New Ford Fusion previews next-gen Mondeo for the world

With the Detroit press days fast approaching, we’re seeing plenty of online reveals before the actual thing happens in Cobo Hall. Earlier, we saw the sporty Dodge Dart and the 3-Series targeting Cadillac ATS, now it’s Ford’s turn with the new Fusion, making it a trio of good looking Americans. The Fusion is a D-segment entry in the popular American “midsize” segment with the Camry, Accord, Malibu and Sonata.

It’s a big departure from the current car in the looks department. Featuring a sleek silhouette and an Aston Martin-esque nose, the all-new Fusion is the latest model to come under the Blue Oval’s “One Ford” strategy, which calls for global models to suit every market. The Fiesta and Focus are the other main pillars in the strategy. Do see this Fusion as a preview of the next gen Ford Mondeo.

“Our vision for Fusion was clear – deliver the very best of what ‘One Ford’ stands for. We brought our global teams together around a blank slate with the charge to develop a midsize car with ground breaking design and jaw-dropping fuel economy – one that featured technologies to help make our customers safer and better drivers. This car is the result,” said Derrick Kuzak, Group VP of Global Product Development.

Drivetrain choices are extensive – customers can choose from hybrid and plug-in hybrid alternatives, a pair of EcoBoost four-cylinder turbos, a normally aspirated four-pot, an automatic start stop system, front-wheel drive and all-wheel drive applications, and a choice between automatic and manual six-speed transmissions.

The 1.6-litre EcoBoost is expected to deliver best-in-class four-cylinder non-hybrid fuel efficiency. The 2.0-litre EcoBoost paired with a paddle-shift six-speed auto on the other hand, is the performance option. The latter can be had with 19-inch wheels and AWD with the ability to send additional torque to the rear.

The Fusion Hybrid – 2010 North American Car of the Year – now comes with lithium-ion batteries that save weight and generate more power than the current nickel-metal hydride type, while raising max speed under electric-only power from 75 to 100 km/h.

It also features a new 2.0L Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder engine, downsized from the previous 2.5L while maintaining performance. Ford claims that fuel economy will outperform the Camry Hybrid by 4 mpg city and 5 mpg highway and the Sonata Hybrid by 12 mpg and 4 mpg, respectively.

Want to go further? The Fusion Energi plug-in hybrid will be launched this fall, and it’s aiming 100 MPGe, a mile per gallon equivalency metric for electrified vehicles. This is 8 MPGe more than the Chevrolet Volt and 13 MPGe more than the projected efficiency of the Toyota Prius plug-in hybrid model, says Ford.

New tech features include Lane Keeping System, Adaptive cruise control, Active park assist, Blind Spot Information System, SYNC communications and entertainment system and the latest version of MyFord Touch.

The Mondeo is the best driver’s car in the non premium badged D-segment market, and the next one should have no problems maintaining the reputation. “This really is a driver’s car. Fusion is even more fun to drive with specially tuned electric power-assisted steering (EPAS), a MacPherson strut front suspension and an all-new premium-level multilink rear suspension – comparable to Audi and BMW configurations,” said John Jraiche, program manager.

The Fusion will be sold in S, SE and range-topping Titanium trim levels.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• A very well balanced designed all round nice look , Ford really does good design !!, I could see it shows more effort compare to Kia and Hyundai not to mention the outdated Japanese

• sagatron on Jan 09, 2012 at 8:45 pm

why there’s no one bash this car??hmmm….

• You should test drive the current Ford Mondeo Ecoboost , you will be surprised for the price of 180K what it could deliver , light years ahead of Honda, Toyota,, Kia and Hyundai

• Kumar san on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:35 am

Agreed my friend,it’s an awesome car,i was really surprised by the level of refinement offered by that ride.Really good car.

Cheers.

• nebula87 on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:28 pm

yeah…a cheaper “Aston Martin DB”…XD

• Alpha on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Kinda Aston Martin and Jaguar-ish.

• demio121 on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:28 pm

I thought this new Fusion is more like the current Mondeo we have. The profile of the whole car is like the Mondeo and the interior is is screaming Mondeo with more square edge.

i prefer our Mondeo front but the Fusion back and interior looks nicer.

• Jing Yi on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:29 pm

From certain angles, it looks like the Lancer.

• paultan on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:32 pm

aston martin rebadge ohoi :)

• Sentinel Prime on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Aston Martin look alike sedan version.

• whatthe on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:44 pm

wow nice car

• GloryWish on Jan 09, 2012 at 6:44 pm

I like the front grill. It gives a sporty look to the car.

• The dual-clutch powershift needs to be upgrade. C’mon, people are talking about 9-speed now!

• kadajawi on Jan 09, 2012 at 9:08 pm

9 speed? For what? You’ll be constantly changing gears… why not go for CVT then? Infinite number of gears, if the manufacturer implements it properly.

• rapidshifter on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:32 am

they always give manual option but not in Bolehland…sigh

• @8250rpm on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:35 am

i give u 18-speed…..go get urself a trailer….

• Brian Jong on Jan 10, 2012 at 6:16 pm

hey, manual is still the best, its cheap and save fuel alot. and more fun to drive…

• jolly_idiot on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Lancer headlamp spotted.

• Area51LE on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Rear looks like HYundai Sonata O.o

• shawal on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:27 pm

aston martin , audi a5 sportback, lancer, i see all kinds of cars ere, but overall, a good looking car

• chris on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Wow, at first i thought affordable aston martin. Still, good effort from ford.

