Proton Exora CFE – some details on the turbo mill surface

Click to enlarge.

It’s just around the corner now, the introduction of the turbocharged Proton Exora Bold, and stuff on the vehicle is coming out of the woodwork faster than that in a leaky boat, it seems. Photos of the supposed Prime variant surfaced a few days ago, and now, what are very much presentation sheets containing engine details have come about, source unknown.

Click to enlarge.

As bandied about earlier, the performance specs for the CFE mill are 140 PS (or 138 hp) at 5,000 rpm and 205 Nm at 2,000 to 4,000 rpm, and there’s a graph that charts the torque curve of the mill, compared to the normally-aspirated CPS engine as well as a 2.0 litre NA engine. Another sheet offers a numerical output comparison against the CPS as well as two competitors, the Nissan Grand Livina 1.8 and Toyota Innova 2.0L.

Click to enlarge.

We’ve also finally managed to confirm that the CFE term denotes Charge Fuel Efficiency, and not the Charged Fuel Enhancement and Campro Fuel Efficient touted earlier. All been very confusing, but hopefully that’s that. Oh, and looks like someone’s been looking at too much Campro, it seems – ignore the “engine camparison” typo, if you will!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• drgn86 on Dec 14, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Engine Camparison? Errors like this are evident, can’t they see them?

• PROdigy on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Can you imagine what are the other errors that they have made in the car if they have done that? Beware……

• adik pak mat on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:17 pm

typo error ok lg bro…
        what about airbag part error for honda,
        what about brake master cylinder and fuel pump problem for toyota???

• Exactly. Silly mistakes. They don’t have enough time to check the presentation slide? This is bad. How are they going to go global if this kind of error occured? I’m working with GLC too but when we’ve been requested to prepare presentation slide etc, we have to do it properly, even commas have to be checked whether we put it at the correct place or not..ermmm

• It is exactly this type of ‘small mistake nvm’ attitude and mentality that prevents the local car maker from closing the gap with the market leaders (e.g. the japs) in terms of quality and reliability. Attention to details, at all levels, is crucial if our local car maker is to compete and excel at an international level.

• dontreallycare on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:46 pm

well bro, i believe this slides is not for you or everyone in this comment list, this is a leak info, so please don’t give bad comment too much. this is a minor typo only. i’m sure the final flyer will be corrected

• 1malaysia2020 on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Yup i think this is an internal presentation from a young engineer (newly recruited) with poor English who was trying to impress the department boss with their progress on CFE. So Proton are not to blame since this piece is actually not meant for public consumption…Kasi chan laa sama this young engineer…he is trying to do his/her work…

• pak syed on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:31 pm

wait ..
            how come maa .. with typo error , every1 already believe with this data?
            how come engineers with simpletypo error can produce reliable/accuracy result ?
            i

this same like papagomo ,tranungkite data maa ..

• hoi... on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:23 am

LU BAGET LU BEST…

• hoi... on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:24 am

LU BAJET LU BEST…

• adik pak mat on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:31 pm

rileks la bro..that type error.
        what about honda make error for airbag?
        what about toyota make error for master cylinder brake and fuel pump problem?
        nonsense p1 basher..

• sp3d2 on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Focus on the big thing la bro. Be positive.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm

If you enter P1 factory or P1 COE, you will notice this quote “Do it right the first time !!! ”

P1, never was, never will !!!

Keep on repeating the same bloody mistake…….

• alfie60 on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:59 am

Bro,its not a mistake its just Proton culture!!! We think they have a problem,DSZ thinks otherwise!! ;-)

• Prismo on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:41 am

mcm la korang tak pernah “typo error” dalam seumur hidup korang.. ptuii!!!….

• Petrolhead on Dec 20, 2011 at 11:59 pm

If they already keep that culture in their work, they wont be putting that quote. that quote is a everyday reminder to them.

• most probably this slides are not final.we will see if these errors are in the official release

• adiia3 on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:11 pm

they really failed in their power point presentation.

they need to hire a consultant la.

btw, kudos to proton for this engine.

next is satria neo cps turbo?

• blmers on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:23 pm

is this official? if not or not yet, then its OK..

• TORGUE very powderful.

• MoFaz on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:07 pm

i noticed TORGUE first, then only i found CAMPARISON.. haha.
        no wonder english become “must pass” subject in SPM.

• They don’t know English also can use Office spelling correction mah.. Really make shame of Malaysian brand.

• clutch basah on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:30 am

C’mon dude, its just fu*king typo, who gives a fu*king crap.
            You want to see some cool English? please come to Korea. These people have their own grammar when it comes to English.

• niceone on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:22 pm

lol! hopefully they will correct the typos for the slides. imagine if potential investors are seeing this slide with all those typos, sure will affect proton’s credibility in a negative way. but let’s not make it too big a deal at this moment, afterall it’s still not finalized yet. :)

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:38 pm

Dont blame them, they are just idiots trying to act smart……

Quote of the day: “Saya tidak kisah melihat pihak lain disakiti, tetapi saya tidak sanggup melihat Proton disakiti,” katanya……

How about the mentals and pockets of those who had been tortured by the existence of this company ??? Who cares by the way……

• carazy on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:17 pm

I dont think its a real brochure or slide presentation by proton.. so many error, direct comparison to closer rivals (mau kene saman proton!!).. jz wait for the launch, you will get the REAL info and Very REAL CAR…. by now I jz assume its a not more than interesting rumors..

• Najib on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Whos Say Proton Can not?????We Can…

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Wow! Those that actually justify the mistake by saying it’s for internal usage are those with the tidak apa attitude. Sorry to be blunt but if this kind of excuses is why Malaysia is lagging behind. THE BLOODY TITLE IS WRONG FOR HEAVEN’S SAKE. I mean even the most slipshod presentation you would at least go through it once won’t you?

• Petrolhead on Dec 21, 2011 at 12:08 am

If they use Bahasa Melayu for their internal presentation, will they still lagging behind? Anyhow, i believe everybody in Proton know Bahasa Melayu.

• DavidB on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:33 pm

it’s an inside joke la bro… CAMPRO memang perlu CAMPARISON la… aiyo.

lighten up! :P

• aiyo.. few typo error out of few thousand words, OKlah (sound like malaysia politician?)

• cybernout10 on Dec 17, 2011 at 10:29 am

The only problem I see with this model is it has to use premium fuel as it is turbo charged. I hv owned a cpe before …excellent pple carrier except for the slight sluggishness during take off.

• Petrolhead on Dec 20, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Typing error does not cause accident. It just give points to the Proton Basher for criticism.

• littlefire on Dec 14, 2011 at 1:46 pm

So does that mean that it is just an Campro IAFM + added Turbocharger… As getting more info that it does not include direct injection due to our inferior EURO 2 fuel?!?

• Wheeler on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:24 pm

littlefire, it’s not as simple as that. You know better.. Be rational.

• Johnny on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Not so much about the fuel. A Proton engineer told me its more about the cost. DI would be too costly for proton.

• littlefire on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:46 pm

But doesnt DI do improve the fuel consuption?

Since CFE means = Charge Fuel Efficiency

Doesnt DI do improve fuel efficiency compare to normal injection system?!? Dont really get it why it call CFE in the first place… Should call it Campro Turbo Charge (CTC) better…

• cengeh on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:16 pm

CTC where can maa… CTC stands for Certified True Copy… Proton will be the butt of jokes everwhere if they use that!

• asgard on Dec 14, 2011 at 1:50 pm

205NM @2000-4000rpm for under RM100K, its about time motorist experience this amount of torque

• payne on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Yeah… like the fuel price keep decreasing down these days. a 1.6cc engine that drink 8.3L of fuel per 100km. 1.6cc vs 1.8cc livina and 2.0 innova. wonder which one got the heavier body and frame. plus body & frame toughness. plus everybody knows that town brewed people like to push the pedal the most. so 8.3L per 100km is not a big deal ehhh?

• MoFaz on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:21 pm

you get the peak torque much earlier in CFE compared to 2.0 Innova, so you don’t have to push the metal too hard anymore to get Exora moving. 8.3L vs 8.0L is only 60cent per 100km. while 1.6 could save RM290 peryear for roadtax compared to 2.0 engine, people who bought Exora could still buy 152L of petrol from roadtax saving and travel about 1800+km with that.

• ezracopters on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:15 pm

whoo dude..u musta love proton that much, r8??..salute ya’.. i not gonna re calculate it myself, but im gonna copy and paste it down below hehehe

p/s : MoFaz is Proton’s nerdyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy… geek streak!!!! hehehehehe

• ayamxxx on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:40 am

patutnyer kesian kat salesman proton.
            letak saga flx, people still beli myvi lagi best (just tgok brape waiting period myvi baru)

sales proton lak makin hari makin muram.
            sape mau beli kete2 yg dah lebih 5 tahun macam gentu, neo, waja??.

