Proton Exora Bold – brochure scans reveal all!

Yet more on the almost-here Proton Exora Bold. Reader DewaSemut has kindly sent in hi-res scans of the latest Exora brochure, and there are plenty of details about the vehicle. Externally, the Exora Bold features a new radiator grille (for that “fierce” look, the brochure says!), rear smoked combi-lamps as well as reworked bumpers and side skirts.

The Bold 1.6 range actually encompasses three models, the Executive AT and MT CPS-equipped versions as well as the Premium CVT, which is the eagerly-awaited turbocharged CFE model. That’s a total of three different gearboxes available with the Exora Bold.

The Premium CVT, as previously announced, has 138 hp at 5,000 rpm and 205 Nm at 2,000 to 4,000 rpm for output numbers from its 1.6 litre CFE mill, which is partnered with a CVT gearbox, and adding to those numbers are a 185 km/h top speed, a 0-100 km/h time of 13.3 seconds and a fuel consumption of 7.8 litres per 100 km.

Interestingly, the specs table reveals that the new CFE engine is not merely the regular Campro engine with a turbo bolted on. The stroke of the engine has actually been shortened from 88 mm to 86 mm, thus resulting in a smaller overall displacement of 1,561 cc versus the Campro CPS 1.6’s 1,597 cc displacement. We’re looking forward to having a chat with the engineers to find out why exactly this change has been made.

The 1,486 kg MPV features all-round brake discs and rides on 16-inch wheels and 205/55 series rubbers, compared to the disc/drum and 15-inch, 195/65 tyres combi found on the CPS variants.

In terms of features, specific to the Premium CVT are leather seats and a leather-wrapped steering wheel, front fog lamps, a rear spoiler, electric foldable wing mirrors, cruise control, a reverse camera and rear view mirror with LCD viewer.

Meanwhile, the Premium CVT’s centre console trim comes in a chrome-like polished finish called Checked Cubic, and its air condition vents are done in Liquid Silver (the CPS models’ are in Tempest Grey). Lastly, the Bold range comes in five external colours, these being Cocoa Grey, Elegant Brown, Plum Red, Genetic Silver and Solid White.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• gabla on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Proton Exora 1.6CFE:
    1.6L 138hp 205Nm 4592x1809x1691mm RM79k??

Toyota Innova:
    2.0L 136ps 182Nm 4580x1770x1755mm RM102k(AT)

Nissan Grand Livina:
    1.8L 126ps 174Nm 4420x1690x1590mm RM99k
    1.6L 105ps 150Nm 4420x1690x1590mm RM90k

Chery Eastar
    2.0L 134hp 185Nm 4662x1820x1590mm Rm86k(Leather)

Exora CFE will provide a better “real world” fuel consumption compared to CPS. The figures at constant speed do not involve any acceleration or braking thus not representing the “real world” situation.

In real world, you need to rev the CPS engine more in daily traffic to move the MPV due to lack of low end torque. The CPS system is designed to give more power at high rev so at low rev, the engine struggles to move the weight of the car. People tend to rev the CPS engine because of this and this hurts the fuel consumption.

CFE on the other hand, addresses this issue with a very high torque right from 2000 RPM. Coupled with the CVT gearbox, the CFE engine will improve the fuel consumption greatly in daily usage where you are constantly accelerating and braking. If you know how to keep a constant low RPM, CVT will help a lot in term of fuel consumption compared to Exora CPS

• High Hp does not match with cvt, it will destroy the gearbox faster. If u constant accelerating and braking, the cvt will burn faster. wat for u save $ on fuel and pay more to replace gearbox?

• gabla on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:52 pm

I prefer to believe the engineers, they have done their homework, not like some pakcik behind a computer screen.

• up to u la… time will prove my statement

• GT-R fanboy on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:25 am

how about nissan teana 3.5L? it use CVT too and it have 252 PS and 326 Nm of engine power! who said CVT does not match with high HP? and for your information proton have CVT cooling oil!

• farghmee on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:01 pm

not entirely true.

cvt, same as other type of gearbox, has torque limit that it can withstand.
            if this torque limit is breached, then there is a high risk of the gearbox will kaputt.

why amg6.3 is not mated with kancil gb? that’s the answer above.

• Loneranger on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:30 pm

pls answer that mat…….

• Ex-protoner on Dec 16, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Relax…
            Time will tell.
            Some Engineer are more of a marketing.
            But for me…proton similar to potong when you have experience with your gearbox need to change every 3-5 years than you know what I mean.
            If I were you, I don’t want to be the geanie pig or lab mice.
            Wait for 2-3yrs down the road than only see want to buy or not.

• plz talk with technical. ckp mcm tak sekolah.

• jebon on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:58 pm

aiyo ah beng don’t comment like u the expert…study pon lintang pukang want to comment like engineer pulak … proton is the best

• Agree, proton is worlds no 1!

