

“Proton so lazy and run out of idea until fully stick the original rebadge Mitsubishi.”

If you are a person who does follow the local automotive news, then you would probably know that Proton is finalizing their Persona replacement (there’s also an article about it here in this blog) which they DESIGN THEMSELVES from scratch.

I rest my case.

• coinstar on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:23 am

LIAR!!!

• Steve w on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:04 pm

The proton service centre that I go is in jalan 222. It’s a big service center and they have close down and just reopen this year. Really bad. I was a loyal customer and I saw everything during my 8 years of servicing. Mechanic start work at 8am, tea break at 1030 for half an hour. Lunch at 12pm for 1 hour. Too many breaks. And worse of all there is no communication between the front desk guy with the mechanic. I saw multiple cases car owner complain about the light switch on A pillar not working, so call door light, and the mechanic remove the whole door to check and the owner was so furious. My brand new putra, dashboard came with a missing nut and they have to remove the whole dash to screw in that nut. Yes everything, steering, radio…evrything. I have old saga, satria, putra, wira aerobic all came with water leak problem in boot. I have to find the problem mysellf as the service centre do not knwo where is the leak. Guess what…the leak is coming from the body weld join. my power window never work at hot. Rear wheel bearing spoil when car is brand new. Changed 3 times and same issue when car is new. The pain finishing was bad, you can see bubble formed on the clear coat. All sort of rattling sound is coming out from dash….and more. I give up. Screw proton.

• mizzuddin945 on Nov 27, 2011 at 7:01 pm

so many bad luck…

should check also where and how we earn our money and help the unfortunates more frequent

• Doesn’t look like a leak. Since when Proton put pricing in their brochure?

• shawal on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:51 pm

sounds and looks tempting , looking forward to see it in the showrooms , hope it is plenty fast ( at least faster than a standard saga)

• Matchy on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:53 pm

48-50k

• Anwar on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Hello Proton, I hope you are listening. Please come out with Saga FLX SE 1.6L 5-speed manual (getrag). No need for leather seat. Others follow specs like the CVT model (2 SRS airbags, ABS+EBD, etc). Price around 45-46k. 0-100 km/h under 10 sec. Sure lagi best…

I’ve tested Saga FL 1.3 4-speed auto, FLX 1.3 CVT and FLX 1.3 5-speed manual (getrag) briefly. I like the manual version better. Somehow rather the CVT version is more noisy compared to the other 2 models. BTW, this is not for me but being considered for my son in college.

• 4545er on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:22 pm

its written flX means cvt..if normal manual gb u should ask for a nomal 1.6 saga

• taboogen on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:40 pm

u are wrong dude…. FLX do come in MT(getrag) and there is a manual version for FLX SE….

• awg1031 on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:59 pm

still no aircond for the legs?

• Anoynymous on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Gosh !! 1.6 ?? Serious ?

• KageSenshi on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:02 pm

So proton finally fit the CVT to a 1.6 Campro ..

Can I replace my neo’s AT slushbox to that CVT box for my neo???? XD .. !!

• Bongcs on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:08 pm

ok, lets go sepang

• Anoynymous on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Gosh !! 1.6 ??

• Cowabunga! on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:17 pm

stop being so “promotive” about your sponsors…
    it’s the same crap, and asking rakyat to pay 50k++ for a Saga?…

that’s insane to me.

• oligopoli on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:47 pm

care to mention which car with 50k price tag is worthy paying?

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:53 am

“stop being so “promotive” about your sponsors…”

open your eyes. top of the page;
      paul tan’s AUTOMOTIVE NEWS:….

this post is about a new variant of the Saga model. that IS news.
      So, what’s your problem?

What/Who/Where/When on the sponsorship and operations of paultan.org is none of your concern (nor mine).
      You have a problem with that?

• JeremyNg on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:19 pm

the 1st pic look nice !!!! The body kit fit the car properly (FL not really a nice looking car but it make it look nice) …… New returned engine + CVT , jz wonder about the FC =)

* I also realized tat Proton like to make RED colour as their SE

• Kopi O on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Still overly priced. Even with the govt protective measures for the local car manufacturer(Proton) by raising the tax for imported cars, a Saga at this price is too much! Second hand imported car will do lah!

• It’s CVT maa!! What are u thinking???

• RAVEN on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:55 am

and RM61K for a compact myvi!!!!!! what u say????
      MYVI or BAbi is TOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO…
      OVER PRICED!!!
      1.5 only but price over RM53 already???!!!! WTF.. WTF.. WTF?????

most of the time, basher dont think..
      they just said it through their 4ss..

• Why the body kit cannot match the body color? Why? Really sick of it. Is there any better car design in those companies?

• pity you

• GT-R fanboy on Nov 26, 2011 at 12:10 am

The body kit of Nissan GT-R R35 olso not match the body color so it look more sporty,unlike myvi 1.5 extreme use penyodok plastic for it front body kit,Myvi 1.5= tongkang pecah!

Nissan GT-R Official website
      http://www.gtrnissan.com/en/web_GTR/homepage/index.html

Tongkang pecah Official website lol
      http://www.perodua.com.my/ourcars/myvi-extreme/overview/intro

i not proton fanboy but i like this new saga :D

• saw a few trucks ferrying some saga 1.6 flx se at kesas kota kemuning area this morning, heading to klang direction. should be launching soon i guess.

• Annoynimouse on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:54 pm

I hope the interior gets an upgrade as well. The plastics in the current one feel like those made in china pasar malam toys. You can leave a scratch mark with your nails.

• makeitmine on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Proton, if you are so confident about the quality of the cars that you make, it is high time that you give out better warranty compared to any competitor in the world.

Pls build a new Saga car that will give pleasurable ride, safety and quality as a Honda City.

The car got the looks but Honda City 1.5l car has 42L fuel tank and 0-100km/h in 11.8 s.

Something is wrong here.. need to go redesign the car else may not be able to sell in export market.

• taboogen on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:42 pm

wait for 2014.. new SAGA R coming out

• fadzly on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:06 pm

i feel like to throw out when riding in honda city.
      don’t know why… ???

• superman83 on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:05 am

Yeah.. i experienced that when sitting behind

Yeah! Priced of this car at rm49,249.00

• makeitmine on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:04 am

So you know where Proton cars got the edge.. what’s next is for Proton to build a comparative specs and that will beat Honda City.

Honda City has 1.5L 116.4bhp i-VTEC engine. Proton must build a better engine to beat them.

• 1.6L 125bhp campro cps? you must live in the cave

• makeitmine on Nov 26, 2011 at 9:29 pm

momo,

The Saga FLX SE is not offering 1.6L 125bhp campro cps. You must be blind not reading the article.

Hyundai Elantra 2011 with 1.6L engine is producing 138 hp and better FC.

That’s why I stated earlier, something is wrong here. Proton cars will be dinosaurs in the export market.

• ljiuo on Nov 27, 2011 at 3:44 pm

cannot compare between the two, it’s in different segment, saga far cheaper than elantra. persona r is in the pipeline, the cfe turbo engine surely give headache to japs and korean cars with the power of 151hp and still a fuel saver by 1.6l

• BeemerFreak on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:24 am

My bet is wait till the Persona R with a turbo charged CFE engine in it to come out.

By then Malaysia can start whipping Japanese ass. Stupid Japanese company, damn hard headed, even small kampung company like Proton also knows small capacity and turbocharged engine are the way to go, and yet they insist to use NA engines that have less daily usable torque.

By then the Honda City is, WHO????????

• civicEK on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:25 pm

just wanna share with u guys, my brother’s 3 year old saga 1.3 BLM SE manual can reach 170 with no problem. but d problem is when 4 people sitting inside it become underpower.
    i guess this 1.6 + CVT is ‘lagi best’. ohhh btw so far his car no problem at all. ride and handling is really nice..

p/s: im not a proton salesman. u can guess what car im driving by my nickname :)

• I’m not against proton or any other car makers, but why is everyone proudly claiming that their car can be driven at 170, 190 etc (and I’m pretty sure this is achieved on public road and not in a racing track or sth). Driving like tat is extremely dangerous. If u x get urself killed, u can get others killed, which is worse. Guys, value life a bit more…

• RedBeanBun on Nov 24, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Not so long ago, I bought my WAJA at RM60+K.

I think its a nice car except for the auto transmission….

If this Saga going to place at that price….should I happy or sad?

• oligopoli on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:51 pm

waja is not comparable to saga weh. different segment, different styling, different feeling, different space. may be you should be happy ;-)

• adehhh on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:16 am

Waja is a legend ar bro..

• CVT koyak, how?

Biasa la, beb. Boss akan kasi lifetime gerenti if got a lot of komplen nanti ya.

• Hahaha….mcm lifetime power window warranty!!!!

• kerelbort on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:19 am

everything that moving is prone to koyak.. even urself.. moving too much will koyak.. yet u did not come with warranty at all… :P

it’s life brother. nothing is perfect.

• 1.6 litres will make a better power to weight ratio, hence better acceleration from 0-60km/h even with automatic transmission. Sigh…..seeing Proton making new facelifts and new improvement on their models make my Proton Saga BLM (1st Gen) feel so old. But nevertheless I enjoyed driving it alot more than the very unstable Myvi.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Anybody can idle the engine at 1300 rpm ? If its easily done than you might have a bonus. Normally you cannot do it easily with Campro Engine. Even Proton service technician couldn’t do it. Dont borther to ask the Proton Engineers….. They wont answer that too.

• oligopoli on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:53 pm

and why do you want to idle the engine at 1300? it’s high

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:54 am

Its not adjusting the idle to 1300 rpm but holding the throttle to maintain rpm btw 1000 to 2000 rpm. With Campro engine, its almost impossible to do that. Thats why for manual gb, sometime the engine mampus during trafficjam.

• PakAbu on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:15 pm

I think very few people understand what you’re trying to say.

The engine stalled because idle RPM was too low?
          Engine died when you tried engage clutch?
          Engine died when you shifted into first gear?

What was it actually?

• itom95 on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:16 pm

lol you just suck using manual gearboxes. go get a freaking auto if you can’t even handle that scenario.

don’t bother asking Proton engineers about that, because the issue you came up with is stupid.

• they can actually with using simple tools call padt. but why u need to idle at 1300 rpm???easy to drive without pressing gas pedal, just slot in gears n go???
      never ever seen any on the road cars idling at 1300rpm, or maybe u want to be the first, setting the record meh or just want to be in ripley’s right,believe it or not.

• zaff1984 on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:18 am

your engine keep vibrating because of rpm is too low?

• Nizam80 on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm

This is by far the hardest undetectable piece of sarcasm ever found on the internet. What are you trying to imply here, my friend? Anyway, I have no problem maintaining engine speeds below 2000rpm in my IAFM Persona using the throttle. Cruising at 60km/h is done at roughly 1800rpm. So what is it that you are trying to say here?

• izhar on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:25 pm

aku rasa mamat nak bgtau throttle Campro x cukup fine..ADC (analog to digital converter) utk throttle pembahagian signal sikit sgt…aku penah bawak persona manual…tekan skit rpm 2k tekan lagi skit rpm 2.5k…tekan skit lagi rpm 3K…so throttle campro divide cuma beberapa bahagian jer..(not really fine)…tp pada aku xder masalah pun…aku bawak ok jer..kalau kat traffic jam..masuk gear satu angkat clutch pelan2..nanti kete akan gerak sendiri…bila dah start gerak baru tekan minyak…takdelah rpm tu mengaum…masa tukar gear pulak…lepas minyak dulu baru tekan clutch…throttle campro mmg lambat skit respons masa lepas minyak…kalau dah biasa bawak campro gear manual…xder masalah

• Unforgiven on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:31 pm

1.6 165 km/h sounded like something wrong somewhere, reliability perhaps?

