MAA Vehicle Sales Data for October 2011

MAA Vehicle Sales Data for October 2011So, here it is again, the numbers for vehicle sales in the country for the month of October, as well as the YTD total. Our apologies for missing the September run (in November!), but it turned out to be a very hectic month, and the time needed (trust me, it’s not a quick job!) to crunch the numbers wasn’t to be found. You can nonetheless follow the figure flow from the August installment, since this one collates September’s figures in it.

The data, courtesy of the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), lists the sales figures from each brand and each model sold in Malaysia, as submitted to MAA by the manufacturers.

The table includes features such as the ability to sort alphabetically as well as by number of units sold. Just click the column headers to sort. There’s also a little search field at the top right of the table, so you can filter the list down to the specific model/brand you want. Bear in mind that the figures are only from official distributors, and grey imports are not included.

[table id=9 /]

As always, discussion on the matter is welcome.

Source: MALAYSIAN AUTOMOTIVE ASSOCIATION

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Visitor on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Myvi top!

• OMG…the Oct 2011 Myvi sales equivalent to Saga + Persona Oct sales. Lagi Best, lagi laku…Well done P2.

• gabla on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Why people like Vios so much? You can buy Inspira at the same price which offers much more that Vios.

• _xXx_ on Dec 08, 2011 at 3:09 pm

becoz it’s a Toyota. Not sure if it’s a Protong Vios…

• it is all becoz of T….

• But City’s sales dropped by half! No stock?

• kenso on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Probably with the high number of cars getting stolen, people are thinking twice at getting this car.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:35 pm

No, it’s because there are no parts to assemble the Honda City at the Honda plant in Melaka due to the floods in Thailand. Please check your facts before you comment.

• septrain on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:46 am

Also because there are so much competition like kia n peugeot which is slightly higher price but are superior when compare the specs and gadgets .. people are beggining to shift

• kington on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:38 pm

The one that really amazed me is the Suzuki Alto… though it’s cheap i still can;t justofy its price. The Proton Saga or the Viva are way better though slightly pricier.

• rx330 on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Because people lost faith with Proton !!!

• inderaloka on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:31 am

Brand perception.

• rx330 on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:01 am

“Brand perception”

mmm… why a brand sell so well and other don’t? If that brand continue to give problem, do you think people will continue to buy that brand again??

Don’t be a “budak-budak lah” :D

Proton has spoilt its name already… more people are now going for P2, T, H

• inderaloka on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Eh? Who want to be budak-budak? And why you suddenly scold me? I’m just giving my opinion/answer/reply on reader gabla’s comment: “Why people like Vios so much?” And I answer it maybe because of brand perception. My opinion/answer/reply sikit pun tak sentuh peribadi orang lain. I think you yang budak-budak sebab bagi komen yang menyerang peribadi orang lain. Tak matang langsung. Next time don’t give a comment that hurt people’s feeling. We are adult, not child anymore.

• Kerol on Dec 12, 2011 at 5:29 pm

cause proton sucks…put good engine also still ppl afraid to buy.
          say no to proton!!!

• Cadmus on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Vios win because it has ‘J’ version, which is more affordable but no safety features. Many malaysians think tat its proud to get a T brand car although it has zero safety feature.

• I love Myvi, Vios and Fiesta those cars doing well <3

No for Saga,Inspira and Persona

• 2k different between saga and myvi mtd, and myvi comp versus last month really positive almost 100%, marketing really do their job.
    Proton should learn how to make good marketing from perodua.

• Agree.
      P1 need to learn from P2.

How to sell junks at good price!

• P2 is smarter than P1 in this case (at least on the timing). IF the saga FLX (both 1.3 and 1.6) launched before the new myvi (1.3 & 1.5). I think the end story might be different.

• gabla on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Lagi Power, Lagi Best, Lagi Mahal, Lagi Ramai Pembeli?

• balesta RX on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Lagi Power, Lagi Best, Lagi Mahal, Lagi Ramai Owner! Lagi Lagi Myvi! LOL~

• helion prime on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:03 am

I think those with high sales are the 1.3 models because price more or less same as the old model. The 1.5 ones I believe have much lower sales figure.

• gabla on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Lagi Power, Lagi Best, Lagi Mahal, Lagi Laku?

• that fact… even mahal, people will buy and change emblem…

• Acerol on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Myi OK but Sekali langgar accident HANCUR…

• Tell me your car accident didn’t hancur at all??

• OMG….regardless of any brand of the cars, after 1 time massive accident, sure got damage…ok, is not only Myvi…OK.

