2012 Toyota Prius – now in two trim levels in Malaysia

The fuss may be about the upcoming Toyota Prius c, but some interesting developments are also shaping up on the other, more familiar Prius front. A check on the UMW Toyota website reveals that there are now two trim levels being mentioned for the ZVW30 in Malaysia, a standard Prius as well as a Luxury variant.

A ‘New Prius’ tagline is being bandied, so the vehicle – which, going by the site, hasn’t quite arrived but should be right around the corner – should pretty much be the facelift version of the third-generation hybrid that came about last year. The revisions are mild and involve more new kit than any considerable shape rework, though the front bumper and rear lamp configuration are different.

No changes mechanically to the Hybrid Synergy Drive system on it – the 1.8 litre 2ZR-FXE Atkinson cycle engine, with its 99 PS at 5,200 rpm and 142 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm continues to hold court, working alongside the electric motor’s 82 PS and 207 Nm of torque, with a combined output of 136 PS (or 134 hp).

Standard fare contains the familiar, among them seven airbags, VSC and traction control, EBD, brake assist, 15-inch wheels and cruise control. Both 2012 variants will feature a 6.1-inch touchscreen display audio system with Bluetooth, USB and Aux connections, partnered to a JBL eight-speaker, eight-channel amplifier setup.

The standard Prius continues on with high-grade fabric seats and halogen projector headlamps, while the Luxury gets leather seats and LED projectors, complete with auto leveling and washer. The Luxury also gets auto lights, an electro-chromic rear view mirror and heated seats, the last which won’t see much use in this particular climate. New to the Prius are daytime running lights, which are available on both versions.

There’s an indicative estimate for the variants, and the pricing has gone slightly up for the base model, at RM143,000, while the Luxury is expected to retail for RM148,000, both on-the-road with insurance.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Wow. Only 5k to upgrade to the LED headlights? That’s usually a very pricey upgrade (in Europe Audi charges 1800 Euro to get the LED headlights on the A8…). Leather too is an expensive option usually… in Europe you usually pay at least 10k RM for leather seats. Heated seats cost a few hundred (ok, what is the point of THAT in Malaysia, unless you want to annoy your passenger?).

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:27 pm

http://priuschat.com/news/the-2010-prius-standard-vs-led-headlights There you can see the difference.

Btw., I have checked how much these options cost in Germany. Base price is 25700, you want heated leather seats you have to get the executive spec which costs 3350 Euro more, then you need to add another 1700 Euro to get the seats. Only in that spec you will also get the LED headlights, that rear view mirror and the 8 speaker system.

Overall the car is still cheaper in Germany, but you’d be a fool to buy the car in the base spec version in Malaysia. The options are worth much more than that, and the LED headlights are very useful.

• James on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:58 pm

U know… ladies always complaint cold…. now you can say.. hey my car has heated seats. =) .. my mom and gf does.

• bobdbilder on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Dude, you’re comparing with the range topping A8. Plus its a German law to have it on new cars. If you bought it before the enforcement, you don’t need to. So if you want to upgrade an older A8, people think you’re a prat and could spare the change.

Why would anybody even spend 5K on LED bulbs that generates heat so much is way beyond me. Put them on a ‘Greener’ Prius and it just seems extravagant when you’re trying to save energy.

• i thought LED are supposed to save more than halogen or HID ?

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Halogen bulbs as used on the base spec Prius consume more (according to Toyota 17% more), only HID needs less (I’m talking about real ones, not those halogen ones that are supposed to look like HID).

It is not German law to have LED headlights. Daytime running lights, on models released in (or after?) 2011, yes. But LED headlights no. Daytime running lights also make sense because of the improved safety, and many Germans turn on the headlights all the time anyway, which consumes much more than those few LEDs (around 180W IIRC vs maybe 5W).

Why 5k for LED bulbs? To see more. Halogen lights are rubbish. Might as well use a candle… No really, have you looked at the link comparing halogen with LED, both cars being Priuses? The difference is stunning. Unless you only drive during daytime… I once drove a Touran with HID when it was dark, my car has halogen bulbs. Huge difference. I can turn off the halogen bulbs and won’t see much of a difference when there are street lights. HID you will see a big difference. I haven’t seen a single car with halogen lights that outputs a decent amount of light without blinding others.

