Tokyo 2011: Subaru reveals the BRZ, looks familiar?

To many of us, the Toyota GT 86 Coupe is one of the most highly anticipated cars, this year at least. The sweet-looking coupe gave the AE 86 a new lease of life and should be in the bucket list of many around the world.

As you would have known, Subaru is also producing its version of the GT 86, called the BRZ which made its first public appearance at the Tokyo Motor Show. Just like the Toyota version, it is motivated by a four-cylinder 2.0 liter engine with 197 hp and 205 Nm of torque. There are subtle differences here and there, including different front bumpers.

At the same time, Subaru also revealed the Super GT Subaru BRZ race car which will compete in the GT300 class of the 2012 Super GT Series :) So which version you prefer? Toyota’s or Subaru’s?

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• shawal on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:15 pm

why not just call it breeze and save us breaths

• this one better

• both toyota’s n subaru’s rear look same..huuu

• daddachu on Dec 01, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Definitely the BRZ! The froht end looks so much nicer. Generally the whole car is more sporty.

• Sti please!

• Black on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:05 pm

subaru punya lg cantik.

• Jolly_idiot on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Oh! Come on! What happened to subaru? No more personality for itself!

• nebula87 on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:40 pm

New Toyota AE86’s Rebadge?? oh gosh…at 1st i tot it was Porsche and Peugeot…

• blue-traveler on Dec 02, 2011 at 10:27 am

Agreed! Me too, 1st look at 1st pic, the word Porsche jumps to mind. The cars shape/silhouette, at a glance does strongly shows it.

• i’ll choose the toyota gt 86…

• JeremyNg on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:54 pm

so whats de different except the minor change of bumper ??!! So in the end , you only will buy BRZ bcs u like subaru or u are subaru fans ……..

• I think Subaru’s will be AWD….
      I would pick the BRZ over the GT86 based on looks ….

• Nizam80 on Dec 02, 2011 at 10:51 am

People will buy the Subaru version probably because of the boxer engine. Boxer = Subaru. It’s been Subaru’s tradition for ages.
      But what about Boxer = Toyota???? Doesn’t seem right to me.

• arcana on Dec 01, 2011 at 11:57 pm

err this is totally rebadged in action…
    hardly any identity of a subaru, why did they do this?
    it doesn’t seem much different at all from the toyota version.

• No it’s not a rebadged at all.Subaru engineered the car’s chassis/handling/steering and supplied the engine; Toyota designed the car

• arcana on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:20 pm

what i meant was its like taking a GT-86, change bumper and logo and wallaa….a subaru (thats a rebadge work).
        i agree they did contribute to the car though, but i think it needs more differentiation.

• Daniel on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:11 am

I’ll buy whichever is cheaper cos essentially they are the same

• I think this design is suitable to Subaru since that “eagle eye” design is similar to the impreza.. Toyota’s.. something not quite right somewhere.. IDK..

• same thought here…

i know GT86 and Sub BRZ is the same car but something in the Toyota seems to be out of the picture somehow. =(

BRZ looks better IMHO, must be the color. =P

• Jimmy on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:53 am

No fight, compared to the initial concept FT-86.

• akmal hakim on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:57 am

oh what?,come on lah japanese nowdays so lazy,even wira and lancer have a lot of cosmetic difference,hurmm.i,m a very dissapointed.

• yahoo on Dec 03, 2011 at 12:49 am

at least perodua is kinda “rajin” with their local line up here..LOL

• This is suppose to be a Subaru’s.. its design is similar to other current model in Subaru. If I see BRZ then in my mind I can tell its Subaru straight away. but if I see GT86.. I kinda pause a bit if its a Toyota..

• Both version looked fat and stubby.

Nothing beats the raw and original hachiroku.

• st150 on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:31 am

its same with passo n justy :)…for me, subaru brz look better than 86 :)

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 02, 2011 at 1:37 am

doesn’t matter, great car.

• i die die believe this come from europe until i see the title.

• oh man…Toyota 86?

• khairi on Dec 02, 2011 at 4:12 am

At 1st glance for the front look i thought it was a peugeot

• Magical design job by a company called Dejavu

• The latest 86 video from Toyota was just released yesterday… Looks pretty solid guys.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pCXsFDlvns

• HirumaKecil on Dec 02, 2011 at 6:49 am

Peugeot nose….

• Wheeler on Dec 02, 2011 at 7:52 am

where’s the comments condemning subaru a copycat like MyVi or Inspira case ??!

