Chevrolet MPV Concept unveiled at Delhi Auto Expo 2012

General Motors India unveiled the Chevrolet MPV Concept at the 11th Auto Expo in New Delhi this week. The MPV Concept is a joint venture project between GM and SAIC, engineered for the B-segment MPV market in India and developed for emerging markets, which pretty much means it is a low cost Toyota Avanza/Nissan Grand Livina competitor.

GM’s India Technical Center worked with Lotus Engineering for about a year and a half to tune the chassis. The body and chassis uses high strength and ultra high strength steel for chassis stiffness and safety. It can seat ether 7 or 8 people in a flexi-seating setup.

Live photos by MotorBeam.com

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ericmaxman on Jan 07, 2012 at 12:52 pm

damn weird looking foglight =\

• khairul on Jan 07, 2012 at 1:11 pm

later on can assemble at proton tanjung malim and hopefully price below than 100k

• Paul Tan on Jan 07, 2012 at 3:53 pm

All B segment MPVs are already sold in Malaysia below RM100k. You should be hoping for an even lower price!

• drMpower on Jan 07, 2012 at 1:21 pm

cruze, volt, corvette, all good looking,
    that 4×4 very butch and all

however with this chap over here
    jesus christ

• by looking at these pictures, I almost forget that we are in year 2012. Outdated design.

• Lion King on Jan 07, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Agree 100%. Even Jesus won’t forgive this sin of a design.

• If you look at the lines on this MPV it has a striking resemblance to the Exora. Maybe GM had a secret interest in Proton all along, but one thing for sure the Exora looks 100% better than this.

Just look at the side and rear profile and compare it to the Exora.

• Paul Tan on Jan 07, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Agreed, the Exora is one of the best looking as well as best riding B/C-segment MPV out there, compared to its competitors.

• Anyone who pick this mpv over Exora, obviously…..hate Proton blindly.

• OMG…I wont pick Exora over this,but i choose Alza over this. ..

• This is why I visit paultan.org everyday. Honest and un-biased statements, plus true facts. We need more Malaysians like you Paul !

• adlanar on Jan 07, 2012 at 7:39 pm

“GM’s India Technical Center worked with Lotus Engineering for about a year and a half to tune the chassis.”

i bet it uses the same lotus developed exora chassis…. hence the sale of the exora production line in tanjung malim will materialise after all

• At first glance, I thought it was grand starex.

• Compare to Exora CPS alone this Chevrolet too ugly let alone Exora Bold CFE. This Avanza-class people mover shouldn’t more than RM50,000. Please NAZA, don’t bring this ugly 1990s vehicle to this country.

• hanifhamzah on Jan 07, 2012 at 9:02 pm

this piece of metal got that cheap china look

• nebula87 on Jan 07, 2012 at 10:31 pm

they hired a lousy malaysian designer??

• Aver_Eng on Jan 07, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Dear all, I think this MPV is rebadge of China manufacturer WuLing’s product HongGuang MPV. This is the most beautiful small MPV in China, selling RMB45k – RMB60k. Engine 1.2L / 1.4L. Interior is simple and solid.
    http://www.autohome.com.cn/2139/

• Paul Tan on Jan 07, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Good catch

• AverEng on Jan 08, 2012 at 1:44 pm

WuLing HongGuang is worth to focus. Small MPV is very popular in China, from pasar malam trader to contractor all use small MPV. HongGuang nice built make it sells well in passenger business, like tour agent.

• sukasuki on Jan 08, 2012 at 11:44 am

are u serious? m0st beautiful small mpv??

• haha chevy kantoi……rebadge old model and claim a concept

• helmi on Jan 08, 2012 at 12:05 am

One word ..,,ugly.

• I prefer VW Touran & Exora design language over this

• helmi on Jan 08, 2012 at 9:57 am

One word..ugly.

• ZeBear on Jan 08, 2012 at 12:08 pm

The rear looks almost like an Exora!

Need to test drive first before making any comments.

Heard from my friends Chevy not famous for fuel economy.

At first I thought it was from one of China auto makers (no offence but they have improved every year at a rapid pace).

Quite ok…not too futuristic….got that nice arrow on the bonnet on an otherwise boring design.

• Ranma on Jan 08, 2012 at 12:24 pm

guys…chill. it’s only a concept. hopefully the lads at Chevrolet will improve the said and 90’s design. i must say… from the looks, personally i think they were inspired by the Kia Forte front end and Hyundai Starex rear end, and NOT forgetting the name that Mazda used last time. let’s hope the change the design to make it one that can challenge the other MPVs.

• concept ??? but very outdated design and the rear lamp almost equal to hyundai starex. not attractive compare with toyota & nissan entry level mpv.

• Oopus on Jan 08, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Yea, it’s called a “concept” car for Indian customers but has been up for sale for several years :D

• Oopus on Jan 08, 2012 at 10:41 pm

been up for sale in China for several years.

excuse me for the “in”

• SorChai on Jan 09, 2012 at 8:51 am

Concept??? Yup. Copy and paste. Then photo shop a bit. Add in your badge.

What a concept! I could use little myself.

• Suber on Jan 08, 2012 at 6:14 pm

If it is cheap, good warranty, support package…..even if it was from originally from China…..hey, worth look at rite?

• skunk 2 on Jan 08, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Please don’t call it concept. It’ far from concept.It’s a disgrace for using word on this junk.. Please use other word..

• Mohan Nair on Jan 09, 2012 at 1:53 am

Another bad attempt by GM to sell Chinese designed products in India. Chinese products have a bad rap in India and it will be really tough for GM to make any inroads.

Nissan infact also came out with their 7 seater MPV which is diesel powered. With competition from Toyota, Nissan, Tata and Mahindra and given the love affair Indians have with diesel engines, Its going to a tough sell for GM.

• kamyulo on Jan 09, 2012 at 2:54 am

The rear look quite promising to me. Perfect square, big door, small pillar (at the rear lamp) plus see the size at the 3rd row headrest. Whoaaa, really spacious once the 3rd row seat folded up.

Exactly the same as my Unser. I can load 2 full size mountain bike + 2 kids bike at the rear (once 3rd row seat folded up) during family outing at Titiwangsa.
    Also can load 37 desktop CPU (up to front passenger seat), still below windows level.
    Also tried loaded 9 adults + 4 kids below age 5 (13 people).

These are the advantage of such design MPV (square & boxy). So far no MPV under RM120k can do that. Only Unser.
    But the design sucks. But hey, think again. While driving or boarding the vehicle, we don’t see the design. Only NVH, comfort and handling matters.
    When we buy a vehicle, the design is 90% appreciated by others, not us. Unless if nothing to do, sit on a stool looking at the vehicle for 2-3 hours everyday.

I also have a better comfort Exora MC manual. specially used by wife to sent kids to school. And going outstation during holidays. So far so good. Good value.
    But can not load up like Unser. Not a Unser replacement, definitely.

• Garfield on Jan 09, 2012 at 8:53 am

If GM brings in, there is no harm for more competition. In fact, it will just bring a whole lot of good to some people. Some people ignore bad products just to be seen different than mainstream products. Some people just care about branding or what is fashionable.

In the end people are entitled to their own outlook and opinion, needs and wants. Just bring it on.

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:00 am

so, it’s nothing wrong for Proton to do rebadge.. GM also do the rebadge.

• Forrrestcat on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:21 pm

To the indians this will be like a god’s chariot for their three headed and six armd god.