Hyundai Elantra to be launched by February next year – fifth-generation MD set to be locally-assembled

Some news on the anticipated Hyundai Elantra – it’s coming early 2012. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has announced that it plans to launch the fifth-generation vehicle here by February, at the latest. The MD will sport an Inokom prefix, and the car is set to be locally-assembled.

The sedan, which is also known as the Avante in Korea and other markets (yep, the photos are of Korean M16 GDI Avantes), will be available here in two engine variant forms, these being the 1.8 litre Nu MPI and 1.6 litre Gamma MPI.

Both D-CVVT engines will be mated to a six-speed transmission, built in-house by Hyundai. In terms of output figures, the 1.8 litre Nu four-pot will offer 150 PS at 6,500 rpm, while the 1.6 litre Gamma mill puts out 130 PS at 6,300 rpm.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wtf ! on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:24 pm

why so late :( ELANTRA IS THE BEST CAR IN USA ! beats Japs.

• Prius used to be be best car in us too… but it doesnt sell well in m’sia…=p

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:03 pm

R U Dreaming ?

USA Car Sales November 2011

Toyota Corolla – 16,115 (YTD 219,250)
      Honda Civic – 17,133 (YTD 200,690)
      Chevvy Cruze – 13,238 (YTD 215,057)
      Hyundai Elantra – 12,414 (YTD 173,336)

Another Con Salesman try to BSh**

• BN=barang naik on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:22 pm

the BEST car is not necessarily the highest SALES car!…aiyoooooo

• commonsense on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:00 pm

of course not necessarily the car with highest sales.. but that is one of the way that we can measure.. then how do you define best car?

• Then how did you conclude this is the best car? Like that Perodua Myvi ‘Lagi Best’ lah.

• jeffvip on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:33 pm

best car does not means best selling. Pl differentiate it. Ferrari better or Myvi better?

• commonsense on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:02 pm

what kind of comparison is this??
          please factor in the price also

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Then Tell Me Myvi Best Or Ferrari Best? Which 1 Can U Afford?

• jeffvip on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Ferrari better of Myvi better? I heard Myvi is selling more

• kimi_ on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Myvi is better in terms of fuel consumption !!!

• kimi_ on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Myvi is better because it can seat 4 instead of 2 !!!

• m3 csl on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:20 am

so if myvi is the same price as a ferrari you will buy myvi?

• Wrong point! pls lah Myvi is selling more coz they are way cheaper than the super expensive super car Ferrari…Korean still cant beat the Japanese cars…

• ..well u have to refer to the launching date la

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Are u daydreaming ?

The best selling C segment car in US is Corolla, Civic, Cruze.

Elantra is only at distanced 4th place.

• :D i love chevy cruze

• yh Inc. on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Those Korean car supporters, please go ahead with this, go please.

Finally the sales figure tells. Same thing happened to Sonata and Forte. Many people supporting in blog here but finally…….disappointing!! haha. what a big joke!

• witchy on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:26 pm

finally, waited for a year for this car. Time to finally trade in my honda city

• haha can’t wait for it :)

• Chilavert on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:24 pm

i have been waiting for this car also. if price below rm85k, this will definitely be my next car. hopefully the inokom badge (locally assembled) can bring the price even lower. and the first thing ill do is the change the logo LOL. cant wait !!

• Unforgiven on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:21 am

The steering wheel will have a middle finger pointing at you, just like Inspira where you will be facing Proton logo and not Mitsu.

• hopefully priced similar to Forte. Say bye2 to Vios, Altis or Civic.

• Hope so.. last time rumored at 90k.

• Masker Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Similar to Forte mean bye Bye to Forte, even at present price Forte can even touch Vios, Altis & Civic.

Forte & Elantra will kill each other. :-)

• Out of Luck on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:54 pm

Elantra will kill Forte only if the price and specs are similar. The spec for Forte in Malaysia are really really good. Just hope that Elantra can have similarly good spec.

• slumber on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:45 pm

I don’t think Forte will compete with Elantra spec wise.
      Forte comes with torsion beam at rear where as Elantra comes with multi-link suspension at rear.
      Possibly they will advertise Elantra as a better handling variant.

• waterman on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:25 pm

the price shall be higher, just the matter of how big is the gap in between,
        as hyundai in korea are more premium than Kia and the price is also higher than kia. spec can be very similar (well depends on SD) because most of the parts are sharing between both platform.
        will forte die because of latest elantra? well.. different ppl have different point of view on the look of the car..
        but for me yes elantra looks better than forte.. (even i’m driving one)

• WTFISTHISHIT?

