Proton Exora Prime – CFE variant photos leaked!

More on Proton’s upcoming turbocharged Exora MPV – leaked photos of the Prime variant have surfaced, courtesy of Funtastico, which picked them up from the original source blog, Kizz Kazz.

This follows on the example spotted on a trailer last week, bearing a “CFE Inside” decal on the driver’s door, which should be the turbocharged 1.6 litre Campro version expected to have 138 hp and 205 Nm for output figures. The Exora Bold, as the turbo variant is to be called, will feature smoked tail lamps, rear disc brakes plus a bodykit on the new items list.

Meanwhile, the Prime is said to be the more upmarket version, and the interior features wood-grain panel trim for the centre console, as well as what looks like a Bosch 2-DIN head-unit, according to Harvinder, who says the unit looks familiar!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:09 pm

sad to say this is not PRIME…. good try though..

• kimi_ on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:44 pm

The wood trim of center unit is ugly like shit and cheap like hell……. Damn it.

• Nissan on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:39 pm

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT? THIS IS CHEAP PROTON.

• kimi_ on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:26 am

Proton should fire its head of styling— azlan othman for approving the stupid and awful interior design!!!!!!!

Even the paultan readers who dont know much on design know it is ugly, so do he BLIND or what????

• blue-traveler on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:55 am

For this model I guess P1 team ran out of ideas, the front of the mpv reminds me of a “gone” companys’ mpv/suv – SsangYong, ie the front sharp angle downwards lines. Because used to have one for family uses, many many many MANY moons ago. Can’t believe they still use this design. And the cheap/bad looking “wood” panel, who ever sign off on that should be shot.

• milah becok on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:41 am

the news: bahar’s contract is renewed.. a year earlier.. for four more years..

• Hey Nissan, a good design doesn’t mean it has to be expensive vice-versa. This is where Proton should utilize their industrial designers brain to the max. Personally, I also hate the design. It spoils the excitement of the exterior look.

• Tall Pan on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Pls. Go look at ur overpriced GL and all its wood too. hideous as well.

Seriously, what’s with all the wood? Are we still living on trees??

Unless they did market research first and the results show that majority favours the wood trimmings??

agree with all of u that the interior is a big letdown lol

• scania3600 on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:07 pm

PROTON..frustrating interior design! AGAIN and AGAIN!! they just CUT n PASTE kayu pattern to their dashboard..weird look with no continuity on design aspect.. sharp..old design edges..
            PROTON was untouchable and is it do so..until now! so Long waiting for this. May be another SE edition will come out with another CHEAP plastics and ‘leather’ trim..

how dare u PROTON give this things for customer? cut your own head PROTON!!

• PakAbu on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:47 am

Actually, if done minimally, like in Waja special edition, it will be nice. Just a few strips here and there, not the whole centre fascia. Should just be like what the limitations of a real piece of wood allows you to shape it into some curve and such.

With wood trimmings, less is more. :mrgreen:

• EasyRider on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:38 pm

The original looks way better than this. Yet again, they managed to put something that just spoils the quality perception, just like the audio buttons on Persona steering. Better if they just take it out. If they want to put something as a “premium feature”, it better be good, not just put something without any effort.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Yes, the steering wheel and the wood grain on the audio panel is damn ugly. Outdated interior design dashboard and steering wheel like from the 1990s.Two thumbs down! Yikes!

• HirumaKecil on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:06 am

But i prefer this dashboard the new style dashboard.. I think panel meter at the middle of dashboard is not practical.. At least for me.. Not that this old style is better looking, just that i think the new futuristic design dashboard look dangerous.. Like honda city dashboard… so many sharp edges… Kid ‘terhantuk’ all the time u know.. And this car for sure for parents with kids…

Just my opinions..

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:09 pm

If u buckle up the kids, surely dont terhantuk one.

• Tall Pan on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:29 pm

hello, shouldn’t kids be strapped into child seats in the first place???

that’s not my opinion, that’s my advice to u :)

• Tall Pan on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:30 pm

hello, shouldn’t kids be strapped into child seats in the first place???

that’s not just my opinion, that’s my advice to everyone :)

• HirumaKecil on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:06 am

But i prefer this dashboard the than new style dashboard.. I think panel meter at the middle of dashboard is not practical.. At least for me.. Not that this old style is better looking, just that i think the new futuristic design dashboard look dangerous.. Like honda city dashboard… so many sharp edges… Kid ‘terhantuk’ all the time u know.. And this car for sure for parents with kids…

Just my opinions..

• inderaloka on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:16 pm

I agree with you. Wood grain on the audio panel is out of date. Wake up, Proton Design! Wake up!!

• _xXx_ on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:16 am

mcm formica almari nenek aku kat kg…gd job done, protong!!

• samsam on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:01 pm

kayu? aduh.. why not u make it plastic so that i can lekat fake carbon fiber sticker?

• toyota lover on Dec 17, 2011 at 3:39 pm

macam ko bagus sangat ayat kurang sopan mak bapa ko tak ajar ke?

• guys..relax! this is not the real exora prime. i mean look at the look at the gear, PRND32L – not CVT..
      this is actually the prototype version of the BOLD i think.
      exora prime will be better than this.. believe me

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:01 pm

huuuhuhuuu

good to hear that…

seriously the faux wooden look like shit! why laa opt that design…? huhuuhuuu

• akina on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:32 am

whyyyyyyyyyyyy???whyyyyy the interiour must look like that. it’s look sooo blunt. doesn’t match with the exterior. those picts seriously make me upset. arghhhh..
      exora CFE is on my top list for my kancil replacement. hope exora bolt’s interior doesn’t look like this one. I’M REALLY HATE WOODEN TRIMMING!!!!!!
      why must they put it in exora???whyyy? interior designer exora ni warga emas ke apa? erghhhhh..spoilllll!

• I guess ‘yes they are’. Look at the list for decision making eg… Advisor 80 something, Nazmi.. (as I said, even his Cityliner buses use LHD bulbs)… so what you expect results to come fr these people? Future also looks as bleak as news pointing Syed Mokhtar would take the helm from Nazmi, the billionaire person who was famous for having his formal ride in just an old uninspiring Perdana! Sigh…

Why don’t they follow Hyundai/Kia. Don’t give excuse they are longer in the industry because they are also producing budget cars for the masses, but their cars are nowadays very interesting inside out.

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2011 at 5:12 pm

When u have an economist as the chairman of a car company, this is what u will get.

• Interior is terrible and fugly!!! cant accept …

• OMG…I totally agreed with u. Only the engine give me some attraction. Others just…sxxx.

• Just looks like the monkeys inside the car if u drive this car…

• exoraMC on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Don’t think its a real pic…look at the gear, PRND32L – not CVT!

• oknice on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:19 pm

nice.. kinda like transformer-ish….

• kimi_ on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Who the hell design the interior???? it’s a FAILURE, the interior is damn cheap looking & ugly while the exterior not bad at all !!!!

Proton should fire the interior designer!!!!!!!!

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Yeah nice. I love the new front bumper. The huge side intake looks like a broken fibre glass bumper. Can see the the exposed fibre in between. Cool!