• hi, my younger sis drives 1.3 saga blm 2008. im satisfied with the ride of the car as a driver and as front & back passengers. da car is roomy, comfortable and does not bounce like vios or city. maybe due to da heavy body, also made its FC high. this coming 1.6 flx i guess will correct da FC n power issues. (1.6 corrects power issue. CVT corrects FC issue). if its priced below 50K, i would say its a worth buy.. thx =)

• LeBronJames on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:01 am

Excuse me Juan,

Are you saying Saga is more comfortable and not so bouncy like Honda City? Sorry, I think that is another way around. City is around 80k and Saga is around 40k and I have bot of this cars. Maybe the City ownner change adjustable absorber or over size the rims to 17″ which compromise it’s comfort. Pls confirm. Saga’s comfort is not bad but still can be improve. Thanks.

• mully on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:15 pm

yes it’s true, i have sat in both cars, saga and city, saga is more comfortable than hondacity which is ‘rocking’ and vios also has that too. so i can conclude that proton cars nowadays are much better than pre-waja ones

• learner on Nov 26, 2011 at 12:37 pm

nothing to be surprised as P1 is known for its superb R&H (without comparing to those genuine sport cars).

• LeBronJames on Nov 29, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Hi Mully,

Maybe it is true what you say. However, sat before and own both of the cars is a big difference. To me, I still feel that City is better overall. I am not bashing Proton, this is what I feel.

• renzolution on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:47 pm

para para paradise

• Whynot on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Prices of Malaysian car jetting up to way high! What happened to the Malaysian ringgit?

• generation on Nov 25, 2011 at 12:17 am

1.6 SE pricing will be like the Inpirara R3!

Same Price but Spiced up!

• Guys, just because the Saga is much cheaper than Vios, City, Jetta, etc doesn’t mean we cannot compare the specs.. Put the price aside, compare based on segment category and engine size, etc.. Price here in Malaysia is not a true representative of the car’s quality, especially in Malaysia where the import duties are sky high.. Try and minus all the import duties and see..Jetta is on same playing field as Saga.. Moral of story, price can be heavily inflated coz of tax, corruption… Proton really needs to strive to produce at lower prices, ,especially since it’s already PROTECTED by govt. Enough said.

• jerry tan on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:23 am

agreed… those car mention above is not that expensive if we minus the Excise & import tax.

• learner on Nov 26, 2011 at 12:46 pm

only correct if the car manufactured in Malaysia, otherwise NO way in earth the car will pass without IMPORT taxes. VW is seeing that potential, that’s why they want to CKD some of the models here, which makes their Turbo+Supercharger+DSG much cheaper now and in now time can compete side by side with BMW and Merc in term of num of sales. If only they can fully produce here…….

• yup, u can compare with vios, city,jetta without tax, but do you know that saga also being taxed?
      saga flx without tax is around 28k, while vios without tax is around 50k++. its around 22k different.

thats why many people shock when persona n waja in arabs only price 38k, that is the real price without tax coz we are given exemption from tax there. now u know who to be blame…but nevertheless, every G has pros n cons,so u decide.

by the way who said this flx se is a joke, only 165kmh, 12 scnd century sprint,guess what, proton just being humble nowadays. look at flx 1.3 cvt spec sheet, and compare with these videos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6sCJBeAXixI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKZvXrtvESU&NR=1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZZEEZGuL1g&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-VxzQb6Ou3A&feature=related

thats when the engine is still tight. those who have been using any variant of campros will know it will be better after 5k km n even better when reaching 10k km as long as u take care ur car properly, not under tree.

some said forte 1.6, vios 1.5, altis 1.6, city 1.5 is far away faster than this baby. as far as i know, if compare from original specsheet from respective companies, they all do around 12scnd, some pointed out city is better by 11.8 sncd that is 0.2 scnd faster. is it really big different by 0.2 scnd?

by the way, lg power lg best, is lighter than this baby, for auto, if i not mistaken,officially is around 12.48 scnd.

and by the way, check us policy n jetta specs first. u cannot expect price on the road n spec will be the same for each country. the calculation on the road price also diff.have u check jetta price in german itself, europe such as uk, n make sure u calculate also hidden cost involve. u shud know also even audio, power windows n aircond for cars are optional in europe.

there is a catch for that price for jetta, even for luggage net u need to add usd 140, n splash guard which come standard nearly every carin the world,u have to pay usd 220.
      that jetta is use 2 liter engine that produce a whooping enormous 115 HORSE POWER. what a powerful engine. n 5 speed manual some more.

by the way, the price isonly for 2 choice of colors only. and remember to read the foot note

“All prices shown are the Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price. Base MSRP pricing shown. Prices exclude transportation, taxes, title and other options and dealer charges. Dealer sets actual price. Wheel prices may not include tires, TPMS sensors and suspension limiters. See your dealer for details. EPA Estimates. Your mileage will vary. Obey all speed and traffic laws Images are for reference only. Some options and accessories may not appear on your configured vehicle image. ”

even tyres not included, so drive ur jetta now illegally without tyres. so, see the dealer first will you.

i hate when malaysian nowadays lazy to read, easy to con and cheat. always belittle n insult our countrymen.

third class mentality, no wonder praising others cars while being cheated by them.

• cacamarba on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:12 am

well said..support !! :)

• kerelbort on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:31 am

naise comment! *like*

I wonder if Malaysia too follow that way, no accessories, no aircond, no reverse sensor, no in many other way… so we could get cheaper car as what ‘people power’ want..

as a plus point, i can choose what shoes i want to choose for my ride, no need to trade in for a better shoes after 10km of own usages

• ojaykb on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:36 am

overprice & low quality (p#o#o#)..pls put more reliable engine…

• ojaykb on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:46 pm

plz make it cheaper for ur own citizen..
          “rakyat di dahulukan”…

• “saga flx without tax is around 28k, while vios without tax is around 50k++. its around 22k different. ”
        Come on. You are comparing a rock and a lemon.

• not really as VIOS already sold in many countries, the cost should have reach break even and becoming much cheaper. it is using 1.5l engine that also much cheaper and break even. saga is still new as it comes only in 2008, campro engine is coming in 2004 but the num of sales for the whole proton with campro (1.3, 1.6, IAFM, CPS) still low compared the 1.5L vios engine that is also use in other models and sold in many countries. and saga is using imported gearbox in which proton cannot control the price but only can agreed with price after bargaining, sure the price is not cheap also. yet saga before tax is rm28k and vios is rm50k. if this is true i think ‘someone’ tummy is healthy enough to absorb the vios cost as it should be on par or below the saga price when comparing No tax to No tax prices.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:06 am

Stupid small lawnmover shitty car never ending face-lifting!

• droll on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:55 am

why don’t you lie down on the road and let this lawnmower run over you , reverse, run over again x repeat a few more times just to give you a nice haircut and plastic surgery facelift at the same time? :P (ok ok, no hard feelings, ya? :))

kudos to proton for really improving. they used to make stupid moves and things which as consumers we find odd because it’s not what we want.

this will definitely give the myvi extreme a good fight in the market.

• Just me on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:22 am

The longest face lifted models were variant of Iswara and Wira.These models stay in the market for so long and went thru so many round of face lift, even since I’m still in colleage until I can afford a car from national to Jap car. I suspect these new models will follow the same foot steps. The worst thing was that, the same reliability issue from the very first model exist until the last model.

• when you said that, the first to come to my mind is myvi, are you in the wrong topic?

• almost died from laughing after reading that statement of the rear lights.

“styled to stun all onlookers” hahaha the person who approved that line must have no sense of sarcasm and literal meanings.

• Audi Owner on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:22 am

This CVT gear box is made from where?

• yup, u can compare with vios, city,jetta without tax, but do you know that saga also being taxed?
    saga flx without tax is around 28k, while vios without tax is around 50k++. its around 22k different.

thats why many people shock when persona n waja in arabs only price 38k, that is the real price without tax coz we are given exemption from tax there. now u know who to be blame…but nevertheless, every G has pros n cons,so u decide.

by the way who said this flx se is a joke, only 165kmh, 12 scnd century sprint,guess what, proton just being humble nowadays. look at flx 1.3 cvt spec sheet, and compare with these videos

thats when the engine is still tight. those who have been using any variant of campros will know it will be better after 5k km n even better when reaching 10k km as long as u take care ur car properly, not under tree.

some said forte 1.6, vios 1.5, altis 1.6, city 1.5 is far away faster than this baby. as far as i know, if compare from original specsheet from respective companies, they all do around 12scnd, some pointed out city is better by 11.8 sncd that is 0.2 scnd faster. is it really big different by 0.2 scnd?

by the way, lg power lg best, is lighter than this baby, for auto, if i not mistaken,officially is around 12.48 scnd.

and by the way, check us policy n jetta specs first. u cannot expect price on the road n spec will be the same for each country. the calculation on the road price also diff.have u check jetta price in german itself, europe such as uk, n make sure u calculate also hidden cost involve. u shud know also even audio, power windows n aircond for cars are optional in europe.

there is a catch for that price for jetta, even for luggage net u need to add usd 140, n splash guard which come standard nearly every carin the world,u have to pay usd 220.
    that jetta is use 2 liter engine that produce a whooping enormous 115 HORSE POWER. what a powerful engine. n 5 speed manual some more.

by the way, the price isonly for 2 choice of colors only. and remember to read the foot note

“All prices shown are the Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price. Base MSRP pricing shown. Prices exclude transportation, taxes, title and other options and dealer charges. Dealer sets actual price. Wheel prices may not include tires, TPMS sensors and suspension limiters. See your dealer for details. EPA Estimates. Your mileage will vary. Obey all speed and traffic laws Images are for reference only. Some options and accessories may not appear on your configured vehicle image. ”

even tyres not included, so drive ur jetta now illegally without tyres and it is EXCLUSIVE of TAX. so, see the dealer first will you.

i hate when malaysian nowadays lazy to read, easy to con and cheat. always belittle n insult our countrymen.

third class mentality, no wonder praising others cars while being cheated by them.

• why need sarcasm when u can shoot bull’s eye?

• what happened to my comments?
    itsok, replay

yup, u can compare with vios, city,jetta without tax, but do you know that saga also being taxed?

even tyres not included, so drive ur jetta now illegally without tyres. so, see the dealer first will you.

• Anwar on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:55 am

Based on EON website site, Saga FLX 1.3 CVT executive (metallic) in Peninsular Malaysia is RM 44,998.00 OTR vs RM 42,698.00 OTR in Langkawi. The price difference is only RM2,300. It means Proton is not heavily taxed.

Saga without tax at RM28k? Are you referring to the basic model without power windows and zero accessory, selling for RM32k? You can still buy that today.

• ha..ha..thats why i said, malaysian easily to be cheated. I’m not blaming the G to cover up real proton price without tax in langkawi, it only exempted from sales duty, but not the whole tax. Simple explanation, if people know the real price, u know what will happen to the G.

U can do your own research from singapore custom or even our own on the price. Or just ask the taxi owners who have been given if i not mistaken half of the tax.

If u know any people related malaysia my second home programme (mm2h),u can get the list on all car prices in malaysia without tax including proton n perodua. U will be shock on how heavily we are being taxed even for our own makers. Internet is borderless world, search for it.

I have the list, but since it is p n c n only for those who apply for it,so cannot list it out. But if im not mistaken,its already on the net before, dunno whether already been blocked by u know who…ha…ha..

