Proton P3-21A – more snapshots of it, out in the rain

Here we go yet again – the Proton P3-21A continues its road-testing, today out in the rain. Reader Mnazri.tan was on the PLUS highway a while ago when the evaluator went past him near the Pedas area. He says that his friend’s Saga BLM was having a hard time catching up in the wet conditions, doing around 150 km/h, adding that the test mule looked very stable and poised at speed.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Yawn……can anyone get the interior shot please…

• MoFaz on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm

it’s nearing the launch time, that’s why you see more & more testing being done, perhaps because more parts being installed from time to time and each would probably need another round of test.
      Interior is not something you can snap easily, you can’t get interior from many other manufacturers before they launch too. we can guess all external features based on exterior spyshots similar to Exora CFE last time.. but we only know about the updated interior when it reach their showrooms.

• anti-vios on Dec 22, 2011 at 12:46 pm

wet condition in high speed… hurm….

• OMG…brother…drive slowly during raining. Testing is not everything, nyawa hanya satu sahaja.

• they doing real scene crash test laaa…haha

• PakAbu on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Yeah. Wet surface testing should be done on a test track (if that’s what they are doing lah). If not, it’s really really dangerous. Not only to the driver but other people as well.

Bad…. very bad. :(

• Johnny on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:21 pm

testing the ESP perhaps?

• Tokey on Dec 23, 2011 at 12:30 am

Doing fast in wet. The test driver want to go home fast for berak la.. Had Asam Pedas in Melaka before, maybe. =p

• Littlefire on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Why dont they use the mules to do high speed test in race tracks or what? Isnt dangerous to test it in public highways? If anything happen to the prototype & also others road going cars, who will bare the accident cost?

Anyway to those car paparazi, just becarefull.. A lot of PDRM HD speed trap is out there… Besides from accident…

• mustafa on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:04 pm

the one with the 207 is nice…it shows the size of Proton relative to the 207…it is certainly much bigger than the 207…

• MoFaz on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:53 pm

pug 207 is small car to begin with. but the 207 has a nice number.. WUU 207 :)

• limaunipis on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:25 pm

that peugeot 207 driver is doing the right thing when its rains, go slow and keep left….safety first!

can’t say the same for another car manufacturer on the right.

• Absolute Rider on Dec 23, 2011 at 8:48 pm

if the car on the right lane is not from proton, sure u will say “GOOD”… “WOW”

stop talking the nonsense!!!!

• no need to report such stories anymore, too many of similar shots/stories, yet, no further details about the interior etc.

• u try la get the interior shot… try cari tepi2 jalan kot-kot the driver stop for isap rokok makan rojak…

• Azlan on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:10 pm

WUU 207!

• apen80 on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:13 pm

takut kena amik gambar lagi la

• Lorat on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Move aside PeugeOUT!
    /waitingforthumbsdownstorm

• it’s kinda boring day by day seeing this camo car. just come out lah. if lower standard compare to korean car better go dai. no hope anymore. way too many snapshot already.

• rally_fan on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Rot, if you dont like looking at snapshots of this car.. please go away and save your comments for something else.. thank you.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Driving at 150 km/h on the highway. Traffic police should issue the driver with a summons. Breaking the traffic law at high speed.

• JACK HAMMER on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:41 pm

if doing 80kmh -> why so slow?? after 25yrs can’t make powerful engine, what a waste..

if doing 110kmh -> hahaha.. my old civic better, can do 200kmh..

if doing >150kmh -> SUMMONS!!!!!

haizzz…

• ong chin aun on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Yes, please show some interior if possible. Of course, especilly the type of engin and some spec. too. any leakage when available for view ? Hope not waiting too long.

• rush hour on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:35 pm

this time the test is on wiper blades. how long they will last. ekekekekeke….

and at what speed it still works.

• Thursday on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Looks pretty solid in design. Taut lines give it a muscular look.

• BLM mana boleh kejar tu……
    takes quite long to reach 150-160 or more…..

that P3-21A easily has much more power and torque then BLM la…

*facepalm*

• Peter on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:02 pm

The shape … looks very much like Gen 2 … especially the tail. Hope there’s a hybrid EV version of this. By the way, Campro’s torque below 3000 rpm is weak (even on manual), hope there’ll be improvement on the engine.

• BLM mau kejar?

P321A has much more power and torque then BLM…
    not to mention BLM has a very sad top speed…

• booooorrriiinnngggg!!