• abijam on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:19 pm

No Automatic air cond? Dissapointing.

• abijam on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Even new innova has automatic air cond.

• huiyooo on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:32 pm

are u sure innova? curent launch is only facelift avanza

• arch747 on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:43 pm

What du mean “even”? Du even know what the word “even” meaning at all? If u wanna compare it say with naza citra then u can use the word “even”, but if u wanna compare it with more expensive, it just went out of context.
      Next time if u wanna bash, do it intelligently.

• Arjun on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:27 pm

So if cannot compare with Innova, don’t put PRIME la!

• Agree
        Even GT-R got 4WD

• abijam on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:44 am

i said ‘even’ by comparing the price at indonesia. The price does not varies too much for highest spec.

PROTON Exora
        Exora Star M/T = Rp 154,000,000
        Exora ML M/T = Rp 184,000,000
        Exora Executive A/T = Rp 194,000,000
        Exora Supreme A/T = Rp 220,000,000
        Exora President M/T = Rp 350,000,000
        Exora President A/T = Rp 360,000,000

TOYOTA Kijang/Innova
        Innova J Bisnis = Rp 193,250,000
        Innova J Manual = Rp 204,400,000
        Innova E Manual = Rp 230,400,000
        Innova E Automatic = Rp 244,100,000
        Innova G Manual = Rp 249,950,000
        Innova G Automatic = Rp 264,250,000
        Innova G Manual Luxury = Rp 260,250,000
        Innova G Automatic Luxury = Rp 274.550,000
        Innova V Manual = Rp 287,900,000
        Innova V Automatic = Rp 302,200,000
        Innova V Manual Luxury = Rp 297,450,000
        Innova V Automatic Luxury = Rp 311,750,000

• DarkAvenger on Dec 14, 2011 at 9:02 am

You live in Indon??? Better compare with Japan price, even better!!!

• rush hour on Dec 14, 2011 at 1:42 pm

if exroa prime is priced at 90K, that puts in the same league of innova which starts at 95K. similar size, similar power, similar price.

• kaskas on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:46 pm

yup, even my neo oso got auto climate aircond

• accord on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:53 pm

thats was not priority for all Malaysian..

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:28 pm

This exact mentality.. Thats why proton is not priority for most petrolheads

• tokmoh on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:01 pm

Strange… you made it sound like Myvi, Viva, Alza, Vios, City are petrolhead’s priority shopping list…

Unless you meant “Thats why proton is not priority for most Malaysian car buyers”

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Its ur thoughts, so it must be ur priority, not mine. But honestly, if it is just about the design alone, i would rather take a perodua than a proton. At least until donato coco take in charge.

• accord on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Dude, IMHO automatic aircond is not priority for most Malaysian coz we want better interior & fuel efficient car @ MPV rather than just automatic aircondition alone…

• but sadly innova doesnt have turbo, hahahaha

• oko138 on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Exterior look good but wooden trimming interior looks damn urgly and cheap!

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:32 pm

Those wooden trimmings.. its so unattractive even to the groups proton are aiming at.

• udasalleh on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:40 pm

I agree. The exterior looks nice enuf. Even the buttons on the steering wheel looks better than previous incarnations. But the plasticky faux wooden trim is definitely a spoiler… what this? 1980’s all over again?… just stick to aluminium or brushed metal trims.

• OOOOW on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:26 pm

the wood trims, it looks cheap.

• I SEE CRUISE CONTROL :) THUMBS UP !

• huiyooo on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:31 pm

i think this one is not prime. prime shud be launch next year. dis one is exora bold

• the first proton car with wood trims since Waja :D I prefer the Waja wood trims. looks more luxurious. same goes to the wira.

• Sigh.. console still need some work, if it’s the vendor’s fault, please start sourcing for alternatives… Upmarket = mandatory Automatic aircon

Nice Mazda type front bumper.. lol.. From the pics, exterior quite handsome. Please keep up such good work (for saga replacement), and improve on the interior.

• JeremyNg on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:32 pm

D 3 2 L ??!!! I thought they equp with CVT ???!!!

• looks like a bolt on turbo…small turbo without intercooler

• does intercooler need to place on top of engine like kcar
      ????

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:05 am

Nope… It depends on design and space. Moreover the Intercooler is ment to cool down the Compressed Air. Hot compressed Air will cause reduction of O2 content hance will reduce the Power of the car and increase the FC.

• LFA LOVER on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:36 pm

well when u said even innova has automatic air cond, it cost much more expensive anyway and it should be plus it weak 2.0 engine. so dont use word ‘even’ ok

• its expensive because of tax bro. ask banker/dealer how much innova price without ridiculous govt tax

• deeeho on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:36 pm

I wish it comes with projector headlamps. HID.

• lalalalala on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:37 pm

138hp for turbocharge?

• jerry tan on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:37 am

surbo charged!

• eims @ gold on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:05 am

203nm torque is enough.

the power output is already like 2.0 NA engine.

btw. this is not racing car to put it like 300bhp.

further more. u can tune the engine anytime if u want more power.

maybe proton have some plan to produce 200bhp exora to compete with honda oddisey :p

• lalalalala on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:33 am

i know it not for racing. but come on la. at least for light-pressure turbo, should produce 145 – 150 hp. plus with that torque. but 138hp not far different from the standard others manufacture car.

i maybe expect better from campro as it should can do better than this after 10 years.

• najib lasak on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:37 pm

THis is much more worth the money than the AVANZA !

• old lady with thick make up

• yucks!
    the ‘wood’ panelling simply does’nt match the black interior!!

• jerry tan on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:49 pm

current Exora with 125HP….. if this new one really 138HP with 13HP difference, i wonder what kinda Turbo they install? Surbo?

• 4agze on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:59 pm

turbo is not just about hp..look at the torque figures at lower end..that the most used powerband when you moving around city..that what user needed rather than over the top bhp

• middels8088 on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Who needs horsepower when you are not going to near the redline every time you accelerate…

• jerry tan on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:09 am

then we don’t need a Turbo! take it off

• Optiplex330 on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Please allow me to give a very hypothetical example. Suppose you have a car providing the same amount of torque. Only different is, Car A’s has no turbo and maximum torque comes in at 4000rpm and Car B with low pressure turbo allows maximum torque to come in at 2000pm. Which is better to drive in town? That should give you an answer.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Car C with max torque at 2000RPM with the max Safety and the cheapest in Market…??? (If theres any).

• sukasuki on Dec 13, 2011 at 3:59 pm

then u shuld buy the cheapest mercedes c200 cgi.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Thanks, i’ve owned M once, trying to get another feel. Abarth Esseesse perhaps. 1.4 Turbo with 180hp on sports mode. Priced about RM150k

• HirumaKecil on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Proton should do something with the steering wheel.. Look cheap… Other is nice…

• jay8393 on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Wood-like trim? No thanks.

• Littlebear on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Although most of the time I am a PROTON basher due to the fact that they make shoddy quality cars… But this EXORA PRIME seriously looks good on the outside. However, the plastic wood panel needs to be reworked. It looks a bit akward.