One more things, owners of car dealers including proton have all the details, from the car cost, taxes n dealer profit margin before final retail price. Also manage to look at it before. Profit for dealer varies according to cars(for prtn), starting from 3k untill 15 k per car. Thats why when sales person gets staff price car, its actually retail price minus dealer profit, but still with tax.
        So, read, read n read. Learn about economy structure, tax structure n etc. Knowledge is everywhere as long as u know where to search for it.
        But if u r lucky, u still can find the list of tax free cars in malaysia on the net.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Stupid idiot try to argue until the cow come home. The small different in selling price in Langkawi for Saga is because of sales tax. For Middle East, it is tax free (no excise and import and sales tax), but Saga export there without tax still can’t compete, so they give “subsidy” that resulted below cost price.

However, the 6′ @ 90 Kg Arab is not dumb and dupe into buying Saga, as the size of Saga is too small for them. Ford Focus and Mits Lancer (stupid rebadge Inspira) are selling less than RM 50K.

• Reader on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:22 pm

You are full of bull shit. If you start giving excuse of PNC it’s supports the fact that you are talking shit. All imported cars have the taxes published openly and available from Customs, no such thing as confidential.

• can u get prtn price without tax from customs openly?
            But u can get them from singapore customs before coe.
            Just google amino world u can get the list. Somebody already posted it before in this blog. So next time, read, read n read,dont be lazy.

• wan-g on Nov 27, 2011 at 6:52 pm

ada lagi kat internet cuba cari kat 4shared

• Murphy on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:43 am

its still a shitty crappy car…. Full Stop.

• Rahman on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:59 am

Haiya, this the real attitude of Malaysian especially those who never own or drive various type of car,

Seems those who blindy bashing Proton are underprivellege people, sad, they never have the experience of driving other cars that’s why they never knows the plus and minus of Proton compare to other cars..

But again sad, sad, sad, poor them, underprivilege couple with s.t.upid.i.ty and laz.y, lazy to read, and lazy to seek more knowledge. All they know is bash..bash and condemn blindly..

Sometime I feel funny coz those soul are poor peoples..or poor person ..not because of material wealth but because of their blind praise for the Foreign model…

But then.. who can blame them..poor people cannot afford Japanese or Continental car..may be in their dream..or maybe if their income is slighty better they can afford Vios J Spec.. that will make them happy

For me I have driven Toyota Vios (own by my father), Mercedes E240(own by my father), MyVI SE(own by my mother), Honda Stream 2.0 RS 2010(own by my younger brother), Honda City 1.5-2011 and Mazda 3-2011(own by my younger sister), drive Avanza(own by my older sister)

And because of that I know the advantage and disadvantage of Japanese and Continental car compare to Proton

Sad, sad, sad, i pity them, poor soul who never got chance of driving Japanese and continental car, thats why they keep bashing and banging their head..

Haiya , who knows how they pay their internet bill, I think maybe the bill is still being paid by their papa and mama money..

• Murphy on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Rahman… first of all… i guess you dont know the feeling of driving your very own hard earned car… therefore u wont feel the pain after knowing after u earned so hard n buy a car like proton which disappoint you in terms of value for money and obviously quality and reliability. So kid…. before u feel sorry for others…. u should take a good look at yourself… im pretty sure most of the readers here love our country malaysia as much as every1 else (mayb as much as u love video games and toys cuzz from your posting.. im guessing ur still a kid) and we do not want to criticize Proton… but enough is enough…. after all this years, we expect at least a korean standard quality… but unfortunately its not happening… and prolly for another decade if things dont change (if u know wat i mean.. kiddo)( read some newspapers and watch more news) we have bought and drove proton, japanese and European cars while u still sipping br++st milk… but like we all matured people said… truth hurts.. people buy proton due to their financial capabilities…even proton and the government knows it… that is why imported cars are taxed so much…. wake up kid… i feel sorry for you for not getting enough education.

• Rahman Hashim on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Hi Murphy , nice reply you have up there,

Actually I’am not a kid, I might get futher education next year, I prefer to talk in Manglish since easy to be understand here, Am working now already 4 years since I graduated, I own Gen2 1.6 (CPS) by my own money, and I know what do you mean by your comment up there. Here are what Gen2 have given me :-

1. Firm ride, high speed stability up to 195kph,(despite being standard) the best ride and handling in 1.6/1.5 cc class (Japanese and M’sian car), equipped with ABS and Electronis Brake Assist, 2 airbag only, Drive by Wire Throttle,

2. Good engine (despite being loud due to insufficient sound-proofing ), I say good but not in term of fuel saving like Toyotas or Hondas) . Never give me trouble, drive up to Butterworth from JB, and to Kuala Terengganu back to JB via Endau Rompin Mersing , many trip to K.L from JB, almost every monthe per year, (ride and handling very good and sharp, comparable to small Continental despite being 1.6 especially in corners, winding road)

3. I don’t want to discuss about Continental car, way above Malaysian and Japanese, despite electronic occasionally giving headche .

4. Not all Japanese are good, like Avanza , mileage 70,000 already got problem with aircon compressor magnetic devicey cost my older sister rm300 to change, rear absorber gone dead , power window creaking like 8 year old car, some plastic underneath the dash board drop by itself, at 90k mileage- drive shaft gone kaput-drive shaft squeaking and tyres wobbled like hell when cornering-feeled almost detached (whilst my Gen2 still tight and sharp, despite being driven harsh)

5. Toyotas(other than Avanzas) and Hondas best fuel efficient engine, engine robustness and reliability, good build quality, except plastic interior still look cheap but above the Protons. Vios ride handling inferior to Honda City and Gen2/Neo, feels like a boat while cornering, Honda City-better ride and handling than Vios, better in performance driving than VIOS.

6.To be continued..

• irwan on Nov 27, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Rahman,

Great opening statement, and all those paragraphs.

But I yet to see any comparison from your wealth of experience except the pitying remark for those who can’t afford to drive a lot of cars.

As you “know the advantage and disadvantage of Japanese and Continental car compare to Proton”, I wasn’t expecting a run down of full reviews on those cars, but could you please at least, state the general advantage and disadvantage among those cars you’ve driven?

• A MUST READ REVIEW THAT CHALLENGES THE NORMAL MALAYSIAN MENTALITY

Had all these japanese and proton cars once upon a time.

I have had the Proton Perdana V6 which s sold off in 2 years after losing rm40,000. Lets not even talk about that FAILURE here.

Then I had the Honda Accord which was actually rather good. Too good that it was stolen!!

Then I bought a Toyota Camry and what a mistake it was. I will tell you more in awhile.

OK here is the 4-4-1.

Proton. HOW MANY BLOODY TIMES DO YOU LAUNCH A DAMN FACELIFT??????? I understand engine variants, but, that too should be launched early. Many people who can just afford a Saga are regretting now. And I am pretty sure, a PROTON isnt gonna be their next car. SO BRAND LOYALTY OF A PROTON?

You must realize by now, only reason ppl buy a proton IS and WILL ALWAYS be the PRICE. PERIOD!

It is a worthied car. Cheap and practical.
      No joy driving it. Some mad people modify their car and make it look more like a cereal box. JPJ should catch these HID/Loud Exhaust/Irritating car and crush them. Makes the world a better place. I was driving my camry and some funny looking car comes tailgate me at the middle lane? Funny I hit the brake and he goes out of control. Turn out to be a saga.

Do you actually think it is nice driving a Saga? My wife owns one. She bought the 1st BLM. At rm39k, VERY WORTH IT buy. Focus on WORTH IT. we are not talking about looks, performance, handling, Fc, etc etc.
      I would say the ride is stiff(would be a good point if you used that as a racing car, unfortunately, most Saga are bought by females and college students, thus, proving Proton doesn’t even have a proper production strategy),
      petrol consumption is worst than my 2.4 i-vtec,
      seats are ok and cheap, interior serves its purpose besides being cheap and plastic. SO its cheap. nothing more. u can say a Saga is a good car. It is good only because it is cheap!!

and the most important point would be service centre are full of nonsensical idiots running the show!!!
      ONCE THEY FORGOTTEN TO PUT BACK THE BRAKE PADS after servicing them. I mean how stupid can you get??
      Only other person who is much stupid than that is our DPM and our DG of health(maths and sc in BM?? and english is the only way to learn english??? and 32 new medical school in 3 years???). Unrelated but serves a point here as comparison. STUPID IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT for these jokers. NO Evaluation of intelligence.

Proton are just cheap. Hence people buy them. Don’t try to say otherwise, you KNOW it is true and it is because of people trying to cover up for Proton, DPM and DG of health, MALAYSIA will soon be in deep trouble.

Now go one step up. Japanese. Brand loyalty is their main concern. Except Mitsubishi(and you know who caused that).
      Updates for Service, promos, new cars. When i walk into a service centre for both my honda and toyota, I really do feel it was worth it paying Rm170,000 for a executive sedan. the cars they produced ONCE felt top notch. Their engines never gave me problem, quite, smooth, practical, environmentally friendly, blah blah blah.

UNTIL, I test drove the VW passat. Bloody hell, rm180,000 with all those features? The VW built was must more sturdier than my camry. Immediately I felt the difference.
      Engine Tsi, DSG, Touchscreen, Autodim, Lane Assist, FC, TECHNOLOGY, COMFORT, DRIVING… THE GERMAN’s HAVE THEM ALL!!! Some things you dont hear from a toyota AT ALL. oh yeah, germans dont have the hybrids but thats ok, their engines are much more efficient. So if I wanna save fuel, i drive slow and if i wanna Burn it, I step the pedal to medal.

The Japs doesnt even come a standard 6 air bags. Pathetic much??No touch screen and fancy gizmos? And only then i realized my camry actually is pretty bad. handling is messed up, comfort is minimal, no fancy gadgets or gizmos and I payed Rm170,000 for this huge pile of japanese brand??? Only fancy item is the STARTSTOP and the hid maybe?

So since, i was in Glenmarie, i went over to Audi (A4 rm240k, A6 rm350k) and then Mercedes (c200 FL rm270k) at federal. AND it blew me away. all of them FANTASTIC cars!!! The features makes the japs look like a Proton. Now now dont get so angry. Some of you may be thinking that protons are better than toyotas. Let me explain.

German cars are NOT WORTH IT. they are overpriced in our sad malaysia. but that doesn’t matter, if you truly understand, performance, handling, comfort, class, beauty, you would now stop talking about the rubbish with the Tiger logo being powerful or what not. Engineering is so much more valuable than creating a piece of metal. ART is what the germans make.

The key point here is WORTH IT or not.
      The CHEAPEST PROTON(SAGA/Persona) is worth it. (ZERO TECH, GOOD PRICE, same like your city/civic or worse your altis/vios. period) Im not saying these protons are better than toyota. You must realize, there is a reason why toyota used to be the world largest car company and proton isnt anywhere near.

Any thing more of your ringgit, go for a VW(Polo,Golf, Jetta, Passat)/Pug/Ford or if you really cant afford a few extra thousands, a Toyota or Honda but that is only if YOU cannot afford the extra thousands. I totally understand how important those extra thousands are. BUT….
      VW are much more superior than the Toyotas. If you are an automobile enthusiast, then you will understand why when u test drive the Camry 2.4v VS Passat 1.8/ GOLF TSI/ POLO TSI/ JETTA TSI.
      *but becareful VW always had a problem with design(right from the Bug to the Golf Mk1 and beyond). Their focus is minimalist. They don’t shout out loud but they do have a powerful belly that will smoke many other premium cars out there.

