BMW and Toyota diesel engine supply deal officially inked

BMW and Toyota diesel engine supply deal officially inkedYou have probably heard of some chatter about a possible partnership between BMW and Toyota in regards to environmentally-friendly technologies.

Well looks like there was substance behind the rumors after all and both companies have announced a collaborative effort today. A memorandum has been signed between the two auto brands which will see BMW supply Toyota’s European division with the company’s 1.6 liter and 2.0 liter diesel powerplants in 2014.

“It is a great joy and a thrill to enter into this mid-to-long-term collaborative relationship with BMW, a company with its own culture and history from its many years of car manufacturing in Europe, and a company that makes cars that are fun to drive. In the spirit of contributing to furthering the development of the auto industry and society, both companies will bring their wide-ranging knowledge-starting with that concerning environmental technologies-to the table and make ever-better cars,” said Akio Toyoda, Toyota’s president.

BMW’s Chairman of the Board of Management Norbert Reithofer said, “Toyota is the leading provider of environment-friendly series technology in the volume segment and the BMW Group is the most innovative and sustainable manufacturer of premium automobiles. We are now joining forces to further develop environment-friendly technologies and to expand our innovation leadership in each of our segments.”

“Supplying Toyota with our fuel efficient and dynamic diesel engines represents another important step in the planned expansion of our sales activities for engines and powertrain system,” he added. This deal is part of a memorandum which covers collaborative research into next generation environmental friendly technologies, such as lithium-ion battery technology.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• squawk on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:41 pm

So this is Asia’s answer? :-)

• Diesel Kiki on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:17 am

No its not Asia’s answer cause we don’t even have clean diesel. Infact, sales of diesel cars are going to drop badly cause of the new 2014 date for clean diesel proposed. Norbert Reithofer, since Malaysia has “dirty disel”, can you at least introduce your 2.0 turbo petrol quickly. It has been sold for months now worldwide but we are stuck with your old engines. What are you waiting for?

• Silwen on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Do I sense a diesel hybrid in the works?

• bunny on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:53 pm

BMW diesel engine tech+ Toyota hybrid tech= ultimate powerful & fuel saving machine.

• nazri on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:49 pm

toyota fan will enjoice

• Masked Ryder on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:16 am

I sense Hyundai/KIA boss wetting their pants.

Kamsa Hamida & Get lost.

• Ryder Masked on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:33 am

If I were Hyundai and KIA, I would be very alarmed too. This means Hyundai and KIA got to work extra hard and invest more for better diesel technology, which means better deal for car buyers.

Also, it shows what was so apparent but denied by so many people, that is, Toyota sucks at diesel technology. It is god that Toyota finally have the guts to admit that they really needed assistance in developing diesel tech.

• Let me highlight this again.

TOYOTA SUCKS AT DIESEL TECHNOLOGY + commercial user’s turbo…

• Masked Ryder on Dec 02, 2011 at 5:47 pm

What is this my mirror image or what ?

Get ur own nick.

Most mfg try to find partner so that they can cut cost on engine development, eg BMW+Peugeot (Prince Engine).

But for GEMA engine, the origianl deal was that Mitsubishi to contribute engine technology, Chrysler to contribute setting up a huge mfg facilities in Michigan while Hyundai to supply funding, but the result is that Hyundai betrayed the deal by setting up another plant in Alabama, end of the day Chrysler end up with a oversized plant, Mitsubishi end up been traitor to Japanese Auto industry (As prior to Gamma, Theta range Hyundai engine suck big time).

Do u think any other mfg would want to consider working with them in future ?

Infact that the norm act by Korean Mfg (Remember Samsung/Apple case ?), maybe lot’s of u all have been watching too much Korean Drama & begin to idolised them.

• Ryder Masked on Dec 03, 2011 at 8:04 am

I do not idolise Korean cars. I also do not idolise Jap cars. Japs suck at diesel technology and it’s fact. Hyundai/KIAi’s diesel technology still has a lot to catch up with German technology. That is also a fact.

Between the Koreans and Japs, the Koreans’ diesel technology is ahead of the Japs. This, too, is a fact. What’s so difficult to admit that? Ego problem?

• autojohndoe on Dec 02, 2011 at 11:15 am

hyundai and KIA already have their diesel… but not in malaysia widely… mostly seen use in Sonata Taxi…

So… they still can pee happily…

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:38 am

world dominance incoming

• VeeDub on Dec 02, 2011 at 3:54 am

Ahh i love BMW diesel power,fuel efficient yet powerful! F10 520d best!

• Looks like in Diesel engineering..Toyota has to ‘surrender’..

