New Toyota Avanza coming soon – specs, prices are out!

You’ve already seen the refreshed Toyota Avanza, Indonesian spec, on this website last month, and it looks like UMW Toyota is all set to launch it in Malaysia. UMWT has put up a “coming soon” banner on its website featuring the new Avanza, with the tagline “Make room for more family fun”.

There will be four variants of the Avanza offered here – one base model 1.3 M/T and three 1.5 A/T variants. The 1.5-litre engine in question is the 3SZ-VE with 103 PS and 136 Nm, the same VVT engine powering the Perodua Alza. It’s mated to a four-speed automatic and is available in E, G and range topping S trim levels.

Click to enlarge spec sheet

Kit wise, ABS with EBD is available from G spec onwards. The G and S also get fog lamps and dual airbags, while the 1.5 E makes do with a driver’s airbag. All 1.5 variants get a 2-DIN head unit with MP3, WMA, USB, and AUX/iPod compatibility, but only the G and S get steering audio buttons (a first for the Avanza), tilt steering and six speakers. The S spec comes with a “sports” bumper and radiator grille plus side skirts.

Prices start from RM63,864 for the 1.3E, rising to RM71,864 for the 1.5E. The plusher 1.5G is priced at RM76,590 while the range topping 1.5S will set one back RM78,864.

Click to enlarge spec sheet

Click here to see the Indonesian spec new Avanza. Our previous post comes with detailed brochure shots of the new features and redesigned details.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sammy on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Can the Avanza beat the Grand Livina for legspace and shoulder room? Ever tried going over 120km/h in both and see the difference? No doubt the price is of different class but Toyota seems to want to push this low quality product to the masses and use its name to sell the product. They have better quality products for the West and lemons for the East…

• adiia on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:59 pm

oh, toyota fanboy gonna have sleepless night.

1.5 avanza gonna terrorize the road!!!

• kadajawi on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Not really, in Germany they don’t even bother to compete AFAIK. Only the Yaris Verso, which is a dreadful small MPV (imagine a Vios as MPV… yay!). There’s just too much competition. 37k RM will get you a Dacia Logan MCV as a 7 seater (less if you are ok with 5 seats), and that one can easily seat 1,90m persons in the 3rd row, with space left for 2 suitcases. WTF?). And it’s just as poorly spec’ed as the Avanza (a bit better actually, I think 2 airbags are standard).

Then there are tons of panel vans turned family car that are pretty decent. Renault Kangoo, Fiat Dublo, Peugeot Partner, Citroen Berlingo, Skoda Roomster (the most car’ish of them all), Ford Tourneo, VW Caddy, Mercedes Vaneo (ok, that flopped) and maybe a few that I have forgotten. Not all of them are available with 7 seats though, but they are all good cars, bigger and safer than the Avanza.

Really, no point in competing for Toyota (unless they would have brought in the Sienta…).

• tsk tsk... on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:21 pm

boring specs…

• tsk tsk... on Dec 06, 2011 at 1:43 pm

haha.. 51 likes… ok i decided… i might as well get a van instead of avanza

• michael on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:25 pm

still 4 speed auto…

• new or facelifted?

• clement on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:41 pm

same as toyota avanza in indonesia. all new design but old technology. lols

• AvanzaLover on Dec 05, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Could it be NEW FACELIFT ??

• rush hour on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:05 am

no. everything is new, except for engine and transmission. toyota holding on strong to the saying = if it aint broke, dont fix it,

without protection to proton, this avanza will sell at about 30-40K which to toyota is the entry level to their MPV line-up – Avensis Verso, Bb, Sienta, Wish, Ipsum, Estima and Alphard/Veilfire.

even UMW has less confidence that this new Avanza will be best-seller. they refused to assemble it locally now but rather bring it in CBU from indonesia which has reduced a lot of investments which require volume sales in order to break even.

• hmm?
    *yawn*

• Kamsahamnida on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:30 pm

I see rubbish car incoming. More sampans SUV will rolling our road feel unpleasant to watch it. With the overrated price Exora much better choice.

• lemon on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:33 pm

“Kit wise, ABS with EBD is available from G spec onwards”
    u must be kidding..

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 05, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Typical of UMW Toyota. You pay this price, you get no airbags, ABS, EBD, BA. You pay slightly higher price you get one air bag. You pay more than slightly higher price, you get two airbags, you pay more than higher higher price you get two airbags, ABs, EBD and BA. Only G spec has all the safery features. Rubbish! Even my low spec Honda City Grade S has two airbags, ABS, EBD, BA and front pretensioner seatbelts.

