Honda CR-V – 4th-gen to begin selling in Japan on Dec 2

Honda will begin selling its new CR-V in Japan from December 2. The fourth-generation SUV, which made its global debut in LA earlier in the month, will be available domestically in 2.4 litre and 2.0 litre forms. The 2.4 litre version – in 24G guise – comes with four-wheel-drive, while the 20G 2.0 litre variant is a front-wheel drive offering.

Honda says the 2.4 litre i-VTEC model – which works with a five-speed automatic transmission – offers 20 PS higher output than the outgoing equivalent, thanks to a higher compression ratio and other enhancements. Presumably, the output for the 2.4 version should be similar to the US model’s 185 hp and 221 Nm.

Meanwhile, the 2.0 litre i-VTEC-equipped model will offer powerful torque characteristics from the low rpm range upward and exceptional fuel economy, though there is no mention of specific output numbers – Paul and Danny are in Tokyo to cover the show, so we should be able to get the figures as it goes along, working on the assumption the vehicle is part of the showcase.

Notably, the 2.0 litre features a CVT with torque converter for its drivetrain choice. In combination with the mill, the company says that the model offers the same off-the-line acceleration and overall acceleration performance as the 2.4 L model, while at the same time offering a best-in-class fuel economy of 14.4 km per litre.

In all, Honda is looking to shift a combined 1,500 units of the new CR-V – which has a 225 mm longer interior and 65 litres more cargo area than the outgoing model – domestically every month.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• “Meanwhile, the 2.0 litre i-VTEC-equipped model will offer powerful torque characteristics from the low rpm range upward and exceptional fuel economy”, without turbo, Honda talk kok only… Keep Dreaming..

• With Honda’s reputation at stake, I very much doubt they will risk customer’s backlash by talking “kok”.
      With turbo,very unlikely to achieve exceptional fuel economy and on the other hand, NA engines with high compression can achieve low RPM high torque.
      If you know that you wouldn’t have made that comment. All logical facts points to you that’s talking “kok”.

• GrrrG on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:26 am

The white one looks good. Oh well, no 3rd row seats.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:34 am

The 2.0fwd model ought to do well here. Cheaper, simpler, More fuel efficient. Most city folks dont need awd here.

Just hope that Honda dont skim on sound deadening and airbags.

• albag on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:59 am

very clean design… looks great!

• Derek on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:08 am

Nice, wondering when going launch in malaysia?
    Any source? And also concern is FC ?

• ah lee bin ah tan on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:11 am

aiyaah the same OLD HUNCH BACK of NOTHESAME as Sleeky Tuscon

• dear honda Malaysia,

i plead u NOT to take out 4 airbags and leave only with 2 airbags cause this is for safety reason, keep all the other accessories including push start button ,leather seat ,projector lamps,etc… and could u mantained the price..please

anthony,
    i see in the picture , there’s the third row seat in folded position , am i rite? 7 seaters?
    if true.. big family like me may consider this..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:45 am

abu, no change to seating configuration. Still seats five.

• The rear lights is a blatant rip off from the Volvo XC90 @_@.

• straightly get no 1 spot of car theft in malaysia…car thief will love this car

• m4xspeed on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:46 am

This time around, the new CRV looks are more modest and subtle. The rear more towards MPV rather than SUV. The exterior looks are far more better than the previous one which has an odd curvy at the rear of it.

• squall_shinoda on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:13 am

Finally… Honda’s first real start-stop push button in a production model…

• Vincent on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:26 am

The back (Tail light) look a bit like volvo xc60.

Overall design look good. Tump up for interior design.

• izack04 on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:28 am

Looks volvo suv to me…..the rearlamp patent looks volvo……
    Same like evo10 copy alfa 156 rearlamp design……

• carpathia on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:27 am

Tail lights do look like a Volvo. Boring interior and design. I will take the new sportage anyday over this .

• kusochon on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:05 pm

oh, another kimchi lover.

