Kia Optima K5 2.0 launched – RM143,888 on-the-road

The much-anticipated Kia Optima K5 has been launched – the D-segment offering was introduced earlier today at Naza Kia Malaysia’s new flagship Kia Red Cube outlet in Petaling Jaya. The car arrives in a single engine variant form, this being a 2.0 litre Theta II MPI mill offering 165 PS at 6,200 rpm and 198 Nm at 4,600 rpm, with a six-speed automatic transmission in attendance.

It’s pretty spot on the dot as to what we speculated earlier in our leaked brochure story, as far as specifications and features go. Pretty much the entire list of items that was bandied are on, and it’s a comprehensively-filled bag.

For starters, there are auto-leveling HID xenon headlamps and LED-daytime running lights, front fog lamps, LED rear combination lamps, machine-finished 18-inch, 10-spoke flush-faced alloy wheels, rear lip spoiler and gull-wing folding side mirrors. The car comes with a single tailpipe, as opposed to the twin units in the 2.4 GDI version we drove earlier in the year in Australia.

Inside, the K5 features a leather interior, a supervision cluster and a multifunction four-spoke steering wheel with paddle shifters and controls for audio, ECO-driving, auto cruise-control. There’s also a six-CD changer audio system with an eight-speaker (not seven, as speculated) Infinity speaker system, replete with Aux, iPod and USB connectivity.

Other items include dual-zone auto air-conditioning, full-width three-piece panoramic glass sunroof, push-button start/stop, illuminated door scuff plates and USB connectivity, as well as a tailgate-mounted reversing safety camera with interior mirror LCD display monitor.

The driver gets an 8-way electronically-controlled seat with an integrated memory seat function, which retains settings for two drivers based on their seating position. In terms of safety, the car comes equipped with six airbags (dual front, front side and full length-curtain) and an electronic stability programme incorporating ABS, EBD, TCS, brake assist and hill-start assist control.

There are also large brake discs for improved braking performance, front active headrests, child seat fixtures at the rear and speed-sensing auto door locks.

It also wears HPD (high performance dampers) as part of its suspension setup, though the units in the local K5 aren’t the Sachs dampers with the Australian-defined tune, but rather a slightly softer tune to accommodate our diverse road surface conditions; we’re told that it offers enhanced handling without sacrificing ride comfort.

Three external shades are available, these being Snow White Pearl, Bright Silver and Platinum Graphite, and the Optima K5 goes for RM143,888, on-the-road.

Elsewhere, a bit on the Kia Red Cube, which is the second such Kia outlet in the ASEAN region. The 3S (sales, service and spare parts) centre features the company’s new modern space identity, and will serve as NKM’s flagship ‘store’ in the country. Another Kia Red Cube is due in 2012, either in the northern or southern region.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nebula87 on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:11 pm

no matter wat, i’m going to get it!! for real!!

• Kia fan on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Exterior look nice but interior look sad, unattractive, dashboard arrangement and gear knob look weird. Still prefer camry or accord. Korean car still one or two steps behind Japanese..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 44
      • jalan54 on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:52 am

sorry to say that you are 100 steps away from others…

• Kia Fan on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:36 am

Hello bro, I’m telling u the truth, the dashboard very old fashioned, like old taxi, pay 143k, and get korean brand, i bet u oso wont buy, just talk nonsense.
          If Kia Forte is still acceptable with the price tag and look. I’m not against Korean brand, my view is from user and car fan perspective. Interior and dashboard look totally crap. Not cool, old man oso dont like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
          • oligopoli on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:52 am

i’d say the dashboard is good design, not old fashioned. any model in this D-segment that’s not old fashioned to you, if i may ask?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • Nissan on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:56 am

Can’t agree with you, but it’s look better if equip with a larger LCD screen. Anyhow, why there is no image for the speed meter?

• TORRES on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:11 am

Kia Fan, im sure you are old!! Since when TOYOTA interior is nice? HONDA yes but not TOYOTA!

• Nick Buddha on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:21 am

Ya right…. totally agreed

• u r oldman? as u also don like

• Design is just a very subjective matter…like it or hate it…
            for me… it’s not one of the best interior… yet…it’s far from bland…
            i love the exterior a lot more…

• exterior look ugly as well as interior

• Masked Ryder on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:36 am

After going through the dashboard i just felt “Dejavoo” it look so familiar

A little google Binggo !!

SAAB 9-3 (2008-2011)

Even the front light look similar too, Ha Ha :-) Korean would alway be Korean, Copy Copy & Copy, but smart thought copy a Bankrupt Mfg need not worry on court case :-P

Now Peter Schyerer (This round I caught u with ur pant down didn’t I)

The Real Masked Ryder

• theanswer on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:55 am

i dont mind the design..as long as the quality is there. u can say accord got nice dashboard design..but from plastic? naah..
            i would say saga lmst dashboard identical to lotus elise..but the quality is different. so design is not so important..as long as u can feel the quality.

• OMG…so expensive…better buy T / H or even Sonata.

• Victor on Jan 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

If no money, dont complaint it’s expensive. Did u heard about Lambo & Ferrari owner complaint their ride is expensive? Yet in fact it is.

This K5 comes with full specs., 6 airbags & 6 speed gearbox. U think T/H cars got it at this price? Dont leave in cave anymore la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • neeshan on Mar 18, 2012 at 2:19 pm

ya agreed…jz becoz every1 says o tok about t/h/sonata doesnt mean its the best..dont be foolish..go for a test drive..H civic with no fantastic feature like k5 also are going 100k + because of ppl mentality..

• squall on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Kia Fan~ i agree. Is Stupid to pay 143k for a korian car. the car spec is ok. design of the car and spec do cought me. but the price is not right for it.
            The car if should sell around 70k – 80 k is logic and plus is Kia., a korian brand car… sorry lah… spare part hard to find. Ok, you say u can order at kia autorise dealer, find, But you will need deep porket. it will cost you alot for that. i am not saying korian car not good. is just it is not suitable to malaysia. cos the korian car is so little in malaysia. no one want to import the spare part for it. plus the car must not sell this expensive.

you will regreat if you buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Are you from primary school? Because you spell words like one of them.

• Winnie on Jan 07, 2012 at 6:27 pm

if this car sells for 70-80K, T&H salesman will eat shit. Please don’t demonstrate your stupidity here. Do not simply claim difficulty in finding spareparts if you haven’t own a “Korian” car before.

Kia Owner, Now and in Future :)

• Victor on Jan 26, 2012 at 10:32 am

If u dont own Korean car, dont talk cock at here. Sonata NF absorbers is from RM120-150/pc. U said expensive? If yes, then u only afford Honda kap chai.

It’s Bendix performance brake pad only cost me RM140 for front, still consider expensive for u? Then u buy bycycle brake pad lor…

• First, your English Sucks!
            Second: Seriously, I have already bought 1 !!!
            AND I DON’T REGRET IT NOT EVEN A SINGLE SHIT!
            Doesn’t mean if it is A Korean car we have to pay below 100K.
            Does the car looks like 70 – 80 K for you? Even a kid could judge better.
            If you say bout its resale value, then of coz it is not as good as Jap cars but features & built quality wise, it is superb. I spent 8 months searching for the right car & perhaps I have booked & cancelled 3 cars within this period but when I saw K5, I didn’t turn back.
            The features are way too advanced compared to Camry /Accord. With those features, how could the car be sold at 70-80 huh? And the best thing is, it is more powerful than 2.0 Camry & Accord! Go and Test drive la… Then only you know that you should shut up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • K5... on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:35 pm

haha so funny squall..i agreed wt ayu…i bought this car a month ago..the features are superbbb!!!! accord, camry, and teana are way too behind!!!!muahahahaha.

• Alter on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:38 am

Agreed!

• _xXx_ on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:40 am

hey go sell ur keta nasional la, v bored in the haunted showroom or wat?

• Brian Jong on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:19 pm

really? i dont think so…you are way left behind now.. korean car is better alot and way cool looking american..c’mon la read alot of news about korean car maker

• 143k is worth that’s why it’s just a kia and u can get the better looking things inside and out ! Jetta,Camry and Accord r nothing is this came out ! i think people who buy the Jetta is just for safety and performance but the interior is just terrible and the exterior is too simple…pls VW bring the Jetta GLI here to kill this thing !

• nebula87 on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:20 am

on 2nd thought u r rite…XD

• terence on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:29 am

Yes,i agreed with you, that why i bought jetta is really different wif asian cars , really enjoy driving cannot compare. For those ppls who 12 buy within Rm150k you shld test drive VW , then you will agreed with me.

• okcomputer on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:05 am

VW can bring Jetta GLI but very expensive, u got money to buy meh or just wanna talk cock only?

• Just wanna talk cock only lah!what can i do yea?!u r the same here people who post comments here…and i can afford it maybe can maybe not ?! terence good choice :) VW brand is very good and high quality~i own a VW Polo 6r and i love it even thought the interior is a bit simple but the car is very nice ! Korean cars are good but cant trust them !

• This Optima compete wt the Passat and not the Jetta, …compared to Passat, its cheap & value for money but ….definately a VW drives better…loves the TSI engine low down shove

Btw, The Jetta compete wt the coming soon MD Elantra…

• optima vs sonata, which 1 is better? both korean, D-segment, rm143k…

• waterman on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:31 am

i asked korean the same question,
            he answered like this…
            usually Hyundai is better than Kia, but they said this K5 is better than Sonata this time. the rest for example Elantra vs Forte… Elantra better, Sportage vs Tucson.. Tucson better.. etc.
            and yes i see more K5 than sonata…

• WickedSwicket on Dec 28, 2011 at 6:37 pm

U’r right! I dont undrstand some ppl compare cars of different classes, where gor fair like tht!

1. Camry, Accord, Passat, 508, K5 & Sonata
          2. Altis, Civic, Jetta, 408, Forte & Elantra

I’v even heard comments like “more expensive than Civic” etc. How la?!?!
          Of course la it’s more expensive, it’s in a class above…& chck out th specs in this car, Civic or even Accord got what?!?!

• bro…
        You compare a Compact car to a Mid-size car… very brilliant…

• ken dan on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:54 pm

really good car

really no market in malaysia..

• neeshan on Mar 18, 2012 at 2:25 pm

fantastic feature n value for money car..A pity korean made has no 2nd value in m’sia and the spare parts more expensive than a japanese spare parts… M’sia market sucks

• Masked Ryder on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:21 am

Too bad no massage seats in this version!! can we add-on?

• gunigugu on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:47 am

at this price, with this specifications..it has to be one of the leaders if not the leader of the segment..both the camry and accord are behind in terms of spec and pricing..for me, this car would be a worthwhile investment rather than the default camry or accord..it brings more competition to the segment and the market ..and kudos to kia for bringing it in!

• I plan to buy a KIA K5, can any K5 user share with me on the performance of the car

• Surge on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:54 am

A price of 140K above for Korean car still sounds crazy, at least in Malaysia. If I really want to get this car, I will rather buy a second hand. 80K for a second hand 1 year later. GUARANTEE!

• ah moi on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:46 pm

same though with you,Rm140K ,i wont put my bloodxSweat Money to Korean car, if second might consider

• Kenso on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:32 pm

Considering that the C segment Forte (equipped with specs that simply blows the other C segment contenders away) was priced smack in the middle of the B segment Vios/City pricing so many may have expected the D segment K5 to follow the same logic of pricing it at a Civic/Altis level. Also, although the Elantra is not launched yet, it’s pricing is estimated to be higher than the Forte (which may still sport a higher list of features compared to the new Elantra). So with the K5 being hedged higher than the Sonata HS, it’s a complete reversal of pricing strategy and I guess many people are surprised by Naza’s (or the government’s “advise”) move to park the pricing of the K5 beyond the RM140k mark …. something which many may find hard to swallow and say whatever we like about T & H low tech offerings, they sell reliability, not technology and the sales figures show. Like it or not, an RM140k budget offers a lot of other choices, in both C and D segments.

For me, what I find most ridiculous is the fact that the first 100 units brought in are 2011 models …. paying full price with no discounts and collect a 2011 car in 2012, effectively losing 1 year of value the day the owner starts driving it …. the buyer must have really deep pockets or have lots of money to burn. And I will pity the guy who takes a 9 year loan … assuming the first year depreciation is 25% (it’s still a Kia), interest rate at 2.85% and the maximum 90% loan is applied, the poor guy is effectively paying more than RM200k throughout the entire loan tenure ….. just for the sake of bragging rights during 2012 CNY!

• fortelover on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:06 am

Love ur comment kenso! ..seems naza bit egoistic now after the success of their other launches..

• OBEDIENT on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Open Market Value for Optima est RM 46,560 Camry 2.0 RM 56,472 Import Duty 30% + Excise 80% + Sales Tax 10%. Camry CBU Thailand hence CEPT applies Import Duty NIL.Cost Camry RM 111,815 sells at RM 155k Optima RM 107k sells at RM 143k
      Bear in mind camry is made in Thailand with fewer features. and 4 speed gear. BMW newer cars with 8 speed. Why treat us as dumping ground with antique transmission Mr Toyoda!

• woklt on Jan 14, 2012 at 1:37 pm

ALL MALAYSIA GOVERNMENT FAULT!
        STUPID TAX SCHEME.

• Anonymuose on Feb 08, 2012 at 12:27 pm

I’ve been saying the same thing about our local Toyotas being low spec and overpriced but no one believes me…

• kikilala on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:13 pm

i’m so getting this… as soon as i save enough money. btw i’m only 17. and i hate proton.

• accord on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:35 pm

only 17th already talk to much…
      kid please learn how to get money 1st…..

• nebula87 on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:21 am

save wont save alot…plz learn hw 2 earn more better…XD

• looking-good on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:25 am

ya, have u learn any yet? year 87

• nebula87 on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm

ofcox, and do u??

• looking-good on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:58 pm

just reach 6 figure,monthly, now aiming at 7 figure..

ya, hope u dun sprint ur ride too fast and harm others when u get one nice car… :)

• 4agze on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:39 pm

dream on boy..study/work hard first before you are old enough to say “i hate proton”..if you play2 then ur future car will be proton

• looking-good on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:11 pm

so wat u said was Proton is for people who play play…(attitude)

and the Govt wan us to afford only a play play car….

u r right, indeed.

• Aku lah on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:47 pm

HAHAHA….So, Proton for `play-play’ people?

• HollyFish on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:58 pm

Y U NO hate Perodua as well?

• no wonder la..budak.
      lesen pon tak ada lagi..banyak pulak komennye..

• theanswer on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm

do u own any car? if dont no wonder u hate p1..u never knew the cost of ownership for a car. expensive car means expensive to take care.

• BadBET on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm

ask your dad to buy lor.
      most people with hard earn money cant buy this as first car, and at the time you manage to save your hard earn money, then this model may become classic already.

• well,i don’t see you buying this car before it being a classic…
        Ask your son to buy lor.

• BadBET on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:44 am

how many year it will be before mr kikilala manage (now is 17 years old) to save money to buy this 140k car? normal people had to finish school with good grade and good job… still wont buy a 140k as first car. Except his parent is wealthy to give him enough pocket money to save to buy a car.

encik cars, which part of my english that confuse you?

• taboogen on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm

good luck on your SPM…

• khaix19a on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:37 am

i think u will drive a proton car soon haha

• MoFaz on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:18 am

kikilala? 17 years old and still wearing kikilala????.. i think maybe you can afford a car when you’re 40 years old. well, that’s a bit too harsh i think. sorry.
      ok… i only wish you luck.

• akina on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:42 am

go take your SPM first and make sure you score straight A’s!!!!!
      otherwise pls talk no bullshit

• Sophian on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:51 am

U hate proton…u will get it as present from your daddy…haha…

• kamaji on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Two ways you may save enough for a 140K car…..Sell drugs or your arse, you choose.

• jimmyc on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:14 pm

no ventilated seats?

• lenchi on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:26 am

If i, ask for coffin :P…not provided?…apa ra ini kereta?…

mcm2 plak demand manusia nie….dh bg nie nak itu plak :D….

• mangata on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:19 pm

all tis 4 RM143k…….awesome!!!! i got tired just by reading te mouthful amount of specs

• Obama on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:21 pm

The car looks good, but the price says otherwise.

• theanswer on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:05 pm

low baller~ u compare the price to what? inspira? honda city?

• PakAbu on Dec 28, 2011 at 6:56 am

With lagi power, lagi best?

