Tokyo 2011: Live photos of the Suzuki Regina concept

We are reporting live from the Land of the Rising Sun and this is the Suzuki Regina concept which could point to a new global compact car from the Japanese brand. Little has been revealed about the car but we do know that it is powered by an 800cc petrol engine that is also turbocharged.

The small engine is paired to a continuously variable transmission or CVT and there is brake energy regeneration and an engine start/stop function. It weighs only 730 kg and has a drag coefficient at least 10% lower than that of current models in Suzuki’s line-up.

This allows the Regina to deliver a fuel economy reading of 3.76 liters per 100 km which is rather impressive. The concept which measures 3,500 mm long and 1,600 mm wide was produced using a new manufacturing process that helps reduce the number of parts required.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• clutch basah on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Suziki what!? Vagina?

• New swift?

• mitchell alforque on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Sweet Jesus!

• looks rather french, nice. i like it. seems to have design cues of renault and citroen of the yesteryears.

• Angely on Dec 01, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Fall in love with the interior looks futuristic. Overall design really nice.

• Walter on Dec 02, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Even the steering wheel is copied from the Citroen GS from 1970:

http://www.leblogauto.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/03/Pascal_MICHEL/Avignon_Motor_Festival/Citroen_GS_Birotor_4.jpg

But the technology of the Citroen GS from 1970 was far ahead the Suzuki Regina, it had i.e. hydro-pneumatic self-levelling suspension etc.

• Friday on Dec 02, 2011 at 3:28 pm

yup. nice that those old design elements are making a comeback.

• here’s the renault front i meant:
    http://www.renaultcarpic.com/tag/renault-10-2

here’s the citroen rear i meant:
    http://www.netcarshow.com/citroen/1960-ds_19/1280×960/wallpaper_03.htm

• Lim C. on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:05 am

I hope that the boring Swift will be replaced by the Regina soon.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:19 am

macam kiroro.

• Friday on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:32 am

Wonder how the production version will look. Suzuki made a boo-boo by altering the aggressive A-Star concept’s looks to produce the cutesy Alto. Hopefully they refine but don’t dumb down the design.

• sammo on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:11 am

looks like angry bird car ^^

• Jeff Choo on Dec 04, 2011 at 3:28 pm

I wonder how many people are going to mispronounce the name!

• Frank on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:46 am

De car looks cute..