It’s on the way – Honda to debut NSX Concept in Detroit

Following Honda boss’ Takanobu Ito’s confirmation that a new NSX is definitely on the cards, the company is taking the next step to bringing it a step closer to commercial reality – the upcoming North American International Auto Show next month will see the debut of the Acura NSX Concept, which Honda says will represent the styling direction for the next generation supercar.

No tech details as yet, like what the car will sport for a drivetrain, so we’ll have to wait and see how the next NSX – which is reported to be based on the company’s HSC-010GT race car – shapes up.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• msbr91 on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:56 pm

great! perhaps this new nsx will compte with the gt 86..

• NSX is a super car from Honda.Its rival with skyline GTR 34 n Toyota Supra in the past.The new NSX should be same level with Nissan GTR 35 and Lexus LFA…not the gt 86

• Scoobylution on Dec 13, 2011 at 5:02 pm

GT86 is way below NSX level. NSX suppose to be a Japanese supercar, competing with Nissan GTR and Lexus LFA.

• jay8393 on Dec 13, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Rivals of the NSX is Nissan Skyline GT-R, Mazda RX-7 and Toyota Supra, so the new car is set to go head-on with the new Nissan GT-R and Lexus LF-A, not GT-86. Perhaps the upcoming Honda Beat will be the GT-86’s competitor.

• msbr91 on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:02 pm

ouh.. i get it.. Thanks for the correction.. :D

• mangata on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:01 pm

finally a true rival 4 nissan gtr….just cant wait 4 these monsters 2 go head to head

• If NSX comes without Turbo, any slight hope of rivaling the GTR will just go huff puff… Honda, put a turbo (or 2) into the car or else, keep dreaming brah…

• adammo on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:11 pm

overall shape looks like another subaru brz/smaller lfa

• jay8393 on Dec 13, 2011 at 2:16 pm

This is music to Honda fans like me, but hopefully it’s not a hybrid.

• bad news… speculation has it that it will be the next RL flip over…. an exact reverse configuration of the new SH-AWD hybrid system that would be deployed in other acura models… this news isn’t new though, if not mistaken it was mentioned when honda debut the new awd hybrid not so long ago…

• hopefully not in torsion beam suspension..hahahahahaha~~

• kolejeon on Dec 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Please bring in the GTR killer!!!

• rumours say it will have honda’s SH-AWD system

• Carl Wong on Dec 13, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Nothing wrong with hybrid technology, I’m guessing it might use it too. F1 was using it for a while now. Beat others in both performance and fuel efficiency at the same time, and of course stylish/futuristic inside out expected from HONDA :)…….!!!

• Everything is wrong to put hybrid into a true super car.

F1 KERS is not hybrid. Get your facts right.

• Carl Wong on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:06 pm

http://electrovelocity.com/2011/01/14/formula-1-cars-going-hybrid-in-2011/

Ya ya you like to play with wording? I play with you. KERS itself is no hybrid, but F1 cars as a whole running the system are hybrids.

I don’t know what your definition of a ‘HYBRID’ is but as long as a car have 2 power sources it it a ‘hybrid’. Not sure about 3 sources or more. Believe it or not like it or not the cars of F1 teams running the KERS system in 2009 and 2011 are hybrids…..

Most teams prefer the electrical system over a mechanical one, the recovered kinetic energy from regenerative braking is stored in batteries (Li-Ion) instead of flywheels. When the driver press the power assist boost button the energy is released to spin the electric motor which is attached to the NA V8 engine. At the moment 60kW (80hp) is allowed

• Carl Wong on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:18 pm

You get so much power and the system only weighs 35kg, very light. The power allowed will increase in the next few years. And no it doesn’t increase the weight of the cars because they’re made lighter and they use ballast to increase it to get the minimum weight of 640kg.

I think the system is similar to Honda’s Integrated Motor Assist, the differences are the F1 drivers get to choose when to use the additional power for 6.6 seconds per lap, and they don’t have auto stop because they don’t need it at the moment.

• JeremyNg on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:22 pm

For your information !!! F1 KERS system is not a hybrid …..

• Carl Wong on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:26 pm

For your information, F1 cars running the Kinetic Energy Recovery System are HYBRIDs……..!!!
        http://www.formula1.com/inside_f1/understanding_the_sport/8763.html

It is not a full hybrid system yet but a power assist hybrid like Honda CRZ etc.