• BeemerFreak on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:41 pm

If I am UMW i will have no face to bring this crap in. Instead i will bring the Wish Estima and Alphard in. At least when people talk about my MPV’s it is about class not crap.

• kadajawi on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:18 pm

You don’t even want to hear what a Euro spec Kangoo II (so nothing fancy) has as a standard…

But I’ll list it anyway :D
        4 airbags (only…), TC, of course pretensioners (I think even our old Kangoo has pretensioners for every seat except 3rd row), ABS, EBD, ESP. Top spec gets all that + 2 more airbags, so not a big difference, even low spec cars get almost all the safety features.

My 2002 Citroen Xsara has 6 airbags, ESP only for engines above the basic 1.4 (which I have…). ABS is standard. And that was pretty much a base spec car.

• Any Brand on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:14 pm

1.6 CVT also got ABS & EBD…but toyota fanboy still say its expensive :)

• DewaSemut on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Same engine with Alza?? Beli Alza je laa… :P

• “Prices start from RM63,864 … RM78,864.”

Wow, even the prices are within Exora range he he he!

“Tagline…Make room for more family fun”

Wrong. Should be: “Make room for more Exora sales drop”.

Bravo Toyota! But pity Exora owners suffer low mileage 10km/Lt when same money can buy Avanza better mileage 14km/Lt minimum!

So same price range which one you choose better mileage or not?

Only blind idiots cannot think logically lah.

• khylie555 on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:07 pm

yes,blind idiots such as toyota fanboy will only think illogically…

• Proton cybertroopers seems like to compare themself with everyone. They think they are some very important brand to look out for. Everytime other manufacturers come out with new cars, Proton ppl will want to bring in their models.

• autojohndoe on Dec 05, 2011 at 6:02 pm

so… you keep thinking you are less capable than other makers?

well, that’s explained why our advancement so slow…

• khylie555 on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:59 am

so do toyota fanboy who like to compare their so called super advanced 4 speed auto to other maker.

• kadajawi on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Not really. It makes sense to compare the car to the competition in that price range, and well, Exora is in that price range, and it seems to be a better car than that ancient outdated car that was meant for the 3rd world. I’m not a Proton fan (more into Renault), but I’d rather get the Exora.

Too bad TC doesn’t bring in the Kangoo II… such a nice car.

• khylie555 on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:46 pm

are you trying to say that toyota is not capable to compete with other brand like the proton?

• khylie555 on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:00 pm

are you trying to say that toyota with their super advanced 4 speeds auto is not capable to compete with other brand like proton?

• kadajawi on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:00 am

lol. They can compete (more or less). They just don’t in Malaysia. Unless you go for the Prius or the Lexus models.

• myvi extreme on Dec 05, 2011 at 3:19 pm

hey
      use ur brain lah
      exora is so heavy using 1.6 engine of coz makan minyak lah bodoh

• mrsham on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:31 am

Don`t be so rude to call somebody “bodoh” la bro. Maybe “bodoh” will turn back 2 U.

• mrsham on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:33 am

Don`t be so rude 2 call somebody “bodoh” it is not nice. Maybe someday “bodoh” will be yours.

• nabill on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:49 pm

hahahahaha……!

• ugghhhh design lah a whole new Avanza!!! Still stick with this old crap.. driven the avanza and boy it suck!!! Alza and Exora for the win!!!

• protonforeva on Dec 05, 2011 at 1:54 pm

lets see how many idiots in malaysia will go for this overpriced, ‘roti bun’ styled van!

• bersih on Dec 05, 2011 at 5:59 pm

a lot of them…. haiz… bcos is a T with new face…..

• sad to say that i will be one of them … Avanza have the clearance of a lorry that I like.

• kadajawi on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:33 pm

lol. The Kangoo also had relatively high ground clearance. But amongst the cars now… pickups? Spacious, relatively affordable.

• Abanja on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Another dugong arises from the ocean….
    Oh Wait!!!! Oh not again!!!