• Oldwira on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:02 am

Mofaz u are very analytical to compare CFE and other NAs engines, unlike most bashers here loaded with factless and out of related topics. The best thing they can bring is the typing error which is if u present it in a viva it will take you for 5 sec to rectify the mistake and grad on time. What about Honda and Toyota mistakes that costed life in US. Nothing lighting up your brain and knowledge if you read bashers’ comments. Pls Mr Tan, give us a good ‘critical’ but analytical bashers here, otherwise this place is flooded with P2 and japs salesmen who’r full with broken heart and half brain unsettled politicians.

• fazlisan on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:57 am

good commenter talk fact, but bad commenter/basher only talk cock..it’s a fact :)

• blue-traveler on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:00 pm

All these figures are under ideal condition for the drive test. Wait until it has been driven for at least 6 months on normal/real Malaysia roads by real owners, then we will get a good picture of what the real fuel consumption is. And usually imho, it is not so, usually and in real world case, it is higher. Only can compare how high is it from the stated figure. big lie or small lie.

• normal_user on Dec 14, 2011 at 1:50 pm

205Nm at 2000rpm. That’s a very good torque figure for a mid-size MPV.
    If Proton can price it below RM75K, then people will think twice before buying the Livina the current small MPV top seller.

Please make the CFE as standard, achieve economies of scale & reduce price, and do away with the underpowered non-turbo CPS. This time around, Proton will have a good product to compete with Alza, Livina, or even the Stream and Wish.

Proton has tick the right boxes. Comfort, ride & handling, spacious, torque… The only thing left is the correct pricing which should be made affordable. It will become a winner, without doubt (if the force induction system is proven reliable).

• adik pak mat on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:01 pm

absolutely my next mpv….
    now p1 basher shock dead…!!!
    what else they want…..
    good job proton…see u soon on launching

• Wheeler on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:26 pm

oh please dont get overjoyed. Proton has a lot more to do if you must know..

• Johnny on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Good luck on being a guinea pig for proton!

• The rakyat will still buy a P2. The rakyat is just fed up with P1 la…just look at the sales figures of P1 vs P2…eg: even with the better spec’s of Saga 1.6 FLX…the rakyat will still got for the over priced, crappy handling Myvi…

• Izzat on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:07 pm

good..correct me if i’m wrong, torque is like pulling mass to some speed and horsepower is to make mass sustain at high speed as long as possible..right? =D

• asgard on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Subaru BRZ 2.0liter produce same amount of torque as 1.6liter CFE

• keyboard.rosak on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:59 am

but look at when the torque kick in

205Nm @ 6600rpm
        vs
        205Nm @ 2000-4000rpm

that’s the different between turbo and NA

• Simply said: Power=Torque x RPM

You have three options to get more power: More rpm, more torque or more of both.

Proton’s new turbo engine has more power at lower rpm (compared to the NA engine). Or simply said: If you’re going uphill, you don’t have to rev the engine to 6.000rpm any more.

• Mr Wancer on Dec 14, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Horsepower derived from Torque…Please use GOOGLE!

Torque = Pulling power (Capability to move the car @ standstill with load)
      Horsepower = How fast you reach top speed….

Easy?

• shawal on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:13 pm

If its a good and stylish proposition, why not give it a go,
    The average malaysian have to be realitistic with thier cash,
    U can’t have it all, but it now it seems you certainly can,
    Stream and wish are cool and practical, but its a bit out of eeach for some when rhe money could be spent elsewhere

gold color looks cool tho

• JeremyNg on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:15 pm

1.6 CPS : 7.9l/100km
    1.6 CFE : 8.3l/100km @ 90km/h
    1.8 CVVT : 8l/100km
    2.0 VVT-i : 8l/100km

——————————————————
    Why that only CFE category show that 8.3/100km achieve @ 90km/h , while others didnt ??? So others is average or ???

I realized Proton always use this type of marketing skill

• 1malaysia2020 on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Proton never seem to have mastered the art of getting accurate FC from their engine. I once owned 1.6CPS and the FC is more towards 8.9l/100km than the one advertised. So with 1.6CFE is expect is to be around the same figure as well…heck even driving at 90km your are getting more FC than a typical 2.0NA.

• 4 cylinder on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:52 pm

my neo got 6.9-7.2 when constant 90kmh

• 4 cylinder on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:53 pm

my neo got 6.9-7.2 when constant 90kmh…that what my meter panel said lah

• farghmee on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:52 pm

that’s weird man..
        non-cps campro only clock that 8.9l/100km value @ highway drive constant speed of 160km/h.
        unless u r revving so much?

anyway, we must know the CATCH of how they obtained these FC value first ;)

• mastermind on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:12 pm

P.Savvy FC
        5.3ltrs=100km 90km/h
        4.3litres=100km/h 80km…

FC depend on driving style…not totally on engine capacity…

• KageSenshi on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:09 pm

My 1 year old Neo CPS (A) got 5.5l/100km if cruising at 100kmph up to 120kmph overtaking .. 6.9l/100km if cruising at 110kmph up to 140kmph overtaking .. fuel consumption was 9.0l/100km back when i just bought it ..

and the manual says 6.9l/100km @ 90kmph .. probably i’m just lucky, or probably its the side effect of religiously ensure i service the car after 5000km or 3 months, whichever earlier ..

• u are good driver bro. senang cite kenal kereta servis jaga, satu lg aku pelik dgn kaki basher nih. nak kereta laju tp fc rendah.. << ape kejadah. kalau nak laju sure tak kan jimat nya nyawa hilang lg ada. miahaahaha ape pun love to get this engine into my 1.3 iafm hahaha gosh

• It is quite impossible to get the advertised FC by any manufacturer, not only Proton, as those are value obtained from theoretical analysis or done under controlled environment. Manufacturers rarely do real world FC test. Hope this helps.

• arcana on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:36 pm

ok…this puzzles me….
          the turbo is suppose to be more fuel efficient but end up being more thirsty as compared to the rivals….
          i know it has more power but somehow the higher consumption figure is not really a good marketing thing.

• bobdbilder on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:34 am

Not Fuel Efficiency. Volumetric Efficiency. You compress more air, you burn more fuel. Air to Fuel ratios the same.

• Basikal_Buruk on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:36 pm

I got 6.0l/100km for my persona elegance (manual) driving around 110-130km/h from KL to Muar (according to the meter), the actual fc is around 6.2-6.4l/100km (engine warm-up, +traffic jams, +overtaking turtle vehicles).

The worst FC I get is 10l/100km for a drive to my workplace (less than 1km). I spent more fuel to warmup the car rather than the travel itself.

• Fukuoka on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:03 pm

FC claim in Malaysia is not reliable cause we don’t have a standard. The condition “@90km/h” does not reflect the actual movement of a car that includes moving from still, accelerating, decelerating etc.

Here in Japan, they evaluate the FC of a car according to 10.15 mode or JC08 mode. The car would have to be warmed-up for a specified period, then moving at a given acceleration and specific velocity, stopping at a certain point, move again and the test will finish at a required distance. The FC claim in km/l is fair and square. Same goes to US which is using their own standard of FC measurement in mpg.

In short, FC claim in Malaysia is still in “guessing” mode and needs to be standardized.

• farghmee on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:54 pm

agree with u.

the methodology should be standardized.

• 1malaysia2020 on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:06 pm

The main problem i think because we aren’t clear with the FC claim. It is on engine alone or in a particular model. For example 1.6 CPS FC should be rated differently in Neo, Gen2, Waja and Exora considering the weight-to-power ratio since the torque is the same.

• armandd on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Exactly.. By common sense, Exora 1.6cps should consume more fuel per 100km than Gen2 1.6cps or Waja 1.6cps under the same driving conditions because it weights more and has greater drag coefficient / frontal area.

• proton? on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:49 pm

actually proton do have a standard. They use NEDC cycle to determine its emission and FC values. But i dont know why they use the constant 90 km/h value instead. Must be some marketing strategy coz the FC should be lower when driving at constant speed. Thats the logic i could think of

• lllll on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:07 pm

it must be bad compared to the others that’s why they take at constant speed. Even that also is worse compared to the other engine. BUT the extra torque and hp u gain against the other engines is something worth it i think?

• JeremyNg on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:55 pm

I archieved 18.2 km/l (the best) in Saga SE ……… Using low rolling resistance tires, tires pressure higher abit, 1 passenger 1 driver (without any heavy lugage)

My speed is around 80-90km/h ……. Minimize braking and throttle control to minimal

• matkota on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Wonder what is inside the interior is..on board GPS maybe?

• anti-vios on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:22 pm

8.3l/100km.. lebih sikit minyak… but more power @ 2000rpm… Cool!!!

• ilhadi on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:22 pm

I sure hope they check the spelling of ‘torgue’ for the final slides (in the table). You know lah, those bashers will pick on anything when habis modal.

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:23 pm

hopefully Proton will offer the conversion to CFE kit for Campro too… =)

• hmmmmm…..excited

• cl_qwertyuiop on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:28 pm

When exactly is the launching date? I wish I could test drive this.

• gaman on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:29 pm

TORQUE IS PULLING POWER

• brochure yg ada price tag takde yg leak ke?