Now you will be expecting me to say a lil about the Kia. I have to say they are improving. My mother in law has the Citra. Baaaaaaaaaaaad car. Loud engine, bad seats, poor gear ratio, UGLY!!! But she likes it. Not an enthusiast, she. I cant blame her.
      Yeah the forte designers started out a revolution. Design is pretty nice. Yet, somehow, it still does seem VERY CHEAP. You must agree with me on this. The DRL on the Sportage really spoils the look. Cheap looking DRL. Like one u get from the chinese accessory shops? If they did want to put DRL, charge a bit more and put real beautiful LEDs. Sorento is pretty masculine tho.
      The Forte? in my opinion is better than the city/vios. WHY? good features at a good PRICE. Thats it.

BEFORE you guys comment on a car, think whether the car is WORTH IT or NOT.
      And remember cheap cars are cheap because they LACK a lot of stuff. Period. So dont go on telling people your SAGA is awesome or you MYVI takes sharp corners with their new 1.5 avanza engines. And dont go around comparing the o-100 on a rm46k car. it was never built for that. it may have the style of a sports car but deep down u know its a campro not a TSI or a prince.

Do realize I never spoke about PERODUA. I hate those lil cars. Total rip off. SO MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE COMPARED TO THE PROTON!! NOT WORTH IT.
      Just because they use Toyota’s technology doesnt mean they are a TOYOTA. SC still bad as hell, A high spec MyVI is unreasonably priced. I mean what are they tryng to prove? THE ENGINE IS LOUD AS HELL, THE RIDE IS UNSTABLE, THE GEAR RATIO IS MESSED UP AN SHIFTS LIKE A OSTEOARTHRITIC JOINT, SEAT CANT EVEN HOLD U IN ONE PLACE, AND IT IS DEFINITELY NOT A FAMILY CAR with that size. Again people who tend to buy these cars are our ladies and people who do not appreciate automobile.

The thing with proton and perodua, is that. they keep competing with each other that they have forgotten the world. What they are doing here is REMODELLING old cars to be suited for all these BIMBOTIC youth who wanna look nice in fancy fast car. Do realize all new Saga, MYVI are based on the same platforms as their predecessor.
      YES i agree, saga and myvi can reach 170kmh.0-100kmh in 12s.
      But are THEY SAFE????? THEY WERE NEVER BUILT FOR THAT REASON. U tell your son to crash into a lorry with an S-class at that speed and he still wouldn’t survive. But the S-class is built in a way to AVOID the collision from happening. The Pre-safe system in the mercedes is totally brilliant. check it out if you are free. But our MYVI and Saga lack all these fancy gizmos. i dont blame them as they are priced that way. BUT THAT ONLY MEANS, LIMIT THE SPEED!!!! Not bring out cars which can go faster but no increase on safety measure. I still haven’t heard of a 3rd and 4th airbag/ REAR BREAK DISK in these cars. Very sad I tell you. forget about EURO NCAP ratings for the Protons and perodua. Better just look at the news papers for fatal accidents involving these cars. THE PERDANA had rear disk break but NO AIR BAG untill now. (I keep hoping the DPM and the DG of health crash their perdana with them in the driver seat. would like to see how they think after that? Probably he would want to introduce BM in english language after that? and then maybe the DG would starts allowing all unrecognized medical schools to be recognized again. BRIBE MONSTERS. )

PROTON AND PERODUA are making “beautiful” fast looking cars that appear to be safe. And then they put minimal safety effort to the car and try to promote it to our youth. If I was 17 and i can afford a car that had the same colour to Bumblebee the Camaro I would buy it thinking I could get some chick. Anyone would. I dont blame u for buying a car as such but be aware of the principle of usage.

Bottom line is still WORTH IT or not. And dont get your kids cars. make them take the public transport. Few days ago my colleagues son died in a car crash. NOT surprisingly he was in a Myvi. He knocked into a tree.

This is the truth about the malaysian attitude on buying cars. Looks is not everything. Worth it or not plays the biggest factor.
      I am sorry if I did offend anyone. But realizing is the 1st step.

So I came home from my trip to German showrooms, evaluated my Camry. Sold my Camry for Rm145,00 and placed my booking for an Audi A6. Rm350k. That is a HUGE leap. But you might just wanna take a look at the car. B-E-A-UTIFUL. So sexy and i probably wont sell it for the next 15 years. so in my case, IT IS WORTH IT.

I will be getting it somewhere in 6 mths, so in the meanwhile, I’ll just use my wife’s sag….., OH NO scrap that….. I would just use the cab to work.

p/s i gotta convince my wife to get a VW Golf. Would be nice to have a hot hatch at home as well. Any ideas?

• u write so much, until ppl lazy to read….

• Rahman Hashim on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Wow A VERY GOOD REVIEW ,AN UNBIAS COMMENT for the whole car scenarios in MALAYSIA! Thumbs UP for your good comment ! Lazy people only know how to bash but they never truely understand or to try to comprehend!

• justice on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:21 pm

i think u hv ‘test-drive’ lots of cars.. ~ agreed with most of the comments~

• thunder cats on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:59 am

now this is what u call facelift instead of just rojak cosmetic changes done by Toyota with their innova n sampan avanza n other models especially on the 4 speed box,,,good work proton,,,,,,

• kerelbort on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:33 am

sampan is good for flood season.. tenggelam with it for good.. hehehe

• kacimara on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:05 am

“FLX SE’s 1.6L Campro puts out 108 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The current Executive 1.6L with 4AT makes 110 hp at 6,500 rpm and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm”
    how about fuel consumption?

my personal think it should be more fuel compare to the FLX SE’s 1.6L in urban road since it less torque and add it at HP.
    more HP mean more RPM.

• Once again Tahniah in advance to Proton Saudi Arabia!

Over there this Saga 1.6 only cost RM24,522.18 full-spec plus with traction control ESP, 10 airbags and the best power window in the world!

• albag on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:14 am

lagi power lagi cepat mati dalam milo tin!

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:51 am

1.6 with cvt still takes 12 sec for 0-100km sprint? I tot it can at least par with myvi 1.5

• as ur name suggest, u r n idiot. Myvi 1.5 auto, century sprint 12.49 second. My bad before coz stated 12.48 scnd in previous comment,typo.
      Flx 1.6 cvt 12.00 scnd. It is not on par,but even better. Haiya, another type of lazy to read n fail upsr math paper. Sorry for being harsh but u deserve it.

• razee hussin on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:54 am

I REALLY LOVE THE PROGRESSIVENESS OF PROTON..ALL THESE YEARS MUCH IMPROVED…BUT MY CONCERN STILL ON QUALITY ISSUE…AND EXPENSIVE MAINTENANCE / PART REPLACEMENT COMPARE TO PERODUA…CAN ANYBODY HELP ME ON THIS…ANY EXPERIENCE?

• whyalwaysme on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:59 am

i like this saga very much…saw one earlier this week…if im rich enuff, would buy one with CASH!!! (now i dont like hutang2 – car, home already hutang…tamau tambah2)

• soundsfishy on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:29 am

if i hv cash, i dont want to spend my hard earned money on this crap…

• _xXx_ on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:09 am

org SE dia SE jugak. FLX Extreme tu bila plak?

• kopiais on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:14 am

Why would my peers be pressured by this? Bodoh betul.

• ayamxxx on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:20 am

last effort by the Stupid proton.
    old saga cannot sell; they put ah beng bodykit.

old trash inspira cannot sell: they give bonus of rm10k.

what a lousy of a car company.!

• what kind of lousy statement is that. i am welcoming P1 to offer a much lower prices. rm10K cheaper for inspira is lousy. in don’t get it. P2 not even giving discount yet selling it much expensive that P1. this what i call lousy.

• mizzuddin945 on Nov 27, 2011 at 8:00 pm

sure there are rm10k discount..? i’m looking forward for inspira 1.8mt besides soon to be launched P3-21a to replace my former PE

• ultrajo on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:32 am

VW also got discount maa…8K lagii…

• littlefire on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:24 am

Chinese cars also achieved 4 star official ratting in EURO NCAP… P1 how’s ur car safety standard? Have any official ratting out?

http://star-motoring.com/News/2011/Chinese-car-makers-showing-progress-in-safety.aspx

• Absolute Rider on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Proton Exora and even the Saga also archived 4 Star. U really only want to bash Proton. U didn’t know the cars being send to Spain for crash test. Even other countries for other test including wind tunnel test and also cold weather testing and so on…

• littlefire on Nov 26, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Dude, that is just prototype test crash..

The only real test tested by EURO NCAP is this car only… (impian = waja at 2009)

http://www.euroncap.com/results/proton.aspx

I hope u understand between prototype test crash & the real EURO NCAP standard!

Proton until now still dont have release official result regarding the safety standart, the most i can get is from miros which Perodua Alza, Myvi & Exora ( all 4 star).. The rest?!?

We r plain white mouse on the road, without any proper or official result of proven safety…

• casey_c on Nov 27, 2011 at 11:53 am

My Godness, cannot find PERODUA in the link provided by you. Dahsyat…
          And please do not tell me Perodua is Daihatshu cos: beat to death, I will not accept Perodua is Daihatsu

• learner on Nov 27, 2011 at 1:57 pm

prototype test is for improvement. what make you think the production version of the prototype is no better?

• littlefire on Nov 28, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Check the EURO NCAP link regarding the Proton Impian ( Waja), do our local waja have 4 air-bags?

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/proton_impian_2002/116.aspx

Driver frontal airbag
            Front passenger frontal airbag
            Side body airbags

So does our local unit really improve/better compare to those sent for the test?!?

• hay man, that is NCAP which is not PROTOTYPE. the one you said tested in SPAIN is prototype. SAGA and EXORA got 4 stars. first talk about prototype than jump to ncap which is for WAJA.

yes local market don’t have 4 airbag, but h-line models all got the safety features such as airbag, ABS, EBA, airbag, passive safety bla bla.

and to be FAIR both TOYOTA and HONDA also got 2 airbag in MALAYSIA!

• scoobie8 on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:26 am

y am i not seeing a manual tranny?

• Fluid on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:49 am

Pressure your peers?!?!?!

Lets hope the pressure in the CVT doesn’t give way first…

• To all Saga 1.6 new potential buyers, you folks must pressure Proton to give:

1. LifeTime Warranty for whole car and,
    2. LifeTime Free Service Maintenance (parts + labour)

Otherwise, it’s not worth wasting your money!

• it looks like a good buy…. 15″ rims, leather seat, CVT… compare to P2 1.5L with no CVT & old Avanza engine….

• Cikut on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:18 am

Read all the ‘price comparing’ comments… Less tax etc etc….

Other manufacurer (including Koreans) cheaper because they have the economic of scale, but not P1. So give them a chance….. they are just 25+ yrs old now…. comparing to Hyundai which was founded in 1967 (no need to mention the Contis and Japs)…. (refer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Motor_Company)

The diff is, P1 kena bash by the citizen of its own origin country… but the koreans and Japs got the support from their own citizen… Just look at any Jap co in Malaysia…. Corporate car sure Camry…. Malaysian corporate???? And i bet malaysian working in UK, wont buy a P1 there…. :) Once the economic of scale is there, te price will be cheaper followed by better quality.

Just sharing some view here…. Peace!

• Is not about age or what so ever.. if you know how much corruption ran deep down in this company and it’s crowny suppliers for 25+ years.. i sure bash it 99.

I know they are trying to change, I will give them a chance, but I won’t buy any P1 for now. Once they have sort out their internal problems, then I will go to them.

Also just sharing some view of why ppl hate it down to the guts… Peace!

• korean oso dont like korean car that much coz they feel marginalize by their own car who prefer cheaper, better quality and safety car for export…but car korean car is the cheapest option for them..

• i asked a few of my business partner from Hyo Sung industries.. they said.. “we have our own car.. why should we use others? but K7 is too expensive”

i aint going to comment anything on his words..up to you guys to figure out why he said what he said..