• No.1 from the back…

• sagatron on Dec 16, 2011 at 8:42 am

Basher will always bash proton..lame ass.. my friends from singapore & thailand, proud that malaysia has its own national carmaker..they always ask me, “why people always bash their own national carmaker?”..oh, they also add that, “is this typical malaysian thinking?”…not just that, they also add that we should be proud of that, because they do!!!!

• the day proton become no.1 or even top 10 in world…you and I and everyone here will no longer be on earth…

• Bash doesn’t mean not good, in fact Proton have serious quality problem, you can always think Proton as No.1 while you keep sending you Proton to the repair centre every month ?

• foxis on Dec 16, 2011 at 11:25 am

Encik Noob, when pick-up we look at Torque figure… when we want to see max speed, we rely on horsepower… Like that you also don’t know still want to comment. Pick up good at low RPM means save fuel becoz you no need to have high engine rotation.
        Don’t simply use the term if you don’t understand what does it means !

• forgot_86 on Jan 25, 2012 at 12:09 am

@Mat
        Please do ur research before commenting. FYI, Exora CFE is using CVT vt3, instead of CVT vt2 to accommodate the higher HP and Torque.

sos
        http://www.punchpowertrain.com/en/products/cvt/vt3

• Price?

• Expatriate VN on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:57 pm

“Externally, the Exora Bold features a new radiator grille (for that “fierce” look, the brochure says!”

Ha, ha, ha, …………. another bullshits claim in the brochure! U think this jaguh kampong have a “fierce” look – a.k.a the tiger head badge/logo is “tiger-poster” stick to the wall only. Never they can compete in open market. Without NAP, runaway like headless chicken.

Let all the blinds supporters click thumb down or idiot attack dogs come out, but I don’t give them a 2 sen consideration since they are all cheapor cybertrooper.

• and u think proton or the BN government gives a shit about ur whining? lol

• rocky on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:33 pm

exactly…. proton dont care because they are too happy sucking away at the the faithful customers who buy proton….no but i think…. if more people know about how crappy proton is.. the earlier it WILL DIE… and everyone in malaysia will benefit from better and cheaper cars.

• Loneranger on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:52 pm

how confident u r bout when Proton not around, imported car will be cheaper?

please read how Korean PROTECT its industry. no imported car allowed in Korea till 1999 and though now they have lifted it but there still issues of other things that imported car owner have to bear extra cost besides tax.

dun u think Korean also sucking its ppl;s money coz as far as am concern, only recntly Korean made car produces good cars but before that it also produces lousy cay (try to quote what Proton bashers always say bout Proton car) but do the ppl have choice? no they don’t sir. but from the income they got by protecting their industry, they manage to build good cars now…..and it doesnt take 26 years for them to do that …..it is more than 40 years for Hyundai to achieve where they are now. juz an example.

i would say car price will much higher if Proton is not around becoz G have to find way to get back whatever tax Proton paid from other source ie: higher import tax, higher road tax, higher toll, higher petrol…….and maybe at that point of time we can only afford to buy recon/2nd hand imported car which is not needed in its country of origin but due to lack of space to keep it or high cost of demolishing it, they are making money by selling it other countries like us where we are proud to drive recon/2nd hand imported car. but again, nobody cares becoz it is IMPORTED CARS anyway….i should be proud coz am driving am IMPORTED CAR……

• Masker Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Imagine if those who clicked on thumbs up make a booking each, p1 will make huge profit, unfortunately they dont, coz they r p1 salesman… hehe =p

• anak malaysia on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:05 pm

how bout spoiler bring to the moon? tales story or what…

• dontreallycare on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:08 pm

if you can effort to by a bus, why you still want to bark here? shoooh!

• profiler on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:29 pm

agree. This is only for those in lower bucket of budget. If anyone feels that they can buy more expensice car, then u dont belong here

• zimmer 600 on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:09 pm

mairek punya citizen. tarak otak

• Let all the blinds supporters click thumb down or idiot attack dogs come out, but I don’t give them a 2 sen consideration since they are all cheapor cybertrooper.

and yet u still bother commenting? lol

• fadzly on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:38 pm

yo dick head, why so butthurt?
      are you being liwat by proton ka? kah kah kah

• Expatriate VN on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Ya, not only me, but all including you “liwat” by NAP, cronies, P1, AP King, ha, ha, ha ……………..

• scania3600 on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:16 am

ni jenis otak pembangkang.. tk pernah reti hargai apa2 atau compare apple to apple..sincerely.. melainkan menyalak mcm anjing dan menipu sana sini seperti bapak ‘peliwat’ mereka (PR)!! xhbis2 dgn ‘kroni’, NAP AP.. shit political mileage!!

• kivatt0024 on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:39 pm

as usual from this fella…..boring points to bash 4…..

• Nizam80 on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Can’t help it can’t you? Seeing the word “fierce” then all of a sudden so excited to bash. LOL. Actually, I find your comments hilarious… along with that other guy who dreams of living in Arab Saudi and loves TONGKAT!

