Ford Ecosport is a Fiesta based SUV, web images leaked

Click to enlarge screen shot

Ford is coming out with a SUV version of its successful B-segment Fiesta, and it will be called EcoSport. Rumoured to be bound for the India Auto Expo in January 2012, pics of the new model has been leaked online. IndianAutosBlog carried some reader captured screen caps and it reveals that EcoBoost tech will be present in the SUV.

The Indian report goes on to say that the engine in question is the 1.0-litre EcoBoost engine. This three-cylinder turbocharged Ti-VCT mill produces the power of a normal 1.6 petrol in the higher of its two outputs, but with much lower consumption and more torque, and is part of Ford’s downsized DI + turbo engine range. We have an in depth piece on this cool little engine – click here to read more.

A rendering of how the Ford EcoSport mini SUV might look like

Besides the 1.0 EcoBoost, Indians will require a diesel engine as well, and the Fiesta’s 1.5-litre oil burner should be carried over. The footprint of the EcoSport is expected to be small, about the size of the Perodua Kembara.

India and China are two big markets that will be producing the EcoSport. If they decide to make it in Thailand, we might stand a chance of getting one, too.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jay8393 on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:50 am

Looks like a smaller version of the current Kuga, but with a bigger grille.

• Ford Escape Desire on Dec 06, 2011 at 12:56 pm

When will SDAC and Auto Connexion going to launch the new Ford Escape 2014? I hope they don’t launch it in 2017. Even the current Escape is so outdated. SDAC, don’t be so lembap lah.

I hope Ford in the US give the dealership to another company instead of Sime Darby cause not everything is about the sales of Fiesta. SDAC seems to be only Fiesta orientated. Pls give more attention to your Focus and Escape line also.

The Escape is not moving cause the model is so old and outdated.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 06, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Even Thailand, where Ford has its regional HQ and production hub, does not have the cars you mentioned yet.

I understand your frustration, looking at the good stuff some other markets get. But every distributor in Malaysia (not just Ford’s) needs to follow the principal’s masterplan for the region, not just cherry pick whatever car they like from any market – it doesn’t work that way, unfortunately.

• Michael Lim on Dec 06, 2011 at 2:49 pm

You mean we, and a few regional countries are the dumping ground for old engines and models? ie “why introduce our new models in those countries when we can clear existing old stock by selling to them. After all, they worship us Mat Sallehs and they will buy anything we produce,”

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 06, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Things are improving, friends.

Ford’s new plant in Thailand will roll out the new Focus in the first half of 2012, and the new Escape will follow. If it’s made in Thailand, we’re bound to get it.

• Michael Lim on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:27 pm

There is no doubt we will eventually get it but when? Thailand may roll out but we could take months or even years later before we get the model. The problem in Malaysia, consumers aren’t that smart. They don’t mind buying old models failing to realise that once the new model is introduced, their old model price and value drops drastically. We like to settle for old and outdated models and there is no consumer voice demanding the latest models. So, the car companies also take advatntage of our ignorance and to clear old stock. One fine example is the BMW 3 series E90. The new 3 series is already launched but yet consumers keep on buying the old model not realising that their 2nd hand value will drop drastically. But Malaysians don’t care. They are too obsessed and blinded with having a status car and want one badly to show off to their peers that they compromise and buy an old outdated model and fall for gimmicks of low or zero interest rate promotions. Later, they find out that their car has a bad resale value

• jay8393 on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:13 pm

The problem is not that our country is a dumping ground for old models and cars with old engines: it is the local distributor’s fault. Take the old Kia Spectra for example. At one point, the Spectra was selling like hot-cakes. With good sales, Naza Kia began ramping up the CKD production of the car. When the new Spectra/Cerato was launched overseas, people would rather wait for the new car to come in, and hence sales of the old Spectra started declining. Declining sales = too many stocks in the stockyard. And when old stocks don’t move out, how can Naza Kia bring in the new car?

• Mahadevan on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:31 am

What principal Master Plan you talking about? Its called dumping lah. Its dumping to third world countries. You see, even when the new and latest model comes out, they still have so much old stock and also old parts, panels, engines in the inventory and in the production lines in various plants all over the world.

How else to clear all this? Dump lah to third world countries.

The local distributor, got no guts to question the principal. All just bow and accept whatever given to us. All so scared that their distributorship get withdrawn. These are the pariah distributors we have in Malaysia. The principal know the Asian bosses are scared to their wits and will take all the crumbs thrown to them.

My advice to Asian bosses, please learn to have some guts lah and make demands for the betterment of the rakyat of Malaysia. Think about our country and not just your pockets.

• jay8393 on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:55 pm

True, there’s also one more thing to consider: the fuel quality our country have right now. Enough said.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:08 am

An SUV – neither eco, nor sport.

• drMpower on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:13 am

they asked a chinaman to do the design, dont they?

because it looks horrible. in anyway. in car business, anything ugly then it must has something to do with chinaman

topgear toptip. do not hire any chinaman doing the design of something u might wanna sell. even if u dont want to sell oso, dont. just be on the safe side.

• Michael Lim on Dec 06, 2011 at 2:44 pm

yeah i agree with you. The lights of the car are like the eyes, small.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:01 pm

You do realise that’s just an artist’s impression of what the Ecosport MIGHT look like, right?

• drMpower on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:31 pm

homigod. its the rendering. thank god.

but still it seems penned by a chinaman. every bit of it.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 06, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Maybe this will give u a “Rude Awakening” that ur so call Chinaman r coming fast & aggresive.

http://star-motoring.com/News/2011/Geely-expands-to-Britain.aspx

Surely this look much better than lousy Bolehland product.

• pelams on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:33 am

fiesta is cuter

• buduk on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:38 am

If this is priced around 70k-90k, this thing would be great ! hopefully the safety features will be the same or even better than Fiesta :) 6 airbags under 100k. SAY BYE BYE TO RUSH ! or even X-GEAR !

• DewaSemut on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:43 am

the rendering somehow looks a bit like Suzuki SX4… :)

• Kevin on Dec 06, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Looks very nice! Probably very suitable for lady town drive. Man, ford are making nice design nowadays! Oh, and good tech as well :-)

• Masked Ryder on Dec 06, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Interesting ! Bring it in if Ford can offer it below RM 60K

• bobby on Dec 06, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Maybe its only for me, I found that this car design is utterly ugly and horrible.

• The Enthusiast on Dec 06, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Price it below RM 90k and we have a winner. The design is not everyone’s cup of tea. But not like Toyota Rush or Nissan X-Gear are any better.

• Jimmy on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Ford, please look at the compact SX4 hatch crossover.

• Danne on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:10 pm

With Fiesta already ugly design and now transforming to become SUV we should call it as Hideous SUV. Just my two cents.

• sfssd on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:48 pm

That front end is getting old, I mean, seriously, can’t they come up with something else?