Toyota GT 86 all set for world debut in Tokyo

The wait is over – the start of the Tokyo Motor Show tomorrow will see the world debut of Toyota’s FT- 86, and the production car will now be known as the GT 86, in a homage to the Corolla GT (or Levin) AE86 from 1983 to 1987, a car with an enduring reputation for delivering sheer excitement and capturing the fundamental joy of driving.

The arrival of the 2+2 driver-focused GT 86 heralds a return to Toyota’s sporting roots, with a front-mounted engine and rear-wheel drive package, with power distributed to the rear wheels via a limited slip differential. It’s built on a new platform, with a highly aerodynamic bodyshell stretched tight over the car’s mechanical elements.

The car is powered by a four-cylinder 2.0 boxer unit, offering 197 hp at 7,000 rpm and a maximum torque of 205 Nm at 6,600rpm, and customers will have a choice of either a six-speed manual or six-speed automatic transmission. The manual offers quick, precise shifts using a tactile, short-throw lever, while the auto features steering-mounted paddle shifters.

It measures in at 4.24 metres long, 1.28 metres high and 1.77 metres wide, with a 2.57 metre wheelbase, dimensions that Toyota says makes the car the most compact four-seater sports car available today.

Both the powertrain and the driving position have been set as low and as far back as possible to achieve the best balance – the car has a near-perfect 53:47 front-to-rear weight distribution, and features an ultra-low centre of gravity, at just 460 mm.

The suspension features MacPherson struts at the front and double wishbones at the rear, with ventilated disc brakes fore and aft. External cues include a “scorpion” look for the front lower grille, model-specific 17-inch alloy wheels, a rear spoiler, twin exhausts and an “86” piston logo that denotes the car’s special powertrain configuration.

Inside, the ergonomics and function of every element the driver interacts with have been scrutinised to make driving the car as natural, instinctive and rewarding as possible, Toyota says. There’s a 365 mm diameter steering wheel, the smallest ever fitted to a Toyota, and this one is trimmed in buckskin, developed from exhaustive feedback from test drivers on how to achieve the best steering performance and grip.

Other elements include the use of carbon-effect trim, all-black roof lining, red stitching on the upholstery, aviation-style rocker switches as well as lightweight, aluminium pedals and a three-meter instrument cluster arranged around a large tachometer.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• foxis on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:01 pm

I sensed Subaru’s DNA in this car.

• Avantador on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:46 pm

The Subaru BRZ is derivative of Toyota’s FT-86.

• Brian Jong on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:19 pm

In Japan, Toyota only called this car simply 86…that its…and scion version called it FR-S

• Subaru is bought by Toyota, therefore components sharing is inevitable, including the chasis. Hopefully, the car will live up to its name, which is its last name, ’86’ or hachiroku. The name 86 carries a heavy burden to its bearer, which is always referring to AE86 Corolla Levin, and not to mention the Trueno, is a light and nimble little sportscar that has won the heart of many driver over the years. Why i came out with this words is, as a new car from Toyota, this should be a very special one,like the LF-A (although is a tard expensive). The interior/exterior design not my taste? I can live with that. Ergonomically designed components and advance technology that has been put into this car, that’s what i really looking forward to!! How do you measure the epicness of this GT 86 to the last AE86? It will be the new Initial D Stage 5 animation come out and the GT86 is its centerpiece!

• exJAVANESE on Nov 29, 2011 at 10:57 pm

even though these machine had subaru DNA or toyota DNA…
      I still prefer AE86 back to 80s….hmmmm

• Nissan on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Now who dare to say Japanese car maker couldn’t come out with a good & fascinating design?

• gozillaPeniz on Nov 29, 2011 at 7:11 pm

the Real thing sure Cool ! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPeHaDb36PM

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:29 am

in conclusion, most of the commenters of this website are toyota bashers that drive protons.

• from side and the color looks like bmw 1m. lol.

• mirror mirror on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Hm….crispy!

• Littlebear on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:13 pm

OMG!!! The FT-86 looks great as a protoype but the production car GT-86 seriously looks weird :( Even the old skool AE-86 Trueno looks better than this.

• Agree, the prototype is nicer, but some1 said the prototype headlight very ah beng. Duh.

• Jimmy on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:55 pm

The very first design of FT-86 really looked stunning. This one is not so beautiful, especially the headlight. The headlights ought to be as ah beng as the very first picture that we saw in Paultan.org.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:34 am

erm weird? honestly, how many cars in the world look like their concept versions? and since when was toyota actually known for making very good designs?