• bersih on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:31 am

Persona HL & myvi Extreme… hahaha

• Obama on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:47 am

Surprisingly, i have a almost even thumbs up and thumbs down. Seems like there are alot of them agreed with me.

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi – RM142,800
        Honda Accord 2.0 VTi- L – RM 149,800

But, the magnitude of depreciation each year on Kia is really killing me.

• theanswer on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:52 am

dont just look at the price alone..u must consider the spec too. do u get panaromic roof in accord? do u get maintenance free gearbox in accord?
          dont talk abt depreciation when u buy a car..buy a hse if u dont want any depreciation.

• In most other countries yes, but in Malaysia car is the biggest asset for most ppl beside house which already became unreachable for many. Depreciation for cars is normal but with the rate of Korean cars depreciation? It’s extremely scary. Can’t blame ppl who prefer to just stick to Japanese cars. And there is also a reason why Korean cars depreciate so badly.

• jaymen on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:56 am

Yeah agreed, most of the people talk about Depreciation, and resale value. U buy a car just to think of selling, not to keep it. Not comparing the quality of a product. BEST SUGGESTION better get a rentall car then owning one. All cars do depreciate, please try to sell ur camry or honda, see how much the second hand dealer takes them after reducing from the initial market price. Only in malaysia people buy a car because of the brand. PS the new camry lunch in thailand looks like a world best, with FOUR SPEED geard box, design is way out of our planet.

• M and B brand depreciate more but why still people want to buy? value depreciation just one of many consideration
          btw i dont think now the new model of korean car will depreciate like before,

• I can’t be sure if this car will run good for years down the road, but I can assure you the shiny rims will have tons of visible scratches within months…

• The tyres look low profile and will not last with our poor roads and their replacement costs will be high.

• odi862 on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:26 pm

I just want to say the four-letter word…….NICE.

• setiapaduka on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

my dream sonata..now comes its sibling optima. Which one should i choose???

• more accesories than sonata!!

• nasai on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Just came back from the showroom. Hmm. Same price as Hyundai Sonata 2.0 High Spec but looks like it has more features than his sibling e.g. Infinity Sound System, reverse camera, six airbags, HID, halogen, LED day running lights, you name it, all the features that are rare in its D-segment class….. Is it worth it? Does the HPD perform as good as it was reviewed? One think I dislike NKM marketing strategy is that after 1 or 2 yrs, the CKD version will be launched, resale value drop (Surely most ppl will say we buy not to sell). I really hoped that the upcoming Hyundai Elantra will be equipped with the aluminium organ-styled pedals, who knows maybe it will be equipped with plain rubber pedals when it is CKDed by Inokom.

• I love every angles of it.. simply awesome!!

• Malcolm Lim on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:35 pm

I suppose we can expect a CKD version soon with cheaper price? perhaps around 120-ish?

• Pororo on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Nice car btw.. Hope that Naza Kia will bring new K7, Rio, Picanto and Soul to Malaysian market… =D

• Aku lah on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:35 pm

PROTON DAH TERLALU JAUH KETINGGALAN….LEBIH BAIK TUTUP TERUS.

• lenchi on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:28 am

This man pray PROTON tutup terus…..tp…

Once after a while….PROTON offer scholarship…you sibuk cable sane cable sini…kasi anak dpt….PROTON offer keje(interview) u punya anak… cable sana wire sini..kasi anak dapat :D….then gebang..anak keje PROTON :D gaji 5 digit….

Manusia mudah LUPA :D…..

• Whatever on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Yes. You are so Albert Einstein.
        What a genius.

Let me guess. For Bumiputra?

• fazzurri on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Are you rascist Whatever? Are you saying if he is genius for Bumiputra only, meaning he is not as genius as other race?

• What’s proton got to do with this?

• seanny on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:48 am

yes , proton , please close shop , don’t waste the hardly earn tax payer money .

• Dr Sd on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:57 pm

sekiranya KIA berfikir macam ni” buat apa laa kita nak buat keta agi toyota dah 40 tahun lebih awal dr kita, terus buat basikal jaa laaa”…..tapi sekarang toyota and kia compete each other, dah kena tingal kejarrrr la en.aku lah, bukan meratapi”

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:41 pm

looks nice. but it’s just very bland. i’m just curious how the 2.4 if it gets introduced will compete with its direct rivals.

• Darren on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Undoubtedly good value for money. Only let down by the interior (or course everyone has different taste) in my opinion

• makaroni on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:01 am

yup..the interior look so so only.. but the exterior definitely gorgeous!!

• carboy on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:43 pm

The car and spec is nice but with this pricing I think it won’t sell more than 100 per month. I doubt it will ever touch on Hyundai not to say the great H & T. I had many korean friend all of them think Kia is nto a good car compare to Hyundai.

• Wow!! The girls are very nice. Like a flower on a cow dung.

• Looking for value for money car on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:49 pm

The dashboard looks like taxi in those old days….

• 4agze on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:49 pm

for reference

Optima K5 – RM143,888
    Camry E – RM 144,990
    Camry G – RM 154,990
    Accord VTi – RM142,800
    Accord VTi-L – RM149,800
    Sonata Standard – RM135,888
    Sonata High Spec – RM143,888

Let the fight begins!

• sawi cool on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:33 am

it’s gonna be interesting to watch this fight.

This segment is mainly meant for more senior buyer – for whom brand and resale value are normally considered as important.

Let see how these Koreans can do against the Japs.

• The models look dull standing beside K5..

• Rsbter on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Great car! Kia Optima.

• How is this car compared to the Sonata, Camry and Accord?

• need turbo for even better fc.

• Out of Luck on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:06 am

Turbo is good but turbodiesel even better. Too bad no diesel variant, so looks like I’ll have to hold onto my car a little longer. Had enough of petrol cars.

• NoCO2 on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

The price is the same as the Sonata High Specs but with more features ! Sime Darby should be worrying now !

• Charles on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

At that price it wont ‘fly’ off the showrooms. Goodluck though.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Looks good! Really a good car, considering if I should sell car for Kia or Hyundai instead.

• GrrrG on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Wow, tempting features. Sorry Sonata, this Optima successfully seduced me..

• oomph on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm

lots of features with such a price…good buy. bring more koreans!

• Definitely a big hit in Malaysia .New ugly camry by bye bye….

• takeo1070 on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:09 pm

without doubt, the interior has the conti feel and look…

• FF Fortezen on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:10 pm

No matter what is going to happen! It prove that this K5 have beat those ACCORD,CAMRY,TEANA,SONATA !! yeah!

• Nasty interior especially the center console.

• Josh Ling on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Very nice car. Can do with more external colour choices though. Black or maroon colour will not go amiss on this car.

• i hate iphone on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:17 pm

hmm.. rm144k for a kia.. not worth it.

• tricycle on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Good job Kia in bringing this model.

This one turbo engine or just NA engine?

Good write up Tony!

Tony, where is the picture for the memory function for the driver seat setting?

• My hands are so itchy to grab this K5…! Been waiting and wanting to get it!

• RedBeanBun on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Hyundai, H & T salesman all laughing…

Hyundai: wait till my Elantra under cut u at Rm110K, ur Optima over price the Sonata? good luck, Sonata launched promo at RM120K+ only. Good luck Naza.

Honda: ho ho ho, xmas present from the santa..he really tot he can beat Accord..

Toyo: What? Kia? RM145K? wait till u see my Camry at RM150K..

• sometimes ppl want to be different, reason for some not getting a Camry is because SO many 65 year old aunties drive them to pasar pagi ….

• adiia3 on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:35 pm

i saw auntie driving porsche gt3 rs to pasar. and that young guy riding a bike to work.

i would assume u’re young, so, time to get a bike to ride to work, it suits you so much.

• WickedSwicket on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Why r u comparin th Elantra to K5? They’re not even in the same class segment!!

If Honda were to price the Accord within this price range, it will surely hv lower specs than this. If they were to match the specs offered in the K5, it wont be within similar price range.
      & dont even get me started on Camry. Hv u ever seen a beautiful Camry?! Nxt to a bullock cart, they r th dullest lookin vehicle ever. Hv u seen its interior? BORRIIIINNGG….

T&H r so overated. When the 508 was launched, i noticed th same noises the T&H backers made. It boggles th mind tht some ppl defend a certain brand so feverishly, even in th face of a better alternative, unless of course they hv vested interests. May b tey’re T&H salesmen! Or dealers!

Give me a 508 or a Sonata or a K5 over T&H anytime. They’re passe’…

• thunder cats on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:30 pm

I was there earlier,,,,,solid car

• JeremyNg on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Thanks god !!!! There no NAZA emblem on this car =)

Btw hope the quality are not as bad as Forte bcs my fren 6 month old Forte interior started to get loose like Proton, reverse camera spoil jz after 1month ++ …… Maybe he’s unclucky ??!!

• RedBeanBun on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:28 am

the no QC and no responsibility is better than unlucky.

• Adrian on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:07 pm

maybe your friend’s unlucky on his forte, as I felt Forte’s handling is anytime way better than honda city / protons. More stable and in control and less swaying. Very tempted for K5, really!

• Gavin on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Bloody amazing spec list

• Wow…. Anyone still interest in camry and accord? Or anything Kia still missing out?!

• Lucifer on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:39 pm

omfg this car is priced the same as proton perdana oversea… -.-‘

• nabill on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:40 pm

i hope its more than jus good looks and tons of equipment….

• Except for GPS I dunno what else is missing. This is one complete car- from design to specs. Really hope to see some on the road soon.

• anti-vios on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:44 pm

splendid!

• Overpriced on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm

So many KIA sales man here ar?

Overpriced.

A few months later sure Naza will give hefty discounts. Let me guess? RM15k onwards?

• ben yap on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:54 pm

the girls are hot!!!

• coolG on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:55 pm

I’ve been waiting for it to come since I first saw it in KLIMS last year…
    I dare to say that this is the car that will rock the whole D-segment market in m’sia.
    It’s mega-specced at the price of entry-level D-segment Japs sedans. a car that is really worth considering when u r eyeing for a car in the segment. Put the uncertain resale value aside, what else can u ask for from a car that comes with a killing-looks and whole lot of kits at that price???
    The poor resale value issue might be a different story in the near future due to the high demand as their offerings are now getting more and more exciting/attractive and they have managed to capture a whole lot of new buyers who were once Korean-brand biased… 3 friends of mine who previously Jap-car owners waited average 5 months+ for their new Sonata…
    Optima K5,I want one!!!
    (I’m not a korean-car salesperson and I own a Jap-car too, this is just my point of view)

• looking-good on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:29 am

good.

but why you and your friends are not moving from or upgrading from Japs to German, instead of to korean?

we should move upward….

• coolG on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:15 am

Yeah, those are more premium cars…i agreed, i love them too, but what to do when u r looking for a new and well-rounded car at 150k? In m’sia, 150k can only get u c-segment German or some grey-imported/used-Germans the most… Which is out of their list… For most mid-income m’sian, it is not really a wise choice to make with that kind of budget:)
        Perhaps locally-assembled VW can change the tradition soon when they are launched… (hopefully with models like Passat or Golf being added into the list)

• deftones on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:01 am

this car is all rounder except for the logo..the should redesign the logo..they had a bad reputation before..

• fitefish on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:01 am

Time to upgrade…
    Good bye white forte. Welcome white optima…

• This, Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo EcoBoost > Toyota Camry, Honda Accord. So much better in so many ways yet the Japs outsell these by a huge margin. Must try harder to convince the parents that this is the one to get.

• RedBeanBun on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:34 pm

when u are the real buyers for 150K car at the age, only say this again. more than 50% of the people at that age will choose camry/accord. You want your hard earn money into AP King? please go ahead and get zero return.

I am not against Kia, but the way to do business has no future for buyers. enjoy the new drive, and suffer down the road when your hard earn $$ worth nothing.

Its normal logic when you hit that age to buy Rm150K with hard earn money.

• crazy sky on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:09 am

I like the concept of Optima, stylish and fierce. The gadgets of the car were well equipped, especially the memory seat? meter cluster and the Infinity audio system.

But it little bit let down when the price beyond 140k. It is selling same price as Sonata in Malaysia. However Sonata is selling little more expensive in oversea. Overall Optima still the best of its class in the price of 143,888.00. I would say the price isn’t cheap than expected, but it is absolutely competitive.

I don’t have enough money to own Optima now, instead I own the little brother of Optima, Forte. BTW, be careful for all Japanese cars since the Korean cars are taking part of the game.

• looking-good on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:36 am

true, it is like suddenly Korean phone (samsung) flooding the whole phone market…

and the once the biggest phone company, nokia… .u know…..eh… who is using nokia now?

“feng sui” take turn to row~~ maybe its happening now with japs n korean in car industry…

• How is your forte so far? Any reviews for us to hear?

• crazy sky on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:34 pm

I own a Forte 1.6SX and it is absolutely worth to own at this price. I enjoy every time I drive it. I like the safety feature the most because it comes with Dual Airbags, ABS, EBD, BAS, and ESP.

The car comes with a lot of electronic eqiupment, such as digital auto-aircond, reverse camera, rear window and side mirror heater (same button), keyless and push start etc.

There was a general issue where Forte dashboard come with some strange noise and driver seat. And the body rolling is quite obvious when putting high-speed in corner. Fuel consumption is so so, 50% city dn 50% highway is about RM0.20/km.

Overall I feel very satisfy with Forte. Of course the new Optima is doing much better than Forte. If new Optima is priced below 140k, I believe it will attract more ‘japanxse minded’ people to switch to support Optima. But again, 143,888 is already a good pricewith all gadgets given.

• Josh Ling on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:53 am

true, it’s similar to sonata in terms of pricing, but measuring in all the equipment and kits of the car, it makes the car an unbeatable value. i think if they can improve the after sales service and setting up more 3S centres, this car will definitely “drive-off” the showroom quicker than many would think……

• I think the camera man need learn more about capturing at the right angle.. all is out of horizon…

• taphie78 on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:13 am

The fullest spec n cheapest of Asian brand D segment. Well done!

Jz how good it wil perform? we wil have to wait for Paul’s team to enlighten us.

• One of the Fullest spec.. maybe yes. cheapest d segment. not really. Sonata Standard is still cheaper by RM8,000

Optima K5 – RM143,888
      Camry E – RM 144,990
      Camry G – RM 154,990
      Accord VTi – RM142,800
      Accord VTi-L – RM149,800
      Sonata Standard – RM135,888
      Sonata High Spec – RM143,888

• arcana on Dec 28, 2011 at 6:39 pm

full spec is guaranteed and 5 year warranty to boot, the only car which can outdo its spec would probably be a 508 or passat which cost at least RM25k more.
        it doesnt have any basic spec to choose from unlike others……sure is a value for money car, its a matter of whether u see the value in korean cars or not.

• jtangsw on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:14 am

Looks AWESOME!!!

• optimum5 on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:16 am

simply awesome….got poison to own 1….
    can’t wait

• vios owner on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:17 am

simply irresistable!!

• Good car. I had chance to try the car in SG. Having said that, overconfident pricing from Naza-Kia is a deterrence for most buyers. Naza Kia aftersale image does not augur well with this pricing.

• optimum5 on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:31 am

simply awesome….what a real….

• UniSZA on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:31 am

I am 1 of 4700++ Forte owner out there.. since last Feb own it honestly Im still feel berbaloi giler.. with the 6 speed, FC considering 2.0 liter range 8.0 – 9.5 everage. I do make a lot of research about KIA (right now… not KIA back 5 years) before I buy a Forte. T&H fan & (anti-KIA) out there pls do own research about KIA then you will know the truth. The real thing is all KIA right now give you 5 years warranty with Unlimited mileage! Dont you ever know it? how about T & H? think it.. with this new Optima, of coz will me my next car! or maybe just wait much super awesome Optima Hybrid with 2.4 liter (200+ HP) 1 full tank can go 1000++km NICE!!! google it..

• biggbro on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:38 am

A really bland looking yet outrageously priced..if you take out all those useless gadgets, it shut be max 100k only..this is where japanese car differ than korean, they give more substance and value for the buyer.

• substance as a 10 year old vvti engine and a proven 4 speed transmission?

• Hadi75 on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:51 pm

If u takeout those useless gadget from the japanese car….it will cost more than 100k……
      Japanese car give more substance and value to the buyer…..in term of what???

• This K5 is one of the nicest looking car among Camry, Accord, Sonata in its class, however pricing is not that great ……. Naza could have done better in terms of pricing like the Forte.