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:20 am

No need to sing praises for this crappy overpriced car. Say no to Proton.

• Sonic Boomz on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:22 am

Adjust gearbox a bit, facelift a bit, increase engine CC a bit..

All the Proton fanboys jizz in their pants..

LOL

• Din Jebon on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:23 am

Kereta luaran cantik tapi luar agak kurang baik tapi yg peliknya harga mahal contohnya MYvi and Viva. viva saiz kecil tapi harga lebih kurang SAMA dengan BLM rugi klu ada family ramai. lebih baik beli BLM..

• zainal abidin on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:45 am

I own and drive an FL 1.3 Auto bought in January 2011. So far so good about the car. Everything’s OK. The only gripe is the fuel tank range. From a 40 liter tank mileage only ~330km town and ~420km highway (minimal use of aircond and driving at road legal speed). Once the fuel indicator bar start to blink there’s probably an extra 60km or so if you dare to test until just before the fuel finish.

I do recommend Proton install a new 46 – 50liter tank into this FL / FLX. And I think all present and future owners will agree to this.

• wah..that thirsty ka? My Polo can go 550 km for rm 70 with lenjang + highway mode + city mode…don’t know that saga is this thirsty…who here know how much myvi consume for full tank?

• umpgambang on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:00 pm

i bet u are giving wrong information.. u so sure that u pump full tank.. 40L to run 330km in city? dub bullshit me. my classmate has a Saga.

• zainal abidin on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:05 pm

No I’m not. If your friend can drive his saga blm/fl 1.3 auto to lets say plus an extra 100km town and highway cycle, please mr umpgambang I would like to know how he does it. Thank you.

• zainal abidin on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:00 pm

And 40 liter tank does not mean you drive until the fuel finish and then you’ll have to push your car. 330km is driving until the moment the last fuel indicator bar starts blinking. After that there is an extra ~60km but of course I don’t drive until the fuel runs out. When I refill petrol a full tank i usually refill until one can see petrol almost coming out.

As I’ve said, if any SAGA BLM/FL 1.3 AUTO owner can drive to let’s say 400km city and 500km highway driving (normal everyday driving), please please do share with us your secret. Thanks again.

• umpgambang on Nov 26, 2011 at 9:23 am

Basically no secrete..He drives normally. Not slow but also not revving. 1 happiness for you to share with, his Saga first year driving at highway for a length of 100km uses 2 bar for the first year owning his car, recently it never takes more than 1 bar. I think it might due to the fact that a new engine is less runnable compare to a well soaked with engine oil for some short’s time engine.

• LOL! I drive my saga BLM SE 1.3 A (2010) from penang to KL (140-150KM/H) rm60 meh.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Nov 26, 2011 at 4:40 am

Sdr Zainal, the simplest solution so far is to replace ur exaust manifold to 4-2-1 outlet and change ur piping to a slightly bigger than std. Everage FC should be around 400km for every 36 lt, not 40. Ur car can travel about 80km more when indicator blinks.
      For BLM you can never use the extra 3 lt in ur tank. Ive recorded all my FC since day 1 for my BLM.

• blmers on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:10 am

with rm 74 my blm can go as far as 481km..
      no highway..
      this counted from start blinking until its blinking again..
      dunno this was good or not, but i satisfied..

• zainal abidin,
      Thanks for your posting. At least I know I am not alone in this.
      I own a Proton Saga BLM 1st Gen (2008) and I have the same problem with the fuel consumption.

I think what you meant is 40 L (rated) but in actual fact, if your condition and mine are the same, you are doing 330km on around 28L of fuel. I fill up my tank and when the last bar starts to blink I fill it again and it takes about 28L. I can do 360km on mixed highway and town WITHOUT aircond on AND driving at 80km/h, maintaining 2400 rpm.

This “beast” is a guzzler. with a 1.3 it is severely underpowered. Hopefully with a 1.6 it will do some justice.

• stupid ever saga i’ve ever seen

• soundsfishy on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:05 am

p1 likes to give a lot of second thought when produce a model. can expect 10 different versions for each model. So nx time, don’t buy the first version when it comes out. Are they doing repairing jobs here???

• tokmoh on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Tell that to Perodua too, king of making special limited exclusive elegance etc edition.

Did that stop them becoming no1? Seems more like it made them THE no1. If I am the MD of Proton, observing this kinda strategy worked for them, I’d do the same too. U jelly?

• Sonic Boomz on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:29 pm

The strategy looks quite frivolous..

Amazing thing though, is that all the Proton fanboys fall for it..

They just love getting screwed.

• stop arguing…. both are crap….they do shit cars to cheat Malaysian…if the country remove the taxes on import cars(which will not in anytime soon)….i bet both firm will close down soon…

• Kasanai on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:10 am

I wish they put in nice design daylight running lights, as there are still many people who forget to turn on lights at night.
    Also, how many years warranty they giving for the CVT gearbox? Replacement will not be cheap.

• alfie60 on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:31 pm

This is what happen when Proton took all the profit from selling the shitty overprice cars to the Malaysians and dump all the the money in Lotus.

With little money left cannot develop new model only alternative is cosmetic changes and shitty engine upgrade on a dated model.

Read in The Star business section Proton profit is only around $5m plus cause absorbing loses in Lotus.

We sacrifice for 26 years buying these shitty cars and the billions of profit is injected into Lotus and the shitty Proton management gamble in the global LEVEL playingfield without prior exposure and experience except in hiring some mat salleh staff to lead us into the it.

Dont have to be a genius to guess what is coming after this shitty model…yup a 2000cc engine!!!

I guess DSZ is banking hard to earn more revenue from service and parts now that we have to go to them for 10 years to qualify for the shitty elusive power window warranty.

Someone should close or sell off Proton because our national pride has become a national burden for the rakyat now!!!

• wheeler on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:07 pm

wow, comments full of shitty word..

• autojohndoe on Nov 25, 2011 at 7:17 pm

from shitty brain…

• Some thought for the Day (which explain why Alfie has a shitty brain full of shitty ideas): Never Hold Your Farts In They travel up your spine, into your brain, and that is where shitty ideas come from!!!!

• yrauzim on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:33 pm

hello DSAI

• Safe Driver on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:08 pm

The day you stop support P1/P2 and let it die, the day you are able to buy better quality and safer cars. Truth hurts. But you know it’s true.

I believe a lot of us never even taste the true quality of a better make. The smell of the fine leather, the beauty of a finishing touch, the purr and roar of the engine sounds. I feel u.

The day will come. And it’s sooner than you think. Rakyat sudah marah.

• cruel on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:42 pm

We want the Campro CFE Turbo ASAP!!!

Come on Proton, please make sure that Tuah will be ‘the car’ that Proton needs as catalyst to compete with other global car makers.

• wheeler on Nov 25, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Well, if I look at the Saga series so far, this is the best improvement Proton has ever made to this model (read carefully, best improvement, not the best model ok?) Saga has gone a long way and having a cvt with 1.6 cc engine makes it even a better offer. Perhaps this is the starting where Proton cars could change the perspective of many Malaysians. Dont take my words for it, go and test drive.

• critic_A on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:01 pm

SAGA FLX 1.6 Campro CPS
    will it ever come after this????

• critic_A on Nov 25, 2011 at 3:10 pm

reading thur the comme just making me sick!
    wat ever proton do u basher sure bitch about it~
    u basher suxsssssss
    yawn~~~ ZZZzzzzzzzzz

• leong on Nov 25, 2011 at 4:42 pm

is that mean this CVT gear box is able to apply on Persona too?

• chua kai voon on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:33 pm

good effort from P1. decent lookin rakyat’s car. Hopefully it comes with an affordable price tag.

• kimball on Nov 25, 2011 at 6:12 pm

wonder if Saga FLX R3 with 1.6 campro CFE and manual box will ever come out…

• i guess it below 50k… or we might be surprise P1 may be stick or slightly increase with old price of Saga Elegance 1.6L is priced at RM46,549. … that my 2cent.

• shawal on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:28 pm

a mechanic once told me that the body shell of proton cars are more rigid than peroduas, which means they are nicer to drive and fares better in collisions…
    however…
    He also mentions that proton sprays-on the anti-rust on the body shell, therefore they might miss a few spots, especially the underbody, and hidden holes for screws and wirings… while perodua follows japan’s technique , they submerge the whole thing into a pool of anti-rust, so the liquid will flow through even inside the holow structures of the shell, so over time, especially in our hot and humid weather, perodua’s stays pristine..

Dis iz whut he sez.., I myself not to sure, have anyone heard of this and can clarify..?

• critic_A on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:03 pm

critic_A will ans ur question
      this is discovery channel discovering how proton make cars and the best thing is they show us that proton does submerge the whole car into a pool of anti rust liquid :)
      skip the video to 3min then u shall see it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DzVzp12pbw

proton always has been great~ but mindless ppl (whom only believe in rumours who r also happens to b basher) wanted to bring it down.

• Shawal, that is not accurate. I’ve been to the Proton Tg. Malim plant, they submerged the thing, for a whole 15 mins or more. It’s a conveyer belt system that carry the car (while still in skeletal form) right into the pool. Anyway, rusting is never a problem with Proton car so that should speak for itself.

• superman83 on Nov 26, 2011 at 12:32 am

Correction, cars are equipped with anti perforation coating.. anti rust is no longer available except for seaside states. On the other hand, anti perforation last longer then anti rust. Major car player are switching to anti perforation as anti rust is quite costly.
      Submerged is true but perforation coats and not anti rust coat.

Talking about rigidity, cars body parts are manufactured using hot stamping and this stamping metal sheets can go up to 10 layers. Usually for european cars, metal consist of 5-7 layers while proton have 4-5 layer, perodua 2-4 layers. How do u identify thickness? Open ur doors and measure the weight and thinkness.

This clarification is 150% accurate from my R & D studies on body mechanical philosophy. Metal sheets are expensive and stamping machines can cause up to millions of dollars, that is why carmakers are sharing platforms or rebadging to cut cost.

The saga fl comes with strong rigidity body with engineered calculation, this car will drive feel of european standard but with certain cost cutting loops but its safe for you and your passengers.

To answer on people’s comment, say what you wanna say, buy whatever u can buy but this car will still be launched to cater people who needs a car. Needs an aircond, needs of travel and needs of balik kampong. Talking bout govt subsidies this and that, proton is now out of govt support financially but by made in malaysia support. Govt has set the rulings and conditions, how can we argue bt taxations on cars whereby this article is bout the saga flx se. Cant we all start input logical comments and tips of improvement so if do happen proton is watching, they take comments and note the impposibilities to make it. Think malaysians.. we are globally challenge and we are the people who turn things from better to best… commenting on non relevance are not going to make proton improve so please be logic and helpful when commenting.. you are the person who make the product good.

• Absolute Rider on Nov 26, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Don’t just listen shawal. you have to see it for yourself.

let me tell you. proton’s tanjung malim high tech factory is based on the company who designed Toyota’s factory in Japan..

remember PERODUA NOT THE SAME AS TOYOTA / DAIHATSU.

• shawal on Nov 28, 2011 at 9:40 pm

thanks for the infos guys…

• Ahmed on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Those who support potong are either cannot afford other brand or they are potong sales man . Sad fact . But you can only change your fate yourself. Don’t harap your government. Harap pagar pagar makan padi. Opppps Paul tan pls don’t use the word LEAK. Coz is only potong . Leak tak leak pun tak penting. Sekain.

• ok, SEKAIN.