• noname on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:59 pm

nod bad, good try.. dont hope too much for budget mpv.. you get what you pay.. peace

• dzulx on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Fire the interior designer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:35 pm

I would fire all their designers.

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Or at least the person who approved the design.

• styling PHAIL on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:00 pm

his name is azlan othman, HOD of styling department

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Ive seen some of protons designs before. Some of it are quite good. But the ones which make it to production are mostly disappointing. Protons board seriously needs some crash course in automotive design.

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:58 pm

I bet proton would be better off if azlan focuses his effort in improving his design rather than focusing on his twitter and blogs. Go and learn from donato coco for God sake!

• Maserati on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:02 pm

That is one hideous looking interior, wonder who will buy this junk?

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:02 pm

optimus prime is not impressed

• Out of Luck on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Front looks good, especially with the metallic brown colour but the smoked translucent rear lamp will turn a lot of buyers off.

The interior left a lot to be desired:
    ———————————————-
    Firstly, the fake wood on the centre console. Fake wood will make any car looks cheap! Last time my friend bought a limited edition BMW e90 320i with fake wood panel. It made the car looked cheap as well, not to mention finger print magnet.

Secondly, the back seats. There are flat. With extra power, the vehicle will go faster which leads to taking corners at higher speed. With such a flat seats, the passengers may just slipped from side to side. At least contoured the seats a little to accommodate the passengers’ buttocks instead of so flat. Not asking for bucket seats.

However, I liked the standard double-din ICE though. Just hope it comes with GPS navigation :-)

• gtmaniac on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:39 am

Agree with the awkward looking wood panels. Looks so 70s! Should have opt for different patern/colour wood – burr walnut perhaps.

The rear seat have to be flat i guess, for more space when fold down.

Rear passengers may wear seatbelt to prevent from slipping side to side. Or fold down the centre arm rest (2nd row)

• hmmm they should have blacken the dash and door panels.. Grey is just too cheap looking.. Just like Viva

• Out of Luck on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Front looks good, especially with the metallic brown colour but the smoked translucent rear lamp will turn a lot of buyers off.

The interior left a lot to be desired:
    ———————————————-
    Firstly, the fake wood on the centre console. Fake wood will make any car looks cheap! Last time my friend bought a limited edition BMW e90 320i with fake wood panel. It made the car looked cheap as well, not to mention finger print magnet.

Secondly, the back seats. They are so flat. With extra power, the vehicle will go faster which leads to taking corners at higher speed. With such a flat seats, the passengers may just slipped from side to side. At least contoured the seats a little to accommodate the passengers’ buttocks instead of so flat. Not asking for bucket seats.

However, I liked the standard double-din ICE though. Just hope it comes with GPS navigation :-)

• Alpha on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:14 pm

I agree.The moment I saw the fake wood centre console,I was like,wtf??The new bodykits and colour and all looks nice,but the centre console looks like sh*t.

• Out of Luck on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:21 pm

When I first saw the photo showing the angled front and direct front of the car, I was like “Holy Cow!! This is such an awesome looking car!” And then I saw the fake wooden panel…….like what the Chinese wound say, “No eye see!”

• eggman01 on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Looks good!

• Pak Abu on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Klu dah namanya proton, mmg low quality, minyak kuat. Better beli avanza la…. Timing chain, jimat minyak, cornering lagi hebat dari exora.

Turbo? High maintenance + proton = Sampah

• freako on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:25 pm

try dulu handling proton based on lotus,berapa kali dah persona elegance aku dah selamatkan nyawa aku.

• apeng on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:09 pm

setuju sgt…
        my current car cornering not good as my previous persona..

• hantu on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:26 pm

so lu belilah BMW,,,,,sukkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk

• avanza cornering hebat? jalan highway gegar mcm naik unta!!

• yahooza on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Avanza is the one of the most unstable car in the market today. How I know? I work in medical line.

• BeemerFreak on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:50 pm

I rather trust my life on my fellow malaysians than some stupid indonesian designed car. Bloody Avanza is used as population control in indo.

• AudiFreak on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:22 pm

you foolish.
        avanza is japanese designed car for indon. not designed by indon.

• clutch basah on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:25 am

Avanza and Innova were designed in Indon since they were originally intended for their domestic market only. Even Vios was designed in Thailand with intentions to fulfill Thai’s cheap car demands.

• Arrian on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:09 am

yupp..indo need japanese to design a most effective population control vhicle

• armandd on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:27 pm

hahaha, you’re funny guy lah!

• Ini proton designer kampung punya orang ah design mcm cheap punya kereta letak smoked lamps mcm modified car la its not a facelift its a modified exora cmonla proton show me what you got you can do it look at those koreans they did it in no time men shit la damn worried for proton men they dont have long term planning they just see the trend smoked lamps they never set trends and those bodykit is like made from those accesory shop proton pls hire more qualified people in your team not just people who barely pass their university I am giving constructige criticism not just saying proton sucks they are improving constantly but it is not perfect each car have something to be complained about all the best p1.

• Tall Pan on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:35 pm

try using full stop or comma once in a while, so u don’t put us in coma with your story… o_0

• bro, baik baca comment org lain ttg avanza sebelum ni…. ko cuba cite kat aku mana kete yg 100% sempurna? klu nak comment pun biar membina.. bukan nak terlena.

• Abidal on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm

huhh.. Avanza??? that shitty van you called it conering hebat? sucks..

• bulshitttt kalo lu kata conering avanza lg hebat drp exora!
      avanza bagai sampan dilambung ombak rindu…terhuyung hanyang..termantol mantol..apa jadah bawak family naik kete camtu..last2 semua mabuk..muntah..erkkkkk

• seriously…avanza
      bawak rasa cam duk atas belon….time cornering lagi la…rasa cam nak terbalik jer

• mat proton on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:53 am

HANG NI ORANG ASING KA.. PI LA MAIN JAUH2.. AGAK2 LA BHASA KASAR TU BRO.. SOKONG BUATAN MALAYSIA LA.. lu DIZIGN SENDIRI LA KERETA, AGK2 KERETA SORONG LU BELUM TENTU LEH BUAT.. SHIT!.. TAH2 MAKAN SAMBAL BELACAN SAMBIL TGK IKLAN PROTON.. X PAHAM DENGAN SIKAP ORG KITA NI..

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Kalo buat elok-elok, org ramai kompem sokong. Kalo buat taik, sape yang nak sokong? Cume yang buat taik je yang akan sokong.

• Gebang on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:22 am

Ko ingat semua kerja proton pakai kereta proton ke? Hakkkk tuiiiiuua la….pekerja gaji cabuk pun terhegeh2 beli myvi….

• avanza conering bagus ??????????? JAWAPAN PALING BODOH !!!

• WhiteFox on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:25 am

As an owner of avanza i can swear that my highest corner speed is 80 on average corner, 40-60 on narrow corner and around 90 for large corner.

This speed already can feel the whole body roll and not to mention if the road is wet i think i will under/over steer anytime.