• cool…but sadly not enough money to get one

• Ambitious price for this brand. Was looking to book one if it’s around RM120K but I’m scrapping that idea now. Will jump over to Volkswagen for the same price range.

So many good comments here but how many of you are preparing to fork out RM143,888 to buy this car?

• Scoobylution on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:42 am

The cockpit remind me of BMW e36

• Planner on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:48 am

Naza do not intend to sell Optima in big volume due to the shortage of supply and high demand else where in the world, therefore, it is no point to price it lower like Forte to tap the mass market. Forte is their bread and butter for Naza Kia.
    The pricing is purely marketing strategy, so does it happened to the Peugeot 508.
    However In Malaysia, the Japs will still rule, because of the general ‘PERCEPTION’ on Japs reliability and better resale value. The logical mind just tell you not to lose too much money on cars even though your heart and soul are in certain models.
    For those who could afford premium European cars, they will not care too much about $$$, but will chose the cars according to their likes.
    FYI, I m a marketing strategy planner working for an international Corp. This is sole my interpretation on consumer behaviors.
    You are welcome to comment. Tks

• LatukBandar on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:58 am

I don’t think it is a question of perception, it is a reality. I have a friend that sells generators, generators from Japan, Korea, germany and many more. The failure rate of korean generators are high, and it is none other than H and K.

Like wise, Japs and germany are qually reliable.

As for cars, my other friend said the same thing. His family owns a Honda and a Hyundai. Same story, both are D segmant cars and of the same age. Korean cars giving lots of problems.

Like the old chinese proverb. No waves without wind.

• Planner on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:18 am

Yes, you were right. In the past and now the products from Japs are better of quality compare to Koreans.
        However now, in certain area of industries, Koreans have caught up with the Japs and even surpass them. One good example is the mobile smart phone and portable tablet computers.

• Cowabunga! on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:55 am

you forget …
        Japan cars here..3 years or 100k.

Korea are matching it with 5 years or 300k…
        any japanese warrant that at the moment?…

140k is not going to drop to 70k after 5 years. The current Forte depreciation are almost on par with japanese cars…ie: Nissan/Toyota/Mazda…Honda is just exceptional.

but eventually, that your experience, and what I’m saying here is not about who’s right, and who’s wrong…

• Peugeot fan on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:08 am

Are you working for Naza? You sounded you are.

• Planner on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:33 am

No, I am not working for them.
        In my opinion, Naza should take this opportunity to capitalize on the good products from Kia to tap into the Malaysia car market. Forte is a good value car but Naza has not done enough for the past 2 years to really capture the market share of this segment of cars.
        If I were to work for Naza Kia, it probably would be a total different story. Naza Kia would have emerged to become a popular brand in this car industry.

• RedBeanBun on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:35 am

in short word, Naza has no interest to compete in the market. So Kia should take back the reselllership and market themselves.

Naza always work under the care of G umbrella since the AP days till now, and earn more in the construction business.

Auto motive business just get the best $$ out of consumer, and not any services or help in the spare part for the price.

• geezee on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:50 am

What’s missing???
    For sure….GPS
    DVD / TV … i really love in car entertainment
    Side Mirror Auto Folding when vehicle Lock – don’t know the exact terms
    Power Boot …… for extra uuuumph
    Exhaust system , 2 tailpipes for more sporty looks
    Only driver side have the electric seat

I Like Most???
    Bluetooth Hands free
    Meter Cluster Blue color
    Side air vent looks like M3
    Sunroof & Panoramic really fully auto
    Rear aircond vent
    Interior Design & User friendly gadget

I Hate Most???
    Infinity Sound System – i don’t think its equal to BOSE or Mark Levinson
    KIA Spare Parts price – still no improvement since era of Naza Ria

• Masked Ryder on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:20 am

who cares what you like and dislike?
      And comparing Infinity sound system to BOSE or ML is completely stupid.

You expect something 400k in a 140k car?

• forte on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:03 am

im comparing with camry and accord..
    optima price in between camry 2012 and accord 2013..
    forte is good buy , no no for optima..

• Supertram on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:09 am

Whats with those racer boy rims? ughh!

hmm.. new camry in 2012 rite? we’ll see then

• forte on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:15 am

all kia supporter talk cock only, when buying takut takut pula.. hahha

• madmarzio on Dec 28, 2011 at 6:20 pm

we are silent not because we are takut.. We just smiling reading all those bullshit comments about kia brand. I own a forte for 1 and 1/2 years and no such big problem apart from regular maintenances. I just want to say this optima is not inherited any advantages as forte in term of taxing. Thats why the price tagged for k5 is competative, not cheap or value for money. For those who keep dreamin for discounted kia cars after 2 years ie forte, u r welcome to wait.other than that, i hope their sc can be better to improve overall perception towards kia cars.

• forte on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:18 am

pay peanut get peanut..
    in this case, pay premiun get peanut..
    all kia supporter pls go and buy kia optima and change the history perhaps 2nd car value..
    ur hardwork is highly appreciated…however, i bet you wont..

• Neutral on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:20 am

The back totally copy Audi style of lining and the rear lights totally copy jaguar.. Well done for Korean copycats yet again.. Why can’t they have their own style like Mazda or Toyota.. Disappointment..

• Little Car Fan on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:26 am

the car is lousy anything also no gps,dvd,panorramic sunroof,also no

• Go finish up your standard 6 English before coming back here to comment. There are many international readers here and you are disgrace to the nation.

• libralcl on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:38 am

Love every bit of it, but the only let down is the powertrain. Not underpower but added a bit more hp and torque will be very since statement from me. =)

• mentari-o-korea on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:41 am

..awesome though the price is not on buyer side, its ok because it was way better look than any japanese out there, uncle camry? ugly accord? big body small lamp teana?

To all new K5 lucky owner, congratulation to u n be prepare to be envied by other japanese car, good luck! And to proton, please learn something from Kia…they are far2 advance now!!

• RedBeanBun on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:29 am

RM145K for this? i dont think thats call lucky.

• bobdbilder on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:03 am

Its an indication of how high the Sonata replacement; i45 shall be. Its AUD 20k above the K5.

Its the way things are meant to be; Branding exercise will eventually make offerings more expensive than before. Because the Forte was successful worldwide, the one up range shall be more profitable to them.

• Moruh on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:11 am

At this price better get honda accord CL7 type R…

• Bongcs on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:34 am

Ok., 100 people are kia representative

• Bad photo shooting, can’t really see the overall design. Ex, dashboard console can’t see entire design but button only. Same applied to the exterior front n back no big picture cover entire car but angle only. Shd take improvement. Thx.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 28, 2011 at 6:55 am

Apologies if we haven’t met your exacting standards; we were trying out someone new for the photos. The general shape of the car itself is already well-known, as suggested by our Australian drive photos, and likewise the interior. But we’ll try to improve the next time, so you don’t have to go to the showroom to see the car in the metal at all, ever.

• adiia3 on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:55 am

anthony, dont need to care about ppl who dunno how to use google to look for image.

• DewaSemut on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:05 am

Macam perli aja.. haha :)

To me, you have done enough, Anthony…

Really nice car, but couldn’t afford to own one… sad :(

• Let the fanboy war begins. Who is the Korean car fanboy? Who is the toyota and honda salesman? LOL

• Motorist on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:58 am

Mr Anthony, when do you think motorists here is Msia will start being treated like adult and given full range of engine options available for all new car launch here? I’m really dissappointed with all the similar choices and limited no of engine options available here e.g all the new Peugeots here. Where is the GDI, turbo-charged and CRDi variant for this car? On the other hand, there are also new car launches with half-baked specs at dubious value e.g VW Jetta. It does seem to me that the car dealers here do not think there are pure motorists here, just bunch of idiots out there to get convenient mode of transport.

• TurboMan on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Im actually waiting for the forte 2.4litre.

That car does 0-100 in 7.8 sec with 6sp auto gearbox!!! Drove it before and that engine seems to be more powerful than what is said in the spec sheet. Sounds good too.

But looks like we won be getting that.

• Garfield on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:34 am

If they want to sell in volume, then the pricing is called ambitious. But I read someone said that the car is in demand worldwide, so Naza just want to bring the product line up to date, put the whole lot of specs and hope it sells itself.

I do own one Kia, the CBU Picanto 2004 and still running. Build quality is way better than the local Naza Suria badged (even the latest locally-assembled Picanto), and surprisingly my 7-year old Picanto still feel solid to drive compared to a 5-year old MyVi.

The letdown is always Naza itself. I never send my car to their service center after the 50K km warranty. Throughout the warranty period they never properly settle any problems. Sometimes I barged to the service bay because they don’t seem to understand the problems that I described. I found that what they did was to “hijack” Proton-trained service guys, but never bother to further train these guys to properly handle Kia cars. Mind you, we’re not talking highly-experienced, but merely junior ones.

I end up solving many issues by lots of researches in the internet, buying spare parts myself (original but cheaper) and carefully describing to outside workshops what need to be done. That’s how my car is better to drive now compared to 4 years ago.

OK, my last encounter with Naza service center was 2 years ago (need to solve issue that was mysterious but still ended up solving myself). I don’t know if they have improved now apart from more service centers and more expensive prices (expensive labour does not always equate to better services). But if they dare, give out comprehensive warranty and free service for 100K km (nothing is free I know, it should already be absorbed by the not-so-cheap price). Our confidence should be earned, only if they’re confident of their own product.

• I couldn’t agree more with your statement! I asked all of Kia/Naza-owned friends why they do not buy another Kia/Naza as the car itself really good to look at or to drive with decent build quality. I take one instance, Naza Rondo 2.0 which is better spe-wise than Innovan, aVAN-aje, LIVINA, Exora, Easter- their standard answer: Naza service suck!

Thus, aftersale service is the answer why many skeptic over Optima pricing. Many of my friend already ‘divorce’ with Naza’s service within warranty period. Period.

I went to Hyundai’s SD. They’re seems better though hard to compared to Nissan’s experience or better facility Toyota or Honda. Despite Nissan’s parts are pricey l already extended my service warranty another 100,000km. Their experience mechanics, helpful front desk service personnel as well as proactive management is hard to expect from other brand. Only few thing let me down- they’re stingy when it comes to features in their cars unlike the Korean. Same goes to Toyota but Honda seems throw more goodies to buyers,

Having said that if l got advance diesel, l’ll opt for Kia or Hyundai.Minyak saving is important to your wallet.

• nasai on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:22 am

Garfield,

May I know is there any particular website on Kia Picanto’s car maintenance guide which you normally refer to? Thanks. Cuz have a CBU Pica unit as well. Btw, curious to know what was your mysterious problem/issue which you need to solve with Naza 2 years ago? My previous major maintenance was the automatic gearbox. Thanks for your aid.

• Garfield on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:09 am

There wasn’t really any maintenance guide, just forums. The issues with ’04 Picantos some of it have been dead and buried in the internet world because so long already. Like I said, it was like 3-4 years ago when I solved major issues, the biggest being the underpower problem. If you have this problem, which also may be coupled with other symptoms such as battery not properly charging (maintenance-free battery cannot last long), weak air-con compressor and vibration whenever the lights are turned on; the cause of the problem is actually a poorly designed crankshaft bolt. It was too short and gets loose over time (quietly changed for later models). It will cost you maybe 20-30 bucks only, thereafter you need a good Kia mechanic. Some customers (including a friend who bought at the same time) had been conned saying must “turun enjin” and the workshops actually replace the whole crankshaft. Cost them a few thousands.

The “mysterious” issue was when my wife one day cannot start the car after parking the car for work in the morning. I thought it was the old battery not charging issue (jumper cable always ready). But after an hour of hooking up with my car, there was still not enough charge. I bought a new battery and when I checked around the car, I realized that the brake lights had always been on, thus draining the battery. I quickly drove it to the nearest SC, they initially refused because I never performed any maintenance there. I pestered them like crazy since if an SC cannot solve a mysterious issue, no roadside mechanic can. The service guy spent some time, still could not figure the problem out. I asked him to apply some logic; it really was an electrical circuit and would only become a complete circuit if there was a connection. After another 15 mins I asked him to step away and began looking for any abnormal clues. I found a piece of rubber about the size of a 5 sen coin in the footwell area. The guy was still clueless and I asked him to check with the parts ppl for anything similar to it. Turned out it was like a separator between the brake pedal and electrical circuit, and the part cost only RM2 thereabouts. They could not even charge me labour because they don’t have any entry for that problem in their system!!!

Talking about gearbox, when I had the underpower problem after 3 years of ownership, I thought it was a gearbox issue. FYI, the Jatco gearbox uses a special oil, not the typical ATF. It was expensive (but now cheaper since Naza Suria is around). The SC says they do full flush with 7 litres but you may find that as BS; you can only flush about 3-4 litres unless you open the whole sealed gearbox (another excuse to “turun enjin”). Over time I have learned a simple and cheap way. Every time you change engine oil, just ask the mechanic to drain whatever he can from the transmission sump (best to do when cold). You just need a 1 litre pack each time. If you don’t trust me, then just go to spare parts shop that specializes in Kia and buy your 7L oil but take it to a workshop who can do the flush for you. With the SC you just get slaughtered.

And don’t skimp on the timing belt, as you may have learned above that Kia’s (or generally Korean) rubber parts don’t last as long as even Proton’s. Change it every 60K km. Just buy the kit yourself and ask your most trusted mechanic to change for you. You want to get slaughtered, visit the SC for the experience.

As you can see, my car feels better each time I touch it and my wife just love it more now than she was 4 years ago. The resale value is unfair, but not everyone out there understand their cars. So I guess it is fair to people who never knew the original owners. The car will be passed on to my sister in law when she starts to drive to college on her own i.e. car will be sold to father in law but I bundle in the comprehensive maintenance package….. hahaha!!! Cheers!!!!

• Mr. Rite on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:31 pm

CANT AGREE MORE! NAZA SUX!

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:40 am

Overpriced Korean car. Better buy Honda Accord 2.0 VTi at RM142,800 which is RM1,088 cheaper and it’s a Honda! I don’t think this new Kia Optima will sell well in Malaysia. Just wait and see. Korean cars are always like that, starting sales okay, then slowly slowly the sales will decline like Sonata.

• Yappun on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:47 am

Stripped down Accord is a better buy? Are you kiddin’me? Rascal japs sucking your hard earned money jolly licking good. Go figure…

• Hadi75 on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:19 pm

You’re joking right…basic spec honda is better than this….did you even read the article before you give your comment…look at the spec man than compare.

• accord or camry with this spec will be priced around 199k at least!

• adiia3 on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:57 pm

yea, you buy cars for bells and whistle, not for the car itself?

why dont you buy myvi and put in all the carbon fiber bodykit and a recaro seat to make it rm80k, so, it is now better than an inspira?

can sonata/optima k5 handles like an accord?

• spec kosong tak boleh lawan dengan full spec brother. honda also depreciate very fast.

• madmarzio on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:28 pm

another rubbish talky.. forte sold higher (up to November 2011) than total 2010.. Honda? Just google yourself if drop almost 50% (Honda City) from last year is a good sign for them?? civic?? same trending..

• Vincent on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:18 pm

OK Bro…There is no doubt that Sonata is a better car compare with Toyota, Honda and even tenna… The sales firgure showed in international market and at the home land itself.

In US, people is free to choose what they want, and Sonata out sales T & H.

In Korean itself, K5 is selling better than sonata…
      In malaysia, it is not the car problem, it is the distributor issue…

Look at Naza, beside poor Service, you have to know one thing about them is, they can anytime drop price and kill the resales value….

That the reason those used car dealer dare not offer good price for Kia or Naza.

And how they drop the rice? obviously is the result of tax appear from big G!

In Short, Kia and Hyundai has move fast in international arena, but in Malaysia.. they still have long distance to reach what has T & H archieved!

• A lot of form, I’ll buy it if I need some space for my passengers to sleep in. Hehe…

• Kia, yes. Naza, no no.

• noNickNAme on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:50 am

Rear lamp like a Mondeo

• I really can’t believe we Malaysians are still complaining about this car! While some are warranted such as resale value, others are nit picking! E.g – The buttons are not nice, the back look like Audi, The price so high la! Eh kawan, you read the specs or not? How come no one said much abt the safety package? Choke full i tell u!

Ok, this Honda and Toyota is pure propaganda and you all have fallen for it. Its not much about the final price, but WHAT YOU ARE GETTING FOR THAT PRICE.