• mfahd_88 on Dec 05, 2011 at 10:03 pm

dugong is just for vios la
      i think we should give a new name for this so called new avanza
      urm..anjing laut perhaps?
      XD

• better wait for Exora Bold/Prime….. This avanza is so lame *yawn*

• meet_the_zonan on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:42 am

this is what proton main problem, they still not understand how the business work..all from the first model proton in the market, they not roll out the finest and boldest one, why not suit up the exora with 17inch rim and full bodyskirt and media player and saga with 16inch rim starting the first launch? now when they got shanky with other product that will smash their market, then their start to devastated.. people will buy if the product is acceptable even the price is higher nowadays..

• James T on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:04 pm

LOL they even dare to introduce 1.3 variants… Myvi engine on this?

• kadajawi on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:02 am

That’s a good thing, so they won’t turn over because you can’t go fast. :)

• protonforeva on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:12 pm

avanza crawls like snail, rocks like a pendulum, seats are plywood stiff.

exora, though heavier and bulkier (for comfort & safety purposes), runs like a mercedes on the highway. and its only a third the price of the mercedes!

avanza 3000 ringgit more than an exora?

Only blind idiots cannot think logically lah.

• LE_buruk on Dec 05, 2011 at 5:56 pm

u sure run like the merc….think again dude…german technology still far far away from proton…

• Suke Gelak on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Haha.. u read with what? he say LIKE MERC because exora can speeding at HW like merc.. also not forget for exora comfort with huge cabin more that merc! LOL!!

*he never say ohh… i compare exora tech with german tech.. he only say, for prize is more cheap from merc.. :D

• Prismo on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:30 am

bcoz toyota fanboy’s is a boring guy as much as the car was…. what a booooring car.. NEXT!!!! –>

• merc freak on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:23 pm

let’s see a merc or a proton will understeer/oversteer first on very sharp corners
        you will be suprised!

• klaka seram on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:07 pm

runs like merc on the highway?? you must be kidding.
      However, Exora is way much better than Avanza. That’s for sure

• kadajawi on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:29 pm

I drove a Ford Galaxy with the basic diesel engine at 190 km/h, it feels super solid. Really doubt the Exora can compete. It’s at least better than the Avanza though.

• ptuur on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:03 pm

i use ford too sometimes, sad to say, ride and handling wise it can’t beat proton’s

• kadajawi on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:03 am

What Ford? Can’t compare new Proton with old Ford, and can’t compare old Proton with new Ford.

• geekfiredog on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:32 pm

I thought minimum of 2 airbags are required from 1/1/2012 onwards? So will sales of 1.3E and 1.5E be stopped from 1/1/2012 onwards?

http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/

• kadajawi on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Haha, yeah they’ll offer you the base spec car. “Oh, you want it to be road legal, too? Uh, you’ll have to pay more for that I’m afraid”. At least they get you into the show room. :D

• autobizz on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:40 pm

I think Exora still better than Avanza

• Sophian on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Come on…wake up!! See everything……not the brand!! EXORA Lagi Uummphhh!!

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Leave them alone lah brother… they are still pening tu..

• gen2lama on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:54 pm

done more than 60k km with my first batch exora….10km/l?…who cares? as long as my family can have very comfortablle journey, i dont care on fc…

for every 1k journey, dif only RM50…tapi family smua ‘uweeek’..buat per.

• Gebang on Dec 05, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Ni kereta utk org yg berangan nak pakai label toyota tp x mampu nak beli estima, alphard….nak berlagak punya pasal ride mcm lori takpe…janji toyota……berlagak kaya wannabe…..

• bersih on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:03 pm

ya, it sales for ppl who never drive it b4 or not very interested with automobile just want a car can send u fro A to B, after owned = Haiz…. why i spent so much for a brand T…..

• Unforgiven on Dec 05, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Wow, Toyota is capable of doing this just because we have protectionism in Malaysia…

To me the price is really on the high side, shall we have a fair fight in Malaysia and see how Toyota will price their Avanza? They may be using their Wish to compete with Exora then…

• protonwannabe on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Are They Dare to have fair fight?Wont They Dare?Or not dare langsung..proton dah protected pun harga still mahal..ntah pe2..

• AvanzaLover on Dec 05, 2011 at 3:13 pm

I thought the G already imposed mandatory dual airbag from Jan 2012…or did i miss the boat ??

• Out of Luck on Dec 05, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Unbelievable that in this age and era, the lowest spec still has a single airbag with no ABS or EBD. But then again this is Toyota, will still sell like hot cakes in Malaysia despite lack of safety. Sad…

• ben yap on Dec 05, 2011 at 4:01 pm

If i’m not mistaken, the old Avanza delivers more hp right? This new Avanza delivers 103ps vs the old one at 109ps. I don’t understand why the lower horsepower.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 05, 2011 at 4:28 pm

Did they provide a bucket or plastic bag at the rear seat? Should be a must for long journey….