• Johnny on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

side profile is like a persona

• PakAbu on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:28 pm

I’ve never really so bothered before…. but is it a hatchback (a la Gen2’s rear) or sedan? Or both? :mrgreen:

• apen80 on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:42 pm

ok what.. kena saman… nanti baru boleh amik gambar interior….

• Chrome on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Even it black taped, it looks more beautiful than 207, hehehe..

• rosdi on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Just dont forget to put chrome logo on the steering… exora bold steering looks so cheap due to absence of the chrome logo.

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:28 pm

i don’t understand… why all of sudden everybody become skema..? yet demand for power… this one underpower, that one century spin take decades….

all i can say… people just “mengada-ngada”…

150km/h at PLUS highway is normal lah… nothing harmful… as long u don’t zigzag like moron and stay in the outer-most lane… not 150km/h at jalan kampung lah..!!!
    110km/h is just the best figure for highway speed limit

u don’t deserve to talk anything about power at all if u feel 150km/h is harmful… yes harmful if u don’t know how to drive a car… car like Kancil, Myvi and Viva may be dangerous, but those car never built for that fun in the 1st place

• But sadly owner of kancil, viva and myvii dare to drive even more than 150km/h…until pedal reach the floor already..

• HirumaKecil on Dec 22, 2011 at 8:50 pm

So funny… at PLUS i drive 160-200kmh… at least 130kmh… Slow than that is very dangerous.. Feel sleepy… PLUS fast lane is not for those myvi or viva liplap with fancy f1brakelight+led+daylight+hello kitty seat… Syuh3.. men kat line tepi… PLUS fast lane is for satria v6,wira tebo and perdana vr4…

• Skuad T1 on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:14 pm

PLUS Highway is not your private road. You are not above the law. You are endangering other road users. If you cannot stay awake at legal speed limit then stop driving. You do not deserve to have a driving licence.

• HirumaKecil on Dec 23, 2011 at 7:18 am

Ohhh.. So cute… Good boy hah? Dont tell me u never drive 110++… Coz we all know that is BS…

• drMpower on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Who knows underneath the mule, is the hot version of the soon to be out persona R.

You know much time waste if testing done separately so why not do it now

phasing out 2 door satria coz partly because we cant fit in anymore we are fat and blabbery. Another is unless they hire someone who can DESIGN a coupe from ground up, pretty sure we can channel the money to new engine rnd

proton, apart from from mass production purposes, do research to enhance their own engineering ability?

• Right now, the only best thing when u saw this car, follow it where ever it go..tunggu dia stop then snap interior…haha..bored with exterior shot already..and if possible, remove the black tape so we can see the rear light..haha=p

• inderaloka on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Wow, I can feel that Proton are making more surprise. It’s time to shine, Proton!

• Obama on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:16 pm

What next? High speed test with car on fire?

• Absolute Rider on Dec 23, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Very sadly to say….

First case Range Rover Evoque on Fire already…. it was on the news!!!!

• Absolute Rider on Dec 24, 2011 at 8:01 pm

those who thumb down very sad for you guys. it wasn’t happened in Malaysia. go to read the news from internet…. real news….

• mnazri.tan on Dec 23, 2011 at 9:02 am

I was on the PLUS highway yesterday when this car overtake me…i was in my friend’s BLM and we had tough time to catch up, but thanks to a lil bit of traffic and wet conditions, the new Proton decide to slow down a bit thus we are able to catch up….then we both speed up…. At time when we took this picture it was about 140 -150 on almost clear road…

we could have tailing this car much longer, but we need to make a quick pit stop at R&R and after that , we never manage to catch a glimpse of this car from Pedas to Muar…

From what i could see
    a) The tyre profile is probably 195 width, however it does not match with the width of this car. Perhaps not the real tyre. I am not sure, BUt if really is, then it would be a good reason to change to wider tyre. The thing is, this car at close look really masculine. The same feeling you had when you get close to like of Chevvy Cruze, Ford Focus, not in term of quality (as i dont know how good/bad the quality of the new Proton) but without a badge, and with not knowing what car model is this, you would feel that this look like a real deal. Bad ass wide. Tough.Muscular. It is a bit tall tool. In term of proportion, the pictures scattered around the internet do not give a lot of justice. It looked much better in real. If you are those who in love with how the Cruze look like, i am quite sure in term of silhouette line , you would love this car. Other details we just have to wait until someone manage to get this car closer look.