• Vincent on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Their concept draft look good, but production car become normal look…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Disappointing that Toyota did not keep the conept’s interior. The engine is also disappointing, they should have used an improved version of the Supra’s 2JZ Inline 6

• haliguy on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Front like the LFA. Side and rear like the classic Toyota 2000GT. sweeet!!! Somehow i reckon the design will grow. Finally Toyota is coming back to its grassroots of making exciting cars. Let it be a niche market. But never in the fiotsteps of being a white goods.

• izzat on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:08 pm

BeemerFreak : nahhh…they not going to make the successor of the bomb-proof 2jz engine.. =D

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:36 am

the car was meant to be a budget performance drifter. adding to the ever rising costs of petrol and the strict emissions rules these days, a jz engine just won’t make sense.

• mohsin on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:32 pm

lagi best woo ooo!

• BlackBJQ on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:32 pm

cool! But if i got this beauty, first thing i must change is the wheels..

• cant wait to see it on our road !

• Out of proportion. Looking from back moving slowly to front look OK until the A pillar, as if the bonnet line was purposely press downward for some reason, either that or the front arch doesn’t compliment the line. with a masculine sculpted bonnet should be better looking than current, it just looks odd now.

• rally_fan on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:44 pm

more importantly, how does it drive? that was the key promise from the start for this car.. but at the moment, looks like toyota is rediscovering its passion..

• most reviewers have given this car the thumbs up already. it was test driven by quite a number of british journalists. do bear in mind that this car is not all about power. it is about handling so you cannot do a long power drift in it. for a sustained drift, you need momentum. those are not my words though but adapted from the review i read.

• Gavin on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Wonderfully digusting hard plastic dash board, same standard as proton

• Kiddo on Nov 29, 2011 at 4:46 pm

blind.

• Gavin on Nov 29, 2011 at 6:17 pm

I think you are the blind one, look at pick 66114 k-toy and look around the air cond vents,

• Kiddo on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:35 pm

well, the number of thumbs up/down tells the truth.

• bobdbilder on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:01 am

huh? I dont getit? Where is the logic in that?

Come on it is plastic. All dashboards will be plastic. So? This is Toyota for goodness sake. What were you expecting? Alcantara? LOL.

• Gavin on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Ever heard of soft touch plastics?

Even Koreans have much better much higher quality materials in their cars.

I like the comment ‘This is Toyota for goodness sake’

They are really lucky to have people like you blindly supporting them.

• Jimmy on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Simply bashing. ?reasons.

• Gavin on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:06 am

LOOK AT the picture labelled 66114 k-toy and look on the left at the plastic surrounding the air conditioning vent.

It’s soooo baddd like proton’s

Toyota really have good time in malaysia, people too blind just accept.

I bet it’s gonna get thrashed in Top Gear because of it’s lousy interior and something else conti will be better

• Gavin on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:11 am

edit: upper LEFT corner of glove box, even the front view of the dashboard the glove box SENGET!!!

SENGET!! bro…….

• Gavin on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:09 am

Oh also notice the upper right of the glove box, big GAP like SHIT!

If this is the quality of the car, my money will be on a conti even a standard golf would be better.

Nice on the outside, shit on the inside

• you can’t judge plastic just by looking at pictures. you need to see it live and touch it then only comment.

• Gavin on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:56 pm

HAHAHAHA i tell you it’s looks 100% same as my gen2 dashboard, no soft touch there for sure

can’t even get the glove box alignment right for OFFICIAL pictures.

tsk tsk, i wonder if they really wanted to make this car or not, or rather concentrate on their hybrids instead.

I’ll take the Subaru thanks, this one sucks

• johndol on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:02 pm

then go play with your gen2 dude, i dont get your point on the “so same like my gen2 interior”. Your money your call, even with the senget glove box people will buy it for sure. and you’ll be left with all the jealousy of could not afford the car, and blame the senget dashboard for not buying it. Poor thing

• Masked Ryder on Nov 29, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Very “Mazda” look, i missed the old Supra & Celica though.

Still very balanced look, doesn’t have the “Cost Saving” family look like Veloster & Koup.

• izzat on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:12 pm

During concept Toyota said this will be drifter-friendly car..ehmmm..hard to imagine Daigo Saito in there =D

• Hmm, prefer the concept one.

