Auto transmission driving licence to begin in May 2012

Auto transmission driving licence to begin in May 2012From May next year, there’ll be two types of regular Class D, or car, driving licences – the one in effect right now and a new one, which is the automatic transmission driving licence. As part of the reworked driving curriculum that will be introduced, the new licence will enable learner drivers to learn to drive and take the practical test in an automatic car, reports state.

The new licence – which presumably will only allow a valid auto licence holder to drive only cars with an auto box – will be implemented nationwide once the driving curriculum is revised, according to Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Rahim Bakri.

Abdul Rahim added that despite the introduction of the auto transmission driving licence, learner drivers will still be able to choose to learn and take the practical test in either a manual or an automatic transmission vehicle.

“The ministry is not in a hurry to implement the automatic car driving test, to be fair to driving school operators. We need to give them time as they have to replace manual cars with automatic cars, and this is costly,” the minister said, adding that more people, especially older learners and women, will prefer to drive an automatic as it was easier.

Meanwhile, the reports add that Abdul Rahim said the new driving curriculum will focus on producing discerning and disciplined motorists to help reduce fatal accidents, since human factors were the root cause behind 60 to 70% of accidents.

“Previously, our curriculum emphasised driving skills and knowledge of the highway code, but now we want to churn out considerate motorists,” he said. As for the Kejara demerit system, he said there was no proposal to replace the system, stating that it was still relevant and used in many countries.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:46 pm

“Meanwhile, the reports add that Abdul Rahim said the new driving curriculum will focus on producing discerning and disciplined motorists to help reduce fatal accidents, since human factors were the root cause behind 60 to 70% of accidents. ” right an automatic car encourages lazy driving which reduces awareness of the driver. so how is this going to reduce fatal accidents?

• i own a manual car…
      macho my ass…penat tekan clutch..
      hahaha

• MoFaz on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:02 pm

but some people might argue that shifting gears constantly in traffic jam would make the driver tired or tense. when the tension level is high, diver might drive recklessly too.
      auto shouldn’t be blamed for lazy driving, i think it does help some people to be a ‘better’ driver who otherwise might roll backwards when traffic stop at hills or going down a hill with high gears. reducing the task for the driver will also allow the driver to put extra focus on some other matters.
      auto will not be boring if the car is fun to drive. well, people won’t say BMW auto is boring right?
      1. with majority of cars being sold today are in auto, i don’t see this as a problem. i only wish that driving school won’t be charging more just because auto cars are slightly more expensive than manual. for god sake, those cars are just kancil / viva… how much different could it be?
      2. make it a tier system, which would allow the drivers with auto license to upgrade their license to manual, without having to go to driving school again. just do driving test under JPJ supervision.

• isnt it obvious that most car accident involving manual cars…..u can check at any car wreck junk area

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:36 pm

tension level is high, diver might drive recklessly too. – that is the norm in malaysia virtually everyday, if a driver is not able to control his or her emotions when driving, how is he or she fit to drive? what the government should do is promote safe driving techniques or perhaps a revamp of the whole outdated system where we spend 8 hours going through meaningless talks.

reducing the task for the driver will also allow the driver to put extra focus on some “other matters”. – yes, sms-ing on the phone, surfing net on the ipad is a common one perhaps?

you can’t exactly say a BMW is boring but an automatic BMW is more boring compared to a manual E30.

like it or not, our system is a flawed one with the “duit kopi” system. (you can choose to be clean and pure but looking at the queue one has to go through during a driving tests really changes your mind)

• I dont realy care bout what type licence…what i want people to start give signal when overtaking or changing lane….do signal light is relevent these days? People do not need them anyway by looking car on the road..hardly people use it…should be an option to install or not…what i see signal light is use for police or jpj preventer..1Q…what is the use of side mirror signal light? For lighting?

• kelas sebelah on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:37 pm

setuju… ada yg masuk simpang pun taknak bagi signal..

• Indicator Light for Life on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:18 pm

nak berenti tepi jalan pun tak mau bagi signal nak berenti… tiba2 je brek..

• mangata on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:28 pm

errrr…with auto i wonder what will they teach in the class? how to move the gear from P to R?

• policeman on Dec 30, 2011 at 3:45 pm

they never thought me how to shift in class. All i remember learning in class is what traffic signs mean.

• exJAVANESE on Jan 01, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Agree..Honesty said, I have a great experience in Penang…Most of time…hinsss
          (suka2 mau berhenti, suka2 mau belok without signal..)

• Indicator Light for Life on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:17 pm

agreed with you… nowadays, everybody doesnt give a shit about everyone else around them… never use indicator light and never look at the rear view mirror… and some ppl are too blind to see the indicator light….

my car died right at the traffic light, so i quickly turned on the hazard light.. some ppl are dumb enough to stop right behind me and started honking…. even when i was standing outside the car by the side of the road.. i just dont understand malaysian drivers..

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Yeah, and look at those cars that have the whole rear window full of things. It’s not a shop, you are not supposed to display pretty things there. You are supposed to use it to look through and see what other drivers are doing!

• AnonymousM on Jan 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm

yea, and worth mentioning there was this malay faggot who scrapped past my car on the highway the other day before CNY. there was a truck in front on me in the centre lane, for some fucked up reason he wasnt keeping left.

i clearly indicated and observed that the mentioned drier was approximately 20 meters away before i cut into the fast lane; i was midway into the lane and the next thing i knew he honked and drove right past me.

and that asshat had the nerve to signal me to pull over scolding me for not looking at the rear view mirror when clearly, this faggot sped up when i indicated.

nice community we have here. fucking rubbish people.

• I hated most driver are reluctant to give the signal.

• Anonymouse on Jan 31, 2012 at 1:30 pm

I hate more when people speed up to close the gap after seeing your signal.

• Goblin Wong on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:33 pm

local car manufacturer should consider on make car without signal on cheaper price.maybe less about rm500 because malaysian hardly use signal.