• normal_user on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:31 pm

I have a dream that next year, Proton will introduce the Persona-R with CFE + CVT… and competes head-to-head with Civic Altis 1.8, or even Sylphy 2.0 maybe? With that amount of torque at low RPM + smooth CVT it can become a serious contender.

Suddenly the Campro that people used to hate (when Gen.2 was introduced in 2004) became the engine that people love to have! Its no longer Camtakpro, now it is the real camPRO (after 7 years!).

• Rhynnon on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:37 pm

Engines are like that. Remember the Rover V8? It was present in a lot of cars, from the Rover P8 to the Rover SD1. It was present in a number of TVR’s and Land Rovers as well. And the engine began its life unwanted in Detroit at GM because it had a lot of problems with its cooling and what now. But Rover bought the rights to it and improved it, up to a point it lasted for 30 years!

Imagine what Proton engineers could do if they refined that engine more and more…

• littlefire on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:43 pm

That why Rover bangkrap & sold to the Chinese?

• really? i hope the Chinese company who bought rover will not bankrupt also. *sarcasm*

• bongek on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm

go bangkrap without learn or own any technology…
          go bangkrap but learn the technology…

which one better? talk like cock

• proton? on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:51 pm

ur dream is a reality. The persona R is indeed using CFE and CVT

• kington on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Specs are indeed good. As mentioned by others, if the price is right, there’s no stopping Proton in selling this well.

And with Perodua not able to swicth to forced induction easily, this segment could prove pivotal in Proton’s surge in the sales charts.

• oligopoli on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:34 pm

yeah its about time for other car maker in Malaysia to up the ante and offers better product with lower price

• Wheeler on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:35 pm

These days, more and more oems are downsizing the engine and the trend is increasing. This turbo-charged engine may be a big thing to us but maybe it’s not somewhere else. But Proton, please continue doing it. All the best.

• Finally 1st made in Malaysia ‘Terbabo’ car. Bravo!

• The fc is a bit of let down. It should be better than the CPS.

Other manufacturer built a turbocharger into engine to improve the fc of the old engine. This had made it worse.. So is the basis of the engine (CAMPUR) that bad?

Still to see is whether it will have a details FC figure or not. I hope they do better than this.

• =).. a turbocharger actually forces more air into the combustion chamber.. to obtain a suitable air-fuel ratio, usually the amount of fuel will increase as well. So it is possible to get higher FC. What would be more appropriate will be comparing the FC of engines with same power or torque, say probably a 2.0L NA engine. Hope this helps.

• U can run lean burns, it’s not necessary to run it at the “suitable air-fuel ratio”. Maybe it is the NOx emission that deterred them from doing so. But that also means that they need a better intercooler to cool the compressed air.

I’m still waiting for the figure of how it works out in city and on highway. That should be the benchmark between the same 1.6L engine. I expect the fc to be better in city driving compared to the cps.

But let’s say compared to the innova, where did the innova got the value of 8L/100km? That’s better than the CFE, but math doesn’t tell the whole story in this case. :)

• ayamxxx on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:25 am

how come VW make used of turbo, supercharge + turbo but at a very good FC.
      Don’t said VW engine is underpower.

It just proton still have a faith at the junk campro engine.

• kenji1903 on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:40 pm

something wrong here… people turbo, proton turbo… why proton’s 1.6 turbo burns more fuel that a 1.8l/2.0l some more with CVT and at 90km/h? My Gog :x

• MoFaz on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:26 pm

CFE hasilkan HP dan torque lebih tinggi daripada Innova 2.0 sedangkan CFE hanya 1.6.

prinsip asas tenaga: tenaga hanya boleh diubah bentuk, maka untuk mendapatkan lebih banyak tenaga, perlulah menggunakan lebih banyak sumber tenaga. lagipun, bukan beza byk sangat pun, 8.3L vs 8.0L utk 100km, hanya 300ml, tak sampai pun satu tin coca-cola. kalau dalam ringgit, 60 sen jek utk setiap 100km… byk sgt ke beza tu? ini juga menunjukkan 1.6CFE lebih efficient berbanding Innova 2.0. lagipun, roadtax 1.6 dah jimat RM290 setahun berbanding Innova!

• kenji1903 on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:56 pm

the purpose of forced induction is to produce higher torque and power at lower RPM while maintaining the FC… not increase everything including the FC…

and 8.3l/100km is at 90km/h… you can never drive at this speed in real world both in city and highway…

and this version of Exora come with CVT… it’s supposed to save even more fuel… the only thing i’m impressed is proton managed to pair CVT with forced induction…

the comparison is also wrong in the first place, it’s not comparing with other turbo engines… what’s more it’s like emphasizing on the poor FC…

• EasyRider on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:50 pm

Wrong, the only way to get more power is to burn more fuel, but to burn more fuel, you need more air. The purpose of force induction is to force more air in the cylinder so that you can burn more fuel.

• During era of Mitsi evo 1~10 and before, your simple formula is true. What people are quiring here is why not as other makers who introducing new engine with the highlight of increase torque, hp while lowering FC and CO2.
        Understood that there’s no DI and advanced components inside… but already bettered traditional competitors. Marketing wise, to continue being jaguh kampung, oklah Proton, slowly improving (but not too slow please! Learn Toyota’s fate recently for slowly improving & making uninspiring cars). Anyway with that FC, CO2 emission also should fail to enter euro market.

• kalau satu hari harga roadtax 1.6 dan 2.0 sama, macam mana you mau defend itu CFE?

think rationally lah, cakap je engine tak cukup bagus, end of story.

• MoFaz on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:26 am

if too much “kalau”, we’ll never stop arguing.
          plus, the latest info i got from reading in internet, FC for Exora CFE is 7.8L/100km and not 8.3L as stated above. which means, CFE has better FC than CPS and 1.8 & 2.0 N.A engines. wait for official brochure to re-confirm this

• Faizal on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:44 pm

“CAMPARISON”
    “TORGUE”

• eims @ gold on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Can’t believe the FC figure of
    1.6CFE of midsize exora
    is higher than
    2.0 NA of bigger innova.

• Johnny on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:45 pm

It is because the CFE tech is similar to 80’s Volvo turbo engine.

• 1malaysia2020 on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:19 pm

So the FC is probably the most economical in the 80’s rather than in present…
        Did Proton somehow secretly possesed an in-house particle accelerator similar to CERN Large Hadron Collider and discovered the elusive Higgs boson particle that enable them to invent a time machine and travel back to the 80’s and bring forward the technology? Or they have a large library of old techs kept in LEM (which i happened to know how they designed CAMPRO)

• As a potential buyer of the Exora Bold CFE Hi-Line with turbo in the very near future, the charts raises more questions than answers:

1. it looks more like charts prepared by unpolished dealers rather than proton itself
    2. the power chart is very confusing
    3. so comparing with its competitors and it’s own predecessor, the 1.6CFE is not really fuel efficient??

• CAMPARISON…Epic Phail…-Facepalm-

Bad signs even before launching…beware folks OK!!!

RM80K++ better buy Livina any day…peace of mind

Other competitors already show better FC and decent torque WITHOUT turbo, wait if they put Dual-VVT, Direct Injection lah.

Poor FC = Poor Sales. Fact. Better retune forced induction for better FC instead of torque. Look how VW CrossTouran did it right. Das Auto…

Anyway Tahniah in advance to Protongkat Saudi Arabia they got it priced RM42,556.15 (20 airbags, real plywood centre console, ESP and fault-free power windows)!

p/s. Wonder which kilang papan supplied the centre console trims???

• Johnny on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Waaa.. So many proton guinea pig are mad at u!

• chevy on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:19 pm

gila ke apa mamat ni post benda yang sama je

• Ajaw is bangang on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:32 am

Better buy Livina ? even the third seat row had no aircond blower

Go Fxxk yourself !

• jl@ipl on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Guys.

What we know earlier was this CFE will couple with CVT, but, I doubt that this Prime variant has the CVT. Reasons – high fuel consumption and P-R-D-3-2-L in the leaked picture (http://paultan.org/2011/12/12/proton-exora-prime-cfe-variant-photos-leaked/prime-4/).

Base on my short driving experience with my sister’s FLX 1.3 CVT, I’ll safe my money on the Exora CFE CVT variant.

I like the way the CVT behave. Start – stop, traffic light infested city driving, I never need more that 1500RPM. City ruising, not more that 2000RPM ( can go up to 90kmh), expressway not more that 2500RPM. Downside was just the noise. Proper hood insulation will help, I believe.

Just my 2 cents.

• Faizal on Dec 14, 2011 at 2:59 pm

camparison = comparison
    torgue = torque

please i hope when they officially launch this model, somebody pls bring the mpv to run a dyno test to proof the figure..

• Protongkat forgot to add VW 1.4L CrossTouran for cAmparison…1.4L TSI also get 138hp…oh sorry VW price range different over RM100K and high-tech stuffs not relevant Bolehland standard lah…

• Ajaw,

VW also got 1.4L TSI in Passat with 121bhp
      not sold in Bolehland

• Expatriate VN on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Facelift/Ediitons exercises: –

“On the way”
    -Proton Exora Bold

“Future planned”
    -“Proton Exora Gold”
    -“Proton Exora Cold”
    -“Proton Exora Fold”
    -“Proton Exora Hold”
    -“Proton Exora Sold”
    -“Proton Exora Told”

Anything/suggestion to add …….. so that this model, like 1st Saga, can be facelifting/upgrades at “whim and fancy” and sell for 20++ year!!!!!!!!!!