• ben yap on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:33 pm

we’ll get to see in November or December sales if Honda CRZ is selling well or not. Can’t wait to see its reception in the Malaysian market before i put my ringgit into buying it. :)

• bonceng on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:14 pm

crz only available next year,only now u can pay for booking

• BN=barang naik on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:41 pm

perodua manyak untung woooooo

• Jibam on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Still so many buy Vios ah.. I thought that Kia/Naza Forte is better maa..

• gabla on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:57 pm

You can even buy a “Lancer Transformers” at the same price, but people still go for the small underpowered car…

• Yeah, i thought Forte is selling better, given noisy sounds here…

• Kerol on Dec 12, 2011 at 5:45 pm

korean engines sucks!!!

• i wondering who is the only one buy camaro and bmw x5 in this year…

• kuncisudu on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:48 pm

perodua dont have to do anything, once the good perception is there, their car will always laku.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Kia Sportage only sell “5” units for October :-) :-D

• ThePolygon on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Those that want it can’t buy :(…
      Those that can buy doesn’t want it.

• Naza really do a bad job here..

So many road show and publicity, but no ready stock can be sell..
      Those ppl in the waiting list need to wait > 6 months or more..

Sportage is a great car, but the dealer is a shit..

• rx330 on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Kia is a good car/SUV. But I will stay away from NAZA. Another, in Msia I will not buy Kia bcos of NAZA…

• wonder why model for all volkswagen is same for sept and oct?

• Mat Mitsu on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Triton shall be your best option, based on my experience of driving both.

• maxize02 on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:59 pm

between hilux n triton,which one is better?can anyone answer me?just wonder..

• gabla on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Hilux is still the same car like it was released 5 years ago, the same low powered engine, the crappy interior. Only the look has changed slightly…

• Hail yeah on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Hilux better. Higher ground clearance, off-roadability with good resale value

• Downsys on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:32 pm

I would suggest the Triton. Much more power than Hilux, much more comfortable, better value for money. Design wise is up to the individual to decide. Also high market value.

• Yuzdi on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:55 pm

I prefer Isuzu D-Max:
          1. Low maintenance
          2. Low fuel consumption

Why buy 4×4? If u r not going for off-road. D-Max got 4×2

• maxize on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:32 pm

thx 4 ur opinion guys..i think i know which one I’m gonna buy..

• chicco on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:49 am

I have hilux, best car but hijack at federal highway· same 2 my 4 other friend. Just becareful with 4×4.

• Triton looks tougher, Hilux sales better…

• cengeh on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Both Taliban and the United Nations use Hi-Lux. Need I say more?

• MCdog on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Volkswagen’s number got problem?

• RedBeanBun on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:28 am

It will be Protong rebadge very soon. Those VW buyers value will be sunk…

• blmers on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:13 pm

gen 2 and savvy..

worst p1 model / decision ever..

• No no…the worst is p.Tiara, p.Juara…

• blue-traveler on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:23 pm

ow.. man I have forgotten about that one..Tiara. ouch!

• coolipstick on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:10 am

dont u ever remember that ‘keretajahat’ from perodua?…

• well said blmers… :)

• amirad on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:37 pm

vw polo gti also sold same number as gen2 so does that make it VW worst model.

• Noob! 1 Polo GTI can buy 2 Gen plus 10k + cash ! if Polo GTI price start at 54k and let see what gonna happen?!Myvi became 15 and Polo GTI is number 1 on the list ‘ 65783 ‘

• inderaloka on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:50 am

At least my Gen.2’s luggage compartment is bigger than MyVi! Haha :-D

• Insp Sahab on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Myvi No 1 :)

• how come i am not seeing any figure for INFINITI???

• Expatriate VN on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:52 pm

MyVi Lagi Best from Jr. Jaguh Kampong, top selling model beat Sr. Jaguh Kampong’s Saga! Best selling model for imported car is Dugong Vios. All craps low entry level basic model, only sell-able in protective market under NAP.

• VoidDance on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:02 pm

You think without NAP, cars will be cheaper? Gomen will find ways to tax your more.

• ultrajo on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Well said bro…our gomen may do the “Singapore Way” where you have to BID for COE

• littlefire on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Is better, but aren’t we should compare to other fuel importing countries like Arab nation & Brunei? Apple to apple? I tot their car & fuel is cheap like hell, while we are expensive like hell… Even their P1 cars sell cheaper compare to us local producer.. WTF?!?

http://www.drivearabia.com/proton/

Even the last Waja they sold is just around USD9800*3.1 = RM30380.. WTF! Why ours 1 is selling almost RM60k?!? Where is the another RM30k go?!? If tax on other foreign car high nvm, but our local car also almost 100%?!? Please wake up.. dont be blind by our G policy for too long… We deserve to buy our own local products cheaper compare to foreigners right?

