Tokyo 2011 live: Fourth-generation Honda CR-V SUV

Here’s some live shots of the new 2012 Honda CR-V, the fourth-generation of Honda’s popular SUV. The new CR-V has just been launched in Japan in both 2.0 and 2.4 litre form.

As the CR-V is available in Malaysia in 2.0 litre guise only, let’s take a look at what’s changed. The R20A i-VTEC SOHC engine looks very similar to the 3rd-generation’s – the specs sheet shows that peak power remains the same at 150 PS, but torque is now 191 Nm compared to 190 Nm before. Honda has increased the compression ratio slightly from 10.5:1 to 10.6:1.

The biggest change is that in Japan, the 2.0 litre CR-V now uses a CVT gearbox as opposed to a 5-speed automatic, which the 2.4 litre model continues to use. The 2.4 litre model’s K24A engine produces 190 PS and 222 Nm of torque.

This is not the first time we’ve featured the new CR-V, so we won’t go into too much details – you can read Anthony’s previous story from this morning for more details. The live photo gallery will speak to you the exterior and interior changes – after all, a picture is worth a thousand words.

One thing that we found pretty cool is the new one-touch lever that folds the 60:40 split rear bench down – just pull it once and the rear bench folds down flat in a pretty neat way – the bottom seat folds forward and then the backrest folds down in its place. Watch the video below to see it work.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• iphone4 on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:44 pm

AP HOLDER MALAYSIA PLEASE BRING THIS CAR TO MALAYSIA!!!!!!!!!! RECOND PUN RECOND LAH

• Maskey Ryder on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Plenty ! Plenty ! Plenty of Space, definitely a Family Friendly SUV.

After all that what SUV is about.

• Not bad.. But enough la with those engine.. Where’s ur diesel and turbo? Even P1 already working on it.. +1 torque? Wth? I bet when it reach the shore sure thing +10k from the old one..

• Maskey Ryder on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Current CRV already c/w i-CTDI 2.2 ltr Turbo Diesel Engine, i don’t see any problem in using it for this new CRV.

• terence82 on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:06 pm

honda just launched their newly design direct-injection engines: 1.8 GDI, 2.4 GDI and 3.5 GDI. A new CVT transmission also just introduced and will be the base transmission for all 4-cylinder engine in the future.

• Carlo on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:31 pm

The new Legacy is looking good

• looking-good on Nov 30, 2011 at 4:39 pm

and right now in this size of SUV, who would take the lead in design?

RR Evoque !

• and the price?

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:46 pm

comparing evoque and cr-v is like comparing a rolex vs seiko. one is an excessive luxury, but a good one while the other is just a daily runabout.

• skiborne on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:46 pm

HELLO, Evoque is a range rover!

• Bob_B78 on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Looks bulky at the rear
    Front looks ok
    No WoW factor for this car
    But I guess the overall design will grow on you after a while

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Well done, Honda. Nice SUV. I want one! Wonder how much the new 2.0L CR-V will cost when it is launched here. I like the Start Stop button.

• Gebang on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:57 am

Typical Msian…..like start button instead engine performance…..

• Rileks bro..as a customer he has the right to like whatever he likes..dont tell me u dont like the start stop button? how cool is that!

if you really want engine performance, then go buy bugatti veyron ok?

• hoho... on Nov 30, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Anyone notices that the japanese version and the us version have different front lamp. Japanses’s with DRL i think, probably LED lamp. Not forgetting the different side mirror also.

• RedBeanBun on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:14 pm

CRV is so happy since some stupid punk put the RAV4 over RM200K price…its like purposely helping CRV..

• she is no different with the current one beside the new dressing. And what is the pricing then? 158k??? or 170k for Pajero VGT with 7 seater with 180ps/350nm???

• black series on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:47 pm

wait ! from cvt to 5 speed for city n 5-speed to cvt for crv? marketing strategy?