“CFE term denotes Charge Fuel Efficiency, and not the Charged Fuel Enhancement and Campro Fuel Efficient touted earlier”

What is means by “Charge Fuel Efficiency”??? Since smaller Cam-Tak-Pro 1.6L engine FC is 8.3 L/100 KM compare to bigger engine G Livina 1.8 and Innova 2.0, both at 8L/100 KM? Perhaps the turbocharge increase the HP, but CFE is just another freak marketing exercise?

• Barai_98 on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:10 pm

Cakap pandai la.. Bt sdr tgk.. Puuiii

• Barai_98 on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Cakap pandai la! Bt sdr tgk! Puuiii!

• MoFaz on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:28 pm

enough with your stupid questions… you with your stupid brain will never get it.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Oh, oh, oh …….. MooFart farting again! Are you so intelligent, which Uni you graduated from! Oxfart? Or ……..

• Expariate VN = alfie60 on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:52 am

Duduk kt Malaysia bnyak bunyi plak ko ek !

• Expatriate VN on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:54 am

Hang bodoh mat celup, nama pun nak tiru. Yang ni cybertrooper upahan dari kalangan budak local U yang takda kerja. Berapah hang dapat satu bulan? RM 600 elaun?

• akina on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:38 pm

ade aku kesah?

btw, i don’t know how many time people will say u re stupid, bongok etc..
      it will be a doa and i can see you are towards that day by day based on my reading on ur comments.

so, dont be so foolish permitting people say that bad word to you. eventho “Expatriate VN” is just your nickname.

i dot think it is worth by bashing in negative way, later make you become stupid day by day…it’s pity.

who knows, maybe people will say “bongok betul mamat nih” while clicking the thumb down button.

pnw

• Johnny on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Ironically the Charge Fuel Efficiency is not fuel efficient at all. Same as CAMPRO which does not have Cam Profile switching. Cheating Malaysians again?

• 1malaysia2020 on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:43 pm

The problem with Proton (internally) is the engineering department always loses their battle with the marketing department. There are few examples that I can relate.

1) Gen2 was supposed to have better interior but the marketing opted for cheaper plastic interior that look really cheap and very bad
        2) CAMPRO engine was not a full-fledged engine when they put into mass production. IAFM and CPS was still in development but they rolled-out it nonetheless.
        3) WAJA, the aging hero continued to sell despite lacking everything. The reason, people still buy it. So when the public dont want it anymore, they pitched it to the government agencies.
        4) Stupid facelift after facelift. One prime example is the current SAGA. Tell me how many version of this model has been introduced since its introduction (new SAGA). I still dont understand why they introduced SAGA FL when the FLX (which was launch less than 1 year after FL) is much much better in terms of fuel effienciency, technology and return. People who bought FL definitely felt cheated.

Proton must understand, we the public have to make financial commitment for 7- 9 years everytime we buy your product. We contributed to your annual profitability.
        But at least all hope is not lost. I’m still impressed with what they do with Satria Neo variant.

• anak malaysia on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:43 pm

how about iphone 3gs come out after 3g?

• littlefire on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:52 pm

If ur car is the same price as Iphone 3gs, why not? I would like to change everytime a new model came out..

• anyway the facelift ‘hero’ is still myvi!

• Sarcastic Prick on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:53 pm

I’d like to argue the point on facelift – come on, facelifts are a way of life. Even Toyota does it but nobody bat an eyelid, even get easily conned by Toyota marketing spiel “new” when in fact it’s another facelift!

Besides, Saga’s only got 1 facelift (the FL version) while FLX is only an engine & gearbox upgrade (not a facelift per se).

• GTR 2.0 on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:32 am

Agreed that FLX not a facelift. But why come out with FL and one year after that FLX? Why not just wait for the FLX so that ordinary people that bought the FL not feel cheated when the FLX come out? Why do that? Why Malaysian company need to do that to fellow Malaysian?

• tiadaid on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:34 am

I think the FLX was rushed through to combat the Myvi 1.5 launch. If that car had been launched later…

Besides, a lot of car makers are doing the same thing. I remember when I bought my Honda City i-DSI back in 2004 – a few months later they launched the VTEC version.

• i think FL come first, then FLX…

• amarz on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:53 pm

i don’t think Innova 2.0 able to get 8L/100 KM on the road… who drive inova know this drink fuel much …

• squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:19 am

Then just build an engine by yourself and see how much petrol it consumes laa… cakap banyak pulak… you only do nothing but just talk cock…

• dirtyoldmen on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:45 am

Don’t Torgue Cog la (pun intended)

You’re a fake.
      The real Expat VN will uses jagoh kampong in every Proton post. :P

• 1malaysia2020 on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Something is not right or my eyes playing trick on me… the chart should also focus on FC instead of the big square “Torque is pulling power”.

8.3l/100km when put in real life use should be around 8.7l/km – 8.9l/km (Proton figure never accurate when it comes to FC, that’s why they add @90km/h). This is going the opposite way. 1.6CFE FC is higher than 2.0NA is outright ridiculous. One of the reason manufacturer uses turbo on small capacity engine is to increase engine output (ps,Nm,Kw) while maintaining fuel efficiency and lower emission. To have higher torque output is very good especially for heavy Exora but not at the expense of more fuel to put in the car.

My dear Proton, if you read this you should know when doing “camparison” it will be more appropriate for your smart engineers to include turbocharged engine as well like the Prince 1.6 THP and VW 1.4 TSI for benchmarking purpose. This is to allow us stupid readers to understand better your superb accomplishment with 1.6CFE.

Just another question, since we are all going green this coming decade, what is the emission output from 1.6CFE. I don’t want Proton to continue to be one of the highest CO2 contributor in Malaysia.

• Johnny on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:02 pm

CO2? They already did. Proton dont give a shit about CO2.

• I agree about comparing it to other turbo engines of the same capacity, but in this context, they are comparing it to their direct competitors in this market.

Comparing and benchmarking it against Prince 1.6 THP and VW 1.4 TSI would be the work of bloggers and reviewers. *Hint to paultan.org staff* : )

IMO, marketing wise P1 is doing is right as well. Leaking information and creating a buzz. Getting people to discuss their latest product. Good step forward.

• sawi cool on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:36 pm

I reckon above is misleading.

We shud go back to the basic.

To make it simple, the point of having this turbo version is to have more torgue / torque / pulling power – as people were complaining on the lack of pulling power on current version.
      This is the selling point.

FC isnt a huge problem. 0.3l over 100km.

It’s not fair to compare with Prince or VW engine.
      The selling price of those equipped with Prince or TSI is at another level.

Let’s get back into the scope : a normal Malaysian family guy looking for affordable MPV.

it’s a business, after all.

• 1malaysia2020 on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:57 pm

I agree with the argument that current 1.6 CPS engine isnt torquey enough to pull a heavyweight like Exora. But that is not the only prime issue with 1.6CPS. Fuel efficiency is another critical issue that majority of the consumer is complaining. Fuel isnt getting cheaper anymore. Yes, affordable midsize MPV is what a normal small family will definitely go for, but not at the expense of paying more on fuel. Btw 0.3l/100 km is not the real life figure.

From technology perspective, it is possible to compare with Prince & VW engines. Proton (or LEM) is not using age-old designing tool. They are using some of the latest CAD/CAM tools available in the market. On top of that, most of the engineering work is done by LEM which in return get their expertise from Lotus UK. Newer enhancements to the CAMPRO engine are now being done by Proton engineers itself. So that alone shows that we are not lacking in term of engineering capability. They have shown us that with a couple of Neo’s limited edition.

Price is not an issue because we are not comparing what being brought in vs what being produce (not to mention all the 30%+90%+10% duties). If we can design a good car like Exora or Neo, why not a superb engine.

I believe in my humble opinion, Proton can be one of the best manufacturer in the world provided they stop doing this incomplete product roll-out just to fill-in the space while waiting for a complete version. Yes, they need to fill-in their coffer but try not make the buyer suffers while doing it. We are not in the 90’s where we don’t have a choice but to buy a Proton (with many defects). Now we want to buy a Proton because we like it and it is worth the money (with modern technology, fuel eficient and high standard of quality).

• EasyRider on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Exora CFE will provide a better “real world” fuel consumption compared to CPS. The figures for both CPS & CFE above is based on constant speed and does not involve any accelerating & braking.

In real world, you need to rev the CPS engine more in daily traffic to move the MPV due to lack of low end torque. The CPS system is designed to give more power at high rev so at low rev, the engine struggles to move the weight of the car. People tend to rev the CPS engine because of this and this hurts the fuel consumption.