And another thing, the car has been rated very high by other media companies overseas. Please read it up and see the difference in mindset.

Ps- S.Korea is one of the most technologically advanced countries in the world. Do you think they will continue to make crappy cars?

• oligopoli on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:48 am

i’m not a big fan of korean makes, but agree with u – people need to read more and more to know what exactly happen in our world. good knowledge make decision very easy most of the time

• One more thing – Lets compare maintenance pricing with Jetta and Optima. This should be interesting.

• the price is not competitive la..shud sell round RM120k, to beat the price of honda n toyota..coz people usually refer toyota or honda..if sell lower than those japs, better..dunno la, juz my opinion..

• One thing that Naza-Kia going to miss- the ambitious pricing will kill the interest since
    1-The pricing this CBU was very Japanese CKD while precedent of Korean’s pricing for similar model substantially lower than Japanese counterpart

2-Unless Naza done extremely well or at least at satisfactory level like Nissan, Toyota or Honda if not like Mercedes-Benz, Audi or Auto Bavaria

3-In Malaysia, people too concern over residual value

4-I can’t understand why NK didn’t bring the hybrid since the engine Torque inferior than Exora

Handling-wise this saloon better than Uncle Camry or Pakcik Accord but Nissan SKyline 250GT sedan, Mazda6 or Subaru Legacy is better off. For this price, even Korean fan or neutral one will go for boring Camry 2012. Since 2006, Camry’s residual value and reliability never give a headache to the buyers even though driving-wise is less character.

I like Kia especially their new Sportage, but l yet to get very positive response about Kia after sales experience like my experience with my Nissan’s.

• oligopoli on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:44 am

Q4 – they are not competing with exora. perhaps if proton come up with P3-21A with CFE next year (different engine tune, 150hp, 240Nm) then other carmakers would take notice. read about the new tune somewhere

• zanggief on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:20 am

Really hope to view the comparison done this D-segment car like previously on SUV comparison…
    may b latter on when new camry is launched then let’s have a gathering of accord, camry, teana, sonata, mazda6…

• Prashnan on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:30 am

this could be the start of car war next year…folks,

Just wait and see, kia and hyundai is preparing something…hope everybody loves it!

interms’ KIA Optima K5, they trying to bring the better spec’s such a 2.4 liter’ comes with GPS, twin electric seat with massage or else….heater and cooler?but the only thing is…market value…and demand.

Perfect combination in between Japs and Europeans…..atleast we have better choice…to select….or to own one….

As per statement, no matter what korean does…its working beyond their imaginations! Good Work and Perfect war…well done Peter(KIA)

• ss427 on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:34 am

Guys, Bolehland Optima is exactly the same model as the ones sold in SG. You are not being shortchanged for buying a ‘stripped down’ model…. haha :D

This is the Optima SX… the high end spec version.

If you think RM$140k is expensive, see how much we sillyporeans have to fork out if we want an Optima here in SG.. :( It wasn’t supposed to be so expensive… but thanks to our $$ faced gov, we’re paying double for something that we can’t even see nor hold.

http://www.kia.com.sg/upload/pricelist_latest.pdf

http://www.kiaglobal.com/sg/en/MODELS/Cars/Optima_RHD/Overview/index.htm

• Beanie on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:24 am

Its about the same price as in Malaysia, so what is there to shout about? Don’t forget that you are earning Sing dollar at your end, so you can’t be converting to RM and put it as though you guys are paying so much more….You should be comparing dollar to dollar, RM to RM and not dollar to RM..

• It stated that the 2.0 litre Theta II MPI mill offering 165 PS at 6,200 rpm and 198 Nm at 4,600 rpm and this will confirm the story about Exora 1.6 CFE giving output comparable to 2.0L engine. By the numbers it look like the CFE even outperform this 2.0L engine and I’m just comparing the engine performance not the car.

Cheer.

• oligopoli on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:27 am

sure you do, but cannot compare force induction and NA. still wonder why many conti car got turbocharged/supercharged and whatnot but the jap and korean still using NA (and optimizing the VVT, VVT-i, VTEC etc. they use turbo for performance car only. anybody got an idea why?

• ss427 on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:23 am

Bro, Hyundai/’Kia DO have turbo engines in their lineup.

In case you’re not aware, both the i45/Sonata and the Optima CAN be ordered with the wonderful 2L Theta II GDI Turbo that makes a heady 271hp! :)

Potong CFE o/p is a laughing stock when you compare it with what the Koreans can offer.

We can’t get the wonderful engine in this part of the world ONLY becos of lousy, high sulphur content fuel. Rem bro, Direct Injection requires zero or at least low sulphur fuel. High sulphur will clog and foul the DI injectors very quickly.

This is how the 271hp 2L Theta II GDI Turbo looks like in the Optima engine bay

http://www.blogcdn.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2010/12/lead6-2011-kia-optima-20t-fd.jpg

• oligopoli on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:55 am

exactly what i meant. i know kia got 2.0 turbo GDI, but only top of the line got it. 2.0 with turbocharged engine are for performance (271hp show it all). why not put turbo in, say kia forte 1.6 (with 170hp/220Nm)? downsizing the engine but maintain (if not outperform) 2.0 NA performance. what say you?

• ss427 on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:54 am

Hyundai is doing final testing on the turbocharged 1.6L Gamma II GDI engine to be used in the Veloster.

It will offer 200hp and over 250NM of torque in the Veloster when it is offered in the 2012 model yr.

Its widely believed that the engine will be offered in the new Elantra as well.. So I won’t find it suprising if it would end up in the next gen Forte too.

the current Forte will be EOL soon so let’s save the good stuff for the new version :)

Oh… how powderful the Potong CFE was again? haha :D What? No 6MT nor 6AT for the Exora? No 6 speed dual clutch transmission too?? The ‘lousy and junk’ Koreans have all these wor… :) Wonder who is the junk company here….

What is the fuel consumption for ther CFE again?

Ok la, I guess Potong will still win since GDI engines won’t be available in this part of the world … :(

• oligopoli on Jan 13, 2012 at 5:42 pm

wah, since when did i mentioned kia is a junk company? ok, fair enough.
            Whatever testing and technology kia use, make sure it comes to Malaysia. And, when it does come, make sure the price is comparable to a proton car with CFE. there’s no point have all the latest tech when its not available here, or when available, the price is not the same bracket, since we are discussing about Malaysian scenario. so no crap talk about tax, policy and whatnot. it leads nowhere.
            I never said CFE is out of planet (btw, why discussion about CFE here?). Its a good engine and good for exora, and if i must say, is the best engine u can get for sub-100k MPV. Personally, i prefer 6MT, but since not available, the best we can get is CVT, which is way better than 6AT u mentioned, for non-performance vehicle it is. at least proton can offer these while the best kia can offer for MPV is kia rondo (2 litre, 145hp, 189Nm) and yeahhh….4-speed auto!
            U want FC? proton quote 7.8l.100km. FC for rondo? sorry i don’t know, maybe u can tell us.

• Yappun on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:42 am

Haiiiyaaaaaaah……N/A engine want to compare with turbocharge aaaa?? How la dude? If you want to compare Exora’s 1.6 CFE go compare with Prince Engine 1.6L THP fitted on Peugeot 5008, 156bhp at 6,000rpm and 240Nm. Body type also same, midi mpv.

We are talking Optima K5 la dude…compare it to the same segment and engine. Go check others 2.0L N/A engines and compare Accord’s i-vtec, Camry’s VVTi and those equivalent alike…

• azusa on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:47 am

moron..compare the car with the right segment la moron

• Some of us completely missing the point.

Azusa – I’ve stated that I’m not comparing the car, just the engine performance.

Yappun – you almost got the point … I’m just stating that CFE, soft turbo, superturbo or what not can turn 1.6L engine output comparable to 2,0L NA engine. Again it is not Proton against KIA or Pug.

Oligopoli – you just prove the point that big output no necessary coming from big cc.

Why some people out there like to turn every statement into Proton vs the world?

• zanggief on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:44 am

Hope to view the comparison on D-segment just like previously SUV comparison.

With all the Jap and Kor models to perform at the same time (accord, camry, teana, mazda6, sonata). Btw, when the all new camry will come in and fight with this new rivals?

• calvint78 on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:49 am

speecless pricing place by NAZA.
    I dunno i should be happy, sad, gratefull or otherwise?
    I can afford this K5, but once i know it was from NAZA, i dont feel like buy it because the after sale service is below par. Even i send my lorry to pokok cherry workshop for servicing also will get more attention than.
    Anyway, im happy for those who bought this and enjoy it!

Cheers!!

• nighttrain on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:00 am

No screen on dash, otherwise, the specs are excellent. Maybe I’ll get one.. nah, NAZA can sell this car cheaper and still make a tidy profit but they wont. That’s why I won’t buy. Maybe if they put NAZA instead of KIA, the car might be cheaper, like 2.0 Forte..

• Derrick C on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:02 am

Design: Quite nice & cool too…. but my wife prefers Sonata, which is slightly more sleek;
    Spec: A really generous offer from Kia/Naza, but a little bit worry about their quality;
    Price: A reasonable one, based on the specs offered, but again, quality is more important;
    Overall: I quite like the car, may consider giving it a try…. :D

• Asking Now on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:12 am

Nice looks and a lot of modern accessories.. BUT, i’m wondering if the engine will last longer and will it durable with Malaysian pothole’s road?

• neutral_to_cars on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:16 am

Guys,

I really do not know why so many people dislike or condemning korean cars. For those who just talk “kosong” like our government BN, please, think twice, do you really own a D-segment car. You all should comment and advise those new owner who wanted to buy this car and not giving all sort of non-genuine comments. Personally I think the best candidates to give comments are those new Sonata owners. They should tell us hows the korean cars ride and its condition, their comments are more likely realistics than ppl here who knows just to condemn but they themselves do not own a D-segment car and also can’t afford to get one. They can’t afford and yet they want to bring in VW which is more expensive. And if you really afford to buy a VW or BMW or whatever is better than this car, so be it, you leave with your luxurious car, not everyone can afford with those. Some ppl may only afford up in the range of 100-144K, with this money, they will choose among the best for them and what they like.

I am a Accord VTiL owner. I am paying 149800 for this car with alot less feature compare to this monster K5. Do you know if you need this specs in Accord, you need to buy at least the 2.4cc with price tag 172800, and yet, you are not getting as much as what K5 is offering. I won’t say the K5 price tag for this car is reasonable or otherwise, but comparing the specification they are offering, is fully equipped except with GPS Navi, that you can get aftermarket later, there is alot out there. HUD is a plus if there is. Not too fancy though. Look at Naza website when they advertised K5, they did not particular emphasized on Push/Start engine, sunroof and others. They have too many features until they did not really emphasize this in the pictures. Unlike T&H, when you see T & H, little goodies they offer, they started to advertise it BIG in order to show they are offering a lot, but in fact, they are not. They are just giving little bits by bits for each face lift and this is really annoying. Unlike K5, they come with one model with almost total fullspec which you do not need to worry what is coming next in future. The only ball game Naza will play is that they may lower or offer discount when time passes. But this will not happen at the time being for initial launch.

The memory seat for me is very useful because I often change driver between my wife and myself. This is cool stuffs for me at least. I have been searching for Accord if memory seat can be add-on, I found it in US, but unfortunately is left handed. All you need is the button on the door trim and a memory module. Nevertheless, yes, K5 with this price tag maybe high for some people, but if you compare the specs, it beats all T & H, and Nissan in terms of features ( I am not talking about engine). Honda is not cheap either in terms of maintenance and spare parts. For a pair of Oxygen sensor, it causes RM 1200 which I experienced before. Now K5 is offering 5 years warranty unlimited mileage, i believe there will be some catch here with the terms and condition.

The worries for new owner on this car is I believe the 2nd hand value. (I really don’t give a damn, I will worry later for that when I decided to sell the car). Secondly, is the engine reliability. Some reviews says, Theta engine after 75Km and above, will start giving noise and problem (Donno wat problem). But that is the old or new version, I am not sure. 3rd, with all this electronic thingy and supervision cluster, how reliable it is in Malaysia with this kind of weather.

I am going to give it a shot on this car and sell my 2009 Accord. Again, is more welcome for those Sonata owners to give their comments on how this engine ride. Is there any problem on the engine so far, they can tell us in a more realistic comment. What is the service level that Naza is offerring in their 3s center. I rather listen to those that owns a new korean car than people who just plain talking.

• Good article! If they want to condemn Korean cars, unless they have one, else they’re just listen what other people said and simply talk cock only.

• Phillip Zak on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:16 am

Older Kia’s like the Naza Ria and Citra actually had the Mazda Engines .. so ironically the power of the brand is so strong that when you do a blind test people say things based on their passion for the brand ….

• Great comments, neutral_to_cars. Yes, agreed with you, too many people barking yet how many are genuine buyers? Strange to see people complaining on the 1 or 2 missing bits, like single tailpipe, no GPS, no ventilated/heated seats. My MINI has ventilated/heated seats and also the de-frost for front windscreen, but hack, never get a chance to use it in our hot climate.

Am currently driving a Sonata 2.4, clocked 17,000km in approx. 12 mths, so far so good. Full tank 70liters can get me to Spore and back (total distance : 800km) and still with fuel. The only complaint is the non-inclusion of the “Harden Performance Dampers” resulting in a little floating at certain road conditions. Other than that, no regrets. Wish I have the extra dough to get this K5!

• coolG on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Thumbs up, neutral_to_cars. Those Korean-cars bashers actually know nothing about cars… There must be some solid reasons why Hyundai/Kia conglomerate managed to squeeze into the World’s top 5 car manufacturer in just a few year’s time after their “dark-era” in the 90s… They had put in so much effort and money to develop new models which are getting better and better over the time, you could witness that by comparing their cars of past generation with the new successors… While the Japs, are being a bit of conservative with their new mass-production models…which is a bit disappointing to me, just my own point of view though…

Just for your reference,in term of overall quality, they are actually quite on par with those Japs big players, including some German-marque as well, you may refer the following links:

http://www.jdpower.com/autos/ratings/quality-ratings-by-brand/

http://www.jdpower.com/autos/ratings/performance-and-design-ratings-by-brand/

• I view this as a neutral and mature comment, not like many others here. In the competitive auto industries many big names have made progress in recent years, Hundai-Kia is definitely one of them. This recognition came from worldwide respected auto bodies and mainly westerners. The Korean definitely has done something right over the years. Moreover the quality of this car should be as what reviews overseas since it’s CBU from Korea, unlike our CKD cars here which are stripped down and supplied by local OEM vendors- and you can see the different quality compared to Japan. K5 is a highly anticipated car, the specs did not disappoint but some said the price is too high. I personally feel it’s ok given the equipments+ trims, safety and performance compared with other D segment car around this price range. It also have high safety rating in US, and all safety features are still offered here like the 6 airbags.

If you are doubtful about the engine reliability- it comes with 5 years warranty on engine+transmission. Theta II is also proven good as shared by Mitsubishi and GM for years.So for me everything is looking good. Perhaps my doubts is on the distributor who to some have bad reputation. However I can see Naza is planning to open more SS centers to build up image.

Some here talk about resale value. My advice: If you can’t afford the depreciation don’t look at any D segment car or anything above RM60k. All car depreciate by percentage so the higher the list price, the more it depreciates. The poor resale value of Korean cars may happened in the past- due to their problematic issues. Unless this car still carries the poor quality like previous generations it’s likely they break this tradition.

Next, we have people who like to compare sales figures, how many more Camry & Accord can sell over this. My question is what’s your point? Do we benefit from this? Do you get a tax rebate if you buy a Toyota? Besides, I don’t want to drive something I see passing by every minute.

I’m not encouraging people to buy this car but it’s high time for people here to look into the market on new offering instead of going blindly due to peer pressure. Do research, ask yourself what you really want? To me other good D seg cars are Mazda6, Mondeo, Passat because each have their own breakthrough- but they are all rm170k. For RM140k what other D segment cars can you get?

• droll on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:34 pm

finally see some good comments. i was wondering myself if i was the only one thinking at RM140k+ this is one of the best value for money D segment cars you can get in terms of features. it comes loaded.

it’s a pity the turbo charged version of the optima is not in malaysia.