• Annihilated on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:13 pm

yeah.. and in VN you can see ‘basikal’ (imported / made in taiwan) sold more than 500,000 in october alone.
      way lower entry level mode of transport. i wonder if those bicycle include two brakes or single brake only.

dey, dimana bumi dipijak.. disitu langit dijunjung la..
      1malaysia tak include pendatang like you..

• Expatriate VN on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:41 am

You are ignorant of the highest order, Vietnam is relatively poor country which many can’t afford car. Even their town, road is not design to “California Highway”, and at least 80% of existing traditional housing areas, with standard 4M wide road are accessible to bicycle, motorbike and pedestrian only.

However, the most stupid crap from you is: why lower entry mode of transport? Do you think Malaysian road full of jaguh kampong shitty junks like milo tin and katak is anything are safe mode of transport? Why sell junks to the fools (aka blind supporters) at lowest quality but at highest price? At least Vietnam roads in city centre is still friendly to pedestrian, bicycle and even motorbike with 40 Km/H speed limit.

• Jules on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Any chance of breaking down the figures for NEW & ReCond ? Then we will know how % who show off their Cayennes at schools? or are these grey imports?

• gtrGunner on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:01 pm

is ter a lubang to gather related data from grey importers as well?

• protonforeva on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:06 pm

well well!

looks like perception (buying perodua=buying toyota/daihatsu) is still winning over reason (proton obviously).

but that trend is dying out as we can see the numbers are not that much different. furthermore, people are waiting for 4 new models to be launched early next year by proton.

you go proton! godspeed!

• blue-traveler on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Total brand sales, so far for 2011…..

P2 = 145,8xx cars ——-3 models
      P1 = 137,1xx cars ——-8 models
      T = 72,3xx cars

Myvi Oct sales 10xxx vs Saga Oct sales 5xxx. These two represent their bread and butter of sales for each company. How are they near? Almost every year both have “new” facelift model. So every year wait la?

• Expatriate VN on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Wonder! Who is that blind supporter still wiling to buy Savvy. Either his brain is “mis-informed”, or someone “stole” his brian!

• duit gua. gua punya sukala nak beli savvy ke lawnmover ker..
      its my choice, that car fit my need..
      i personally luv it not bcos sm1 stole my ‘brian’! whats/whois brian?

• accord on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:25 pm

FYI people buy Savvy bcoz its fantastic car to drive in small compact car category..
      plus its has strong casis that will make u feel safe..
      plus thats not your money…

• sawi cool on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Oh no, someone stole my brian…

Savvy is a great compact car – with AMT somemore.

I use my money – Savvy is the best, given my budget.
      Well, no one stole my brian.

I use my brian to buy it. and proud of it. clocking 100k km, without any problem.

Do u have any problem?
      What car r u driving?

p/s: pls dont tell me u’re driving HONDA EX…5!

• Expatriate VN on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:37 pm

That “Dugong” Vios, as mostly described by P1 blind supporters, show the sales at 25485 unit.in Malaysia, yet the jaguh kampong cars praise by them with “a lot improvement”, the total volume for export for all kind of models tto all over the world is less than 20K. Ultimately, statisitc for sales volume and consumers preference is “final judgement” for success or failure of any consumer producs.

• _xXx_ on Dec 08, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Yes. Figures tell. No matter how good you say a junk is, it’s still a junk, nothing changed.

• dyomi on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:31 pm

why p1 only? its a fact that vios designed from a dugong.. that is a fact.. again a fact..

• Kuasa Pembina on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:58 pm

I Think MMA forgot to include Perodua Nautica; or Perodua do not submit the sales figure. No sale ? Others Brand also no sale but they still submit the figure……

• Adrienne on Dec 08, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Worh liao Honda City selling better Fiesta and Persona still on top for 1.5/1.6 cars. Quite good Swift still on selling even the technology since 2005.

• 6 units of suzuki kizashi sold this year? did i miss a launch?

• The table shows solid proof that:

– No matter what, car buyers are getting smarter not be fooled by Protongkat anymore, never! Bravo!

– The smarter or smartest car buyers either go for Toyota or Perodua. Nvm the smart guys get the Inspiras let see how smart still a Protongkat.

