Proton mobile teams set out to install compulsory rear centre lap belts for Saga LMST and Gen.2

Proton has begun a month-long campaign in which it is sending out mobile teams to install the mandatory rear centre lap belt in Saga LMST and Gen.2’s manufactured between 2004 and 2008. The teams are set to visit used car outlets in the Klang Valley, and will be targeting army and police stations nationwide as well as Government offices and public universities.

Installation of the belt is free, and takes approximately 30 minutes per vehicle. The exercise is part of the company’s Rear Centre Lap Belt Campaign to ensure that Proton car owners comply with the Government ruling that will make it compulsory for vehicles to be fitted with the safety device from January 1 next year.

The Proton mobile teams, consisting of eight teams of four personnel each, have installed rear centre lap belts in more than 700 cars since December 5. The exercise complements a series of road shows and other on-the-ground programmes around the country, which began in September.

So, if you own a Saga LMST and Gen.2 and haven’t yet had the belt fitted, you can do so at any authorised Proton service centres – there’s no need to go look for the mobile teams, though if you do spot them around your ‘hood that would be quite convenient.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• dukenborg on Dec 10, 2011 at 3:03 am

Will this make a difference?

• at least they are trying to do something good//=P

• One thing still remain unchanged and no difference is the name Gen2 if add ‘toot’ will always sounds like Kentut or GenTut!

• BOYRACER on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:15 am

My 20-year old Proton Saga has factory fitted rear seat belt as does our 15-year old Kancil.
    However our 10-year old Kancil do not have one fitted from the factory but already fitted 2 years ago during campaign.
    The new Kancil are fitted with inertia reel belt.

Im not complaining,just wondering why does these cars have original rear seat belts during earlier production and yet they were removed halfway through their production.
    As for Gen-2 I didnt notice the absent of the rear belts (never sat behind.
    For me this is a very bad omission since the car was design in the last 10 years.At that moment, most of other makes have rear belts as standard.
    Cost cutting perhaps?Hmm…if Proton can fit those 20 years ago,why omit it? If it is for safety sake,then why remove it at all.

Just my 2 cents.

• Carl Wong on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:51 pm

I believe the first version Gen 2 (not the improved facelifted version) didn’t have it. I have a 5 speed Manual red one and I had it installed for free some time ago.

• drMpower on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:40 am

Of course it will make a huge difference.as a responsible car maker, proton opted to SERVE the people. Or atleast for this exercise, the people who bought their products.

Apart from dubious management practises, whether u agree or not these kind of goodwill do hurt proton coffers. But i would prefer to use the term ‘national service’ and i would comfortably write off the cost incurred.morally it is justifiedable.but moral is what most people are severely lacking of

remember they are giving the belts for FREE. And imagine the cost for being ready at so many various places. And the workforce working extra hours

in the days where dogs eat dogs, people are becoming more and more selfish, unbelievably material oriented mind, a nice service like protons doing is a super positive, benefit for the people (atleast those who bought protons)
    you go brand Japan Korea Continential American ask them do the same, pigs can fly if they give FOC. but for a good reason most of them got the backseat belts by default in the first place. But lets admit it. No FOC and u HAVE to go to them not they come to u like what protons doing

mahathir was half right. It isnt only malay who easily forgets. Its most malaysians i believe

• alfie60 on Dec 10, 2011 at 11:48 am

Dont get it,if this shitty company is doing it for free NOW why did they do at the factory in the 1st place . Unless its to in convinient the public and kasi susah rakyat. These things are considered Standard equipment except by our shitty Proton company try to charge the rakyat more money if they wanted it or Proton wanted to fool the public that they brought the cost DOWN but in reality have taken a few things out.

• It was not compulsory to have rear seatbelt then but compulsory now,,, aiya,, itu pun tak boleh fikir.

• Sarcastic Prick on Dec 10, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Why don’t you ask Honda the same question with their City ’03 – ’05 model?

• sleepwalkerz on Dec 10, 2011 at 10:18 pm

People do good things also you bash….at least they are correcting what they should have done before..

• Carl Wong on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:11 pm

Is that a Milo Tin? LOL………….
    It’s pointless to install seatbelts if our people still refuse to use them………………………

• Shaekey on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:28 pm

“…will be targeting army and police stations nationwide as well as Government offices…”

I live in Putrajaya and whenever I see police cars or other government cars, the driver and front passenger (if any) almost always never wear seatbelt. Sadly many people still don’t even wear front seatbelts and this policy while politically correct, is pretty much a waste of money.

• why only now they want fitted center rear belt? actually i already question 3 years ago when real seat belt instalation campain start but my lmst not entitle to put this center belt..proton SC said my car already have rear seat belt (only two).