• The Dude on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:56 am

I must say I enjoy reading the comments posted being good or bad.
          Having a fairly broad knowledge about cars, mainly continental Europeans and knowing how the cars are being tested against each other I am some what amused by some comments.
          Personally I have been eyeing the Ford Mondeo as I feel the package is very strong with actually a pretty decent price in comparison to equipment and quality.
          Now this new Kia is actually comparable to the Mondeo in many ways except for the engine and at a much lower price. So everything is down to how you compare, but best advice already given… Please do your research. Especially from known autotech magazines who do and have been conducting more or less scientific testing for years. These sources are also important in the way that they are a voice from the public to the manufacturers and push for better economy, safety and quality.
          Personally I was happy to see that there is a proper seatbelt for the middle backseat passenger in the Kia. This is something that made me turn around when checking out the Hyundai Sonata which I found to be completely ridiculous that a modern car does not come equipped with proper seatbelts for all occupants. This was after the salesman had a go at the safety of the Sonata!
          I can live without an extra airbag, but the fundamentals have to be there for the airbags to do any good. Yes, I do focus on safety as I want my family to be as safe as possible in the event there is an accident. Which is why I also tend to try and compare the latest models of cars available when changing cars. By this I mean cars with the latest chassis technology as the strength of any car is in the chassis. Please consider this when you choose as it also will affect the handling and overall comfort of your future ride.
          So far i have not seen much negative about this new KIA albeit the some what lackluster service pointed out.
          I do not see this KIA as comparable to the T & H as both are by now old models at the end of their life cycle, hence the price quoted is much overrated. Equipment wise they are a dessert and engine/transmission is a joke at best. No haters please, my current ride is a Civic which I have loved and hated equally. Service sucks with complete bafoons maning the spanners and customer service, yet very proud of the excellent service they provide, fantastic attitude!
          This is my first Japanese car and most likely my last. I do not care so much about the brand as long as the package feels and seems good (hence the Civic).
          Price is important to most of us and I presume we all stride to buy the best vehicle we can afford whether it is a local brand or not. A car will never be a sound investment, we can only hope it does not cause excessive costs during our ownership and that we get a fair trade in value when the time comes. I must say I was quoted a very high price for my Civic in exchange for an Accord. How ever after about a minute and a half I decline the offer based on the Accord being outdated and not a very appealing package atleast for me. And conclusion is that I rather look twice at this KIA then go for another round of punishment ownership under the Honda brand, based on technology, spec, safety and performance.

• Garfield on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:32 pm

I really do admire your stance in swapping your Accord with this car. I agree that the offer is tempting enough for someone who is used to owning a car in this segment. The Accord is not the strongest car in the league anyway and that would make it easier to part with it.

However, there will be one part of ownership that I suggest you to lower down your expectation a bit, which is loving and maintaining your future lovely car under Naza-Kia. I did share my experience above. If you can become a repeat customer in the future I shall be impressed.

I sincerely hope that things have improved over the last two years….. the marketing division seemingly did. I was told that these days they have refrained from dumping their unsold stocks at unbelievable prices (they were the pioneer in offering 0% downpayment). It was one of the factor that contributed to bad resale value. Quietly they still do I believe for models that is nearing end of sale.

Anyway, please come back and make all of us envy you (I’m telling that to their service division)…..

• Let me congratulate you for a well written comment. One not based on fanatical support for a brand, something that is so common here in BolehLand.

Let me share my experience of my 10 month old 6-speed 2.0L Forte. Build quality is far superior to the locally assembled T&H (BTW, I also own a 14 month old 2.0L Honda Accord). I suspect that this first batch of 6-speed Forte is not fully locally assembled. The Thetta II 2.0L has been nothing but AMAZING. The 6-speed gear ratios matches the power band of the engine beautifully. Rarely does the gear box hunts for the right gear nor hesitates to change. NVH can be improved upon but this can be easily rectified by changing the original Kumho tyres and/or Autofoam package. Handling is shockingly superb. As an ex BMW E36 owner, I was not expecting this Kia Forte to handle as well as it does. The rear torsion beam does make the rear end to be slightly bumpy & snappy but the snappy rear can be used to an advantage in terms of quick cornering recovery. There has been a few times the ESP has activated during my spirited riving / cornering & I attribute the ESP to have saved my bacon at least twice.

Every one speaks of the the full specs but no one has ever mentioned the safety package that Kia Forte & Optima provides. The ESP, 6 airbags, meeting highest standard of crash safety.

The ESP is a life saver & (correct me if I’m wrong) but both Camry & Accord does not have ESP. Many T&H fans will howl in anger & mention ABS, brake assist but ESP is more than just this. It is an active software that monitors the car’s acceleration, yaw & roll rate, engine rpm, speed & then decide if any wheel needs to be reduced in speed to prevent an out of control situation. Cornering brake control is an example of this technology.

Again, some will say that 6 airbags will cost a bomb to service & replace but let me ask them this question. At what price do you place your loved one’s safety?

As for Servicing of Naza Kia, so far I have no complains of Naza Kia Selayang. The manager Mr. Arul has been nothing but professional & runs a tight ship. There are some service centres that have nothing but complains (from the feedback of Forte forum) but I have no qualms of recommending Mr. Arul & Selayang service centre.

All in all, it has been a good 10 months ownership. Have not regretted buying this Forte.

I wish you luck on your decision to buy this K5 & may you make the decision that best meet your requirements.

• adrian on Dec 29, 2011 at 6:43 pm

As a new owner of forte, no issues so far. enjoying its drive n ride. :)

• seancorr on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:31 am

Good price with good specs though I still think some specs are still missing like the front parking sensors, keyless entry and built in GPS. Does the xenon lights come with active cornering function?

But with the good price and all the good comments we’ll have to wait and see how well it does in our market….the same was said when the Sonata came out but the sales figures failed to rival those of the Japanese rivals.

Agreed on the plain interior looks and the not so good rim design….

• jason on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:39 am

rim is really bad look….

• Tall Pan on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:02 pm

i think the rims are fkin awesome modern. to each his own i guess :-)

• Its because of typical malaysian mentality that keep thinking about resale value (above everything else) where everyone dare not try something new and keep sticking to what they perceived best like Honda, Toyota & Nissan. Then we have another group of empty talk contributors in the market that keep condemning how lousy korean cars are, and such remarks scared off the genuine would be buyers! If so many are not keen with the K5, why bother looking at this topic….might as well leave the page after reading, yet they keep coming back and post, post, post. I wonder why?

That’s why cars like sonata and mondeo etc are not picking up. And if not because of the favourable SKD/CKD pricing for Forte and Peugeot, you reckon the sales would have pick up?

All only know how to complain and talk empty. Provide some constructive feedback else the country will remain as such, never progress forward. Its the next gen that is going to suffer!

• JacobKing on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:58 pm

I bought a Honda City IDsi in year 2004 at RM80K, my friend bought a Sonata 2L at RM120K in the same year. We both sold our car this year, my car was sold at RM 40K and his sonata was sold at RM 32K, So think of it yourself. Dont talk like hero, be realistic.

• _xXx_ on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:43 am

2.0L NA 165ps, I m kinda skeptical on the claimed figure. I think 110ps max on dyno

• you must be skeptical of all the the spec too. that is how all jap car buyers feel….seriously shortchanged and a painful sting in their heart. so they bad mouth korean cars!

• _xXx_ on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:48 pm

fyi, ford focus claims to have 146ps, on dyno, alamak, 108 onli…

• you are comparing to dyno on wheel. that is not what the manufacturers claim.

• _xXx_ on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:03 pm

why is there a world of difference?

• oomph on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:24 pm

there is always power lost in transmission from engine to wheel. some more for an automatic car. as always, the dyno result would be lower than engine spec power.

• 108 on the wheel?? If the engine output is only 108. suggest you file a complaint against Ford for misleading advt. FYI many years ago, Mazda also had this issue in USA.

• limahpek on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Forte that i drive 124hp, i dyno on crank is really 124hp… So to say the engine output is higher than on paper so to speak!!

• Hadi75 on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Aparaaa….every car will produce less hp on dyno than the stated spec sheet…

• Intellectual masturbation.

Go drive the car to feel if it meets your requirements, not look at a piece of paper & make an ASSumption.

If it does not meet your requirement or should you cant afford it, then move on.

Buy something that you like & dont condemn those that does not share the same taste as you do.

• libralcl on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:46 am

If in the buying list of this price range RM140K ~ RM150K. Among Honda Accord, Toyota Camry, Hyundai Sonata….I choose this one.

• rush hour on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:17 pm

is this a hyundai sonata with a different face, just like all the previous optima/sonata of 2 generations back?

• Ian CHEONG on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:56 am

Aren’t u glad u are not paying prices over the causeway?

But of course in Bolehland, we are paying about an extra RM 60k in taxes for this mid sized D segment baby compared to the Americans! Max price only US 27k or under RM 90k only! Most cars in this segment fall within US$ 19 – 28k only!
    Hard to argue with a safety rating of 9.9 out of 10.

• ss427 on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Haha in SG, we’re paying so much for the cars only to be used for 10 yrs. After that, we have to pay tens of thousands of $$ again to buy another 10 yr COE to put your old clunker on the road again. In other words, your car which has served you well for the past 10 yrs will suddenly becomes an illegal vehicle in SG if you don’t pay alot of $$ to the gov just to extend its lifespan for another 10 yrs… :(

That’s the beauty of living in SG…where everything is about $$ and our gov will make sure you pay alot of $$ for something that you can’t even see nor feel….

With such excellent build quality and finish, this new Optima can easily hang on for 20 yrs if you give it the TLC it deserved. Seriously, you can be amazed how durable modern day engines can be if its cared for adequately. Eg, use top quality 0W-30 or thinner syn oil, svc you engine requirely, replace all consumables regularly, polish the paint etc…

• shawal on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:04 am

:'( …. I want one , but they don’t have in red!

• adiia3 on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:34 pm

buy and paint it yourself. stop giving excuse.

you wan manual gear in this car or not.

ish ish ish.

• thebugbud on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:01 pm

IMO, the Korean cars has improved over time. The true fact is that it has been tested in the US market and has built up a good loyal followers.

Build quality shouldn’t be too much of a concern though many may argue about the quality but all cars do have certain level of quality issues. If we would dig harder, ones may find more quality in BMW, Merc and etc. Having said, quality should be up to acceptable level for the price we paid.

To complete a full package, a good product should come with a good after sales service. The biggest drawback is NAZA and they will have to prove to provide and commit better after sales.

A classic case is the Chevrolet which has gone from DRB-HICOM to HAZA. All Chevy owners are facing issue with parts and after sales. For some Captiva owners, parts are in waiting list since more than 1 year.

We need to be prudent and place a good though before picking up a good product. (no doubt, optima is a great product).

• Paul/Anthony/Danny/Harvinder…

I’m just wondering could we have a ultimate mid-siz car review?

(Did i miss any mid-size car in this price range in our market? ^^” I didn’t include Ford Mondeo as it’s turbocharged and the price is ard the 2.4/2.5L range)

• i wonder where did my text go? @.@

I mean

Camry vs Accord vs Sonta vs Teana vs Optima vs Mazda 6…
      the 2.0L category…

i think i shouldn’t used “”…. =.=

• A test drive and maintenance service/parts pricing comparo consist of new 2012 Camry 2.0, Sonata 2.0 premium, VW Passat 1.8, Optima K5 2.0, Mazda6 2.0, Teana 2.0, Accord 2.0, Pug 508 1.6THP Prince, Audi A4 1.8, will be good, huh?

One thing for sure everyone will agree, new flagship KIA 4S run by Kia Motor Korea itself in Klang Valley will boost Kia’s perception among skeptics.

I dare KIA to teach NAZA how to handle their brand. If successful, new Kia in the pipeline like new Picanto or even better and more balance RIO; new 2013 Forte will be hit.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Anybody notice there is a catch here, first batch 100 units bring in in 2011, by the time you got your car it is already 2012 so you are getting a 2011/2012 car, An extra 1 year depreciation base on year when you sold your car later.

• Kenso on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Considering that the C segment Forte (equipped with specs that simply blows the other C segment contenders away) was priced smack in the middle of the B segment Vios/City pricing so many may have expected the D segment K5 to follow the same logic of pricing it at a Civic/Altis level. Also, although the Elantra is not launched yet, it’s pricing is estimated to be higher than the Forte (which may still sport a higher list of features compared to the new Elantra). So with the K5 being hedged higher than the Sonata HS, it’s a complete reversal of pricing strategy and I guess many people are surprised by Naza’s (or the government’s “advise”) move to park the pricing of the K5 beyond the RM140k mark …. something which many may find hard to swallow and say whatever we like about T & H low tech offerings, they sell reliability, not technology and the sales figures show. Like it or not, an RM140k budget offers a lot of other choices, in both C and D segments.

For me, what I find most ridiculous is the fact that the first 100 units brought in are 2011 models …. paying full price with no discounts and collect a 2011 car in 2012, effectively losing 1 year of value the day the owner starts driving it …. the buyer must have really deep pockets or have lots of money to burn. And I will pity the guy who takes a 9 year loan … assuming the first year depreciation is 25% (it’s still a Kia), interest rate at 2.85% and the maximum 90% loan is applied, the poor guy is effectively paying more than RM200k throughout the entire loan tenure ….. just for the sake of bragging rights during 2012 CNY!

Be careful for those wanting to buy! Think carefully!

• end of the yr is the time companies make their car purchase in order to increase overhead/depreciation and pay lower taxes.

the regular joes will most likely only purchase in jan 2012

• kenso on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Erm …. I am flattered that someone gave due credit to my posting made in another forum by using my nick here …. I was a bit confused wondering since when I posted here …

Anyway, to King, I agree with you that if the company needs to reduce their profits to pay less taxes, they will purchase a vehicle under the company account towards the year end. But to do so, the invoice of the vehicle must be dated within this year. I doubt there are any companies out there that will wait till the very last week of the year and run the risk of the purchase being billed in year 2012. The odds of having the loan approved, the K1 form issued, PDI-ed, Puspakom inspected, delivered and acceptance signed within the last 3 days of this year …. well, I think no company accountant is going to take that risk.

• Wise vote on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:35 pm

The korean basher still over protect the japs. car. Don’t moving forward. Time to wake up.

• Wise vote on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Price with all fully loaded spec is a thumb up. But for those donno to calculate is a thumb down.
    For eg, people will always assume those japs. is value for money.

Buying (same price)samsung air cond with inverter and ion function. My friends will said why you don’t but panasonic cheap and reliable. But at the price I only can get basic model without inverter or ion function.

Galaxy S2 has full of function i want buy, then some1 said why you don buy iphone . At the same situation iphone is very overprice .

• i like your comparison, since the iphone is manufactured in china anyway…..just like most jap cars sold here are manufactured in thailand, indon or locally.

to me it only makes sense to pay premium if the car is CBU japan.

• ContiCarLover on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:53 pm

How long your Korean friend have not driven Kia?

• ViewerTR on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:22 pm

I fully support people buying korean cars are we need such people to force the Japanese to improve the specs of their cars in Malaysia. Nevertheless, I must admit that resale value is very important to me and as such I will stick to Japanese until it improves. I am not that rich that I can say resale value is not important. I believe there are a lot of people like me (genuine D-segment resale value-conscious buyers). FrankIy, think most people who say that resale value is not important is either very rich or naive.

• K Tan on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Quick Paul, get a comparison shootout between K5, Sonata, Teana, Camry, Accord etc …

• Maserati on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Cheaplooking interior and unrefined engine. Goodluck on ur sales kia, i guarantee a few months dwn the road there will be tons of discounts for this car.

• ss427 on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Hey Maserati bro, I am amazed you’re still ard after getting hammered all over last time when you got desperate and actually proclaim that more airbags and safety features is bad… :D

So anymore new arguments you have this time round? haha:D

• japfans on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Cheaplooking comment and unrefined brain. Goodluck on ur sales meserati, i guarantee a few months dwn the road there will be tons of discounts and broken car.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Wah! Not yet die a? I thought you already crashed by Korean cars and dead?

• Stupid people always like to curse others. Very bad ethic. If you have nothing good to say, please keep you mouth shut.

• Maserati-'fan' on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Maserati…. Korean car article is not perfect without your comment.

• japfans on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:05 pm

100% agreed, without him will be no fire.
        Some time you need people like him to stir and fry, if everyone the same, life will be bored………..

• TurboMan on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Bravo bravo.

Well said.

I see most of us gave up trying to reason with him already.

