Honda CR-Z well received, three new colours available

The latest Honda and hybrid car in our market, the Honda CR-Z, has been very well received. Launched in early November, Honda Malaysia targeted to sell 100 units by the end of the year, but has received over 300 bookings within a month of the launch.

“Honda Malaysia is very pleased and encouraged by the overwhelming response for the all new CR-Z. We believe that the world’s first 6-speed manual transmission hybrid vehicle has broken new grounds in the automotive choices for Malaysians,” said Yoichiro Ueno, MD and CEO of Honda Malaysia said.

“In our commitment to exceed customers’ expectations, we are pleased to announce that Honda Malaysia will be bringing in three more exciting new colours to add to the CR-Z lineup and to give Honda customers more options,” Ueno san added.

The new colours are Storm Silver Metallic, Milano Red and Crystal Black Pearl, in addition to the original Premium White Pearl. The new colours are expected to arrive by early 2012 and customers can place bookings now. The CR-Z is priced at RM115,000 with a 5-year battery warranty or 140,000 km, whichever comes first. Read our launch report here.

We’re quite happy to hear this update, because the bookings were achieved solely with a manual gearbox variant, a reminder that enthusiasts who love the good old stick shift are alive and (left foot) kicking. For the rest, don’t fret, for Honda Malaysia is looking to bring in a CVT equipped CR-Z sometime in 2012.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• JeremyNg on Dec 12, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Paul , did u guys accept the invitation to test drive this CRZ at Japan ??!! Bcs i saw other “competitor” went for test drive at Japan d ……….

• It’s like a video game, u reach a certain level and unlock new colors… haha..

• Calvynn on Dec 12, 2011 at 3:27 pm

“Targeted to sell 100 units but has received over 300 bookings” ..Consider as good car.. I still thinking whether to wait 2012 for ckd Kia Forte Koup, New Swift Sport. Heard it will come next year or just buy VW Polo?Any suggestion for RM120k, Please no troll thanks.

• TurboMan on Dec 12, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Forte koup is a stylish lifestyle car and more of a cruiser not a bruiser. My wife owns one, It is similar to a 320i coupe. and while it goes well for a 2.0 liter, a swift sport and polo will have more kick and power and probably handles better.

SO it depends on what you want. A well equipped stylish cruiser to be seen in or a compact nippy and quick hatchback to totter around town. Are you a connoisseur or a racer boy?

Im not surprised the korean haters will come in and bash the koup soon with some points taken from the air and give me a million thumbs down. Its a good car but the brand is not giving it the recognition it deserves.

Most ppl who hate the car are racer boys, but there is a market for ppl who wants a beautiful looking car but doesnt do traffic light sprints everyday. Its not a big segment of the market but it does exist. You will see them in a 320i coupes or renault laguna coupes every now and then on the road.

• cacamarba on Dec 12, 2011 at 5:08 pm

wait for new swift sport..it’s worth to wait.. :)

• Calvynn,

get the polo, very powerful yet frugal wt “diesel like” low down torque plus turbocharge top end!…vw are having year end promo to clear the 2011 stocks…good discounts & overtrade ;

• lan87 on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:11 pm

vw polo if you book now also not sure if you can get the car by april next year… my friend who booked a polo in september also had to retract her booking ‘cos the salesman said that he can’t promise if can get the car by march next year…

for rm120k budget, i will go for this honda CRZ… it lacks power but it makes it up in the cars design… i loved the old CRX and i loved the CRZ’s similarity to it…

• teelim on Dec 13, 2011 at 3:13 pm

thats the polo gti.

based on the car sales stats on this website, they are only selling 5 cars each month

I think “city” was referring to the regular polo, not the gti.

• Why are you even considering the swift? Macam serious downgrade from Polo.

• plz get the Polo!!! Go and testdrive
      Warning: very strong poison

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 12, 2011 at 3:41 pm

SAY TAK NAK TO CVT. MANUAL FOR LIFE.

• CHIU!..talk like u know how to drive a manual well..PTUI!..put u in a long highway jam with a heavy clutch see what would u say

• well don’t they realize they have no competitors out there selling new cars with real manual gearbox in this price range (90k-150k)

• teelim on Dec 12, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Went to have a look at the car at the Jln Ipoh showroom. Really like the car but disappointed that the back seats are close to useless.

Would definitely consider this car if I did not have a family of my own yet. XD

• ken dan on Dec 12, 2011 at 3:51 pm

OOOOOOOOOO.Japan still Got Old CRV……………Malaysian Seldom Already.

Malaysian New car quick Got Market……

• Steve on Dec 12, 2011 at 4:45 pm

dont mind whether its a manual or cvt..its still a good daily coupe :O

• CK200H on Dec 12, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Miss my old stick, even my Wira with stick is fun to drive compare to my latest CVT.

• Serious Fast Donkey on Dec 12, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Somehow I never heard a new model sales target unmet. The low target is just a marketing gimmick, I guess.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm

bring in auto lah, if auto sure i buy, ini manual, kaki gua mana banyak macam sotong time traffic jam.

• Maserati on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:54 pm

Awesome car. Will definately sell well due to it being japanese. Kia koup priced around the same price but nobody even bother to buy. Go figure. And pls dont give excuses like gearbox different lah, different class car lah, supply cannot be met by manufacturer. Very boring and lousy excuses.

Ppl know how to appreaciate good cars. And ppl will buy good cars no matter what the price. Kia koup good? Not even close to crz. Its good if compared to other korean cars. But other than that, its not up to the mark.

• looking-good on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:12 pm

i thought only proton is good to you, maserati?