• Julian Lee on Dec 13, 2011 at 6:01 pm

look same only, better to get bmw m3

• JeremyNg on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Look same ??!! They didnt event released the pic leh ……. where u look at it ??!!! Don be an uncivilized reader can or not ??

• Where got launch yet?? That’s the old NSX lah.

• civicEK on Dec 13, 2011 at 6:10 pm

wOw!! wonder how it look like :)

• Julian Heng on Dec 13, 2011 at 6:13 pm

better to get Inspira 2.0

• mirror mirror on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:08 pm

The undisputed spiritual leader of the Japanese auto industry.

• wrong. it’s obviously the GT-R.

mark my words, the new NSX is going to be a massive failure.

• mirror mirror on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:29 am

When the NSX was first launched in 1990, the car was a really big issue at that time, you have to had lived through those years in order to form such a fond impression of the NSX. It was undoubtedly the defining pinnacle of the Japanese auto industry or even their miracle economy at that time. The Japanese auto makers were menacing beasts back then, nothing like the soft and putty hybrids they make these days.

• LFA LOVER on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:54 pm

just as expected, it still will come. Honda just make fake story that the project cancel

• im a huge fan of NSX (in my opinion its legacy outlasts mclaren, lambos, or even pagani)
    was about to get one (NA1) but something got in the way and bought another car instead

it will be sad if the new NSX uses the HSV’s front engine concept as the reason it was staying so long in the Japan GT (and later forced to withdrawn) was because of its rear engine supremacy
    and mind u guys, GT-R and FT-86 aint supercars but import sports cars
    i really hope the new NSX could continue the legend of the only Nippon Supacar

• I wish you can eat your words about the GT-R is not a supercar.

http://www.gtrnissan.com/en/web_GTR/homepage/index.html

*READ SUPERCAR

• pardon MQ, he’s a hongdah fanboi, what did you expect? LOL

• haha
          im not a fanboy of honda
          im just an NSX fanboi

aa for the link,its a nissan gtr site
          what can u expect?

• Yes, you can sue nissan for falsely advertising GT-R as a Supercar. I dare you.

FYI, Lexus LFA is also a Supercar from Japan. :P

• lonelyobserve on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Hopefully this supercar can compete with Audi R8, Lamborghini Gallardo and Porsche 911 Turbo.

• NSX is so yesterday, i want me GT-R!

• diablo on Dec 14, 2011 at 12:27 am

The NSX was the iconic Japanese that outdid the Italians. It was worthy against the best from Italy at that time. The only let down was the ‘H’ badge. It devalued the car’s real intrinsic worth

• yeah..outdid italian..who cares?did the italian cares?haha..for years italian were beaten by japanese,even some american n german..but did they care?think…they built supercar which which not like jap SPORTS car..the sound of the car the quality,the speed n the craftmanship..PLUS,their legacy and heritage which play a major role in supercar league..understand?yeah,jap can built 1000hp modded car ,go faster n coerner better but sitting inside n felt like a overpowered proton?hahaa..u got the picture~anyway,for me,the only jap cars that break into supercar league was LFA..complete package..but dont really like the desgn,but it is supercar~

• diablo on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:29 am

Obviously you know nothing about the NSX story and how it surprised the industry in its debut particularly against the likes of F348 and F355. I understand the NSX held no significance to you because when it debut your only understanding of anything with wheels was a tricycle :)

The LFA is an over-hyped marketing stunt by Toyota not to mention overpriced. It’s not ground breaking except for playstation junkies.

• Zn nsx was an over hyped stunt by honda fan?haha..u didnt get wht i said..its not just bout speed n performance dude..u wanna create supercar?u gotta hav more than dat.otherwise theres lots2 of supercar on the road nowdays..even ur puny little heavily modded honda ek..if dats wht u refer as supercar too..hehee :p p/s ek can be modded to 1000+hp,srprised ppl in the industry too,so supercar for u rite?hadahazzz

• Carl Wong on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:30 pm

The picture shows the NSX-R 2002? I have a few in my GT5 garage, and I already have all the NSXs :).

• sawi cool on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:39 pm

the last version was developped by the great Ayrton Senna…

• Carl Wong on Dec 17, 2011 at 2:10 am

And it should be one of the first full hybrid futuristic super sports car…….!!!