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:37 am

I think so… because for the CIty case, they have to rebuild the confidence among Southeast Asians especially us regarding the CVT issue, which apparently caused by some stupid mechanics pouring normal ATF inside the CVT gearbox, causing it to malfunction. That issue alone tarnished Honda’s reputation regarding its CVT gearboxes even though the gearbox’s reliability is actually being proven overseas especially in Japan and US, as Honda actually began manufacturing CVTs since end 1990s. Now that everybody is more confident about CVTs especially when Proton Saga starts using CVT to replace its dated 4-speed auto, then it is the right time for Honda to make that kind of change.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:48 pm

very practical suv, am disppointed with the cvt gearbox though, the cr-v unlike other cars is getting slower by generation, interior is much neater but those rims got to go.

• JULIAN LEE on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:27 pm

BMW still the best!!!

• yankeepapa on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Honda has been sleeping for the past 15 years. This 2nd gen CRV has almost the same engine as this 4th gen new one. 1 miserable NM improvement over the old one and they can not even push it to 200NM for a 2.0 liter engine. This is the crap that you get when marketing people run the company instead of engineers. 150hp and the car got heavier and heavier.

My 20+ yr old CRX fitted with a B18C engine puts out nearly 200hp and 185NM. They can do it then why cant they do it now?

• squall_shinoda on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:45 am

Back then, Honda’s main priority is power, unleashing as many horsepower as possible from a normal-aspirated engine. We used to have legendary engines with over 100+ bhp per litre, especially the legendary B16 and B18 engines. Sadly, those mighty engines or any other similar engines can no longer pass the latest emission standards which becomes tighter and tighter. That’s the reason why the current Civic Type R stopped production; it still remains on sale here because to finish up the remaining stocks. That’s also the reason why Honda starts selling eco cars instead, even though they should at least build turbocharged engines, or even twincharged engines.

• rally_fan on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:01 am

B18C cannot meet fuel economy demands from consumers, and also doesn’t even come close to meeting any emissions standards. but honda being viewed as the technology leader in Japan, they’ve definitely fallen short of that in recent times.

• yankeepapa on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Honda has been sleeping for the past 15 years. The 2nd gen CRV had almost the same engine as this 4th gen new one. 1 miserable NM improvement over the old one and they can not even push it to 200NM for a 2.0 liter engine. This is the crap that you get when marketing people run the company instead of engineers. 150hp and the car got heavier and heavier.

My 20+ yr old CRX fitted with a B18C engine puts out nearly 200hp and 185NM. They can do it then why cant they do it now?

• TopGear on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:17 pm

new 2012 VW Tiguan 2.0 …currently selling in malaysia… 2230 kg, kw 155 (210 ps)
    torque 280

• Wheeler on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:04 pm

it’s frustrating to see this CRV’s new design..

• Roslan Tangah on Dec 01, 2011 at 1:01 am

Look like Nissan Infiniti…

• the rear end kinda looks like volvo xc60.don’t you guys think so?

• I don’t see too much difference from the 3rd gen. Even the gear knob and the aircond display is similar with the outgoing model.

I guess they are going for evolution rather than a total makeover. That is OK if your competitors are not doing anything of note but Kia & Hyundai are coming up with better features & looks. But familiarity is a powerful factor so I don’t think their sales would be affected that much.

• Deyaz on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:19 am

Better get a recond Honda Crossroad.

• skiborne on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:44 pm

SAME DRIVETRAIN SAME GEARBOX, SAME ENGINE. WHAT IS THIS??!

• sean111 on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:23 pm

just like the changing ‘CASING’ of a Handphone… & then sell it as new model!

• ah kiat on Jan 16, 2012 at 12:13 am

honda’s designer is gone….

how come the 3rd Crv is almost same with 4th generation?!

KIa sportage and sorentor is look better than Crv. and the get the 5 years and unlimitted millege warranty…..

They will defeat japanese car at future…

I hope honda’s designer upgrade…

• mail lambong on Oct 22, 2012 at 12:22 am

Ayyoooo…dont try to be POYO here la tambi…dont talk about BMW…if so, go n get Bentleyla tambi….x need to show off ur stupidness….