LIVE from Tokyo: Subaru BRZ, sister of the prom queen

The Toyota GT 86 is undoubtedly the star of Tokyo Motor Show 2011, the belle of the ball. And while the Subaru BRZ (stands for Boxer engine, Rear-drive, Zenith) is essentially the same car, with the same flat-four engine, it didn’t generate as much ‘oohs’ and ‘aahs’ as the new hachi-roku. Understandable, since it’s not the one with the evocative name.

But the compact body goes quite well with Subaru blue, I think, and FHI had a fetching matte white BRZ on display, too. Other differences from the Toyota include the addition of a funky spoiler and the lack of the 86 logo at the base of the A-pillar, replaced by a generic vent. Subaru is also mighty proud of its trademark Boxer engine, which is compact, light and with a low centre of gravity, ideal for a small sports car.

This “Proud of Boxer” statement will be seen on the race BRZ that Subaru will campaign in next year’s Super GT GT300 category, as well as the team’s overalls. Subaru’s many fans will be wishing for a “STI version” with turbo and AWD, but will Toyota allow its prom queen be overshadowed and outperformed by her sister?

Enjoy these live shots of the BRZ from Tokyo Big Sight, including interior shots and the GT300 racer. Click here for live pics and a video of the GT 86.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• night_hawk_xtreme on Dec 05, 2011 at 10:01 am

I loike!!! when it will bring to malaysia? and how much you guys think it wil sell our country?

• I’m in love~!! a breeze of fresh air in RWD segment. =)

a new WRX STI is about RM 280+k… so probably somewhere around that range?

Paul/Danny, we are waiting for a test drive report… =P

• altecs on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:17 pm

The price will nowhere be near the WRX. The US price is 24k USD which if translated to malaysian ringgit (tax included) to somewhere between RM160k-RM180k.

• Saru-Kun on Dec 05, 2011 at 10:19 am

Woooooo~~~~~
    Subaru Version Has DSG~~~~
    So If, IF There Is A STI Version, Turbo, AWD And DSG………….
    Wicked!!!!~~~~~~~

• i like the sister more!!

• BlackBJQ on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:39 am

its fascinates me when looking at this coupe with fluidic bodyline and wearing subaru’s badge! Yes, the gt86 is awesome but this brz is brrilliant!

• JonLing on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:40 am

it will be great if this is a standalone car, without being overshadowed by the “original”…….this is a great looking car, and it looks great in blue, just that people might keep thinking of “GT 86” when they saw this car, and when they realized it is not, they might just go “oh…..this is not the 86?”, and have that disappointing look or some “look down on the car” look, so i think the drivers will have to get ready for that kinda response.

In some ways, I really wish this was the real GT 86, coz personally I think it looks better than GT 86. well…..things not always happen the way we hope for…….

• kington on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Agree. Subjectively, the BR-Z looks easier on the eyes, though we’ll have to wait to see the real thing in the flesh. Part of it, is because we’ve grown to accustomed to the FT86 Concept I and II with huge wheels and boomerang-like rear lights.

I hope Subaru will be allowed to tune the exhaust valve just to replicate the Imprezas’ exhaust note..

• subaru only look nice in blue colour..why?

• Danny, i cant help to notice that the interior picture shows what appear to be a manual drive stick, but… are those paddle shifter on the steering wheel? O.o

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 05, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Good spot!

The blue car is the automatic variant, with a “manual style” shifter.
      There’s no clutch pedal, the left most piece is a foot rest.

• haha!! that explains it… many thanks. =)

for a minute there i was wondering if they had replaced the clutch pedal with the shifters… u know, since most of the people had lost their sense of left footy for driving an auto car. LOL! =P

• BlackBJQ on Dec 05, 2011 at 12:24 pm

now, thats what we call the bitter part that subaru must swallow.. Slam in the boxer into the toyota+subaru mutually developed, than the praised goes more to toyota. That is life.

• _xXx_ on Dec 05, 2011 at 12:47 pm

UGLY! My Waja looks way way way better!! Hehehe…

• _xXx_ on Dec 05, 2011 at 4:26 pm

hey protong salesman, take back ur thumb-up. I was kidding :)

• Nice New Mazda 6 incoming…hehe

• danny, how about the spec?

when can we have spec comparison between GT86 and BRZ?

• speed_lover on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:57 pm

copying toyota’s car =.=” ..don’t they think of other design than just copying? *sarcasm statement to the bashers*

• Rhynnon on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Here I am in Tokyo so close by and I can’t even find time to visit the Tokyo Motorshow :-( . Been to busy sightseeing to even find time to visit it. There’s a guy from India who is staying at the hostel I am at and he is motor journalist covering the motorshow. Where are you staying, Danny?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 06, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Stayed in Akasaka area. Spare the time, it’ll be worth it!

• Rhynnon on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:28 pm

I can’t, I am already at the airport going back. I stayed near Asakusa, at Sakura Hostel. I had a great time though, visited a lot of plac es. But it’s really cold, especially when it was raining!

• Don’t like the front bumper and it looks cheap !

• beatnik on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:38 am

86 or brz, don’t care.. as long as manufacturers still making cars for enthusiasts.. a lightweight coupe, 200 horses, 6 speed short shifter with little gadgetry is always welcomed.

automatic variant just spoils the image.

give it 2-3 years i’m sure the grey importers will sell them.. RM150-160k is expected, since similar cars are priced around that.

• areoulz on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:07 pm

they always like this. when prototype reveals like.. wow!! when final thing come out like.. hurmm.. same like EVO and GTR before..

• Bongcs on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:16 pm

2 door Japanese, RM190,000
    2 door Local, RM 50,000
    2 door Germanian, RM258,000
    2 door Italianm, RM 2,500,000.

• awesome on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:36 pm

The interior looks very plasticky

• Of cos ler. This car is sport car, not your heavy luxury sedan. They want to make it lightest possible.

• Sheikh on Dec 08, 2011 at 7:02 pm

ill take this over the new 86!