Peugeot 208 introduces new 3-cylinder petrol engines

Peugeot has introduced a new family of 3-cylinder engines with its latest B-segment segment contender, the 208 hatch. The new 3-cylinder engines come in two capacities – 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre, and are built at the firm’s Trémery factory in France.

The 1.0 litre 3-pot lump makes 68 hp and a peak torque of 95 Nm from as low as 3,000 rpm, which is a sign of good VVT tuning as it is a surprisingly low RPM for an engine that doesn’t make use of any funky (and potentially expensive) tech like direct injection. The 1.2 litre does even better – it does 82 hp and its peak torque of 118 Nm comes in from as low as 2,750 rpm. We hear a turbocharged version of the 1.2 liter 3-cylinder will be produced at the Douvrin plant later this year.

We’re familiar with the rest of the petrol engines – a 1.4 VTi, a 1.6 VTi and a 1.6 THP, all from the 4-cylinder BMW-PSA Prince engine family. The 1.4 does 95 hp and 136 Nm of torque, while the normally-aspirated 1.6 litre does 120 hp and 160 Nm. The top-of-the-line petrol 4 potter turbo does 156 hp and 240 Nm, with a 260Nm overboost, mated to a 6-speed transmission. The other petrol engines are mated to 5-speeders.

The 208 also comes with a range of oil burners, with the baseline being a 1.4 litre HDi FAP making 68 hp and 16 0Nm. The 1.4 litre is also available as an e-HDI engine, which means it is equipped with Peugeot’s automatic Stop & Start system.

The addition of the auto start/stop system improves the 1.4 litre’s fuel economy and emissions from 74.3 mpg and 98 g/km CO2 to 83.1 mpg and 87 g/km CO2. There’s also a 1.6 litre diesel in two tunes – 92 hp / 230 Nm as well as 115 hp / 285 Nm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dan Tole on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:20 pm

We need this in the US. 83 mpg That’s ridiculous. I’d stuff myself into a compact car for 83mpg.

• kereta lembu on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Would be nice to see more Pugs on the road. Personally I feel Pugs have aggressive styling…which is good. When you see a Peugeot, you’ll know its a Peugeot. Now, I just hope that with more Pugs on the road, lowering the maintenance and parts will be part of the consideration for Naza. Its not always about selling cars in volumn, keeping customers happy so that they will recommend and continue to buy Pugs are equally important too.

• intermilan on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:46 am

Agree.

Unfortunately Nasim has recently raised the price of Peugeot parts (again). And this applied to parts for ALL Peugeot , old and new. Just 1-2 months ago. This time, they raised the price at around 20%-30%.
      For example, a part previously cost RM2160 is now priced at RM2800 (30% increment).

Nasim has been raising parts price on several number of occasions in the last few years. It seems to be a normal practice (by Nasim) to do this. And of course, these price increment were never reported by any media or announced by Nasim (for obvious reasons!).

Reason for the increase?
      My guess. Fatter profit margin.
      Why?

MYR vs. USD and EUR hasn’t moved by 20%-30% to say its due to forex.
      No change in taxes / duties also.

Unless, PSA Peugeot -Citroen increased their parts cost price, so Nasim got little option to maintain Nasim margin, except to pass the increased cost to customers. Or transportation cost has increased.

We’ll never know for sure unless there is explanation given by Nasim. I think they should be transparent with their valued customers. I believe, all Peugeot owners appreciate and expect such corporate practice.

• Ivor Biggin on Jan 10, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Factor in the fact that Nasim outsource their parts operations to a logostics company will also add cost.

• kereta lembu on Jan 10, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Funny thing few months ago Nasim, they posted the maintenance schedule and price for Pugs and after a while it was removed. I remember some people complaining that the price had increase a lot for the 60k kms maintenance. I did contact Peugeot over this matter and the funny thing is the customer support person told me they cannot post or give me the breakdown on the cost. I find this very disturbing because I don’t know why customers or potential customers aren’t allowed to know such information.

Then just a few days ago, I saw some Volvos being displayed in a Mall. They printed out the maintenance schedule and price so that buyers are aware how much to expect to spend for maintenance. I agree these things should be transparent so that it won’t be surprise to owners when they go for their maintenance.

• That’s already in their strategy by making the car price low.. people will flock to the brand but have no choice for the maintenance.. in that way, they will manage to ‘recover’ their profit from selling the car at low price..

• fuel cell phone on Jan 09, 2012 at 10:39 pm

imho, its a nice looking hatch

please bring it in to our bolehland hohoho

• mangata on Jan 09, 2012 at 11:50 pm

there is 1 question that bugs me, why diesel engines are called oil burner?