• sembang cam bagus je ko ni. ntah2 ko pon peon gomen jugak kot. tapi kuat ngular, ngopi ngan makan duit tepi. pepagi datang ofis, punch in, pastu blah balik umah, mencapap ngan awek. memandai je pagar makan padi la, potong la, kain la. smue ader la ko ni mat.

• linear_system on Nov 26, 2011 at 2:42 pm

it is comment like this that make me sick..i own a new honda city..but i still love my satria neo…can u give such a concrete statement that paul cant use the word leak for proton?nonsense guy..go study..u still not finish your SPM…

• Nizam80 on Nov 25, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Is it also available in manual? Should be slightly cheaper for manual tranny, right?

• Quattro on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:16 pm

very nice saga facelift > but i would say no to buy new proton …. as long as it not come at par with korean at avery aspect especially safety and quality..some of my friends say that their saga start making noice after 2-3 years in service, while first model vios 7 years in service is still tip top.. just my own experience…

• it is simply because they service under the tree workshop. Those who service under prtn branch sc, not authorised dealer n eon, they know how their car perform.
      The same thing happen to my friend asking whether i already change my waja 2007 campro engine coz it feel n sound different from his gen2 at same age. Now he send his car to branch sc starting this year after missing so much before coz send to ah beng for service.

• Quattro on Nov 27, 2011 at 9:36 am

Hi Mat ; my friend have persona BKL still under warannty and service in proton SC, stillu making noise sana sini..compare to 7 year vios yg diservis dibawah pokok !!! since dah abis lama waranntty…itu pun masih belum mengerti…..proton is good for first 3 year and start making noise sana sini in the 4-5 years..trust me…but protong is improving a lot nowaday, no doubt bout that……gooo proton

• there are other cars also with problems. no brand is free from problems. you see more protons with issues simply because there are so many of them around. even german brands are not problem free.

• Bongcs on Nov 25, 2011 at 11:46 pm

OK !! GIVE ME MY EVO BADGE !

• sorry,typo, u can go to amenoworld.blogspot.com to get the real price of cars in malaysia under mm2h programme including proton n perodua.

• I predict FLX 1.6SE will sell at RM 48,499.00 This price can get Toyota Vios 1.5 VVT-i 2nd hand. The choice is yours, new or 2nd hand. I bet 1NZ-FE certainly can beat Campro IAFM in terms of fuel consumption and low-mid torque power.

• Mienzz on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Actually,the engine in this car is Campro IAFM ‘+’
      An improved version of Campro engine

• to clarify things, i’m never said that other cars tax are pnc, of course u can easily obtain the information, but the pnc only involve national car makers.
    If u manage to get the info from the blog that i stated, then u will be shocked. There is no 300 percent tax anymore.
    But u can see how hefty the tax even for our national cars. The get the full details price of our national cars from our customs, u must have insider to print out the list price. That is what i call pnc.
    The point here is not braging about the tax coz there is no tax free world, but to point out u cant compare saga with jetta, even with vios or city. It is in different league, not only segment,but price differences.
    Yup,there is car such logan (renault)that share the same segment n price, but not available in malaysia. But there are others available in india.
    I’m also happy if there is no tax in malaysia, but to run the country, u need income. Beside foreign investment, u also need tax.
    The most important part is to educate the future generation that will be future leaders so that they will bring people happiness.
    It is not easy to control country’s budget or even planning it. It need check and balance. If u reduce here, u have to increase there to make it balance or it will be deficit. We,as malaysian, want everything free, education free, medication free, subsidy here n there, including me, but the G need money to provide that to us.
    I know there are a lot of corruption, cronies, bribery, wrong use of money, power n etc, but that is politic.
    I believe that, even changing the G also will not solve the problem as long as we have 3rd world mentality. U can survey, how many people when they buying a car, they make a research first, atleast 6 month earlier. Finding the facts n figures, not just by hearing hearsay@word of mouth. What they r doing is just go to the dealers, being con by salesman,n make a deal.
    When buying a car, never read the manual coz think that smart enough how to operate n maintain a car. Different car, different need, different way to maintain.
    What normally malaysian know,get new car, n pimp my ride, start with sport rim n etc.
    Reading habits are really low among malaysian, thats why many comments here just due to hearsay n pointless.
    Thats why no recall in malaysia by the japs even when they recall from all over the world, why? Is it bcoz we dont care mentality. As long it is japs,koreans or even conti, everything good,perfect. How many audi tt sold in malaysia, n i found one with only one rear light, the other side, burn out. If u put that on defective rate, its really high coz only small number of audi tt in malaysia.

• Loneranger on Nov 26, 2011 at 1:38 pm

that what I’ve been telling those people before they are too arrogant to admit what ever points that u have mentioned.

why not we let them be our leader and abolish all the taxes…and see how they want to run a country without tax plus all the debts that we have now…

only then they will learn about basic Economics Knowledge..

well done bro…..

am right behind u in ths issue……:)

• people in protonbefore also have the same dont care attotude before, starting from the top, until foreman n salesman due to high sales. But now they get a wake up call.
    Since dsz coming in, there have been a lot of improvement, but hey, rome was not built in one day. It takes time to rectify things, not to mention to argue n fight with the upper side u know who.
    So, credit shud be given when its due. I all all people in prtn work harder than before, all staff,tech,engineer designer n etc. But sometimes bcoz of dishonesty, unreliable cr….vendors, all their hardwork turn to dust.
    U can see how long they tested the car before it come out n hour many hours they spend to make sure everything is good. But of course, nobody perfect.
    The owners attitude also a big problem. Thats why now prtn become really strict when come to warranty, only those who follow service schedule@sc entitled to get it.
    It is simply bcoz, some part, it is proton fault like pwr windows which already not a problem anymore, but some part is fault from the owner himself such as use imitation part, not follow service schedule n part, use wrong oils for engine,gb n etc, modification, tempering n so on.
    Same like my sis, when own wira before, after 3 free service, send to ah beng, but for vios, since own it 5 years ago, always send to toyota. When ask why, it is toyota. Why not send wira to prtn sc, no need to take care much coz it is malaysian car, send to ah beng cheaper.
    So wake up malaysian, if we want to develop to become a modern nation, we have to start thinking like one, behave like one. Always praise the japs, but attitude never follow the japs. U can see those who are driving jap cars behave on the road, still the same, always break the rules, cut the lines, honking here n there, tail gating n etc. If u really like jap cars, behave like one.
    So start with reading first. Increase ur knowledge. Dont bash blindly, do ur research@homework first.
    We need to change for the better.

• Annaeh on Nov 26, 2011 at 2:51 am

Actually the Saga is ok when compared to other car makes; there are plus and minuses. I even think overall they are at par or even better than some of the Korean and Continental cars.
    But what puts me off is the body styling, it is so boring. No amount of skirts, fairings, scoops or spoilers could make up for a very ordinary looking base styling. If only it looks more like the new Elantra or even Accent.
    Doesn’t Proton have any creative designers? If they don’t then just organize a competition among our university students, I’m sure they can get some really fantatstic body styling ideas.

• Bongcs on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:06 am

Wait ! Can it FLY ?

• fraz006 on Nov 26, 2011 at 3:47 am

1. this thing should look lil bit better than current model. saga is not ugly but can never be natural good looker due to pointless overly tall roofline. proton designer, take note.

2. however, think suspension must be revised a bit la, give a bit lowering to add stability. if not, still feels floaty like current model. besides, it can help improve the look a bit. tired of MPV height looking sedan. proton engineer, take note.

3. when will proton use more efficient AC compressor? current 1.3 AC compressor meant for 2.0 and its type is the old type (piston), nowadays, manufacturers use rotary. this explains the heavy load when AC is on. proton engineer, take note.

4. Proton deserves some praises. Now CVT, a lot smoother than last gearboxes. ABS now included. decision to put 15″ rims with wider tyre is accurate. bodykit styling not that bad.

that’s my opinion as a BLM user. hope Proton will keep improving.

• umpgambang on Nov 26, 2011 at 9:16 am

Malaysian car need cold Air con. This is why Proton has been famous for best air con cooling in it’s class.

• makeitmine on Nov 26, 2011 at 9:42 pm

This is the way to go.. Proton deserves some praises and also some critics for their own good.

I think Proton should buy some equity in commercial car parts manufacturers around the world and with Lotus Engineering to offer the latest technological design/manufacture of parts/components to other car manufacturers.

Proton cannot sell many cars for export market.. this is for sure!

The local consumer impression is that as more local components being used, the resale value of Proton car will fall. Then people will stop buying locally manufactured cars.

• Dino77 on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Fraz,

1. The tall roofline is bcause it is based it is sharing the same platform as savvy. Besides, even though it looked a bit wierd, it does give some extra headroom

2. FLX suspension had some improvement. Ride is slightly firmer compare to previous model. Please note, the car is facelift model. Not a full model change. Not much can be done regarding that.

3. FLX is using rotary type aircond compressor. You may check the compressor at the engine and google it yourself about the compressor.

4. Honestly, with a 14inch rim, the pickup is faster :P

• black series on Nov 26, 2011 at 7:11 am

proton does has creative designer but the cost to develop one is expensive. That why old car has boxy shape. if proton does make designed like korean cars n sell it, it may cost u rm70000++ or more for saga. u want that?

• Loneranger on Nov 27, 2011 at 6:19 pm

surely they will say Proton dun think bout Malaysian….as if they never care how much would Proton would fork out to produce a new model..which again they will say its a waste of their income tax money which i bet only 1.2 of the basher paying it….

• Saga 1.6SE new 2011 – RM49K ?
    Vios 1.5G used 2004 – RM51K ?

Be smart choose Vios lah!

• vios 04?an Old car with no warranty? every maintenance service above Rm200?

• Mienzz on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Don’t try to persuade others to buy ugly looks sampan handing car !

• u all are soo stupid, proton is ok, but only the price, we debate, didt mean we hate proton, if proton can make the price resonable and afordable for poor,its should be ok, because when proton debut the motto is good quality car and afordable for malaysian citizen,but now, i think melayu mudah lupa, i work as a cleaner but still cant afford proton, think again guys, maybe u all rich enough to think 32k for the lowest spec is cheap.. but for me is not cheap

• Expatriate VN on Nov 27, 2011 at 11:37 am

Complaint all the craps! Vote BN out, kick the ass of cronies from P1, if u can’t afford RM 32K, then open market all makes for second hand value is low. That time you can get shitty Saga 3 year old second at RM 5K.

• mizzuddin945 on Nov 29, 2011 at 6:26 pm

people like you who makes the opposition image coarse

never attend “usrah” but talk talk talk this sucks that sucks… only handy bila time pasang banner

• hway de Cruz on Nov 26, 2011 at 10:55 am

lots of bashers here, but when credit due, think it is proper to give lah. lots of improvement and with this upgrade,to cvt n 15″ rim, well that shud please a fair bit of potential buyers. price wise, shud they price it below 50k, this is a good buy. think one shud actually test drive first before commenting further, that will give u the actual drive patterns and handling, then u can place ur observation more accurately. afterall, paul tan started this blog to let us motorists compare notes…. it is nice if we actually can give real experiences based on actual driving, not hear say n mamak stall feedback. i drive a beemer, oledi clocked 190k…. AP unit, so far so good, great handling but petrol guzzer, so it is a weekend car only, n is it the best car? this question is based on personal preference, so it is subjective. for workdays, i drive a myvi, good for parking in crazy city traffic n reasonable on fc. is this a good car then? i could only say it serves my day to day work task, but not on comfort. so guys, with p1 upgrade of this cvt n 15″ rim, give it a real test drive, then based on ur experiences, u can give a better conclusion. minus out all those hearsay n rumours.

