Kia Ray EV – Korea’s first production EV enters the scene

Kia has introduced its Ray EV in Korea, and the zero-emissions city car has the honour of being the country’s first production electric vehicle. The car, which is only for the domestic Korean market, shares a general commonality with the company’s 1.0 litre gasoline-powered Ray CUV launched recently; it has the petrol model’s major dimensions. Operating range is up to 139 km on a single charge.

The front-wheel drive Ray EV is powered by a 50 kW electric motor offering 68 PS and a high-capacity 16.4 kWh lithium-ion polymer battery pack – engineered for a 10-year life cycle – that’s packaged under the rear seat and cabin floor. It’s equipped with an automatic transmission offering two drive modes, Eco and Brake, the latter maximising braking power on downhill runs.

The Ray EV weighs 187 kg more than the gasoline model, but the 167 Nm on call ensures responsive performance, Kia says. In terms of performance, the Ray EV does the 0-100 km/h run in 15.9 seconds, while top speed is 130 km/h. As for recharging times, it’s six hours using a 220V household supply and just 25 minutes in fast-charge mode.

The vehicle has a few small distinguishing points to identify it as the EV version. A flap in the front radiator grille covers an electricity inlet for a 220V supply for the slow recharge mode, while the fast recharge mode inlet is where the fuel intake of the regular model is.

Then, there’s the dedicated 14-inch alloys it wears, which improve aerodynamic performance by minimising drag, but surely the easiest way to spot it is from the ‘Zero Emissions EV’ decals pasted on the front doors.

Inside, the Ray EV features a unique instrument cluster, displaying electric motor operation, battery status and distance to recharge. It is also equipped with the first-ever EV-specific navigation system that features a 7-inch screen and provides crucial information for EV drivers. such as the nearest locations of the slow/fast recharging stations.

The display shows a circular shaped area in which the model can travel with its current level of battery power, so that drivers can see which destinations are reachable without a recharge. Some trivia: there are 500 slow/fast recharge stations in Korea, and the government plans to increase that figure to 3,100 stations by the end of 2012.

Since the Ray EV generates no engine noise, which can be a potential problem with pedestrians being unaware of the approaching car, the vehicle is equipped with a VESS (Virtual Engine Sound System). At speeds below 20 km/h, the system delivers a mixture of recorded gasoline engine noises, which are also emitted whenever the car is backing up.

Safety kit includes six airbags and electronic stability features – VDC (Vehicle Dynamics Control) and Hill Assist Control – as standard. Kia says it plans to manufacture 2,500 units of the Ray EV next year, which will be provided to government departments and public offices as part of Kia’s long-term real-world research and development programme.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• pacifictuna on Dec 23, 2011 at 12:44 pm

looks okay… very green.

• blownturbo on Dec 23, 2011 at 12:58 pm

if this is a Proton sure will be condemned like there’s no tomorrow…(-___-!)

• Masked Ryder on Dec 23, 2011 at 1:59 pm

What is this ? Daihatsu Tanto ? Daihatsu Mira Cocoa ? Nissan Cube ? Suzuki Wagon MR ? Subaru Lucra ? Honda N Box ? Toyota Pixis ?

Gosh i can name dozen of Japanese Kei Car that look like this, First Copy VW now Japanese Kei Car also u sapu, Come on lah Peter where is ur Dick ? Ops i mean Dignity after u left VW.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 23, 2011 at 7:34 pm

sorry i apologize, peter did not participate in the EV project. I m such an idiot.

• here come the basher…lets the basher begin..

• Another company joining the EV group (irregardless you see them as god or treat them as shit). In the end still good news..

• Surge on Dec 24, 2011 at 9:40 am

I really do not see any practicallity of producing EV at this moment. Instead they should put all their resources to improve the Battery which is still too weak to power a car. Even with a fast recharge it still needs 25 minutes!

• IMO, the problem with EV is that they do not have enough “refueling station”. By having more of these cars on road, there would be more effort in installing these “fuel station” for them. Which would make the city folks (who doesn’t concern bout long range journey, yet) make the switch.

It’s not just about how to improve the battery, the way how the energy is delivered is just as import as well.

• sawi cool on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:47 am

At current rate, even the fast charge requires 25min.