• Silwen on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:04 am

How is a boring excuse a bad excuse? The gearbox, I would think, plays a significant factor in choosing a car. The class of car being different and the supply of spares and quality of service are, I believe, factors that are seriously considered by a buyer. Another important factor that should be taken into account is the secondhand value, unless the buyer intends to run it to death. Asking people not to give excuses because they are boring does not seem to rest on a valid foundation; asking people not to give excuses because they are lousy and is valid, however, your idea of a bad excuse is to my mind, questionable.

• TurboMan on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:34 am

Just ignore these fellas.

Bashers will bash. Trolls will be trolls.

The lack of critical thinking in their arguments and their inability of articulate their ideas and thoughts resorting to sweeping statements ( ie: ppl will buy good cars no matter what the price, ppl know how to appreciate good cars, don give excuses like xxxx ) can only be blamed on the education system.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm

The sales figure speak by itself 49 units of Kia Koup Sold since it launched, CRZ already get 300 order within a month, thats 6 times.

That why i said just ignore those Trolls like David D, TurboMan, tthg who live in Korean Drama Fantasy World (what ever they said are opposite in the reality.)

• TurboMan on Dec 13, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Hahaha. U make me laugh again.

But at least you have some ability to articulate your ideas. Jolo/Maserati on the other hand……

None of us ever said Kia koup is better than CRZ or crz is better than Kia Koup. That is for the individual to make. Sales numbers? A scirocco and lotus elise have almost the same price, but which one sell better? Does that mean the elise is a bad and lousy car? Unfortunately no, they are just different. BMW 320i coupe sells better than Renault Laguna Coupes, but does it mean RLC is a bad and lousy and malu car ( jolo’s word, not mine )? If i have RLC, im certainly not malu abt it. The same can almost be said for golf GTI and Renault Megane/Clio RS ( At RM 211k and RM235k )

In fact, some of us even said they are not big fans of korean cars but its the way you guys carry yourself that worship japs and treating them as the best cars in the world, spiting immature comments on every post related to korean cars.

Trolls? At least my side is trying to reason things while your side had to resort to kampung style coffee shop short pants way of talking. Look at all the previous posts of maserati and my fav, jolo on paultan’s news related to korean cars.

• I think we will be glad if Honda can introduce more hybrid cars like fit hybrid, shuttle hybrid n etc at very competitive prices encourage more purchasers n can reduce the costs eg parts n maintenance for honda

• sammo on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:10 am

aiyo, no grand prix white :(

• Nizam80 on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:33 am

I don’t like Japanese cars that much, but this one is an exception along with the DC5, FD2R and all of Subaru’s Imprezas and the new BRZ.

• ae101 on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:32 pm

interior quality and class, yes koup win hands down. but somehow this car doesnt give me eye candy feel. maybe too many forte on the road nowadays. plus a lot boy racers installed led and big big rims really make the car feel more cheap.crz is something new here and the curvy really too irresistible to own.well, 6spd manual doesnt pump any extra horsies but definetely can give you fun driving experience even it is a hybrid.

• mentari-o-korea on Dec 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm

heheh my koup can eat crz for breakfast, lunch n dinner! Tks kia & naza. I wonder also where that 300 bookings coming from, only ‘smart’ people can trust this..hehe

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 13, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Dream on, Korean car lover. dream on. Your dreams don’t come to reality unlike Honda The Power Of Dreams. The Honda CR-Z is truly a stunning sports hybrid. 300 bookings for Honda CR-Z within one month and this exceeds Honda Malaysia’s target of selling 100 units within 2 months by a whopping 3 times. And you said this news cannot be trusted. Maybe you only trust Naza and Kia’s statements, you Korean car lover. For your information, I am a diehard Honda supporter. I own 2 Honda cars. Haha, Honda CR-Z can eat your Kia Koup (if you really own one) for breakfast, mid-morning tea break, lunch, afternoon tea break, dinner and supper.

• TurboMan on Dec 13, 2011 at 5:37 pm

And a modified kancil can eat your CR-Z everyday.

Please la, this is the 21st century, still talk like that ah? Grow up man.

• Calvin Foo on Dec 13, 2011 at 6:31 pm

All Korean staffs are craps, they are only better than those made-in-Malaysia, that’s it.

Kia, LG, Samsung are equally rubbish, nice to see and use. You will see all the problems pouring in as soon as the warranty expired.

• greatvoice on Dec 24, 2011 at 10:25 pm

go and own a fast car then come back to write a comment, the feedback shall serve as benefit to others but you chewing on the bone and left nothing for use to chat about, tire of your pathetic speedster korea kar

• mentari-o-korea on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:23 pm

U sound more logical turboman, tks. When i say i can eat em for each meal i refer to hybrid 1.5 against my 2.0 cvvt, thats why they said the power of dream, dream only lorr hehehe

• Jason Ong on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Will it be the full accessories CVT version with the ORI navi

hate when these great car come without it

• greatvoice on Dec 24, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Dont Talk , Just Buy it, I bought a CRZ and also , I own a Golf, Porsche Cayenne 2011, Honda Civic 2.0, serious speaking every car is built for different functions , nothing to beat about, if you feel sickening go beat your own car, perhaps that will wane your anger.
      pathetic arent you.

• Jason Ong on Dec 25, 2011 at 4:03 am

Mr. Show off, thanks for your sarcastic comments.

It’s shows how pathetic u r as well with what you have and does not fulfil your desire like a small child who is not fed enough……

Only stating and asking that due to US specs comes with the Navi panel.

Thank you and have a merry x-mas with ur new shoes.

• In the USA, the CRZ’s back seat is taken out by the manufacturer. This is to give it more cargo space. The US customers want it that way.

Only sissy’s drive auto. In the UK most cars are manual.