Also you are already spending 143k on a Prius, will 5k more hurt that much if you can afford the Prius? People are wasting more on useless bodykits… this is actually useful tech.

Here is the link again:
        priuschat.com/news/the-2010-prius-standard-vs-led-headlights

• each individual preference. come on ….why are you so against body kit ? it will create more hype & buzz ….it makes green car – SEXY !!!! if not MYVI will do …german !

• Kiddo on Jan 11, 2012 at 8:41 am

Dude, you failed your PMR Kemahiran Hidup ar?? LEDs consume less energy than normal bulbs lar. Aiyo!

Don’t condemn blindly because it’s a Toyota. BMW and Audi are switching to LEDs as well.

• i am glad that there is some one giving constructive feedback rather some are just …..

• Danny on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:09 pm

LED bulbs dont generate heat la stoopid… and uses less energy also you bodoh dodo

• either you take it or just not too , then get your audi

• Joseph Yeoh on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Prius C or ” New Prius” ?

• vincent on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Toyota really knows how to con Malaysians. Despite the so called ‘Tax free’ incentive from the government, but the car price still selling much higher from the tax free price. I see the tax free incentives only transformed into higher profit for Toyota.

Get a Jetta better, which gives u both FC and power, better looking that the sissy Prius. And most important, you don’t have to worry about battery change on later years. TAK NAK Toyota!

• Terence on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:13 pm

get jetta even worse!!! kosong spec selling @ RM15xk!!! VW will get more profit if u buy Jetta.

• as if the jetta is not overpriced.here in bolehland every single car is overpriced not to mention p1 and p2.

• Merc=Real Euro on Jan 10, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Dont bring VW into this ….it is embarrassing…

160K for jetta or even golf is even worse….

Do some research and you will know what I am talking about….

• Kiddo on Jan 11, 2012 at 8:35 am

You serious bout the Jetta having better FC than the Prius?

Drive it around Damansara side or Mid Valley side on a sunday morning and you will know that the Jetta has very poor FC. City driving, congested traffics and pure EV mode are things that make the Prius kicks Jetta’s ass in FC.

And though you don’t have to change the battery pack for the Jetta, do not forget that it has a turbocharger and given that Malaysia’s weather is insanely hot, I will not be surprised to see it breaking down pretty soon, or even setting fire to the car.

• JacobKing on Feb 04, 2012 at 9:54 am

Vincent,

This is one statement from a jeoulous guy who cant afford Prius. Do more study, dont be so innocent and stupid to mislead the reader here on hybrid battery. Very childish,

• Patrick on Jan 10, 2012 at 2:23 pm

UMW pls bring the 17inch alloy rims for PRIUS! The wheel cover is very not suitable on PRIUS!

• the gap between the tyre and the car body really apart. just not right to the eye sight. is like something missing. why Altis can have 17″ but not Prius.

• ya.. 15 very ugly.. bring 17″ rim..

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Yeah, cause all one should care about is how good a car looks (especially a Prius…), not how good the ride quality is.

I drove the Touran with 15 and 17″ rims. The 17″ one was almost unbearable hard. What is the point of that in a small family van?

• paparadzi on Jan 10, 2012 at 3:07 pm

“Both 2012 variants will feature a 6.1-inch touchscreen display audio system with Bluetooth, USB and Aux connections, partnered to a JBL eight-speaker, eight-channel amplifier setup”.

Is this something different than the current model? Anyway the specs seems pretty close to the Prius Five which is the top of the line in the USA. The only major difference is the 15″ (vs 17″ for the Prius Five) wheel, but it should be an easy fix.

Price wise, this is Malaysia, so what else can be said?

• Low2215 on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:36 pm

No cruise radar control , automatic parallel parking , sun roof .. navigation package ..

• paparadzi on Jan 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm

I believe those are optional items for the American Prius. For us, nothing…

• alldisc on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:02 pm

cruise radar control @ adaptive cruise control is not yet legal in malaysia…

• Low2215 on Jan 11, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Hmm , but volvo malaysia has that feature .. see their s60 brochure ..
          http://vcc.tidalblast.com/pricelist/s60-pricelist-pm.pdf

they mention adaptive cruise control

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 10, 2012 at 5:57 pm

The Prius launched here originally didn’t come with the touchscreen audio system, which is not to be confused with the 5-inch VFD multi information display.