• Nizam80 on Dec 05, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Why am I not surprised upon noticing the awesomely ridiculous pricing?? Despite anyway or anyhow you put it, these will still sell like hotcakes here in Malaysia.

• taboogen on Dec 05, 2011 at 4:48 pm

i thought that dual airbag is compulsory starting 2012… or am i wrong….
    for that price id rather stick to a car..

• khonglo2n on Dec 05, 2011 at 4:52 pm

agree…kena toyo(l) semua..

• Ongtk on Dec 05, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Your article says Facelift, and but UMW TOYOTA website says All New? So which is it? At least it’s less boring than current model.

• kolejeon on Dec 05, 2011 at 5:27 pm

I’m wondering what type of people will choose avanza over alza. Design wise.. Alza is definitely better looking.

• mann ahmad on Dec 05, 2011 at 5:28 pm

sure 2-din? not 1.4 din?

• toyota fans on Dec 05, 2011 at 5:29 pm

hope got improved suspension..unless go for TiTan

• gen2lama on Dec 05, 2011 at 6:59 pm

bayar mahal pn kena upgrade sendiri ka? aiya. 2 tahun pakai poton esokra pun x pyh tkr apa2..tayar pun belum tukar maa.(bahaya woo)

• Expatriate VN on Dec 05, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Facelift or all new, either way is still craps design and churn out for SEA low income but high tax market. T is in respond to the crappy tax as well as “less than average” entry level MPV to fight with both high import tax and our very craptriotic P1 jaguh kampong shitty car.

So, idiot blind supporters compare this “sampans SUV” a.k.a. “Roti Bun” boxes MPV vs. Jaguh Kampong P1 Exora like compare expired roti with kulat and apple full with worm! …………. both of them are not deserve to exist in the open market. Only protective market invented by Bodohland chaps make it sell-able, furthermore, some of T fanboy owner have a sense of wrong proud perception simply because it is T’s brand.

“Same go the idiot blind supporter claim Exora is better among the 2 is like, say Avanza scored 20 marks and Exora score 21 marks, yet both of them never achieved minimum score of pass marks @ 50”. Stupid …………… ‘cheated’ by both jaguh kampong and T for inferior products!!!!!!!!!

• autojohndoe on Dec 05, 2011 at 5:58 pm

FOCUS on the topic la Expat… this is as what you told ppl last time…

when it is toyota… speak about toyota only…

• Expatriate VN on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Hei, autojohndog, my posting consist of at least 70% about Avanza as “main menu”, and 30% about Exora as “side-dish”. This show my focus is still “pass with flying colour”, despite ………… I have to refer to Jaguh Kampong to complete my story-line.

• Any Brand on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Hello Expat…what are you trying to compare?? U compare with Alphard? Estima? Dont say others stupid if you are damn stupid and damn blind!

• kadajawi on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:11 am

Compare with cars such as the Kangoo, Berlingo, Dublo, Caddy, Partner, Tourneo, Vaneo, … not pretty, but pretty practical and affordable (just not in M’sia, cause they don’t sell it here!)

The old Kangoo was not much more than the Avanza at that time, and a vastly superior car. The new one has only slightly gone up in price in Europe (just like the Avanza) and is a much better car than the old one. Which was already better than the Avanza, which hasn’t really improved.

Just look at the safety equipment. The Kangoo II has, in the base model, 4 airbags, TC, ESP, EBD, ABS. The Avanza… oh well. And the interior is nicer too. Exterior… at least it’s not so bland.

• This is very true, but the true always hurt.

• BeemerFreak on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Wah my Alza suddenly became very good value for money.

• as usual lah! on Dec 06, 2011 at 12:05 am

-Expatriate VN is continental & korean cars licker..
      -Expatriate VN not anti japs car..he just dont like kampung car or 3rd world country cars eg.avanja,vios dugong,proton n so on..
      -Expatriate VN mementingkan comfort,7airbags,5 Stars Safety car blablabla~
      -cuba check artikel Honda Hall Twin Ring Motegi…dia komen kereta otai honda lack of safety euro ncap blablabla~gila ke ape? LOL
      -kalau citer psl nap,cronies,ap king,politic dia je lebih2..LOL…

• I never liked innova and advanza design… they both looks… like a roti-cia (roti van)….

