Free parking for hybrid cars purchased in Petaling Jaya

The Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) will be giving three months free parking to hybrid cars purchased in the city next year, according to a Star report. PJ mayor Datuk Mohamad Roslan Sakiman said this was one of the green initiatives that MBPJ was implementing.

“Hybrid-car buyers will be given free parking passes for three months to park anywhere in Petaling Jaya. We are extending the scheme to people who are not Petaling Jaya residents, as long as they have bought their car from a car dealer in Petaling Jaya,” the mayor explained.

While it’s a welcome, albeit temporary, benefit for would be owners of the Honda Insight, CR-Z, Toyota Prius and Lexus hybrid models, I’m sure many PJ residents and workers would agree that finding a parking spot in the first place is the more painful task.

In Budget 2012, PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced that incentives given to hybrid cars have been extended till 31 December 2013. The incentives in question are full import duty and excise duty exemption for hybrid and electric cars and motorcycles.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nabill on Nov 24, 2011 at 1:30 am

most wil think free double parking !

• haha i gonna replace double AA battery in my engine, it state as mini hybrid

• JULIAN_LEE on Nov 24, 2011 at 1:35 am

Mayor on a payroll from PJ dealers?

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 24, 2011 at 1:46 am

so does porsche cayenne hybrid qualify for this also?

• M'sian Salvatore on Nov 24, 2011 at 3:21 am

Fully support the Pakatan Rakyat state govt!!!

• taboogen on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:19 am

ala PRU is coming soon… normal lah… btw only rich people lor they give free parking.. those still driving kancil still have to pay…. if that you call adil… hermmm

• it should extend to 1 year at least. 3 months is nothing actually. Im sure once proton has it hybrid or electric cars on sale. u will see the goverment giving more support to proton.
      Free parking??

• Audi Owner on Nov 24, 2011 at 4:49 am

Full import duty and excise duty exemption for hybrid and electric cars and motorcycles. But still expensive than other country.

• Feast on Nov 24, 2011 at 6:41 am

Wonder how they will know if the car is bought in PJ?

• taboogen on Nov 24, 2011 at 12:18 pm

hahah i think compulsory for user use plate number from dealer

• Park Anywhere? Only on those street parking lots managed by MBPJ or inclusive of those covered lots in any building? This initiative is going to be another laughing stock, just wait for the complaints to surface on the newspapers, haha!

• Wallstreet on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:56 pm

For me is a completely stupid idea. First of all how much is MBPJ parking? 0.60¢ per hour? RM1 per hour? What’s that for hybrid owners? Better just collect these money and improve our city condition. Go and clean up our drain if you got nothing to do by coming up with this stupid idea.

• can’t imagine someone will buy a hybrid just for the sake of this free parking..hehe,,good initiative though..at least they’re doing something to encourage peoples to buy hybrid cars..

• rally_fan on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:11 am

its a good idea, but the 3 month thing is a little strange. in london, a full EV gets free parking for life, now thats a real incentive.

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:31 am

They should offer saman free too

• hway de Cruz on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:41 am

this is a good move by the local gomen, but my wishlist include euro4 or 5 diesel, that should make the environment greener. recently the transport minister mentioned the oil companies are not yet ready… but gomen is the one calling the shots, not the oil companies. just ask who is running the country…. gomen or oil companies? simple logic also cannot decide….aiyoh, then why shud we continue supporting this undecisive gomen?

• kerelbort on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:09 am

how do you know which car bought from PJ?

• steam_man on Nov 24, 2011 at 7:30 pm

see number plate!!!

• Wallstreet on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:18 pm

Hello…since when PJ have their own number plate? They are under Selangor number plate la which is B. Even if they have, in Malaysia you can register anywhere you like even if you bought your car from other state.

• Lorat on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:26 am

Long live petrols and diesels!
    Treehuggers can rot in the moss!

• Nissan on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:51 am

Government should have offer discount to all tolls & roadtax

• I think free petrol, free road tax and insurance will be better.

• SeriuossSAM on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:17 am

free parking for all average people that work their ass day in day out to feed the family
    not just for people who can afford expensive car

• What about buying a Saga with NGV pre install, is it eligible?

• adehhh on Nov 25, 2011 at 1:19 am

ala buy Myvi then put sticker ‘MyVi SE hybrid’ at the back sure can get free parking hehe

• Ali Hanapiah Md Ali on Nov 27, 2011 at 6:26 pm

too bad Proton doesnt have Hybrid, only a wayang2 version called Emas.

• squawk on Nov 29, 2011 at 10:58 am

They should give free parking to drivers with cars worth less than RM20,000. :-)

• It is easy, just issue a card valid for 3 months and display that card on the windscreen. You have to display your ticket on the windscreen after you paid RM0.60, dont you? It is elementary, dear readers.

If you want to buy, then buy. Most commentors here dont own any hybrid….