• Kia ;) on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:49 pm

saya ada dua buah kia, spectra dan terbaru Forte 6 speed.. siapa yang tak pernah guna better jangan komen yang bukan-bukan la di sini.. Mungkin saya akan ambil K5/ sportage untuk kereta yang ketiga… Jika anda tak suka sama naza service centre, kenapa ada pergi? Kan ada banyak lagi authorized SC.. Worth for your money..better buy KIA from Forte onward.. new technology, value for money, comfort, and maintanence very cheap… siapa yang nak beli..memang dialu-alukan..saya bukan salesman.. tetapi saya adalah pemilik KIA semenjak 2002.. puas hati..dan lasak.. anda kena “feel” dan jangan membeli hanya ikut orang saja/// better pergi Authorized SC tanya diorang dulu sebelum beli…sebab tu I dah ada 2 buah KIA

• mykia on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:52 pm

saya ada dua buah kia, spectra dan terbaru Forte 6 speed.. siapa yang tak pernah guna better jangan komen yang bukan-bukan la di sini.. Mungkin saya akan ambil K5/ sportage untuk kereta yang ketiga… Jika anda tak suka sama naza service centre, kenapa ada pergi? Kan ada banyak lagi authorized SC.. Worth for your money..better buy KIA from Forte onward.. new technology, value for money, comfort, and maintanence very cheap… siapa yang nak beli..memang dialu-alukan..saya bukan salesman.. tetapi saya adalah pemilik KIA semenjak 2002.. puas hati..dan lasak..

• Toyota a/l honda on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Hahaha, Toyota & honda fans look like penyokong BN dulu kini selamanya…..ini mcm kalu mcm mana mau tukar kerajaan.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Dec 28, 2011 at 6:04 pm

Naza own by grandson of Malaysian Lydia Tsum, Inokom own by Mosses Black, so who is Dulu Kini & Selama Lama nya.

• K-or-J-Pop on Dec 28, 2011 at 2:24 pm

Without a doubt this car give you the most features compare with the others in Msia right now, the pricing is a bit steep but i guess Hyundai/Kia is moving up the scale with their proven products i guess we have just admit they are beating everyone now. Wake up Malaysian ! The Koreans are no more a cheapo car manufacturer anymore so live with it guys ! Kim Chi Time !

• edward on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Overall got to say it is the most well specced D segment sedan with price less than 150k

The K5 is dam sexy… Infinity sound system 100% better than stock system of H n T nearest D segment is Bose on Mazda 6…

basic spec of accord or camry @ waterfall long spec list of K5…….

Since when buying a car is an investment? resale value is crap.. dont tell me all of u going to change ur car every 3 years interval???

• eager to wait the sales report for this car…my guess is 400 for the 1st quarter of 2012.

• talking as though u will be getting a bonus if the sales is more than 1000 units.

i find it funny how some ppl keep on using sales figure as a guide on how good is a car.

• true that the sales figure doesn’t reflect on how good the car is.. but it reflects the way peoples in general think…funny as it may seems….

• whitesmileman on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:22 pm

K5 in korea start at RM 37800. I feel so sorry for Malaysian.

• Wednesday on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Of course there is cheaper. No need to import into own country right? Spare parts, servicing can all be supported locally without importing also. Not so bright lah.

• Kevin on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:25 pm

How about our saga and myvi selling around rm50k, worth it? lololol no tax but still making tons of hard ern rakyat money..

• RedBeanBun on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:57 am

since we are the only country in the whole world to ripped off own citizens in the car price, and not building public transport as options.

• ctbver on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:33 pm

liar

• oligopoli on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:30 am

wah very cheap. in singapore they sell at $129k

• ss427 on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:39 pm

It’s becos of our COE thingy… Current COE prices is ard SGD$70k! :(

You deduct $70k from the price and you have a better idea how much the Optima cost over here.

Yes, that $70k is the one I’m talking about… You can’t even feel it cos all transaction is on the web and via interbank fund transfer. Unless you print out the receipt, all records will disappear once you shut down your PC.. well disappeared b4 your eyes la.

Yet we’re expected to pay $70k for it to use our cars for 10 yrs only… :(

Still wanna migrate to Sillypore my Bolehland friends? haha

• oligopoli on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:44 am

the biggest BS i read this morning. top of the line K5 2.0 GDI Turbo price at 29,450,000?, equal to 80,535.70 MYR. basic spec K5 2.0 manual tranny is price at 19,800,000?(54,150.84 MYR). which model are you referring to? optima k1 1.0 VTEC?

• Car Driver on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Really? Then Govt and Naza together profited at least RM110,000 from the poor rakyat’s money. Very profitable business indeed.

• fadhli on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:33 pm

what’s up with the rims?? weird n not pretty to look at at all..

• Carl Wong on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Why are cars from Kia/Naza generally cheaper compared to Japanese cars?

• madmarzio on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:52 pm

because to make sure their staffs will earn 4-6 months (at least) bonus each year.. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

• megaman on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:26 pm

is a new car… i think is nice… but for those who don’t like certain part of the design, putting up question like “why like this, why like that” is not going to change anything, right… and to say the price is more than what it’s worth, is not really going to change anything either… i mean people will buy this car when the love it. worth it or not is not a factor when love is stronger… you won’t like it either if people come to you and say the car that you own is not worth the price… right…?? so… lets enjoy the update and try to minimise our expressive objection towards something that does not suit our every need…

• ahlong on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:39 pm

This KIA Optima is really great for outlook, interior is so so compare to Japanese car like Accord and Camry. I know it best cos i own this 2 japs car, i sold my camry 2 years ago and get the current Honda accord 2.4. But to be frank, Accord disappoint me as it is not as powerful as i expected. If talking about stability and solid solid feel…camry is the one. What i can say is nowadays Korean cars like Hyundai and KIA, their design are so so great compare to Japs. Japanese car designers are sleeping… with boring design and entry spec selling high price. Korean car with damn good and trendy design but old engine with good accessories selling on par with Japs car…emm.. i think it is fair enough la. But still Malaysian are too much concern on car value depreciation… me too. I am not very happy with my current accord 2.4, and i like this Optima so much even compare to Hyundai Sonata. Still liking it and buying it still a big question mark. I rather get the 2xwheel Mazda CX7, or upcoming CX5!!! I had total of 6 japanese car….none of it satisfy me. Too bad… Korean car maybe even worst but still i think ALL cars selling in Malaysia are too expensive. F the taxes…F the people who makan duit so much!!!!

• Safe Driver on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:15 pm

You just need to collect more $$$ from those borrowers mr. ah long

• oligopoli on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:21 am

this optima use no old engine. it used theta II, new engine

• chepool on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:17 pm

please dont just release it n when customer want to order have to wait 6 month like forte koup.

• Ahmed on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Korean cars be it Kia or hyundai …… Pay 130+ to 140 + rm not rupiah for a d segment . Features a lot ….. Only insane guy will buy . These cars are garbage ! Why because it is not reliable and resale value is very low. Not to be bias ….. H N T is better in terms of value , reputation and known for it’s reliability for decades. Ok no car is perfect but this Kia is garbage ……. You can’t drive this car for biz …. Spoilt your reputation and it’s it’s … Read carefully ……..GARBAGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! Don’t argue or else you are no different from Garbage….. Garbageeeeeeeeeeeee F tup brand . No sorry ….
    Sekian . Terima Kasih !

• Victor on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:33 pm

The streets of korea is full of K5! They even use K5 as taxis! Best part is, it is only selling for about RM80,000 in Korea!

• Open Market Value for Optima est RM 46,560 Camry 2.0 RM 56,472 Import Duty 30% + Excise 80% + Sales Tax 10%. Camry CBU Thailand hence CEPT applies Import Duty NIL.Cost Camry RM 111,815 sells at RM 155k Optima RM 107k sells at RM 143k

• TaxiDriver on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:50 pm

For your info Germany also use alot of Merc and Audi as taxi ! Malaysian use Proton, Korean use Kia/Hyundai, Japanese use T,H or N so you see that doesn’t mean anything about the car.

• Brian Jong on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Korean car has been great significantly improve over quality build. Kia Hyundai now can compete against German rival and Japanese rival. Dont look down on Korean car, and its not rubbish like before

• Ahmed on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:49 pm

This is the most insane comment i ever read . Compete against German ? There is a place call Tanjung Rambutan and it suits primate like you . Lol sekian terima Kasih . You are the best joker here and I can’t stop lol . LoL

• its not insane, on DW (german) channel on Unifi TV, the germans actually comparing korean cars against german cars and gave it real good review. I guess being ignorant makes u happy :)

• Ahmed on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:43 am

@ Ryan , another primate from this time tanjong durian . have you been to germany and visit the R &D . Korean vs German in automobile industry ? you cant face the fact …….. you should compare Tdurian and T rambutan ok …. dont compare with the germans … hands down miles ahead …. lol sekian terima kasih

• waterman on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:15 pm

LOL, u r not only insane..
        you are totally retard… OMG i laugh till my tear drops reading your comments.
        so people buying korean car and you can cry and run back to your mama.. suck her breast for milk feed..
        i think you are the only malaysian live in jungle…
        hello.. knock knock.. wake up buddy.

you can’t even pin-point what’s the weaknesses then you better go back to school learn english.. do some survey… i think your teach only teach you what?? ohh yeah..
        “GARBAGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! “

• TRT Malaysia on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:23 pm

When you guys talk about Naza “poor aftersales” what is the real issues? Never own a Naza car before but looking at the K5 Im putting it into options..

• madmarzio on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:33 pm

the most problems anticipated by the car owner especially for a new model, Nazakia looks like they have problem to stock their spareparts. some need to wait 2 weeks to 2 months for a couple of parts (not new issue, satu malaya sudah tau, and i dont know why). In term of workmanship and consultation, not all sc sucks, and most of excellence sc are always occupied, and to make it worse, there’s one authorised sc only hv 2 mechanics!! so sad, but true. btw, i own a forte 2010.

• Mr. Rite on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:34 pm

not only stocking issue…. look at their price!! I guess naza car owner will kill themself for being so stupid owing one!!! BTW i owe a peugeot and i really do feeling like kiliing myself after knowing spare part does not last and is very costly to replace!!! when u find out the details of the warranty i guess you better be dead!

• litle fun car on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:31 pm

the all new optima is very lousy what missing???????????? gps ,automatic lock ,camera,i phone 4s and i pad 2
    the girls are cold

• Who want a Korean Junk if they have 140K budget. Sure get HNT.

• Hunter on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:08 am

Hey, can anyone coment about the interior and exterior look – K5 Vs Mazda-6 2.5cc. Do not compare the performance. Just compare the look. I would like to hear your feedbacks.

• waterman on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:22 pm

both are nice car with good interior and exterior….
        i’ve sit in both before too…
        is more like your personal liking…
        even though i actually more prefer M6 look coz more sleek design..
        but my little advise is M6 is getting old… facelifted and i suspect all new M6 coming real soon while this K5 is brand new in malaysia..

• BrokenHeArt on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:40 pm

higher specs doesn’t get the car to go any faster..or drive better..the price really is a let down..period.

• k.pop on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:11 am

Kereta Korea SO FAR SO GOOD… yang penting sentiasa ada peningkatan, K5 ni kereta KACUK da,,, sekali imbas depan macam ACCORD, ada INSANG cam BMW lama, belakang SONATA, MUTANT CAR… tak payah la kutuk mana-mana kereta kerana setiap kereta ada jasa pada pembelinya dan kepada yang menumpang di dalamnya… dan mana-mana kereta pun tidak pernah sekalipun mengutuk ANDA… ANDA saja penat-penat mengutuknya… akhirnya anda duduk juga di dalam BADANNYA…

• Alex C Tseung on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:21 am

not sure why everyone says that kia resale value is no good. have anyone really check around for the resale values for the new generation of kia/hyundai? it maybe true for the old generations of korean cars, i myself bought a second hand hyundai matrix because its cheaper resale value. but does anyone have any real facts and figures to support that the new generations of korean cars still are that bad in their resale value? its like saying that your grandfather was a thief, therefore automatically that makes your father and you a thief too, which may or may not be the case. i personally think that value is always determine by supply and demand. if u have one buyer but ten units on sale, you therefore need to lower your price to create demand. conversely if you have ten buyers and one unit on sale, in a perfect world you would obviously sell the unit to the highest bidder. just my two cents.

• Yes, when I sold back my Shepia after just 3 years of using it (seriously underpowered and makan minyak like no tomorrow), the resale price drop faster then the loan payback amount. Used car sellers refer Korean’s car as “kereta sejuk” – difficult to sell back.

It will take sometimes before the Korean can overcome this stigma, much like Proton with their infamous problem of power windows.

• Garfield on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:48 am

Yes, I wish for real hard facts too. Anyone who had owned the so-called new generations and have tried to sell on, please respond!

Maybe I give u example of what I know of the “old” generation. Kia Picanto new car is selling like how much….. 47K? Somewhere like that lah. They go and produce at Gurun there lah. One year down the road, you can find the year old car, unsold new at 36K. So they can dispose of the car to desperate buyers with “0” downpayment. Similar case with Citra that I’ve came across, but surprisingly the “newer generation” Rondo was also guilty. Spectra, no need to tell lah, everyone knows.

So you figure out, how will the resale value of a used unit be? I own a 7-year CBU Kia Picanto. If I ask the trade-in value, I always imagine if I can kick the teeth out of the salesman. But I won’t blame him, when the car was 3-year old I too felt that it was worthless. At the roadside with so many issues with no SC that can be trusted to help. I turned to the internet and now the car is better to drive and even now feel better than a 5-year old MyVi. I can say I get 6 good years out of 7….. Good enuf lah

• nasai on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:42 am

An interesting comparo by Top Gear Korea between Honda Accord, Toyota Camry, Mercedes Benz E300, Kia K5 2.0 Turbo GDi (as opposed to the MPI we locals get), Lexus ES350 on drag and top speed department. They are trying to test whether can a 2.0 Turbo GDi beat the normally aspirated 3.0 litre engines. Looks like German VW FSi can take our Euro2M but not the Hyundai & Kia’s GDi.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXa1G7rE8-A

• ss427 on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:28 am

haha… the 2.5L Camry finished last! :)

Folks, in case you’re not aware, the 2.5L dual VVTi engine/6AT as offered in the upcoming ah pek Camry is exactly the same unit as the one you see in the video.

Toyota actually used this engine in the current G6 Camry since 2010 in some western countries because they realize they were loosing the hp war fast against the best American and Euro and Koreans can offer these days. But even then, they still can’t hold the fort. 185hp from a 2.5L is not much, the 2.4L Theta II GDI already makes 200hp.. :) All without any forced induction.

Again we can’t get any GDI engines in this part of the world. :(

Actually if you look carefully at the drag race, the GDI Turbo engine seems to be tuned for low – mid rpm torque o/p. This is why the Optima was able to get ahead of the pack for the 1st few hundred meters. I was quite surprised the 3.5L E300 actually can’t keep up initially given the premium drivetrain setup of Mercedes Benz.

But I guess there’s still no subsitute for engine capacity no matter how tech adv your engine is…. and bigger 3.5L V6s will surely generate the high rpm hp and torque to blast the ES350 and the E300 forward at high speed.

Many US car mag quoted 0-60mph sprint of just 6.5 secs for the Optima and Sonata Turbo :)

• Hyundai Onwer on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:48 am

Please….. Don’t comment if you don’t own a korean car. I own a korean car & going to get a korean car again…

If you think that the fuel consumption is high, then get a bicycle. Free for life…

• Sharvind Varma on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:33 pm

The car is awesome in the exterior for its class..no doubt about that..on the other hand,the interior is nice but could have been a little better(eg. Peugeot 508,sonata)…the price is a slightly higher but i feel its still reasonable..hopefully a 2.4 version will be released as I feel the 2.0 will be slightly under power compared to Camry and Accord 2.4

• ss427 on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:47 pm

I do agree. I’ve test driven the Optima twice here in SG and compared to the i45/Sonata 2.4 that I test drove back to back, the 2L Optima is abit underpowered. :(

It may not show if you’re driving alone or with one average build passenger (ie pretty gal :D ) but load the car up with 3-4 pple and you can feel the engine starting to struggle abit when you move off from the lights. You need to stomp down the pedal more to keep the rpm on the boil to keep things interesting.

The 2.4L Sonata on the other hand, is much more able to handle the load of the car. No problems at all. But…. Sonata’s steering feel is next to non existent…and it has a spongy brake pedal that requires you to slam on the brakes hard if you want to haul the car down at highway speed.