• lalok_stylo on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Expatriate VN

ape la ko nih…..
      cmne Malaysia mau maju??
      ptut ko bg la sokongan kt proton….
      aku bkn pro-porton, tp klu ko tgk kt korea, diorg byk pki hyundai….
      jgn ckp psl skrg la, hyundai mmg da ok….
      tp dulu kete hyundai ntah pape, tp diorg still pki gk….
      diorg ttp sokong hyundai….
      n ko leh tgk betapa bgusnye kete hyundai skg….
      so, sokong la proton….
      tp klu xnk pki proton pn xyah la kutuk atau bash……
      ape ko x nmpk proton makin bgus??

• Expatriate VN on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Kau boleh mimpi mat jenin P1 boleh memajukan Malaysia. Yang ada tu NAP, kronies dan AP Kings hisap darah sampai titik darah terakhir.

Hang ni bodoh dan ditipu atau masih tidur kah? Kalau u support jaguh kampong ini, bermaksud u support kronies vendors, mereka untung besar boleh kahwin empat dan boleh hidup super mewah bagi 7 generasi akan datang. Bangang betoi, kalau semua otak udang macam hang support kronies membabi-buta, seperti Datok Idris Jala cakap, negara akan bangkrap pada tahun 2019, bukannya maju pada Wawasan 2020!

• apeng on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:41 am

so kalau beli kereta luar spt T,H,M dll tu support org luar mrka kaya smpai cicit tkpa ker ?mereka makin maju sb rkyat mrka & org spt Ex VN yg fanatik brg luar n benci mebabi buta…

• GT-R fanboy on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:44 am

you sir are very very annoying!!!!! Please shut up i cant hear a GT-R Revving!!!

• lalok_stylo on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Expatriate VN

aku peduli ape diorg kawin bpe…..
          klu diorg nk kawin 10 ke 100 ke aku x kesah pon…..
          aku xnk ckp psl politik tp klu ko sokong brg buatan Malaysia, ekonomi Malaysia pn bertambah maju…..
          klu ko dok bli kete T&H je, diorg yg maju….
          ape la, 2 pon x leh nk pk….

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:53 pm

This guy has no point to bash now… have to nitpick words from brochure… kesian..

• Johnny on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:01 pm

All that turbo n still slower to 100 than the standard model. What a joke!

• b0nb0n on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:22 pm

bcause of the transmission la bro…use ur brain la

• Johnny on Dec 16, 2011 at 9:04 am

Stupid excuse. So what is with all that turbo hype? A SCAM?

• Brother… turbo is not about faster accelaration only…
          turbo is more a preference than a larger displacement engine in an underpowered car…for the sake of fuel consumption andlower emission…it saves ur tax as well…
          and what is the purpose for you to accelerate fast in a family -oriented car?
          you wanna bring ur kids in roller-coaster experience everyday?

• GT-R fanboy on Dec 18, 2011 at 5:31 pm

dude there is a typing error in that bronchure the real 0-100 km/h is 11.3s!!! not 13.3s.

• McQueen on Dec 19, 2011 at 6:04 pm

0-100km/h of 11.3s is listed on Proton Edar’s website:
            http://www.proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Exora/PricingSpecs.aspx#info

• McQueen on Dec 19, 2011 at 6:06 pm

You can find 0-100km/h of 11.3s listed on Proton Edar’s website:
            http://www.proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Exora/PricingSpecs.aspx#info

• Panda on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:54 pm

LOL. Strange but true. The brochure says it all. Another poor decision by proton.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Publish and compare the NCAP rating and CO2 emission as well, GL, Chery E and Innova will “smoke” out Exora easily!

• chery? seriously u support china cars?

• bodo….support kereta komunis…mangkuk…only komunis love commies

• squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Tau takpe… dah nama dia pun pelarian vietnam, sebab tu otak komunis… memang bodoh nak mampus je mangkuk ayun tu…

• why not u publish co2 n euroncap rating for grand livina, toyota innova n chery eastar mr expat?
      Why nissan, toyota n chery never publish them, i wonder why.
      Since u r so good n talk like u really have everything under ur hand, now show us the proof, i would like to know what is co2 n euroncap rating for grand livina, toyota innova n cherry eastar, it would be interesting info.
      But if u cannot provide any data or link, u r really a cheater,liar, dumb n dumber. Once a liar, always a liar, remember…
      Em,someone use my nick, so,please use others or somebody will be confius,tq.

• lol, I wonder y u choose my nick? prob it’s easier to type, now I use zul, contain same latter as mine.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:52 pm

This is the maddest of mad attack dog, despite give you simple history lesson in the pevious posting about R & D, which the jaguh kampong sorely lacking of it. Your idiotic brain is as good as dead, you can disagreed with what I said and argue why T, N and Chery don’t publish CO2 emmission and NCAP rating, and non-availilibilty of such information, you accuse me as a liar.

Being below the belt attack dog, it is easy to use anyone and anything as punching bag for the sake of “menegakan benang yang basah” – bodoh sombong of the highest order!!!!!

• brazbuz on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:03 pm

since when all those car complied NCAP???? at least exora tested at IDIADA…..