CFE on the other hand, addresses this issue with a very high torque right from 2000 RPM. Coupled with the CVT transmission, the CFE engine will improve the fuel consumption greatly in daily usage where you are constantly accelerating and braking. If you know how to keep a constant low RPM, CVT will help a lot in term of fuel consumption compared to Exora CPS

• squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:59 am

Agreed. With the high low-end torque, drivers no longer need to floor down the throttle pedal in the Exora CFE compared to Exora CPS. Light throttling means smaller amount of petrol to move the huge-bodied Exora. Plus, the high low-end torque also allows higher gear ratios for urban driving, which also contributed to better fuel economy.

• fraz006 on Dec 16, 2011 at 10:58 am

please refer to easyrider comment. where did u get the worse FC readingin exora CFE? the car never been driven by buyer lagi bro! haiyaa…

reading is good. reading with hands on is better. reading, hands on, questioning is way better.

• casey-c on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Talking about CO, please educate our young driver :-
      Please do not remove/pierced the catalyst converter from your exhaust system just to enjoy the so called higher horse power.

PLEASE stick to manufacturer specs.

Remember – no more potong exhaust.

• callenish on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:15 pm

i don’t think this presentation is prepared by proton, too many error, confusing statement and figure. fishy…

• Alter on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Power that can be expected. Syabas!

• Azlan on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Since when innova’s fc is 8l/100km..

More like 8km/l got la..

• TORGUE

hahahah sounds like lembu condo

• My urban fuel consumption experience in my Exora has been 14L/100km. Basically the Campro sucks gas big time.

• Norman on Dec 14, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Volkswagen is some sort of Supercharge and twin turbo itself no surprise its get 170hp even on small 1400cc engine and so does Peugeot 5000 1.6 even though it get only single turbo but Peugeot is more to mid/high turbo.Yes i admit The CFE engine lack horsepower.145hp/215nm is what i expect at least and

• byk nye engineer kat sini, semue mahu tunjuk hebat! kalo camtu ak nk proton keluarkan exora yg ade 2.0L CFE, ABS,7airbags,Disc brake dpn blakang,Sunroof dan CVT. kalo ade model ni… konferm sume puas hati.

• PokokCerryMechanic on Dec 14, 2011 at 9:26 pm

yes..memang puas hati tapi lagi 1 benda yg kita nak harga kena murah..~~HUMANS~~~

• maaajeeedaaa on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:23 pm

tambah lagi..aluminium engine block and nama kena macam ni LOTUS EXORA…muahahaha

• TheInsider on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:55 am

susah sangat cadangan tu..
      tukar aje nama proton to toyota atau honda atau bla bla..
      settle..haha

• carazy on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:09 pm

i dont think its a real proton brochure.. takkan DSZ nak lepas stupid typo, and direct comparison to other MPV.. I just wait for the real brochure and REAL CAR fact and figure…

• Anon. on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Well the way manufacturers increase the output of the engine while at the same time maintain fuel consumption is to add direct-injection technology into the engine.

But the thing is, although yes, the engine will be more powerful and fuel-efficient, direct injection technology comes with a caveat, one rarely explained nor even stated by the manufacturers, which is carbon build-up in the intake manifolds of the engine.

You can see from the pictures in the link how engines with relatively moderate mileages (around 50k km even in Audi’s and BMW’s), accumulate carbon in the intake manifolds, and at the same time, degrade performance and the overall ‘smoothness’ of the engine.

Ya memang V6 performance with Inline-4 fuel economy (when coupling forced induction with direct injection) tapi pakai x sampai 100k mileage dah mula enjin tak sedap kemudian buat problem.

Hope for the best that exora will perform, cause i’m sure a lot of malaysians will buy it cause it’s their national car.

and the link explains one of the main weaknesses behind DI.

http://drivegeek.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/gdi-carbon-buildup-issue-and-a-solution/

• littlefire on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:55 pm

I believe that Toyota have the answer to that.. Dual-injection System.. :) Both conventional & direct injection system combine togather…

• Anon. on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:00 am

Yeah Lexus and Toyota has started doing that, which combines port (conventional) and direct injection. But then you would have a larger number of injectors per engine and plus the manufacturing costs, and that would significantly increase the cost. It’s no wonder that the technology hasn’t trickled down to the lower tier Toyota models and is only still meddling around in the high end Lexii models.

If Proton went ahead in the same way as toyota did ( not accounting the fact that the technology might have been licensed by toyota) masa tu la mula pulak complain pasal harga instead of the fuel economy. -.-

• littlefire on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:53 am

Lotus have been using a lot of Toyota technology.. Wonder why Lotus dont want to use Campro engine in their fleet… Hmm… :P

• mat koboi on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:16 pm

1.6 cfe turbo = 8.3 liter… better choose grand livina 1.6..

• Can put this engine on a Savvy. That will be fun !!

• Hmmm Torque become ‘Torgue’….

Trying hard to conned us again on CFE-Crappy Fuel Efficiency? Crappy Failed Exora?

Ha, Ha! Just like last time Protongkat in vain trying to show Savvy is better than Myvi?

Once again, Protongkat always get wrong priority on car buyer deciding factor: Fuel Efficiency.

Why not offer simply CVT, CPS Direct Injection across all Exora range? Better pray that turbo have LifeTime Warranty at least!

This whole cAmparison simply void and null if not VW CrossTouran 1.4 TSI price without NAP tax.

Otherwise, VW CrossTouran 1.4TSI simply better choice and the hell with Torgue Camparison anyway

OK lah at least I learn new automotive terms today: Torgue Camparison! CFE – Crappy Fuel Efficiency / Crappy Failed Exora!

Yes sir Torgue Camparison. That’s how Protongkat Globel Car should be!

• cool! on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Still using timing belt?

• keyboard.rosak on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:35 am

yep, with increased life up to 160K km.
      but of course edar want to make money, recommend change at 100K only

• imo this is fake and those who believe this 100% is a moron… innova 8L/100km? pfft… that mpv is the most fuel guzzler ever!

• Carl Wong on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Nice torque, finally no more torque dip like the first torqueless Campro engine (I still have one)?

• eggman01 on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:36 pm

This new Exora looks promising..The best Proton yet.

• Hey wait, what is the CO2 Emission figure (CO2 gram/km) for Exora? Can beat Euro 5 standard?

Hah, that’s another missing piece from that Torgue Camparison! Or Protongkat try to hide it? Truth hurts kah???

Otherwise, VW CrossTouran 1.4 TSI simply the best MPV of all: better fuel efficiency and cleaner emission, at least Euro4 complied too.

• Prefer the Cross Touran 1.4 TSI ! for the brand,country make,exterior,interior,quality,safety and the performance…Touran is worth value for money but for me poor man it’s quite expensive if compared to Exora !

• shawal on Dec 14, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Ooh yeah, the wood panel is ugly , plz proton lets have a classy black leather interior not the dull grey with nasty wood

• mfoj8478 on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:04 pm

8.3L/100 KM @ 90kmh…wonder what’s the figure if @ 100kmh. 8.5 ? 9.0 ? Anyway good luck Proton !

• makeitmine on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Turbochargers do not, per se, save fuel; they only allow you to use a smaller engine in a vehicle with the benefit of increased power only when needed. Au pair with that, comes a lighter frame and engine mounts (because the engine is smaller), smaller suspension and brake components (because the vehicle’s mass is smaller).

Europe has seen turbo and supercharged engines for decades, still, even if you drive at your best efficiency (in which case you are probably not even using the turbocharger) the cost of fuel is a big factor.

Engines can only get small to a certain point in a passenger vehicle; put an engine that is too small for the vehicle and the driving conditions it is designed for, and the fuel efficiency goes to the floor (turbo or not).

In my opinion, Proton would have succeed if the peak torque is achieved roughly at half the maximum rpm. There is no conclusive evidence on this!

It seems that fueliness people here are so concerned about FC. Don’t buy a turbocharged car if FC is a concern. Turbocharged Exora gives a further benefits include an improved power-to-weight ratio, greatly enhanced driving pleasure and fewer carbon deposits in the cylinders, meaning better engine heath.

None seems to concern about TURBO LAG. Can this car overcome turbo lag? Think after you buy this car, pressing the pedal doesn’t move the car any sooner. It just feeds more fuel to the engine, which increases its power output. The exhaust gases then drive the turbo, which feeds in air, which increases power further.

Nevertheless, Proton has made a start in turbocharging the Campro engine. Next, is to use more than one turbocharger, either working in serial or parallel. The turbo can even be combined with a supercharger, such as the arrangement of Volkswagen’s TSI engine.

• Your statement is at half correct.

Turbocharger, saves fuel. It depends on which kind of turbo charger that you are referring to. If you have not pluck a turbocharger from a lorry before (I presume you never), lorries’s turbines are ridiculously small compared to say, Subaru WRX. Now we can begin the rest of the explanation.

Now with an smaller turbo, lag will be minimal, and also it gives more air to the engine at lower rpm or exhaust gas volume. Thus, you do not need to floor the pedal to get that. Evidently, P1 chosen a bigger turbo, that starts the torque at 2krpm. It could be for final HP issue or whatever things that might affect it. U need to floor it to 2krpm. And if you take the Ford Ecoboost 1.6 for example, torque starts at 1.6krpm.. So u only need a slight gas for it to reach max boost, all via a smaller turbine, or a better engine basis.