The Optima brakes are much better. The steering feel is slightly better but its still felt remote… I guess that’s the problem with EPS…

Note: I’m driving a FL FD1… So naturally I’d compare the Optima and Sonata with my Civic… Other than the thumbs down stated above, the Optima sure beat the shit outta my FD1 anytime be it build quality, ride quality, sound insulation, equipment levels etc…

• Sharvind Varma on Dec 30, 2011 at 8:16 pm

I like your reply..btw lets hope the 2.4 version comes out and shut the mouth of all the criticizers of this awesome car…for this price certain things need to be compromised though(eg.EPS problem) but this problem only occurs when you are in high speeds thus I feel for everyday use it would have much problem and I believe among its current competitors, it stands out as the best

• prhhh… the Ahmed wants attention so much, just ignore him, another kiddo from secondary school, keep sekian terima kasih.

Like a dog from kampung that knows nothing.

• Drebar on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Better Paul Tan do mega cAmparison/cross-fights between:
    -new Optima, Sonata, Camry, Accord, Teana, Mondeo, Passat, Mazda6, Legacy and Perdana V6

It will be settled once and for all which one the best executive car!

• What mega cAmparison/cross-fights???
      Look at the sales figures is the best judgement, because sales figures don’t lie like car salesman and fanboys.
      You will be sure this Optima will be death last or 2nd to last.

• I must admit that KIA gave a generous amount of equipments here. I believe it has more bells and whistles than Sonata, Camry, Teana, and Accord.

Koreans are really getting competitive now (except for Sssayyong haha). Their quality is very good if not better than the Japs, and in order to attract more customers, they offer more specs for a lower price.

Seriously Japan, if you think than retaining your name of reliability and plain boring design without doing some changes will retain all your customers. Look at the Koreans and think again.

• Wak Segan on Dec 29, 2011 at 9:34 pm

what? over RM140k? better buy Wak Segan Jetta lah…
    After test drive Jetta, you will know the `difference’…

• jetta lover on Dec 30, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Although jetta is not the same D segment but about same price range. Afterall, i will still prefer jetta. Power, handling, good fuel consumption which at 16++ cent/km :) After 1 month driving, just Love it.

• terence on Dec 30, 2011 at 1:36 pm

ya , i agreed. but my fuel consumption abt 0.18 to 0.19 within town area, if is 50% urban and 50% outskirt will be 0.17/ km. how did u get 0.16? full tank can run how many mileage??

• jaybee on Dec 31, 2011 at 1:14 am

my jetta is giving me 0.12 for highways. Penang drove down to KL for two days and back to penang. I net about 700km including town area.

if solid highway, my jetta can cover 850km

oh by the way. if any friends that are driving japanese car and made fun of your car. do bring them for a trip up to genting. it will shut their pie hole permanently :D

cheers!

• terence on Dec 31, 2011 at 9:44 am

Thanks Jaybee, i will drive back Alor setar from JB on CNY, is excited to test and know it .
          happy new year to u.

• terence on Dec 31, 2011 at 9:54 am

Thanks Jaybee , will try on CNY from JB to ALOR SETAR , is excited to test and know it, happy new year to u !!

• Padackles on Dec 30, 2011 at 7:25 pm

the k5 looks good but at 150k u can also have vw jetta. it gets dual clutch transmission and the best one too. vw dsg boast shift times of 0.008 sec = 8 ms. trust me i have driven the mk6 golf n nissan r35 gtr. the vw gets into next gear as soon as u pull up at the paddle shift but the gtr dont. u can still feel a little lag in the gtr’s dual clutch system if u ever driven a vw with dsg.

i’m just saying.

• Terence on Dec 31, 2011 at 12:27 am

Wow, that cool !!

• Fast&Furious on Jan 02, 2012 at 12:04 am

Wow, cool! I got it, driving this VW dual clutch car means I will arrive home everyday 0.56 sec quicker than Toyota, Honda, KIa, Nissan all these crap cars….., and reaching my office perhaps 0.45 sec quicker! That’s incredible!
      People, don’t look at other brands, VW is D car you should buy!

• chikubi on Dec 31, 2011 at 1:38 pm

just came back from kia showroom..the car looks so handsome…as expected…lots of young guy there…its official now…H d segment is for pakcik and T d segment is for japanese company car…

• just came back from kia showroom…the car looks junk… lots of old guy there but nobody booking, should be a poor oldman….its official now…this car will not sell.

• whatever!!!???…well u should have tell it to the americans..since optima is among the top selling models there

• I am now considering K5 and Kizashi @@

• VW is a car for everyone can effort. When it has arrive in our BOLEHland, it’s become above average people can effort. That’s stupid!

Oh yeah, VW Jetta is a total let down! I saw this K5 in a showroom, it is totally surprise me! With that kind of money, you can get this kind of specifications! Awesome! But the headlamp washer is a bit funny through. hahhahahaha

• Proton Salesman on Jan 03, 2012 at 9:56 pm

And RM140K for Kia is worth it? Better buy proton

• K5 emblem on Jan 06, 2012 at 11:47 am

Rather than buying a proton, better buy tin milo,
        can feed my family for breakfast..

tin milo got more worth than proton

• K5 emblem on Jan 06, 2012 at 12:38 pm

When Peter Schreyer left VW, the current VW designers are like chicken without wings…
      look at the newly launched Passat and Jetta…are there any difference in design?
      maybe the tech spec are different, but one cannot differentiate which one is passat and which one is jetta…
      the front look like waja and the back want to copycat A4…
      the design is backward, like early millenium design..
      kesian to those who bought them…

but i really do respect passat CC…best of the best..
      but that one is pete’s last design..before he left..

thanks Pete for joining kia..and make a new world order…
      pricing of 143,888 also good for optima, he deserves it..because it is now has a class of its own..

• effort ?? WTF? what effort?

• hippo on Jan 07, 2012 at 10:07 am

Went to showroom yesterday and saw this great car. Exterior wise it looks great, interior was a bit letdown. Interior is not really that bad, but the quality should be better, since exterior wise is great. Unfortunately, sales man told me not many booking for this car, even though many young guy come and look see. Bad news for Kia

• K5 emblem on Jan 07, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Of course young people will just come and go, just to admire the car…they wont buy it bcos they can’t afford it, only those with income of at least 12-14k permonth can dream of their car loan approved for a 144k car..
      this is a new ruling from bank negara…to avoid young individuals go bankrupt…
      go see the banking news…
      there’ll be tighter regulations to own a car….

dream on…dream on…

let only the big boys enjoy this car…or ask your sugardad/mom to buy it..

• Winnie on Jan 07, 2012 at 6:19 pm

BEAUTIFUL – inside and out …. sooooooooooooo tempted to get it but I am still in love with my Forte :(

• gmorque on Jan 12, 2012 at 4:40 pm

dah namanya dok kat malaysia.. macam mana power pun spec or price, in the end orang malaysia pandang toyota n honda jugak.. walau camna buruk n mahal pun toyota n honda, ia tetap diagungkan.. wondering bila mentaliti orang malaysia akan berubah.. hmm…

• ex audi’s designer. no wonder..

• picasoii on Jan 19, 2012 at 12:32 am

I think it is a bit overpriced, considering Kia is way below the big boys in the league of auto manufacturers, I say even lower than Hyundai. if Wigan managed to beat MU, doesn’t mean that their jerseys will fly of the shelves. probably if they can maintain their performance for a few years, then the crowd will notice. same goes for Kia. I was waiting for a while for this car to arrive but when I found out that it it was retailing for144k and not to mention a 2011 car, and no disc. Even for sonata, Hyundai knocked 3k off retail during launch. it’s priced too close to VW, T and both H. Say what you like but Naza has had a patchy record managing their products’ second hand value. at best I’ll lose 15-20%, as soon as I drive it out of the dealership. worse case would be naza announce a price reduction or so called promo and probably lose more money down the road. I really love this car just that it is too much of a risk, I would have considered it if it’s closer to 135k.

• kia and hyundai already take over H & T in oversea market, why because they are much better in term spec ..soon the H& T RV will drop because there are better option in second market.. i would buy forte or new elantra instead of ugly vios or small size city even secondhand price is same as korean car .

• For all those who have not test drive the car and have no even touch/feel the car.. please dont be so quick to judge the korean.

I have tested the k5 optima and I am really impressed. This time round they have really beaten the T&H in the same segment.

I dont see why the K5 can’t be put at the same price range with them. If both car came full spec, optima will still be cheaper and have other feature that others doesn’t have.

If you are talking about Resale Value, i believe this generation and future generation of korean will be better….

When?

When all those people that only worry about RV finally learn to enjoy their ride! You are buying a car to drive it not to sell it.

When all of you finally go and test drive the car and agree that korean are better this time.. then the RV will go up when the demand for it increases.

But if you dont give it a chance because of the RV.. then the RV will not be on par with other inferior car.

Its all because of malaysian stupid mentality that the RV is bad. I think KIA this time has put a lot of effort into their new line up. Give them your support.

My k5 arrives next week. Woo hoo

• ST, u would’ve test drove the car, how is the suspension? Does it absorb bad road conditions well, unlike the peugeot 508 which is not that good? Have u taken delivery of your K5?

• Hi Dev,
        I’ve tested the optima, the suspension is good and suitable for our road. The steering also not as tight as a BMW and not too light as well, feels just nice. But i read on a few sites that the stock tires isn’t so good and if changed will give even more comfort while driving.

• The snow white pearl is out of stock everywhere but I manage to get the dealer to deliver one to me next week. cos my younger brother wanted the forte koup. so i told him if he gave me the car asap, we’ll get the koup from him too. :P

• Thank u for helping me make up my choice for a suitable car ST, i believe that besides the resale value issue, there is much more to gain overall by purchase of the K5

• With pleasure Dev, I suggest you go test it out for yourself before any decision made. Good luck mate.

• Anonymuose on Feb 08, 2012 at 12:30 pm

@ST
      Is there a way to turn off the car icon in the center LCD screen? e.g. when looking at odo, fuel economy, there is a icon of the car.

For some reason I find it really annoying and distracting. I just want to see the numbers.

But otherwise, impressive car. Haven’t driven it but sat in it and was impressed at what you get for this price.

I do however think that the speakers are overrated. They didn’t seem particularly good to me (distorted at medium volumes). Not sure why they advertised it as a selling point when it’s subpar.

• I dont think the icon can be removed. i find it annoying too, such a waste of space.

The speaker needs a little tweaking, best sound during mid-high volume.

I agree with you that the sound system is overrated. but still much better than the average systems.

• k5 emblem on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:02 am

Hi ST,

I got mine 2 weeks after the launch and I’m loving every bit of it every day..

Mine is bright silver…wanted to get white but naah…no stock..but bright silver looks good also…cos the paint is premium one,

I can assure u, ST, with all those bad comments above, when ur driving the car, every head will literally turn to this car and give the look..like i’m from outer space or somthing..in a good way lah…

even my 2 cousings who are now driving camry and 318 is impressed with it

anybody thinking of establishing K5 Club or somethin?

• Hi k4 emblem,

If you’re up for it the k5 club, i’ll be your space cadet to get more heads turning. Although I only get to drive my car 5 days a month.. because of work.

Where are you at?

• k5 emblem on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:25 pm

hi ST,
            u only driven car 5 days a month? better be careful bro cos the car uses a lot of its battery without the car running such as seats, folding mirrors, etc. it could drain the batery if not running for a long time, read in singapore forum. better ask somebody to drive the car when ur not around.
            btw, i’m in cheras kajang area, and so far havent seen any k five yet, but lotsa sorento and sportage.
            today i went searching for a good 3 s centre, to take care of my beast soon once reach 1000 km and im gonna go for chan sow lin centre, good waiting area with wifi, a bit similar to pj new one….

• double 7 on Feb 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm

do u setup k5 club already? count me in..

• LoL double 7, I can’t be the organizer. too difficult alone. but if you want to.. we can group ourself and count as 2 person in a club. lets get 5 more people then we can do some sessions.

• double 7 on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:38 pm

haha.. ok, wait n see.. :)
            found “Optima K5 Club Malaysia” group on fb.. anyone here?

• double 7,
            i created the fb club
            search for Optima K5 Club Malaysia
            come onboard
            :P

• double 7 on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:54 am

ST, still waiting approval from group admin.. :P

• I can’t see your request yet. What is your email? I’ll send u an invitation.

• devinz on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Bro ST,

can pls add me as well.

Already sent in my request yesterday.

my email [email protected]

• double 7 on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:24 pm

anybody plan to hv TT session?

• i cant find the group in FB. Is the name correct?

• double 7 on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:05 am

K5 TT session…

Date: 7 April 2012 Saturday
            Time: 9.00am
            Venue: Awan Besar R&R at Kesas Highway

• cakap ikut mulut, senang la bro on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:45 pm

muahahahahaha…

once upon a time im owned a kia spectra
      i am also like you that time , comparing spectra vs vios vs city..on paper/test drive…BIG YESS..spectra won & i decided to own KIA
      but really regret…. until now still own that car..

only talk, easy la bro…bukan senang nak ubah mentaliti orang…. RV drop gile2 because mentaliti org la, taksub dgn T & H , coz its reliability well known, people buy the car to ride not to sell it..muahahaha…just wait bro , you know what im mean…unless you bought it CASH!!!

• Hi K5 emblem,
    Since that u’ve been drove K5 quite a long time. May i know the fuel consumption of the car? How much/km? K5 is quite heavy!

• Refer the catalog is not accurate ! Any real car owner can share the true .

• k5 emblem on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:33 pm

hi DL,
      not so long la, only about 3 weeks dy, but since its still less than 1000 km, i dare not race the engine yet, so my avge fuel consumption is about 11.7 litre per km. if u turn on the eco button, i’ve touched the 11.2 or 11.3, but less freedom in driving la pulak in eco mode…

when will u get yours? what kaler?

some tips to new owners, the mood lighting at the door can only be turned on if you change the dashboard illuminating light to the minimum…

• k5 emblem on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:26 am

sorry…the unit should be 11.7 litre per 100 km..and not litre per km..
        my bad…

• k5 emblem on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:41 pm

to all potential owners, there are some extra features that i found out not in the spec:
    1. the car has rain sensors which will wipe according to rain intensity, but need to on the wiper first… cool
    2. immobiliser for anti theft….great…

144 k is really worth it…

• Devinz on Feb 12, 2012 at 1:56 am

Hi bro k5 emblem,

I am from cheras/kajang area as well.

Am considering K5 after me and my wife was stoned by its sexy look on Plus highway a while ago.

Any good sales contact you can share with me.

So far my acquaintance with most Kia SA has been far from good.

An looking for some recommended and reliable one.

Thanks

• k5 emblem on Feb 12, 2012 at 9:22 am

Hi Devinz,

I think all SA are like that…haha..even with other brands as well, them being sales agents..
    i oso had a nightmarish episode with my SA in gombak, as i really wanted pearl white, but in the end got bright silver, something like that la..
    but in the end i managed to let go of it as all colors are good cos k5 looks good in all colors they offered..

i dare not recommend u any good ones, as the one that i recommend might be good for me and not good for others, and might be good for others and not good for me..

just go and seek by your good feeling, cos in the end, ur buying the car, and not the SA…
    just my 2 cents bro..no offence…

after u got the car, the SA got nothing to do with the car anymore…its just u, the car, insurane co., and your chosen service centre…service centre being the most important..

good luck bro Devinz..

• Devinz on Feb 12, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Thanks bro.

Am still shopping around for a comfortable SA.

Wondering if anyone had chance to test drive this K5 or aware which SC has a test drive unit?

• Hi K5 emblem,

I might get the car next month. Silver in colour.
    U may wrong type previously about the fuel consumption.
    It use up 11.7km/litle instead of 11.7 litle/km. So equal to 16cents/km right? Is the service centre provide first year free services?

• think it should be 11.7litres/100km.

K5 emblem, Thanks for the heads up on the battery. Will ask me dad and to take it out periodically.

• K5 emblem on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:53 pm

ST is spot on the fuel consumption unit below..

unfortunately, no 1st year free service, i guess NZK is confident of high sales here ..as seen everywhere in the rest of the world…

problem is they cant meet the demand…last year, only 1000 units shipped to aussie…but the order is like 4000 or something..

