New Volkswagen showroom opens in Ipoh, 10th in M’sia

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) and Goh Brothers Motor, an authorised dealer of VGM, recently launched Goh Brothers Motor’s Volkswagen showroom in Ipoh, located along Jalan Kuala Kangsar.

In his speech at the launch, Ricky Tay, MD of VGM said the launch is in line with VGM’s rapid expansion plans in Malaysia and also to ensure customer satisfaction throughout the region. “Volkswagen’s presence in the northern region will further strengthen VGM’s nationwide network as well as bringing the Volkswagen brand and service closer to customers and Volkswagen lovers in this region,” he said.

“Volkswagen‘s main guiding principles in Network Development are Optimised Coverage, Customer Oriented, Dealer Profitability and Investor Friendly, all of which are values shared by Goh Brothers, and they are thus equally keen to translate these principles into business achievements and results,” Tay added.

Goh Brothers Motor is an old name, having been in the automotive industry for over 23 years, and with experience dealing with both local and international car brands. Goh Brothers Motor was appointed an official authorised VW dealer in May 2007. To date, Volkswagen has 10 showrooms across Malaysia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tommyyeoh on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:20 am

Just hope that VW ipoh service centre can keep the service charges reasonable so that all ipoh VW owners can enjoy their rides with ease unlike come continental brands which overcharge / rip off their clients by making high margin.

• Customer Oriented?? Wonder if Ricky Tay has ever stepped into one of their service centers…spare parts have to wait, normal service have to wait, make appointment also have to wait….how’s that for Customer Oriented…

• ezarocca1.4 on Dec 05, 2011 at 2:58 pm

agree with u..my RCD not functioning…took 4 months for replacement.Reason..need to confirm with VGM then need to order then waiting then this and that…(but the car is really good :)

• Mr Ricky Tay must be sleeping on the job. He should make random visits and see what rubbish service that VW Showrooms are dishing out to customers. had bad experience with the Federal Auto showroom in Jln 222 and Glenmarie. Glenmarie is probably the worst. Overstaffed and lazy sales personnel especially that Malay dude macam budak samseng. Having said that Jln 222 has improved compared to last year. VW Bangsar on the other hand have very cocky sales personnel, come on you are only selling VW’s not Bentleys keep the arrogance away. My best experience was with Cergaz TTDI for showroom customer service.

• I totally agree with u that VW service is very lousy ! since the Polo Engine CC is 1198cc but when i went to JPJ but it fail coz they give the wrong CC code so i have to wait few more days and go back to JPJ…

1 year past,i service my car and i saw a man complain about his car after servicing coz small dent on his car door ‘ Golf GTI ‘ i think VW staff bang his door ! good car but lousy service…

• peter on Dec 05, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Congratulations!. All these will come to naught when VW cars are priced so high….in fact VW had made some big mistakes again & again……why spent 20million to promote their cars in Bukit Jalil in the first place.

• Das Auto Con Show on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:39 am

I was at the RM20 mil Bukit Jalil car show. Waited and waited and waited and finally gave up. What a RM20 mil show it was.

Hey, it was a RM20 mil VW car show? All I saw was one very very very long queue. What VW cars? Didn’t even see one VW car.

Wasted my afternoon.

• Well said. Furthermore, with 20million available, VW can offer 1000 new car buyers a 20K discount for every VW car sold. Imagine the viral effect it can generate……..top importer of the year…….

• Well since it just such coveted brand that people adores and worship it like cult … that’s the price you have to pay ….. arrogant sales staff, long wait for parts and service etc.

Such an “upmarket” and “classy” marque in Malaysia …… all the VW fans says it’s worth all the pain and $$ premium price eventhough VW is just a normal brand outside Malaysia like the Toyotas and Hondas what not

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 05, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Yeah. VW is arrogant. What’s so great about VW? In Germany, VW is just like Honda and Toyota.

• But better than Honda and Toyota :) so where are you from?if in M’sia VW considered as small premium car.

• Medic on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:40 am

Better if u go test drive a few Vw model cars b4 commenting…I used a civic for 6 yrs,Honda is way behind Vw when it comes to engine,transmission &refinement.Vw still lacking in after sales service,as it struggles to cope with sudden intro of so many models..but i’m sure in time it will improve.

• lavenderguy on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:53 am

we need one in Sibu, Sarawak, one of the richest town in Malaysia………