I would go against P1 going to twin charge, VW has recently launched a single turbo 1.4TSI. The best part for that engine is, 1 less moving part to worry about.
      http://www.caradvice.com.au/99056/volkswagen-1-4tsi-twincharger-to-be-phased-out-report/

VW single turbo 1.4 TSI
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ogy476dT9Pk

I am open to your opinion about turbochargers, i think we can have a very fun discussion about it. :)

• littlefire on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Yup, suddenly what u write also make sense… Why not CFE given to Campro 1.3L? Turbocharged a smaller engine to gain a bigger output and maybe even fuel saving compare to 1.6L engine? Like what VW do their downsizing engines.. (1.2 & 1.4 TSI engines)

• ahmadi on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:20 pm

i just take a look at Exora Bold brochure, the fuel consumption for Exora CFE CVT 7.8L/100KM.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:10 pm

To convert it, it will be about 15 cent per Km minimum or about 12 Km travel per Litre. This useful information is important esp when travel to remote area where most Fuel station is closed at night.

Hope the true figure will be about 7.5l\Km or 13 cent\Km or 15 Km\Litre cause thats what a normal manual IAFM 1.6 with constant load 300kg at mix driving condition has done.

• im looking for the brochure too. can share?

• ahmadi on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:33 am

most branch Edar/EON already receive it. Exora Bold launching 16 December (tomorrow).

• kerelbort on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:31 pm

faux wood.. no – no…

• baru leaked..bkn official sudah kena hentam kaw2..xpi klu perodugong apa yg official semua main turut ja….chet….

• Karl von Jitry on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:39 pm

I guess this new Exora will have better than 8L/100km@90kmh since using CVT and better TORGUE.

My Nissan 1.8 Livina still give me lower than the figure suggested and l do not drive at 90kmh.

• Gebang on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:49 pm

0-100km berapa saat?

• eggman01 on Dec 14, 2011 at 6:14 pm

Better than the Grand Livina!

• This has to be the best ‘real’ Proton ever… but, still missing 1 vital feature… traction control.

• EasyRider on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Why do you think that they need the rear disc brake?

• VITAL? Perlu ke Traction Control tu kat Malaysia?

• Virosh on Dec 14, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Come on lah, 1.6 turbo but horsepower only 138! Proton says the turbo will make the engine that has the same power as a 2.0 litre car. It should be at least 150hp. How much difference would 13 hp make to a large mpv??!!!

• Mienzz92 on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:10 am

Come on lah,Jangan jadi bangang !

‘Proton says the turbo will make the engine that has the same power as a 2.0 litre car’
        =Even the Toyota 2.0 VVT-i engine got 136 horsepower while CFE is 138 Hp

‘It should be at least 150hp’
        kalo dah 150hp tu dah sama hp enjin Perdana V6,ko nak bawak racing ker Exora ni ?

‘How much difference would 13 hp make to a large mpv??!!!’
        =Torque (Nm) is more important than horsepower when dealing with heavy load of passenger

Actually Proton release 2 version of Campro CFE engine (138 horsepower & 151 horsepower), you can FOUND IT ON PROTON ANNUAL REPORT,free to download at Proton website.

• I don’t believe the soft launch is at 16th this month. No confirmation from proton until now.

• I’ve tested bold h line…. Lagi power lagi best!

• voiddance on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:43 pm

I think people expected when using CFE, the FC will go down to 1l/100km…. Yeah sure. Why not.

You’re driving a whale, not slim lean dory fish. If you want better FC, drive a city car. If not, don’t buy a MPV to commute to your work daily.

• Peyno on Dec 14, 2011 at 7:50 pm

Ajaw- perodua salesman

• Uh what?? innova 8L/100km???? the worst ever joke ive ever heard.. 16L/100km is a more realistic figure..

• If buyers still buy “new” front and rear redesign Avanza over this mpv, I’ll be clueless.

• Esbedon Esbebet on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Really doubt this is from Proton. I bet it’s fake. Look at the quality of the photographs chosen for the 1st slide. If it is indeed from Proton themselves, they could provide the best photograph, no? Those pictures look more like a ‘scoop’ or leaked pictures. I dont buy it.

• SatriaNeo on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

why does the torque decrease after 5000 rpm? Does this mean the car is going slower after 5000rpm? Anyone care to explain?

• taboogen on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:27 am

go and learn engineering.. or as my 5 years old kid use to do.. the search youtube how to get high score of angry bird.. so be a 5 years old kid and u find the answer… dont be like other malaysian.. use to spoon fed

• check out this link : http://kizzkazz65.blogspot.com/

• Pak Abu on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Mari kita bash kaw2 p1. Pastikan pembeli sangsi nak beli so depa akan consider beli avanza. Ingat, avanza is toyota. Quality is paramount. Ini apa turbo2 nih? high maintenance. Apa dia? GL lagi save minyak? Laa…. mesti ko salesman nissan

Sapa yg bash aku semalam fasal cornering avanza teruk? Mangkuk tol. Hoi, setakat dengar review dari kengkawan, mmg bodoh. Org ckp kura2 boleh terbang, hang angguk je, then sembang mcm pakar.

• ezracopters on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:34 pm

sebenarnya aku simpati gak kalau nie adalah periuk nasi ko.. Perodua @ Toyota salesman. cuma ingat satu, rezeki masing2 atas dunia.. tak payah kutuk2 org dan produk org lain..baik ko focuskan pada keiebihan produk ko dp duk cari keburukan produk org.. worse case, org nampak hati perut ko yg busuk dan akal minda ko yg cetek.. im just saying..hmmm

• as usual lah! on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm

meh,proton okey ape..jgn beli avanja 3rd world country van..beli high-end model dari toyota baru kelas..
      lekat sticker P JDM…biar papa asalkan bergaya…perghh..8)

• Encikyokoyoko on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:04 am

Udah2 ler tu Pak Abu..org tua buat senyap2 jer lah..mana org tua tau pasal tech ni..n mungkin pak abu ni just beli avanza jer n tak drive kereta lain…that y Pak Abu cakap avanza ni corner best..hehehe..kesian kat Pak Abu..

• After all this time, i was expecting a direct injection tbo…sigh

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:45 pm

vellfire better

• Drebar on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Good camparison, eh salah, comparison, which include other brands.

But in our law, it is illegal to show competitor brands directly in commercial advertisements except to hide it as brand abc xyz. If this info only internal use then it’s ok. But other countries like U.S. it’s ok to compare directly competitor’s brand and features to show your product advantage.

There’s pro and cons in comparing competitors but from carbuyers’ viewpoint it is very useful. In this case lot more MPVs needed for truly inclusive comparisons including those higher priced MPV but very similar engine capacity like VW TSI, Ford Ecoboost and Peugeot Prince.

On Exora CFE:
    – is it similar set-up to Mercedes CGI/Blue Efficiency? Supercharged unit? Low-boost turbo?
    – or similar to VW TSI setup? Twincharger?
    – to common believe isn’t it turbo lower fuel consumption?
    – why not using Direct Injection? Bosch unit quote high price kah?

Perhaps Proton should bring turbo diesel direct injection and mated with CVT. With 1.6L road tax diesel shouldn’t be big burden nor the insurance premium rates.

Wonder if CVT offered across all Exora range? And why no Auto at B-Line for budget buyers?

To sweeten the deal Proton should give that 2-din DVD GPS unit to all range and the first MPV to offer it.

• squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:17 am

I believe they do have plans to build direct injection. However, that means the entire cylinder head must be redesigned to accomodate direct injection. Plus, they’ll need to decide the optimum placement of both injectors and spark plugs; if not, the engine won’t perform as expected in terms of power and FC. Also, the more complicated ECU program will have to be used for lean mode and full-power mode. All of these translate to high R&D cost and time consumption.

• LFA LOVER on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:55 pm

no more avanza huh ajaw? truth hurt uhh? exora left ur avanza with smoke and dust, haha2

• still not aluminium head block cylinder…..this engine is very bad fuel comsuption compare with 5008 pegeot more saving 7.7L/100KM twin scroll turbo more effective than garret turbo from borg warner……proton technology still far behind in this mellinium

• bad in fuel comsumption

• Nizam80 on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:12 pm

I have to be honest here. Based on the comparison, average fuel consumption looks a bit disappointing, don’t you think? 8.3L/100km ?? With that amount of torque available around that rev range, I expect better figures. That’s only my point of view la.

• BeemerFreak on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:04 am

Hey it is not 8.3km/L it is 8.3L/100km =12km/L which is decent for an MPV as the Innova can hardly reach its claimed figure. Innova goes about 10km/L. It is a commendable effort

• mega9010 on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:27 pm

To all the smart samaritan who commenting about the error..please stop commenting becouse the word comparison is also another meaning of compare..Definition: The act of comparing; an examination of two or more objects with the view of discovering the resemblances or differences; relative estimate.