And Subaru version seem better…

• how much is the price?

• TengahPagar on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:30 pm

huh..toyota employed hyundai coupe designer? haiyaaa… the concept way33333 much better looks

• labix7 on Nov 29, 2011 at 4:19 pm

now japanese looks like korean.
      head lamp & tail lamp just like hyundai sonata .. but smaller & sharper.

• Toyota Lover on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm

if below RM100,000 , it’ll be a hit.

• my take is, if the drawing concept is bland as this, i cannot imagine how the real one looks like (usually real one is way uglier than concept)

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Nov 29, 2011 at 3:49 pm

2.0 NA engine is not powerful enuf to beef-up tis toy.

force induction system is highly required….
    to get at least 300Nm

• for more powerful version, wait for subaru brz …
      hopefully this one will cost not more than RM200k

• altecs on Nov 29, 2011 at 4:31 pm

You got to remember, the “catch” is that this car is suppose to be very affordable (as compared to other sports cars in it’s range). So yes, the slightly less than 200hp engine is somewhat predictable. Toyota promised they will make it up with the handling.

We are looking at a RM170k-200k FR sports car here. Where was the last time you heard you could get a decent sport FR car for less than RM200k? :)

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Nov 29, 2011 at 6:45 pm

intro a Hybrid version to take d advantage of import duty.,….

• what happened to the rear end? front look menacing though, but the rear, especially the tail light!! oh noo!!!

• haliguy on Nov 29, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Check the toyota 2000GT. then u know why is it designed that way

• Halem on Nov 29, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Tokyo Drift ! Drifter Fan have a new toy, Initial D New Tofu Transporter.

I see tears in Koup & Veloster fanboy eye ! 200hp Boxter engine ! Eat ur heart out, get ready a face mask before u smell GT 86 tyre smoke !

• rugaxp on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:23 am

if is only at the Koup and Veloster price range.

• Halem on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:50 pm

If Kia Sportage sales at Chery Tiggo Price Range, Hyundia i10 sales at Chery QQ price range then maybe it is possible.

Anyway the proposes price starting from 28,000 GBP when it arrive at Malaysia (The country with super high tax & duty for car) i am expecting RM 220-250K.

Then again they always recond market if u r willing to wait.

• oh my.. the front have a menacing look though.. but the rear end? what happened to the tail light?

• jay8393 on Nov 29, 2011 at 4:29 pm

The much awaited Hachi-roku successor is finally here! Wonder if UMW will bring this in…

• looks too fluidic…

and yes..concept looks is much nicer…

• 2 doors Gen-2… Hahaha… Dare to beat Nissan 370Z???

• 370Z is Supra territory, this is more a Silvia, RX-8 class. Next car, Supra successor!

• William on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:16 pm

wonder what logo is that on the steering ??

• deftones on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:18 pm

the car looks great..but i dont see any ae86 resemblance..

like cr-z..the legendary shape is still there

• ae101 on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:30 pm

no need brutal 1 or 2jz force. with ori rear wheel drive, low gravity boxer engine, bolt on turbo and a little bit of tweak on the handling sure can outrun a lot of bigger performance cars just like the old days.

• zivilia aishiteru on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:30 pm

MR2 + Celica = GT 86 ?? hidup toyota!

• Safe Driver on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Can rev till 11k rpm or not?

Let’s see what the tuner can make out of this boxer.

• imsoooogetting this on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:43 pm

THIS IS AWESOME!

actually 200NM is plenty enough for this car purpose, a nippy and agile touge/drift car and you can run the car without traction control, which is where the fun is.

Try driving a 2JZ engine, without traction control, in the rain. You gonna make doughnuts trying to u-turn at a traffic like lol.

A turbo engine will give a non linear power curve. Beginner drifters will prefer NA due to the predictable power curve.

Turbos will increase cost and weight, which will defeat the purpose of the GT86.

Ppl gonna mod the hell out of it anyway, so might as well give them a “barebone” car.

“Cheap bodywork” ie; less complex curves, no exotic materials will keep cost down fro repairs and easier for aftermarket folks to develop parts.