– Trying to fix Power window using cover-up as LifeTime Warranty? What a joke if trying to offer Global Car next.

– If ancient engine already fuel-inefficient by design, nothing can improved it even with CVT also not much difference. Eg.Campro engine

– If ancient engine already fuel-efficient by design, still using 4-speedo, what more to say if with CVT. Eg.DVVT, VVTI engine.

– Fuel-efficiency still the biggest deciding factor, not some silly patriotism or NAP craps.

– Whoever can give better long-term fuel-efficiency considered patriotic car (patriotic to car buyers’ wallet lah).

– Seriously Mitsubishi, you folks never tired of being conned by Protongkat again and again? We did and stop buying the crap. Join us lah Mitsu.

– Still got kereta badut Savvy sales! This proves what Dilbert said: Keep selling bad product to fools!

• dyomi on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:39 pm

im smart because i get cheap car with a really near to the actual price without that taxes with the almost same spec and quality with the japanese. isnt that smart!

a very good proof you are a ignorant citizen that didnt take into account the budget of malaysian!! will a security guard can buy vios? or civic? or peugot? or fiesta? sponsor la . actually you the one need to be tongkat .. but in another way..

• smartest die first in perodua.

• cloudye on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:10 pm

if you got nothing better to say, then don’t say anything. You don’t have to condemed our national car.

• May be coz that’s the total no of cars available to them every month, n all sold out.

• Peaceaim on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Any reason why myvi sales shoot up more than 40% in october???

• accord on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Its bcoz P2 just deliver Myvi 1.5 to buyer at that time..
      i’m sure the number will be drop to just 7k in Nov or Dec
      sales chart.. let see..

• both ‘katak’ n ‘dugong’ will be the leader….. I wonder why….??

• No matter how much perodua sold its myvi , no matter how much people buy it, we all know that all Proton cars are much much better than perodua..

• Nissan on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Face it lar, no matter how hard P1 try it to improve it, majority of the car buyer has lost faith in it. The figure already tell the truth.

• LFA LOVER on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:30 pm

wait, where is lancer evolution sale? no one buy ahh? and when suzuki kizashi on sale in malaysia?

• sudahlah! on Dec 08, 2011 at 4:36 pm

i doubt the figure..

• honda lover on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:07 pm

better by SAGA rather than Dugung VIOS! VIOS = craps! interior like shit n cheap.

• hway de Cruz on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:07 pm

we hv 3 buyers of R8, tony stark…. better watch out, iron man 3 here in malaysia, hehe

• Masked Ryder on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Yohoo ! Where have those Korean Car Klentong Salesman gone to ?

To shame to face the music ?

Just look at the sales figure for those Sportage, Sorento, Rondo, Citra, Forte Koup, Picanto, i30, Avante = PATHETIC

Even the best seller Forte can only get 1/5 of mighty Vios, Sonata which sales at Japanese C segment price couldn’t even match with Camry, Accord & Teana which is more expensive.

CRV 345 units Vs Sportage 5 units = 69 TIMES :-) :-) :-)
    China Chery Eastar sale 198 units Vs Rondo = 5 TIMES (Lost to China Car) LOL

• treblecase on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Yes because we have uncles like you!

• BeemerFreak on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Eh diam diam la. Sudah Bodoh lagi nak Bagi tau seluruh dunia kau Bodoh. Compare toyota with Perodua and Proton la, lagi kalah teruk. BODOH

• Masked Ryder on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:49 pm

This what i used to called “Bodoh Sombong” Dah le Boboh Sombong Pula tu !

P1 & P2 is shield by Nasional Car Tax rebate, given a level field P1 & P2 would bungkus in no time, if thay price it close to T,H & N.

Yet Forte, i10, Getz, Santa Fe, Rondo, Forza, Citra, which enjoy same tax rebate as P1 & P2 unable to achieve a good sales figure, now that a real failure, people rather pay 80+K for a B segment Vios rather than a C Segment Forte Why ? People rather buy a China made Chery Eastar than a Korean Rondo Why ?

Surely that could only 1 reason, majority Tak Nak Korean Junk, even if it go on fire sales.

By the way, BeemerFreak did u fail ur UPSR BM ? u can’t even write a proper sentence in BM, then u better keep the BODOH word to ur self. :-)

• lol, UPSR? how old are you? going for UPSR next year? Rondo is a old model car, as you said the same on the Yaris. You sure Korean cars enjoy the same tax rebate as p1 and p2? it’s hilarious lol, then why would a Kia forte priced in 80k , not 50k instead? stop sh*tting everywhere.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Why do think Naza & Inokom badge r for ?