• GT-R fanboy on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:00 am

I drive a GT-R R35 2009 model and smooked shity looking toyolta inovva and Chery eastar very badly.

• and the interest rate is 3.++>4.++ damn..

• Colour: ???
    Looks: ???
    Reverse Camera: ???
    Price: ???

Good job proton !
    I must say that I’ve seen a LOT of improvements in proton. Keep up the good work. You are heading towards the right direction.

P/S: Just ignore those blind bashers… they’re like trolls, the more u feed em, the bigger they gets !

• cortina on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm

yup, 100% correct. let they play in their black blind world. f@#$ing b@#$%^d.

• DewaSemut on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:29 pm

SZ,

Inspect both in elegant brown (like in the pic) and solid white… both are niceee… but i love the elegant brown colour… fits Exora nicely as compared to Saga FLX… make the Exora looks more “premium” IMHO.

reverse camera + LCD in rear view mirror (just like Kia’s) available for Premium CVT variant only.

price not confirmed yet. Above RM80K est.

The rest of you, dun worry… the manager said to me – tommorrow (16/12) sudah boleh datang kedai! See for yourself, then judge for yourself.

I must say I am impressed! My brother want to place booking oredi.

• P1 Basher on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Ko dok puji proton lebih-lebih ni, macam la ko nak beli exora ni.

Cakap kosong boleh la. Beli la exora ni tanda sokongan kat proton.

Baru la orang respek ko sebagai peminat setia proton.

Cakap pandai. Beli taknak. Ehh.. Tapi bagus juga proton ada ramai orang macam ko.

Yang puji 100 orang. Yang beli 2 orang aje. Hahah..

• farghmee on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:29 pm

yo bro,

kalu ada improvement mesti la puji.
        sokongan moral tu.

ko kalu kata suke ferrari, ada ko bli ferrari?

$ org, sukahati la org tu nk bli apa.

talk is cheap.

• squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:14 pm

So what…? At least penyokong senyap camni ada gak la sumbangan diorang pasal sokongan diorang tu jadi doa untuk model ni berjaya. Same thing gak, katakan kalau ko minat Liverpool tapi tak datang kat Anfield untuk sokong diorang, adakah tu maknanya ko bukan peminat sejati diorang ke…?

• lalok_stylo on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:34 pm

P1 Basher

sekurg-kurgnye x mengutuk mcm ko…..
        mcm la ko pandai sgt wat kete…..
        ko wat la 1 kete yg lg bgus drpd kete proton…
        ckp je lebih….

• aku dh beli & aku dh promote ramai org beli eventhgh aku bukan salesman. keta exora aku utk bisnes sewa aku dh ade 4 buah. semua org terkejut bila sewa exora for the first time. diorang kata best memandu tak mcm avanza or innova.

• Teori domino on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Basher, ko gi jual broadband je la…senang xde enjin, xpayah nk bertekak kat cni…mcm x de akal komen…sedar la ko berpijak di bumi mana skrg…selamanya…selamanya…selamanya…

• GT-R fanboy on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:56 am

are you P1 WIMAX basher?

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:13 pm

wow!

• the vocab … hehehe . since it is targetting at malaysian market, i dont have any comment.

i realize that they have rebrand

lotues ride n handling –> proton ride n handling ?

• proton? on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:18 pm

if u work in proton, u’ll know that the tuning is done by proton engineers. A few years back yes, lotus did teach proton how. Now it’s all proton

• that front bumper really look nice.why 3rd party bodykits manufacture never thought about it

• Dak Ajan on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Stroke Vs Bore..!!
    I prefer Big Bore and Short Stroke..
    A winning formula for higher power

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Fuyoo, proton try to think out of the box, aiming at MPV Performance car… wtf

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:10 pm

Aiyoo Exora Better that Citra & Rondo Die Lah.

If P1 put CFE inside Satria Neo = Veloster & Koup Die
      If P1 put CFE inside Tuah (Espire) = Elantra & Forte Die

The Original Masked Ryder

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Doesnt matter, as long as proton car still survive

The Original Masked Ryder

• Tanaka Livina on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:20 pm

I would love to have a test drive!!!
    Just wonder, how does it feel having Turbo on Exora…

But people, please this is Exora, not Evora. Don’t expect too much… ;-)

• but 0-100 kph 13.3 secs….still slow….maybe still underpower like my crv..but flat torque…so okay kot

• Absolute Rider on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:11 pm

It’s not Performance Turbo Engine, so it will not give you Nissan Skyline kind of performance…. ahahah

• thumb up!

• thumbs up!

• anti-vios on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm

good job paultan to reveal this new exora version!!!!!….
    thumbs up!!!!

• eggman01 on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Looks good..Best Proton!!!

