Peugeot 107 gets reworked for 2012 – hatch gets new face, upgraded interior and enhanced equipment

Peugeot 107 gets reworked for 2012 –  hatch gets new face, upgraded interior and enhanced equipment

Peugeot has given its 107 a restyling job for 2012, and the update includes a new face and an upgraded interior, with enhanced equipment also in the mix.

Leading the way in for the rework is a new front styling job, with a deeper lower front panel that includes a housing for the front fog lights, LED daytime running lights and a redesigned front bumper.

Three trim levels are on offer, these being Access, Active and Allure, and within these trim levels, features such as Peugeot Connect Bluetooth, USB and daytime running lights are now to be found for the first time on the 107 range.

Peugeot 107 gets reworked for 2012 –  hatch gets new face, upgraded interior and enhanced equipment

In addition to the new equipment available, the second facelift for the car (it was originally facelifted in 2009) also sees better equipment being offered across the model range, which continues on in both three- and five-door form.

In its petrol form, no change mechanically – the 107 carries on with the 1.0 litre three-cylinder unit as found previously, still offering 68 hp at 6,000 rpm and 93 Nm at 3,600 rpm. Performance specs for the five-speed manual transmission version is a 160 km/h top speed and a 0-100 km/h time of 14.2 seconds.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sadly this wont ever be in malaysia
    would love to see either 107, c1 or aygo on malaysian road

• kadajawi on Jan 06, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Why doesn’t Toyota bring it in, for example as a Viva replacement? It is not a terribly good car, and the interior really feels cheap (the old one at least), but it is reliable, cheap and solid.

• PakAbu on Jan 06, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Maybe Naza can bring in the 107?

:mrgreen:

• kadajawi on Jan 06, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Toyota wouldn’t be too happy about that. :D Do it Naza!

But in order to make sense it has to build locally, by a local brand. Otherwise taxes will be too high.

• Masked Ryder on Jan 06, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Naza can’t do that, KIA wouldn’t be happy as it will threaten Picanto.

That why i think Naza had swollowed more than they can digest, Chevvy Cruze is overshadowed by Forte & Peugeot 508 overshadowed by Optima, Captiva by Sportage.

I believe 1 brand should sticked with 1 distributor, look at SD with Hyundai & Ford ? same sinario, they can’t promote both brand at a same time, one would end up as “Anak Tiri”.

• Whatever you are smoking I would like some.

Peugeot 508 overshadowed by Kia Optima? You must be joking.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 06, 2012 at 12:57 pm

The problem is, If they did bring them in, it would likely cost the same or more than a Myvi.

For whats it worth, for the same price, the Myvi is a better car.

The 107/C1/Aygo is a cheap car built cheaply. In its defence, the C1 (the cheapest of the triplets) I drove is a spunky little car. Its actually quite fun to toss it around…..kind of like a slighly bigger Kelisa.

• At the moment of impacting some other cars.. I doubt Myvi is the better car..

Yes, it’ll be cheap, but not chassis wise cheap.

• kadajawi on Jan 06, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Not if it were a P2. Or Proton could bring it in as a slightly below Savvy model? (Ok, I think Toyota won’t let that happen).

• nothing can be cheaper than myvi.

• kadajawi on Jan 06, 2012 at 2:36 pm

The Myvi is a 10k Euro car in Germany (granted with 4 airbags etc. in base spec and made in Japan). The Dacia Lodgy is also probably going to be a 10k car. The Aygo costs 7500 Euro in base spec with 6 airbags. I think it is not too unreasonable to think that the Aygo could be sold for less than a Myvi.

• Senater on Jan 06, 2012 at 3:18 pm

RM35k i ll consider i like the metallic purple looks kinda cool…the rear reminds me of SmartForTwo…

• HirumaKecil on Jan 07, 2012 at 6:49 am

i’ll vote for 50k… Why? Because Viva already 40k++ so this will be sold at the price like Alto…

• kadajawi on Jan 07, 2012 at 12:32 pm

40k++? Only in very highest spec perhaps, and then I’d rather buy a Saga. Must be priced below Myvi and Saga, at least in base spec. So 35k sounds about right… that’d be reasonable.

• Jack Philip Yong on May 15, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Hope Perodua rebadged Peugeot 107/ Citroen C1/ Toyota Aygo as all-new Perodua Viva in 2013…

• Gekco on Jan 07, 2012 at 9:20 am

Even this small car got emblem on the steering wheel.

• intermilan on Jan 07, 2012 at 9:24 am

Hahaha… dream on…

Always believe that Nasim consider it is as if they are committing suicide (or simply suicidal) if they bring it here.

M’sia A-segment market share is shrinking and going to in 2012. New buyer prefer to buy B-segment or C-segment car as their first car or second car straight away. Most A-segment available is over-priced anyway so why bother.

Malaysian market preference / taste is clearly bias toward ‘getting as much space as possible with the smallest amount of money’ philosophy. It is an ASEAN thingy, i guess…

Even if introduce as CKD, the 107 will end up to be more expensive than the Myvi… No thanks to the tariff barriers, i.e. NAP exorbitant import duty + excise duty, which give harshest treatment to Non-Asean CKD/CBU. Why? They never explains why.. realise that? As a CBU, it will be even worse. There are also non-tariff barriers that make the situation even more difficult.

Given that it is much smaller in size and spare parts going to be more expensive, it is not going to be beat the Myvi when a comparison it made between them.
    Yes.. both are in different segment. But everyone do this. Compare almost everything possible against Myvi. Just to get rough ideas where it stand against the benchmark.

Dont get me wrong. I would love to see them here.
    But Nasim wouldn’t dare to gamble this far.
    I reckon they had already run through the simulation. They should (have).

They better bring / made a bigger order (to PSA Peugeot Citroen) for the RCZ (i heard 7-month waiting list?), 308cc (for the face-lifted version?) and other upcoming models. Concentrate on premium models and re-position the Peugeot brand to be more upmarket, premium.

No need to wrestle in A-segment market where the competition is very competitive and well established. Profit margin is low and sales most probably be low too.

So.. we dream on… Perhaps one fine day.. A-segment Peugeot will see the light of day in M’sia. Until then… All hail the NAP!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 07, 2012 at 4:57 pm

always liked this car. cheap, reliable, does the job.

• Faddd on Jan 07, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Quirky looking tachometer, why does it have to be separated…….! it’s hideous……!

• Jack Philip Yong on May 15, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Better this car replace Perodua Viva….Called as all-new Perodua Viva (Peugeot 107/ Toyota Aygo) in Malaysia..Hope it too