Naza bring in Forte as CBU with the door unscrew (some one said with seat not installed too, i not sure) then have if install in their plant in Kedah, stick on Naza badge, walla same tax & duty rebate as P1 & P2, the catch is that they can only produce limited units (last heard is 20K units per model) & they cannot produce car which is direct competitor to P1 & P2 (but this rule clearly been breached) the advanges is that they do not need to follow P1 & P2 local contain rules.

Without Naza badge Forte easily cost 15-20K extra !

Korean car i meant refer to Naza & Inokom only, not those under Hyundai & KIA badges (do u notice those under KIA badges like Sorento, Sportage, Pregio, Koup are not selling well as those under Naza badge ?

That why we are the only country outside South Korea who give special advantage to Korean car, while claiming to promote local car, as much as some claim P1 & P2 is the cause of high pricing of car in Bolehland, at lease they invest to promote local containe industries & employed more workers, these fake national badge instead employed door screwer & badge sticker yet enjoy tax rebate with very minimal local contain.

• So? Sales still mean everything? Then your toyota and honda is rubbish compared to proton, that means proton is better? Please use you mind while talk something, don’t waste your brain or you are OKO?

• Eh, did I just saw 5 Yaris sold? Or I need to rub my eyes or there’s a typo over there? Can you explain please? I am new to all this salesman thingy.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Hello 3…. UMW had already stop selling Yaris.

Anyway for a 1.5ltr Mini Car that sell for 100K, 5 units is already miracle.

• Kerol on Dec 12, 2011 at 5:37 pm

if u dont know about engine…you dont know about toyota mangkok!!!! go and kaji arrr barua !!!

• buduk on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:08 pm

there’s a BIG jump btwn Sept & Oct sales of 3 TOYOTA cars, The Fortuner Hilux & Innova. Guess “facelift” really makes a large difference

• koreaaa on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:13 pm

never expected Hyundai & Kia have a rather low sales. Suprisingly ppl prefer Japs over Koreans eventho the koreans have much more stuff to offer. Hmmm. In USA, Hy & K are performing better that T & H & N. Well, this is Malaysia, where T H & N are worshipped & Hy & K are rather “low class” cars to them.

• it is all because their nightmare with korean model.. esp, sephia, spectra, carens and ria… not to forget.. their resale value.. ~~~~!

• nazariacantletgo on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:10 pm

I own Nazaria for almost 7 years….till now to sell it I need to top up RM20K….no more korean car for me after this….wait for a few more years my lovely Vellfire….I’ll come to pick you soon!!!!

• ahaha, you are so clever to pick up a car which Japanese don’t want it anymore and still work hard to get it. Clever guy there.

• Korean car in USA give many special offer such as many many years warranty.. Many free stuff. Meanwhile USA economy downturn…all go for cheaper car such as Korean car. That is why Korean car only can growth there

• bulak jak koya on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:05 pm

hyundai kia need more dealer & sc in sarawak here! come on lar!
      boring with vios,city oledi…

• rx330 on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:48 pm

mmm… takut of the distributor like Naza??? Poor after sales service?? That’s could the reason why Malaysian still prefer Toyota, Honda & Nissan :D

• Kerol on Dec 12, 2011 at 5:44 pm

the Japs engine is better tahan lama dan tahan lasak…korean engines not sure long term arrr hahahahha

• lemon on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:20 pm

no offense but don u think ur just an a **hole who is juz attention deficit and trying to get ppl to dislike ur comment til its hidden? Is ur life so pathetic tat u try to pick fight with some1?
    But i hav congrat u..at least u got 2 minute of my time and attention to reply u..
    N fyi, better car doesnt mean better sales,at least tats d situation in malaysia..thank u

• johnson on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:25 pm

no one buy impreza or lancer evolution

• All i can say.. this jump is because that a lot of companies is in buying mode to reduce the tax.. its almost year end ma.. wanna trimmed out all the taxes..

Congrats to P2 Myvi.. maybe many parent is buying it their children since saga is for family..

Another thing would be because year end discount.. cant wait to see early next year sales figure :)

• Megane on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:10 pm

2972 morons who still bought Toyota Dugong Vios Special Zoo Negara Edition in OCt 2011 ….bravo !

• What da heck happened to Citroen?? Didnt they sell any cars at all or there volume too low to be included in this stats?