• Asray on Jan 02, 2012 at 3:18 pm

P2 should sell myvi w/out headlight …since most of myvi driver only use their fog light…

• yaa!!! i agree, most of drivers, for those P license…… ” you signal is not a decoration, please use it”

• Carl Wong on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Some people don’t have fingers ma…………..

I think those who don’t know/want to show signals correctly don’t truly know how to drive. For those ‘Civilized’ drivers, keep up the good work :)…..!!

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Yeah. During the test one missed signal means no driving license. That might help…

• Ha Gnih on Dec 31, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Drivers that piss me off are :-

-those who doesn’t know how to look into their side view mirrors when changing lanes
        -those who doesn’t know that a car comes with an indicator lever (haha)
        -those who ALWAYS park in between 2 parking spaces
        -those who love to tailgate (usually are those heavily tinted with ugly decals ah beng-ish rides)
        -(not being racist here) but tudung chics are quite dangerous on the road because they have ‘blinkers’ that prevent them from looking sideways all too clearly and yet, they are lazy enough not to turn their heads to look into side view mirrors or peer over their shoulders when driving
        -lane weaving scumbags
        -soccer moms who drive big SUVs or MPVs and whenever they pick their kids from school, many would just park right in the middle of the road while waiting for their kid/kids to walk out of the school yard into the car.
        -senior citizens are also another type of drivers that one must be very careful of. Because when they drive, other drivers basically do not exist and to them, the road is theirs’ and yes, it usually looks ’empty’.

Hahahahahhaha. Just a personal opinion based on experience.

• kadajawi on Dec 31, 2011 at 3:30 pm

lol. Basically everyone then.

Looking into the side mirrors usually not enough, also have to look over the shoulder.

Tailgating… you are forced to do so in Malaysia. If you don’t, someone else will sneak past and squeeze in. If I’d always keep a proper distance as I’d like to I could just as well park on the road and walk on. :-/

• HirumaKecil on Jan 04, 2012 at 7:47 am

So many slow drive in fast-lane… U give beam & u tailgate also no used coz they did not see the mirror.. busy use phone…. Kissing their girl/boy… Happen to me so many time.. almost everyday.. Bagi hon cakap cari gaduh lak… Haih.. I hate slow driver in fast-lane.. If left one ok la… Nobody will marah2… Just choose the right line… Pon…pon…pon…pon…pon… >,< "

• excuse me my good sir, but how does auto driving license being part of the curriculum being able to “churn out” considerate motorist?

or did i miss anything here?

the argument of auto or manual car contributes to higher fatal accident is pointless. if u seriously wanna reduce road accident, stop those “slipping-blue-notes-in-the-driving-test-report”

and for crying out loud, fix those dem pot holes and malfunctioned traffic lights. =\

• sukasuki on Dec 29, 2011 at 7:03 pm

eksiden sbb org malas nak bagi signal masuk simpang, tukar lane secara tiba2, mcm xde kne mgena dgn auto atau manual. sbb mmg rakyat malaysia pemalas. dan pentingkan diri sndiri di atas jalan raya. kalau bagi saman mahal cakap kerajaan tindas rakyat. negara paling pelik pemikiran di dunia. lpas ni msti cakap eksiden sbb umno/bn pnye pasal.

• lchan on Dec 30, 2011 at 11:55 am

WTF la….this is classic case of taking a comment out of context. He didnt say learning to drive with an automatic reduces fatal accidents. This is about THE new driving curriculum which among other things entails learning to drive with an automatic, help reduce fatal accident with the focus on producing discerning and disciplined motorists, etc. etc.

• hafiz on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:48 pm

i think ladies will take the auto licence, manual only for macho guy

• someone on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:59 pm

i know some guys who don’t know how to drive manual car

• someone on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:00 pm

i know some guys who do not know how to drive manual car

• i dont call it macho, i call it REAL MEN.

• What’s up with this real men macho man thing?

Just because a person chooses to drive auto doesn’t make him less man than those who drives manual.

The problem is people like YOU and your macho attitude that causes road accident by driving macho on the road, and looking down on lady drivers.

REAL MACHO MAN stop at a zebra crossing for people to cross!

• Goblin Wong on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:37 pm

even in europe, ladies use manual car

• masked ryder on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Bad news for P1&P2 i believed most would ops for the easy way
      is to get a auto license, the present manual car would have very bad resale value, hope the govt will consider this factor, actually amature driver tense to make more mistake with auto such as wrongly engage of reverse gear, accidentally released of brake & etc.

• Bob Vettel on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:44 pm

If you live in KL, then you’re not a macho guy, you’re a dumb guy.

Many supercars are semi-manual now so Manual transmission should die a horrible death quickly!

• altecs on Dec 29, 2011 at 7:46 pm

lol at the idiot masses talking down on the manual transmission. Many sportscar enthusiast live in KL and drive their manual cars daily. It’s no problem when you love your ride and love driving. Although this point is very hard to get through to posers who only think of sportscars as a medium to look cool.

The renault megane, suzuki swift sport and all honda type Rs are only offered in manual for a reason; so posers like you can go elsewhere!

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:48 pm

A manual will give me a smoother ride, especially in traffic jams. Performance is better (at least compared to the 4 speed auto most cars have), FC is lower, it is more fun to drive (unless we are talking about a Myvi here…). The only auto that I would buy is DSG (or a Myvi, because I hate that manual gearbox) , unless I don’t have a choice.

• Out of Luck on Dec 29, 2011 at 9:31 pm

When I bought my first car, I insisted on manual because I thought it’s for real/macho drivers and auto is for pussies. But after many years of driving at city and heavy traffic condition, I regretted buying manual. For normal driving, manual cars has little advantage over auto cars except for slightly better FC. Nowadays I think those whom I thought were pussies are actually smarter than me in buying auto cars. No more manual car for me from now on.