• difficult to judge based on fuel consumption at constant speed. no body could drive @ 90kmh all the time haha… unlike japanese, they use test mode which is 95% correct. just like myvi…figure given is 13km/litre and in actual it is almost around the figure. in theory, turbo will consume more fuel compare to na engine. but the benefit of turbo is efficient. efficient means more energy per unit of fuel burned. for sure this exora is fun to drive due to high low end torque. the figure given is totally wrong… grandlavina 1.8 with cvt is very economical. this comparison is rubbish..

• taboogen on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:23 am

i thought the theory of turbo is to use less fuel since combustion is much more efficient. where u got your theory bro..

• eg. daihatsu always claimed high consumption on it turbo engine. i mean same cc turbo n na. why they make turbo? turbo is to power up small engine so that it could reach pick power of big engine. eg. 1.6 can get power of 2.0. but fuel consumption is still in range of 1.6 engine. if u drive under normal it will consume like 1.6litre, but when power is needed it will not waste the high amount of fuel supplied but burn the fuel efficiently for the huge power output.

• bobdbilder on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:13 am

Volumetric Efficiency. In a normal 1.6l engine, you will not get 1.6l of burnt air coming out through the exhaust. The difference is the losses. In a compressed inlet, you’d still get losses but much less than a normally aspirated engine. Most of the loss is in the heat generated by compression. Higher boost pressure, higher temp, higher losses. Low boost pressure is typical in running a load carrying car. You also reduce turbo lag.

In any engine, the stoichiometric AFR is still 14:1 irrespective of whether its turboed or not. 14 parts air to 1 part fuel. You can change this to make it lean or rich in old style engine using a fuel pressure regulator. Newer engines won’t let you.

Looks like the exhaust port and manifold is integrated to the top block. Very Lotus Engineering.

• lchan on Dec 16, 2011 at 10:09 am

you are some what wrong.

volumetric efficiency is the ratio or percentage of air being sucked (intake stroke) into the engine over its actual volume (engine capacity) in four strokes.

nothing to do with the exhaust.

• Mr Wancer on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Not even official, you guys already make noise…

Can’t even wait to bash proton. This is perhaps a print out error which was pickup by someone else from the rubbish bin and post it to the Internet.

Small turbo would definitely improve fuel consumption as it was tuned to kick in by 2k RPM. How many of us do NOT rev at least 3k RPM just to get the car moving? This would allow us to maintain throttle @ 2-2.5k RPM and the car would move with ease…

Turbo that kicks in at lower range RPM doesnt need excessive fuel (to protect the engine internal) compared to sports tuned cars that have the turbo kicked in @ 4-5k RPM.

• alfie60 on Dec 14, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Typical of this shitty Proton trying to sell their shitty car by making other car brand look BAD or if they can influence the government to make other cars to be more expensive than them.. What DSZ is doing is nothing more than trying hoodwink the public by misleading us by not comparing apple to apple.
    If we take away the taxes imposes on other cars and compare what the shitty Proton is giving us then we know we have been ripoff by them.

Just putting in ‘plug and play’ turbo kit without in depth R & D is making us a guinea pig with their product just like they bolted on the powerwindows in our cars and only after 25 years later to admit on the problem before giving us a elusive and hard to claim ‘lifetime’ warranty. God help those rakyat who buys this shitty turbo version.

Orang pasang Turbo dia pun nak pasang juga, Niamah!!!

• Prismo on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:58 am

tak lama lagi bos ko kat perodua pun akan pasang turbo kat alza….

• alfie60 on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:21 am

Bro Prismo, Produa pasang tak pa,sejuk hati i bila dengak. At least depan tak kelantong rakyat macam Proton. ;-)

• farghmee on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm

hek eleh..pasal hang ni BIAS?
          mana hang tau Produa pasang ble sejuk hati bila dgr?
          ada proof?

• dontreallycare on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:40 am

ko x nak x payah beli la, duduk diam dalam jambam sudah! bising2 pun ape ko dapat? mentality tu jangan la kat 3rd world country lagi! sedih betul ada rakyat macam ni, pegi pindah negeria la kalau banyak sangat komplen.

• farghmee on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:09 am

apasal komen ko tiap kali pn benda yg sama?
      penat doh baca..

get a LIFE, dude!

• wahedenator on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:21 am

Guys, are you sure the slides telling you the truth?
    Even ‘torque’ they spelled ‘torGue’ sigh*
    Mcm keje budak intern Proton je. haha!

• No money hire proper ppl to do the job or too much money hire wrong ppl…

Macam that time when the President of China came to malaysia.. Malu je…

• whyalwaysme? on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:20 am

hahahahahahaa…aku baru perasan der….teruk betol geng2 proton…sama mcm supporter dia…hehe

• Petrolhead on Dec 20, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Dia berjaga siang mlam nk design engine tu.. tu yg bila buat presentation byk spelling error. slide ni pn utk bos dia n i believe dia pn xkesah pasal spelling error ni.. nway, iklan yg kluar nnt dibuat oleh marketing department diorg.. yg tu klo salah korang boleh bash sbb dh mmg keje diorg utk impress org dgn iklan.

• alfie60 on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:27 am

The main reason most car manufacturers in Malaysia are putting Turbo kit in their cars is because the shitty Proton have told the government to impose high taxes on on non Proton with high CC engine because if these cars are cheap every rakyat wants to buy and own one.Who dont like powerful engine if the cars are cheap!!

These companies has done their homework and realised the Malaysians need for power, without our government burdening us is to turbo charge their small engine and deliver the power and speed.

The every law that Proton have created and imposed to handicap the foreign brands, the stupid shitty proton is trying to join the foreign brand club.

This shitty Proton should be making high CC engine cars and selling it cheaper than those small turbo engine brands.

Sudah ada monopoly also dont know how to use!!!

• Rambo Ramsey on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:18 am

either you are stupid or retards.

90’s trend – variable valve
      2000’s trend – variable timing & hybrid
      2007 onwards – downsizing & charging

• MoFaz on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:52 am

don’t waste your time. no matter what you explain, he won’t be able to absorb and process the info because his brain already full with shitty thoughts

• alfie60 on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Bro you must be one too since you are an expert in identifying retards. Anyway the ERA of internal combustion engine is almost towards the end of its cycle. Just like when we discovered steam engine we thought nothing can replace this technology. All this shit about Proton try to follow EURO trend etc is rubbish. Other EURO trend this shitty Proton dont follow,seat belt pun after dah jual baru later nak kasi pasang.Air bags not standard, CO2 emission pun tak disclosure.

China BYD car company has the right business strategy the fact they came in late in the auto industry,they focus more on ELECTRIC cars by bypassing heavy investment in internal combustion engine. When petrol becomes scarce and expensive and the demand for electric cars increase, BYD will leapfrog most of the western car company.

Proton ni dah menang macam award,best car in the world by Sullivan & Frost, Brighton best ever electric cars,owner of the best sportcar brand(LOTUS) in the world,outside Malaysia kita ni Proton tak laku siapa pun tak nak beli ia mengharapkan orang Malaysia yang bodoh macam you bro to sokong and beli kereta mereka!! I think DSZ and his staff kena mandi bunga untuk tolak sial.Buat apa apa pun tak menjadi!! Zaas….

• fadzly on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:49 pm

sorry to say, sbb ada rakyat mcm ko la yg buat proton sial..cermin diri dulu la beb

• 1 of the stupid post I read today. You made my day. :D

If P1 pulls this off, Campro Turbo is better VTEC (Engine performance, which Honda very proud off). :D

Even such a shitty company could stuck a factory turbo into it’s car. Honda, sleeping and keep dreaming ke? LULZ

• squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:06 am

What’s the proof for your statement? Even DSZ has already told the government to make Malaysian car market to be more open, because he himself wants fair play. It is the government who still ignores his wishes.

Another thing… don’t you realise that the trend of carmakers nowadays is to downsize the engine displacement but to bolt on turbo or supercharger for more power and more fuel economy? Big names like Ford and wak segan have already done it, so it’s normal for other carmakers including Proton to follow suit.

• alfie60 on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Bro dia pun macam Shahrizat juga like NFC issue saying she is clean and fair but we know the real story same goes to DSZ asking the government to open the market so people dont benci Proton brand and get sokongan from public itu aje. Are you telling me if the price of the VW 1.4 Cross Touran sama harga dengan Proton Exora CFE DSZ doesnt mind!!! Biar betul Beb!!!!!

• alfie60 on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Bro squall_shinoda, Lotus already competing in open and fair market!!! I think DSZ got his wish tapi tapi terberak dia juga nak jual Lotus yang tak laku tu!!!

Bayangkan kalau Malaysia open market macam DSZ minta i think DZS and his family members and may be hardcore supporter like you must each BUY 100 proton cars every month if not Proton kena close shop beb!

• hahaha on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:24 am

alamak bro. where r u living la? in pluto ka?
      hahaha… go n check out all the new european cars…all now downsize with smaller CC an turbos. new merc C class C250 cgi is a 1.8 turbo.