• skiborne on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:50 am

the FC is kinda high at 6.7 litres for 100kms

• wow…im really pressured by acceleration it can do…0-100 in 12 sec!!!!……. (=_=) ….. real junk….. don’t even know why they bother to launch new rubbish….

• auto lover on Nov 26, 2011 at 6:39 pm

All is well.

• puterakupang84 on Nov 26, 2011 at 6:56 pm

this model will be launch on 3rd December 2011…the price are same wif Proton Persona Elegance BL..RM49,499.00..

• protonmahai on Nov 26, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Mahal gile vavi la proton. Camne aku nak beli kereta kebanggaan aku kalau jual mahal nak mampus. Agak2 la proton wey.

• I’m just glad the Myvi SE and Extreme have some competition tailing their backs now. :]

• which is good….

• Yes, at least Malaysians have more options now…. no more monopolization of the ‘ Budget Sports Car ‘ market by Perodua. :]

• I’m just glad the Myvi SE and Extreme have some competition tailing their backs now.

• learner on Nov 27, 2011 at 2:02 pm

it’s not tailing, but will lead just as the saga blm is leading now.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 26, 2011 at 8:23 pm

A 7 year old Honda City is better than this car.

• honda city is a boring car, doesn’t have dynamic driving characters
      sage more stable at corners and above 100km/h
      and now no more jerks with cvt, all smooth and silky

• tiadaid on Nov 27, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Want to buy my City? You’ll eat your words.

• Still ugy

• Expatriate VN on Nov 27, 2011 at 11:51 am

Coming soon! another freak face lift for lawn mover shitty Saga. As this car market is control by Bodohland @ cronies and AP King, there are bunch of blind supporters out there will blindly support this tissue box on the wheel till kindom come. Looking at the comments attracted to this posting, more than 370 and still accumulating! The general pattern of comments are either, those bashers who know they are conned by this cronies project with NAP king maker, and those asshole blind idiot poor supporters who like to have big sell out on their souls for blindly support their cronies or AP King master.

Waite until cow come home only P1 have real improvement and come out from jaguh kampong low class status. Korean like Hyundai and Kia already sold car in term of millions, yet our P1 still fighting inside his own kampong turf guard by NAP! What an idiot that after 25 years, only talk about want to launch global small car! That also likely power by useless Cam-Tak-Pro engine with alphabets crunching like CVT, Turbo, CPS, etc, etc.

• sepot_reem on Nov 27, 2011 at 12:10 pm

typical comment from a typical basher… talk only… if u think u’re clever enough why don’t u be the next MD or CEO of Proton? then we’ll see..

• you are sick enough to repeat the same thing many times
      no matter how many times you are saying that saga is an ugly car, it’s still beautiful to me

• is a good buy for lower income ppl….. dude… not every ppl rich enough to buy imported cars…

• mizzuddin945 on Nov 27, 2011 at 8:36 pm

we give credits where deserved… and we critics for sake of improvement…

we don’t simply bash and generalize everything… we don’t jump to any conclusion as we are not in the same shoe…

the way we talks and the point we bring up do reflects

• Pullman, J on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:25 am

this is another of those people who can talk only but beyond that not capable of doing anything else. sigh…

unhappy with the automotive policy in this country, take it to another level, and don’t hide behind Paultan’s blog.

• jerry tan on Nov 27, 2011 at 2:35 pm

i believe some of the Proton’s Top Gunners will read Paultan blog here (especially popular car blogs)as they eager to know what is the market respond on their new model. So when some point out Proton weakness, it doesn’t means that they are bashing. They want improvement in the future model. If no complaint, means no improvement. If Korean cars, like Kia & Hyundai was not in Malaysia, i think the next year 2012 Proton car catalog will be like this:

1) Proton Wira 1.5SE-L (green / blue only)
    2) Proton Saga Iswara 1.3 GL-X (red / white only)
    3)Proton Waja 1.6 XL-S (silver / black only)
    4) Perdana V6 (silver / black only)

the rest….not existed

• Murphy on Nov 27, 2011 at 10:49 pm

put aside the hate n love for proton… lets face the fact…. if imported cars today not taxed so bloody high… we all could be driving city n vios at the price of <50 k… touch your heart and ask yourself… would u buy proton or jap / eu ? stop living in denial proton lovers…. wake up? sigh….. as a malaysian… i am sad to know this beautiful country is ruined by corrupted politicians…a country with so much natural resources and sufficient population… we still behind singapore who doesnt have any resources and population… shameful…

• hi quattro, my sis own a vios, me myslf own savvy 05 n waja campro 07, my father own iswara 98,now blm 08, maybe my family is lucky,but we dont have any problem or bising sana sini sound in our prtn.
    If ur talking bout engine sound, yes,campro sound is louder especially the aircond compressor.
    My sis vios clocked the same as my waja, n she impress by my waja, not like her friends prtn cars.
    my father iswara once in 8 years of owning,try to service outside, n u know what the workshop mechanic said? He asked me whether i already change the engine to new one coz it was really smooth coz according to his experience, none of his customer own a prtn has the smooth n nice sound engine like my father’s iswara after 3 years. N he was shocked when my father’s iswara is already 8 years during that time. He also asked me where do my father service his car. So,that is the first n last i n my father service cars outside sc.
    By the way, sc is many, dont service at authorised prtn sc dealer n even eon coz i have bad experienced with them n their service shedule(oil n part changing is diff compare to branch prtn sc),dunno why, n even their computer is not linked to prtn hq computer system.
    That make a different.

• to saga belum masak, campro is already 421 exhaust manifold configuration,but the cat converter is immediately after the 4, n u get 2 n 1 after that.
    And how can u post at 18 jan 2008 @ paultan post 2010. Crazy is it? :-)

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:42 am

Thanks for the reminder mat. I did have problem with my 1.6 BLM 2009 (Taxi model sold limited to public) with lots of problems. Theres always smell of burnt metal after every stop. And the original 421 manifold always got overheat that I can make a half boiled egg when I put it inside the bonnet. (and its real) Then I consulted Marco manufacturer (not salesman) and they suggested me to change the manifold to an extractor which is also 421 configuration and it works. My bonnet temp cools down a lot and the burnt smell gone. The heat reduceses the oxygen contents in air causing a rich mixture of fuel delivered to combustion chamber causing high usage of fuel. And the change improves my FC.

• u r right jery tan, i was before always critics prtn, but as i mention earlier,crdt shud be given when its due. What prtn aim when they build saga? For the people rite. So, saga is bound as budget car segment. Many manufacturers in the world have budget cars in their pipeline, but not arrived in malaysia. N thats why even toyota, has a 1.3l vios, honda has 1.3 liter jazz n city if i not mistaken, not arrived at our shores since i think toyota thinl that consumers in masia dont mind to pay premium price for it, no need to introduce the cheapest one.
    There is a diff between criticizing n bashing. If u mad coz of tax, just blame u know who, why blaming prtn? That is what i call bashing.
    Comparing saga with jetta n beem blindly with the price that even not accounted the tyre, i feel pity for malaysian.
    It seems that we are easily to be con by them. Nobody ever wonder why cbu lancer 2.0 is cheaper than civic 2.0 ckd, even they know ckd tax is lower than cbu. It is the same segment car, which has the nearly the same price outside msia, but why when given diff tax structure, it another way around?
    So, u can see how easily they manipulate malaysian mindset n take advantage of that.
    I really hate when malaysian showing their ill educated attitude in their comments.
    When p321a release next year, it will be the same category as vios,city n even forte segment, that is b/sub c segment. If p321a is better than them, surely malaysian will start comparing it with civic/altis@maybe camry/accord or even jetta/golf/passat @ 3 series bimmer @ c class merc n stating that how inferior p321a compare to them.
    U just watch this blog when the time come.
    People are not complaining how dusty the front tyre of alza due to dusty pad coz in their mind, its ok, its from perodua aka toyota, but when it comes to prtn, it become a major problem. So, we need to be fair when commenting, so critic alza oso.
    The same thing happen when prtn recalling their cars, they said, ha,crappy cars, thats why they recalling, when toyota@honda@nissan recall, thats is what we call responsible act(even they never recall their cars in msia since it is so perfect n high quality compare to other countries).
    Im not saying the recall thing is bad, its for a good course,but how msian commenting in this blog showing how low is our mentality n mindset.
    Lets see hows the comment when prtn launch p321a. Hopefully during that time, we can see a lot of matured comments,it doesnt matter whether it is praising or critisizing, as long as it has it based, justification n matured, i will be happy reading it.

• My advise…. don’t buy this junk. I had enough with my problematic persona. Just almost 3 years, so many problems, headache a lot.

Never buy Proton.

Perodua? Good car but overprice. 1.0L, no bonnet for 40K. What a joke.

• fdzdsgs on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm

pls buy honda

ex5

• Mienzz on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Ko kena faham,Proton tu baru usia 25+,jadi boleh dikira sebagai new player berbanding company lain seperti Toyota,Honda,Hyundai

dulu Hyundai dan KIA pernah kena hentam jugak psal isu kualiti dll. tapi mereka semakin lama semakin berubah dan tak mustahil boleh menjadi big player berbanding industri kereta Jepun

Percayalah,Proton semakin komited untuk menjadi lebih baik,kalo tak percaya cuba try naik kereta proton keluaran tahun 2007 ke bawah dan bandingkan kereta proton keluaran skang.ada banyak bezanya….

• Then let’s wait till the quality proven improve lo… Its not about one or two ringgit that we pay… we deserve the best….

• umw salesman on Nov 28, 2011 at 8:55 am

saga = 28k (cost) + 20k (tax) + 2k (proton ‘tax’) = 50k
    vios = 50k (cost) + 20k (tax) + 10k (umw ‘tax’) = 80k

• scania3600 on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:25 pm

SAGA is a good car..best handling, comfort seats,..spacious, good air-cond with low noise air blower, good ventilation, high quality-fidelity sound player, rigid build of body, robust for city n long distance, CHEAP mantainance!.. no other model can beat this kind of price-features offered!!.

the only weakness is PROTON must aggressively looking at interior touch up, pattern-color matching, that may give a lot of sense! a little bit on power train improvement such as power(based on BLM 1st model AT), low noise engine.

dont see the negative comment..but ask the people who have SAGA!

GO PROTON!!!

• Handling? U turn left the car turn right meh. First u copy Mitsubishi for wira the sell like hot cakes now again copy lancer after develops only kampong enjin for 25 yrs. u just want to protect the 18 k ppl jobs . Forgetting million suffer with the low quality and expensive car. And now saga was design by Korean ! No a shame?!

• Mienzz on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm

1) rebadge Lancer,bukannya ‘copy’ Lancer,aktiviti rebadge dapat menjimatkan kos dari membuat kenderaan baru

2) Saga 100% direka oleh Proton dan dibantu oleh Lotus engineering dan LG CNS

• Proton_Neutral on Nov 29, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Hi there,

Something to share. What is the tagline for Honda? Power of dreams? Nissan? Shift the future? Proton? Power of break down! (Read below)

1.) Alarm system (no sound & cannot lock) fails in 1 year and 1 month.
      2.) Both rear break lights fails less then a year.
      3.) Radio cannot shut down even key take out, like got ghost happen less then a year of purchase.

Maybe bad luck. Btw, not i drive, it’s one of my carefully family member who hardly drive. It’s the truth, Potong stim.

As for normal drive no complain, ok ok loh…

• Hakim on Nov 28, 2011 at 2:47 pm

Wow bro. That is a fantastic write up. Love the point of WORTH IT. Truly unbiased. And makes the most sense. Sounds like you know what you are talking about. :)

Cheers bro. Love you work!

Oh and about the wife, you should just keep the saga and still get a Golf. Haha.