However, for learning purposes, I think manual is still better. A driver who drives a manual car has better understanding of the transmission. For example, how many of us who drove manual car before actually uses the hill-start assist feature found in modern car?

• HirumaKecil on Dec 30, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Haha.. Macam2… People who drive auto usually drive because they need to drive while manual more for those who drive because they love and enjoy driving… I enjoy manual car… I like manual car more than auto… But still i have both manual and auto cars…. Work car ofcoz auto… Only use auto car to go office.. Yes it is not fun and i’m not enjoy driving it…
      But.. KL meh… So sakit kaki lor…. Sometimes ok la… Everyday not fun oredi..

• An651 on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Bad sign: This is clearly indication of clutch pedal will not be in 99.5% of new cars selling in MY. Feel like endangered species. I dont want to spend hefty amount of money to enjoy manual. Dont let manual transmission extinct.

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Yup. I wanted to buy a manual car, but I couldn’t. The one I wanted was only available with auto on the second hand market. I would have preferred the manual one, with a diesel if possible, but that’s only limited to the panel van version :(

• Another driver on the Road on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Most accidents might be down to human factors, but I dont see how introducing Auto-license can aid that. Like BMW Power on the 1st post puts it, it encourages lazy driving and we are gonna c more unskilled drivers on the road.

For one I’d also like to highlight on the many “copy-o license” thats on the road. I for one took exams with a group of ppl and as far as i know, all of them took the “copy-o license”.

Not least, road safety is very important and involves lives, hence it shud be left to ppl whom ARE SKILLED & QUALIFIED enough to drive, and not made easier for all.

Still think this is auto-license is a load of crap for the Malaysian roads… just my 2 cents

• KageSenshi on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:06 pm

human factor .. let the gear changing done by computer, thats one human factor less ..

• Chris on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Your post contain something one very important fact: Many drivers on Malaysian roads are unskilled.

I am not against this automatic transmission license, it could actually be of good use, such as for people who happen to take an arrow in the knee or something, and unable to use their left leg properly.

But trust me, the problem remains, even with auto-tranny license, you’ll still get kopi-o license driver on the road.

I may be an idealistic person, but I think the solution is to make driving test harder. If possible, make it an optional subject in secondary school form 4-5 that students need to come to (driving) school every saturday for TWO YEARS to learn how to drive, otherwise not qualified.

I’ll also say change all the cars to at least size of the new Saga. Why? You learn to drive in a small car, and when you graduated you get yourself a big car and you’ll just cause problem in the first few months to years anyway.

I drive a manual car myself, but I don’t see how I’m more skillful than an automatic gear driver, they could be better, they could be worst. But I believe everyone agrees that there’s too many cars on the road already, and we DO NOT NEED more lousy drivers on the road. Make the test harder, test in a bigger car; Test the ability to emergency brake; Test to park with larger car in all sort of parking conditions, not just side parking.

I thought the test was harder in the past. I hear storries from my parents. My mom learn to drive in a subaru with the steering so heavy she got sore arms even with her farming background. My dad failed his first test because his he parked the car and the right side was some 2 inch wider than the left side.

The test nowadays is just too watered down. I pass my test 8 years ago, I passed it properly, no kopi-o. But guess what, I still had my dad coach me for a few more months after I have my license. The damn kancil was modified so I can pass easily (there’s a little button somewhere, it switches the throttle on and it’s impossible to go back downhill even if i let go of the clutch!) and the test site has smooth cemented floor at spots where you are expected to turn the wheel for parking.

Sigh.

Sorry for the rant. I just felt like voicing it out.

Just wish the test is harder, so not just any tom dick and harry can pass it.

• Carl Wong on Dec 29, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Yes.

• Another driver on the Road on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Nicely written Chris… I would agree on your rants and further to that, the government really needs to have an emphasis on making sure the ppl earn their right to be driving on the roads. Even if my family member do fail the test, I’d rather hv them at home den risking themselves driving outthere. Not just for the lives of our loved ones but also the other innocent ppl on the roads.

Again, on the subject of earning your license. I for one have also passed the exams properly (5 years ago), but of course I had to retake my on-the-roads as my recklessness got in the way. I learnt it the hard way but in the end, all tat makes you learn n bcome a better driver on the roads. I had my whole group on kopi-o n its amazing how most of them go “if you dont pay, they r gonna fail u” mindset.

Then again, if you go back to the old post back in April, they did mention on cutting down on all these corruption which is what is expected of them to do. But of course, we’ll hv to see if any action has been taken else its all talk.

Yes, I’m a manual driver too and i presume most of my driving skills came from playing too much of GT2 and NFS back in the days. LOL. Anyway, harder exams aside, I do feel drivers need to be educated to know their surroundings when they drive as most dont bother or even give a shit about whats happening 3 cars ahead or wats goin on behind them.

So many factors involved, so many solutions to it, but our government decides to deliver this load of crap…

• goldfries on Dec 30, 2011 at 12:08 pm

About the car size during test – if I’m not mistaken cars were bigger in the past. Then later it became Satria. Then even later it became Kancils. :( I think all tests should be done with Saga.

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 31, 2011 at 3:57 pm

how about implementing defensive driving techniques curriculum as mandatory?
        better sense than these auto tranny license idea…

i don’t think the auto tranny license idea will make any difference… the only difference is that women will get driving license with much less hassle… nothing relevant on reducing fatal accidents…

don’t get me wrong…. i’m not looking down at women drivers, but the idea of auto tranny license have nothing relevant on reducing fatal accidents

• lucas on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:39 pm

making it easier for others to pass is just like giving them a dangerous weapon to endanger our life…swt..