• kurang budget on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:37 pm

bagussss..mesti non turbo exora 2nd value drop banyak…boleh lah aku cari exora 2nd dlm rm30-40k nanti…baru lah mampu nak rasa MPV proton…takyah berutang keliling punggung

• Ah exora, such a good car actually..bought my very first proton (exora mc) and after a year, the car still in tip top condition..an i kidd you not, ZERO problem with it..zero! Also own a toyota unser and a 3 series , but somehow i always choose exora to drive around with, simply because it is so comfortable…im sure this new version will be better :)

• Nizam80 on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:40 pm

The Premium ones have CFE and CVT. But, are the Standard & Executive (CPS) variants using CVT transmissions as well?

• fadzly on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:41 pm

185kmh top speed for a big mpv..
    i wonder what will the speed if this engine is being transplant into persona…

• sp3d2 on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:40 pm

You are right bro. Honestly i think the new persona would make that perodua lagi best lagi power fans chill to their bones!

• any halfcut for this one?

maybe can put inside neo :D

• littlefire on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:45 pm

“The stroke of the engine has actually been shortened from 88 mm to 86 mm”

My guess is to make the engine easier to rev ( higher hP) due to shorter stroke? As normally short stroke engine does have better HP..

Anyway sad that P1 didnt upgrade the safety (No ESP :(), even the power already upgraded… The R&H marketing already promoted since P.Wira S.edition/Gen.2 time… Hope that P1 really consider as adding ESP even as option, as it can also help market it better..

• squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Actually it is to lower the compression ratio so that the CFE engine will be less prone of knocking. Higher density of oxygen in force-aspirated engines means more tendency of knocking, so the compression ratio must be lowered to avoid knocking.

About ESP, actually Proton is ready to introduce ESP; it’s just a matter of time. The indicator blanks on the Saga FLX and Exora Bold has already prove it. Even with ESP, people can die when they drive like idiots.

• Optiplex330 on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:33 pm

If you are driving at 90kph on a wet highway and a lorry in front of you suddenly dropped a box of cargo onto you path, ESP may save you. Without ESP, you will be in big trouble.

• pacifictuna on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:11 pm

well the increase in power is mainly to address the lethargic campro 1.6’s low end torque so top speed and acceleration is not a priority. i believe buyer look for drivability instead of sporty performance….

• i believe ESP will be introduced in the Persona R/Proton Tuah concept/Proton Espire/P3-21A/whatever-the-shit-the-name-is. maybe it’s still in testing phase.

but yeah i really hope that they can include ESP in later batches of this Exora. Proton handling is very good but in an MPV like Exora, suspension tweaks alone doesn’t work.

• yrauzim on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:50 pm

WOW the BOLD is coming to town!!
    BTW, when the Exora Prime version will be launched (6 seater)?

• rajaiskandarshah on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:00 pm

hm… the cvt looks like there is no option to change between auto and manual modes (similar to saga flx)

• rocky on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:34 pm

fierce? why do you need a fierce MPV?
    i only need a reliable, powerful enough, big and safe MPV….

proton sucks la…. dont buy proton… get a second hand conti better.

• Optiplex330 on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:41 pm

I don’t think the word “reliability” and “second hand conti” are related.

• nebula87 on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Perodua Alza…SAOPEI LA!!!!

• Bold itu apanama?

They can’t find a proper moniker in BM ka?

• niceone on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:40 pm

As much as i’m excited to see this new Exora variant from Proton, I’m actually more excited too see how the engine + turbo will perform on Neo or the new Persona R. Kudos to Proton!

• Francis Keng on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Breaking point? Hehe, note this in active safety section

• TurboQ on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Hi all, i hope got ppl can answer my Q. I dont know about turbo. Wat in my mind is alway think that turbo is to hard push the engine run on next level. I think im wrong :p.
    Any1 here can let me know wat is the lifespan of turbo engine? 5yr? 10yr? 15yr? Will different car manufacture turbo lifespan is different? Eg: bmw vs proton… >.<
    Maintainance high?

• There are generally 2 types of turbo, small turbo and big turbo..

For exora’s case, manufacturer like ford ecoboost, vw tsi, they use small turbo to achieve max torque at low rpm. It is NOT about pushing the engine to run on next level, it is making the engine to run at the optimal level even at low rpm, start 1.5krpm. Turbo lag is minimal.

For Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, Subaru WRX, GT-R, or big cars with turbo, those are hard turbos to make the engine run on the next level. You’ll notice some turbo lag in these kind of machine, generally below 3krpm.

Life span, you ask the engineer at BorgWarner. They are they one that decides the life span. What might help is to service the turbo according to the experts (at BorgWarner). This will prolong the life of the turbo.

• Optiplex330 on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Been running turbo diesel for many years. AFAIK, you just have to religiously adhere to the official maintenance schedule, correct type of engine oil and clean air filter (best is original air filter and definitely no K&N) and you should be OK. And if you are the paranoid type, a turbo timer may give you a better peace of mind. None of these are difficult to do.