Interior also seems to be “mod friendly”, lot of space to mount stuff

just neet to see the engine bay, home lost of empty spaces there to

and i better start looking for a buyer for my S15 lol

• i remember when toyota first show the concept many say its too ah beng.

now they come out with a simpler design people start saying this is weird and such.

comments are no longer relevant, many are brain washed by the koreans

• i seriously hope the car looks better in real than in this pic… cause it looks like either the designer needs some serious coma-slumber, or Toyota needs a new designer chief…

but with FR + manual stick… hell yeah~!!!!!! xD

• Black on Nov 29, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Macam Kereta Made In China jer…

• if the UMW able to bring this predessor to legendary AE 86, it will be hit.Hope it will handling like AE 86 considering it comes with NA same with Hachi Roku

• Finally, the car that everyone has been waiting for. Initially, I was worried by the multiple concepts from time to time. Thank God, Akio san is the CEO. Imagine, with its declining sales and financial setback, this project could easily be scrapped by any CEOs.

Hopefully, Akio’s FT86 pet project is not just another overly ambitious project (ie LFA – a great car but not financially sound, more like a HALO car) IMO, this sport car could be the pivotal point which Toyota could resurrect the sporty genes. I am looking forward to the next generation of Toyota Corolla (historically, AE86 was a derivatives of Corolla)

I am having a mixed feeling whether to trade my family van to this affordable sport car. Until then, I keep on dreaming having one.

• casio-edifice on Nov 29, 2011 at 6:46 pm

What is the curb weight? Weight is among the most important spec to tell how much fun the car on the road, other than engine power. Lighter car will perform better during acceleration, braking n cornering. Hopefully less than 1250kg.
    The engine is a peaky one, max torque at 6600rpm is too close to its max power rpm.
    For me the styling is almost perfect, better than nissan 370Z and mazda RX8. It looks sporty, muscular and aggresive.

• Jimmy on Nov 29, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Yes, the concept we saw was stunning, from every angles displayed.

• Chris on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:24 am

I could be wrong, but I think i saw the figure ‘1190kg’ somewhere sometime ago when I was googling for leaks. I think it’s the one with al the japanese words like for employee training slides.

• maxize on Nov 29, 2011 at 7:05 pm

eh..steering kelihatan mirip seperti kenderaan2 proton…huhu

• Naz@AE111 on Nov 29, 2011 at 7:32 pm

if the GT-86 more cheaper than the BR-Z, my money is on the GT-86..

• Mentari-o-korea on Nov 29, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Not sure if my eyes is ok, but fr side it does look like old rx-7 with fatter body.

• liffey on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Hopefully there’s a low-spec, no frills version coming to Malaysia. No automatic climate control, no VSC, no push-start button, no fancy head unit — in fact, just the basics. I just want a manual, low-weight FR that’s no more than RM150k, dammit.

• haliguy on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:17 pm

If UMWT brings it in. It will be a new breath for the company’s image. Shud be in line with Toyota Motor Corp of ” Toyota Reborn” Campaign.

• catdog on Nov 29, 2011 at 10:20 pm

1 word- Awesome!

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 29, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Honda CR-Z looks nicer. This production Toyota GT86 looks so tame compared to the concept car. It’s rear lights don’t look nice. Nothing to shout about. So so look only. Wait for the new Honda NSX sports car. Sure beats Toyota GT86 anytime!

• AhBeng on Nov 29, 2011 at 11:31 pm

eh..i know is highly aerodynamic la… tapi the look of the almost-production car feels a bit potong stim leh…

• armandd on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:56 am

That colour makes it look like clay model! BTW, kudos to Toyota for coming up with light, small and fun RWD machine. FWD is sooo boring..

• ESH Department on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:00 am

How was the crash test rating? Easy to control also could means easy for crash. Toufu carrier could be becoming like toufu with the toufu driver. Hahha!

• 'Thom'Lee on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:39 am

It has a GTR 35 side mirror! Cool!

• boring,some car makers can come up with better designs even for their daily sedans

• albag on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:11 am

i guess more tuners are gonna be interested in making this car into a crazy beast soon

• Our Gov will tax it like bloody hell…..

• sammo on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:10 am

subaru version looks better at the front

• thanks god! itz finally on production…

• Mike G on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:21 am

looks like a old hyundai coupe …

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Coupe

• New Tofu Car!!

• beatnik on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:28 pm

It takes a subaru to put toyota back into the right direction – make cars for enthusiasts. Long live stickshifters!

• They meant for USA and Japan drifters, not Malaysian drifters. So, no way the car can be any cheaper to run for drift. In the game maybe.

• Kia Salesman on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Now, this is a real sports car, not like the cr-z!