• Thrifty Car Rentals on Nov 28, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Proton is very fast making new model, just bought the FLX,,and now they are coming with this one…Adoi2..

• GreenFuel on Nov 28, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Seriously, this is the worst move by Proton. The Saga had become not people friendly due to the extreme high price tag after they introduce the FLX. Now the cheapest manual model in Kuching is more than RM41k, which is much much higher than the price of the first version. Nothing to proud off, people choose Saga due to the only sedan car priced below RM40K, and now the Saga price is very close to Myvi, which offer better quality, better accessories, and more advance engine. CVT, not much improvement if only mate with the old Campro

• ahmadfaris93 on Nov 28, 2011 at 8:01 pm

Good car. think this is a better value for money than the MyVi “extreme” which is….. not so extreme. Proton is improving. I really hope that they produce a car with turbo. Campro turbo ? Doesnt that sounds awesome?

• Kembun on Nov 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Agreed!!!!

Ramai yang pakai PROTON, tu yang bnyk masalah tu…..
    Kalau ramai yang pakai HONDA, HONDA plak yang bnyk masalah, bnyk rosak….
    Kalau ramai yang pakai TOYOTA, TOYOTA plak yang bnyk masalah, bnyk karenahnya…

Kesimpulannya, manusia yang buat kereta ni pon xperfect….
    So, dun expect its can last till the end of time…
    sume pon bole rosak, sume pon ade kelebihan masing2…

So, korang leh beli memana jer kereta yang korang minat kalo korang mampu…. xperlu nak condemn other effort…. they all give their best to be the best…

korang leh jer bg kutukan membina & cadangan penambahbaikan… tp, kutukan yang meng’condemn’kan usaha lain doesn’t make u d better person…..

hehehe… peace……

• Expatriate VN on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:13 pm

“we give credits where deserved… and we critics for sake of improvement…”

“SAGA is a good car..best handling, comfort seats,..spacious, …………”

This is typical blind idiot proton supporters, still hidup dibawah tempurung, make to believe that P1 is improving, give value for monies and built decent car. At the same and at all time, non, I repeat non of this blind supporters, including MooFart dare to admit that only in Bolehland, cronies vendors and AP King exist and assist by NAP as fleeching tools, suck on the consumers till last drop of bloods. Enough said for this shitty car termasuk bodoh sombong blind supporters!

I dare to challenge to all blind supporters, give example which country with protective automotive policies in this world that breed vendor cronies and AP King, except Bodohland gang? Let the nos. of posting accumulating, yet the most read jargon is “P1 improving …………. ” only, but not something all new or trend setter in the car market!

• What to do…
      he’s only expat, from Vietnam…

for Malaysians, SAGA is good, given the price tag.

Please dont compare a Bentley and Proton.

And please pay more respect to the title. We are talking about SAGA SE.

And, please have minimum respect to others.
      They’re not blind. And of course, not idiot.

They read the topic and the article. And try to comment.

A blind cant read. An idiot cant comment according to the topic of the discussion.
      Oops!

• Sarcastic Prick on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Give example which country with protective automotive policies in this world that breed vendor cronies and AP King, except Bodohland gang – South Korea & Hyundai

However, one thing differs us than the Koreans is that they don’t have AP kings – because they just can’t import cars to sell. At least in Malaysia you can still buy an imported car to buy and parade as a symbol of “success”

• dazia on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:57 am

kalo topik proton je… beratus komen huhuhu

• saw this car on trailer this morning at karak highway…awesome…

• Nizam80 on Nov 29, 2011 at 11:31 am

Somehow I have a feeling that this is not the final range topper for the Saga lineup. They say that the CFE is coming…. But that’s a 1.6.
    I’m sure there will be a 1.3 CFE and if there is one, the first car to get it is definitely the Saga lineup. Just my thoughts.

• zainal abidin on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:25 pm

I think the penultimate SAGA 1.6 FLX would be with the CPS 125hp engine, 4 discs brakes and hopefully a 50 liter fuel tank. And also if there is a CFE 1.3 turbo with 140hp would be awesome though. In manual and cvt. Just hopping it will become a reality. But the 50 liter tank is a must. Please PROTON.

• pronotonton on Nov 29, 2011 at 4:00 pm

ukur baju di badan sndiri…1.6 CVT SE ni pon suda cukop baik…bukan nak utang keta je…utang rumah pon mesti dibayar…nnt income dah naik bleh merasa persona R plak :)

• Ppl said the kampong enjin cannot put turbo because the old tech? Wait another 20 yrs or use ppl engin again lo

• Shappawi_2012 on Nov 29, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Already at Proton Showroom…….
    Price Rm 49,899 for metalic red……
    Boleh tahan…….

• previously, when prtn dont put abs, ebd in saga coz to reduce price, people said they r not care about safety, when they put it in, they said it is expensive, dont care bout the low income. Malaysian hard to please.
    Expat vn, if not improvement, what do u call it? I think u will always call it shitty right. From non abs ebd n airbag, ancient 4 at and higher fc to abs, ebd n airbags equiped, current cvt, lower fc. That is not counted as improvement? And its only 49k, 3 k increase from 1.6fl, got bodykit summore + 15 inch rims. U cannot get that by upgrading own ur own. That is value for money, and it is cvt(can consider auto), n cheapest myvi se 1.3 manual is 53k.
    Plus u also get a a 415 l boot to spare.
    And if expat become PM, i do think msia is at alarming state coz he thinks from his a..,not brain.
    U said bout cronies, i believe u also will give all the projects,tenders to your cronies…ops,diff term, family, close relatives n friends, and i think u wont abolish ap coz u will be the ap king, urself.
    It easy to say coz u r not in the position that have the power.
    U always like those who support u n bash n insult who dont, that also known as act of cronism, only support those who favor u. I think everyone will use crony in their life, mintak surat sokongan(kroni jugak), nak mintak anak skolah pun pkai cable(kroni jugak).
    Kroni xsalah, yg salah klu dia salah guna, buat taik, xjujur.
    Klu pilih pemain main futsal mlm2 pun pilih geng2 rapat ajek, kan tu pun kroni jugak.
    Mmg byk menda xbetul dlm politik msia, itu sume org tau, mcm aku ckp, nk btlkan, start dr anak2 kecik n yg muda2 sekarang. Protection ke, ape ke, mana2 negara pun sama. klu ko jd bapa,mmg protect anak ko, payahlah nk tgk,klu anak kena tangkap polis, mak ayah cakap, padan muka, memang patut kena tangkappun, siap jamin lagi.
    Cikgu rotan anak coz buat slh, mak ayah siap ngamuk lg marah. Itu sume bukan ke protection? Yg aku ckp mmg xda kena mngena ngan kete, tp sbagai anologi kroni n protection.
    Sapa xsuka xda tax, sume menda murah, tp kat dunia nih xda yg kita dpt aper yg kita hendak. So, blajarlah bersyukur.
    Mana2pun, kat masia nih xkan ada free tax, bglah sesapa memerintahpun.
    So yg penting,kita jg negara kita,jgn bg hancur, jgn bg perang2.

• zainal abidin on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:02 am

This SAGA FLX is as good as it gets,except maybe for the ‘fuel thing’. Talk about ‘protection’, USA, South Korea, Japan and others practice it (but hey,they have world beating cars why would they want to buy others).
      If I want to buy,for instance a new BMW or Merc or Camry, I’ll have to make sure I earn more to afford buying it and that’s a fact we all can comprehend to. If not I just have to make do with a pre-owned unit or purchase a much less expensive car. That’s about it.

And about ‘cronies’, it’s even practiced in the firm I work with and it is practiced all the time and everywhere in this world. Surely you would trust something to the person @ friend that you can put your trust into and is trustworthy enough to do business dealings with?

• Org jahat u pun Ikut ka? Kenapa tak Ikut yg baik? Lahirkan anak tidak ajar baik Dan susahkan org . close potong . Open all market later got 180 k jobs don’t just think abt the 18k perkerja at potong saja

• Got electric power steering? :-)

• V-power on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:21 am

I’m not really a fan of P1, but the Saga FL CVT looks good value for those looking for a decent daily ride, without any badge pretensions. Expect another 2-way fight with Mivy “Lagi Best!” for sales bragging rights…

I’m sure P1’s head of sales/marketing is NOT a big fan of subtlety, judging from these ‘gems’ : …”Pressure Your Peers”…”The 1.6 CamPro engine means more muscle to brag about”…”Smoked rear combi lights styled to stun all onlookers”…LOLL!

• Murphy on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:21 pm

The best thing about proton is… how the salesmen manually drive the cars to the showroom from the factories!! LOL ……. ‘efficiency’ might be the word for proton fanboys will use to counter attack my statement… those so called drivers or prolly delivery boys… totally trashed the shit out of the car before delivering the keys to the poor new excited owners…. Only the inspira’s were properly transported by trucks but not other models… why is that? pls la proton…. i Malu la… as malaysian…

• cruel on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:06 pm

I think you are wrong on this one. Those cars that you saw might be the units which went for their PUSPAKOM check.

I regularly saw the new Sagas transported on the delivery trucks during my daily driving.

• Dino77 on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Nope. Still using hydraulic.

• Is there a reason there is no cover on the engine? The brochure above shows a cover clearly, and yet, images of the engine in Google show no cover. Even a FB post from Proton says no cover – but why? Makes the plug cables look exposed and there’s no brand marque on the engine block.

• yrf1awdv1j7 on Dec 05, 2013 at 10:00 pm

バッハ 碾く 有史 圏外 富国強兵 ステンレス 万歩計 進める |切り上げ 接収 革製品 中華思想 市民 龍 衛星 債 椰子の木 屯 割増 脅かし 跨線橋 幼馴染み 白米 自画像 萌やし 奮戦 ジン 新年 [url=http://www.allegromusik.com/dialog/newbalance-c-1.html]ニューバランス キッズ[/url] [url=http://www.mediestudier.se/bilder/newbalance-c-2.html]ニューバランス 通販[/url] ジェフ ボード っ子 長持ち 輝度 ADSL 思ふ 道標 身元,身許 語る 廃線 過去問題集 旅芸人 |銀色 前科 基幹システム 刺殺 漁る 打ち身 女傑 再設定 焼香 火を通す 穴があったら入りたい 幸せ太り 稲葉 粘つく 重工 積極 土器 成年 飛行船 観光旅行 些か 日章旗 切り紙 再帰 濃い http://www.allegromusik.com/dialog/newbalance-c-1.html 結果責任 新聞記者 酒場 満員御礼 槍 両 空飛ぶ 口ずさむ 愛用 彩画 気をつける カニ 安眠 反対語 大忙し 珍客 |幕僚 優れ物 ん 鉄板 減らす 角材 日溜まり 熱弁 続けざま 積み上げる 東端 家庭菜園 選ばれし者 問診表 [url=http://www.avab.se/dok/newbalance-c-5.html]ニューバランス 1300 ベージュ[/url]
    990 ニューバランス ニューバランス usa 違い ニューバランス women new balance 人気モデルランキング 576 ニューバランス ニューバランス 海外通販 new balance mr1040 ニューバランス 服 ニューバランス u420 レディース hectic new balance new balance ミニマス 1600 ニューバランス ジーナシス ニューバランス コラボ ニューバランス m2040 黒 ニューバランス トレッキング ニューバランスメンズシューズ new balance インソール ニューバランス ニューモデル new balance m1500 ニューバランス サイズ選び ニューバランス クラシック 574 ニューバランス モデル 比較 ニューバランス スニーカー 青 ニューバランス ml71 履き心地 ニューバランス トレイルランニング new balance 967 ニューバランス uk new balance 576 new balance p485 ベビー スニーカー ニューバランス