• sukasuki on Dec 13, 2011 at 4:11 pm

my fren use avanza, and his car turtled upside down. luckily he just alone, without his family inside the car. and that avanza was total lost. after that he bought alza. he said that no more tall mpv with narrow body width anymore.

• I have a K & N Filter in my Exora…that makes it a turbocharged as it gives me 10 to 15% more power…Without the CVT, the car will still be lagging on the gear change…

• Abidal on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:51 pm

not even 0.001% if it a oem drop in filter, but if a cold air intake can get no more than 1-2% increase only,, but the sound in cabin very annoying..

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:55 pm

10 to 15 % Power increase???? Wow… then its better to remove the Air filter lahh.. better air intake what.. maybe can go up to 40 % power increase…?? Everything can go in to increase Power.. Even easy to damage your Engine Block.. Or maybe that the Cash & Carry owner claimed.

Even with Jet Air Induction (almost similar to Turbo but with no compression- a bit like Surbo) you can only manage to increase by 5% (maybe) but with NA…. ????

The most important point is ..Did you Dyno Test you car performance before and After the Filter replacement… if not .. dont even make any claim….

• freako on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:23 pm

they should put interior like Inspira Premium one

• anti-vios on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:24 pm

for me.. it is a good looking car… nice to see nice to hold, once broken consider sold….

• mirror mirror on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Oh no! not those hideous wood trim again.

• Arzaq on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:45 pm

I am happy with the new cfe engine capability + cvt transmission. But the interior colour and fake wood trim is so damn FUGLY. Looks like Naza Ria to me. I hope the future face-lift version they will change the interior. Go Proton!

• komza on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:56 pm

Walau wei, even with additional turbo, only can churn out 138bhp onli ka?

• styling PHAIL on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

styling people from proton always design like shit. That wood trim is an epic failure. Wake up mr azlan othman (head of department of Styling dept). I think u better step down man

• civicEK on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:34 pm

now i know who is in charge in dat department!! Mr. Azlan Othman yeahh!!
      ahahaha dey brader, design dashboard kasi cun sikit lah! :)

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Dont blame azlan. He is just following orders.

• styling PHAIL on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:00 pm

even if he was ordered to put a wood trim there, cant he use/design something that looks better than that? im sure they have like 4 or 5 design concepts to choose from.

• Hey me on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:38 am

Then follow prospect to step down

• jimmyc on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:08 pm

I can see where he got his design inspiration from… Brothers!

• tokmoh on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Harve, is the head unit familiar because it’s used in Mercedes as well?

• Ponek on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Amende ni!!!!! Makin lama makin mengarut ar design. Lagi-lagi dashboard tu macam bodoh pulak aku tengok. Dashboard exora dahlah kasor, plastik murah, langsung takde ciri-ciri dashboard yang berkualiti. Macam cibai!! Aku sangkakan bila keluor exora turbo ni, kualiti makin bagus setidaknya setaraf dengan kereta-kereta Korea, ini tidak! Entah-entah dengan kereta China pun kalah, kereta China pulak dashboard & design lagi bagus & berkualiti. Bongok betul la!!!

• noname on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:31 pm

yg ko bising2 ni pesal? beli lah kete china.. kata nak murah kan? u get what u pay..

• apeng on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:13 pm

ntah2 keta china pun tarak…

• Out of Luck on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:14 pm

This is not exactly cheap for a local made car. If it’s China made car, then still ok la because despite high amount of tax, still selling at the equivalent price of local car. Anyway, the cost of using brushed aluminium plastic at the centre console compared to the stupid cheap looking wooden console is almost negligible. Plus, brushed aluminium plastic console will make it looked premium and more important if Proton really desires to sell car at international market. Furthermore, I’m not too sure the smoked rear lamp will be legal in some European countries.

Come on la, many of us still want to see Proton succeeded in international market although we may not like it very much. But this Exora Prime’s interior design is really such a major disappointment.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Even my Honda City has plastic brushed aluminium audio panel which makes the interior look premium. Proton is going backwards in designing cars.

• semkui on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:58 pm

no it isn’t look premium at all
            look like plastic, it should be more shiny

• mamat on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:21 pm

yeah..finally new exora revealed to the public..haha..I LOVE this exora..can beat my livina instead of fucking ugly alza

• gtmaniac on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:59 am

Grand Livina is not bad at all. I test drove it last year (twice!) and love the driving position, handling & power (1.8). Not to mentioned good-looking too.

Went for Exora H-Line instead – simply because the Livina’s 3rd row seat is not split-folded.

• mangata on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:34 pm

y proton y……te interior sucks wit wood finish n it seems tat it does not match te grey coloured dashboard…..they should introduce black themed dashboard and sory 2 say te avanza interior looks better than tis n guess wat te manual controlled ac does not improve te appearance. pity proton who almost got things right this time but failed miserably in something so obvious

• Calvynn on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:35 pm

Proton should do some serious survey before launching new product. The interior really disappointed even the aircond also manual one…

The leather seat kinna cheap not seem leather at all more on vinyl material.Proton must know what market one not what your manager one.

Once customer run away your manager also bungkus. Hope the price not so prime.

• Drebar on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:40 pm

My komen:
    – Exterior looks improved sepatutnya did that 1st launching
    – Rear number plate spoiled by the long horizontal chrome line, better use normal number plate housing like saga (but still with chrome lining lah)
    – Interior looked dated and steering just plain cartoon, just scroll down compare to Subaru XV interior it’s world apart 10 years ahead of Proton design
    – Faux wood trim looks funny and fake, better use polished silver or gloss black finish with a bit chrome lining
    – yes must put auto aircon now
    – Cupholder on upper side door panel more practical or slot-in beside front panels (like vios, hilux front cupholders)

Overall it’s OK but seriously rear design must redo again the number plate lining spoiled whole design

If rebadge with slight redesign as new Mitsubishi Kuda (Kijang competitor) in Indonesia nobody believe it’s a Proton

Pricing wise a bit high reaching RM80K

How about RM55K turbo 1.3L direct injection Campro? Enough torque? Or 1.3L twin-turbo DI-diesel maybe?

If yes Proton easily tapau all competitor from Alza to Innova, no need to do entirely new mini MPV just to kick out alza

• oleoresin on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Exterior improved? All manufacturer do same thing.
      Rear number plate buruk? Oh, ko ada masalah mata. Check your eyes
      Interior looks dated? Oh, again, check your eyes
      Wood trim looks funny? My god, have you seen latest Rolls Royce. Kurang membaca !
      Auto aircond? You want below 55k tapi minta macam2
      Cupholder not practical? Your recommendation also not practical
      Rear design must redo? How about try make it yourself and show to everybody
      Do you notice its exora? Haa…. so it will never be apa tu? Kuda kepang?
      Twin turbo? Asking too much but you cant afford it. Just play around with viva bx660
      Tapau alza or innova? Bro, semua pengilang keta nak compete their competitor

• zimmer 600 on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:53 am

bravo. setuju sgt dgn lu bro. diorang ni komplen pandai. ada duit belilah yg mahal. dah tau xde duit pi lah cari duit. Kat sini bagilah lomen yg membina utk kebaikan semua.