• akupunya on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:53 pm

heran korang dok puji exora gabak ni gila2.
    exora murah sbb polisi kerajaan yg nk bela proton sampai cukai keta luar sampa 300%.
    exora ni org dh pakai spec interior even exterior yg hodoh ni.
    cuba tgk estima, starex…org kt malaysia ja yg pakai keta ni dikategorikan mewah..padahal harga sebenar tk mahal mana pun…kena paksa pakai exora budus ni…

• Good work and thumbs up for Proton
    Finally turbocharged model release, one step further for the achievement
    But what is really sad is the marketing strategy, or whatever they called.

for me, proton should stop making new version of the same model, by adding up some
    significant features. in this case, the proton exora. how they think they make their early customer who bought the P. exora in the early release two or three years before?
    proton should know the capability of 1.6 CPS to mounted on the large and heavy body of exora before they start to sell in the open market. and now suddenly, the new cps turbocharged to overcome lack of power and torque?

take a look to saga flx, which is currently released with CVT gearbox.
    after thousand of saga sold, they come with CVT gearbox. how do they make the cusomer who support them feel??who bought the earlier version of saga BLM, or FL.

my point is, proton should design the model the right way and release for customer choices, leave the old and profit priority marketing strategy behind, and so you may create people trust, and happy.

come on, maybe right now people dont bother, but trust me in the future, you
    a very bad perception down to you proton, you lost your people trust, and so there is no way to go. why? because the only profit you can make because you sold your model or product in Malaysia, we support you, and that the only why you can stand today.

this is not a warning, critics but this is a fact, so im as a malaysian, feel so sad and bad to express this in public.

• Optiplex330 on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:56 pm

I beg to differ. I think what Proton did is normal practice and what other commercial company will do to extend a product life cycle by incremental improvement. For example on engine. 1st batch will not come with Turbo but 2nd batch will. And who knows, may be 3rd batch will come with super charger plus turbo. Ditto number of air bags and ABS and ESP etc.

• gtmaniac on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:19 pm

As an Exora owner, i m very much happy with these upgrades & additions made since they went out in 2009, especially the much needed low-end boost… and the leather-wrapped steering!

• akupunya on Dec 16, 2011 at 7:24 pm

you pakai exora sebab harga rendah. kalau estima harga sama mcm exora, u takkan beli exora ni.
      stop puji exora la….dlm malaysia boleh la sell tinggi…kt luar boleh kira dgn jari

• forgot_86 on Jan 28, 2012 at 12:38 am

Kalo ferrari harga sama mcm estima, org pn takkan beli estima
        Nk cakap sume org boleh bro
        stop condemn exora la…..dlm blog boleh la cite gebang….kt luar bkn nye ko blh buat pn

• Ha Gnih on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:26 pm

My office is just very near to the port authority and yes, was pretty intrigued by this new Exora the moment they unloaded it into the yard. First of all, the redesigned front end really got me noticed and yes, love the new color. Now, waiting for launching and get my hands on them wheels for a spin. Proton is (surprisingly) improving for the better. Thumbs up !!

• i luv malaysia on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:27 pm

hatiku sudah tertarik sama ini exora la :)

• Sport Rim from Pug 5008?? At least now Proton realized what ‘sporty’ mpv need to looks like..

• Absolute Rider on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:38 pm

More Power. More Style. Space is a bonus.

5 star – using good and correct language (all english).
    5 star – with turbo power
    5 star – interior upgraded and especially exterior really looks BOLD
    5 star – space is a bonus as Proton stated.

Myvi lagi best and Myvi lagi power lagi best

no need to say how many stars. but….

1. using mix languages is a thumb down.
    2. lagi power lagi best. talk like a racer. bigger engines is always better.
    3. exterior looks ALIKE like 1st generation Myvi and just like 1st saga facelifted to
    Iswara. the platform and chassis still consider same.
    4. space is not a bonus because luggage space even smaller than old myvi.

Sorry, just my personal opinion.

• lalok_stylo on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:39 pm

good work proton…..
    keep improving….. :-)

• peaceaim on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:39 pm

Mana itu wood trim? Gone already. Seem like proton hears us.

• wooden pg kat prime cian prime huhuh proton buang itu wooden plastic adoi

• looked at the brochure, everything is awesome except for the GPS. it’s sad that the GPS is not integrated into the ICE head unit.

and hey, rear view mirrors with integrated reverse camera LCD? that’s just awesome for a Proton. because only Bugatti Veyron and Kia Forte has this feature STOCK.

even BMW, Merc, Mitsubishi, Nissan and many other Japanese/European/American cars doesn’t have this in their stock model.

not even Perodua. sarcasm/

• peaceaim on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:52 pm

Also gone that so called bosch double din unit. Sad…

• JeremyNg on Dec 15, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Come on guys !!!!! Exora is not a performance MPV ….. why every1 keep talk about the rubbish 0-100km/h time ??!! Turbo engine is not necessarily a performance engine la. Now 21st century d , engineers figured out turbo engine can actually save fuel & reduce emission. U wan fast dragster car ??!! Get a true performance car pls. This is a family car la.

if Proton improve the performance, FC increase u all complain again… We all noe Proton technology is not as good as other Euro manufacturer what !! Hopefully , CFE will be a good base of Proton turbo engine.

