Proton-Mitsubishi strategic collaboration – Proton expects to ink deal by year-end to build Mitsubishi sedan models

Proton-Mitsubishi strategic collaboration – Proton expects to ink deal by year-end to build Mitsubishi sedan modelsFollowing the news in September about Proton and Mitsubishi discussing a broad ranging collaboration, Bernama reports that Proton expects to seal a JV agreement with Mitsubishi Motors by year-end to build Mitsubishi sedan models at its Tanjung Malim plant.

The agreement will see the manufacture of 60,000 Mitsubishi units annually, which is about 90% of the plant’s production capacity, Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin said, adding that the plant is currently operating at between 56% and 58% capacity.

Syed Zainal was briefing reporters after the announcement of the company’s Q2 2011/2012 financial year results yesterday, which saw the Group recording a lower pre-tax profit of RM47.524 million for the six months ended September 30, 2011, compared to RM185.914 million made in the corresponding period last year.

The lower profit was largely attributed to higher spending by Lotus Group International Limited, mainly on capability enhancement, infrastructure development and marketing costs, in line with its five-year business transformation plan.

Meanwhile, despite a second-half downtrend forecast by the Malaysian Automotive Association, Syed Zainal said that Proton would overcome it with the introduction of its Saga FLX Special Edition in December, the report added.

He said that 2012 was set to be an exciting year for the company, with the introduction of four models, the Exora Bold and Exora Prime, Inspira R3 and the P3-21A sedan.

Syed Zainal also said that Proton is set to expand its presence in the Chinese market – under a memorandum of understanding it has signed with Hawtai Motor Group, it is slated to sell four Proton models under the Hawtai badge.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• makeitmine on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:14 am

Proton, you can build many car models but just look at your selling/marketing.

In Singapore, when you first launch Exora, only manual models are available and we were told that Proton brought in only 20 cars to sell during promotion. It was sold out within a day. Just across the causeway and Proton only has 20 cars to sell! The H-Line was not offered. Singaporeans can’t wait for another shipment because COE prices went up every week!

In indonesia, Exora Star took at least two months to take delivery due to strong demand. If people got money, would they wait that long for a car? Surely there are better alternatives.

• BangsarCarGuy on Dec 02, 2011 at 2:14 am

It sounds like a good problem for Proton, the strong demand, I mean….maybe they were not confident of their products kot initially, hopefully they have fixed the supply issue

• Pak Mat on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:51 am

I will walk semi-nude wearing Tarzan outfit from Tanjung Malim Proton to Shah Alam Proton if Saga 1.6 sales beat entire Myvi sales.

Wanna bet? Any takers? Free show for all!

• mohsin on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:46 am

Bengong!

• Nissan on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:50 am

who will care what you do? You are not Kristen Stewart after all

• if you are as chanthek as susan boyle why not?

• nick kau dah lah PAK MAT…baik pak mat pergi masjid, habiskan sisa sisa hidup pak mat dengan kebaikan daripada bet benda yang useless.

• pak mat, baik pak mat pergi masjid. buat kebaikan/ibadah dengan sisa sisa hidup pak mat tu. daripada bet benda yg tak perlu

• adik pak mat on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:52 pm

pak mat tak sedar diri.ckp gune lutut..

• littlefire on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Haha.. luckily the P1 hardcore supporters saved you from going on the roads.. thanks to all the dislikes.. :P

Anyway we will see the result in the end..

Anyway did all of us wonder did P1 did the de ja vu again? Did last time profit drop also blame Lotus?!?

http://paultan.org/2011/02/27/proton-reports-rm52-million-loss-in-q3-fy-201011/
      “The losses were attributed to higher R&D and branding expenditure as well as restructuring expenses incurred as part of the business transformation plan of Group Lotus.”

http://paultan.org/2007/03/01/proton-posts-3rd-straight-quarterly-loss/
      “Proton cites poor car sales, higher fuel prices and a one-off cost of RM 27 million to restructure Lotus as the main contributors to this loss.”

Before anyone bash me, please provide proof that Lotus is not the 1 that dragging P1 profit down?!? Why Proton still want to protect it? Dr. M project (profit?) izzit? Would rather use the money to invest in our own R&D facility, design & safety that spend at Lotus.. In the end, is the end users that benefited as most of us only able to drive normal road cars & not lotus sport car everyday!!!

• littlefire on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:52 am

Those who dislike, please provide proof loo… I got mine how about ur’s before u dislike me? :P

• BangsarCarGuy on Dec 02, 2011 at 2:18 am

I think u guys confuse building models with badging models..I think Syed Zainal meant contract manufacturing several models in Tg Malim in order to take up excess capacity…bukan to rebadge as Proton…except maybe a big sedan for Gomen Perdana replacement

• apexg2 on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:51 am

“He said that 2012 was set to be an exciting year for the company, with the introduction of four models, the Exora Bold and Exora Prime, Inspira R3 and the P3-21A sedan.”

can read that…there is no new car in December 2011…

Is Exora Prime fix with turbo? Exora Bold only bodykit and cvt rite…one more thing, Inspira R3…haha!Wait for the performance..can beat lancer or not?

• eims @ gold on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:53 am

“Exora Bold and Exora Prime, Inspira R3 and the P3-21A sedan.”

i’m waiting.. :-|

• jamal on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:12 am

mitsu already said they gonna built big plant in thai for its small car isn it? i cant recall any of mitsu sedan in the market except the lancer.

• udasalleh on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:02 am

or possibly the Galant. would be practical replacement for the perdana. just thinkin… who knows.