• e30ygc on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm

omg….look at that wood panel. Can anyone honestly look at the photo and say…wah…that looks so posh and upmarket?

‘what were they thinking?’

• rally_fan on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:26 pm

i ok with everything on the car.. but that ‘wood’ panelling!!! aggghh… im happy if they just painted it black

• RedBeanBun on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:09 pm

everything is good but the WOOD??!?!?!? its not tiger woods right? :P

• The “wooden” dash is certainly one of the worst/ugliest i have ever seen.

• e30ygc on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Oh…good point.

Can this be known as the world’s least powerful 1.6 turbo petrol engine?

• liuny on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:53 pm

can this be known as the engine that equals brz’s torque?
      oh you don’t even know what is brz right?

• Peaceaim on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:33 pm

To whoever want to tell this 138 hp and 205 Nm torque is not enough, please see 2.0L innova spec sheet. See what Proton has achieved.

• torque no quite good. less kuasa kambing

• prtyi on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Innova spec : 1TR-FE 2.0 litre inline-4 engine putting out 136 PS at 5,600rpm and 182Nm of torque at 4,000rpm, mated to either a 5-speed manual for the 2.0E MT model or a 4-speed automatic for the 2.0E AT and 2.0G AT.

already pawned!

• arulkay on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:04 am

Innova gasoline 2.0 liter 136 PS (100 kW)
      CFE gasoline 1.6CFE 138 hp and 205 Nm

please…….can somebody explain me either two which one the best lor?

• farghmee on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:19 am

it depend on how u want to drive it.

earlier torque means u don’t have to floor the accelerator much to have the GO feeling.
        ie., 205Nm of torque @ 2000rpm is more desirable compared to 205Nm @ 7000rpm.

for mpv/suv/truck, torque is one of deciding factors in selection.

after i believe that aboveshown pics are not of Prime.
        Prime is a 6-seater.
        that may be Exora Bold (not Prime).

• Factsguy on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:49 pm

gosh, throw away the fake wood please!!! FUGLY!!!

• Toyota Innova:2.0L
    136ps / 5,600rpm
    182 Nm/ 4,000rpm

Nissan Grand Livina:
    1.8L
    126ps/5,200rpm
    174Nm/4,800rpm

1.6L
    105ps/5,200rpm
    150Nm/4,400rpm

Proton Exora 1.6CFE:
    138 hp and 205 Nm for unknown rpm..

From here..1.6 CFE Campro has similar horsepower with Toyota 2.0L and yet still with the highest torque 205Nm!

You will never feel underpower under this beast at any load!

• LatukBandar on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:04 am

the ultimate question is – will the beast be thirsty?

• Silwen on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:15 am

The other ultimate question, is the engine reliable as Toyota and Nissan?

• gabla on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:01 am

Thirsty compared to what? 1.6L NA? Yes is will be thirsty compared to 1.6L NA but since the power & torque is equivalent to 2.0L Innova, the 1.6L Turbo will be more fuel efficient than the 2.0L NA. Read about “engine downsizing” if you want to know more.

• Optiplex330 on Dec 14, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Turbo charged 1.6 will definitely use more fuel than a non-turbo charged 1.6 liter engine.

Turbo charged 1.6 will have the same power as a non-turbo charged 2.0 liter engine. But use less fuel than that the 2.0 liter.

IMO, it’s a small price to pay for big benefit.

• eims @ gold on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:12 am

it is said.. 203NM @ 2000 – 4000RPM
      thats huge power at low RPM.

turbocharge is actually more fuel saving than NA engine.
      unless u tune the engine like ah beng to put high preassure turbo.
      high preassure turbo will put more air + fuel = more power
      but in the end, more fuel consumed.

thats why CFE use low preassure turbo to get enough power
      but not reaching a level where u just wasting fuel..

• RedBeanBun on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:12 pm

i will start the after market replacement of the wood, sure sell like hot cake..

• Sudahlah! on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Proton looks like targetting diff customer where ext dsign targetting young adult n interior is for uncle..it call “serampang 2 mata”..

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:09 am

Or serampang takde mata? Ugly!

• GTR 2.0 on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:35 am

Think it more to “serampang cucuk mata”…. Why the cheap/fake wooden panel? Tree hugger? Aiyoohhhhh

• neutral on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:13 pm

looks good except the center console unit with wooden trim design. it’s a big let dowm. brushed silver would be better choice.

• Mlang on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:15 pm

menangis airmata darah tengok interior….. pakcik pencen ke yg design ni. cmmon proton this is totally bulsh$#!!

• Visitor on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Check it out ;)

“Designers responsible”

http://azlano.wordpress.com/2009/04/20/proton-exora-prestige-and-prime/

• ex employee on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:25 pm

awesome exterior. nightmarish interior. say it isn’t so (T_T)

• em.... on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:50 pm

they tought they were in 90’s… thats why they hv wood panel!! sucks!!! prrffttt..!!!!

• Lagi power lagi best lagi besar, tapi mesti lagi mahal.

Please proton, exterior look great but pls improve the interior. Hire p2 interior designer as the minimum standard pls.

• frust dengan interior.

• LOLed on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Lets face it, we all wanted to believe in proton but in reality, proton can eat shit.

• kelvin on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:47 pm

wow look at that wood panel…looks like 30yrs ago

• LFA LOVER on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:19 am

haha2 better yet compare to the vw cross touran 1.4tsi. Also only 138hp and a little bit more torque 220nm. No one complain under powered. discount the 7speed dsg but cost twice anyway

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:12 am

See.. 1.4 olso better than 1.6 CFE

• yes, but CFE is turbo only, VW is turbo+supercharger. assume VW remove the supercharger or proton add supercharger, actually that VW engine is not really superior.

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2011 at 5:00 pm

I know. Prince engine in 308 turbo, 3008 is also 1.6 turbo maa. 156hp 240nm torque. Much better than this 1.6 CFE.

• why don’t you use this earlier? this one is overboosted.

• semkui on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:49 pm

well you get what you pay for

• somebody said they want aluminium brush plastic for center console, some said want silver, some said want black. Hurm…so many preferance, bit hey, when 1st exora launch, they already used alluminium brush plastics, on m-line the ised plain silver, baseline, black, n mc1 for h-line, the use textured silver centre console.
    I dunno where u guys have been before, maybe outside the country, just recently came back maybe.
    Sometimes weird, even there is one commented long on brush alluminium plastic which has been used before in exora. Haishhh…,by the way, i dont think it is prime, just prototype for bold. Seat still 7 configuration, dash in grey color, steering unwrapped with leather, gear selecter still old mitsu 4 speed. So, this is 1st edition exora before mc 1, whether for bold@25 years exora special edition, the brown color or izit bronze garnet that the 1st edition exora already has n it already not available when mc1 introduce to the market.
    So,lets wait n see, its not long now.

• ericT on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:36 am

Optimus Prime!

• nabill on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:37 am

looks even more like mazda 5 specially the first pic !