Weirdly , why no people compare the Mazda 5 and 5008 de 0-100km/h time ??!!

• Absolute Rider on Dec 15, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Never ever again. Gave me enough nightmares already. ~ protong

• bongok…compare apple to apple la…if wanna compare……malu la..
      Peugeot 5008 9.7 secs
      Madza 5 9.0 secs
      Proton 13.3 secs

• JeremyNg on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Are u sure Mazda 5 0-100km/h is just 9.0 sec ??!!! Mazda 5 engine only produce 137 PS , 175Nm from a 2.0 engine …….

• lalok_stylo on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:59 pm

agree with u……
      this is mpv not a race car…
      i dont think time for 0-100kmh is important for mpv…..

• thanks perodua. finally proton did excellent job..even the brochure also looks similar to myvi se brochure(arrangement). too bold…..anyway good job.

• eims @ gold on Dec 16, 2011 at 8:58 am

2 funny things i found

1- u dont call urself “fierce” when it is not so “fierce” look as said. a bit like poyo :p
    2 – call it charged fuel efficient but the FC figure on chart is higher than not CFE. i knokw maybe in real world it is more likely to be more fuel saving than others but based on chart…people will look at the chart..

But on the other hands, its a good model from proton. very nice features. GPS, Cruise Control! reverse cam/gps is saperate from screen will not disturb our children to watch movies. definitely better than other in its class. another things is, malaysian mod heads will surely loves the engine. hohoh.. Good job with the engine. after this, maybe we can see more turbocharged models from proton.

But i wonder whether this good model could beat p2’s marketing or sceptical mind of many malaysians people who hate local brand & thought foreign brands is far far away very good.

i,m a proton’s fan. i,m aiming for reev… if CFE exora costs 80K… most likely exora reev will cost higher?? ihsk2..

• Loneranger on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:29 pm

REEV tech is not cheap……..esp for small car manufacturer like Proton…..

pls dun compare with car manufacturer who produces millions of cars annually….

simple math..the more u buy from supplier…cheaper will it be…:)

• November on Dec 16, 2011 at 5:39 pm

i can c that proton hv improve a lot. good job proton. i myself owned 2 protons, no problems at all.

• makeitmine on Dec 16, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Proton, the job is not done by just launching this car.

You should invite a group of independent international car reviewers to provide feedback/comparison for further improvements before making huge inroads into the export market. InASEAN, EXORA is almost tops in Thailand and Indonesia. Outside ASEAN, Australia is on the waiting list. Perhaps some parts of middle east as well.

• sape rasa nak exora beli je..duit masing2…

• Ponek on Dec 17, 2011 at 1:02 am

Sesapa yang beli exora ni, bermakna dia orang bodoh takde akal. Dah tau keta mahal dok beli jugak. Kalau korang nak tau, Proton adalah UMNO & UMNO adalah Proton. Sesapa yang beli keta Proton bermakna dia jadik talibarut UMNO & mengkayakan UMNO. Bongok.

• ntahaaa on Dec 17, 2011 at 8:48 pm

adik.. jgn bising2 pasal teori politik bodo ko tu.. mintak tolong yea

• Aragon on Dec 18, 2011 at 8:32 pm

Bro Ponek..kat sini bolehlah ko kater bongok..cuba ko sound kat sedare mare ko yang pakai Proton tu ..mesti diaorang sound balik..”Bila last ko kena pelempang ha?”

• Ponek Akal Singkat on Dec 19, 2011 at 9:29 am

Sia2 org tua hantar pi skolah. Ponek…oh ponek…
      ko memang jenis keliru….tak de ilmu dunia & akhirat langsung…
      genap 40 org dislike….termaqbul doa…

Ni citer kereta weeiiii….bukan lalak politik…

• politikus busuk on Dec 19, 2011 at 11:25 am

pelik jugak otak pembangkang nie.. tgk kat event diorg majority yg dtg bawak keter proton jugak… hahaha

• Wisdom on Dec 21, 2011 at 9:33 am

May i know what car is DAP? PKR?

I bet their car is Alphard, Estima, and the likes.
      Pretend they need support as if they are lack of money, pretend travel in economy class flight, pretend they are building a charitable country, but back at home, collecting luxury cars and building big fancy house/s.

Politic talks will never end. Which is why us, the car enthusiast, should stick our interest solely to cars, and not mixing politic into them.

• abu bin baharom on Jan 28, 2012 at 12:21 pm

adik, cuba bawak bertenang, lu ada belajar U ke, ada pergi sekolah ke, ada guna jalan raya ke, adik turun saja dari rumah , kerja makan, pakai, dan balik kerumah semula, apa yang adik guna itu adalah jasa UMNO dik, sebab dia jadi kerajaan dari dulu, kini, dan selamanya kot, jadi bersyukurlah jangan tunjuk satu jari kat UMNO 4 jari lagi tunjuk kat adik tau, he he sabarlah, belajarlah jadi orang ok.