• GreenFuel on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:18 am

Did I see Exora Bold and Exora Prime? Hope they can come out with a SUV version of Exora

• mohsin on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:32 am

Hawtai! sounds like Ping pong’s biscuit!
    I’m love it!
    btw, waiting for Proton hwatai SUV

• blmers on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:47 am

looking forward 4 P3-21A sedan..

• kington on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:08 am

Interesting piece of news. This will start the ball rolling for the guessing game. I have opnions ranging from a realistic assembly of the Lancer to aid Mitsubishi’s exports in view that their Jap plants of downsizing, while another which i doubt is the assembly of a bigger capacity car, something like the Sigma 2.4 or V6 model also for exports, of which Proton will be allowed to re-badge as our next Perdana.

So what’s your pick?

• wahedenator on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:22 am

Inspira R3? I tot Mitsu not allowed Proton to touch their engine ..

• Drebar on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:32 am

Given the money wasted so far on Lotus, Proton could’ve been easily hired Chris Bangle instead.

It is useless for Proton to convince us with decent engines, quality improvement etc but its design still boring outdated. Proton still suffer serious design problem and if funding/budget is the issue then Lotus must be blamed.

Where is Lotus help in Proton design? Why Lotus can design great concept cars but not for Proton its owner??? Something is wrong here. Proton spent so much on Lotus yet Lotus don’t give back good design to Proton.

Unless there’s a hidden agenda (by DrMamak?) to keep wasting money on Lotus by Proton then it is unfair to local Malaysia buyers that keep on getting boring design Proton cars. DrMamak said hardly any idiots left in the country then it is no-brainer to note that Lotus clearly a big SCAM milking money from Proton.

If Proton can disposed MV Agusta for one euro than better kick out Lotus and invest/hire Chris Bangle instead. Only then it’s money well spent by Proton!

Proton finally have BMW-esque design and what’s wrong with that. Just ask Kia and Peter Schreyer!

• in term of FC, yes campro sti not far with vvti. but form reliability point of view, campro is really good. i’m driving campro NA and now already clocked more than 250000km WITHOUT any problem. my colleague drive mitsu already masok workshop for several time.

• Annaeh on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:54 am

Agree with Drebar on the outdated and boring design. Look at the picture of the ‘new’ Fire Red Saga FLX SE. The car is a small saloon that is too tall and narrow, and no amount of comestics can make it look sleek or sporty.
      Just look at the pictures carefully, black plastic skirting front. side and back, cheap looking China made spot lights and tail lights, and a spoiler that seems out of place. But the cockpit looks interesting though. If the engine, transmission and suspension are as good as many claim to be, then the Saga FLX SE deserve a better body to be sitting on those good parts.

• 4agze on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:34 am

can’t think of any other mitsu sedan other than Lancer..anyone?

• DewaSemut on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:40 am

Wishing Proton the very best of (and the very much needed) luck in its undertakings… The rakyat will closely scrutinizing your developments… DZS, please keep your promise to continue turning around Proton and make it relevant again…

• DewaSemut on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:40 am

Wishing Proton the very best of (and the very much needed) luck in its undertakings… The rakyat will closely scrutinizing your developments… DSZ, please keep your promise to continue turning around Proton and make it relevant again…

• mirror mirror on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:42 am

Very good tie-up, finally Proton can make full use of its Tanjong Malim’s plant.

• BadBET on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:13 am

thats the way to bring in money… good job

• DarkAvenger on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:33 am

There is a new Mitsu small car coming.(can’t remember name)….supposely very fuel efficient with a new engine and looks good too. If can rebadge that, P2 will have a hard time…:)…if the price is right.

• For Malaysian market or export market?
    If it’s for domestic, then it’s gonna be complicated, like what’s happening between Inspira-Lancer…

• I hope we see some tangible returns from the expenditure on Lotus Group International Limited which resulted in the lower pre-tax profit for Proton. Personally would have prefered to see that money being spent on upgrading Proton’s own products

• Jimmy on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:46 am

Beware, this may be just a strategy to increase the price of Proton’s share. Later on, just apologise for making a mistake in news.

• udasalleh on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:06 am

read somewhere Lotus already had 300 bookings of their car during launch of their sales office in china. maybe the turn around is near that makes p1 so confident… look n see in the near future.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Now contract assembly! This is what jaguh kampong achieve in 25 year.

• kerelbort on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:01 pm

I think this is more like a marketing stunt… if Mitsu can trust Proton to assemble their car.. why not we trust Proton made car?

• Area51LE on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Syed Zainal said that Proton would overcome it with the introduction of its Saga FLX Special Edition in December.

Looks like Saga FLX SE is more or less confirmed to launch around December

• bobdbilder on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Syed Zainal and Nadzmi would totally overcome it if there was a Management Buyout. Kick out the useless vendors, get real people on board and in general doing business as it should!

• sembilan on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:11 pm

just wait saga flx 1.6

• wolfsburg on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Are they going to assemble the outdated USDM Galant?

• Stephen on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:04 am

The sad part of this news is. After so many Twist, Proton go back to Mitsubishi.
    Good news is, Tanjung Malim plant is not utilized.

but then, it they have excess land still….its good to explore other OEM to come to Tanjung Malim plant…like Pug which have some rebadge Mitsubishi car :P but then I guess this is might have Naza getting unhappy unless Naza become a Proton shareholder.

• Stephen on Dec 05, 2011 at 10:11 pm

my bad. …its Tanjung Malim Plant is NOW utilized.
      mistyped to NOT.