• bloodsucking price 148k for this car!!!
    tax free benefits only goes to UMW’s super fat profit margin!
    dun give me that crap about miti setting the price!

TAK NAK ToYotak !!!

• they’re still not bringing the solar panel option?

• Damien on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:47 am

Solar panel cost 4k usd to add on to cool ur when engine is off..activates blower and power led lights. Trnslate that into rm.. More ppl will choke here especially those commenting on price. Lol

• anti pasti on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:32 pm

UMW? UMW always bring boring car and put cut throat price….uwekkkk

• Lim Kopi on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Dear Anthony

Pardon me, are the 15 inch Rims those that are shown here, or those ugly plasticky ones we keep seeing on our roads?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 10, 2012 at 5:39 pm

I believe the ones in the photo are the seventeens, same ones featured on the ZVW30 at point of launch.

• paparadzi on Jan 10, 2012 at 5:49 pm

The photo at the top of this article is the 2011 Prius. The new 2012 Prius should have subtle difference in lower grille area and rear combination lamps.

front: http://www.toyota.nl/Images/toyota-prius-2012-tme-004-full_tcm27-1077028.jpg

rear: http://www.toyota.nl/Images/toyota-prius-2012-tme-003-full_tcm27-1077025.jpg

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 10, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Indeed, it should – the facelift features changes to the rear lamps and front bumper. I’ve added new photos in, including the interior. Thanks for the shout.

• CK200H on Jan 10, 2012 at 4:59 pm

well, why not CT200h?

Just top up some amount and you are there.

• Maserati on Jan 10, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Awesome stuff, if i am looking for a car i will definately take this over the crappy optima. Since launch until now never heard a single word about that car.

• hukaka on Jan 10, 2012 at 6:21 pm

i want the solar roof,17 inch sport rim,

• Damien on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:51 am

17 inch rims makes the car less fuel efficient. Why would u want that in a prius

• james on Apr 14, 2012 at 1:22 pm

coz it looks nice.. noone asking u to full throttle everytime.

• arcana on Jan 10, 2012 at 6:53 pm

oh well….not like we gonna get price reduction from toyota….its like telling u to dream on……
    at least they put in more kit to compensate for it……

• car enthusiast on Jan 10, 2012 at 7:39 pm

until malaysian”s never wake up frm japanese dream..entire malaysia will be bullied by the japenese carmaker with their lousy CKD prod with CBU price.

• Samad on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Phew! That is one ugly car. I would not imagine sitting in one even if the car were free!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 10, 2012 at 8:44 pm

disappointed when i realised they are still giving the same alloy rims. but the LED for just 5k is actually a nice option.

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Why would you want bigger rims? They make no sense whatsoever, especially on such a car. If you are an ah beng, then just get after market rims. If not, be happy that they fit it with proper rims that won’t give the car an unreasonable harsh ride.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:40 pm

no. that’s not the point. i prefer stock but nice rims. if i really want to ah beng my car i won’t buy this car. if you think i’m odd, please let the guys in japan who buys modellista bodykits for this car your 2 cents.

• Damien on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:52 am

The rims are llight weight that way and more fuel effecient

• alldisc on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:11 pm

the plastic covers are to aid aerodynamics. like what F1 cars did not too long ago… the wheels are actually alloy.

• Is the Prius facelift Made in Japan ??

• Low2215 on Jan 11, 2012 at 8:50 am

should be , the last batch of prius is still made in Japan .. pre facelift is equivalent to the cheapest japanese spec .. the L spec ..

http://toyota.jp/prius/003_p_005/spec/spec/index.html

• Thanks for the info. I’m booking one, chose it over the Camry. One CKD and the other one CBU.

• Still waiting for Prius v

• to bad the facelift variants still maintain the 15in wheels, they should at least offer the luxury version with a 16in or 17in wheels.

• I think they maintain the 15 inch wheels because its quieter and more comfortable..the 16 and 17 inch is more sporty and more noisy i think..

• SO TRUE !!! …at least make it more appealing….cos at this point of time is only the middle age or pensioner buying this. do not neglect the younger crowd …. brand loyalty is not overnight

• EV mania on Jan 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm

What kind of battery using? NIMH or Lithium?
    I m more concern on when Plug in Prius coming….