• So how does Estima/ Vellfire/ Alphard looks like? Still shape like Gardenia.
      Wish/ Exora/ Alza/ Livina? Sponge Cake?

• kadajawi on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:14 am

Vellfire looks absolutely ridiculous. A van that tries to look like a ricer? And that coming from the manufacturer itself? Really?

Wish is ok. Exora decent. Alza okayish. Livina a bit bland. Stream you forgot… also not too bad. :P

• electron on Dec 05, 2011 at 6:28 pm

since this make is not Proton, it must be awesome perfect not cheap looking amazing high quality wonderful perfect value for money etc etc
    hahahaha!

• nebula87 on Dec 05, 2011 at 6:31 pm

all leaked out ady…still buat simpan simpan kenapa? =.=

• Ji Sung on Dec 05, 2011 at 6:33 pm

To All Malaysian don’t ever buy Toyota that manufacture in Indonesia (Avanza and Innova). Remember they insult our athlete not only in Sea Games but also the media in Indonesia hates us a lot. Never mind if you want to buy Toyota from Thailand or Japan itself.

• People will still go for this avanza because they believe it is way better than any local made… I have tonnes of friends who had never driven an Exora already bashes the Exora and said that they rather choose Avanza over a local made.. It’s the mentality of the people.. Whenever it’s Proton means it’s lousy and whenever it’s other makes, it will be good no matter how bad and how lousy it is.. Sighs…

• arcana on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:02 pm

what the heck is “all new”, such a confusing statement when its just another facelift with specs of a dinosaur age and sky high prices.

if i’m not mistaken isnt 2 airbags a must next year? why there are still specs which offer a single “pillow”?

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Redesigned with old engine. Only Toyota fanboys will buy this so called new Avanza. Looks even uglier than the present Avanza. But we cannot blame people for buying this overpriced ‘car van’ because it’s a Toyota-mah!

• Any Brand on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Indon Taste Again!!

• asgard on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:12 pm

airbags not standard, thats very unfortunate

• udeng on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:14 pm

emmm… korang yang byk duit tu beli lah…

• gray full blaster on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:30 pm

baik amik alza dari avanza. enjin pun dah sama.
    sume org dah kena toyol ngan toyoLta..

• buduk on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:43 pm

eventho Avanza is an “imported” car, international brand but I would still go for the “kereta malaysia”, EXORA. avanza sucks.

• armandd on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Toyota Malaysia is making fun of us, Malaysian consumers.. Let’s boycott this thing..

• kadajawi on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:18 am

They have every right to, cause sadly people do buy them even though Toyota knows what the Avanza is. As long as image, resale value and the price for repairs is more important than their life and how good the car actually is, they can do this.

• GRAYMAN on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:36 pm

enjin sama ngan alza, baik alza je.. more ekonomi more safety
    semua org dah kena toyol ngan toyoLta..

• kanazai2001 on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:41 pm

disappointed…
    1.5L still doesnt have the MT variant…
    1.3L MT is really under power when pack with 5 adults…

• Billy on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:55 pm

U r so right brother… Both exora & avanda are shit piece of metal ‘proudly’ owned by shitty with limited budget but huge ego who thinks they drive a Porsche when behind the wheels…

• Amende on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:29 am

I hate it when u label your own countrymen & women who have lower income than you as SHITTY WITH LIMITED BUDGET & so on bla bla (there was one guy who even call these lower income people as PARIAH).
      Not everyone is as rich & fortunate as some. Yes, there are some drivers of these ‘shitty’ car (as you called them) who have the ego as big as king kong’s ass, but there are also majority of others who are just plain joe & jane who would just love to enjoy whatever they have.
      Hate the car, comment as you like, but don’t label people as such. You never know how fate might turn your wheels around & brings you down..

• kolejeon on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Seriously I like this comment. Sufficient enough to teach the rich with “high nose” attitude.

• kadajawi on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:47 pm

But why would you buy the Avanza? Badge only… otherwise there are plenty of smarter choices that are safer. Exora, Kangoo (second hand, very affordable), perhaps Alza.

The Avanza is meant to be a very cheap car, but it is sold at a big premium for what it is. Especially second hand (our Kangoo is a lot cheaper than the Avanza, it is better and safer, only the FC is higher, but the lower price easily compensates).