• Dato Seri on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:52 am

Wake up proton!!! The interior design of the car still looks el-cheapo. We are heading to year 2012 and 8 years to year 2020. Please improve on the design as a whole and don’t just advertising/marketing on the lotus handling as people buy car not solely based on the handling alone.
    Should DRB-Hicom become your shareholder, hopefully proton will wake up or proton will be taken over by VW or others.

• wood pattern is a major turn down. sigh..

• mat proton on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:08 am

ORANG YG KUTUK2 KATA AVANZA BAGUS TU MEH JUMPA AKU … AKU TIBAI DIA NGN ABSOBER PROTON.. AVANZA AKU RASA ELOK BUAT REBAN LA.. LEN KALI CAKAP BERDASARKN FAKTA PAKCIK OII.. AKU DA PKAI BERPULUH2 MODEL PROTON,SO FAR OK.. AKU ASE HANG NI BARU START PKAI KEREAT KUT… PROTON BOLEH.. ILOVE PROTON..

• farghmee on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:34 am

chill bro.

kalu diorg rasa aVANza tu bes, mgkn diorg xpernah rasa naik exora lg :p

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:46 am

Proton has always been good enuf to drive. But the design is always bad

• Overall, Exora with 138hp and 205Nm is the best mpv money can buy. Having said that, l really hate the faux wood grain look, so so yesterday Proton/Azlano!

Interior design of Proton need to learn from Korea/Audi.

I guess this Exora will have better FC.

• rosdi on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:19 am

The wood panel and interior color is fugly.

• kawan pak abu on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Fire or demote azlan othman! Show us you are serious Proton!

• Carl Wong on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:35 am

Good improvement, but I’m still waiting for the REEV plug in hybrid, 2013…….

• Garfield on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:43 am

Honestly, I think someone is pulling everyone’s leg. When Harv said that it looks familiar, maybe because he already seen it somewhere.

1. Ppl already commented that the gearshift column doesn’t look like a CVT.
    2. Another giveaway, Pyrite Brown colour has already been discontinued.
    3. Bad paintjob if new car, u can see the different tone between the bumper and fender.

Maybe the work of an ultra Exora enthusiast that he had gone the extra mile to source the bumper. An enthusiast who hasn’t acquired enough ‘taste’ with the faux wood trim. I noticed some ppl just plonk in whatever the aftermarket throw their way, just to be different.

It may also be an attempt by Proton marketing to make us to lower our expectation by leaking deceiving pictures. Then, even an average design can deliver the ‘wow’ factor.

But seriously, if this is the real deal, then I support the calls to fire the designer. And the dinosaur who approves the design. They don’t need any pity….. they might have enough shares in the aftermarket company!!!!

• kawan pak abu on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:53 pm

If this is the real deal, then i will not be buying it. Unless azlan othman commits harakiri.

• akina on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:49 am

looking at engine bay picture, i don’t see any tank for power steering fluid. it this machine now has EPS?

• Mastermind on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:51 am

Hooo…dont blame proton..blame BN for Exora Prime..
    All BN and UMNO Fault hakhakhak..hak hak hak…

Nice MPV compare to Vios@Dugong a.k.a Avanza…
    Let try than comments…..
    Good job PROTON…
    Vote Proton….Now…

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:41 am

WTF? This has nothing to do with politics. Even PR with its rockets and moons wont be able to get this lousy exora to fly. It is just purely a half cooked effort from proton

• sukasuki on Dec 13, 2011 at 4:30 pm

so if u son get fail in his/her exam, also BN fault? eventhough ur son studying in selangor (PKR ruled state)? klau ade org mcm ni depan aku, aku tibai dgn kayu golf. ko nak wood ke iron??

• izack04 on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:03 am

Bad design for center console especially on the wood panel…..need to rework on that…..
    If they want to use grey, please use darker grey to get the exclusive mood in the car…..
    Wrap the steering wheel with leather…..black leather since that is the most part that being touch……
    The automatic climate control should be placed since other competitors use that…..but at lease put 8 speed air-cond selector with it……then it would be nice
    Anyway nice new bumper, like the smoked clear backlight….the turbo unit is install on non cps 110 hp campro engine i would say because i didnt see any cps decal or print on the engine cover….so its 138-110=28hp added on this turbo…..
    Turbo does not always mean fuel thirst drinker…..but this will help to move this car efficiently on stop-go condition….
    This unit is not the cvt unit…..so this is maybe prototype or testing mule…..

• kamal on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:19 am

This is not a real prime…it look look like a prototype version. The gear not mention P-R-N-D-L for CVT. Prime have two sitter at the middle row (picture show 3 sitter). Prototype guys, this is prototype….

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:36 am

well, after so many negative comments above, Proton Exora Prime will still sell…..
    simple.

• Rakyat…. please buy this crap car, so we (proton) can make money and we will suck more your money coz lots of part are crap! hahaha

• Ponek on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:25 am

Designer dashboard exora memang bodoh. Tak pandai jadik designer, berlagak jadik designer. Ada ke buat design dashboard letak kayu buruk macam tu. Kalau kena makan anai-anai nanti kan hancur. Bongok betul engineer Proton lah. Pada aku la kan, design bahagian luar semua kereta Proton dari model Waja,Gen2,Persona,Satria Neo,Saga,Exora semua dah bagus,lawa,cantik kecuali Savvy la yang macam babi. Tapi design interior dashboard GAGAL! Semua dashboard macam cibai! Guna plastik murah, kasar, langsung takde ciri-ciri futuristik,tak kemas,tak menarik langsung. Memang designer interior Proton ni bodoh-bodoh belaka. Tak pandai design dashboard. Proton pun bodoh jugak sebab guna bahan yang langsung tak berkualiti untuk buat dashboard.

• clutch basah on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Jaga la sikit bahasa tu bang, tak malu ke satu dunia baca komen awak yang ber”bunga-bunga” tu. Kalau tak suka pun jangan la sampai mencarut-carut sampai memalukan diri sendiri. Bahasa menunjukkan bangsa.

Chill dude

• scania3600 on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:22 pm

bro..ko punya mencarut tu menunjukkan sifat buruk dan hati kotor!
        kalau nk tegur guna bahasa org WARAS lah.. bukan menggila memaki hamun sesedap hati..pikir same moral! kalau u Muslim..fikri dosa pahala lah!

• clutch basah on Dec 14, 2011 at 9:24 am

uik?? aku pulak yg kena? ko ni silap tekan button reply kot

• deftones on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:45 pm

you can buy rolls royce if u wat really quality and IF u afford..
      dont complain much la broo..u dont like, u dont buy..easy

• Sarcastic Prick on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Kena makan anai-anai? Bengap ke hape anai-anai nak makan plastik?!

• Wheeler on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:21 pm

bro. repent before you are ‘doom’ed!

• Heard that they will be launching this MPV by this week. Went and asked Mutiara showroom yesterday. Will be 2 variants availble. Just wait and see

• TheInsider on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:46 am

That is prototype interior…

• lchan on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:11 am

wtf with the wood?

• focus tdci on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:04 am

haha! that wood finish so cheap lino 70s veneer table top. haha, but i bet you proton rentboys will bend over and praise it to high heaven saying it will win the Red Dot Design award! LOL

• dzulx on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:14 am

Styling department got the easiest job in this exora turbo project which probably worth hundreds million….

