Kia Forte – does leaked image reveal next-gen model?

Click to enlarge.

Kia’s Forte sedan hasn’t been around all that long, being launched in the second half of 2008 (and making its debut here in late 2009), but it seems that the boys at Kia have already drawn up its successor.

A sketch with a series of profiles has been leaked, suggesting that what’s been penned is the next-generation Forte, depicting a far more flowing form than the current vehicle. Website Kia World, which revealed the image, alludes that the new Forte is set to make its official debut in 2012, and thus as a 2013 model year offering in the US.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• LoveGames on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:11 pm

It’s like sex in a suit.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:14 pm

That’s a new descriptor, indeed. :)

• yh Inc. on Dec 16, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Wao wao wao. Korean car maker playing the game wrong way in this car manufacturing industry.

European or Japanese car maker design a car which last for 5-6 years and that’s why the resale value still remain high. This korean car maker playing the game in their own out-of-market way and change the model in 2-3 years time. No wonder the resale value drop like shit. Every new korean car will be outdated in a very short time. Who is going to put their money in?

Their strategy is clear, change the model fast, change the technology fast, low quality, people change car fast, they sell the car fast, the more money they gain. This is the only way they fight with Japanese or continent car.

Those Korean car supporters still worshiping the fantastic design of Korean car? huh? haha! Please wake up! This is the truth!

• raymee on Dec 20, 2011 at 4:18 pm

true, you can see even LG and samsung so fast change their model. People who own current product feel what they own currenly is out dated

• Masked Ryder on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Well Well Well ! Now Korean also Facelift, Facelift & Facelift.

Look like a re-work Elantra or Honey i srunked Optima.
    So much for laughing at US Camry is bigger Corolla.

Anthony the current Forte may be launched on 2008, but i already looks dated, from the side view it is very obvious it a reworked of old Avante, this new one look like reworked 2011 Elantra, no matter who their disguised Side profile will reviewed it true identity.

By The Genuine Masked Ryder..

• Out of Luck on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:41 pm

That’s because Elantra and Forte shared the same platform. This new Forte looks very good but I don’t like the wheel design. There are leaked photos the new Forte test mule, although it’s heavily camouflaged, you can still see the new headlights design.

• De Neiro on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Another Remarkable Masterpiece from the Rising K-Car
      Envy by the too much dump loyalist Jap-Car Die Hard Fan (Mati Keras)
      Totally outclassed the Over-priced and Outdated Jap-Car
      No wonder people like the Mask Ryder keep depress and hypertensioning each time the Genius K-Team produced another outstandinh work!

• Masked Ryder on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Of course stress la. My sales dropped, monthly comissions now almost non-existence. Can’t pay for my overpriced Vios monthly installment. Even my wife left me for a Korean car salesman already.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 16, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Poor Fake Masked Ryder, u still in B segment ah ? i already pass Vios range long long ago lah ! Korean car salesman in Malaysia mana boleh cari makan, that why can only klentong in this Blog that their car is very good & sell very well, but every time MAA figure publish, pecah temberang liao !! :-)

• hippo on Dec 16, 2011 at 4:16 pm

I disagree. I’m proud owner of T car. It might not have the hot look, but the looks are lasting. No doubt the Forte is hot in design, but, for me the look seems dated quickly. The new one seems hot though

• lemon on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:51 pm

seriously, how did a blind man like u can see the pic? Its stated thr NEXT GEN,NOT FACELIFTED!!

• Airbob on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:54 pm

go buy your altis or civic

• jalan54 on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:55 pm

I know design is personal thing, but can you please define what is nice and good for you???

You are comparing with which cars saying this design is dated???

• David D on Dec 16, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Facelift? What a lame excuse to bash this car, man. A 5 year lifespan for quite a new car like this is kinda short, reminiscent of the lifespan of the Mark 5 Golf. Let’s not fret, however, it is a welcome change as it shows how all cars are improving.

Come on, give some credit where it’s due. This is an all-new car, not a facelift, so it’s a commendable effort. At the same time, i’d hope Honda and Toyota will make heavily refreshed versions of their Civics and Corollas, and most importantly, as desirable and likeable as how their predecessors used to be.

Got a problem with the Koreans or any other car makes for that matter? Well, for the record, the car isn’t even out yet and you’re all out, bashing it with no substance. So, unless you have some proper feedback, and not just lame-duck excuses like sales figures or whatsoever drivel, i’d suggest you to keep that mouth of yours shut until you can come out with proper points.

Oh, and dont bother calling me stupid names like how you did in every other post. It reflects your immaturity. And how rubbish a blind supporter like you can turn to be. Gosh.