• car lover on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:29 pm

carpathia is a KIA saleman….kesian sungguh….sales you kurang sgt ke sampai kena buat provok mcm ni…

• Tiguan on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:19 pm

My Tiguan can smoke both CR-V and Sportage easily. Bring them to go off-roading and you will know what I mean ;)

• Changkul on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:32 am

Europeans are running with turbocharge, supercharge, direct injection, 6-speed, DSG, Powershift, etc, etc…
    Why aren’t Japanese?

• oligopoli on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:59 am

i guess, turbo is not reliable for long range, push-hard drive. maybe somebody can clarify (though i think pressure less than 0.5 bar shouldn’t be a problem)

• BeemerFreak on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:53 am

Hard headedness will bring them no where. It is obvious why GM and VW is already overtaking Toyota. Only Nissan has caught on with turbocharging in the form of the Juke 1.6 DIG-T and New Latio DIG-T

• clutch basah on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Can’t remember the last time Honda rolled out a turbo charged car.
      Have you?

• Stealth on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:22 pm

I will wait for Mazda CX5 with their Skyactive engine and 6 speed dual clutch. Not to mention far better looking car than this..Mazda is the only Jap that is staying ahead..

• megatron on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:40 pm

agreed. mazda skyactive cx5 is so much more good looking. if i m not in hurry to get a car, i would wait for cx5 too. but this crv is a vast improvement from the 3 rd generation.

• perodua on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:33 am

Steering is ugly, old version is better

• Carl Wong on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Yes I wonder why they change that, I still love the current steering for Civic hybrid, Insight etc.

• Any idea when we will get the new Accord here in Malaysia?

• vincent on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:57 am

I prefer the current model, looks nicer overall, it looks a bit like Sorento to me. RM150k for this CRV? Nah… I rather take the fully loaded KIA Sportage

• Price is definately not going to be 150k. Looking at 160k & above.

• lihwoei on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:28 am

OMG…Honda make a same mistake again….the third brake light copy from 7th generation Accord…hope they will improve the material, other wise the red cover/ light will change to pink colour….

• Interior look so plain.. and the exterior is dull comparatively…

place a H logo on Kia’s Sportage..i’m sure it will be selling like a hot cake.

• lithium on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:50 am

urm i prefer this design language – the design will stand the test of time better than swooping swashing curves and folds that already look dated in 2 yrs. honda design have always veer on the conservative, even the futuristic interior when the 8g euro civic was launch, it’s still a tad conservative compared to korean design.

but ……. thanks to the pressure from korean, the japs have responded. lately seeing more effort put into their cars. so competition is great!

• blue-traveler on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:52 am

like the side mirror thing and a good idea for 4×4.

• WTF123 on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:14 am

wish it comes with 3rd row seats so that it can compete with Fortuner P.Sport Santa Fe Sorento Captiva Everest

• My dear friend, those cars you compare with is a lot larger than CR-V and if you haven’t notice yet, they are NOT in the same category.

• I called my Honda dealer and was told that Honda Malaysia will bring in the 2.4 lit next year. I think they should as 2.0 lit feels a bit under power. The 2.0 lit its ok when you are driving around town and the accerleration is quite ok since it is single cam. You just need to press the over drive to down shift to 3rd gear everytime you need extra power to over take. The 3rd gen CRV is a very stable vehicle as I have driven it thru a very winding roads travelling to KK. I dont think its a design rip off…. its very much different than XC60. Car manufacturer do tend to design car similar to each other. If one design is too bold than people hantam if design is too simple kena hantam jugak….So Honda designers play it safe la…..I think the overall design is ok. Just dont use cheap plastic la. Please put in 7 air bags ….why only 5 speed where your rival are offering 6 or 7 speed dual clutch. Why not offer 2.0 lit force induction more economical. I just dont understand Japanese car manufacturer almost all European Car manufacturer are downsizing their engine offering these Japanese Manufaturer are sitting on it. Even Proton will be offering force induction engine soon…. WAKE UP la …..ini japun dapat matahari awal pun masih tidur.