• Coz burn oil

• clutch basah on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:07 am

Technically diesel is heavier fuel similar to oil (like cooking oil).
      Gasoline (petrol) is lighter almost like gas and evaporates quickly.

• apexg2 on Jan 10, 2012 at 7:24 am

should make it sedan and bring it to Msia…then you will know the market

• limaunipis on Jan 10, 2012 at 2:14 pm

awwwww, you should have told the designers BEFORE they release this hatchback, suggested it to be a sedan instead and bring it to Malaysia….then you will know how the french respond to such a ludicrous comment!

• tat’s a nice small pug…
    Paul… can share some article about engine tuning?
    i am just curious how can they achieve such torque rate vs displacement with tat kinda low rpms…
    is tat in the future we may achieve even lower?

• Low2215 on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:21 am

83 Mpg .. that is better than prius !! sadly i dont think Malaysia Diesel can support that kinda of high tech diesel cars..

• pacifictuna on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:47 am

that’s why hybrid isn’t so popular in Europe. even old Citroen AX diesel was already a fuel saver by our current standard.

• limaunipis on Jan 10, 2012 at 12:45 pm

lovely, lovely car.

if only we could reproduce the AX / tiara in large numbers as our basic national car, incorporated with ‘some’ current emissions/tech standards!

why i said some?

some cars, such as the AX, don’t need to have six airbags, ESP, etc. coz it would take the fun out of the whole driving experience!

• ABTguy on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:03 am

No turbo ? Why ?

Develop a DI, twin scroll turbo lah !!!

Em…. does it make sense on a twin scroll 3 cylinder turbo ? Does the air flow balance ?

• Lovely car, great for ladies.

• kazai on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:44 pm

anyone know why resale value for peugeot not good in malaysia?

• kereta lembu on Jan 10, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Because some people only know how to value cars from their country of Origin. Either that or Malaysians are damn rich until they are willing to pay more for less. Either way, they need to have their brains checked! :D

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Cause they only like Japanese cars, especially by Toyota. Won’t buy anything else. Just buy a second hand Peugeot and be happy. :)

• erigheorg on Sep 13, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Most Malaysian has been brainwashed by T and H… especially the older gen..

• buck roger on Jan 10, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Since EU economy is in deep shit, Peugeot-Citroen should have collaborate with Fiat via utilizing the latter TwinAir (2 cylinders) engine.

Its 3 cylinders engine is not so aspiring.

• Heng Lee on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Since Fiat quality is big shit, Peugeot made the right decision not to cooperate with them.

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Nonsense. The Fiat Panda and 500 are some of the most reliable small cars in Europe. Only the Aygo/C1/107 are better (in terms of reliability…).

• kaminski on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Errr…Fiat are actually in talks with Peugeot regarding a merger of sorts as both seek ways to improve their fast declining European market share. Both are in need to slash costs in their home markets, so a union of sorts would benefit both Fiat and Peugeot in the short term.

• Heng Lee on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:32 am

And why do they have a ‘fast declining European market share’?

Because of their superiour build quality? :D

• intermilan on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:32 pm

there are many reasons, but its all due to the current economic uncertainties experienced by Europe.. this sole reason, create chain-reaction with other factors.

1) When the European financial crisis occurred, its the middle class who suffer most and thus buying of affordable B & C segment models suffers.

2) For example. Peugeot product-mix and sales volume depends quite heavily on sales on the above segment models. Sales are lower and the margin become worse; as price discounts become bigger (in order to attract buyer). They are more upward i.e. more premium models which are less affected by economy downturn but they just starting, so its not giving much help.

3) Peugeot sales depends rather heavier on Europe compared to VW, Renault & Fiat-Chrysler, Peugeot are more exposed to European market downturn.

4) Last year (the economy is already bad), but almost all European governments provide incentives to car buyer. This incentive scheme was stop in late 2010. This scheme support A, B & C segment market. In 2011, the scheme was unavailable, hence the market segment experience lower sales. Peugeot sales was badly affected.

5) many other factors.. too little free time to write them all.. sorry.

• I thought the 1.0 and 1.2 are petrol efficient engines? Nice car.

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 9:49 am

with a new model, new hope with hopefully a newer, better engine.

• Dr. M on Nov 10, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Compact 3 cylinder engine is the way to go for efficient and cost factors. Soon on our market we will be able to choose 3 cylinder turbocharged 1.2L of either Volkswagen or Peugeot. Also Ford 1.0L Ecoboost too!