They just freaking need to find the nice combination of colors and material for the interior.. but heck they failed miserably

Come on dudes.. your engineers worked their ass off… cracking their brain designing turbo system.. technical drawing…matching components..endless test cycle.. test drive.. etc etc.. a lot of sleepless night I sure..

But all the hard work spoiled by this faux wood trim?? and cat poo’s coloured leather??? Designers you surely let down your team mates… they trusted you with this simple job… yet you did it half heartedly..

All proton employees!! March to styling department and kick all the designers’ buts and force them to leap frog 20 rounds around Shah Alam’s plant!!

This is nothing to do with budget constraint, tax, 25 years and all the bullshit.. This is merely the needs to be more imaginative…and imagination is free…..

Hope the designers realized they r highly responsible for the shit proton is facing now and they will be the only hindrance on what Proton could be in the future..

2 fingers up!!! and they aint the thumbs……

• seanny on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:00 pm

I own a perodua kancil and alza , both got some minor issues here and there , I will support exora if there is a diesel engine fitted . unless they abolish the nap , else there are not much choices for a family man .
      I do hope that proton should get ESP on new coming model ( or facelift ) , isofix , reverse camera .

• Wunan on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:26 am

The wood panel and the dashboard color spoil everything

• cakapayam on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:10 pm

This is the best product of PROTON? Shame on them la,26 year of techology advancement and this is what their design enginner could design and produce. Design which is still stuck in 90ies. When this people will ever grow and get mature with thier design. Take a look at Hyundai design la, not even close!. You decide which desgin you would go for PROTON or HYUNDAI. Shame on PROTON la.

• waja2007 on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:51 pm

My Waja Enhanced (2007) and Waja CPS (2008-2010) still have the best dashboard and steering design and interior with quality leather + soft touch plastics among ALL Proton newer models.

Proton only can design better exterior but ugly interior. That’s the truth but the truth always hurts. I’m excited by the new turbocharged engine but still don’t want to upgrade to this MPV bcoz of the old fashioned design dashboard and steering.

• now.. i feel uncertain about P3-21A anymore.. this is shit..

• i think many misleading comment about the engine output. CFE is for pickup as ordinary CPS makes exora crawling on par with lorry. CPS in exora i think will get you from 0-100kmh in 16s, with CFE maybe 12s <– ordinary and common speed of MPV not to makes exora fly anywhere.

top speed will not go anywhere really, as the CPS can takes exora at most to 165kmh, with the additiional HP, i think CFE can pull exora at most to 170kmh only.

means that (this is what i think):
    CPS exora: pickup = 16s, top speed = 165kmh
    CFE exora: pickup = 12s, top speed = 170kmh

i tell you, CFE just bring exora back to the COMMON performance of MPV from LORRY performance level.

if the figure is true, CFE exora owners please don't 'act' on the road as you will still be hardly defeat SAVVY in term of pickup and top speed, as they are mostly the same.

• skyjuice on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:28 pm

BS, i have a video taken by me 2 months ago showing exora prototype speeding up like demon… but yet to upload it…

• ya ya ya, perhaps pedal-to-metal that time, just wait the official figure from P1. i have also seen ah beng turbo on CPS exora, the result also more than 12s!

• scania3600 on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:19 pm

I don no when PROTON want to feel INSAF!! plssss PROTON management.. how you all will go to GLOBAL market if the design mentality gone bad all the time!

basher is not all the time bashing if the thing is right! that is not the right things when PROTON come out with this kind of bad looks design after a few upgrade models! At the first model EXORA, the path of it was predicted that that model will continue the best design of PROTON.. to change ppl perception on bad PROTON styling design..

now the time given is spoiled by PROTON it self.. too much praising with out true fact will make PROTON blind!!

gud job PROTON lovers! dont try to force ppl to say ‘white’ if the fact it is BLACK!!

• MY NAME IS SURVEY on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:35 pm

this proton good or not? thumbs up or down

• Halem on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Promote the exterior desgner, Sack the interior designer.

Last heard that Campro Turbo have leaking problem, hopefully they solve this before production, as usual alway stay away from the first batch.

• dontreallycare on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:46 pm

well, i don’t really mind the wood trim finish, as long as the engine is equipped with turbo and cvt 6 speeds, spacious as well as affordable to purchase compare to other available MPV in the market right now. i believe all car modderz will change their dashboard too if proton put the black plain colour, so nothing different actually

• Taik semua!!! on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:38 pm

SUMPAH AKU BOSAN BACA KOMEN2 BILE TIME ENTRI PASAL PROTON KAT BLOG NI. SEMUA BAJET HEBAT!

• walauweh on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:40 pm

The wood grain is damn ugly. Just like my Wira from 10 years ago? Moving back in time isit?

• roadrunner on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:54 pm

hilang climax tgk kayu tu!! kayu sungguh!!

• Oregano on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:59 pm

What is the car that is covered up in grey blanket infront of PRIME? Imagine P321A with wood finishing and the same brown paint job…hahaha……

• teelim on Dec 13, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Exterior: Not bad. Done up pretty nicely.

Interior: faux wood… ARGH!!! *facepalm*

• clutch_plate on Dec 13, 2011 at 4:03 pm

Design luar dah cantik.. tapi wood trim for exterior tu yg buat spoil.. sekurang2nya letak design carbon fiber pun dah memadai.. tarikan utama pada enjin CFE & design luaran. Apapun, usaha mereka untuk jadi lebih baik harus dipuji.. harap kritikan2 kat sini diterima dengan baik oleh team proton. Good luck!

• drillero.v on Dec 13, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Oh No! Not again proton. Previously Saga getting uglier, now Exora?

Guys, you miss the great chance to impress the public with your enhanced model of Exora Prima/Prime/ Primitive(?). Just look at the genuine Perodua Extreme design…sporty and catchy! I must admit, kudos to perodua designer eventhough I hate their exhorbitant price.

After waiting for morethan one year, I must say, i’m disappointed with the outcomes of the interior. no major changes and my 10 years waja 1.6x dashboard, steering wheel, the leather seats look and feel much better still. Lucky i still keep my waja, the best proton ever.

I guess the interior designer and the external designer did not talk to each other or they simply does not understand each party design philosophy. Or they simply good at sketching but not holistic and truly artistic designer like the designers for new Sonata or new Kia. Nothing to shout or proud

You pay peanut hence you get proton? Oh come on….Proton guys, i know you can make it better.

Sincere from Me – just ordinary tax payer seeking just price & just quality for my shrinking sen

• the wood panel is quite interesting.

• kamaji on Dec 13, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Agree with most of the comments.Torque figure really impressive while the cheap looking wood panel really sucks.So stop cutting down trees for this shit.

• Exterior looks better but interior really sucks with the ugly wood panel and poorly design seats. Proton still not ready to compete globally.

• Waja Owner on Dec 13, 2011 at 6:15 pm

It the ugliest interior…Design and styling heading backwards….

Do they have any idea what is the current of styling needed in a car’s interior? We are moving backwards and are losing out to even new passenger car makers from China and India.