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 31, 2011 at 3:46 pm

i got my D driving license when i am 17 years old… that time, i attend for driving class for about 2 hours… just to know how the test will be taken… and that’s because i wanted to… i don’t have to attend any class actually… all i have to do is to sign all the 16 hours class attendant… the instructor just simply “malas”… asked me “u know how to drive? how long have u been driving..?” and required me short demo on driving and parking…
      nearly fail the test as the instructor only teach the major lessons… luckily i had much chit-chat with other candidates while awaiting my turn…

totally different case 5 years later for my B2 license… the instructor was X-military… so damn militer… scold everybody just like that when do even a small mistake… i fail the QTI 2 times before managed to pass the test….

• D-Day for manual

• lucas on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Rubbish….. Does the Transport Department knows how Finland and Germany government require their people to pass the driving examination??

• Hulwan on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Germany has auto-only licenses. I believe the issuance of auto-only licenses is being practised in most countries in the world (EU, US, Canada, Japan, Singapore, Australia, NZ, etc). We are actually quite behind in this aspect.

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Yes, it has, but the test is harder, there is no kopi-o (at least I haven’t heard of such a case), and the preparations for the test are more intense.

You have to take any amount of lessons until the teacher thinks you are fit. You also have to spend a few hours on the Autobahn, driving during the night, … and if you only once miss to turn your head while changing lane etc. (observing the traffic) during the exam then see you next time. The lesson on the Autobahn is done at higher speeds too (I did about 150, a cousin 190), so you learn how to behave (keep on the right unless overtaking, observe the traffic all the time (I think my teacher told me to look into the mirrors at least 30-50% of the time), turn the head to see if there is no one in the way when changing lane (and still going straight at the same time…), etc.

Many do fail the first time (sometimes it’s unfair though).

Btw., in terms of cars it used to be a Golf (that’s what I learned on), then it opened up to other cars of the same class, and in the past few years I’ve seen everything. C class, big SUVs, even Porsche (that’s a novelty to attract customers though… I bet they only get a single lesson in the Porsche, lol). Basically the instructors use their private car to teach (of course the cars have to be modified). Imagine learning to drive in a SUV… omg.

• Carl Wong on Jan 04, 2012 at 11:58 pm

That’s why they keep producing the best drivers in the world, not just for racing. We need to learn from them.

• What about existing driver? will we be given the manual licence since we took it in manual years ago

• existing driver will be able to drive both
      auto license holders can only drive auto
      why is that so difficult for people to understand

• Aku lah on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:01 pm

stupid question…!!

• Akimoto Shun on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:36 pm

In this case, cars with paddle shifters consider as manual or auto? … wonder Auto transmission driving licence takers will have issue driving a paddle shifters car?… or potential samans concern if these license takers driving a manual car?…

• farghmee on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:55 pm

now auto licence, later dualclutch licence, later cvt licence..hahaha

what is the difference between manual & auto?
    both also need driver’s full attention.

• The difference is, that you’re allowed to drive an auto car with a manual license, but not a manual car with an auto license… ;)

• Out of Luck on Dec 29, 2011 at 9:19 pm

@farghmee: You’re right, very little difference. Manual requires both hands, one on shift stick and another on steering so it requires more attention and it’s bad for city driving. Auto requires two hands as well, one on steering and another on handphone for sms-ing while driving, equally bad because it predisposes to higher risk of accidents. Hehe!

• RAZAK on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:10 pm

One more license need Tiptronic license.
    Totally rubbish!!!
    Manual still the best.

• hippo on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:13 pm

They are wrong, manual car has more control, easier to overtake when problem occurs, easier to slow down car via downshifting. I still like manual cars, even though i’m using auto car now. I guess manual cars only available for high end sport car. sigh :(

• new curriculum should emphasize on the right way to maneuver in and out of a roundabout. saw too many idiots nowadays didn’t know which lane to take at a roundabout.

i dont think ppl using auto is considered lazy people.auto is convenient to use.you will have an extra hand for other purpose other than changing gear.noobs also wont have to be afraid of junctions/traffic light at hilly slopes.

i loved driving a manual car.but daily commute via mrr2 and jalan tun razak…*sigh*

• blackbox on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Now a day most auto car have manual shift function. Maybe the respond is slightly slower, but should not be a problem. BTW we should use brake to slow down our car, not using gearbox or engine.

• Yea, try doing that on the way down from genting.. Hi and Bye, forever.

• blackbox on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:32 pm

I have 2 manual car, both car club organised frequent Genting weekend drive. I am still alive. ;)
          I did not said I put in free gear or fifth gear and slide down the slope, but I will not depends more than 20% of the slowing down effort from engine braking while going down slope.
          BTW I was comment base on what hippo said “easier to overtake when problem occurs, easier to slow down car via downshifting”
          If you need to slow down the car in shortest distance without locking the brake and losing traction, you better concentrate on one thing only which is the brake not brake and clutch in, down shift and clutch out.

• FYI, please depend 100% on engine braking to KEEP you in slow speed during going down slope. But i assume that’s just a typo in your sentence.

I believe slowing down both with downshift n brake is equally important. Even for Auto box, when you hit the brakes, the fuel to engine is cut down to minimal (or even completely, depending on car) for engine braking.

Since you are in a car club, just go do some experiment with them. Try your method and the method of doing both. See which method is more efficient. Hav fun!

• blackbox on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:24 am

First of all my initial comment (29/12/11 3.35pm) was base on hippo comment on “slow down car via downshifting”. Non of us mentioned that it is on slope. Please read carefully.

Secondly what you mentioned was “KEEP you in slow speed” or means to prevent acceleration while going down slope. Which is completely different from slowing down or decelerating that I mentioned.

There are no need to do any experiment. I know what you try to means but you just kind of confuse on my comment.

Let me tell you, there are no way you can use gearbox and engine ONLY to give you CONSTANT speed while going down hill it will either end up you are slowing down (gear too low) or still accelerating (gear too high). Which means no way to “depend 100% on engine braking to KEEP you in slow speed”.