• azrai on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:13 am

“Neither Toyota nor Subaru. I will wait for Perodua’s version CKDed in Rawang. Made in Malaysia lorr. Maybe waiting for the Extreme version with some bodykit and bling-bling here and there” said Ah Beng to reporter last night when asked about the barand he prefers. :-)

• chong on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:25 am

Guys GT86 and BRZ is the same. Developed by both company together.

but subaru will have an STi version of BRZ which will produce almost 300 bhp.

• AhBeng on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:12 am

yeah i think the badge suits Subaru more.. toyota, can u just stick back to FT86’s body pls?

• niuhje on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:30 am

who copied who??

• which one is cheaper? I’ll choose it

• fookyuan on Dec 02, 2011 at 9:55 am

front look like Pug CRZ or the 308 lines before they move away to the new front grille/bumper design

but still looks good

• the name so lame la.

honda has CRZ

so subaru has BRZ.

and peugeot got RCZ.

-_- we have 26 alphabets. go find others.

• Hey!!! It’s front and rear lights are inter-changeable!

Just kiddin………

• Most Peugeot cars are useless on design. Forte Koup could challenge new Subaru

• Seem better than T.

Aiyo, Mr T-san, wake up!

• hey,…this reminds me of Nissan 280 Z fairlady….. I don’t understand why both Toyota & Subaru share the same design….same platform ok but same design. Hay change la sikit front light, tail light or engine. Now days japanese designers are becoming lazy…..

Just my 2 sen

• jay8393 on Dec 02, 2011 at 11:18 am

I’d rather have the Toyota over this.

• nobody gonna say this brz got grill looks like GTR?hahaha..sure,coz its jap..if its a hyundai,sure lot basher gonna say genesis coupe copy this copy that~hahahaha

• bobdbilder on Dec 02, 2011 at 12:35 pm

I’ll take the safer one. The one with the rollcage and stickers.

• Gavin on Dec 02, 2011 at 2:58 pm

subaru looks better with the rear bumper diffuser but not so much with the Peugeot 308 plastic mouth guard

• why subaru why???
    i thought you are special.. sigh

• eggman01 on Dec 02, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Looks great!

• ojaykb on Dec 02, 2011 at 4:03 pm

perodua plz rebadge this….

• tail light is still the biggest turnoff…..

• BeemerFreak on Dec 02, 2011 at 5:46 pm

A Subaru without all wheel drive is not a true Subaru. And I prefer my brz with the sti ‘s 2.5l turbocharged flat four

• Astronauts on Dec 02, 2011 at 6:22 pm

peugeot rcz copy version

• armandd on Dec 02, 2011 at 6:32 pm

It seems that most comments are about looks and design of the car only.. No one discusses about the performance, modding potential or more importantly the fun factor of the car?

• JULIAN LEE on Dec 02, 2011 at 8:05 pm

BMW 1 series coupe can topple this car easily..without any doubt..BMW still the best!!!

• honda power in dream only on Dec 02, 2011 at 11:58 pm

“Just like the Toyota version, it is motivated by a four-cylinder 2.0 liter engine with 197 hp and 205 Nm of torque.”

proton’s turbocharged cfe only 1.6 but already 205Nm torque. give it 2.0 and already pawns this engine LOL

• poorM on Dec 03, 2011 at 1:06 am

That’s Turbo you smart….haih…..

• flash on Dec 03, 2011 at 1:43 am

cheapo but powerful engine, that’s MODERN and EFFICIENT
      why not replace this archaic engine with better one, perhaps one step higher?

• armandd on Dec 03, 2011 at 1:51 am

bro.. turbo vs NA the throttle response the same ah?

• verton on Dec 03, 2011 at 11:13 am

stupid japs, why not give it 2.0 turbo engine?
        dun want to pay higher price for this n/a engine, afraid be taken over by “junks” like neo and persona turbo. where to put face

• Nizam80 on Dec 04, 2011 at 12:32 am

To me, this engine is the real deal. No turbo, supercharger,… etc. Just pure raw high-revving power. And I love NA engines. Definitely for enthusiasts.

• Waja Owner on Dec 05, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Not enough torque la…i was expecting somewhere above 270Nm….quite dissapointed with the production design after the wonderful concept…

Dissapointed they play safe instead of pushing their limit…

I wanted to change my 2005 coupe for this car in 2015…now i think i get a European coupe

• Danny on Dec 03, 2011 at 8:20 pm

any words regarding the price? please let it be less than 250K.

• Put on ur ass ley

• ahmadjohnson on Dec 05, 2011 at 4:51 pm

when the latest subaru impreza wrx sti sedan version going to come malaysia?