Caterham Group announced – parent company to handle everything Caterham, including the F1 team

In line with the rebranding of Team Lotus to Caterham F1 Team next season, the creation of a newly-formed business called Caterham Group has officially been announced. The Group is the parent company name for the range of automotive, motor racing, technology and innovation companies that will sit within a single business under the stewardship of Group CEO, Riad Asmat.

At launch, Caterham Group consists of four main areas, these being Caterham Cars, Caterham F1 Team, Caterham Technology & Innovation (CTI) and Caterham Composites. The announcement was made by chairman Tony Fernandes at the Brazil Grand Prix in Sao Paulo.

“We have been talking for some time now about our plans for Caterham in all its guises, from the road car company to Formula 1 and GP2, and in the technology, design and innovation fields. Now, with the announcement about the rebranding in Formula One to Caterham F1 Team for 2012 and beyond, we are in a position to give a much more in-depth explanation of how the Caterham Group is taking shape,” Fernandes said.

The Caterham F1 Team, which includes Caterham Racing as the new name for the Group’s GP2 outfit, will act as a focal point for a development programme that encompasses 700 plus Caterham Seven racers around the world and various motor racing formulae from karting, GP3, World Series by Renault and up to F1.

Meanwhile, Caterham Technology & Innovation (CTI), which was launched in September, will assist Caterham Cars on the development of the next generation of accessible and affordable sportscars as well as undertake advanced projects for external companies operating within the automotive and aerospace sectors, including a radical new in-flight entertainment system.

Elsewhere, Caterham Cars, which is readying the SP/300.R sports prototype for 2012, will continue laying the foundations for a completely new product range that will see the first all-new Caterham road car due out in 2014, and Caterham Composites will work on projects across the aerospace, nautical, motorsport and automotive industries.

“With those four arms in place, and more to be announced in due course, we have a dynamic group of businesses already working together that gives a clear vision of what our long-term strategy is in their respective fields, and as one entity under Caterham Group,” Fernandes added.

“This range of business interests provides us a very strong foothold in a number of growth sectors, staffed with teams of people with a strong mix of experience, youth, creativity and passion. In short, we have all the right ingredients in place to do some incredibly exciting things in markets that are ripe for innovation and new ideas.”

“With those plans now complete, we have the foundations in place for long-term growth and success, and now we are in complete control of our own destiny. We have a very exciting future ahead of us and are all looking forward to seeing the rewards of our hard work pay off for many years to come,” Fernandes said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Annon F1 on Nov 29, 2011 at 12:34 pm

What happened to 1 Malaysia Racing Team?? haha…

• nas-T on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:50 pm

1Malaysia Racing Team is the name of the consortium that own the right of participation in F1. Same as Manor Motorsport own the right of participation for Marrusia Virgin Racing. Next year, Caterham F1 will race in F1 because of this right.

• I wouldn’t call it a consortium. It’s just a company owned by Tony, Kamarudin and Nasarudin. It is the Malaysian legal commercial entity for the team.

• Caterham Car brand to be sold in Boleh Land..^^

• Jonnie on Nov 29, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Soon Caterham cars may outsell Lotus.. and one day they might buy over them too. I think Proton are so stupid. Market is so small. You should work with strong partner, not create competitor. U push TF to the brink, now he found a path back, he will return stronger to haunt you forever.

And to all BN cronies, please help me understand 1M concept between both team
    1. Who got more Malaysian staff?
    2. Who advertise more Malaysia stuff?
    3. Whose team boss is Malaysian and also Malay?

Please lar, don’t always jealous our friends success! Laughing when you pushed them to fail already too much.

• jamal on Nov 29, 2011 at 7:58 pm

caterham need to change colour of car le i think. green very boring colour. anyway, raikonen back to F1 next season. will drive lotus(proton).

• suresh-kumaran on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:21 am

they are not lotus next season nor proton! they are genii! lotus group dont have stake in the team!
      but anyway, you can call them TERATAI GP…

• ezracopters on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:06 am

well i gotta admit, althou i hate him for certain reason, but i admire him a lot.. talking bout business plan. he is the man!! all the best Caterham Group. i wonder what kind of car they will produce in 2012?? hmmm interesting.

hopefully no one here stupid enuff to said something like “wasting people money’, ‘r they gonna make it Made in Malaysia or not’ etc… this has nothing to do with us..