• possible that the company is not an maa member so they are not obliged to report their numbers.

• RedBeanBun on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:17 pm

when Vios outsold Exora, and City outsold Inspira…you know the buyers trend.

1) MPV seems not what people want compare to compact car with better fuel consumption
    2) Low end looks-like-high-speed car Inspira cant beat the 2nd best import compact car.

The consumer just rather pay something better when they can.

MyVI, Sage – many first time car buyer. After that. Bye bye protong.

Thats why they dont build public transport and get all people to buy cheapest cars…

• dyomi on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:44 pm

lol.. another katak bawah tempurung. go outsite and see the reality.. i think u one of the people who just dont want to use public transport .. bas empty here and there? so whos fault is it?

lol.. dumbass, comparing 2 different things.. mpv vs b-segment, b segment vs c segment car. lol. dumb are u.

OPPPS>> forgot, red BEAN bun.. MR BEAN.. haha

• RedBeanBun on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:48 am

you are right, i missed the mini-bus days where we can easily hoop into the bus and travel fast…

• Man, are you saying Mitsubishi design sucks? Don’t talk sh*t here, look at the sales figure of other country, stop living inside the dam*n small and bias country. Another salesman wannable, but bashing proton not hyundai and kia.

• RedBeanBun on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:28 pm

The whole PUG combine less than 5,000 unit!!! Alright! (almost equal to Forte alone)

So where are those AP King PUG supporters? I bet their comment in this forum since beginning of the year also more than 5,000 comments! :)

Please dont let NAZA buy Protong, the Malaysia Auto-Axis-of-Evil will continue…

This number shows PUG being conned by them, and their focus ends up is ripping any franchise that comes…thanks for Kia they benefiting.

You expect what kind of services when AP king get so many brand?

• Silverado on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:28 pm

I guess they are selling every unit that the can manage to get their hands on. Well done!

• mentari-o-korea on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:44 pm

I’m one of the 49 lucky owner of kia koup, tks for makin it unique, n tks naza!

• protonforeva on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:13 pm

you can call me patriotic or whatever (kind of a compliment actually). i have driven volvo cars, several mercedes cars too, and they all comparably equal in comfort to waja and exora (or vice versa i should say).

but hey! if you want to travel with ‘style’ in your crampy, tasteless dugong cars thats just fine by me. after all, people look up to you when you could throw away so much money for a shitty car.

• mirror mirror on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Wow, the outgoing BMW 3 series can out sell the brand new Volvo S60 by some margin. Very disappointed with the Volvo S60, it is such a comfortable car with respectable performance too and yet the sales are not that great. I guess once again we see the power of branding at work again.

• RedBeanBun on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:20 am

if the potential F30 buyers realized the new BMW3 gona cost Rm250 entry, this last badge will going to be clean up faster…

• RedBeanBun on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:26 am

who wanna buy a S60 price similar to a BMW3? using 1.5 engine and advertise as Naughty????? i mean spending RM200K with naughty slogan??

• Hope you get your facts right before commenting. Having a 1.5 engine, (FYI, its 1.6) doesnt make it worst than BMW. You are paying 16k more for 2000cc and yet get a performance figure that is worst off. Do your math properly.

• What happened to Kia Optima?

• check out proton gen2 sales , 6 units for oct ?!

• To spice up the circus there’s another new model from Protongkat

The new Dodge Dart will be rebadge by Protongkat

Since the name like Fart, Proton should rebadge it as new Gen2

Yes Gen2 also sounds like Fart or Kentut/GenTut (add that ‘toot’)

So there you go: Protongkat GenTut and Dodge Fart! PFFTTT!!!

• eh bro is that the best joke u can come up with? cmon man that is so lame

• neutral on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:36 am

went into P2 sales office, their staffs serve drinks and introduce their cars with smile, even though no deals at the end.

went into P1 sales office, can see their staffs only watching TV and chatting, it’s just like u wanna buy, approch them, dont buy? better leave and dont disturb.

this is my true experience. not comparing the products, only talking about the attitude. and this may leads to better sales.

want to be success, first thing is to wins people’s heart.

• Kwame on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:33 am

I agree. One thing i noticed about P2 is that they don’t only sell cars, they also provide good costumer service. My experience owning both P1 and P2 have made me conclude that car-wise, almost the same. But before-sales and after-sales, P2 ahead by miles.