• protonforeva on Dec 05, 2011 at 8:56 pm

ada lagi Expatriate VietNam imigran yg tak sadar diri tuh?

pi balik vietnam dululah. buat longkang kat jalanraya, baru le hujan tak banjir.

betul, bawak exora rasa macam naik kereta mercedes atau volvo. mantap je! safety pun 4star ncap.

teknologi german yg kununnya canggih sgt tuh, kalau eksiden, penyek dan rentung jugak!

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:06 pm

TOKYO (AP) — An outing of luxury sportscar enthusiasts in Japan ended in an expensive freeway pileup — smashing a stunning eight Ferraris, a Lamborghini and two Mercedes likely worth more than $1 million together.

Its todays hottest news…

• teknologi german yg kununnya canggih sgt tuh, kalau eksiden, penyek dan rentung jugak! ….. tapi u masih HIDUP !!!

• ereqq on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:52 pm

dah lama tau dah, keta japs cam sampan, tak best

• Phantom_Works on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:09 pm

UMW toyota are so boring these days!!! same old boring model…boooo

• bersih on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:12 pm

if T still give a Old 3SZ-VE engine & 4 speed Auto, it definitely not worth!!! 3SZ-VE is old tech engine almost 10 years???? T should give at least come with Dual-VVTi, CVT or 5 speed auto… if platform still use the old design = Haiz…. Bumpy like Hell!!!! Just Old Lady back from Korea surgery….

• Sarcastic Prick on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:27 pm

If you really want a Toyota, just go for a Vios than this claptrap.

• boyke on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:27 pm

lemme tell u guys 1 thing:

the panels are THICKER!!!

thank goodness :D

• boyke on Dec 05, 2011 at 9:28 pm

but theyre still thin-as-tin tho ;p

• expat talking like avanza is created only in malaysia coz to cope with high tax. Check again dude, it is for asean market. They r popular in indonesia n even thailand. Not only for malaysian. N why keep bombarding proton in avanza post. Stick to the post dude, ini org ckp xserupa bikin,suka ludah ke langit.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:11 pm

You mad mat know nut about my posting, I clearly stated this Avanza is in respond to high tax and low income group that doesnt deserve a place in open market like Japan, US or EU.

• Well at least those Jamban door handles are gone.

• makky on Dec 05, 2011 at 10:20 pm

i am driving old batch avanza but i am happy with it because it was toyota and i keep dreaming to own a estima or wish but could not reach it yet. RM 150k to 190k for new model recond toyota wish ?, who would have that much money in malaysia here to buy a second hand recond car and in japan they only price around rm90k only . in malaysia that will be same price with innova. Think again who causing this lah….

• autojohndoe on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:46 am

AP trader…

• Prismo on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:48 am

kalo angkut wish dari jepun ke Malaysia pakai kapal xder cas ker? itu dealer kereta xnak untung ke? cuba ko duduk indon sebulan… baru ko rasa bertuah lahir di malaysia.. macam yg kwn aku yg pernah keja kat filipina… dia kata hari2 dia dok pikir bila lagi nak balik malaysia…

• In Indonesia they even have 1.0 engine (in Xenia form). If they’re offered here, T-blind supporter will give their thumb up hehehehe

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:57 pm

I’ve driven few T’s before, KE10 (with Abarth Engine- Limited) KE30, DX, SE Limited, Unser, Innova and almost drive the 1st batch Avanza. Only IF I didn’t buy a Kembara (same platform as Avanza) a year before that, I would have filled the bucket too…

• LFA LOVER on Dec 06, 2011 at 12:40 am

funny when people think exora is expensive. exora offer more power,more equipment,more safety feature(LED tail light, do avanza have that?), more space, and better comfort. of course weight more but do u drive mpv for racing carrying kids? crazy papa. Also cheaper, enough for cover the petrol. Avanza? Throw to dustbin. people know avanza is cheap car so the badge doesnt make people look u rich.car Look like dustbin rich aahh toyota fan boy?

• squawk on Dec 06, 2011 at 12:48 am

If I wanna drive a manual, I have to settle for a lowly specced 1.3?

• buduk on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:11 am

Toyota is generally a good car brand especially in North America. only the toyotas in ASEAN or any other “low class” countries which sucks. I wish UMW could offer us something just like in US or Australia.