What I normally do is to maintain engine speed of somewhere around 3,500rpm and the rest of the control with foot brake.

• :)

Yes, that is of coz not 100%.

When u maintain engine speed at 3.5krpm, you are using engine braking (although u dun realize it), so it is not at 20% only..

Realistically, I would say around 50 50, in the case of going down hill.

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 11:06 pm

The advantage I feel is when you get slow and the auto gearbox tries to push the car forward in 1st gear. With a manual car you press the clutch automatically, so the brakes are only trying to slow down the car, rather than slow down the car and fight against the engine.

Of course you can change into neutral, but who does that?

• you come over kinabalu, sabah, i give you brembo what what what, stick on D mode only, and i playing gearbox downshifting + braking…see who get the brake fade

• blackbox on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:38 pm

Why not you come to Genting? Do you know what is the reason causing brake fade? And how often you replace your brake fluid?
          You use engine braking to provide traction, do you really taking corner without using your brake?

• Genting going down, with 2lanes…Kinabalu going down, 1lane..
            i will braking before entering corner.. play more GT5 to practice your braking laa..
            silly la you, you think genting is the best to test your braking meh? go test jalan kimanis, sabah laa

• blackbox on Dec 30, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Since you deliver toufu every day on Jalan Kimanis there are not thing I can say. Good luck and Happy New Year. :)

• blackbox on Dec 30, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Since you deliver toufu every day on Jalan Kimanis there are not thing I can say. Good luck and Happy New Year. :) But next time better read people’s comment clearly. I means start from the beginning.

• add on..the reason brake fade..
            Boiling point of fluid is going down,
            brake pad cannot withstand the extreme heat..
            DRIVER DONT KNOW HOW TO SLOW DOWN THE CAR BY USING BRAKE + ENGINE BRAKING

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 31, 2011 at 4:34 pm

aiyyaaa what’s with these quarrel…? and later bring up GT games and the tofu anime figure… u guys do scratch motorheads image la… why argue over the composition of braking and engine braking..? that’s too wild… the best effective manipulator of both technique will definitely lead… that’s what matter the most

Genting slopes and curves are not that extreme anyway… the tarmac are quite wide too… nevertheless… u should never be dependent only on the brakes or the engine brakes… we all know how… use the right low gear and at certain point use the brake…

meanwhile, i extremely rare to apply any brake on Karak even though i do not need more than one lane… downshifting is enough, entering curve will slow the car further… extra sense with the steering and gas paddle will do…
            i applied the brake only when someone enter my lane all of sudden which somehow i found a Vios or City if not a Myvi… seriously… i’m not insulting… maybe because of their sales volume… demm..! those guys cost me a set of brake pads already only at 130k+ km ..!!!

and really clueless with conventional autobox at these circumstances…

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Lol…spoken like a true auto tranny driver.

Seriously not to belittle you, but ask any seasoned driver what they do driving down an incline and most will downshift to a lower gear and use engine braking to help ease off the brakes.

Even when you manually downshift an autobox, your torque converter doesn’t give you full lockup.

Even lorry drivers do that.

But for a bit of neutrality, yes, if you are not on a slope, better to use just the brakes. Modern brakes do cope well, but given what sort of crappy brakes we’ve seen on cars here, i wont have too much faith in them. (small unventilated front discs- yeah i’m looking at you P1 and P2)

• blackbox on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:54 pm

I’m not a auto tranny driver. Both my weekday and weekend car are manual tranny.

I agree engine braking will ease off the brake. My comment was base on what hippo said, non of us mentioned on braking while driving down incline.

Did you saw any driver on track use engine braking?

Engine braking will only provide braking with 2 wheels only and real brake is on 4 wheels.

If you are a seasoned driver for Genting and Cameron you should have a better sets of brake pads and replace brake fluid more frequent to prevent brake fade. Do not use engine braking as an excuse to not maintaining your braking system. Like to ask how many of you replace the brake fluid as mentioned in the servicing manual?

• “Did you saw any driver on track use engine braking?”

Actually yes, one of the best driver, schumacher does it, and i believe all f1 driver does it as well. Their point is to brake and also maintain stability/balance of the car.

The keyword here is to smartly use both. I think ppl just bo song u for downplaying the importance of engine braking.

• blackbox on Dec 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Any evidence to show Schumacher or other f1 driver did using engine brake? If just from TV you can see F1 driver using engine brake?Actually from TV every downshift you saw the rpm surge up is because the electronic rev match the engine for down shifting only. Read some before you comment (http://www.f1technical.net/articles/66)

You know why track driver using H&T while down shifting? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAwJsOECGBU) One reason is because they don’t want any engine braking. So they rev-match to down shift to maintain the optimum rpm. As I mentioned engine brake will only involve 2 wheels braking which is a no way especially when you are attacking an apex. Next time go to track and try your self, but don’t blame me for damaging your clutch ans synchro. May be drift or motocross driver will do engine braking to purposely losing traction.

From our “conversation” I understand that you have experience on driving manual tranny (on FF car?) but seems like you need to have more technical knowledge or try to spin with some FR or MR car.

• Oh yea.. Happy new year!

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 31, 2011 at 7:15 pm

i don’t think true race cars have much engine braking or have no engine braking at all… racing motorbikes too…
            racetrack racing is different… they’ll just hit the far better performance brake right after releasing the gas paddle at the most critical curve entering point possible, hitting and releasing the brake are equally critical… and modulate the gas paddle accordingly with the right gear all the way…

given an exact car setup, several drivers will show different performance… the best performed driver will release, hit and release the brake and modulate the gas at the most critical point on the right lane and achieve the highest speed exiting the curve with better tire preserverance… all the time

• blackbox on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:58 pm

BTW what I mentioned “Now a day most auto car have manual shift function” was respond to hippo comment “manual car has more control, easier to overtake when problem occurs”

• linear_system on Dec 30, 2011 at 9:22 am

my car is P1 and it has all round disc brakes with ventilation at front..better than your toyota vios..