• Out of Luck on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:20 pm

That’s the problem with some of the die hard Jap-car fans prowling Paultan.org. When their favourite cars underwent minor facelift but release as All-new, these fans clapped and sang praises saying how good it was. Good example would be the latest Avanza facelift. When Korean cars release all new design, they kutuk-kutuk saying it’s just a facelifts. Then there’s also P1 vs P2 fans bashing out on each other. Sigh!!

• CommonSense on Dec 16, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Typical narrow minded malaysians lah !! … In their mind T and H is the best although it offers much less and is way overpriced for it’s package….

They rather pay more money for less features, etc …. let them be…

• Masked Ryder on Dec 16, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Ah Hah, David De Long Winded Boy Again (How Predictable).

This is call Recycle Facelift, Just like Mamak Stall Recycle Food, Day 1 Fried Chicken, Day 2 Turn into Ayam Masak Merah, Day 3 Mashed it turned Begedel.

Hyundai launched current Avante in 2006, by 2008 they facelifted the same car come out with Forte, Then by 2010 they lauched new Avante again by 2013 (Estimated) they faclifted the same car, Walla New Forte, so the same car have double life cycle.

Infact some old Hyundai/KIA even reached country like India & Malaysia to be recycle again for the third time, eg Spectra, Ria, Citra Baru, Getz, Santro Xing, Accent Excecutive, Sonata Transform & etc.

Offcoz all the Klentong Salesman & Fanboy/dog will shout “Miracle, Fantastic & Bla2 Hoo Haa Prasing” that it been designed by German (Rundown Ex Audi) Designer, & openly copying current VW design (I though he left Audi back in 2006, yet his creation still “inspired by latest VW design :-) isn’t that “strange” ? )

• TurboMan on Dec 16, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Ah, its the Masked Ryder bashing korean cars again. How predictable.

Where are your friends jolo and maserati?

• TurboMan on Dec 16, 2011 at 6:37 pm

I am very bored with my life as a Korean Car Salesman, Business is really bad, maybe masked rider, jolo & maserati can teach me how to clear my stock. :-(
            or at lease entertain me with some laughter :-)

• TurboMan on Dec 16, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Hahaha.

You don even write like the real TurboMan.

Dude. Get a life… You have a sad one.

• howitzer on Dec 17, 2011 at 12:27 pm

lol, this is why i like to see comments in this website.. its kinda of entertainment for me to see this supporters and haters arguing, some kind of childish.. made my day though.. everybody has their points, haters will be haters and supporters too. you just have to be neutral to enjoy these arguments..cheers :-)

• go check a dictionary and find out the meaning of a facelift!!

• He’s blinded by his own mask. Dictionary also cannot see one. His dick ….maybe larr….

• Masked Ryder on Dec 16, 2011 at 6:44 pm

U can see “Dildo Dick” logo everday on ur rebadge Inokom Hyundai Steering. :-P

• i_swear on Dec 16, 2011 at 11:35 pm

NO, he need to check that next gen NOT EQUAL Facelift in the dictionary instead

• Not The Masked Ryder on Dec 16, 2011 at 7:11 pm

It’s Masked Ryder having a hard on for Korean cars again… why is that not a surprise.

Halooo, why do you bother about how other people spend their money? If they like something & buy it with their hard earned money, so what.

How & what somebody choose to make themselves happy is NONE of your business.

Grow up, for heaven’s sake.

• squawk on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:36 pm

The silhouette’s different but other cues don’t look too far off the current one. Looks better than the new Civic though.

• adammo on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:37 pm

looks like same platform as avante

• erm…..baby optima?

• Dean's List on Dec 16, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Nice evolution, korean did it agin…

• OHHH NOOOOO the new Protongkat Tuah surely OUTDATED lapuk design when launch next year!! Globel Car gone kaput lah!!

Protongkat designers must be pissed off why can’t they think like KIA design ahead of time at least 5 years in advance???

Where is Lotus help in design when they needed the most??? Oh ya Lotus still cannot sleep after borrowing RM1 billion from Malaysian banks so the hell for Tuah design lah Ha Ha Ha!

Still have time for Protongkat to redesign Tuah again???

No, No, No the Kroni Suppliers said cannot cancel contract just for redesign, continue buy those crappy ugly auto parts agreed earlier from us Ha Ha Ha!

Takkan Protongkat Tuah hilang di dunia NAP Ha Ha Ha!

• kiasukiasi on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:38 pm

oh here comes the protongkuat tuah comment again. In. Every. Article.

why say malaysian? don’t want to call it bolehland?

this is a car blog. take your kedai kopi politics talk elsewhere

• wow…thats a mean looking design they got there!!! i think they are replacing their models too fast for their own good. not good for 2nd hand value.

then again, we are always getting the model at least 1 year late in malaysia. So i presume this sexy beast will arrive in our shores in 2013? Can’t wait!