• CY LOK on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:45 am

ugh boring car again…. i need new design…. though the price is abit high but what to blaim we Malaysian has been forced to buy expensive cars since the day DR, M make Proton our National Car.

Those tat are bashing Toyota Avanza compare to Exora….. dun forget overseas ppl will bash the Exora for being overprice compare to Avanza! It is the stupid protection Tax tat is placed on the Toyota and all the other overseas brands.

IN THE END WE MALAYSIAN ARE ALL SUCKERS! Yeah Malaysia BOLEH!

• Both models are same price range (sub RM70K++) but:
    1. Exora with 10km/Litre fuel efficiency
    2. Avanza with 14km/Litre fuel efficiency

Don’t give silly excuses that ancient Campro 1.6 is heavier (higher FC) because other 1.6L or higher CC MPVs can give far better FC (unluckily not price-protected level field vs Exora).

As usual, only blind idiots will choose the fuel-inefficient model. At the end of the day, long-term fuel-saving issue still the final deciding factor lah.

FYI, trying to hide poor fuel efficiency with CVT will not work either (ancient Campro with CVT). It’s like sweping under carpet mentality.

Why ancient Toyota VVT engine still with 4-speed box can give better FC? Yes, the Toyota engine already fuel-efficient by design.

With CVT the Toyota engine will get even better fuel mileage, not to mention if 1.5L with Dual-VVT engine may get 20km/Litre perhaps.

So you see two totally different brain mentality here:

1. Protongkat with inferiority-complex mentality. Sweep everything under carpet rather than solve it honestly. Like power window LifeTime warranty – it shows that the power window still unsolved mystery but offer warranty to close one eye instead. Also the ancient fuel-inefficient Campro – mated with CVT to try hide the fuel inefficiency. Is this the attitude toward Global Car Company?

2. Toyota with everything opposite of what Protongkat did above. Design things right first.

That’s why Protongkat will always be a failure. Failure with wrong mentality and over self-absorbed. Do not blame others for not buying supporting Protongkat after so many buyers cheated and wasted so much money. No more. You screw yourself good and why we waste money again on a proven failure.

There’s no such thing as patriotism in buying car. It’s irrelevant. Instead, selling overpriced crap junk cars to locals cekik darah how fair is that? Patriotism my foot lah.

• space wise exora wins hands down, more comfort and luxurious than avanza and the fc is not that bad.

• curious on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:16 am

another facelift ?!? :(

• Redrules on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:06 am

After getting maximum profit from their initial launch of this car, next Toyota will launch a ‘much improved’ spec Avanza with 7 gear ratios (whatever that means), standard fog lamp for all variants and beautiful side stickers ‘to die for’, 6-12 months later. Sounds familiar?

• hiace supporter on Dec 06, 2011 at 1:45 pm

DRIVE A VAN La….

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Avanza = Annoying Van

• all new myass

• em.... on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:26 pm

better take rush….

• protonforeva on Dec 07, 2011 at 6:17 am

ajaw is at it again with his moronic line that the fc for avanza is better than exora.

do you think the mercedes have better fc than the toyota engine? can avanza even reach the speed of 140 kph (going downhill doesn’t count)? does avanza have the ncap star rating at all?

As usual, only blind idiots will choose the very unsafe model. At the end of the day, safety & issues still the final deciding factor lah.

stop selling avanza ajaw. you might have better luck selling goreng pisang instead.

• kadajawi on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:54 pm

Not hard selling Avanza… they are selling like crazy, though they aren’t good.

• BlackBJQ on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:17 pm

this so-called new avanza still using ladder frame which is not relevant these days. the monocoque used in alza, exora, livina, etc. is much better..at least in overall looks.

• LFA LOVER on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:50 pm

i guess when ur kid died in the event of accident the money save from fuel is enough to compensate ur kids right ajaw? then chose if the matter is only fuel economy!

• Celica Fan on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:49 am

I say UMW Toyota bring in a city car – AYGO

I also say UMW Toyota to bring in GT 86….!!!

• kadajawi on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:43 pm

I agree, but please as a Perodua. I mean… a Perodua GT 86… :D No, kidding, but the Aygo as the next Viva? Or perhaps below the MyVi? But the Aygo is too good (if it’s the Euro spec one), they would have to upgrade the MyVi and their other cars.

(The materials in the Aygo feel really cheap though… hm. But the car is cheap and it works).

• Celica Fan on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:51 am

will we ever see UMW TOYOTA bringing in AYGO & GT 86…?