• RedBeanBun on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:18 am

its still better than the days we need to give under table money to get a new Protong car! imagine those days of the dark age/// just few years back, Protong-Edar service center in PJ still got manager can replace parts of your car inside, and u pay outside with half the price…thats Protong culture then and now…

• RedBeanBun on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:22 am

all Protong car will be rebadge VW down the road when all this Khazanah sold off to DRB-HICOM.

Bad news for VW buyers…their car will be like Mitsu with Protong badge now..

• autojohndoe on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:29 am

Fortune Teller la you…

• RedBeanBun on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:21 am

oh yes, i am fortune teller, look at the latest news. HICOM going ot eat up Protong.

I am just telling logical business sense. Just look at the reality.

HICOM wont run as its way now, so rebadging VW car a sure logical view as well. (Passat/Jetta dont sell great here either)

• autojohndoe on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:39 am

100% jump of myvi maybe due to backlog delivery…

who knows…

• tec96248 on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:07 pm

I hope that all cars can sell to show a healthy competition and is good to us consumers. we can have more choices, types, and brands to choose. competition will make them to make their products better to survive/sell.
    But a lot don’t seems to understand it.

Buying a car is having a liability, but then this liability also can be a source of income or saving in a period/time. A car will serve you with a cost too as a mode of transport and at your convenience. Will affect and has an effect to your life style. but then just one of the factor having a car.
    Owning a car or driving a car is different. Every consumers or car buyers have their own needs, budgets, feelings, tastes, preferences, considerations, etc. There’s the reasons, manufacturers will always try to meet those criteria, therefore a lot of models, types, specs and also brands. Then you will ask why a car have many body forms, such as sedan, coupe, 3 door liftback, 3 door hatchback, 5 door liftback, 5 door hatchback, 3 door stationwagon, 5 door stationwagon, 2 door pickup etc. Then will go on to suit the continents, countries, environments, requirements, markets, demands, etc.
    When you are owning and driving a car for daily usage, have to consider such as, regular maintenance, fuel efficiency, parts maintenance, quality of the interior, noise insulation, ride, handling, comfort, accessories, specs, safety features, services, etc. Again you will ask why, because a large amount of money you are going to spend. then will you willing to spend more for any or every of better equipped and lower regular or parts maintenance? The answers’ varies. As one of the factor, from very low price way up are offered and being sold.

What a pity! just the car sales figures being shown monthly and so many so called smart people showing off their dumbness with idiotic comments. really pity them and wonder how Malaysia will have bright future. I wonder how many is able to understand the overall………………hahahaha..

• Mokmeng on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:18 pm

This statistic shows that malaysian people very ‘kaya’..
    everyday numbers of car sold..
    from time to time this number will increase but traffic management especially at every capital state was still cannot accommodate this figure..
    and yet to make this much worst is the public transport also still doesn’t improve..
    just look at every ‘big’ festival celebration (hari raya,chinese new year,deepavali) situation,every capital state will stuck in jam..

• think bout this on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:16 pm

i think people also need to realise with good “brand perception” cars like Toyota and Honda or even Perodua has even higher profit margin.

Maybe im wrong. with profit n tax in, Vios should be only 60k…. because look at the amount of units they r selling world wide? but UMW toyota selling it at 80k..for more profit because our people think of it as the best brand ever made.

same with honda…the type R was sold with 60k profit each…
      honda crz with profits n all in is 80k in the US…why in malaysia 115k?

so tax is coming down n also true that gov will find ways to impose other tax on import cars, but as long as we keep on thinking these japanese cars r god they will keep on ask for absurd price for low rent cheap quality cars… is avanza even a gud quality car? is it even up to current standard?

by the way….anyone off u can easily downlaod UMW toyota annual report. n read, n try to ponder how come they earn more than Proton? all because of higher profit margin for each car..as simple as that…. blaming solely on the gov…..means ur partially blind..

• Coz M’sia is smaller than USA,China,Australia and Europe…try to compared to HK and Singapore car prices ! without tax M’sia roads r full of cars and u cant even reach 40km/h ! pls stop comparing ! 1 more thing our petrol is cheaper than US !

• think bout this on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:08 am

wei…come on read properly! im commenting on the huge profit margin because of brand perception.

n by the way..US petrol is lower than a dollar per litre right? or u read the price in gallons n assumed it to be in litre?

so u r telling me US is cheaper because u convert to RM? so u have lived in the US to say its expensive? how much r they earning there by the way? same as our income? so how can u say our petrol is cheaper? is the household income in the US same as in msia? is the goods prices the same? the houses the same pricing? everything the same?

u said i shouldnt compare? then y r u comapring with the US?

am i just commenting on how high is the profit margin in msia for jap cars, n commented even withj profit in n without tax the hybrid car in US is still cheaper by almost 30k…so u get that? higher profit margin?