• in US 2013….so in Malaysia 2014…it all depends on Proton Sales =)

• ss427 on Dec 16, 2011 at 2:22 pm

http://blogs.insideline.com/straightline/2011/08/spy-photos-elantra-based-2013-kia-forte-sedan-testing-in-the-us-five-door-and-koup-confirmed.html

Compare the sketch with the actual prototype as shown in the link…

notice how similar both cars are? The sketch will be the new 2013 Forte! :)

Swee ah…:D

• Safe Driver on Dec 16, 2011 at 4:42 pm

This looks like a honda civic replica to me. The A pillars small window, the roof linings, the window shape and design, even to the door shape, windscreen. Just that the driver’s door is smaller compared to civic, and the back passenger had a wider door in forte 2013.

Differences are the lights, bumpers, and backlight position. And voila, the Forte 2013. Who’s the designer again?

• Finish Myhead on Dec 16, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Is it just me seeing new Forte looks like Babirusa?

• Wow… Now forte is coming then i should wait for this and not placing my booking for the Optima, or I should go for both? Thanks Kia for bringing us such wonderful design car from time to time. I wish Proton will come to the extend that will bring us good looking car, n especially the cheap plastic in the interior should be improve to a better one. I m own a Proton, but i really which they go to a next level, with the new CFE Engine. Don’t left far behind the korean, but seriously the korean car are looking more and more attractive. From time to time.

• Out of Luck on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Forte and Optima are from different segment. Forte is on the smaller C-segment car while Optima is the bigger D-segment brother. So it all depends on what what you want/need. If it’s a medium sized car then go for Forte but if want big car then by all means go for Optima.

• i prefer this over the new elantra…
    and if those rims come into real life……. it will make me squirt…

• DewaSemut on Dec 16, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Nice sketch… K’s future ammunition for invasion of T & H’s territory

• DewaSemut on Dec 16, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Ermmm… can anyone verify whose hand signature at the bottom right of the sketch?
    Izzit Peter Schreyer’s?

• The Enthusiast on Dec 16, 2011 at 4:14 pm

I bet this would annoy anyone who just bought Kia Forte because, my goodness, this car looks amazing. But I am concerned about its powertrain.

• CommonSense on Dec 16, 2011 at 8:45 pm

It will take at least 2-3 years to launch in Malaysia after US got it….

So if launch in US in 2013 then Malaysia will get it somewhere in 2015 or 2016…

That is at least 4 years away….too long to on-hold car purchases even though it looks awesome….

• Maserati on Dec 16, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Another piece of crap to con silly buyers. It still proves koreans are only good in designing car shells.Their drivetrain,gearbox, steering feel still are so dated and feels terrible.look at forte now, hardly 2 years in msia but looks like its 5 years old already. Even the 6 year old civic looks more modern than a lousy forte.

Korean cars loses it lustre very quickly. When forte came out, everybody say it looked good, now it looks like crap! Dont ever buy a korean car, u will sure regret kau kau!

• arcana on Dec 17, 2011 at 6:45 am

no doubt they have closed the gap to japs, they still need to learn more and they are improving faster than those japs….

now that we seen a glimpse of the future forte, safe to say its still gonna look good, unlike the new upcoming civic, that model just kills of the oooohhh and ahhhs from the previous gen (still selling now) model.

japs gotta learn from the koreans for once…because they always launch a good looking model and screws up the next design.

• ha ha… if there is anything out of date here it is you, poor man!

• ha ha on Dec 16, 2011 at 11:23 pm

good design and best handling is going to KIA, how come this korean make this brand strong? bye bye TOYOta n HONda

• dokcukuppitis on Dec 19, 2011 at 5:48 am

Memang comey ah! Tapi sekeng heng mapuh ah rege dia. Dok rok cetong.

• Looked like a mini Kia Optima to me. Looked okay thou.

• This is a NEXT GEN, NOT FACELIFT!!! please note these 2 are different words, different meanings…please go check the meaning of facelift. yet I am owner of current Forte and is 4 speed model, i have no regret of owning it, a very happy n enjoy it everyday..no matter how many facelift, or how many generations, i love my Forte very much…and another reason is, coz lots of cars (PREVE and new CIVIC) always ppl said looks alike Forte, well, is good that this 1 is total reworked and different design from current 1, at least no more ppl will ask ‘Is it preve or civic?’ or to preve and civic ‘Is it Forte?’…i real hate of those competitors who really copy design