• I will be getting my PGraphite K5 this week hopefully. I also understand from my SA that 1st batch will get 1 year free service since it is 2011 make.

• T,
      I should warn you it might come without the rear air cond vent for the first batch of 2011. Its not worth it to take year 2011 for 1 year of free service as you already lose out on RV.
      Maybe you should get another SA.

I will receive my k5 tomorrow. Snow White Pearl 2012. It just arrive at the port today.

• K5 emblem on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Hi ST,
        Mine is 1st batch 2011, and got rear air cond vent..
        are u sure u r receiving the 2012 models?
        i thot the 2012 models will only arrive in 3 months time or somthing cos let say the production starts on 1st jan 12 , i dont think its possible to reach u tomorrow, tomolo only 16 february. transportation at least 2 weeks from korea to msia, production time? inspection? QAQC? all can finish in 1.5 months ka?
        better check your SA dude, he/she should have been frank with u..or maybe my calculation is wrong..

just my 2 cents..

• Yea, i understand that the 2012 batch will only come in at least in Apr. I am sure NZK will want to quickly sell off the 100 odd 2011 units first. Those who dun wanna wait and dun mind RV will surely get the 1st batch.

On the rear air vent, i am very sure all 1st batch will have it as advertised. Cannot imagine if it is not : )

• T,
            That is why I mentioned better SA, I got my 2012 snow white pearl which just arrived at port yesterday and I got it today.

If you want the SA contact email me. I don’t think posting up his number is a good thing.

Very happy with the car!

• Seems like many ppl have got their K5 this few weeks. Shd start seeing some on the road soon! Has anyone started the K5 Club?

• SA said mine is first car in my district in perak, but I was driving it in KL, PJ last 2 days before I flew, in china now freezing my ears off.

I was surprise I couldn’t see any other k5 on the road. When park at mamak, many came to question and even ask to get a look at the interior.

• Collected mine K5 last friday and was shocked that it got no rear air-con vent. ST was right but not sure whether it was the same for all 1st batch units. Very pissed off now.

Those who have not collected their 1st batch units, pls be careful. My SA not very honest. When he called me in January to ask if i mind getting 2011 or want the 2012 units. The 2011 units have arrived at their showroom and i can get my car once loan approved. Also told me got 1st year free service for 2011 units but totally silent about the NO REAR AIR-CON VENT!

I don’t mind about losing 1 year RV but had i know that 2011 units got incomplete features, i will surely waited for 2012 units. The rear air-con vent was something i looked forward to for my family sitting at the back to enjoy.

Just complained via Nazakia website. If they don’t respond, i will bring this up with the press. Anyone else got cheated? Would appreciate suggestion what else I could do to bring Naza to justice!

• God bless u ,hope u can get high 2nd sales value !!!

• I got my K5 last week and ST was right. My 1st batch unit got NO REAR AIR CON VENT. For those who have not collected your 1st batch unit or SA trying to sell u the 1sr batch by offering free 1 year service, pls be very careful to check your car first b4 agreeing to anything!

Damned pissed off now. RV was not a concern for me, that’s why i agreed to the 1st batch unit. Would have accepted it even if got no free 1 year service. But no rear air con vent is NOT acceptable. It was one of the feature that i was looking forward for my family sitting at the back to enjoy.

SA not very honest, called me to inform 2011 units already at showroom and if dun mind can get car immediately after loan approved and got 1 year service but did not mention the rear air-con vent at all. Telling me now dunno why 1st batch got no rear air-con and got one 2012 unit just arrived at showroom also got no rear air-con.

Just made a strong complaint on Nazakia website. If got no response, i will go to the press. Anyone else got cheated as well?

Anyone know whether the rear air con can somehow be added separately?

• T,
      I feel for you bro, i hope naza will do something about it. As the SA has not inform you that the specs for the 2011 is not the same as in the brochure.

Maybe you can let us know which branch and the SA name so we can stay away from him.

I’ve visited a few after market website mostly from korea, they have many OEM parts for the car but so far i didn’t see any parts for rear air cond.

I think all the 2012 comes with the vent. maybe you can ask the SA to show you the 2012 without rear a/c.

They also have a facebook page which i saw is quite responsive. Try raising some noise there.

• T, Sorry to hear that. Besides the missing rear air-vent, how did you find the car ? performance, comfort, ride and fuel consumption ? TQ.

• Hi Lee,

I am just a normal car user, so here’s my assessment from my about 10 days use of the K5.

1) Car does feel heavy but steady when you accelerate at the beginning but once picked up speed, it feels quite responsive and powerful

2) Cabin noise is very good, i mean very quiet. In fact during stationery it almost felt like engine was not turn on

3) FC not very good at all so far. I have clocked about 960km and drove about 75km/day (fair mix of city and highway drive). FC currently is about 10.5L/100km. Based on last 1-week driving and monitoring, i think average should be around 9.5L/100km, nowhere near the claimed 7plus L/100km.

4) Infinity system does feel like over rated. Sounded quite normal to me but then I have only been cranking the volume at 10.

5) Still getting used to the foot brake instead of hand brake. I was still trying to locate the hand brake a couple of times haha. The brake felt a bit soft. Not sure how it would perform during emergency brake.

6) There are a couple of glitches that i noted over the last few days – the dashboard lighting occationally with turn to MAX automatically under some action like turning the steering wheel of braking. Sometimes, the lighting turn back to normal after a sec or 2. Yesterday it didn’t and the lighting volume not functioning but returns to normal the next time i drove it again. Must be some wiring problem and this only happens twice so far. Another thing is i noted some water dripping onto the floor carpet on the front passenger seat. Not sure if it is from the glove box cooler. Will check all this out next weekend during service.

7) K5 is really big and still getting used to the reverse camera to assist in parking it. Agree with some reader that the car should come with front parking sensors. Btw windows are quire small after realising that i would struggle a bit to collect parking tickets if i had not drove it closer to the machine but not a big problem as you dont stick your head out the window all the time

8) Regardless of the above and the no rear air-con vent problem, overall the K5 feels great and I am loving it. Also enjoy how she attracts the attention of everyone.

• T gave a good overall review. Totally agree the car should come with front parking sensor then it will be perfect.

Anyone know where I can install a good front sensor for K5?

• Hi T, many thanks for the frank and detailed review. Beginning to see more K5 on the road last few days, mostly in white, and they looks very nice ! With so many new model coming out this year, tough to make the “right” decision on which car to replace my 11 years old Civic. Thank again !

• cakap ikut mulut, senang la bro on Jun 25, 2012 at 10:49 pm

yes.. first day im owned a new KIA SPECTRA 2005… air hujan masuk dalam kabin ..muahahahaha…

• Russia guy on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:24 am

I can’t wait to join you guys, I have seen a silver K5 in the hospital I work in.

• Kazism on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:31 am

Visited the Kia showroom along federal highway yesterday to check out optima in flesh and immediately like what I saw but seeing the brand KIA stuck on this sexy car was pretty an eye sore initially.

I’m 30 and driving Honda civic 2.0( to clear things up in case u peeps claim that I’m another 17 or uneducated brat) and I’m thinking of an upgrade.

Had tons of doubts due to it being Korean. Malaysians mentality towards Korean is probably “I don’t want a proton/perodua but I can’t afford Japanese”

On paper, naza brought in a real giant killer. But in reality, most Malaysians isn’t that open to change. And Kia/Hyundai did hell of a change within one model cycle. Just look back on the last generation optima and we will understand why. This latest optima is too cool to be
    Inked with anything Korean. (so is sonata, no wonder Germans always claims that Asian car makers have no car language and thus no heritage)

But on truth toll, we have to admit its a beauty externally. Internally, I guess it is subjective but cars of this range is catered for mature crowd, design has to be a bit bland so we can overlook that. But it does have paddle shifters. (mature crowds can fantasize to be a boy racer once in a while)

Did a test drive and found the driving experience to be pretty agile, steering is very responsive But engine is pretty coarse I must say. Not a deal breaker but still coarse For my taste.

Read the above comments and many people complain about the pricing. Did a research on other continents market and comments on the optima. Mostly good. Mostly ravings. Pricing isn’t cheap either. Ours have practically everything in specs except gps. Others have em as options. Ours run on 18 inch. The rest of em have 17 as standard.

Weird enough, the western countries have good opinions about this car and the brand itself. So I guess the plight we are in now is due to bad aftermarket services. Ureliabilty of the the latest K5 should be rectified and opening of the red cube should help.

Heck I ain’t gonna go into depreciation like most people rant about. If you can’t bear to fork out the dough then go back to Japanese. We still respect you in your Camry or Honda.

Come to think of it, isn’t Koreans following the steps of what Japanese is 30years ago?

But I guess the Korean invasion would take shorter timeline. The westerners are already bought.

• K5 owner on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:27 am

I have sold my Kia Forte 1.6 SX with a good price. 20% depreciation for just under 2 years car. So, the rant about the Korean car does not have 2nd hand value is already a past thing.
      And I have upgraded to K5 in February. Indeed I have made the right and best decision to upgrade. This car is superb. If you have not test-driven the car or owned any new model Kia cars, please do not simply make any comments. I’m fortunate to be able to get the 2012 made with snow white pearl colour last month (February). Many of my friends have sat in and test-driven the car, and many strangers have even fell in love looking at the K5. It’s one of the best cars in the D-segment. And I’m proud to own this awesome K5!

• If this car comes with cool/heat seats and gps, it’d b the perfect car :)

• K5 fan on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:50 pm

I feel the interior looks better in kia forte.. :(

• K5 emblem on Apr 02, 2012 at 11:36 am

To all kia haters…go and see motor trader today, news entitled Top 50 models in February (in Malaysia la …mana lagi)

Kia Optima is at number 28….some of the big gamers not even in the list…

now u know…

• double 7 on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:12 am

K5 TT session..
    Date: 7 April 2012 Saturday
    Time: 9.00am
    Venue: Awan Besar R&R at Kesas Highway

• Sholihin on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Resale value??
    Dont want to thing cause i like K5 vety much ! ! !

• Osben on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:13 am

The outlook is great but interior is old fashion.havent test drive, no comment yet.

• mohamad on Apr 13, 2012 at 7:56 pm

i bought elder brother of K5 threee years ago, i.e KIA Optima EX.. its a good car,and fun to drive, reliable.. now looking for K5.. its good looking and (in and out).
    However: waiting for Proton preve….. its different class, but i said to myself, why not wait.. if it is “value for money” buy, why not….. K5 can wait….. maybe K6 or whatever… i will consider later…..

• Icelaac on Apr 15, 2012 at 8:03 pm

This car is just awesome. I went to the showroom today and the features are supreme compared to camry and accord. The trunk is spacious (LARGE) compared to camry and the leg room for both passengers and driver are insane vast. The seats are comfortable and feel safety to seat on the chair. The price is affordable!
    I will purchase one of this when I save sufficient of money ! love optima !

• Price wise is abit at expensive end..with all the extra features, I still think that it should be in the range of 120-130k..but built quality so far is definitely better n more solid this time round. Performance wise, no joke it’s comparable to the Japs but still I can feel it not as good. If u compare to Accord, Camry sure la it is different, coz size also different. And one more peeps, don’t even compare to VW or German cars, definitely it’s in different class. Pls go test drive any latest Germans for real n let me know back how comparable it is. Rate this car car overall 7.5/10.

• Azree on May 10, 2012 at 1:23 am

Price wise is abit at expensive end..with all the extra features, I still think that it should be in the range of 120-130k..but built quality so far is definitely better n more solid this time round. Performance wise, no joke it’s comparable to the Japs but still I can feel it not as good. If u compare to Accord, Camry sure la it is different, coz size also different. And one more peeps, don’t even compare to VW or German cars, definitely it’s in different class. Pls go test drive any latest Germans for real n let me know back how comparable it is. Rate this car car overall 7.5/10. Tq

• anonymous on Jun 10, 2012 at 10:32 pm

OMG this car so is pretty!. i turn my head to catch every glimpse of it every time one passes by. gonna be my next car whn i can actually afford it :P

• Michael on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:37 am

Every Malaysian is a car expert! However it is befuddling to understand why they have not been able to transfer their collective knowledge on how to build good cars to Proton and Perodua the so called national cars.

I guess it’s not a shame for Malaysians to openly display their complete ignorance about the quality of Korean cars whereas their own national car manufacturers has been able to make much progress after almost 30 years of imposed preferential treatment by the Malaysian Government with tax payer/Petronas funding.

Instead of sounding off about the quality and resale value of Korean cars, it might be better for Malaysians to petition their government and demand to know what is really wrong with Proton and Perodua.

• Michael on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:40 am

I guess it’s not a shame for Malaysians to openly display their complete ignorance about the quality of Korean cars whereas their own national car manufacturers HAVE NOT been able to make much progress after almost 30 years of imposed preferential treatment by the Malaysian Government with tax payer/Petronas funding.

Sorry for the Typo in the 2nd paragraph!

• Michael on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:52 am

Anyone buying a continental car or Japanese made car (CBU / CKD) at over inflated price between 2012 and 2015 is simply out of his/her mind.

The Government will open up the car market in 2015 because it is a signatory to the WTO free trade agreement and therefore cannot continue to wiggle and flip and flop with excuses after 2015.

I wonder what many of the car dealers will do with their inventory and backlog of cars that cost them astronomical import/exercise duty and sales tax to bring into the country.

I doubt that the government will refund the import/exercise duty that it collected to bring in all those cars before adopting the new policy in 2015.

• wanky on Jun 19, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Need advice here.

Since now the price for both Sonata n K5 is same around Rm14++++, which car deserves better? comparing bout both car performance, fuel consumption, spare parts availability, tahan lasak quality and comfortness.

At first wish to have European car, but now their pricing is definitely very high if to get the full spec and low price for those standard spec(not attractive like the korean car).

Any advice?

• Damn,i want it

• i say Squall is go n died. what the fuck comment.

• Fobia on Jul 08, 2012 at 10:00 pm

I like this car…. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iD0zVP-DkOE

• gtx 99 on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:16 pm

the k5 looks good but at 150k u can also have vw jetta. it gets dual clutch transmission and the best one too. vw dsg boast shift times of 0.008 sec = 8 ms. trust me i have driven the mk6 golf n nissan r35 gtr. the vw gets into next gear as soon as u pull up at the paddle shift but the gtr dont. u can still feel a little lag in the gtr’s dual clutch system if u ever driven a vw with dsg.
    i’m just saying.

I think you must be kidding. How can the GTR(R35) DCT be slower than the VW DSG? Even the VW GTi can’t come close to the GTR gear change!

• gtx 99 on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:18 pm

or maybe the R35 that you drove was having gear box problem?

Just my 2 cents

• Lee CHENG SIONG on Oct 13, 2012 at 4:19 pm

My k5 gear box problem til now 6 month there dint solve.

• Optima K5 User on Oct 20, 2012 at 2:52 am

Last time everyone say Apple sucks.
    Why now everyone using Apple product?
    Same like KIA mah~ They already did a big improvement
    compare with last time.
    I say the new K5 worth every single sen.

• thejudge on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:41 pm

the design is weird,apart from that,this car is well equipped.

• azroyhensem on Dec 01, 2012 at 5:22 pm

i’ve been using k5 for almost 1 year now..not a single problem yet! and until now people still jeling2 my car whether on the move or standing still. not to mention my ‘kembang lubang hidung’…he! he!

• cik kipas on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:32 pm

If u like the car n u can afford it…then just buy it…
    Eventhough i love korean dramas….my selection of cars will still be japanese cars….sorry Lee Min Ho….hehe n even if japanese cars have high 2nd hand value…i will keep my civic till the end….
    looking for extra money to paint it red….
    So just buy if u really fell in love to the car….n enjoy every cent that u spend in the monthly instalment…if this car…say rm1.4k permonth??

• compare to sonata 2.0 on the specs wise, k5 is better as it has HID and 4 more airbags…

• did anyone notice the price increase from previous kia optima, yesterday went to nazakia website to check price is 120k, then website update now to 143k, price increased

• Matthew T on May 10, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Howdy,

I am wanting to buy a K5, however I have a question in regards to car loan in Malaysia.

Any one known’s which bank offers lower intrest rate for cars (Kia)?

Kind Regards.

• Pondok Ajip on Jul 23, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Here is my personal opinion as a K5 owner. I put up a “mini” review on my blog. Go check it up. I can take constructive criticism.

http://pondokajip.blogspot.com/2013/07/im-in-love-with-koreankorean-made-car.html