Locally assembled and Inokom badge??

• Out of Luck on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:52 pm

Who cares which badge it carries? As long as it is priced lower than CBU price, then it’s always a win win for everybody. Can always change the badge later. Just looked at Proton Inspira, I hardly see any of them on the road. All I see left and right are Mitsubishi Lancers :)

• Senxes on Jan 17, 2012 at 3:21 pm

I thought left and right were dominate by Toyota Vios, Honda City and Perodua Myvi..? Lol

• CK200H on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:34 pm

saw one in the states, it looks like smaller sonata with more curve. Nice and attractive look.

But I will never buy a Korean car in the next 10 yrs.

• michael on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:41 pm

it will be priced > 100k. i think.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Finally it is coming here, nice car.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Copycat like my nick name so much & decide to impersonated me, looser !

• mamamia on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:06 pm

henshin!!!!!
      ***both of you,what kind of masked rider?ryuki?decade?kabuto?hahaha

• honda civic facelift?

• farghmee on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:53 pm

2012, a year of excitement!

• Avante on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Same as the Avante 2011 ??

• bobby on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:57 pm

So this car will have INOKOM badge ?

Price should be much lower than normal RM110k plus minus ?

Maybe around 90 to 95 ?

Any information in the interior ?

• ss427 on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:08 pm

You may drop by Singapore Hyundai showroom to see how the interior looks like.

Else here’s the official brochure for the Elantra.

http://www.hyundai.com/sg/en/wcm/groups/webcontent/@hmc/documents/webvehiclecontent/276938.pdf

• Out of Luck on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Very good looking car, just like a smaller version of Sonata. Would be super great if they can offer it as turbocharged instead of NA engine.

• Scoobylution on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:02 pm

More choice for c-segment next year, the new Proton P3-21A and this Elantra. New Civic and Altis?

• mustafa on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:03 pm

yes price should be close to Forte….

• 4agze on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm

the most beautiful car in Korea right now besides the K5. get the 1.8, put in 17″ wheels and you are good to go..too bad about the rear torsion beam suspension

• hidayat14 on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:14 pm

what is MD? and it will spot inokom badge??? NOOOO!!!!!

• BN=barang naik on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:17 pm

At last!!!…below 90k please!

• Alter on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:20 pm

So beautiful!

• _xXx_ on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:24 pm

CKD? So, can 1.6L be below 80k?

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:37 pm

CFE boleh smoke ini kereta lah..

• Derrick C on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Put the “Korean” batch aside, I think Hyundai has really done a good job in the recent years.. Keep it up!

• I’m puzzled, why must such a nice looking car be badged as Inokom? Same as the i10. Why can’t it be done like the Toyota, Honda, Nissan & Mazda where even tho assembled locally, the original manufacturer’s badge remains? Is there really a lot of difference in terms of pricing? Better still, can it be done like Peugeot’s SKD?

• Masker Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:52 pm

The price of this car will determine whether it’s sell well or end up flop like i30.

Since this is going to be Inokom, the reasonable price should be similar to Forte.

1.6 = RM 85K
    1.8 = RM 95K

Korean Car r known to have low residue value, it must compensate by offering low selling price, only salesman would not agreed with this.

• ong chin aun on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Yes, It is much waited dream car !! For those faithful to Jap.brand Car, don`t pour on cold water (sour grapes) to other make. Compare and be critical thinking. In olden days, German or U. K. Brand =The Best . sure it is still I suppose. and things not up to their expectation, oh.. Japanese products. haha. That is few decades ago scenario.
    Same apply here , new era, things changing fast with new technologies. We must be more proative and positive thinking , accept realities.
    If the price is right, sure the it will be sell like hot cake. Bravo, Korean

• sarawakiana on Dec 23, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Agree, remember those days Proton Waja was way better than the earlier Elantra (third gen)….

• Protongkat new Tuah….habis lah cannot beat this new Elantra…million light years ahead….

No thanks to Tongkat NAP, new Tuah can hide behind open competition lah ha ha ha

Look at Hyundai design lah Protongkat look look look that’s how car design done right

When new Tuah launched it’s already outdated dah why slap Sorento frontlight just to beat Forte for what???

