Audi Q3 preview in Malaysia: 26/12/11 to 8/1/12

Guess whose coming to town? Other than Santa of course. The Audi Q3 will be here in Malaysia for 2 weeks on an ASEAN preview tour.

It will be at the Audi Kuala Lumpur showroom from the 26th of December 2011 to the 1st of January 2012, and at the Audi Glenmarie showroom from the 2nd of January 2012 to the 8th of January 2012, after of which it will head out to Indonesia.

The 5-seater Q3 is a compact SUV, and the specs indicated by Euromobil lists a 2.0 liter TFSI four pot turbo engine making 170 horsepower at 4,300 to 6,300rpm, and 280Nm of torque from 1,700rpm to 4,200rpm, mated to a 7-speed S-tronic dual clutch transmission. And of course, you’ll also get quattro all wheel drive. 0 to 100km/h takes 7.8 seconds.

The Audi Q3 2.0 TFSI will be on sale in Q2 of 2012. Yet another runaway success for Audi in Malaysia? If the Q3 follows the footsteps of its larger stablemates, you can expect long waiting lists!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• When PROTON can manufac this type of car?

I think should be change other managment is it?

• since proton main market is Malaysia, well how much SUV being sold in this country? izit justified to invest? I only can imagine that will happen after proton being serious to venture global market.

• How many people in Malaysia will buy a car like this? Is it worth the development costs?

Possibly a new pick-up truck is a better investment for Proton? The Proton ‘Jumbuck’ (Arena) has some success in Australia?

• thomstho on Dec 25, 2011 at 5:10 am

Why so random? PROTON?!?~!?!

• Proton manufacture this type of car then you’ll buy? :) hahaha

• ken dan on Dec 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm

yes.good question.Proton must focus more future..big sedan,suv,big mpv,small compact,

4wd…….where is it?…i think no market.is the management…………

• Sean lim on Dec 24, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Who can tell me how much to this car?

• khaix19a on Dec 25, 2011 at 12:10 am

to me the dullest among all audi

• Ekspresi Ruang on Dec 25, 2011 at 12:32 am

guess it will be no less than RM300k

• TopGear on Dec 25, 2011 at 12:34 am

what is d estimated price in Malaysia ?

• What is the point of having so many new models and advertising when Euromobil can’t even provide basic customer service to Audi owners?

• Boring on Dec 25, 2011 at 4:03 am

Just because you pioneered LED lights and revolutionized head and rear lights designs doesn’t mean you can NEGLECT other design developments, Audi.

What a boring outlook, unless of course if you view it in complete darkness with its lights on as depicted in those four photos. Jeez.. Time to sack your designers.

• The Enthusiast on Dec 25, 2011 at 11:21 am

Boring looks. In this class, the Evoque is probably the obvious choice.

• then what look you want ? new look without bumper, big intercooler to replace a bumper?? lol
      dont blame those designer when you cannot do more than them

• chuakz on Dec 25, 2011 at 12:33 pm

i am with you but evoque costs significantly more…

• ThePolygon on Dec 25, 2011 at 11:55 am

I like audi but for unknown reason I kinda prefer this picture http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=mitsubishi-asx-test-drive-report&image=20101029m_0462b.jpg for the front. Audi still wins in terms of interior.

• RedBeanBun on Dec 25, 2011 at 1:26 pm

the only sit back read in other review is the boot size is shallow due to the speaker.

its challenging x1, so price should be around Rm200K, or else, sayonara.

• ahmadfaris93 on Dec 25, 2011 at 1:35 pm

A good competition against the BMW X1. That’s is all. Nothing more.

• seancorr on Dec 25, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Hmm considering the X1 starts at RM239k without insurance…I’m betting the price of this Q3 should be around there..

• chuakz on Dec 25, 2011 at 3:03 pm

X1 is CKD….Q3 is CBU….but seeing that A4 can be priced lower than the equivalent CKD BMW and Merc…who knows? Euromobil might surprise? If it really is priced at 250k….VW tiguan will die…..

• adolf on Dec 25, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Damn why arent we getting the 211hp engine that the normal A4 2.0 gets? 177 hp is just a tad more than exora.

My guess is that it will be more expensive than X1 considering that in power alone it is better than A4 1.8 TFSI.The latter sells for Rm235k++. But maybe closer to X1 diesel considering the almost similar power output.

• audi always be my dream car………..

• Turbo man!!! on Dec 26, 2011 at 7:42 pm

Checked the car at Audi KL already.

Price: about RM 270k according to the SA with a strong american accent.

Availability depends on demand as the price is quite close to Q5. If the demand is there, the Audi will bring this in next year probably mid of the year.

Bookings are not accepted yet at the mean time.

Look much better in metal. The interior is very nice. But some hard cheap plastics can be found at the lower half of the dashboard. Electric front seats. I remember seeing memory buttons for the driver seat. Cant remember if there is memory on the passanger seat though.

Between a Q3 and Q5, i will take the Q3 but that is just me. What about you?

• chuakz on Dec 26, 2011 at 11:25 pm

my my….tiguan will be in trouble if the audi sells at that price…for me…i will take the Q3 also…I think besides maybe a slight decrease in space….it offers everything that the Q5 does in a smaller package…I don’t need a big boot to carry 4 to 5 plastic bags of groceries every month

• TurboMan on Dec 27, 2011 at 9:17 am

Find it weird that audi doesnt offer the 200hp tune in the 2.0 litre tfsi engine.

I know remap is easy as the drivetrain is exactly the same, but its just weird.

With a 200hp tune, this Q3 would be like a golf GTI in SUV form.

Tiguan might still have a place as it offers more power. However in terms of looks, the Q3 wins.

• pelams on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:39 am

if q3 = 270k
      mazda cx7 is 264k

hmm…

• niuhje on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:29 am

how much how much how much??? oh yea i forgot. I CANT afford it! Stoooopid me!

• Joe Radzif on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:40 am

sekali pandang macam Saga BLM…

• November on Dec 27, 2011 at 12:01 pm

exterior design.. boring boring boring.

• venven81 on Dec 27, 2011 at 5:31 pm

my first SUV at this price range! nothing else (unless i have enough moolah for evoque) :D
    just damn gorgeous…

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:43 pm

seen it in real life. quite ungainly.

• Adolf on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Ive seen it too. The front look is pretty but the dampener is headroom for rear passengers. Maybe suitable for children as passengers, not full blown adult. I wud go for Q5 but is has yet to feature the new grille.