Just my 2 sen comment

• Just wondering when this CRV will be here in Msia.
    Btw, do you think Ford S-Max is much better than this?
    Of course Ford S-Max is much more expensive then the current CRV in Msia.
    It’s about 30-40k diff.
    But look at S-Max specs, it is really worth it.
    Any good recommendation?

• SO BLOODY UGLY (BURUK NAK MAMPUS) !!!!

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Typical anti Japanese car hater. Please get lost!

• maserati on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Awesome car. So many jap haters. Dont be jealous this car will sell like hot cakes. Sportage is rubbish and the tuscon looks cheapp all around. Duno how some of u ppl can worship hyundai and kia. Such utterly boring cars. Whereas honda make cars with soul. So much for korean revolution my arse..

• It sells like hot cakes because of Jap worshiping mentality ppl like you.

BTW, why the name of maserati, if jap so awesome, you should have something like Honda or Toyota.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:36 pm

I agree with you 120%. I love Honda. Honda is No. 1 in innovation and technology.

• David D on Dec 01, 2011 at 4:53 am

I think you should also get the heck out of here. Only bashing Koreans, biased idiot. Mind you, this CR-V is a welcome change from the extremely dowdy, lumpy Civic, which shocked people like me, expecting something equally as radical.

No doubt, i’d take any of the cars you mentioned above, together with this one. In short, all have won, dude, and you’re at the losing end for blind bashing. Serves you right.

• maserati change ur name to Japanese arse lickerlah. It suits you & your comment :)

• TopGear on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:35 pm

hope Honda Malaysia can offer more powerful engine for new CRV.. check out the 2.0 petrol VW Tiguan…will easily smoke d CRV…

Honda, please bring the option of 2.4L option for CRV …cos some customer turn to harrier… or tuscon 2.4

• tarapapa on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Wah, can’t wait to buy! Hopefully the 2.0 version same price or lower than current one. Please launch no later than Feb 2012. I don’t hate Korean or other cars, just love Honda handling and engine. The perfect car for me is VW Tiguan but no budget.. hehe.

• Syarif on Dec 02, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Japs lickers, keluarlah dr tempurung… I’ve a new Accord, but empty inside & outside…

• tarapapa on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Hey guys, new cr-v vs new sportage seems like the sportage is better but each one has it pros and cons. Honda already have Acura for a high spec SUV but sadly as i know of they haven’t start selling in Malaysia yet

• Agree that compared to Tuscan or other similar class CRV seem over price wt it spec offer. Am currently driving 05 crv, been test drive x-trial/Tuscan/Santa fe/pajero sport/sorento but none of them can satisfy me… No because the price nor the performance but the feeling of fun carrying my family wt it. I will go for this New CRV for sure.

• tarapapa on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Does anybody know when its going to launch in malaysia? I asked one of the honda dealers and he said that estimate on 3rd quarter of 2012. Man.. that is too long to wait!

• christ9980 on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Both the new Honda CR-V and Kia Sportage are compact luxury crossover SUVs that are made available on the present market. But, I would like to go with the new CR-V due to its exceptional reliability, and practicality.

• LexusLover on Jul 26, 2012 at 4:06 pm

There’s already a facelifted CRV firtted with led DRL.. only about 6 months in the market? wow…

• Honda ban sai!

• Jasmine on Oct 03, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Although this new CRV’s design is a little standard and no much surprising features, I think this is still a good buy in Malaysia. Hopefully it won’t be as expensive as the Mazda CX5.

Any idea when they will launch in Malaysia?

• Anyone pls guide the fuel consumption?? Peugot 3008 goes for 14.8/100km, crv goes for?

• Sprtage Friends said fuel 17.80/100km compare vw polo 1.6 @ 14.00?? Which which