Nissan Leaf – pilot program to begin in Malaysia in 2012

Word has it that the Nissan Leaf electric vehicle is coming into the country sometime in the first half of next year. Before you get too excited, it’s not a commercial launch, but rather a pilot program that Edaran Tan Chong Motor will be running for the vehicle, which recently added the Japanese Car of the Year 2011-2012 title to its award-winning list.

Datuk Dr Ang Bon Beng, ETCM’s executive director, said that the pilot program is in line with Nissan’s comprehensive efforts toward the realisation of a zero-emission society. “The pilot program will involve electric vehicle awareness sharing and experimental drives to Government bodies, members of the media as well as public audiences,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ian Choy on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:18 pm

Nice! I hope we can opt for 100% electric soon in Msia

• blue-traveler on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:28 pm

Good to read this. but i hope the gov’t can find a solution and put up charging stations in and around major cities first, and along northsouth highways. by 2013/14 more pug-in hybrid and EVs will coming to the market. Including our P1. Hope tan chong will share any real world result with P1 and gov’t to come up a solution. And bring the cars in soon. P/S i just bought a RM1700 ele bike last week and drove around the taman. IT is quite good. My mom love it. I now use it to go 7/11 and my mom use it visit her friends gathering in the afternoon. My Collage friend back in the States bought the Volt, saw it in his facebook. His wife likes it.

• cool

• Carl Wong on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:32 pm

WELCOME :)…!!

• Johnny on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Since it has no engine, it should be road tax free.

• Carl Wong on Dec 17, 2011 at 1:57 am

Yes and there’s no import tax for all electric cars too like hybrids.

• There is road tax and insurance.. The road tax is very minimal. Yes it dont hv engine, therefore, the roadtax is based on KW.

• what’s the point when the electricity cost will sky rocket.
    carbon footprint? tnb are still burning coal, not exactly clean.
    tnb buying gas now? might as well burn my money.

• Kevin on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:06 am

Obviously you do not understand the difference between electirc and combustion engine. To summarise, EV are roughly three times more efficient than cars running on internal combustion engines, and the motors consume no energy when the car is stationary.

• oligopoli on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:00 pm

since electric/hybrid car got duty exemption, these cars will sell very well in Malaysia. CR-Z also selling more than expected

• nasurudin on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:04 pm

it makes no sense when the power generation from TNB comes from fuel generated from fossil. If 100 percent of the electricity comes from renewable enegy then that make sense.

• nsfeng on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:39 pm

at least fossil fuels burnt from power plant are far more efficient then burn in vehicle! :)

• The efficiency of ICE is ranging from 25%-50% with most motors at 25-30%
      While the efficiency of power plant ranging from 33%-50%

• The following figures are given by Toyota in it’s “well-to-wheel” analysis:

1. Petrol car > well-to-tank efficiency: 84%, tank-to-wheel efficiency: 23%. Overall well-to-wheel efficiency: 84×23 = 19%

2. Prius > well-to-tank efficiency: 84%, tank-to-wheel efficiency: 37%. Overall well-to-wheel efficiency: 84×37 = 31%

3. Electric vehicle > well-to-tank efficiency: 39%, tank-to-wheel efficiency: 85%. Overall well-to-wheel efficiency: 39×85 = 33%

4. Fuel-cell vehicle > well-to-tank efficiency: 67%, tank-to-wheel efficiency: 59%. Overall well-to-wheel efficiency: 67×59 = 40%

• mirror mirror on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:47 pm

It must be fun to drive this car and listen to George Michael’s ‘Last Chritmas’, makes you feel so warm and fuzzy inside.

• kerelbort on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:49 pm

how to join the program? is it open to public? :-D

• Julian Heng on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:14 pm

2012 or 2021?

• Visitor on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Very interesting to know how Nissan Leaf perform at tropical climate like Malaysia, considering that the major markets for EVs are at countries with temperate climate.

• Silwen on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:46 am

Is it just me or is it 2011-2021 not 2012? Or am I just drunk?

• foong on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:56 am

saw this fellow on the road when i was at Japan very nice interior and eco friendly too!

• tikus on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:15 am

When will open to public…dont do it like Mitsu,just register only and not selling it. Stupid Company!

• Fluid on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:58 am

Lets hope its flood proof, and I’m talking about M’sian floods not Jap puddles…

• samsam on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:52 am

approx how much this car?

• when will this car available in Sabah? and how much?

• rabbbishhhhh on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:00 am

available after 2012. i would say beyond RM 90,000.00.

• Sathia on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:52 am

Even the Nissan in OZ cant really justify why it cost so much in Oz compared to US when the currency is stronger than US. http://www.facebook.com/nissanleafaustralia

Imagine the cost in Malaysia which famous for taxing Lamborghini for 500%.

• Lee Learn Ping on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:01 pm

It is really a great news. I received an email from Edaran Tan Chong yesterday linked us to their website on Driving Zero. I bet it is the Leaf coming. I registered a test drive.

Just hope it will not be too expensive. The other problem is the battery. If Tan Chong can opt the battery switching/swapping technology (as by www.betterplace.com), then it will become more affordable.

• Ichigo on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:54 pm

I saw this car this morning… Warna biru… In front of Pasar Borong Selayang… So shocked to see electric car in Malaysia so so soon….

• syida on Jun 26, 2012 at 12:15 am

it must be quiet expensive. i read somewhere it is about -+24000 GBP n jazz hybrid is only +-16000 GBP. (T_T)