• ntahaaa on Dec 17, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Juz test drive this car.. I give a big smile..
    Long term quality durability, haish.. Proton, hmmm..
    Need those CFE in satriaNeo.. lol

• Proton is getting pricer… Push up the price now to 80K with those unnecessary accessories… I just one a basic CFE with CVT, Airbags and ABS. Please don’t go back to the old days of Proton Saga / Iswara with unnecessary accessories…

• fikichan on Dec 19, 2011 at 9:02 pm

new engine better performance perhaps…but proton when u will change your typical 80’s designed radio/player??

• eims @ gold on Dec 20, 2011 at 11:25 am

@fikichan..
      this exora bold got clarion, bluetooth, saperate cd player so u wont bother ur children to watch cartoon at the back while u can connect the front cd player to bluetooth or other device etc. the DVD player at the back has build in player where u can download videos from internet, put into thumbdrive & u can play the video., can play mp3, etc what more u want to ask?
      the sound system is very good already.. video player is saperate from GPS also a good thing..

is this clarion is 80’s ?? or u are who still living in 80’s..?

btw..i test drove exora bold at proton portdickson.. result is satisfying.. :)
      body felt heavy & stable but the engine power is good. CVT is awesome.
      press the pedal a bit only, i didnt realize i reached 100kmh. RPM maintain 2000RPM+
      love the auto cruise. sound insulation is good. driving at PD uneven road felt quite smooth.
      outside, styling is nice, 16inch rims, tinted & door visor, auto side mirrors are already on the package.

conclusion is its a good product by proton. already got the essential stuffs plus more..
      price, its ok already la, i think its already suit the product.

• Jezza on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:55 pm

Well done proton for this major steps!!

After this hope to see a bigger change in all model…installing ESP in Inspira,DIN,HID lamps,
    mybe even turbo for inspira then we know whats rulling the street……
    lets make people sying“Damn that ispira!!My M3 struggling to keep up man!!….ha3

Goodd job…..cheers!!!

• saya dah order exora cfe…test 3x..ok jeee..xde masalah…

• abu bin baharom on Jan 28, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Belum pakai atau pun tak pernah pakai exora, tapi komen macam pro, haiyaa ini macam malaysia punya citizen ka, semua orang bukan ada sama taste maa, lu banyak wang belilah mahal punya kereta, jangan beli proton, tapi wang pun tiada, kereta mahal pun tiada tapi mau komen busuk sama exora apa pasal?. Wa sudah pakai exora CPS sudah 2 tahun maa, ok apa tak apa hal pun, minyak lebih kurang 16sen/km ok la tu, tapi kalau bawak laju macam hantu mesti lebih maa, Orang komen busuk proton, tapi cuba tengok atas jalan raya apa kereta yang banyak proton juga….lagi orang kutuk lagi banyak orang beli proton, itu saga lama 1985 pun ada lagi maa atas jalan raya, kalau proton tarak bagus 5 tahun kereta sudah jadi scrap maa. Orang proton buat R /D bertahun test enjin mau kasi masuk dalam exora, tapi ada orang boleh komen macam 2 walaupun belum pakai lagi exora, tau itu stroke pendek boleh rosak crankshaff la apa la, wa salute la sama itu orang,

• Foong on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:22 pm

oi cilaka…
      lu apa manyak support sama itu plotong?
      lu kirja plotonka?
      Tarak duit beli keleta mahal kalu duduk diam diam la cilaka punya olang.
      Itu ploton selupa lu la tarak boleh pakai punya…
      Bodoh punya olang sibuk mau komen saja

• topeq on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:35 pm

haha.
    everyone talked about performance, 0-100 faster. this is a MPV for god sake. u buy this car to brought all ur family all together, send ur child to school, drive ur moms to the market. why u people want 0-100 km/h faster? u want to kill ur family hah?? think with ur brains la mister. don’t be like stupid pembangkang. different class of cars, give u different amount of power, and suitable for each class. u want faster car, go ahead, buy proton satria Neo R3.. don’t buy this car. f**king malaysian thinking. i hate when think that malaysian is this kind of stupid. hey, believe it or not, we are the only country in Asean that produced our own car and sell it under the tax. u don’t like it here, fine, sell all ur belongings in malaysia, and request with the government that u want to change country. go ahead, stay at singapore, heck, stay at Japan for god sake, where u can buy cars like u buy cloth. F**King stupid basher. comment to this. and see, u are a stupid Malaysian who never achieve nothing. i am Malaysian, and i’m proud of everything She ever produced, even Harimau Malaya kalah pun i sokong la.

• mazlan ali on Jun 03, 2012 at 11:43 am

I dont care, I wiil buy exoranext mnth

• Ziehani on Dec 07, 2013 at 12:03 pm

All cars are the same. semua bagus. but if maintenance not done properly, of course you cars will have high risk. I have used Proton gen 2 for more than 7yrs and yet its still in good condition. Even my Nissan Pulsar K1, 17 yrs its still in good condition but now problem is hard to find parts.