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:56 pm

But it’s fun to practice heel+toe. :(

However I have seen some people drive a manual… oh my god. Many don’t know when to shift it seems (yes, even in Europe). Staying in 2nd at 50 km/h… constantly! WTF? And the gear change takes ages.

• for some reason we also need to use gearbox. consider as extra advantage during emergency. very important. Ask pro driver why?

• Gavin on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:37 pm

great make it easier for more killers on the roads

• No big deal. In my house, 3 out of 5 cars are manual. Auto only for my mum and wife. Even my sisters drive manual.

• n2nios on Dec 29, 2011 at 2:45 pm

This is another way of making money….what if i’m taking a manual transmission lisence and then i change my car to auto transmission? Do i have to get a new license? another thing…..more kopi money for the uniform guys under the tree. “U punya kereta manual tapi u punya lesen auto? Apamacam nak setel? For the past 20 or so year drivers have no problem of switching between manual & auto….this is crap!

• doskoi on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:04 pm

duh. dont u read the article?

• carazy on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:22 pm

mannn.. why sooo negative!!!

• MoFaz on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:51 pm

u didn’t read, do u?
      it stated clearly that if you have manual license, u can drive auto car.

• please obey the law.and if you come across the situation involving the uniforms which you mentioned, please report it..play your part.

• NISMO - X on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:27 pm

ur assumption is bullshit!!

• of cos not bro…if manual license, no need to take auto license..but if auto license, then u need to take manual license..aiya bro..did u read the article 1st b4 u leave a comment?

• Another driver on the Road on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Are we looking at the beginning of the end for Manual Transmission?!

• khimfoh on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:07 pm

I think it’s because demand for automatic transmission vehicles has exceed that of manual transmission vehicles. Hence the Government may want to introduce driver license for automatic cars. Personally I feel it is not a wise move because emphasis should be put on defensive driving, proper driving manners and active driving. Also emphasis should be put on basic maintenance of one’s vehicle.

Back in the states, my Dad obtained his driver’s license (1978) and he test car was an automatic.

• Only Barang Naik regime is capable of such stupidity.

• blackbox on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:42 pm

I found that you will be more focus on the road if driving manual car,because manual driver need to “predict” the road condition in order to select the right gear. While I was driving auto I found that I was very free inside my car, then I start to making call, switching radio channel or even looking around.
    After switch to manual I actually more focus on driving and no more emergency brake :)

• xavier lert on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:12 pm

for stupid

• Harlem on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Mistake amateur did with auto car.
    1.) Engage to P during jammed, when they get horned for not moving forward, they got panic & pull the gear without stepping on the brake, the car got in to R & rammed into the car behind.
    2.) White stopping in front of parking gate, they look for the parking ticket & forget to hold the brake.
    3.) Driver go sleepy or drunk release the brake unconsciously, rammed the car in front.
    4.) Some driver think that auto car would never row back, even on very stiff climb, they never pull the handbrake, but in actual fact auto car will row back on stiff climb.
    5.) I too notice instead of concentrate on driving while they do not need to control the clutch & shifting like those manual driver, Auto car diver tense to put their concentration on playing with kids, talk to the passenger, using handphone without handfree kit, which put danger to them self, passenger & other driver.

So in conclusion I never agree that using auto car is in any way safer than manual car, I too don’t see the rational of having 2 license, as this may put more amateur & dangerous half cooked driver on the road, imagine most of the manual car owner are belong to the lower income group (except to those sports car) what would happen to their car residual value 6 months from now ? Surely it would drop substantially, most used car dealer would reject as hard of them to re sale later on.

Hopefully the Govt will scrapped this dumb ideas.

• KageSenshi on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:23 pm

definitely the reason to have proper auto car driving techniques ..

the current license only teach how to drive manual transmission properly, but not auto transmission

i’ve seen manual drivers who struggle with auto tranny .. thinking its the same thing ..

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Yeah, when I first drove an auto I was like WTF? I still prefer manual.

You don’t have to concentrate on using the clutch etc., after a while you don’t have to think about it. Gear changes just happen (unless I want to shift faster/smoother… which I practice as often as possible).

• Joshua on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Another Laughing News for the world to laugh at Malaysia! We sound ever more stupid to the rest of the world with the regulations our Government is setting up.

• what makes you think the rest of the world don’t have these kind of regulation?

• linear_system on Dec 30, 2011 at 9:29 am

lots of other countries have this auto licence..the department give options..if you wanna take the manual or auto, depends on you..and please give signals if u wanna turn left or right….

• What a joke for “auto driving licence”? next time Hybrid driving licence? or EV driving licience? keep creating a useless new laws for our Rakyat.

• BBery on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:19 pm

OMG. more makcik2 OTR after this.

macho man, its time to change ur HORN to BIG HORN. ARGHHHHH

• i drive both manual and auto cars. no problem at all. and i dont think others using this ‘auto license’ will cause problems. it depends on the driver themselves. some people, who can drive manual still drive like sh*t. no offence and sorry for the harsh language but its the reality. driving auto car doesnt make u a lousy driver and driving a manual car doesnt automatically make u a prudent driver. like i said earlier, its all depending on the driver. if u are naturally kurang ajar, then most probably u will drive recklessly no matter whether u drive manual or auto.

• squawk on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Good! It’ll be easier to play with iPhone while driving an auto! Can update twitter, check fb….. :-)

Anyway, is this segregation really necessary? It’s not like a person who takes the auto license option would want to get behind the wheel of a m/t.

I think it’s more important to teach drivers to be more aware of the traffic situation and have more courtesy. There’re so many occasions where I had to jam my brakes because some @$$hole turns out of a junction without looking right. And quite a few of them were on the phone.