• And so they finally realised that not everywhere, petrol / hybrid /electrics are loved.

A well designed diesel can match if not even best the hybrid. Put them both together with stop/start and boy, you can probably reach 100mpg! Is that impossible to dream, I don’t think so…

But pity that this might never reach our shores. *sigh*

We’ll continue to miss out on the good stuff. :(

• MazlanHB on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:18 am

Toyota n BMW can get the deal done easily.
    Wonder what went wrong wt the VW-Suzuki jv…

• Toyota don’t want to get the engines (or the technology) for free?

• blue-traveler on Dec 02, 2011 at 10:20 am

HaHa..! Just a stupid thought, P1 getting the same deal from BMW. thus forcing all gas station here to carry EU4 diesel.

• Eric Ng on Dec 02, 2011 at 11:20 am

cant wait for it…. doubt UMW will ever bring good toyota cars to Malaysia
    Unless change GOV, implement free Economy policy…

that’s my take

• just wondering…. BMW engine + Toyota price…. :D

• Diesel-hybrid or diesel-reev is the FUTURE.
    Plug-in/Full EV can go bust.
    Mark my words.

Diesel is much more sustainable with addition to bio-fuel other than hydrogen fuel. Cheaper, reliable, powerful and abundance in resources.

• Gavin on Dec 02, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Japs have paid a terrible price for not being able to compete on the diesel level, the market they loss there they barely made up with sales of hybrids.

Clearly they took the wrong path

• True and false at the same time, Hybrid (pondan car) does help in the development of full electric cars. But, T&H might be milking it too far. :/

• so nobody bashes the 1.6 and 2.0 litre engines?
    nobody wants to blidly say it’s archaic engines ??
    if proton comes with that cc , bashers can’t stop their fingers to type hatred comments
    waiting for the turbocharged cfe turbo comes out and pawn puny 1.6, 1.7,1.8,1.9 and 2.0 engines all the way

• Gavin on Dec 03, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Because they are the latest and greatest in DIESEL technology with twin turbos and superb efficiency and power.

Proton just started turboing their camtakpro engine while pokok cherry mechanics did it about 5 years ago already and proton thinks they are making a hugeeee leap with it now 5 years late

• plstl on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:43 pm

lol this is factory turbo charged engine can last long, pokok cherry mechanics will only risk your car and your life too

• i sense a diesel hybrid prius coming soon…..combine bmw diesel expertise wt toyota hybrid synergy drive …potent frugal machine wt huge TORQUE!!

• shrte on Dec 03, 2011 at 4:05 am

can’t stop laughing as 1.6 and 2.0 – at last big players follow proton, wtf

• Hadi75 on Dec 03, 2011 at 10:28 am

Big player dont follow proton la bro….proton use 1.6 petrol…this is 1.6 turbo diesel from bmw….not the same bro

• where you got it said turbo?
        what is the Nm? if still below 200 then forget it

• Hadi75 on Dec 05, 2011 at 10:17 am

Nowadays all diesel are turbo bro….either twin or single and generate more than 200nm of torque….that’s why in europe more diesel car are sold than petrol….more mileage…better fuel economy….

• plstl on Dec 03, 2011 at 2:52 pm

agreed so the bashers now try to look for other ideas ok?

• The Truth on Dec 03, 2011 at 7:46 am

The inked sooner will be polluted. Diesel engine are polluted that produce NOx causes acid rain. I really don’t understand those tricky term of “Environment” by Toyota mean useless for real environment.

• NOx.. you still live in the 90’s issit?

FYI, modern diesels are cleaner than petrol, especially the european ones.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automobile_emissions_control

• The Truth on Dec 03, 2011 at 10:14 am

Ok WIKI~ I can see clearly your vast knowledge from here.

• LOL.. the reason I give you wiki is that it consist layman term explanation for your ease of understanding. I am scared that you are not able to comprehend anything other else than wiki pages. If you can’t even understand what’s written in the wiki page, no point giving you more technical documents. Provide more technical arguments than “Ok WIKI”. That should be more challenging bro…

• Hadi75 on Dec 03, 2011 at 10:29 am

Wish our diesel are euro 4 already…..

• Lim Kopi on Dec 04, 2011 at 6:17 am

ALRIGHT PEOPLE ….

IF this is true, there shall no longer be any whacking on Toyota cars …

I hereby declare myself having some sort of respect and recognition for this brand …

Imagine an Altis with a BMW engine ??? HOW COOL IS THAT !!!

• ashty on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:45 pm

not cool as altis doesn’t have good handling, at least like protons. what use of bm engine?