Imagine when u have a lot of cars going to these refueling stations at the same time…

Hmm, i’d say, Autolib idea of Group Bolloré in Paris is somehow better.

• kereta lembu on Dec 23, 2011 at 2:55 pm

I really don’t understand why some EVs and Hybrid cars must be designed to look like an EV or Hybrid car. I wonder who started the bright idea that such cars must look different from normal cars? Although some car manufacturers are bypassing this idea but you can still tell if a car is an EV or Hybrid by just looking that the design and rims.

Just because they are ‘green’ cars doesn’t mean they can’t look cool!

• Chris on Dec 23, 2011 at 10:14 pm

You took the words out of my mouth! :D

Personally I want an EV that looks like a 60’s Cadillac and whines like a power plant goes online when I start it up, all the instrument panels will light up slowly in a few seconds and maybe flickers a few time.

• ezracopters on Dec 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm

hahaha..

now everyone say wow.. modern bla bla bla just b’coz it made in ”other-than-malaysia”.
    salute to those outside who proudly driving & owning Proton Juara, still.

• Compare interior with the new Exora.. Yea, this piece of “crap” looks better.

• azusa on Dec 23, 2011 at 4:11 pm

why must put a ‘proton’ name in every comment no matter what car is the topic?

• Jack Leong on Dec 23, 2011 at 5:17 pm

because proton will forever become the shadow of other cars :)

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 23, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Ugly looking just like Proton Juara. Juara looks nicer than this hideous looking square monster. Its front will scare away many people, looks like it’s going to swallow you. Ha ha!

• Masked Ryder on Dec 23, 2011 at 6:24 pm

i don’t see the Honda Freak looks any better bro.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 23, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Honda Freed looks much nicer than this freak car, bro. Clap Clap! Bravo!

• NazzGlenmarie on Dec 23, 2011 at 5:33 pm

poor KIA…..

• roadrunner on Dec 23, 2011 at 5:35 pm

juara cousin! :p

• Masked Ryder on Dec 23, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Thanks Masked Ryder for spending so much of time bashing Korean car. Nice, waste more time, die earlier.

RIP

• TurboMan on Dec 24, 2011 at 12:14 am

Watch out.

There is a new self appointed moderator here.

HIs name is Mr Kiasu. Or kiasi or whatever.

• kecohlebih on Dec 23, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Looking at the smart console… feeling our National Car is a bit shame..

• simon on Dec 23, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Toyota bB lookalike

• kusochon on Dec 23, 2011 at 9:48 pm

uhh yet another rip off from korean..

• ThePolygon on Dec 23, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Looks like a car fit for “Lilo and Stitch” :D

• sleepwalkerz on Dec 23, 2011 at 10:14 pm

I would call this type of car as a 7 kg washing machine….

• Geecy on Dec 24, 2011 at 12:19 am

Honestly, I want one. Perfect if it is at the price of a Viva. Nothing beat this for a city/town car. Some manufacturer should start the ball rolling by mass producing it and sell at a marginal price. Which manufacture is bold enough to take the first plunge????

• Hadi75 on Dec 24, 2011 at 11:21 am

Square shape for space…..
    Small footprint for city driving….

• foong on Dec 24, 2011 at 11:42 am

Looks like Toyota Porte

• mentari-o-korea on Dec 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Masked-ryder must be appointed official basher from toyota or honda sales team! I like tgis car design though i never like such type of car before!

• whitesmileman on Dec 25, 2011 at 8:55 am

Ok, maybe the design is a bit boxy, the concept is innovative. Seoul is trying out wireless charging or even charging whilst driving so potentially this will have a limitless range. I do believe in Korean innovation, and even their bread and butter models have overtaken the Japanese in the US.

• Jerry on Dec 25, 2011 at 1:46 pm

The Ray is the Kei EV Japan didn’t have.

• Gosh, this reminds me of Proton Juara !!!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 27, 2011 at 1:17 am

is nice. gtfo bashers.

• Farhan on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:49 am

500 stations..? quite a number

• Jalan2 on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:08 pm

i saw this car they used on Running Man… When i saw this car on the Running Man ep75, seriously, the car is really looking fugly… the design too KOTAK… and PELIKS…