• Mazda6 on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Looks like Mazda6!

• LE_buruk on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:36 pm

aston martin+lancer looks…..btw nice car from uncle sam

• mangata on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:41 pm

by looking at this ,it seems that even ford has moved on and producing world class car…now what abt toyota and honda,will u still stick with your formula or produce a better looking car. I mean, seriously by looking at this car it just show how outdated the latest toyota camry is…

• droll on Jan 10, 2012 at 2:48 am

true. can’t help it – toyota’s reliability is obtained at the expense of innovation.

i find it funny (and i chuckle) everytime i hear the “toyota, moving forward” ad on local radios.

hell man, even the new honda CRV has a 5 speeder and recycles old engines. everyone else has moved on.

• muthu on Nov 06, 2013 at 1:31 pm

damn honda toyota making a toy its not a car..idiot they a selling a car by makeup toy ..look up their price u wan a buy a japan toy .. go head ..damn u

• I dont usually write silly off-topic comments, but I’ll make an exception this once:

Hope this ‘One Ford’ isn’t just a gimmick like 1Malaysia…

• exterior heavily inspired by aston martin + hyundai/kia.

• Inilah hasil gabungan muka aston martin db9 dengan lancer ex…..ahaa…really cant help to write out this phrase…lol

• cars now getting uglier , dont you think?

• JeremyNg on Jan 09, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Damn !!! it look HOT

• lanzxervia on Jan 09, 2012 at 9:19 pm

definitely lancer lamp, anyway, its cool!

• Gavin on Jan 09, 2012 at 9:28 pm

I’m throwing money at the screen but nothing is happening

• most the comments here is either this car looks like this car that car, copy this copy that…. if u guys got nothing better to say, just keep quiet and admire the car and the tech.

• Ooo very suave…i like it : )
    I’ll feel like James Bond driving this…hehe

• Out of Luck on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Dunno when SDAC will bring this to Bolehland. Been waiting forever for the 2012 Focus to arrive. Ford’s new car designs are very nice, not overly done but just enough to make it look great.

• peter_pj on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:09 am

The Focus MK3 is waiting for the new plant at Thailand to be completed. The current MK2.5 Focus that are sold here are CBU from Philippines.

From what I read, the Thai plant is supposed to be ready Q3 or Q4 2012 (dunno if the floods have delayed it or not) so I only expect the MK3 Focus to be here late 2012 or early 2013.

Anyway, I like this Fusion/Mondeo dashboard compared to the MK3 Focus dash – its a lot neater compared to the MK3 Focus dash.

• fariz on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:59 pm

see this in nascar 2013

• mamamia on Jan 10, 2012 at 2:13 am

depan=aston martin+lancer
    belakang=maserati
    **also take idea from other company?…

• droll on Jan 10, 2012 at 2:46 am

beautiful car. a big improvement in looks over the current mondeo. so it seems the US will get this first. the UK will get this 1 year later?? and because the US is LHD, it means m’sia will only get this (if at all) sometime after 2013 (assuming the UK introduction date is an indication of when the rest of europe will have this)? furthermore, in the UK they don’t sell this in sedan form anymore – only a hatch and estate version. what about the rest of europe where there are RHD markets?

otherwise, the mondeo ecoboost we are getting now is probably the last of the sedans we will see with RHD configuration.

• Wow… i love this design…
    but i m not a fan of the AM-like grille…. just neutral…

• The Enthusiast on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:18 am

From the side, it does look like the Lancer. But this Mondeo definitely better looking than the current one. And with turbo, this definitely gives VW a run for its money. Hopefully SDAC will bring both 1.6L and 2.0L variants. Funny that the new Focus is not as good looking as the Mondeo.

And the 2.0L comes with AWD!!! That’s in the territory of Audi-BMW-Merc!

• confused on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:23 am

Macam *tuuut* lawa…. :D

Not too Aston Martin-esque and still got Ford cues here and there. Perfect!

• DewaSemut on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:26 am

Wow! Miles away from the current mundane designed Mondeo… kalau la dapat satu :P

• 2298336 on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:26 am

The red front picture looks like “Iron Man”…..

• amirad on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:41 am

This car should come in traditional british racing green colour. Delicious looking with a handling to match.

• vincent on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:51 am

Car looks good, that is what we want for interior design, the Mondeo without a doubt is a great car but the interior really worse among all.

• zzzzzz on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:06 am

where are the proton cum worshipper that always relates other car with the proton??

• pencuci tandas on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:03 am

errr…looks like persona and inspira a little bit..hihihi…

• Well, not very surprising as Ford had previously acquired Aston Martin in 1989 and sold it in 2007 while still retaining a small minority stake. Aston Martins are extremely beautiful cars to begin with, but i bet the resemblance will not be very close when we see both cars in real. I have personal experience with Ford since 1973 ( my dad owned a Ford Cortina GXL 2.0 and an uncle owned a Ford Capri 1.6) and both are extremely reliable. Comparing this Fusion with Accord & Camry ? … Not really in the same class. I mean, will you really compare a 1.5, 4sp auto Myvi & a 1.6 ti-vct , 6sp-DSG Fiesta ? … not a chance. Forget about the looks, as yet

• Annecy on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:35 pm

I can see James Bond driving this in the next film.

• special on Nov 02, 2012 at 2:14 pm

when will this fusion landed on malaysia?