And yes the next generation Forte 2013 also on sale soon lah
    NEW FORTE 2013!
    http://blogs.insideline.com/straightline/2011/08/spy-photos-elantra-based-2013-kia-forte-sedan-testing-in-the-us-five-door-and-koup-confirmed.html

Die Tuah die try to beat Forte but forgot about Elantra…takkan Tuah hilang di dunia NAP….

Oh ya if Protongkat design own engine Campro why the price keep on increasing eg.Waja Campro, CPS higher than Waja Mitsu engine price….where is price savings not paying Mitsu royalty not passed to buyers kah…

So forget about Civic Corolla, try beat this two new Forte and Elantra in real open market around UK or other Euro market can fool the whiteys there or not ha ha ha…Global Car konon…anyway keep on selling it RM32,557.19 at Protongkat Saudi Arabia lah…Bravo!!!!

• mamamia on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:18 pm

give a clap to proton basher!!!!

• Out of Luck on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Actually, a lot of things mentioned by Ajaw are quite true. Anyway, can we get back to discussion about Hyundai Elantra instead?

• zaazeezuu on Dec 16, 2011 at 11:47 am

ajaw, please check your grammar before you post anything. my head is spinning as i try to understand what are you trying to say. rather than we make others confused, writing in Bahasa is the best alternative

• mmouse on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Inokom Logo looks like a dick. Would your want your Elantra to have a dick logo?

• BN=barang naik on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:20 pm

haiyaaa..tukar saja laa..ape susah…macam tak biasa

• Unforgiven on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Forte also let you choose between Naza, Kia, K logo, just choose whatever you like upon collection..

• WHERE THE HELL IS THE VELOSTER?!!!?

• waterman on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:31 pm

i just back from korea, i’ve seen tons of elentra and veloster on the road.
      korean said.. veloster is a good looking stupid car… LMAO!
      but it definitely eye catching, hopefully there’s a turbo kit available soon to match the outlook..

• Charles on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Plotong will not allow it to be priced below Inspira.

• jerry tan on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:09 pm

totally agree. remember few years back a China car call “QQ” it looks like Chevrolet Matiz? info from a guy at KLIMS told me the car came from China plus all the shipment, the car cost less than 8k (exclude tax….if tax 200% = 24K), but was forced to sell 30K above. because the selling price cannot lower than Perodua Kancil 660 (Rm26k)

• aiya… got bored already waiting for this car…

• if this mid size Elantra mean to be compared with Civic/Corolla at Vios/City price it might be a good buy. But still, dun expect selling this car within 3~5 yrs becos it will cost you more then corolla/civic initial purchase price.

• honestly.. i was so trilled with this model until i spend a few days in Philippines.. saw this car in real life..i just like mehhhh..

all i can say.. if i buy it today.. i am already thinking about what car that i will buy next.. thats me la.. up to you guys la..

• salgoodguy on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:33 pm

ha ha..seriously same with me, back to the first day i got my RUSH( no test drive) ..already think to change other car..maybe this one in my list next year..

• I dont like the design. It’s overdone. Too much bulging, bubly and curvy. Does’nt spell some solidity….

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Agreed ! Elantra doesn’t have the lasting looks, I prefer Mazda 3 & Civic which is just the right amount of curve.

Remind me of Silicone enchanced Bimbo, looks nice at first glance, soon u get bored of them.

• Wait until u all see the actual car, then only u know how beautiful she is. Then when u look at civic again, its so boxy.

• Agreed! Elantras design is too curve reminds me of my pubic hair.

Mazda 3 & Civic’s curve like david beckham’s free kick, which is at the perfect amount of curve.

• SpeakUp on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:59 pm

I wonder if they will bring in the brown/beige interior, only Malaysia sells everything in black and grey, its so ugly. The lines are so sweet and if priced around 95K for the top of the range then it will be a sweet buy.

However, I hardly trust the reviews, even from the US. They sang so much about the Sonata and when I drove it, it was far from a superb car as they described. You hear creaks here and there and the handling was not good for a car in that price range.

Wonder if the Elantra will be really as good as reviewed in the US … February looks like a good time to change car … :0)

• jerry tan on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Inspira 1.8 Killer!!!

• Out of Luck on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Inspira 1.8 auto is already dead on the water. Went to Proton showroom and the salesman said for 1.8 manual and 2.0 auto, owner waits for car while for 1.8 auto, car waits for owner. Anyway, each has its own merits: Inspira for buyers who still prefer Japs DNA for lower price, Elantra for adventurous buyers or those who prefer value for money.