b) Rear light. We manage to get close enough to the rear, however unable to snap picture as it was a brief moment. The driver realize what i am trying to do and he speed up.During that short time, i manage to take a peek via one hole and see what is underneath the black tape. The rear light look quite good. It is almost like the rear light of the prototype tuah. But a bit difference. Material wise, i think they use the same materials as the current rear light of honda civic. not in term of design. But in term of the shine and texture, look like the honda civic diamond cluster rear light

d) the car as you could see is fully tapped up, even the side signal light was taped…if you look closely , they even have writing with marker pen in all door, indicating what is what…. so this car is definitely not for sale yet…it is near to launching if someone come across one model with much less tape….

e) we had bad weather yesterday, light rain from KL to Muar all the way, the road was wet, and yes agreed we both (the new proton and myself) should get summoned, but we were not driving dangerously…we speed up when the road is clear and keep adequate distance, that is true for myself, i cant say the same for the new proton as i couldn’t be bothered to check…hehehhe

f) couldn’t check the brake of the new Proton, the dummy rim cover it…so i couldnt guess whether it is disc brake or not…(it should be la…)

g) tailpipe…i am very sure they use dummy tailpipe on this model i saw, as it looked damn ugly….

• confused on Dec 23, 2011 at 10:06 am

You guys got trolled dy..

That’s BATMAN testing his new BATMOBILE!

• Yucks! Looks like even Batman has a bad taste choosing his ride.

Or Batman is in Budget mode, “gaji belum masuk”. Nobody signing his pay cheque because Encik Mayor Gotham on long holiday.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 23, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Aiyo, so many make noise on this ayam hitam. Just ask Theopolis Chin do a favour by carry out “artist rendering” on all these photos by “removing all the dark tap”. Case settle.

• Sharon on Dec 23, 2011 at 8:56 pm

even in other countries, car manufacturers also doing high speed testing on highway…. it is a real condition and situation test.

every time about proton many bashed blindly. when they don’t carry testing this and that…. you complaint. when they test this and that also complaint.

every time about other car besides Proton many only say good about them blindly. when they don’t carry testing this and that…. no sound. when they doing say high speed test on rainy day….. you people will only say… “wah, the car looks so stable!!!! this and that”

what the???

• AvinLooksout on Dec 24, 2011 at 2:16 pm

I agree…. I have a simple suggestion for all those who insist on bashing Proton just because its Malaysian. Save your money from your street corner DVD business, buy a Jap/Korean car and soup it up to your hearts content like the ah beng you are. And don’t forget the sound system with unneccesary levels of bass for your feng tau fix.

• Sharon on Dec 23, 2011 at 9:14 pm

always say proton car = milo tin.

but when other car also look like milo tin after accident, nobody dare to say a word.

still remember the accident involved toyota innova in johor bharu-mersing, killed 4 young girls on board and 2 injured? the whole car roof ripped off and how’s the car look like?

there are so many accident on the road each day… minor or serious…. the thing is you don’t know what causes and the force during the accident…. don’t just simply make your statement.

• whitesmileman on Dec 26, 2011 at 7:36 am

This is because other brand don’t have the same safety standards as their own countries like the European Union, US, Japan or Australia. Why bother adding ESP and curtain airbags or strengthened chasis when the local competition is so shit?

• even lambo can be milo tin also..

• hope this will come with turbo….then cvt…then vvt….then hybrid….proton keep growing n perodua just waiting what papa says.

• proton’s exterior of new models overall is nice….but the same cant be said about the interior. definitely needs a lot of improvement.

• Quattro on Dec 25, 2011 at 5:35 pm

hope to have electric power steering & timing chain for this one!

• Norman on Dec 26, 2011 at 3:07 am

Saw it last Saturday at PLUS highway too,Was driving my Brother’s Odessey 2.4 and try to catch up with this fella.My meter already shown 160kmh,Was wondering how fast do they drive???

• whitesmileman on Dec 26, 2011 at 7:40 am

Please, please for God’s sake, ESP, curtain airbags… please?

• aero_solitude on Dec 26, 2011 at 12:11 pm

i’m thrilled just by thinking of this model. If it is meant to be a turbocharged, i’ll snatch one right up

• Always said proton not safety….do you think drive 180kmj wil save yourself after excident? pls think twice… bergantung kpd kaki yg tekan minyak..

• bobmalay on Dec 26, 2011 at 10:01 pm

seen at highway to jb

• ayamxxx on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:54 am

last week, one of the Proton Sales Exec told me, this car will replace Proton Persona.
    It will launch on Mac 2012.
    From now on people, stop buying proton persona cause it going to be replace soon!!

• ayamxxx on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:58 am

one more, the new P3-21A will have a Hp of 139 or lest, regardless of their weight cz they don’t want it’s HP to more than Inspira.