• mystvearn on Dec 29, 2011 at 6:50 pm

I can see that this would be super useful in big cities with start stop traffic. Rural areas can still do with MT. I think still better to get MT car, as if you go to a country where most of the cars are MT you could drive them as you had training with it. Maybe for some people the AT extra cost offsets the MT anytime?…

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 29, 2011 at 7:20 pm

What for?

The transport dept has nothing else better to come up with?

Driving tests should be made harder, not easier.

Want for better and safer drivers, make them sit for advanced driving or even a day of track school!

• Driver from outerspace on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:37 pm

REAL MAN drives manual car.

I can drive both manual n auto car. I can ride both manual clutch n auto motorbikes.
    Its not a problem for me at all.

Auto car = the car decide for driver what to do.
    Manual car = the driver decide how the car should perform.

I used to own auto car, and now i own a manual car.

• agree. Need for performance Manual lah, if auto we need 2.5cc/3.0cc above.. mahalll ooo tak mampu roadtax hehe..

• kiasu no kiasi on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:48 pm

There go the sales of manual car, JPJ should be more stringent on car license test so that those who pass are well tested, i don’t see there is a need to have 2 lisence, so does this mean driving school need to upgrade all their training car to auto (someone is getting rich soon), infact i never agree on using kancil a test car, they should at least use a Saga.
    U would see people use the free time for putting on makeup, chit chat with passenger, playing with children, smoking, playing with handphone, tablet & what not nonsense rather than concentrate on the road.
    Why not having a MPV, SUV, Pickup Truck, 4 x 4 or car below 2ltr & above 2 ltr instead, like motorcycle B2 & B full license.
    I believe the fellow who suggest this getting nagging from wife, GF or daughter that present manual car making it difficult for them to pass the driving license test & they want easy license.

• Playing with tablet while driving. WOW! How would it could be r?? hehe.

• Bongcs on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:50 pm

OK !! OK !! NO MORE CLUTCH KICK !

• transformer on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Ii’m still waiting for this Gov to change the existing License(format) to Credit Card type.. This can help to reduce fake license….. anyone can get one for Rm20….

I can tell you… THERE ARE A LOT OF FAKE LICENSE ROAD USER OTR!!!

• Carl Wong on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:55 pm

So for most people who’re doing the test with Manual transmission they can still drive both?

• berombon on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:58 pm

you ask for the sake of asking eh?

• Carl Wong on Dec 31, 2011 at 12:21 am

I ask because it’s not in the article and I wasn’t sure. When other people ask questions I’ll try to answer with my knowledge instead of……….

Anyways the answer is yes and it was answered in the comments above. I missed it because I didn’t read through all the comments.

• zukeli on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:50 pm

aiyoo… macam-macam hal nak diada-adakan. kenapa perlu timbul isu yang tidak penting. kemalangan bukan sebab kereta jenis Auto or Manual tapi sikap individu. pandangan saya tidak perlu lah nak asing-asingkan lesen auto dengan lesen manual cukuplah penguatkuasaan undang-undang. bagilah kebebasan orang nak pandu kereta Manual atau auto kenapa perlu nak klasifikasikan. cukuplah dengan 1 jenis lesen sahaja nor D1 or D2. berfikirlah untuk kemudahan jangan nak menyusahkan. fikir untuk kesenangan rakyat bukan menyusahkan rakyat TQ(democracy)

• Thumbs me up ! on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:45 pm

I believe this is a good change to allow new drivers to learn how to concentrate on the road more than figuring out when to change the gears and the fear of having the car stalled and repaying for a second JPJ attempt. with the same education, new drivers can learn defensive driving more than when to press the clutch and when and what to change.

• Thumbs me up ! on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Additionally, they have auto license as option in germany, and whilst living there for many years, i saw no problems with this except having to add auto trans kancils or vivas to their fleet.

• paparadzi on Dec 30, 2011 at 12:55 am

I got my first driving license (in the USA) about 30 years ago using an automatic car. The license didn’t state auto or manual, as long as I know how to handle the road and the traffic. Only about 2 years later did I managed to learn to drive a manual transmission car.

Handling the road and traffic doesn’t require auto or manual transmission, but more about traffic awareness and considerate driving.

• The road to extinction for manual cars in Malaysia begins in May 2012. Anyway, manual or auto, the decision about which one is better still lies on the hands of the driver. Some might prefer auto while some might prefer manual. Different people have different taste and opinions.

• Car Lover on Dec 30, 2011 at 1:16 am

its not really a big deal.. real man nor only drive manual car.. drive big superbike too.. thats we call truly real man.. manual hand clucth..

so funny la when talk manual only for macho man.. dude seriously come on la.. manual only for those who dont sayang thier lives and driving like crazy people.. pretend like driving an evo.. padahal wira manual jek.. dont say that auto is for makcik2 and gurl.. real man also used auto.. x payah tekan klac mase jem.. senang kerja,,
    but reality.. many real men used auto car and race thier car with it.. many i saw.. big exhaust.. bunyi mcm guruh.. bile vrooom auto rupenyer kereta dia..

i used manual tranny and also can drive auto car too.. my dad mpv is auto and i conclude that auto car makes a comfortable drive.. coz when we family go to a trip.. i always wants 2 drive my dads mpv.. always whats the big deal.. i choose auto so i can sit and enjoy my driving when traffic jamn,, no more kicking clucth.. i drive manual coz manual jimat minyak.. and also i like manual clutch.. makes me more alert when driving.. even when someones calling me i will never answer that coz i need to focus on my drive..

dua2 ok.. manual for men and girl.. those chick who drive a manual car.. many men will salute u and want u 2 be his wife.. awek pakai kete manual bro.. pergh..

• klaka seram on Dec 30, 2011 at 3:10 pm

dude, where did you learn your English?

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 11:12 pm

You need to concentrate when driving a manual? Then you are not yet used to it. Changing the gears should be like keeping on the lane… it just happens, without you having to think about it (you can of course, when you want to perfect your technique).