• Unforgiven on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:30 pm

I’m sure anyone will prefer a Mitsu Lancer over Inspira, unless he’s somewhat related? Please be real, Inspira look sucks as compare to Lancer GT…

• SpeakUp on Dec 18, 2011 at 1:50 am

My Lancer is so much better than the Inspira in soooo many ways. When I got the Lancer many laughed at me, they stopped when the drove both cars. LOL!

• Gunner84 on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:31 pm

A pretty looking car which offer more accessories and modern design than Japanese car (same segment)…Just concern it’s quality since it’s CKD and after sales service…

• Haha. Nice capsule Inokom badge on two of the Elantra’s photo. Elantra in February and Civic in March, Kulim SD manufacturer vs. Melaka DRB Hicom manufacturer, looks like a very tight competition though both are still typical M’sian quality. How I wish this Avante is CBU from Korea and you can rest assured of the quality but price would be an issue if that occurs. Wonder will the Tuah receive the attention next year?

• man furb on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:06 am

NO SINGLE CAR IS A PERFECT CAR…..WHEN THIS ELANTRA ARRIVES ON OUR SHORES…RUSH TO THE NEAREST SHOWROOM & TEST DRIVE ONE. THEN THE NEXT DAY VISIT ANOTHER BRANCH AND TEST DRIVE IT AGAIN….DO THIS A FEW TIMES SOON U CAN TELL WHETHER IT IS REALLY WORTH YOUR RM OR NOT…..DONT STRETCH YOUR RM IF U ARE NOT CONVINCED AFTER A FEW TEST DRIVES. I OWN A HONDA FREED AND IT IS MY 1ST HONDA. THOUGH IT CARRIES A HONDA BADGE IT DOESNT DRIVE AS GOOD AS MY LAST CBU HYUNDAI MATRIX DID…..WHAT A PITY

• CiViC on Jan 10, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Yup,i do agree bro.. FD2 was my 1st Honda & it was very9 disappointing.Lots of problem here & there & excuse given by SC..’it’s normal la bro’.need to to upgrade & repair on your own then..Miss & regret to let go my Waja before.. ;(

• Unforgiven on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:14 am

I really hate the business idea of Naza badge, Inokom, P2 and Proton Inspira. Anyway, the Inokom badge do looks like middle finger, imagine the steering wheel logo is changed and you will be looking at it (dick) every time you drive, interesting…

• zanggief on Dec 16, 2011 at 10:40 am

Coz of the fuel quality thus we can’t affort the GDI model…so only get the MPI model….

• Overhead kick on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Does Mazda 3 copying Elantra or Elantra copying Mazda 3?

• Masked Ryder on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Current Mazda 3 launched since 2009.
      Current Hyundai Elantra launched since 2010.

Does that answed your question ?

• I want to buy this car in Hyundai Logo. Inokom logo suckzzz. This car really best and cool. Guarantee buy!!! No regret!!!

• Hyundai Elantra is the best!!! Buy with no regret!!!

• Earlier everybody say Korean cars no second value due to high petrol consumption. This car is the lowest petrol consumption in the market and will have the highest second value when you plan to change car in future!!! Buy with no regret!!!

• sarawakiana on Dec 23, 2011 at 9:54 pm

The third gen elantra was a bad dream…

• Japan Cars Korea Cars
    *Have a good amount of *No far behind now
    sparkling technical history of
    building tremendous cars.

*Short term warranty period *Long term warranty period

*Large quantity production, ie: *Quality under control for imported
    Imported or Local assembly car
    (May loose quality control, cause
    recall back effect)

*Engine 5-7 years no upgrade or *Engine every 3 years got improvement
    inprovement in terms of horsepower, fuel consumption,
    torque and etc

*Price RM80k-90k for 1500cc *Price RM80k-90k for 1600cc

*Accessories tranditional base *Accessories follow the technology era

*Maintenance between RM200- *Maintenance between RM230-280 a bit
    280 for normal service, for major high than Japan Cars on normal service,
    service a bit high cost. but on major service the cost was lower than
    Japan cars, so average cost still same as
    Japan cars

• demio121 on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:54 am

last day of Feb 2012.

• Where is the CAR?? Wait until I get fedup~~ Now the launch date is delay~~ Hyundai reduce the retail price as compensation for buyer patiently waiting~