BMW gonna stop its straight six inline engine..replacing with 2.0 turbos..

the new turbo tech increases efficiency and also REDUCE emissions..
      In countries like UK lesser emissions lesser tax. and also with 1.6 turbos the engine can even pass EURO 5 tests…

oh ya..new volvo S80…uses 1.6 turbo :)

and so many other cars la bro..

Only kereta Jepun masih lagi ketinggalan zaman…Honda dont even have diesel engines that they are loosing big market in India…

• maybe paul n geng can give out the real fx when all media test the car soon, keep us updated, will ya.

• akupunya on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:19 am

apa2 pun design exora ni totally ugly since the first batch.
    quality of the product and the finishing are very important.
    and very ugly the exora prime was design wih wood plastic console dashboard.
    the plastic is everywhere with bad color combination.

still failed to be a global car.

• Pak Mat on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:59 am

Hey yo!

Jom get this Exora CFE sails beat entire Alza sails and I will walk semi telanjang wearing only miniskirt (printed with that hideous Exora wood trim color) from Proton Shah Alam to Proton Tanjung Malim!

What ‘sails’? Ah, forget about good Engrish lah. Ever heard the band called Bad Company? Proton should give free CD to CFE buyers. Bad company for bad engrish, bad products, bad FC!

OK, now berani celen kah? Place bets now! Let the show begins!

• farghmee on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:13 am

aiyohh pak mat..
      lg misleading statement ke?

exora cfe is only bold h-line & prime
      while alza 1.5sx, 1.5 ez, 1.5sxi & 1.5ezi.

cheit!

• fadzly on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:54 pm

pak mat kote dah kena potong..itu pasai berani nak mencabar mcm ni..
      kah kah lawak la lu mat..

• ayamxxx on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:13 am

back to the business, i think this turbo campro will drink fuel like no tomorrow.
    even cps FC is bad, this turbo campro is getting worse.
    ahh shit u proton.
    always mention their campro is more power than the other competitor, but they don’t realise ther FC is very BAD

• whyalwaysme? on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:15 am

stupid..proton will go further if not under mahathir,,believe me

• ayamxxx on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:16 am

if that the FC of proton turbo, IMHO better I get the aftermarket Turbo for CPS campro.
    Got more power and torque somemore.
    BUTThurt Proton!!

• whyalwaysme? on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:18 am

mostly ppl who comment n like in here are using proton…pity…

• gabla on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:34 am

Exora CFE will provide a better “real world” fuel consumption compared to CPS. The figures for both CPS & CFE above is based on constant speed and does not involve any accelerating & braking.

In real world, you need to rev the CPS engine more in daily traffic to move the MPV due to lack of low end torque. The CPS system is designed to give more power at high rev so at low rev, the engine struggles to move the weight of the car. People tend to rev the CPS engine because of this and this hurts the fuel consumption.

CFE on the other hand, addresses this issue with a very high torque right from 2000 RPM. Coupled with the CVT transmission, the CFE engine will improve the fuel consumption greatly in daily usage where you are constantly accelerating and braking. If you know how to keep a constant low RPM, CVT will help a lot in term of fuel consumption compared to Exora CPS

• DarkAvenger on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:15 pm

I agreed. Although it looks bad on specs for the constant 90km/h, but in real life city drive with tons of start and go, it’ll probably have better FC than the old Exora 1.6 CPS.

• I see something fishy in these pictures..
    Proton (or any other makes) does not usually put direct “camparison” with other makes in it’s official brochure. Especially not in Malaysia.
    Either this is for internal circulation, or somebody just made it up…

• DewaSemut on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:59 am

GUYS! GOT AN EXCLUSIVE PEEK OF THE EXORE BOLD CFE (PREMIUM) TODAY AT PROTON EDAR!!!

Got the chance to preview in two colors – white and elegant brown (same with the test drive unit on the lorry picture). The elegant brown it damn nice!!! Pricing not yet confirmed, estimated to be around RM81K++ maybe.

– The level of fit and fittings is very much improved. :)

– 7 seater (PRIME will be 6 seater), CVT, ABS/ EBD/ 2 air bags & cruise control DVD player, standalone GPS etc…etc

– Good news :) :) is the wooden faux (centre console) trim is NOT there (thank God!)… it comes with of what they called “cubic silver” i.e similar to carbon fibre finish… niceee…

– Smoked taillamp jive nicely with the elegant brown bodycolour :)

– The brown color leather trim on the seat and door panel is spot on! Nicee… :)

– The meter panel is damn nice… totally new design, a breakthru from the old panel meter design from Proton. :)

– comes with reverse camera + LCD monitor intregrated in central rear view mirror (like Kia Forte). :) :)

– No 2 -DIN Bosch head unit though… :(… Could be in PRIME version

My brother fell in love with it instantly and want to make a booking… hehe

• shawal on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:40 pm

Yay, they got rid of the wod panelling~! , could’ve just replaced it with black gloss plastic

but nontheless its good news , but RM81k !?!?!?…..bapak arr….

• shawal on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:28 pm

lol…
    I was looking for the info of the weight for the compared cars mentioned in the slides..
    turns out it is here…
    http://paultan.org/2009/04/15/proton-exora-malaysias-first-mpv-from-rm69998/

• foxis on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:05 pm

RM8xK should be the reasonable price for a car with such equipments. Why got certain Malaysians hope that the price can be selling at below with 80K on such equipment ? Tak faham laa.. certain people just hope that they can get a top-class equipped car with a very cheap price.. that is more or the less a daylight robbery to the car manufacturers.

Alza and Myvi price suffers a lot of such bashers also.

If can’t afford to buy it, don’t bash it !!!

• i like :D

it is better to get Persona Mline Manual for just RM50K rather than Myvi extreme Manual RM58K..i have a large trunk hahahaha :D

for this exora CFE, the turbocharge is design to overcome exora’s weight, better fuel efficiency, higher torque, last but not least, increasing the power..it is all come with 1.6L Campro CFE hehehehe ;D

• Norman on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Whether it’s 8.3l per 100km depends on your periodic maintenance and your right foot.Even If VVT Toyota engine which claims fuel saver but driver tools eons to do basic maintenance also you will get high fuel cost,Believe me I”ve tried Toyota,Honda,Volkswagen and even Hyundai.

• Norman on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:35 pm

There’s seem a slight mistake,Cfe got only a single low boost pressure with no intercooler unlike Peugeot 5008 prince twinscroll turbo engine which kicks out 156hp@6000rpm 240nm@1700-3500rpm. Volkswagen TSI is simply twin turbo with supercharge engine hence you understand why such 1400cc can churns out 170hp/220nm.Yes they save a bit of fuel IF you drive below 110kmh.Another reason why CFE is tuned to 140ps/205nm is because of emission regulation which require at least Euro 4 standards for new cars.If they really tuned to around 145hp/225nm I’m pretty sure CFE only gets Euro 3.One good example why export Civic Euro R is limited to 8000rpm compared to JDM 9000rpm limit is that the first batch if Euro R is banned throughout Europe as the engine only generate Euro 3!Honda managed to limit the rpm to 8000rpm and the second batch gets Euro 5!

• Carl Wong on Dec 17, 2011 at 1:50 am

Thanks man, good to know they’re finally achieving those European Emission Standards. While maintaining and increasing performance, keep reducing those greenhouse gases and emissions :)….!!!

• Wisdom on Dec 20, 2011 at 9:19 am

This is why i’m amaze with fellow malaysian. Non of us really owned or tested the car…. yet hundreds of comment can be found here.
    This is why i never believe in ‘random review’.

Paul, please test the car and come up with a fair report. Thanks.

• Yesterday tested EXORA CFE… 120km = 2.5rpm… Euw!!

• Congratulations to proton.. finally you can keep up with the giants even surpassing them in some aspects..
    A bit of advice… Throw away the politician involved in proton management in the dustbin or better in the stamping machine.. Cause they will bring more harm than good. (except Tun ) Case senario: a young engineer / designer with very good design n ideas brought his / her idea to the management.. just to be discarded by the politician involved in proton with plenty of excuses .. susahlah, buang duit n masa, WIIFM, n lots more.
    And to Malaysian who keep bashing proton relentlessy..
    1. Get a life – komen jer pandai buat takdak – Typical whose ???? attitude .. u think ..
    2. Read history – japan automotive history.. Malas belajar tapi komen melampau (negative2 only – better listen to prof muhaya talk to change your attitude) even the japanese used to be booed so much by some people in the past.. But the japanese people ( politician, common people, engineer etc ) get together behind their industries n do something to rectify the problems.. as appose to us .. keep on bashing till our ears bleed.. If u think the design is bad … draw your own design n send it to proton for free.. n this level of sacrifice is not common in japanese corporate culture.. that’s why they’re number 1…. do the bashers have these traits? i dont think so..
    3. Mod your car yourself n don’t ask your mechanic for help.. then probably you will appreciate the effort n time taken to fix n mod things… don’t become someone who is easily enrage over simple problems such as blown fuse.. He22…

• my exora cfe, initially the fan runs even engine off. Lately, it doesn’t. Any problem?