MPVs are obviously better for family to go on trip, even a manual one.

• draftboy on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:27 am

Auto transmission car lack of engine breaking…Always got screw when follow stupid ass driver that don’t know how and lack of skill to control throttle… Always play breaking…break…break…break…especially women driver…haishhh…

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Not true. I might be slowing down in my (unfortunately auto) car… let go of the gas pedal, after a while gearbox engages 2nd gear, I headbang. After a while it engages 1st, and I headbang hard. Or when I let go of the gas pedal in 1st (or 2nd) the car slows down quite a bit.

Perhaps other cars are different though… 4 speed auto (a rubbish one, though they all are) in my car. Wanted manual, but impossible to find :(

• Nissan on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:41 am

another excuse to dig out more money?

• karipap love on Dec 30, 2011 at 1:05 pm

this should stop people from paying duit kopi to pass their driving tests. if they still do pay the bribe, i think you need to castrate yourself and rid the world of your inept genes. If anyone requires it, i will gladly perform the procedure on you. i see it as my “sumbangan ” to the human race.

• totenkepf on Dec 30, 2011 at 3:09 pm

as Jeremy Clarkson might say “how hard could it be?, i don’t think it is a necessity to introduce this system. imagine if there is an emergency and you have to drive a manual car…. what they should do is to add/include auto tranmission driving teaching in the current system, maybe 1 or 2 hrs is enough during the whole learning process, the rest are manual transmission. in addition, they should also introduce a wet driving condition in addition to dry whether condition & night driving lesson, these really help a lot.

i’m really thankfull that i was forced to learn manual transmission. if given the choice, i might have choosen auto transmission license, easier to pass :)

• Carl Wong on Dec 30, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Skills are quite important yes but it’s irrelevant as long as safety is concerned, I think the most important factor is ATTITUDE. The way a slightly less skilled driver but have good attitude who follow traffic laws drive is safer than a skillful driver with reckless/ignorant attitude. If I’m not mistaken Lewis Hamilton got a lot of speeding tickets in different countries………..

I have a 5 speed manual Gen 2, interestingly the signal handle is on the left. And your left hand is supposed to be on the steering as long as you’re not changing gears. So my left hand is quite busy but I can still drive with both hands while showing signals correctly for changing lanes, overtaking etc……

• bobdbilder on Dec 30, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Given same engine capacity; a manual always saves fuel. Give it to a good knowledgeable driver, it’s even better.

Undoubtedly more automatic cars are on Malaysian roads. The trend will grow. Compound that trend with car population growth. Now put that in the context of our national energy consumption. Put that in the context of subsidized energy. Put that in terms of capital flow towards paying for foreign crude. Put that in respect to CO2 emissions.

We should be inserting Energy Conservation as part of the driving syllabus. Providing an avenue to increase the use of auto cars is a step backwards in efficient use of energy and our finite financial reserves.

• Carl Wong on Dec 31, 2011 at 1:35 am

Compared to normal torque converter Automatic yes, stick shift manual is more efficient, but the technology have improved and the difference is only around 1%.
      I still think the most efficient transmission regardless of cost at the moment is CVT and Dual Clutch.

No matter how young or good you are stick shift manual is still a pain in heavy traffic. So if I have a choice I’ll just get a hybrid with CVT :].

• silver on Dec 30, 2011 at 9:49 pm

next time the road block will ask about ur manual or auto licence and they will check ur gear stick..hehehehehehehehe

• Srious Fast Donkey on Dec 31, 2011 at 10:39 am

Auto-only driving licence. That’s good because it is another convenient choice for the people.

• Ha Gnih on Dec 31, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Luckily at home, I have both the auto and manual cars. So when I’m sick of driving auto, I’ll just switch to manual. and vice versa. But kids these days really do not know how to drive manual because some I’ve seen, all the cars at home are auto. Hahaha. Poor things

• Safe Driver on Jan 05, 2012 at 10:23 am

More kopi-o license drivers coming out to the road. Die lah.

• AnonymousM on Jan 26, 2012 at 8:45 pm

nice, the government is further jamming up the roads with retarded drivers. rather, i prefer that the government reduce the number of legal motorists on the road. why? you got those people who pass by paying and cant drive squat even with an auto, thinking their daddy owns the god damned road.

and then you got the bastards driving around like maniacal suicide-circus-driver-mobs and they’re encouraging the latter kind of learning drivers to drive?perhaps an increase in traffic accidents was what they wanted. i smell inglorious traffic jams and an increased population of retarded female drivers.

• kadajawi on Jan 27, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Ah come on… I’ve seen female drivers that drive very well, and male drivers that drive horrible.

What should be encouraged (summon) is having to drive on the left lane unless you are overtaking, proper use of the headlights (not allowed to use high beam unless no one is blinded, no conversion to HID unless the auto leveling is implemented), headlights need to be leveled all the time (i.e. if the car is heavier in the back the headlights have to be adjusted)), observing the traffic (always look into the rear mirror… it is important that in school they drive on the highway at at least 110 km/h! They have to practice driving there! In Germany every driving student has to drive a few hours on the highway, usually at speeds above 130 km/h, result being that even driving students usually don’t behave like idiots there). Also keeping the headlights on at all times should be encouraged (or better yet the use of daytime running lights, at night they are automatically turned off or lowered in brightness).

• peaceee on Feb 14, 2012 at 10:15 pm

this is genderist saying women or elder people cant drive. Its not about the Gender , Age or Race, its about the person. How can you judge an ocean just because of one fish.

• kayosz on Jun 13, 2012 at 1:45 pm

i think they should teach how to drive n text… now people play fb, twit etc all d time.. check in sini sana.. if acciden they post on they sosial network 1st b4 call police n ambulance… tolong la ajar cara memandu sambil guna hp!!