With all the competition between the Contis make. With all the new design language from Koreans. All Japanese makers are trying to maintain their grasp of our industry. Is this the answer from our proud National car maker?

Its not that i am biased with my opinions. I believe many will agree. Being an mid income earner who wants a car he deserved to own.

• zulkhas on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:16 pm

I like grand lavina impul edition design..but one thing that i keep my old matrix just because of lavina interior wood grain although it’s in black. Say NO to wood grain!.
    I do believe the interior designer spend a lot of time driving his/her car from inside??, then please treat the interior properly.

• transformer on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:54 pm

those wood trim are just a film(with wood grain pattern) being cubic onto plastic…
    the film will be melted by chemical and can be applied onto any surface(plastic, metal & etc.)…. apply lacquer, heat it up with UV and done….

they aren’t real wood like those in RR Phantom/Ghost….

hope this trim(above pic) would not appear on to be launch unit….

P1 can always go for the cheapest solution is just plain plastic panel, and premium version with silver sprayed onto… or more premium with “carbon-fibre grain cubic”…. case closed!

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Anybody can give proven FC for existing Exora. 8.3l/100Km is quite high figure for CFE (as Stated in kizzkazz65). If CFE can improve FC to at least 6.5l to 7l/100Km on mix driving condition it will be an advantage and good value for money.

And how much does the wood panel cost..? Can I trade in with something else…?

• squall_shinoda on Dec 14, 2011 at 1:10 am

Proton is just going humble with the FC figures, that’s all. During the launch of the Gen-2, Proton under Mahaleel proudly claimed that the Campro “kosong” engine in the Gen-2 is capable to hit 5.9 km/L (about 17 km/L), which is very hard to get.

• they need a turbo diesel instead to get a lowish FC as u suggested

• Kmsbzd on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Pls stop being sheeps, all repeatly saying about the same. Wood, interior colour, plastic etc.
    Proton should change their sales strategy not to leave the better design and material for future face lift. In order to maintain sales when the car has become ‘old’. They should give their best that they have, always and demand their designers to come up with new better design when next face lift come. So they will always within trend and not outdated.

If they had come up with LED lights and signal light at side mirror, persona would not loose out too much compared to MYVI. same with this exora interior, we know they could design good interior like the last few years of Waja production. But to keep the best, last is not wise at all.

• Wheeler on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:15 am

I kind of agree 200% with you. Take an example of Satria Neo, there are so many variants now – keep pushing to market it but it’s kind of ‘old’ to the market and you can only push so much. Yes I agree there are facelift and what not but like you said, Proton must keep on offering what is best there and then – think about “the power of now”. This where I think Proton should look into seriously..

• dannylee77 on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:57 pm

I like the Exterior a lot…. Especially the New Front Bumper Design…….Thumbs up !………..
    i was so impress with the 2 models of Exora Prime Concept Cars that they did 2 years back …. but somewhat shown here ( the Interior ) is a Total turn Off for me…… I really hope that the Real thing ( Interior ) is way much Better than the Leaked Pictures shown here……
    Proton Exora Prime Concept link :
    http://paultan.org/2009/04/16/proton-exora-launch-proton-exora-prime-concept/

• These mamats are good only at redesigning bumper. And those side vents are probably there to collect dead twigs and whatnot.

• Gebang on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:24 am

Korang ingat semua kerja proton pakai kete proton ke? Hakkkk tuiiiii la

• Very useful torque at 205nm at from lowish 2k rpm perhaps??.

The smaller & cramp VW touran 1.4TSI churn out around 220nm btw 1.5k – 4k rpm if not mistaken but its priced at RM160k….

this will be a value for money alternative (if they price is just slightly higher than normal exora w/out turbo)

• Farhan on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:31 am

Ugly FAKE wood panel. Better bland plastic than ugly wood.

Interior aside, i hope the car would do well

• Anti-Designer-syok-sendiri on Dec 14, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Designer proton syok sendiri jer la…harap pakai je baju bebas, outcome is hampeh…budak2 technician pon lagi bagus drpd korang. Xpayah la nak pakai baju2 konon2 stylo ( tp xde la stylo pon). setakat pakai jeans ngan kemeja selekeh xnampak mcm designer pon. puihh!!!

• shawn on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:28 pm

I dont think is leak photos, should be send out by proton itself to get attention…

• sub_zero on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:10 pm

In this Comment section = people with superiority complex

• Scubadiver airul on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:20 pm

kalau nak pakai panel kayu pun tukar la warna dash bord tu dlu…
    mcm wrna cream or light choc…
    baru menarik…
    panel tu dh ok sbnrnya…
    tahniah PROTON…

• toyota OWNER on Dec 17, 2011 at 3:55 pm

oklah lah TU good job proton!!!!!! KALAU KORANG TAK SUKA EXORA NI BANYAK SGT KOMPLAIN BUAT JE SENDIRI KERETA KO TU PAKAI KOTA KASUT ,MACAM BAGUS PLAK KO INGAT DIAORG TAK BUAT R&D KE IKUT SELERA PENGGUNA DGN BANDINGKAN DENGAN KOS MPV TU, PRIME NI KIRA BAGUS GAK BUKAN SEKADAR UPGRADE FACELIFT JE MCM LIVINA & AVANZA, NAK BUAT CFE TU JE KOS DAH BERAPE RATUS RIBU UTK R&D, KO CAKAP SENANG LA BEB. BUKAN MCM KO JUAL SARDIN IMPORT SARDIN THAILAND COP KO PUNYA COMPANY..

• ape2pn aku tetap sokong proton…….mn2 yg compln byak mcm bagus sgt…….klu pandai watlah kete sendiri………wat kete lembu pun tak tahu……..ckp byak…………plak……..

• so jangan cakap kosong only! dah beli semua kereta lembu proton?! pffft

• Petar Tenev on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:48 pm

How to contact with Mr. Othman ? I’d like to participate in PROTON as a Designer.
    Please if you have his Skype or Email address, don’t hesitate to reach me.

Thanks?
    Petar, Sensata Technologies (SensorNITE Industrial)

• Reina on Feb 04, 2016 at 3:49 am

My husband and I went to test drive exora premium and alza last weekend. The result? I personally loved the spaciousness of the exora and the pick up is not bad (that car can go fast but am not sure about performance with heavy load) BUT the interior design is crap. That fugly centre housing is truly an eyesore.
    I don’t like the leather seats too. Interior just looks and feels cheap.

The alza is OK but not so spacious (the boot) and legroom is small. Braking is also not so good, I almost overshot a red light because the brakes did not respond until I really pressed down hard.

So ultimately I loved the exora premium minus the centre panel housing and leather seats. Salesman said he can help me match with a buyer who has fabric seats to exchange with me. But nothing I can do with the centre panel housing. How can I change this? Any suggestions? I cannot tahan cos I really sakit mata looking at it!

• Reina on Feb 04, 2016 at 4:00 am

Another option is to get the executive version which doesn’t have that fugly wood centre console housing but executive doesn’t have electronics stability control. I wish it wasn’t so!