• As a M’sian people we cant change everything and we have to accept it ! our car tax is reasonable ! we all know that M’sia traffic congestion is getting worse if without tax the cars will increase !!! like to compare?better move…

• johndol on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:47 pm

its not about the margin only, private company always emphasis on cutting on their budget while not tolerating on the quality. They call it the cost management. The same will never apply to GLC, they will give the project to their cronies and markup the price like hell. That is why while proton and toyota are in the same field proton will never get the same profit as toyota even if they sell 1 million car a month.

• think bout this on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:54 pm

i agree on this statement, because Nissan in 90s had this same problem n they lost huge money to almost bankruptcy, because of vendors,.

but what im getting at here is the blame on the gov solely that because of proton that cars are not cheap. its party because u have greedy distributors like the one here for toyota who cash in on the brand perception. heck even their tech is so far behind now. still giving us 4 speed box, i mean they r so advanced rite? proton is crap rite? so where are the gud tech toyota or honda has? are we the SEA countries the dumping ground just because we “LOVE” these jap brands?

• Salute to Mitsu fans who still buying the Mitsu Lancer….Thank you from Mitsu.

• Hybrid_Gas on Dec 10, 2011 at 11:36 am

Never gave up, belum matang2 lagi. Masih tak mengaku kalah. Why la ? Denial again and again,compare that and this.

• In the 2 liter category , Camry still outsold Accord Transformer . With the new camry launching next year, surely Accord Transfomer is way behind camry for the year 2012.
    Thumbs up to UMW Toyota for bringing in quality cars.

• ok Myvi numbers on the road is reflected in the number.

It doesn’t seems to have alot of diesel cars in Malaysia, while the B5 biodiesel initiatives has kick started.

Why the lack of support towards biodiesel capable cars?

Why drivers are not so concern about their fuel types and possible exhaustion of fuel and potential increment of fuel cost?

Are the buyers of today prepare to sell off their cars in 2-3 years time in view of shift in fuel types?

• tarmiziali on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:47 am

I feel sad most of the comments includes the words stupid, bodoh and other negative words where else we could have a constructive discussion on our automotive trending. Bashing seem to get kinda old.

Because of our pricing, buying a car is a liability and the decision of choosing make/model is a significant one. We cannot experiment much with our choices thats why we always end up choosing National or Japanese makes not matter how much kit or technology offered by Koreans, French or others.

After plugging all the statistic into excel sheet, in the average malaysian will consider these factors;

1) First is affordability. Cars cost RM90k below is the affordability range and this is where all the national makes plus entry level japs are concentrated. If you dont matter much about styling or technology or build quality, you will not venture more than this price range.

2) Second is size. B-segment is the most popular as it able to carry 5 person (well mostly) and decent boot size. The choice for singles and small family. A-segment is more suitable for Uni students or as a second car. The gap between Viva and i10 is huge. B-segment sales figures more than doubles C-segment. D-segment is more of a status symbol so either you go Camry or Accord OR straight to Bimmers and Mercs.

3) Third is Brand Perception. Now this may not apply to everyone. If below RM90k, if you are brand consious you go Japanese. If this doesnt bother you much, you go by default national brand. Again I stressed not every malaysian or even a majority is this picky. That is why i reckon no matter how much internet bashing about Proton reliability or Perodua’s lack of excitement driving, they will continue to be best sellers.

On overall, Perodua is the champion here as it has 3 products that cater very different markets that is selling extremely well, This also is a double edge knife as it doesnt drive Perodua to innovate unlike Proton. It would be great if P2 starts dabbling in hybrids, electric vehicle, cvt/dual clutch gearbox or at least diesel engines.

Proton has too many sedan range that overlaps each other. This has always been p1 problems as they always overstrectch the model life expentancy.(Why would you need the inspira if you are still selling the waja and persona? and now the coming espire, persona R will make things worse). A good lesson to be learn from Steve Jobs when he was back at apple make all product line into one.

Also intresting to note Volkswagen is slowly improving their brand perception. For Ford, it seem a bit of a struggle here even though they are globally competitive. Ford fiesta may turn out to be their savior as the focus and mondeo doesnt seem to be hitting it off although love by europeans.

For koreans, even though they seem to be value for money in terms of kit, styling and technology, most of their offering are above RM90k so it doesnt look good for the new Kia Optima.